Meet The Forum Massive. 

This Is True Fans, Fan Talk.

The best T&T goal I have ever seen

Was in a friendly between T&T and Crystal Palace in 1991 I think it was. The goal was scored by Leonson Lewis. He shot into the roof of the net, from about 6 yards out (in one motion. NOTE HE DID NOT TRAP THE BALL AND HIS BACK WAS TO GOAL WHEN HE SWIVILLED AND SHOT!!! This to me will always remain the greatest goal scored by ANY T&T player EVER (Although I do expect Stern John or Dwight Yorke to go one better sometime in this WC Campaign) P.S. Leonson Lewis scored a hattrick in that game.

Will T&T ever Qualify for the World Cup

I believe that T&T has a magnificent OPPORTUNITY to qualify fot WC 2002. I say this based on the potential that exists with the current squad. Remember to date T&T is YET to field its "BEST" possible line-up. With players the calibre of Stern John, Shaka Hislop and Ronnie Mauge yet to kick a ball in the semi-final round, I sincerely believe that the best is yet to come. When one also considers the sheer depth of the squad (again potentially)with the likes of Nixon, Wise, Rahim, (Avery) John all competing for places on the bench, then the realisation of a place in the final 32 for South Korea/Japan looks highly achieveable based on talent alone. However we know that talent ALONE is NOT enough! Yet Coach Porterfield's tactics have thus far yielded success and provided a dream-start for the team's campaign. I have always rated Mexico and the USA as our greatest challengers in CONCACAF. Now Jamaica and Honduras have shown that they too are capable of providing a challenge as well. Costa Rica remains unpredictable, losing to the likes of Barbados but then re-bounding to beat the much vaunted Americans! Indeed it is safe to say that the standard of play in this region has risen a great deal and no one has a "God-given" right to win the 3 allotted places. Whether we make it or not this time, will depend as much (if not moreso) on our off-field performance (ie. Adminstration, team selection, match preparation and training, warm-up matches etc.)

To answer the second part of this discussion, will we ever? Earlier in 2000 I was one who firmly believed that the T&T talent well was finally drying up. Dismal performances at youth level, including Under 17, under 20 and Under 23 over the last 18 months led to this belief. However the emergence of Brent Rahim,Carlos Edwards, Hector Sam as well as a much-improved Gary Glasgow has me believing that the future may not be as dim as I thought! So, while I still maintain the current crop of players at Senior level to be among the greatest EVER assembled in T&T's history, should we falter this time, as disappointing as it would be, there remains a foundation on which to build a new team that can do it!

By: Brian "Patriot" Springer
E:Mail Patriot
Based In Trinidad & Tobago. 

Who is T&T's worst enemy.

This is a trick question, since at first glance one would think it's our arch rivals Jamaica or the team we couldn't beat, Canada..well until recently. But listening to the fellas on the forum, reading the local press in TnT and speaking to friends back home, I have to say that their worst enemy is ...drum roll please...

1. The life fool called Jack Warner...simply put it's always his way or the highway. This is doing considerable damage to our current team, and the lads of the future. This man have to be kept away from the national team.

2. The team itself, we have a few on the team that are not committed. Be it coming home for the games, showing up but, only hearing that they are more interested in the hype surrounding them and all the best fetes. Then we have a few that just feel that they are above the game, and like Mr. know-it-all cannot commit to training and bringing their game up to another level.

3. Then comes "Mr. Manager of Pro team"..yea that egotistic bastard, that thinks he can bully the TnT Admin... you know -> Alex Fuckerson.

4. And finally I would have to say the fan support in TnT ... they find it diffficult to go support the lads, and when they do they are so polite to visiting teams...Our national team does not have a home field advantage, since it's not intimidating to play in TnT.

By: Jumbie00.
E:Mail: Jumbie00.

Is Ian Poterfield the right coach for the job

Porters' right now is the man for the job. He is getting the required results. The team seems to be responding to him, especially at the beginning of the second half of games. Responsible for bring TnT biggest find, Dennis 'de original Tallman' Lawrence onto the team. The nicest goal was scored by Hutson Charles in the qualifyer against the US back in '89. World Class! No pannick was involve. best player right now is Dwight 'Anna" Yorke, he was responsible for all the goals scored so far in the qualifyers.

By: Tongue.
E:Mail: Tongue
Based in Washington DC USA 

Is Poterfield the man for the job!

No ! I do not think it is necessary for TNT to have a foreign coach. In Trinidad and Tobago there is a general perception that anything foreign is better that something local, this ideology is at the heart of most of our problems. Trinidad and Tobago has been blessed with enormous amount of footballing talent. In the late 60's and early 70's There were numerous world class players. These players can now form the nucleus of the footballing brain to drive the development of TNT football. Gally came very close in 1989, he is a Trinidadian there are probably a lot of other nationals who could coach as good as or better that Gally. Most of these historical football stars are scattered across the globe, maybe even coaching in foreign countries. We have lost that talent because we did not have the necessary structure in place to promote the development of good players into good coaches. And of the coaches that were developed they were not given the opportunity by the T&TFA to become national coaches , instead being overlooked for foreigners who have no permanent stake in Trinidad and Tobago. In another decade or two this football generation will be lost and the football of Trinidad and Tobago will be no better off than before they were born. Self belief is imperative to become a world class sports person. If we do not believe that someone from Trinidad and Tobago has or can develop the Mental, Physiological, and Sociological capacity to coach and manage a football team then why even bother playing?

By: KND
E:Mail: KND
Based in Connecticut USA 

T&T should keep the name "Soca Warriors".

I am based in New Jersey. I am a student at Rutgers University (Engineering Program). Anthony Rougier was my Neighbour in Sobo Village, La Brea a small village by the "Pitch Lake." Good Luck Flex.

By: Craiggmac
E:Mail: Craiggmac
Based in New Jersey USA

Hey Flex,
As a true Trini, it real hard to answer one.:-) Also, I am unsure what you mean by best goal. If it is that you mean how it made me feel at the time, then it is Kerry Jamerson bullet, with a layoff from Latas. Anyway I must say your site is one of if not the best I have seen. It is one of the few sites that is so informative and is also updated very, very regularly. I visit your site everyday, as soon as I get to work,( before I do anything else) and on weekends. I may not write very often, but I assure you, I visit this site a few times a day, every day. I really appreciate the time and effort that you put into this site. You make Trinis like me, who no longer live there, feel proud. Great Job. Anyway I moved here in August last year. I worked for Gtech in Trinidad and was transferred to Rhode Island. Sorry I do not know the Lotto numbers:-) . You have my e-mail. If you need any other info, I will be happy to send it. PS, I planning to make a big banner for this group, to show off at the game when I visit next week. Any Ideas? Thanx

By: Ammon, Sean
E:Mail: Samo
Rhode Island USA

The greatest Trinidad goal.

Well, boy there have been some doozies.

However, In 1982 or 83, not too long after the W Cup, Paulista Corinthians, came to TT, to play ASL. Their Captain, was Socrates the Braz. captain.

I believe ASL, lost the game 7-3. However, the goal by Leric "Lobo" Joseph is what stands out. Running down the right side, more or less in line with the right post, running into the box, a ball was chipped to him. The Rastaman dove into the air - literally in mid air - flicked it with his head, past the Corinthians keeper to the far left of the goal. To this day it remain the finest header I've ever seen at all levels of football. Peace,

By: VB
E:Mail: VB
Based in Toronto, Canada

A Quick view of all

1. T&T 1 vs Mexico 0 July 2000 (best one in a long, long time)

2. (GK) Hislop, (D) Marvin Andrews, (M) Latapy, (S) and our best player Yorke.

3. I'm not sure. I still think the team needs Mr. St. Clair. He has a certain defiance about him that rubbed off on the players. His (Porterfield) style will suit most of the players coming from England and Scotland though, since this is the brand of football they play, day in day out.

4. Kerry Jamerson 89th minute T&T 2 vs Guatemala 1 (correct me if I'm wrong) in 1989.

5. I think we can. I'm not predicting anything. We have the players. All we need to do is to put them together on the field and have them working as a unit towards the same goal.

6. He has helped the team, but I think he feels he owns the team and consequently the players. I don't think I could handle a situation like that around me constantly. A feeling of too much pressure being exerted on the players is what I would feel.

7. Not only they should play more warm up games, but against stiffer opposition. Barbados and Guyana just can't cut it for me.

8. Our roster is one of the most scary on paper. I sometimes wonder how can we not be the best team in Concacaf, but that's the truth of the story. Players don't bring ranking; team performance do, and to be very honest, our performance as a team after 1989 never really came into being, until the 2000 Gold Cup.

9. Only the best teams in the Concacaf: Mexico, Jamaica and the USA. Out of these three I think the USA is our biggest enemy (November 19th 1989; need I say more?)

10. Why change from "Soca Warriors". If any change is to be made it should be "Calypso Warriors". I am comfortable with Soca Warriors. Leave it alone. I like it.

11. If they really want to play for T&T, of course. Nothing less than 110% will be accepted. I'm very happy about the committment showed by Yorke and Latapy pertaining to these all important World Cup qualifiers. What has made me extremely happy is Yorke saying bluntly, he was determined to be a part of our World Cup drive. And with people like Stern John, Anthony Rougier, Marvin Andrews and the rest of the foreign-based posse comnig together to focus solely on the goal at hand, I think our chances to progress further has definitely increased.

12.Flex site wicked like mi mudda Sunday lunch. The more additions it gets, the better, more user friendly and interseting it seems to be. Keep up the good work. Later and respect.
By: Richard G.
E:Mail: Richard

Trinidad & Tobago's worst enemy
I chose to answer the question regarding Trinidad's worst football enemy. I am sure that many will agree that it is the U.S.A. They have been our archrivals for a long time and in most recent history they played the biggest part in stopping our world cup campaign (NOV 19, 1989), a match that I will never forget, a team I will never forgive. I await our encounter in the next phase of this campaign. PS. Jamaica is a close 2nd.

By: ball analyst
E:Mail: Ball Analyst

Question 10 - Answer : Soca Warriors all the way!!!!!!!

By: d'saint
E:Mail: Sherry Madray

Should T&T play more warm up games.

I think T&T need to play more friendly games and not only aganist other Caribbean teams, but aganist Stronger opponents, such as Gremany, England, Scothland, Bolivia, etc, we could get these opponents to play us, because our so call Jack Warner is the Vice President of FIFA and he could probably work something out as he normally do, we still have a long way to go in this WCQ stage this is only the first round and we are not through yet, I know its hard for the players that are playing aboard to keep coming back and fourth, but they should atleast make a attempt to show up atleast once or twice, I also think Poterfield should start training the younger lads so they can replace the pros when they are not their, it would be much easier this way.

By: Sando
E:Mail Sando
Based in Trinidad & Tobago

Overall View

1) Best TT game ever I've seen a few but two stand out in my mind the game vs martnique in the shell cup finals a few years ago where we were down by two goals I think against a strong martinique team that i believe had beaten jamaica and we rallied or should i say David Nakhid rallied us minus latapy . leonson and co . to a 7 -2 victory with Nixon smoking hot.
2)Best player is god's gift to Trinidad Russell"little magician" Latapy...each country is allotted one gift per lifetime ...Argentina had Diego, Brazil had Pele, Trinidad has Latapy, the likes of him will never be seen in TT again.
3)Wether Porterfield is the man for the job remains to be seen ..he's done a few things of note regardless of wether we like him or not he has gotten two of the biggest wins in our history stats are stats...he has discovered Dennis Lawrence in his best position I think. The job is to get us to the "big dance" if he gets us there then he is...if he doesnt well..nuff said

4)Trinidad vs Vilnius Zalgiris ....many will put forward "bullets", "screamers" etc but unless its a screamer like Rasiliev Vas from Russia in the 1986 world cup against Batts of France or a swerver like Nellinho in the third place playoff of the 1978 world cup between Italy and Brazil vs Dino Zoff I prefer specially crafted goals.......and the winner is Russell Latapy (was there ever a DOUBT) he picks up the ball just before the half line..as always eyes probing for the space , perfectly balanced and prepared to strike like a deadly cobra then the opportunity opens up...us mere mortals are unaware of this only this "gift of god" sees it, ...Maurice Alibey has just bent his run behind Latapy and is now steaming down the right flank yelling for the ball.....similar elctric runs are being made on the left flank by inevitably ..Leonson lewis....."latas" begins his trek from the half line with the ball glued to his feet...he eludes one and then skillfully sidesteps another faking and feinting this way and that as if to give the ball up to either Alibey or Leonson...Not this day he advances by may calculations 45 metres up the pitch straight to the middle splitting the entire defence with provocative notions of releasing his ball and does the one thing that the team didnt expect took it straight through the middle the goalkeeper senses the danger but is sadly unprepared "latas" fakes to place it with his right foot and in a michael jordan like motion changes feet and subtlely stabs it with his left the keeper is completely immobilized and he doesnt dive, jump or move he just crouches and looks on to his right at the agonisingly , accurate piece of clinical finishing he had the privilege of being an integral part of as the ball roolls slowly but surely into the far corner of the net...Latas jogs to the stands and points to his adoring fans...No.! He points to me...saying "Ngozi this is for you to take to your grave"....Tony Cozier eat your heart out....Flex u know u have to put this up...to be continued peace, love and respect!
By, Ngozi
E:Mail: Ngozi
Based in Atlanta Georgia USA

The Best T&T game I enjoy the most

I wish I could answer all de questions, all ah dem good. Anyway the game I enjoyed the most was the Trini vs Guatemala in Trinidad in '89 during World Cup qualifiers. Latas (my choice for best player ever :> ) ) was mashing dem up and de Kerry Jamerson bullet (my choice for best goal ever :> ) ) in de last minute brought so much joy to Trinis and a fitting end to the game that all shots from outside the box after that strike were called ah "Kerry Jamerson". Anyway, that's my two cents..KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!!

By, TriniFootballFan
E:Mail: Trinifootballfan
Washington DC USA

Overall View
The best T&T game that I ever saw was in the early 90's T&T under-20 team was preparing to go to the WC. In a warm up game they defeated the Brzilian under-20 4-2 in the National Stadium. I was always in awe of Brazilian football but when we defeated them, it gave me new sense of national pride. I don't remember who scored in that game but what I do remember clearley is that our goalkeeper punted a ball and Angus Eve, in one fluid motion trapped the ball with his butt and left a defender for dead. This was the best starting eleven I had ever saw, pitty they could not have stayed together, because I think they had good chemistry and would have our future senior national team.

The best player category is difficult but here goes, goalkeeper: Shaka, Lincoln Phillips ; defender: Clayton Morris; midfield: Latapy; forwards: Yorke, Ian "dread dribbler" Clauzelle

I was very critical of Poter's in the beginning, but I guess as time goes by he is steadily improving. The team just needed time to gel.
The best goals that I saw were in a Shell Cup final Yorke scored to manificent goals, one was a volley from a difficult angle and the second was a free kick that he hit to win the game, the keeper did not even move.
T&T will qualify point blank!!!!!
Jack Warner, what could I say the name speaks for itself, he is just notorious.
More games are needed for the team to gel,
Until we go to the big dance I cannot consider us as the best team in the region. We may have some of the best players, but that does not count. When we start consistently beating our regional neighbours and have them fearing us again then we could consider ourselves up there. JA USA and Mexico have all gone to the WC so until we do so I think we are the fourth best team in the region.

SOCA WARRIORS ALL DE WAY

Flex I must commend you on a great site. It is very informative and educational, that is why I think this should be the offical TTFF site, everything is already in place all you may have to do is change the name. I always recommending this site to people and they alwys have nothing but complements about it.

By, FOTBOLFAN
Foreign Based

Soca Warriors

How could soca singer Alyson Ayers decide to change the  official nickname of the team without consulting the players, management and any of the hardcore T&T football followers from the (TTFSC) T&T Football Supporters Club?

The T&T team had officially adopted the nickname 'Soca Warriors' since early last year well before we won the Copa Caribe!

An uninformed singer just can't come along and change the official nickname of the team, can they?!

I think Alyson Ayers better re-record the song and change the reference to the T&T team from 'Soca Bomb Squad' to 'Soca Warriors'.

I will not refer to the team as the 'Soca Bomb Squad' just because some singer decides to call them that! How long have they been following the damn T&T team?! The T&T team has been dubbed the 'Soca Warriors' over a year now! Does Alyson Ayers or her song writer read the T&T newspapers or follow the T&T football team closely? The name 'Soca Warriors´ was a democratic decision decided by the players and management (be it under St Clair's reign as head coach) over a year ago! Where is democracy going to these days?

Alyson Ayers needs to go back into the studio and correct her error with the team´s name before it is released or scrap that sound all together. As a DJ I will not buy it and play it on my radio show as it is undemocratic for a singer to change the name of the team without consulting the players and proper fans!

As a top football writer Shaun Fuentes should have done his duty by now and publicly corrected this gross error made by a bandwagon soca singer who has just jumped onto the T&T football team WC bandwagon and haven't been closely following the affairs of the team!

Shaun, why have you not corrected this? You of all people know that the team was dubbed the 'Soca Warriors´ over a year ago and have regularly referred to them as such! On top of this we don´t want to have to redesign the supporters club logo and tee-shirts we have been working on with the much more inspiring and established team name 'Soca Warriors´.

Who else feels annoyed like I am about this latest development?! We may just lose our patients and decide to disband the whole bloody TTFSC because of this! :-)

Again I repeat that this new name the singer wants them to adopt is totally undemocratic plus 'Soca Bomb Squad´ reminds us too much of the old nickname 'Soca Strike Squad´ which is synonymous with out failure to qualify for the 1990 WC by just one point!
This time round we need a team with more grit and determination and which does not get overconfident and count its chickens before they hatch, hence the nickname 'Soca Warriors´ being most appropriated and inspiring apart from having been democratically decided upon over a year ago.
We have to be careful that this campaign doh blow up in our faces with this unwise new 'Soca Bomb Squad´ name that Alyson Ayers come up with in her new song.

We need to fight like warriors (Soca Warriors) to stand any chance of qualifying this time round for the first time and I don´t want to see our WC campaign blowing up in our faces because of some silly new song referring to our team by an unwise nickname that could negatively affecting the team's psychic!
Socapro "sticking with the nickname Soca Warriors regardless of what some bandwagon soca singer say!´

By, Socapro
E:Mail: Socapro
Based in England

Back To The Top.

© SocaWarriors Online, Inc, 2000-2008.
All rights reserved.