Sidebar

Thu, Mar
28 New Articles

Typography

THE Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) is set to decide on a new national men’s team coach “at the shortest possible time”, but one of the names being bandied about, W Connection’s coach Stuart Charles-Fevrier, is remaining tightlipped over whether he will be next in line to replace the sacked Stephen Hart.

The 53-year-old Hart was fired by the TT FA last Thursday, after an inconsistent run which saw the national team lose eight out of their 13 international matches in 2016. 

But the 57-year-old Charles-Fevrier, who served as TT coach from May 2003 (when he took over from Hannibal Najjar) until January 2004 (when he was replaced by Bertille St Clair), refused to give a definite answer when asked, during a telephone interview yesterday, if he will consider taking up the reins again. 

Former W Connection president and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) David John-Williams, who is now completing his first year at the helm of the TT FA, noted yesterday, “this is a national issue, a very important issue and when there is something to report, I am sure the Newsday will amongst many to know, at the shortest possible time.”

Charles-Fevrier, a St Lucian, commented, “a lot of people have been saying that David wanted to fire Hart to give me the job. I don’t really want to get myself involved in that kind of bacchanal and that kind of confusion.” Charles-Fevrier continued, “I’m quite comfortable to work with the club (W Connection) because, at this point in time, it’ll be difficult for me to tell you yes because the way people (will) see it is that David wanted to fire Hart to give me the job. That’s how they (will) see it. 

“I don’t think I will like to (accept it),” he added. “I will be happy to help but, under these circumstances, I don’t feel I really want to (take up the offer). 

That’s how (people) will watch it. 

They wouldn’t say that I’m a professional and if the Association (decided) to change Hart and they ask me, then I could consider it. 

“I don’t think that’s the reason the Association took the decision they took. 

“I can’t really give you an answer, because of the perception (people might have).” Charles-Fevrier has been with W Connection (barring his brief stint with the TT team) since its entry into top flight football in 1999, guiding them to numerous titles, including five league crowns (2000, 2001, 2005, 2011-12 and 2013-14) and five Caribbean titles He did state though that he remains open to all possibilities, “I’m a professional coach. 

That’s what I do for a living. I’ll always consider any offer that I’ll get. 

I’ll always consider it because that’s my job. 

“Right now I work with W Connection. 

I’m committed to W Connection. I’ve been working with the club for 15 to 16 years. I have a very good relationship with the management of the club. 

I’m happy with the club.” John-Williams, however, refused to divulge any names being considered but admitted, “we’ve had several applications, we’ve had several discussions, we’ve had no appointments.” He also revealed, “we’ve had 24 applications so far (from) all over the world, locally, regionally and internationally.” However, a source in the TTFA noted yesterday that four persons, all foreigners, are being strongly considered by the TTFA technical committee for the position.