Sidebar

Fri, Apr
24 New Articles

Typography
While I applaud T&T's victory tonight... ah mean when LAST did we give ANY team 5 unanswered goals eh? The thing is we mad HARD work of an obviously WEAK and under-prepared Bermuda team!!!

Starting Line-Up:-

---------------------------------Ince-------------------------------------------
Attiba Charles-------A. Pierre----Lawrence-----------------Rojas
---------Carlos--------------------------------------------Tiger
--------------------Whitley/Seaton-----------Birchall---------------------
-----------------------------Stern----------Jones-----------------------------

First 1/2 began and T&T had much better of the exchanges although I found we were using the long ball a bit more frequently than in the previous game against the Peru team. Nonetheless we soon carved out opportunities for a goal. Stern contrived to throw away no fewer than FOUR clear cut chances, including one that was reminiscent of the "Alibey miss of the century" where he kicked overbar from 2-3 yards out (I AM NOT EXAGGERATING!!!). He also got caught off-side pretty often. He shot STRAIGHT at the keeper when put through 1 on 1 and blazed a shot over-bar from 15 yards out!!! Tiger had a decent shot on goal which was saved and Jones had a few headersnarrowly miss. MOST of our attacks came up the left side and I noticed Tiger was sending many crosses in from the flank. However Rojas was having yet ANOTHER bad game.The list of errors this guy makes is endless, some of the worst would be :-

- Holds onto the ball too long
- Takes waaaaaaaay too long to make simple passes
- Slow in tracking back
- Slow in over-lapping

Well after seeing us waste chance after chance and leading 1-0 at the half, Beenie-man decided to make changes at the 1/2 Off went the two left sided players, with Theobald coming in for Tiger and Wolfe from NE Stars coming on for Rojas. Well it soon paid dividends, as we were 2-0 in a short space of time and continuing to dominate. Jones' goal was a REAL beauty as he rounded 2 defenders and slotted calmly past the keeper. Stern FINALLY broke his drought in the 2nd 1/2 with another goal and Dennis lawrence poked in from a goal mouth scramble after the Bermuda keeper failed to hold onto a corner kick in his box. 4-0 T&T

Other subs were :- Glasgow for Jones ; Rahim for Whitley.

Player Ratings:

Ince - ?? A spectator for 99.9% of the game was rarely ever tested. Still as captain for the night and continuing to talk to the defenders and bark out orders an 8 for leadership :}

A Charles- 7 - Another solid game, made one or 2 errors with the errant pass here and there but was consistent defensively IN against Panama.

A Pierre 6.5 - Decent game but i doubt he will survive the next cut as Andrews, Cox and Sancho are all in line to play in the 2nd game on Friday. STILL plays too much long ball, but read the game well and kept things tight

Rojas 5 - MUST be replaced... either Avery John, Sancho or even Cox would be better options! This guy just NOT ready. He TRIES hard, but is just TOO slow mentally and physically, (see above comments)...

Birchall 7 - Made some nice runs out to the flank, interchanging with carlos and played a part in at least 2 of the goals with some good passing and movement. Ran hard, needs more composure when shooting. Made a few errant passes but definitely IN against Panama.

Whitley 6.5 - Decent game, played more defensively but was there to support the attack. Shooting was off, 2 overbar and 1 wide from what i recall. Personally I believe Theobald or Spann would play this position better.

Edwards 7.5 - A real terror on the right-flank but has a tendency to overdo it with the dribbling! the parlor tricks won't come off against Mexico and the US. Still nice to see him running at defenders, this could win us free-kicks in dangerous positions. Just has to know when to turn it off IN on the 4th June.

Tiger 7 - Sent in several useful crosses, worked hard in ball-winning/tackling but TOO slow for left-wing Surprised he was replaced at the 1/2 Doubtful to be in but can definitely make the bench if not.

Jones 8 - Worked his socks off, ran hard, dropped back and ran at defenders, shot from outside, had some great headers. Still not sure he wouldn't be better for us as an attacking mid but DEFINITELY IN.

Stern 5 - Scored 1 threw away 6 and got caught off-side no fewer than 10 times (MAY be more). Dropped back to bring the ball forward but seems to have lost the clinical finishing, Had me asking where Hector Sam and Scott Sealy ??

Glasgow 6 - Still seems not to be MATCH fit and not 100% but made some enterprising runs, threw away a sitter in a 1 on 1, but was unlucky to have a shot rocket off the cross-bar and into the keepers arms MIGHT make the bench for the Panama game.

Theobald 6 - My BWOY, but I feel he was played out of position on the left flank and it showed as he kept coming inside several times, when in possession NOT one of his better games, but played the role asked of him to the best of his ability.

Wolfe 5.5 - Better going forward than Rojas BUT typical Trini likes to hold on and ATTEMPT to dribble too much Has some speed too, and COULD potentially be the better option in the LONG run at left-back, but NOT in time for the 4th June game.

Rahim 7 - Liked what little I saw of him (came on with 10 mins left) and showed some deft touches, passing. Attempted some OVER-ambitious moves that did NOT come off but I feel can YET fulfill SOME of the potential he showed years ago.

Overall my feeling is that beenie man is still weighing his options since he is yet to see some players in a match situation. The return of Yorke, Spann (HOPEFULLY), Glen and a recall for Scott Sealy would do us well because we ARE creating chances, but unless Stern does a COMPLETE 180 degree turn within the next 2 weeks, right now he wouldn't even make the bench!!! the trouble is, LIKE Rojas, WHO WE GO PUT INSTEAD??? Leo has his work cut out for him, but lets see what happens on Friday..Based on what I've seen so far, I remain Optimistic of VICTORY on the 4th June.

Feel free to ask me anything You want to know that I may have missed.

P.S. T&T vs Bermuda pt2 at 6:00pm Jabloteh vs Connection 8:15 pm Mannie Ramjohn friday 27th Patriot will be there.

P.P.S. Saw Marvin Andrews at 1/2 time he WILL be playing on Friday. Said the knee is holding up ok and is looking forward to getting back into the team.