Sidebar

Thu, Mar
28 New Articles

Typography
Soca Warriors Online Exclusive Interview with Evans Wise

SW: Evans, you were missing for a while. Where did you disappear since your last appearance for T&T?
EW: My last appearance was under Stuart Charles against Morocco in Morocco. I went back to my club to finish my contract, which ran through the middle of 2004. It was the first time in years that I was a free agent. I took the opportunity to spend some time with my family and friends and handle some business in the United States.

SW: Are you still interested in representing Trinidad and Tobago?
EW: Yes, most definitely playing for your country is a privilege.

SW: When was the last time you saw the Trinidad & Tobago team play?
EW: The last game I saw was T&T vs. USA in Trinidad. It is very hard to see CONCACAF games in Europe, I get my info online or from some of the players and friends.

SW: What are your thoughts on our present coach, Mr. Leo Beenhakker.
EW: Well, his record speaks for itself and any one mentioned in the same sentence with Real Madrid must have been doing something right.

SW: Were you ever approached by our new coach? Or did you make him aware of your presence?
EW: Indirectly via David Nakhid. I can't remember the exact date I spoke to Nakhid who recommended me after Mr.Beehakker accepted the job. At that time I was in training and was negotiating a deal with a second division club in Germany. In my opinion it was not practical for me to join the team because I was still without a contract and did not play a full 90 minutes for months. I brought this to their attention and they both agreed, they asked to keep them updated with my progress and a contact number where I can be reached.

SW: How long is your contract with your new club Waldhof Mannheim and are you planning to stay in Germany when your contract expires?
EW: My current contract will expire in 2007. In football nothing is guaranteed and who knows what the future holds.

SW: Are you a starting member for your new team and what position do you play for them?
EW: Yes, so far I have started all the games as an outside left midfield and left wing in a 4-4-3 formation.

SW: Do you think you improved since your last appearance for T&T?
EW: Yes, my game and ability to cross, pass and shoot the ball has improved significantly since my last appearance for T&T. I ran one of my fastest 40m sprints in the club's speed test last week.

SW: Many fans think that you have the ability to play some of the most attractive football but lack in other areas like crossing and passing, do you agree?
EW: I can understand their point of view to a certain extent.  However, when was the last time that my fans saw me play? Some of the reports are based upon my performance four or five years ago. The last two games I played for T&T was again Antigua where I scored a goal, I think that game was in 2003 and later that year against Morocco. I would like my fans to check the reports and reviews on my performance in those two games and post game reports in Germany they may find it interesting.
To my fans, I have no doubt in my ability, but every player has a part of their game that they could improve. I have identified my weaknesses and will continue to improve on some highlighted areas of my football. Also, I appreciate your sincerity and thank you for voicing your opinions, but do not believe everything someone else says. On a different note, to value my game it's probably necessary to understand that I will work together with the members of my team to break down the other team's game plan, be it compact, defensive or offensive. I take chances and create chances, regardless of the opponent and will defend regardless of the game condition. God blessed me by giving me certain skills, which I will use to the best of my ability.

SW: Do you see yourself returning to the MLS or perhaps even a T&T Pro-League team one day?
EW: The saying is "never say never" but I would prefer to finish my career in Europe. MLS is a great chance to start your professional career. However, I don't like the leagues treatment of W.I. players. Trinidad is always a possibility but I don't think it will be in the Pro-League. I would end my career where I started by giving back to the community in the minor leagues Belle Vue Debe, De Quarry Carenage, Northern, Maraval or a small goal near you.

SW: You are currently playing in the German third division league, how is the standard compare to other leagues you have played in once?
EW: Compared to leagues I have played in which includes the first division  "Ulm" and the second division  "Wacker" it is very difficult.  You have less time on ball and need to be very fit and not afraid to take chances in this division. They will run you for 90 minutes non-stop and defend like it was a street fight every game because everyone is competing to do their best to move up to a higher division. There are six or seven teams in the league that could play in the two elite leagues. German football at any level is very difficult because of their discipline, style of play, it's no coincidence they are only second to Brazil in World Cup trophies and their club teams always do well in UEFA.

SW: How did you go about obtaining a contract in Germany and why did you choose there and not England or even Scotland?
EW: The first agent I worked with was a Swiss. He had contacts in Holland but he advised it would not be beneficial for me to take a contract in Holland because I was over 20 at that time and Holland is well known for their football schools, mainly to buy younger players with the intention of selling the player to bigger European nations after they have developed. He advised that financially and for my career I should try to get a contract with the five major leagues, which includes England, Germany, Spain, Italy and France.  I started my professional career with MLS and did not have the opportunity of playing in a Trinidad League. I had to play 75% of my country's games in order to qualify for the permit, and there was always a problem with the club over country issue. Other players started with Trinidad Leagues and had the opportunity, which meant that acquiring caps was not a problem, just a matter of getting approval. This permit rule applies to the UK, in other parts of Europe the rules are different. I got my major break when I signed with 1 Bundesliga, which meant that I was at the highest level of my game, and the wages were on par with England, Spain and Italy (not familiar with Scotland wages) and had no intentions of moving elsewhere at that time.

SW: Have you ever given the thought of owning your own football team one day?
EW: I thought about becoming an Agent and a Coach.  However owning a football team is out of my league at this time. I am currently working on a small project in Trinidad, which you might hear about in the near future. It is not going to be a F.C for the PFL although it may rival them someday. It will be more along the lines of youth development and Management.

SW: Do you miss Trinidad, and how often do you visit?
EW: "NOT JUST MISS, MISS BAD". Especially in winter on a frozen pitch "'yuh cyar feel yuh toes" and the fluorescent balls come out so you can see ball on white snow "pressure''. I visit Trinidad mostly when I am selected for the National Team. Time is the issue. I am either in pre-season outside Germany or in the US where my family lives and that is only 2 months out of the year.

SW: If you had a wish what would that be?
EW: I would like to answer this question with two answers. T&T is going to the World Cup and on a personal note that God will continue to bless myself, family, friends and fans with health and strength and that he continue to guide me along my career path.

SW: Do you get West Indian food in Germany?
EW: Not really, the closest I had to W.I. food was some Spanish rice ''it taste like pelau'' I tried something like roti at an Asian restaurant one time,''de worst,  dem people massacre de roti yes ''never again". Nothing better than a Patraj Roti.

SW: Do you visit the Soca Warriors Online and, how often?
EW: Yes, I check SW ONline on a regular basis, if time permits twice weekly.

SW: Do you keep in contact with any of the T&T players?
EW: Yes, I speak to a lot of the T&T players when I can, mostly via e-mail.

SW: Who is your favorite T&T player(s) of all times?
EW: No disrespect to the older greats but my favorite T&T players who I saw play in my time was the all member Strike Squad.

SW: Do you feel Leo Beenhakker can get us to the 2006 World Cup?
EW: I am pretty optimistic he can get us there.

Note: Thank you Evans for taking the time out to do this interview for us on the SOCAwarriors Online.