Prisons FC became the first team to be officially promoted to the Trinidad and Tobago Super League - League One on Saturday after a thrilling 4-2 victory at YTC Arouca against Petit Valley/Diego Martin Utd (PVDMU).

Prior to kick off, the match was set up as a winner take all encounter, with promotion to League One guaranteed for which ever team could claim all three points. It also meant that a win for either team would earn promotion for the first time in their respective club’s history.

With a chance at making history on the line, Prisons FC caught PVDMU flat footed in the 13th minute. Inform attacker Barry Carrington placed the ball beyond the PVDMU custodian to set Prisons on their way.

Carrington’s partner in crime, Ricardo Alleyne, hit PVDMU with a sucker punch at the stroke of half time when the tricky winger slammed home Prisons’ second as the men from Arouca began to dream of life in League One.

However, PVDMU’s former national senior team midfielder Keron “Ballpest” Cummings had other ideas and ten minutes into the second half, he conjured a reply for the visitors.

Both teams then traded three goals in a frantic spell of attacking football which saw Aaron Peters restore Prisons’ two goal cushion in the 71st minute: and 19-year-old Ishaq Abdullah, pulled one back again for PVDMU in the 80th.

PVDMU might have thought that they had the momentum but Carrington produced his second of the match to swings things back in Prisons’ favour once and for all.


Prisons FC 4-2 PVDMU
Central Spartans 13-0 Marabella FCC
Perseverance 3-2 Youth Stars


Team Games Played Points
1 Prisons FC 11 22
2 Central Spartans 12 21
3 PVDMU 11 20
4 Perseverance Ball Runners 11 18
5 Harlem Strikers 11 16
6 Youth Stars 11 11
7 Marabella Familly CC 11 3

Super League Results

Super League Table

Rank Teams Played Points
1 FC Santa Rosa 18 41
2 Queen's Park FC 18 38
3 Prisons FC 18 36
4 Cunupia FC 18 33
5 Guaya United 17 32
6 Matura Reunited 18 28
7 Police FC SL 18 26
8 University of Trinidad & Tobago 17 20
9 RSSR FA 18 19
10 Petit Valley/Diego Martin United 18 19
11 Club Sando Moruga 18 15
12 Bethel United 18 14
13 San Fernando Giants 18 11
14 Erin FC 18 10