(I.E) How did you get your start in Football as a goalkeeper?
(BJ) I got my start with a small club in the west by the name of FUTGOF (Future Generation of Footballers). This organisation was started by Michael Awai, Peter Campbell and the late Arthur “Jap” Brown who as my coach. The goal of FUTGOF was to moulding young men into professionals in terms of bringing discipline back to the game. He always said that professionalism is an attitude. To this day, those are one of the words that I live by.
(I.E) When did you get your break playing for W Connection in the PFL (Professional Football League)?
(BJ) There was some financial problems with FUTGOF and in 2000, was I sold to W Connection. I was now (at the time) their second string goal keep.
(I.E) Are you still playing for W Connection? If not who do you goal keep for now.
(BJ) After three (3) years as a goal keep for W Connection, I wanted more playing time on the pitch and the opportunity arose when Tobago United invited me to join their team. There was a bit of hesitation because it was a new team, but I saw it as an opportunity to bring experience to such a young upstart team. So to answer, yes, I’m now at present playing for Tobago United.
(I.E) Who or what motivated you as a young man to get involved in the “world’s greatest game”?
(BJ) Growing up I always enjoyed watching Italian Football. This was like my caffeine. The greats like Maradona and Zicor I would admire and say to myself, that’s gonna be me someday.
(I.E) How often do you practice?
(BJ) Every morning I practice, every evening I practice. My rituals include jogging, stretching and ball handling. It gets the body ready to work, it builds endurance. You're no good damaged (smile)
(IE) What motivates you to get up everyday and train rigoursly?
(BJ) Knowing that the training you put in will be displayed on the field. i.e. What you put in, you get out. You always want to be the player whose making a difference on the pitch. That's why Beckham gets paid crazy money, Yorke, Ronaldinho, Ronaldo.
(IE) Tell us Brian, do you have a favourite team ? If so, do you also have a favourite player?
(BJ) The team I enjoy watching on the football pitch is Ajax of Amsterdam. I totally enjoy watching goalkeep from Ajax Edun Vandessar, but the number one keeper for me I would say is Oliver Kahn, so yes, it's safe to say that Oliver Kahn is my favourite.
(IE) We hear that you have an artistic side especially a poetic side, tell us, why poetry?
(BJ) Poetry to me is just expressing oneself, in my case, me. It's easier for me to express a feeling or emotion that I would not have the courage to say out loud especially when it comes to the matters of the heart. Believe it or not, my inspiration comes from people like Kenny G, and Phil Collins.
(IE) What do you do in your spare time when you're not in the goal post?
(BJ) Well, I enjoy looking at music and liming but what I enjoy most are movies. I totally dig this genre. Movies like State Property, Godfather, Scarface, Baby Boy and Players Club.
(IE) What would you say is your greatest moment?
(BJ) Wow... most definately, hands down would be getting the opportunity to play for the National Team in 2000 against Jamaica. As a child I remember looking into the tunnel to see who was coming out on the pitch and now the tables have turn and it's now myself. In fact what even made this moment even greater was my father saw me for the first time representing.
I was so scared. I was picturing people saying "Whose He?" and making other off-the-collar comments. Yuh know Trini's! I was happy even just to be on the bench, being selected for the National Team is such a great honour. My opportunity became a reality when in the second half after Russ Russell was injured. I had the chance to play for thirty-five minutes Unfortunately we lost to Jamaica 4-2 but this is still one of my greatest moments.
(IE) So have you ever played a game outside of Trinidad? If so, name some of the countries that you've represented the Red, White and Black?
(BJ) Oh yeah, most definately. When I played with W Connection we travelled to Germany, Italy, Ireland, Brazil, London, Antigua, Guyana and even Venezuela.
(IE) So, got a significant other?
(BJ) Yeah, I have a girlfriend (Blush)
(IE) So, before you made football your full-time career, tell our readers where did you make "your bread" before?
(BJ) Well, I was a welder before at Lifetime Muffler Centre. I also worked on an Ammonia plant for Weldfab. I only worked their for six months. I used that time after my employ at Weldfab and made a pact with myself to get good at the game.
(IE) Do you have a 8-4 job or is football a full time occupation?
(BJ) Bro, once you suit up for a sport, it becomes a full-time job.
(IE) What do you see yourself doing in the future?
(BJ) I see this (football) a means to an end. It just goes to show loving what you do. I can realistically see myself coaching. Who knows probably even for the National Team.
(IE) Tell our visitors some of the best words that describe you, Brian James.
(BJ) Whoa... no one has ever asked me that before but words that come to mind on a whim are "Hardworking", "Confident" and "God fearing" person
| Next > |
|---|