Cornell Glen’s breakaway goal in the MetroStars’ 2-0 win over the Dallas Burn on Saturday, September 25 was voted as the Sierra Mist MLS Goal of the Week for the week ending September 26, 2004 (Week 26).
The Trinidad and Tobago international injury time goal was his sixth of the season.

The Goal of the Week winner is determined from a selection of finalists through a fan vote conducted on the Sierra Mist Goal of the Week section of Major League Soccer's official web site: www.MLSnet.com - (watch the goal here).

Deep into stoppage time and with the MetroStars leading 1-0, Glen added a late insurance goal to cap a stout defensive performance and give the Metros their second consecutive playoff berth. Taking advantage of a counterattacking opportunity, Glen turned Burn defender Steve Jolley on the left touchline at the midfield stripe and set off on a long run to the top of the area before slotting home past Dallas goalkeeper Jeff Cassar to put the game on ice as the MetroStars earned the 2-0 road win.

Glen’s goal (38 percent of the fan vote) stood out against the competition, surpassing goals scored by the Crew’s Tony Sanneh (18 percent), the Fire’s Andy Herron (16 percent), Kansas City’s Igor Simutenkov (15 percent), and MetroStars teammate John Wolyniec (14 percent).

Streaming video highlights and goals from MLS games are available for viewing every weekend on MLSnet.com just hours after the conclusion of the final match of the weekend. The Sierra Mist Goal of the Week winner is announced the following Wednesday.

At the end of the regular season, each of the 29 Goal of the Week winners selected throughout the season will be featured in voting for the Sierra Mist MLS Goal of the Year, an award presented annually to the author of the season's most spectacular scoring play. The Sierra Mist Goal of the Year award will be announced in the days leading up to MLS Cup 2004.

Week 1: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 2: Ronald Cerritos (D.C. United)
Week 3: Dwayne De Rosario (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 4: Carlos Ruiz (Los Angeles Galaxy)
Week 5: Joe Franchino (New England Revolution)
Week 6: Cornell Glen (MetroStars)
Week 7: Jaime Moreno (D.C. United)
Week 8: Freddy Adu (D.C. United)
Week 9: John Wolyniec (MetroStars)
Week 10: Damani Ralph (Chicago Fire)
Week 11: Jeff Agoos (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 12: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 13: Jovan Kirovski (Los Angeles Galaxy)
Week 14: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 15: Steve Ralston (New England Revolution)
Week 16: Brian Ching (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 17: Jack Jewsbury (Kansas City Wizards)
Week 18: Amado Guevara (MetroStars)
Week 19: Dwayne De Rosario (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 20: Matt Crawford (Colorado Rapids)
Week 21: Ross Paule (Columbus Crew)
Week 22: Ronnie O’Brien (Dallas Burn)
Week 23: Josh Wolff (Kansas City Wizards)
Week 24: Tony Sanneh (Columbus Crew)
Week 25: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 26: Cornell Glen (MetroStars)