Sports => Football => Topic started by: jusbless on July 20, 2006, 08:23:56 PM

Title: Marvin Phillip Thread
Post by: jusbless on July 20, 2006, 08:23:56 PM
Forgive and Forget . I watched games in the PFL this season and he is the best keeper in the league . I gope he does not get black listed for past indecisions. TTFF does seem to discard players for instance Micheal Codrington after he got dispelled from the under 17 team he never even made it for trials for any otther national squads. It is time to put aside petty differnces and do what is best for Trinidad football.

Title: Re: Marvin Phillips
Post by: Jah Gol on July 20, 2006, 08:29:34 PM
I think Carington is the player's name

Post by: kingman on July 20, 2006, 08:35:54 PM
Forgive and Forget . I watched games in the PFL this season and he is the best keeper in the league . I gope he does not get black listed for past indecisions. TTFF does seem to discard players for instance Micheal Codrington after he got dispelled from the under 17 team he never even made it for trials for any otther national squads. It is time to put aside petty differnces and do what is best for Trinidad football.

Marvin Phillips had a great game against North East Stars. If he continues to have a good season I think he should get called up for the national squad.

Post by: TrinInfinite on July 20, 2006, 08:44:19 PM
this man is a boss, him and jan michael williams, he was also mentioned in the list i said of players that should have been on reserve..
Post by: Jefferz on July 20, 2006, 08:47:24 PM
Jan is more talented the Marvin... Marvin is a good guy with a rocky attitude... you seldomly see keepers givin so much trouble however if he gets another chance im sure he will impress.

For me the future keeper should be Jan.
Post by: noname on July 20, 2006, 10:34:49 PM
Jan is more talented the Marvin... Marvin is a good guy with a rocky attitude... you seldomly see keepers givin so much trouble however if he gets another chance im sure he will impress.

Lemme give meh two cents...Marvin Phillip is a BOSS keeper..better than Jan in my opinion but yuh see bad mind...is a helluva a ting...In addition to training football, this youth needs to get his head in order cause I telling you from first hand experience, he not ready mentally at this point. Bad man attitude and football doh mix...

Post by: Swima on July 21, 2006, 06:33:45 AM
The two sides of his character were depicted in the game this past week. He shows up late for the game, gets subbed in after 30 minutes and then pulls off save after save. In the dying minutes he makes two saves on the same play, the second more amazing than the first which was already of high quality.

Something must be done to inspire youths with this level of talent to be disciplined. Positive reinforcement, psych sessions on goal setting, as well as understanding that there are consequences for indiscretions are among a number of techniques that can be used at youth level, as well as the PFL level. Athletes need to be well-rounded throughout their careers. There must be a wholistic approach.
Post by: TrinInfinite on July 21, 2006, 07:00:33 AM
The two sides of his character were depicted in the game this past week. He shows up late for the game, gets subbed in after 30 minutes and then pulls off save after save. In the dying minutes he makes two saves on the same play, the second more amazing than the first which was already of high quality.

Something must be done to inspire youths with this level of talent to be disciplined. Positive reinforcement, psych sessions on goal setting, as well as understanding that there are consequences for indiscretions are among a number of techniques that can be used at youth level, as well as the PFL level. Athletes need to be well-rounded throughout their careers. There must be a wholistic approach.

lincoln phillips needs tuh sit down with marvin phillips and talk 2 him and tell him, son you have a bright future ahead of u if u start to cool yourself and become disciplined :beermug:
Post by: Marcos on July 21, 2006, 07:46:39 AM
Horse I was in his secondary school when he first came out and he was star back then, but he has had a bad attitude since then.
He is by far the most talented keeper I have seen on the local youth circuit but he needs to settle down
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 21, 2006, 09:02:03 AM
That boy get spoiled and mollycoddled in high school.  They does build you up to be such a great thing when yuh playing Intercol.  Sometimes, if yuh ain't check yuhself, it hard to keep grounded.  That is over and he needs to grow up.  If I were the coach he was not even changing into uniform, much less playing.  The coach set a bad precedent by letting him play.  It also tells you his faith in the backup. ;)
Post by: weary1969 on July 21, 2006, 09:17:00 AM
What high school is responsible for that?

Post by: Jefferz on July 21, 2006, 01:38:01 PM

Lemme give meh two cents...Marvin Phillip is a BOSS keeper..better than Jan in my opinion but yuh see bad mind...is a helluva a ting...In addition to training football, this youth needs to get his head in order cause I telling you from first hand experience, he not ready mentally at this point. Bad man attitude and football doh mix...

nah dred... Jan is rel agile. the man could be a damn shoulin monk.
Post by: Israel on July 21, 2006, 01:57:57 PM
Jefferz i wonder if yuh prefer Jan cuz he went St. Anthony's? but anyhow I think both are very talented. I know Jan personally and I know he is very focused and is a hard worker. I cannot say which one is better but talent could only carry you so far, determination and hard work separates the sheep from the goats.

Post by: noname on July 21, 2006, 03:42:34 PM
That boy get spoiled and mollycoddled in high school.  They does build you up to be such a great thing when yuh playing Intercol.  Sometimes, if yuh ain't check yuhself, it hard to keep grounded.  That is over and he needs to grow up.  If I were the coach he was not even changing into uniform, much less playing.  The coach set a bad precedent by letting him play.  It also tells you his faith in the backup. ;)

EXACTLY.....yuh reach late for the game....take in the games from the stands...

Marvin was always like that...long before he play intercol...but I will agree..when he played for Pres Sando, the head coach and staff treat him like a king...

When he went P'town, it got even worse.
Post by: breezers on July 21, 2006, 04:15:18 PM
Jefferz i wonder if yuh prefer Jan cuz he went St. Anthony's? but anyhow I think both are very talented. I know Jan personally and I know he is very focused and is a hard worker. I cannot say which one is better but talent could only carry you so far, determination and hard work separates the sheep from the goats.

Dyez probably de case Israel...buh fuh me..ah believe in givin men (who deserve it) dey ratings...and as far as I concern...Jan eh better dan Marvin in no way..in terms ah on de field ah play..once Marvin get ah chance tuh represent he country and control he emotions...yuh go see way Jan go be!!
Post by: real madness on July 21, 2006, 08:07:22 PM

Marvin was always like that...long before he play intercol...but I will agree..when he played for Pres Sando, the head coach and staff treat him like a king...

from talking to one of the coaches at Pres during that time the situation was Marvin was very difficult to deal with..they tried to work with him but it was impossible so they told him he had no place on the team so he went P Town..he was not treated like no king at Pres.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on July 21, 2006, 09:07:54 PM

from talking to one of the coaches at Pres during that time the situation was Marvin was very difficult to deal with..they tried to work with him but it was impossible so they told him he had no place on the team so he went P Town..he was not treated like no king at Pres.
correct...marvin was in my class...he was no king...bro cuff up he tail a couple times and thing...he knew he didnt stand a chance to get back in form six..cuz he always gave problems...he is a cool fella but jus always had attitude problems....but hadda say always thought he is one of de bess keepers in trinidad...real hope he can break his way onto national side and hold down a spot
Post by: Jefferz on July 21, 2006, 11:45:03 PM

Dyez probably de case Israel...buh fuh me..ah believe in givin men (who deserve it) dey ratings...and as far as I concern...Jan eh better dan Marvin in no way..in terms ah on de field ah play..once Marvin get ah chance tuh represent he country and control he emotions...yuh go see way Jan go be!!

oh gord obviously however... on a serious note it a much surer bet... im sorry... it may be one dimentional but he is the harder worker and less of a trouble maker...

im sorry... im always gunna go with that as appose to taking a chance with a an attempted play boy.
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 22, 2006, 06:17:21 AM

Alright fellas.  I will come out and sya that P. towm spoiled him, cause if I didn't have self restraint, it would have been the same for me when I played there.  When yuh winning, yuh is ah king at P. Town.  But say what, other men like Noreiga and Logan, myself, Dereck Roberts and them pass through there, and managed to stay grounded, so why can't he. 
Post by: ß!aCkÒuT on July 22, 2006, 06:41:46 AM
I think we are forgetting that these fellas are 21. They are both still very young. We don't know what's going happen to each players development. They are both very talented keepers in any case it is very positive for Trinidad and Tobago football. We'll see whose better in the long run and even then I think who ever the coach will be he will have a tough decision to make.
Post by: bajanscout on July 23, 2006, 05:25:39 PM
i disagree there is a goalkeeper here in florida by the name of troy marquis he is far better than jan and marvin  his name has been buzzin around town 
Post by: Benchwarmer on July 24, 2006, 01:55:31 PM
As a keeper the problem might be that.. yuh doh see many oppotunities for yuhself..
cause i see both a them and they real good.. but Durance Williams come out only a few years before them....and then it have kevin graham too  and then Holder is what?? two years younger......

so a coach might say.... he good but, a man just as good doh have the bad attitude so we will go with Jan...

Post by: freakazoid on July 25, 2006, 04:11:02 AM
I think we are forgetting that these fellas are 21. They are both still very young. We don't know what's going happen to each players development. They are both very talented keepers in any case it is very positive for Trinidad and Tobago football. We'll see whose better in the long run and even then I think who ever the coach will be he will have a tough decision to make.
21 is no longer considered very young in football.
on raw ability phillips is d better keeper but as things stand phillip still seems to be a loose cannon. my vote will definitely go to jan.
i am still waiting on the playas from the 2001 U17 squad to stand outat  senior level.
a 2nd thing is this day and age when sport has been so commercialised and sports men idolised how much inspiration and motivation does a talented young sports man really need?
Post by: Jah Gol on July 25, 2006, 06:57:36 AM
For a keeper 21 is still young. Unless you're a freak like Casillas.
Title: Re: Marvin Phillip
Post by: Tallman on December 12, 2013, 03:44:48 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/cVfwc2nKwoQ
Post by: Tiresais on December 12, 2013, 07:51:18 PM
Why did Phillip fall of the international radar?
Post by: JRtheWriter on December 13, 2013, 10:42:48 AM
Marvin is the more consistent keeper. Jan is the more explosive one. Jan will get a save Marvin couldn't but in the same breath would botch a save Marvin would easily have.
It all depends what the coach thinks is more important...
Post by: Football supporter on December 13, 2013, 11:52:51 AM
Marvin is the more consistent keeper. Jan is the more explosive one. Jan will get a save Marvin couldn't but in the same breath would botch a save Marvin would easily have.
It all depends what the coach thinks is more important...

Having seen both of them, I don't agree. I feel Jan is more consistent and commands the box better. Marvin, is a good shot stopper and is good at penalties.
Post by: dinho on December 13, 2013, 12:13:02 PM
Nice video, some truly world class saves in that compilation...

Disagree with JRWriter on that analysis. In my opinion, Marvin is the best shot stopper we have and is capable of pulling off the most amazing saves. Even on some of the routine saves in the vid you can see just how good his reflexes are as he gets down very early once the shot gets off.

I think Jan Michael is better on crosses and commanding the PK area and may be a bigger presence as a keeper.

It's just good that for a long time, Trinidad and Tobago has not had a goalkeeper problem.. I feel confident with either of them in the posts.
Post by: Flex on December 13, 2013, 12:14:24 PM
Why did Phillip fall of the international radar?

He was injured for the first Jamaica game, so he could not be selected.

Title: Re: Marvin Phillip Thread
Post by: diamondtrim on December 13, 2013, 07:36:07 PM
Agree with dinho....don't think Jan is more explosive either. He may command the box a little better, but Marvin is the better keeper. I noticed that he rarely gives up rebound chances....his saves, as spectacular as some are, send the ball wide or out of play....rarely back into the path of an opposing player. That to me is one of the more subtle things that separates the keepers...
Title: Marvin Phillips baby passed away today..
Post by: Flex on June 06, 2014, 10:11:51 AM
Marvin Phillips baby passed away today.. and the child's mother passed away at birth 10 months ago..

Just got the news..

Condolence to Marvin and his family.

Title: Re: Marvin Phillips baby passed away today..
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 06, 2014, 10:12:57 AM
Wow, dat is pressha!!
Title: Marvin Phillips' son passes away.
Post by: vb on June 06, 2014, 10:13:30 AM

First the baby's mother died recently and now his son.
For some reason I am unable to past the link here.

The story is on ttfonline.com

Post by: soccerrama on June 06, 2014, 10:14:45 AM
T&T camp in mourning following the death of Marvin Phillip's son.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

The Trinidad and Tobago camp was thrown into mourning early on Friday after receiving the tragic news of the death of  the 10-month old son of goalkeeper Marvin Phillip.

The T&T team arrived in Sao Paolo at 2am on Friday for Sunday’s match against Iran. Shortly after 10am, Phillip was told that his son, Matai, was found dead at a Daycare in San Fernando where he had been  dropped off earlier by his mother.

Phillip is now scheduled depart for home on Friday evening with assistant manager Peter Rampersad and is expected to arrive at Piarco at around midday on Saturday. Phillip, is still coming to terms with the death of his first child’s mother Aldella Gill who passed away last month due to heart complications.

The Point Fortin Civic Centre custodian was the reserve goalkeeper in Wednesday’s friendly international against Argentina. He has been a member of T&T Under 17, Under 20 Under 23 and Senior Teams.

National team head coach Stephen Hart, in a brief statement, expressed condolences to Phillip and his family on behalf of the team and the TTFA.

"This is tragic moment in Marvin's life. He has faced some traumatic moments in the last month. Our hearts go out to him and the family.

This is such a sad moment, I cannot even begin to understand what he must be going through emotionally. All this really places life into perspective for myself personally and us as a team,” Hart told TTFA Media as members of the team gathered at Phillips’ room at the Bristol International Airport Hotel.

Post by: soccerman on June 06, 2014, 10:21:31 AM
This is heartbreaking, sorry Marvin my condolences to you and your family.
Post by: Controversial on June 06, 2014, 10:44:04 AM
my condolences...
Post by: Football supporter on June 06, 2014, 10:49:44 AM
I'm so shocked. Anybody from the Couva area would have known Aldella who worked in the trophy section of Ramsinghs. A nice bubbly young lady who passed away so young.

But now to hear this news about Matai. As soon as I heard I wanted to rush to bring my daughter from daycare. How must it feel to receive this bitter blow after the highs of landing in Brazil?

All of the Central F.C. players and staff share Marvo's grief.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 06, 2014, 11:08:26 AM
Our football and the things that happen to our football personalities .. Brace! Iz ah unending series of  :frustrated:.

Hold strain, Marvin. Hold strain!!!
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2014, 11:11:55 AM
Condolences 3 cdren die in this country this week MADNESS. (that is what we know bout)
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on June 06, 2014, 11:12:43 AM
couldn't believe this wen I heard this morning..
Keep strong Marvin
Post by: socalion on June 06, 2014, 11:34:36 AM
Very sad indeed .... To marvin and his family  may god give you strength and courage at this very Trying time ..  thoughts and prayers on behalf of you and your family .
Post by: Bally on June 06, 2014, 11:59:20 AM
very sad keep yah head up Marvin
Post by: Peong on June 06, 2014, 12:03:19 PM
Sorry for your loss man.
Post by: Socapro on June 06, 2014, 12:08:39 PM
Condolences to Marvin Phillip and his family.  :(

I guess he will now have to be excused from the Brazil tour to fly back for the funeral.
Post by: royal on June 06, 2014, 12:11:49 PM
condolences to Marvin and his family
Post by: Bakes on June 06, 2014, 12:12:47 PM
My sincere condolences to Marvin and his family... not the news that anyone, let alone a parent wants to hear.
Post by: Football supporter on June 06, 2014, 12:57:53 PM
This message was posted on the Central F.C. site:

Nagy Jozsef Please accept our deepest sympathy : Ferencvaros TC , Budapest , Hungary

How thoughtful is that?  :beermug: :notworthy:(this from me, not Guerra!)
Post by: Big Magician on June 06, 2014, 01:22:08 PM
sad...Condolences from The Magicians.

and i had a very brief hello chat with him at the stadium training session..as he had a slight leg niggle..
Post by: Tiresais on June 06, 2014, 02:02:34 PM
Condolences, terrible, terrible news
Post by: Deeks on June 06, 2014, 04:12:37 PM
Condolences to Marvin and his family. God Bless!
Post by: Brownsugar on June 06, 2014, 04:21:21 PM
Marvin Phillips baby passed away today.. and the child's mother passed away at birth 10 months ago..

Just got the news..

Wwwwwhhhhaaaattttt?? ?? ?!!!!!   Noooooooo man......noooooooo!!!!!  smh.....no man, no.........I eh even know what to say.........
Post by: socafighter on June 06, 2014, 04:33:29 PM

On occasions as this words are difficult to come by ...

Be strong young man .... we are given only what we can carry .

My condolences ....
Post by: AB.Trini on June 06, 2014, 04:41:23 PM
Very tragic indeed- condolences- Family and team mates. Football is the game-  but Life is......so much more....
Post by: zuluwarrior on June 06, 2014, 04:54:53 PM
 Times like this you look for answers to the questions and they all come up blank especially in Trinbago .

Bro I hope you don't feel you are being punish for something you did ,because the God I know do not wish for us to be sad and in pain .

You are a young strong man, stand tall, call on the Lord and he will comfort you ,and remember the Father wish for us is that we may have life abundantly ,but the wicked one come to steal kill and destroy .

]
Peace and love to you in these times warrior
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2014, 05:19:19 PM
Is the eldest child mother who died not the baby's mother.
Post by: Football supporter on June 06, 2014, 06:25:00 PM

Just got the news..

Aldella was the mother of Marvins first child and they were no longer in a relationship. She passed away from a heart condition age 27 around a month ago I believe.

Matai was Marvins son from his current relationship and was 10 months old. 
Title: Infant son of Soca Warrior keeper dies after choking on car seat straps
Post by: Socapro on June 06, 2014, 06:38:59 PM
Here is some more news on this sad story!  :(

Infant son of Soca Warrior keeper dies after choking on car seat straps (http://www.guardian.co.tt/2014-06-06/infant-son-soca-warrior-keeper-dies-after-choking-car-seat-straps)
Published: Friday, June 6, 2014
Jensen La Vende (T&T Guardian)

The ten-month-old son of a member of the Soca Warrior squad now in Brazil died this morning, moments after being dropped off at a daycare centre at Cicada Street, Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas.

The grandparents of Maitai Phillip said the child was dropped off at the daycare shortly after 6 am. The child’s father is goalkeeper Marvin Phillip, who is expected back in Trinidad tomorrow.

Less than an hour later they received a message from staff at Anointed Angels saying the child was at the Chaguanas Health Facility and they needed to get there as soon as possible.

The child, they said, choked on the car seat straps. Relatives said they want a full investigation into the death.

A release issued by the TTFA said Phillip was told of his son's death shortly after 10 am.

Phillip is now scheduled to leave for home this evening with assistant manager Peter Rampersad and is expected to arrive at Piarco at around midday tomorrow.

The Point Fortin Civic Centre custodian was the reserve goalkeeper in Wednesday’s friendly international against Argentina. He has been a member of T&T Under 17, Under 20 Under 23 and Senior Teams.

The release said national team head coach Stephen Hart, in a brief statement, had expressed condolences to Phillip and his family on behalf of the team and the TTFA. "This is a tragic moment in Marvin's life. He has faced some traumatic moments in the last month. Our hearts go out to him and the family. This is such a sad moment, I cannot even begin to understand what he must be going through emotionally. All this really places life into perspective for myself personally and us as a team,” Hart told TTFA media as members of the team gathered at Phillips’ room at the Bristol International Airport Hotel.

Other tragic child deaths Phillips was the third child to die this week. On Sunday, 23-month-old Kriston Obadele Gonzales drowned in a manmade pool at his Moruga home. One day later five-year-old Jemimah Agard drowned at the YMCA pool at Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain, after she and her classmates attended swimming lessons.
Post by: D.H.W on June 06, 2014, 08:13:13 PM
Wow. :(
Post by: zuluwarrior on June 06, 2014, 09:48:43 PM
I was wondering what was the age limit on the car seat that strangle the baby if the baby was within the limit? maybe he might have a law suite against  the makers ,maybe there is a fault that never showed up till now .
Title: 10-month-old son of national footballer found lifeless in car seat in Chaguanas
Post by: Socapro on June 06, 2014, 10:30:32 PM
And here is some more information on how the baby died!

10-month-old son of national footballer found lifeless in car seat in Chaguanas
By Sue-Ann Wayow (Express).

DEATH AT DAY-CARE

TEN-month-old Matai Phillip, the son of Trinidad and Tobago Soca Warrior Marvin Phillip, died yesterday shortly after being dropped off at a day-care centre in Chaguanas.

Phillip, who was in Argentina with the national team when he was told, was said to be distraught.
Several months ago, the mother of his first child died.

Baby Matai’s mother, Leslie-Ann Halls, is a part-time Special Reserve Police Officer and employee of TSTT.

Police were told that around 6.15 a.m. yesterday, the child was dropped off at the Anointed Angels Day Care at Cicada Street, Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas.

The child, who was ten months old on Monday, was taken to the day-care by his grandfather, Lincoln Halls, police said. About an hour later, the centre called the family to say the infant had been taken to the Chaguanas medical facility.

When the family got there, the child was already dead. A day-care worker told the family the boy had been crying incessantly when placed in a crib and was taken out and strapped into a car seat.

He was found motionless minutes later.

A statement from the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation had earlier stated the child was taken to the day-care centre by his mother.

Public Information Officer of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, Sgt Wayne Mystar, said yesterday he was told the baby began crying around 7 a.m. and was placed in a car seat available at the nursery.

He said: “They put the safety harness on the baby. About ten minutes past seven when they went to check on the baby, the baby was unresponsive. The baby was rushed to the Chaguanas medical facility. It is suspected that the child probably suffocated or at least he strangled himself by tangling up with the seat belt. We are awaiting the autopsy result.”

Mystar later said the police had been asked by a pathologist at the Forensic Science Centre in St James to submit the child’s car seat and the last bottle of formula. In addition, the police were asked to get the child’s medical history since the infant was said to have wheezing problems.

Officials at the day-care centre declined to speak with the Express yesterday.

TSTT’s manager of media relations and corporation communications, Graeme Suite, said Halls is an employee at the company’s Internet support department.

He added: “The news of the passing of her son has come as a shock to us and we extend our heartfelt condolences to her and her family.

“TSTT has programmes for supporting employees and their families facing such difficult circumstances and this support will be made available to her and her family. This is a tragedy. Her colleagues in the office where she is based were particularly saddened by the news and we hold her and her family in our thoughts and prayers in their time of grief.”

HOW DID MATAI DIE?
By JULIEN NEAVES (Newsday).

WHILE in Brazil preparing for a match against Iran on Sunday national footballer Marvin Phillip received the tragic news that his 10-month-old son, Matai Joshua Cameron Phillip, had died after being taken to a daycare in Chaguanas.

The baby’s grandparents, Lincoln Halls and Gemma Ottley from Springlands, Gasparillo, and godmother Sharon Santana, were at the Forensic Science Centre in St James yesterday awaiting an autopsy. Halls reported that the autopsy had been postponed to Monday due to additional tests.

Halls told the media he and his wife dropped off Matai at 6.15 am at the Anointed Angels Daycare at Cicada Street, Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas. He said the baby, who was sitting with his grandmother in the backseat, was “jolly” and playful and did not appear ill. He reported that he handed Matai to the daycare attendant and also gave them the baby’s car seat.

He said the attendant was alone with Matai and about five other babies, and she had told him the other attendants would be arriving at 8 am.

About an hour later someone from the daycare telephoned Matai’s mother Lesley-Ann Halls, a police officer assigned to the Gasparillo Police Station, and told her the baby had been taken to the Chaguanas Health Facility.

“Come down to the health facility. Something is wrong with the baby,” Matai’s grandfather recalled.

When the relatives arrived the baby was already dead. Halls said when his daughter saw her dead son she “broke down”, was unable to stand and had to be cared for by health workers. He reported the daycare attendant, a woman who appeared to be in her fifties, told him Matai was crying in the crib and she had taken him out and placed him in the car seat. The woman told him she later observed him slumped over in the car seat and believes he choked on the strap. Halls noted Matai, however, was accustomed to being in the car seat.

“That is sounding so strange,” he commented.

The owner of the daycare, Pauline Maloney, spoke on the incident to TV6 News. She stated that at about 7 am the baby began crying and was placed in one of the nursery car seats.

“He fell asleep for a short while and then he got up. I just left him where he was in the car seat,” she said.

She also said a short while after she realised he was unconscious. She removed him from the seat and began CPR on him before calling emergency services. She noted that she continued CPR and kept in contact with the paramedics who were instructing her on what to do. Maloney reported the paramedics arrived about five to 10 minutes later and he was rushed to the health facility and they continued CPR but he died.

Maloney said the baby likely got tied up in the straps and suffocated. She asked the family for forgiveness.

“I really apologise to the parents, to everyone of the family members for what took place. If I could bring Matai back now I would bring Matai back now,” she said.

Halls said Matai had been at that daycare since he was five-months-old and they did not have any problems with them in the past. He also recalled he had seen him in the car seat previously when he came to pick him up from the daycare.

Santana, the child’s godmother, said his mother had always dreamed of having a baby and following his death she was “in a mess”.

“He was her joy, her life, her everything,” she added.

Santana said Matai, who turned ten months on Monday, was christened at a church in Gasparillo and “now we have to bury him right there”.

The relatives are calling for a full investigation into the case. Matai, also nicknamed “Tai”, is the first child for the mother and Phillip’s third; he has two elder sons.

In a statement yesterday from Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) Director of Communications Shaun Fuentes, it was reported that the “Trinidad and Tobago camp was thrown into mourning early on Friday after receiving the tragic news of the death of the ten-month-old son of goalkeeper Marvin Phillip.”

He reported the team arrived in Sao Paolo at 2 am yesterday for the friendly match against Iran.

Phillip, 30, received the news of his son’s death shortly after 10 am. Halls recalled when he told him the news Phillip immediately hung up the telephone.

According to the TTFA Phillip was scheduled to depart for home yesterday evening with assistant manager Peter Rampersad and is expected to arrive at Piarco at around midday today.

This is the second tragedy for him in as many months with Fuentes reporting that “Phillip is still coming to terms with the death of his first child’s mother Aldella Gill who passed away last month due to heart complication”.

Phillip, goalie for Point Fortin Civic Centre, was the reserve goalkeeper in the friendly international against Argentina on Wednesday. He has been a member of the under 17, under-20, under 23 and senior national teams.

National team head coach Stephen Hart in a brief statement expressed condolences to Phillip and his family on behalf of the team and the TTFA. He was speaking as members of the team gathered at Phillips’ room at the Bristol International Airport Hotel in Sao Paolo.

“This is a tragic moment in Marvin’s life. He has faced some traumatic moments in the last month. Our hearts go out to him and the family. This is such a sad moment, I cannot even begin to understand what he must be going through emotionally. All this really places life into perspective for myself personally and us as a team,” he said.

According to the police the staff at the daycare were interviewed and they are awaiting the post mortem on Monday. Chaguanas police are continuing investigations and Maloney is assisting them.

Phillip is the third tragic child death this week: 22-month-old Kriston Obadele Gonzales drowned in a manmade pool at his Mayaro home on Sunday, and one day later five-year-old Jeminah Agard drowned at the YMCA pool at Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain, after she and her class attended swimming lessons.

Post by: Sando on June 07, 2014, 02:00:21 AM
Deepest condolence my brother.

I am so sorry to hear this. May God rest his soul in peace.

Post by: Socapro on June 07, 2014, 08:08:11 AM
Warriors in mourning
Jun 6, 2014 at 10:30 PM ECT (Express)

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) issued a statement yesterday, disclosing that Marvin Phillip, the team’s reserve goalkeeper, who did not play in the friendly between Trinidad and Tobago and Argentina on Wednesday, was told of his child’s death at 10 a.m. and was headed home last evening.

The Education Ministry told the Express it had no jurisdiction over privately-owned day-care centres.

The Trinidad and Tobago Nursery Association said the Anointed Angels Day Care was not a member of the association.

The following is the statement issued by the TTFF:
The Trinidad and Tobago camp was thrown into mourning early on Friday after receiving the tragic news of the death of the ten-month-old son of goalkeeper Marvin Phillip.

The T&T team arrived in Sao Paulo at 2 a.m. on Friday for Sunday’s match against Iran. Shortly after 10 a.m., Phillip was told his son, Matai, was found dead at a day-care in (Chaguanas) where he had been dropped off earlier by his mother.

Phillip is now scheduled to depart for home on Friday evening with assistant manager Peter Rampersad and is expected to arrive at Piarco around midday today.

Phillip is still coming to terms with the death of his first child’s mother, Aldella Gill, who passed away last month due to heart complications.

The Point Fortin Civic Centre custodian was the reserve goalkeeper in Wednesday’s friendly international against Argentina. He has been a member of T&T Under-17, Under-20, Under-23 and senior teams.

National team head coach Stephen Hart, in a brief statement, expressed condolences to Phillip and his family on behalf of the team and the TTFA.

Hart told TTFA Media as members of the team gathered at Phillip’s room at the Bristol International Airport Hotel: “This is tragic moment in Marvin’s life. He has faced some traumatic moments in the last month.”

He added: “Our hearts go out to him and the family. This is such a sad moment, I cannot even begin to understand what he must be going through emotionally. All this really places life into perspective for myself personally and us as a team.”
Post by: Socapro on June 07, 2014, 08:14:47 AM
Pathologist calling for full medical history
Jun 6, 2014 at 10:30 PM ECT (Express)

THE exact cause of death of the ten-month-old son of national footballer Marvin Phillip could not be determined yesterday.

A determination is expected to be made when the child’s complete medical history is presented to the forensic pathologist on Monday.

According to relatives, around 6.15 a.m. yesterday, Matai Joshua Cameron Phillip was dropped off at the Anointed Angels Day-care Centre at Cicada Street, Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas.

The child had been taken to the centre from his home at Spring Lands, Gasparillo, by his grandfather, Lincoln Halls.

Relatives said just before 7 a.m. they got a telephone call from the day-care advising them to go immediately to the Chaguanas medical facility. When they got there they were told the child had died.

Halls, who spoke to reporters at the Forensic Science Centre yesterday, said he was told by one of the day-care employees the child had been crying incessantly in a crib, following which he was taken out and placed in a child car seat. About half an hour later the boy was found motionless in the seat, he said.

Halls said around 7 a.m. he got a call from the boy’s mother, Leslie-Ann Halls, who said she had been told by the day-care that something was wrong with her son.

Halls told reporters: “When I left him at the day-care centre he was jolly and playing and when I went to the health centre minutes to 8 (o’clock) the child was lifeless.”

Leslie-Ann Halls is a special reserve police officer at the Gasparillo Police Station.

Lincoln Halls speculated that when the boy was placed in the car seat he may have choked on a strap in the seat. He added, “But the crib is the safer place because you wouldn’t take them from a crib to a car seat. ... In my view that sounding so strange.”

The forensic pathologist at the Forensic Science Centre in St James has decided that he wanted a copy of the child’s complete medical history before fully examining the body.

The Express was told by the police officer investigating the case that the baby may have had respiratory issues prior to his sudden death and that all angles needed to be covered as the investigations continue.
Post by: Socapro on June 07, 2014, 09:05:31 AM
Cops probe another baby’s death
Saturday, June 7, 2014 (Guardian)
By Jensen La Vende

The relatives of ten-month-old Matai Phillip will have to wait until Monday to find out what caused the child’s death yesterday. They say they were told to return to the Forensic Science Centre on Monday, as the baby’s case was a “special one.” The child was the youngest son of his father, national footballer Marvin Phillip, and the first and only child of his mother, PC Lesley-Ann Halls.

The child’s grandfather, Lincoln Halls, said he dropped off Matai around 6.15 am yesterday at Anointed Hands Day Care at Cicada Street, Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas.  Halls, who spoke with the media outside the Forensic Science Centre yesterday, said he gave the child to the caregivers and then gave them the car seat. He said Matai was not in the car seat because his wife was holding the child at the time.

Just after 7 am Matai’s grandmother Gemma Ottley was called and told to go to the Chaguanas Health Facility as the child was unresponsive. “When I left him he was jolly and playing. Then I went to the health centre, minutes to eight, and the child was lifeless. “They said he was in the child seat and the strap may have choked him. “The crib is the safer place. You wouldn't take a child from a crib to put him in a car seat. The only time I would put him there is when he in my view. That sounding so strange,” Halls said.

Police said caregivers at the daycare centre said Matai had a history of respiratory problems. The caregiver said after receiving Matai he was placed in the car seat. Some time later he seemed to be asleep, so the caregiver went to put him in the crib and noticed he was not breathing.

The caregiver, who is trained in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), tried to revive  Matai but was unable to do so. Emergency Health Services (EHS) was called in and took Matai to the Chaguanas Health Facility, where he was pronounced dead some time after. Cpl Barrow of the Chaguanas CID is continuing investigations.

Father flies home
A release from the T&T Football Federation yesterday said Phillip was told of his baby son’s death shortly after he arrived in Sao Paolo, Brazil, for Sunday’s match against Iran. He is expected to return home today. Phillip, the Point Fortin Civic Centre custodian, was the reserve goalkeeper in Wednesday’s friendly international against Argentina.
Title: Phillip overcome with emotion
Post by: Socapro on June 07, 2014, 09:53:16 PM
Phillip overcome with emotion
Jun 7, 2014 at 9:35 PM ECT (Express)
By Sue-Ann Wayow sue-ann.wayow@trinidadexpress.com

MARVIN PHILLIP, Trinidad and Tobago’s national footballer, was so overcome with emotion upon hearing about the death of his son that he smashed a glass window causing damage to his right hand.

On Friday, Phillip’s ten-month-old son Matai Phillip died at a day care facility in Chaguanas shortly after he was dropped off by his grandfather at 6.15 a.m.

Police said the child was placed in a car seat at the Anointed Angels Day Care, Cicada Street, Edinburgh 500 and there was the possibility he could have suffocated or strangled with the seat belt.

Phillip, 29, who was in Sao Paulo, Brazil at the time, said he was distraught when he heard his son died.

Phillip spoke to reporters yesterday at Matai’s home where he lived with his mother Leslie-Ann Halls in Springland, Gasparillo. Halls is an employee of telecoms provider TSTT and a part-time Special Reserve Police Officer.

The footballer left Brazil Friday night and travelled home via Miami. He arrived in Trinidad at 2 p.m.

Phillip said he first knew something was wrong after reading messages from a relative at around 9.30 a.m. on Friday when he returned to his hotel room after having breakfast. The footballers were not allowed to have their cellphones with them during breakfast, Phillip said.

“It was one of my cousins who messaged me first saying how is my young son doing. Apparently they did not want to break it to me at that point. The messages he was sending to me, I knew something was wrong,” he said.

He said he called Matai’s grandfather to find out if anything was wrong and he was told his son died.

Phillip said: “It’s really a sad moment for me and my family. It’s really difficult for me and difficult for a lot of us knowing Matai is just ten months old, an innocent child. It is not a good feeling to hear that your young one has passed. I was distraught. On hearing the news I ended up punching a window.”

The team’s doctor administered five stitches to Phillip’s right hand.

His teammates also supported him.

Phillip said: “A lot of guys supported me. They tried to console me. A lot of them shed tears, they wouldn’t want it to happen to themselves.

I would not want to wish this on my worst enemy.”

An autopsy is expected to take place tomorrow at the Forensic Science Centre, St James.

Until then, Phillip is unsure as to what action he may take.

“All we are waiting for is the autopsy (tomorrow) to see what is really going on. We are hearing a lot of contradicting stories but we are waiting on Monday for the autopsy to speak out more on it. If negligence was involved, yes, I would follow the steps to take action... At this time, I really can’t comment on that, the way I feel right now, I leave everything in God’s hands.”

Phillip said he was looking forward to celebrating his son’s first birthday on August 2, one day after his own.

He said: “It will really be difficult not having him here for his birthday. Hearing you son die is not a nice song to hear.”
Phillip has two other sons ages nine and five. He lives at Willliamsville.
Post by: breezers on June 07, 2014, 10:01:14 PM
Condolences to both Marvin and Lesley-Ann and their families from my family#Gutted#Speechless#BlessedLove!
Title: Footballer dad injures self after devastating news
Post by: Socapro on June 08, 2014, 11:54:04 PM
Footballer dad injures self after devastating news
By STACY MOORE Sunday, June 8 2014 (Newsday)

UPON receiving the devastating news from Trinidad on the death of his infant son, goal keeper Marvin Phillip using his fists, punched a glass window outside of his hotel room in Brazil.

“It is not anything I would wish upon my worst enemy,” an emotional Phillip told Sunday Newsday in an interview at the family Springland, Gasparillo, home yesterday evening.

Phillip was in Brazil with his team members preparing for a match against Iran to take place today. Baby Matai Joshua Cameron Phillip died after being taken to a daycare in Chaguanas.

According to reports, at about 6.15am on Friday Matai’s grandparents Lincoln Halls and Gemma Ottley had dropped off the boy at Anointed Angels Daycare at Cicada Street, Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas. Halls said he had also handed the infant’s baby’s car seat to the day care.

Halls said that at the time the attendant was alone with Matai and about five other babies but stated that other attendants would be arriving at 8 am.

One hour later, the daycare telephoned Matai’s mother Lesley-Ann Halls, a police officer assigned to the Gasparillo Police Station, and told her the baby had been taken to the Chaguanas Health Facility. When the relatives arrived at the Health Facility, baby Matai was already dead. The distraught mother was later told it is believed that baby may have choked on the strap of his car seat. Matai who turned ten months last Monday had been at that daycare since he was five months-old. Matai, also nicknamed “Tai”, is the first child for the mother and Phillip’s third; he has two elder sons.

Phillip, 30, received the news of his son’s death shortly after 10 am Friday. Overcome with grief and emotions the national footballer walked outside the hotel room and punched a glass window at Sao Paolo, Brazil. Team members immediately rushed to his aid. The team’s doctor attended to the grieving father. Phillip sustained injuries to his left and right hands. He was attended to and received five stitches to his right hand. His hands are now bandaged.

“I was distraught on hearing the news. I end up punching a window this is why I have this band on my hand, it was not a nice feeling, hearing the news of the death of your son. It’s really a sad moment for me and my family. It is difficult for all of us knowing that Matai is just a ten-month- old innocent child, ” he said trying to hold back his tears. Matai would have celebrated his first birthday on August 2. “His mom and I had a lot of plans for him on his birthday, as my birthday is August 1 and he was born August 2 so I was really looking forward for his birthday and it is going to be difficult not having him here for his birthday.” he said.

Phillip said he was grateful for the support from his team members. He said that he was awaiting the results of the autopsy tomorrow. “We hearing a lot of contradicting stories so it all depends on what the autopsy says, if negligence was involved at the daycare I would do all the steps to take action on the day care. I leave everything in God’s hands,” he said.
Title: Autopsy: Baby choked on car seat straps
Post by: Tallman on June 10, 2014, 10:27:44 AM
Autopsy: Baby choked on car seat straps
By Jensen La Vende (T&T Guardian)

Ten-month old Maitai Phillip died from positional asphyxiation, his autopsy report revealed yesterday. The last-born son of national goalkeeper Marvin Phillip was pronounced dead at the Chaguanas Health Facility on Friday morning less than two hours after he was dropped off at the Anointed Angels daycare at Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas. The T&T Guardian was informed that police seized the car seat in which the child was placed  at the daycare the day he died.

His autopsy report stated the because of the slouched position the child was in he was able to reach the straps on the car seat with his mouth which blocked off his trachea causing him to asphyxiate. Relatives of the child visited the Forensic Science Centre, St James, on Friday but was told to return yesterday. When they did, the relatives were told they would have to wait until after 2 pm when all other autopsies for the day had been completed.

The relatives, which included Phillip, who returned from Brazil on Saturday, and the child's mother Lesley-Ann Halls received the report just after 5 pm yesterday. The child’s grandfather, Lincoln Halls, told the media on Friday he dropped off Maitai around 6.15 am at the daycare. He said Maitai was not in the car seat because his wife was holding the child. Just after 7 am Maitai’s grandmother Gemma Ottley was called and told to go to the Chaguanas Health Facility as the child was unresponsive.

Officials at the daycare told police that after receiving Maitai he was placed in the car seat.  Some time later he seemed to be asleep so the caregiver went to put him in the crib and noticed he was not breathing. The caregiver, who is trained in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), tried to revive Maitai but was unable to do so. Emergency Health Services (EHS) were called in and took Matai to the Chaguanas Health Facility, where he was pronounced dead some time after.

Cpl Barrow of the Chaguanas CID is continuing investigations.
Title: Parents say goodbye to baby Matai today
Post by: Socapro on June 11, 2014, 12:24:21 PM
Parents say goodbye to baby Matai today
By Radhica Sookraj (T&T Guardian)

National T&T footballer Marvin Phillip and his wife, Lesley Ann Halls, will say their final goodbyes today to their ten-month-old son who died at a daycare centre in Chaguanas last week. Baby Matai Joshua Cameron Phillip will be buried today at the Gasparillo cemetery after a service at the Gasparillo RC Church, Caratal Road.

The child died after being taken to the Anointed Angels daycare centre at Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas. An autopsy showed he died from positional asphyxia. This happens when a person cannot get enough air to breathe owing to the positioning of his/her body. Phillip returned to Trinidad on Saturday from Brazil to bury his son the day before the Soca Warriors were to meet Iran in an international friendly.

Saying Matai’s death was the worst ordeal he had ever experienced, Phillip said he would leave no stone unturned to find out what had happened. “We are hearing a lot of contradicting stories. It is not a good feeling to hear your young baby is dead. I would not wish this on my worst enemy,” Phillip said. He also said he was confident there would be no cover-up.

“I have been assured by the authorities that this matter will be thoroughly investigated so I don’t believe there will be a cover-up,” Phillip said. He added that he and Halls were planning to celebrate the baby’s first birthday on August 2. He added that Matai was a healthy child and it was heartbreaking to live without ever again seeing him smile. Baby Matai was the third child to have died last week.

He was dropped off at the daycare centre around 6.15 am and died an hour later. The owner, Pauline Maloney, said Matai was crying and was put in a car seat where it is believed he suffocated on the straps. On June 1, Kriston Gonzales, 22 months, drowned in a pond at Mayaro. Jemimah Agard, five, drowned in a pool at the Young Men’s Christian Association, Port-of-Spain, a day later during a school outing.
Post by: Socapro on June 11, 2014, 05:45:21 PM
Babies laid to rest
By LAUREL V WILLIAMS (T&T Newsday)

NATIONAL goalkeeper Marvin Phillips will bid final farewell this afternoon to his ten-month-old son, Matai, following a funeral service at the Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church in Gasparillo.

The funeral service is scheduled to begin at 2.30 pm following which the infant will be buried at the cemetery in the churchyard at Caratal Road, Gasparillo. The baby is believed to have choked to death while in a car seat at a day-care in Chaguanas on Friday last.

Thirty minutes (half-an-hour) after Matai’s funeral service begins, the Mohammed family of St Francis Village, Erin, will also be bidding farewell to five-month-old baby accident victim, Jessica Mohammed, who died on June 1.

The funeral is scheduled to take place at the family’s home then baby Jessica will be buried at the Public Cemetery in Erin, south-western Trinidad.

At the time of Matai’s death, his father, who is the goalkeeper for the Soca Warriors national football team was in Argentina with team members.

Reports are that about 6.15am on Friday, Matai’s grandparents Lincoln Halls and Gemma Ottley had dropped off the child at Anointed Angels Daycare at Cicada Street, Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas. Halls said he had also handed the infant’s baby’s car seat to the day-care. Reports added that about an hour later, someone at the daycare telephoned Matai’s mother Lesley-Ann Halls, a police officer assigned to the Gasparillo Police Station, and told her the baby had been taken to the Chaguanas Health Facility.

When the relatives arrived at the Health Facility, baby Matai was already dead.

Meanwhile, baby Jessica died on June 1 in a vehicular accident in Santa Flora in which her parents (Antonia Beckles-Mohammed and Selly Mohammed) also sustained injuries, but survived.

A police report stated that at about 10.40 am that day, Mark Ramdass was driving his car along the SS Erin Road in Santa Flora near Jacob Settlement. Beckles-Mohammed was holding the baby in her arms while in the back seat of the car and the father occupied the passenger seat in the front.

Police investigators said Ramdass’ car veered off the roadway and collided with a flat-bed truck which was proceeding in the opposite direction. Baby Jessica sustained multiple injuries on her tiny body and lost consciousness.

She was rushed to the San Fernando General Hospital but never regained consciousness. Mohammed sustained a broken leg and other injuries while his wife suffered multiple cuts and bruises.
Post by: royal on June 29, 2014, 07:21:47 PM
Hey guys pray for Marvin Phillips just heard he vandalize the daycare center his baby died.He may need some counseling.
Post by: weary1969 on June 29, 2014, 09:33:26 PM
Hey guys pray for Marvin Phillips just heard he vandalize the daycare center his baby died.He may need some counseling.

He need counselling long time.
Post by: Tiresais on June 30, 2014, 03:42:39 AM
He really, really needs some help - no person should go through what he has, and it's completely understandable to struggle with the pressure. Sadly, in the machismo culture that is football it's possible he doesn't feel counselling/psychiatry is for him. Really hope he gets some help, this shouldn't be down-played.
Post by: Flex on June 30, 2014, 04:21:54 AM
Footballer smashes window at daycare where son died.
T&T Express Reports.

National footballer Marvin Phillip has been urged by police to seek counselling after he smashed a window at the daycare centre in Chaguanas where his ten-month-old son Matai Phillip died on June 6.

Matai’s death was attributed to positional asphyxia after he became entangled in the straps of his baby car seat he was placed in to help comfort him when he began crying at the Anointed Angels Daycare at Cicada Street, Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas.

Police report Phillip, 30, returned to the daycare centre at about 5.30 am yesterday and broke a window.

The goalkeeper for the Soca Warriors football team had also smashed a glass window in a hotel in Brazil, where he was staying for a friendly match against Iran, when he learned of his son’s death from his father. Also, at Matai’s funeral on June 11, Phillip was so inconsolable he had to be restrained as he held his son’s small coffin. Matai’s mother Leslie Ann-Halls is a Special Reserve police officer and employee of TSTT.

Although police said Phillip could be charged with malicious damage, investigators said the daycare’s owner did not want to press charges. The cost of the damage is less than $1,000.

However, Senior Supt Johnny Abraham yesterday said he has asked Central Division officers to advise Phillip to seek help from the Victim Support Unit of the Police Service to help him deal with the pain of the loss of his infant son.

Following the incident, several officers including Supt Joanne Archie visited the scene and spoke to Phillip, the owner and others and they are now involved in mediation talks.

On his return to Trinidad from Argentina on June 7, Phillip told Sunday Newsday his pain was unimaginable.

“It is not anything I would wish upon my worst enemy,” Phillip has said at the family’s home in Springland, Gasparillo. When Phillip had punched a glass window at the hotel in Brazil he sustained injuries to his hands, receiving five stitches to his right hand.

According to reports, at about 6.15 am on June 6, Matai’s grandparents Lincoln Halls and Gemma Ottley had dropped off the boy at Anointed Angels Daycare at Cicada Street, Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas. Halls said he had also handed the infant’s baby’s car seat to the day care.

Halls said that at the time the attendant was alone with Matai and about five other babies but stated that other attendants would be arriving at 8 am.

One hour later, the daycare telephoned Matai’s mother Lesley-Ann Halls, and told her the baby had been taken to the Chaguanas Health Facility. When the relatives arrived at the Health Facility, baby Matai was already dead.

“I was distraught on hearing the news. I ended up punching a window this is why I have this band on my hand, it was not a nice feeling, hearing the news of the death of your son. It’s really a sad moment for me and my family. It is difficult for all of us knowing that Matai is just a ten-month- old innocent child, ” Phillip had said in the Sunday Newsday interview.

Matai would have celebrated his first birthday on August 2. “His mom and I had a lot of plans for him on his birthday, as my birthday is August 1 and he was born August 2 so I was really looking forward for his birthday and it is going to be difficult not having him here for his birthday,” he said.

Post by: trini_stallion on June 30, 2014, 05:37:32 AM
I woulda burn down tha school....and cause some serious havoc...

What do u say to a parent that loses a child...my prayers are with you man!
Post by: AB.Trini on June 30, 2014, 06:01:16 AM
What is the status of the investigation surrounding the child,s death? Was there any litigation started? Any repercussions or legislation concerning the procedures passed down regarding children in care?

Must be difficult for a parent to accept when  there appears to be no accountability or punitive results to this incident .

Post by: weary1969 on June 30, 2014, 12:05:46 PM
He really, really needs some help - no person should go through what he has, and it's completely understandable to struggle with the pressure. Sadly, in the machismo culture that is football it's possible he doesn't feel counselling/psychiatry is for him. Really hope he gets some help, this shouldn't be down-played.

This is the last straw for Marvin but he has had issues for years.
Post by: Tiresais on July 08, 2014, 12:23:38 PM
Anyone got an update on Marvin Phillips? Is he okay?
Post by: Flex on January 13, 2017, 05:04:31 AM
Phillip to make a return soon.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

National goalkeeper Marvin Phillip is eying a return to action before month end after being cleared to return to training on Tuesday.

Phillip was ruled out of the recent Gold Cup qualifiers and the two friendlies in Nicaragua after suffering a shoulder injury during the training camp with the national team.

“I should be back on the training field this Tuesday,” Phillip said.

“It was unfortunate that the injury came at that time because I was really looking forward to being part of the team’s efforts in Nicaragua and in the Gold Cup playoffs.

“This year is a big year for our football. It’s going to be a hectic period even though it is unfortunate we are not going to be at the Gold Cup.

I’ve been to three Gold Cups as a player and it’s been great experiences. But now we have to focus on what is there for us to contest and that is obviously going to be the World Cup qualifiers because I believe we are still in with a good enough chance of making it to Russia.”

Post by: Flex on March 10, 2017, 04:31:09 AM
Phillip: Focus building for Two World Cup qualifiers.

The last time Marvin Phillip stepped onto the field in a World Cup qualifier things didn’t work out too nicely for the Morvant Caledonia United goalkeeper.

It was before a hostile atmosphere in San Pedro Sula after team-mate Jan-Michael Williams sustained a head injury and had to be rushed off the field and directly to hospital. Phillip would go onto concede two goals in quick succession and a third in the second half as T&T lost the match 3-1.

Since then there has not been much opportunity for Phillip to catch form in T&T colours as injury forced him out of the Nicaragua friendlies and the Gold Cup qualifiers in January.

But now under Dennis Lawrence he is poised to stand in goal again as he and Glenroy Samuel are the two ‘keepers named for today’s friendly against Barbados.

“It’s always a difficult period when you have to enter a game in such hostile conditions and not knowing what is wrong with your team-mate but we’ve been around for a long time so we are prepared knowing that we have to do our best and mentally ready for anything,” Phillip said.

“The result didn’t turn out well but that is history. Now we have two very important games to look forward to on March 24 and 28 against Panama and Mexico. I feel good at the moment. The training has been intense but well structured under Dennis. The goalkeepers have been putting in the work with Ross (Russell). Hopefully we can put together a good performance against Barbados and then concentrate fully on the two games later this month.”

Today’s game kicks off at 7 pm at Ato Boldon Stadium. Tickets for the two upcoming World Cup qualifiers are on sale from today at Lotto outlets nationwide.

Post by: Flex on September 18, 2017, 05:08:30 AM
Phillip wants foreign contract.

National Team goalkeeper Marvin Phillip still has a desire to ply his trade outside of T&T.

Phillip is coming to terms with the disappointment of T&T’s exit from the Russia 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign but is staying positive about the future of the game locally and his status as a goalkeeper.

He has had to contend for the number one spot with team-mate Jan-Michael Williams.

“It’s a good, solid competition and of course it helps us as players. At my age, I still have a lot to offer and if the opportunity comes to play outside of the Pro League then of course I will consider it.

Anything for development is important and if it can help me to become better as a player and for the country then that’s a good thing. As of now I think we just have to focus on coming back stronger despite whatever disappointments we’ve had to experience,” Phillip added.

Post by: pull stones on September 18, 2017, 02:17:25 PM
Phillip wants foreign contract.

National Team goalkeeper Marvin Phillip still has a desire to ply his trade outside of T&T.

Phillip is coming to terms with the disappointment of T&T’s exit from the Russia 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign but is staying positive about the future of the game locally and his status as a goalkeeper.

He has had to contend for the number one spot with team-mate Jan-Michael Williams.

“It’s a good, solid competition and of course it helps us as players. At my age, I still have a lot to offer and if the opportunity comes to play outside of the Pro League then of course I will consider it.

Anything for development is important and if it can help me to become better as a player and for the country then that’s a good thing. As of now I think we just have to focus on coming back stronger despite whatever disappointments we’ve had to experience,” Phillip added.
this dude has to be seriously joking. after being part of three World Cup campaigns and failing miserably conceding the silliest of goals and can't tell when last he had a clean sheet in any competitive international friendly or other wise, why would any foreign team in their right mind contract a goal keeper who has failed even on the lowest level ( the pro league) is beyond my understanding ? And has the gall to talk about improving his game at this age and on the door steps of his retirement. i hope no other national coach present or in the future ever look to him and Jan williams as an option for future national service.

dennis Lawrence let's move onward, these are the players that should never be included in your team ever again.

jan micheal williams, marvin phillip, cleon john,

carlyle mitchell, daniel cyrus, kevon villaroel, aubrey david, alvin jones (Carlos edwards not because of ability but age).

houton hector, cordel cato, hashim arcia,

Willis plaza, Shadon winchester, cornel glen.

If Dennis Lawrence is serious about the future he will never call these guys up ever again. real dead wood IMO.

Post by: maxg on September 18, 2017, 02:38:18 PM
I imagine, you have in mind a slew of unproven yet better replacements, just waiting to be called ?
Post by: pull stones on September 18, 2017, 04:01:33 PM
I imagine, you have in mind a slew of unproven yet better replacements, just waiting to be called ?
as a matter of fact I do.

Greg ranjitsingh, yohan welch.

Shannon gomez, noah powder, ryran innis, Robert primus.

Levi garcia, neval hackshaw, atulla guerra,

Jonathan glenn, Che benny, Andre fortune.
Post by: maxg on September 18, 2017, 06:03:53 PM

Thanks..Now Dennis Lawrence in the know... anybody else allowed to suggest to throw off guys and pick who they want or he should just listen to a certain few of us supporters ?
Post by: congo on September 18, 2017, 07:48:06 PM

Full support Pull. We have an entire league of "professionals"...finding players for the national team should never be a problem. I agree that it's time to cut ALL the dead wood from the team. The scary thing is that the players that you called shouldn't even be getting a look at national team selection based on ability. That's just to show you how dire the situation really is. We going around in circles. It eh making sense.

Marvin Phillips is 33 going on 34....what outside contract he looking for? He probably want a contract to be the outside man for some gyal...Definetely not a professional playing contract. I wonder if these guys have a firm grip on reality and if there are people around to offer proper advice. They really need a quick wake up call in this country. Some people heads really in the clouds.
Post by: Dutty Love on September 20, 2017, 08:27:13 AM

Shannon Gomez? He did not play once in 2 years at NYC and now sits on the bench in USL
Post by: pull stones on September 20, 2017, 10:42:18 AM

Shannon Gomez? He did not play once in 2 years at NYC and now sits on the bench in USL
understandably so, but I am talking future mate not immediate. Shannon may not have been active but he can't be any worst than aubrey and cyrus in that right back position, and i am sure that veira saw some sort of talent in the lad to bring him all the way to new york and another plus to his credit is that he is still very young. the reason why he was inactive and now plays in the USL was because of his severe injury and is on the road to recovery these things do take time but i am sure he learned quite a lot under viera watchful eyes and could become our new right full back given the chance.
Post by: Dutty Love on September 20, 2017, 11:06:57 AM

understandably so, but I am talking future mate not immediate. Shannon may not have been active but he can't be any worst than aubrey and cyrus in that right back position, and i am sure that veira saw some sort of talent in the lad to bring him all the way to new york and another plus to his credit is that he is still very young. the reason why he was inactive and now plays in the USL was because of his severe injury and is on the road to recovery these things do take time but i am sure he learned quite a lot under viera watchful eyes and could become our new right full back given the chance.

He has green card and his agent is French. Was just a favor. If he can't start in USL he has no business on the National Team. I think Aubrey at least at Saprissa showed well. The problem is that Aubrey plays at the level of his teammates. He is not a difference maker.

The best solution is Mekeil Williams on the right where he excelled for the Rapids before they decided to move him to the left this season...and Keston Julien on the left who starts in Slovakia.

I think the best CBs pair and most complementary is Bateu and Weslie John who is good in the air unlike every other T&T player. John is also good with his feet which is a rarity in Trinidad.

Another good option is Jamal Jack who is among the few to play with balls. He has been a starter in Central America and USL for a reason. He is actually a decent defensive mid too.
Post by: pull stones on September 20, 2017, 11:29:29 AM

He has green card and his agent is French. Was just a favor. If he can't start in USL he has no business on the National Team. I think Aubrey at least at Saprissa showed well. The problem is that Aubrey plays at the level of his teammates. He is not a difference maker.

The best solution is Mekeil Williams on the right where he excelled for the Rapids before they decided to move him to the left this season...and Keston Julien on the left who starts in Slovakia.

I think the best CBs pair and most complementary is Bateu and Weslie John who is good in the air unlike every other T&T player. John is also good with his feet which is a rarity in Trinidad.

Another good option is Jamal Jack who is among the few to play with balls. He has been a starter in Central America and USL for a reason. He is actually a decent defensive mid too.
ive seen weslie John undear Steven hart and I wasn't impressed, maybe he grew since I last saw him but him and tristin hodges made the trip to south america last year where they underperformed. As for bateau that boy us very inconsistent and was terrible in our last few games which he made a lot of unforced errors and with the exception of mikeil in the left back position I don't see any other reason to keep any of these defenders we currently have. they would not even make it on the bench of one of these hexagonal teams but are our starters no wonder we bummed so terribly. I don't know Kenton julien but I'm willing to try anything but caryle mitchell, Daniel cyrus, Sheldon bateau, and aubrey david, it's very telling when a 38 year old defender came our of retirement and plays way better than you, IMO that speaks volumes.
Post by: congo on September 20, 2017, 12:54:18 PM
But ammmmm.......Sheldon Bateau playing at the highest level of our national players....he's playing in the Russian Premier League(well he's on loan elsewhere but still)

I think he is our next captain as long as he become consistent and remains in a top league.

I would get him to pair with Ryan Innis though....Ryan seems to be a traditional center half....when last we had someone like that Marvin Andrews?

Post by: Dutty Love on September 20, 2017, 04:13:10 PM

ive seen weslie John undear Steven hart and I wasn't impressed, maybe he grew since I last saw him but him and tristin hodges made the trip to south america last year where they underperformed. As for bateau that boy us very inconsistent and was terrible in our last few games which he made a lot of unforced errors and with the exception of mikeil in the left back position I don't see any other reason to keep any of these defenders we currently have. they would not even make it on the bench of one of these hexagonal teams but are our starters no wonder we bummed so terribly. I don't know Kenton julien but I'm willing to try anything but caryle mitchell, Daniel cyrus, Sheldon bateau, and aubrey david, it's very telling when a 38 year old defender came our of retirement and plays way better than you, IMO that speaks volumes.

You refer to that match vs Uruguay? He actually contained Cavani and was his first match playing along horrible players like Cyrus. You need to realize Concacaf is nowhere near Cavani type opponents, and any centre back will be made look weak if paired with a donkey or playing for a team that is constantly under pressure and has no ball posession. Over a season in Central America Weslie John was good which is more than the other options can do (Cyrus is a liability in Central America too). Bateau now plays in Kazikhstan which according to Aubrey is a lower level than Costa Rica primera...
Post by: Dutty Love on September 20, 2017, 04:15:02 PM
But ammmmm.......Sheldon Bateau playing at the highest level of our national players....he's playing in the Russian Premier League(well he's on loan elsewhere but still)

I think he is our next captain as long as he become consistent and remains in a top league.

I would get him to pair with Ryan Innis though....Ryan seems to be a traditional center half....when last we had someone like that Marvin Andrews?

He is in Kazikhstan now which is not even Costa Rica level league, hence it is probably USL, El Salvador or Honduras level at most.
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2019, 12:49:43 PM
Goalkeeper Marvin Phillip and defender Taryk Sampson have signed with Indian I-League club, Neroca FC (https://www.goal.com/en-us/news/neroca-fc-complete-signing-of-six-foreigners-for-forthcoming/gobrhm7pnqd11x76913tp2wq1). This is the first foreign contract for either player. Marvin is currently away on duty with the Trinidad and Tobago National Team for a pair of Concacaf Nations League matches against Martinique.
Post by: Tallman on November 16, 2020, 03:37:09 PM
WATCH: Goalkeeper Marvin Phillip keen to get on with Senior Team training

https://www.youtube.com/v/pjNSiLOvAKI
Post by: asylumseeker on November 16, 2020, 06:32:39 PM
What's the protocol in place to safeguard against spread among the players, coaches and support staff?
Post by: Tallman on November 17, 2020, 10:51:42 AM
What's the protocol in place to safeguard against spread among the players, coaches and support staff?

I hear about temperature checks before and after sessions and wearing masks when you at de sidelines. I eh know what else in place.
Post by: Tallman on March 22, 2021, 03:28:22 PM
WATCH: Goalkeeper Marvin Phillip shares his thoughts ahead of our opening 2022 World Cup qualifier against Guyana

https://www.youtube.com/v/7VAReqtmOTA
Post by: Tallman on July 22, 2021, 02:59:18 PM
Start rebuilding now. Sancho, Phillip: Begin restructuring soon
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

National goalkeeper Marvin Phillip and 2006 World Cup defender Brent Sancho both agree there must be no postponement of the rebuilding of football in Trinidad and Tobago.

Sancho further indicates that the decision-makers have to meet soon and decide on the direction the team must take and whether interim coach Angus Eve is the one to take it forward.

“The problems that football has in Trinidad, inclusive of the national team, are bigger than the (national team) job itself,” Sancho suggests.

Phillip, 36, admits to T&T having a horrible Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign. He also believes the Soca warriors must begin immediately to build on the gains made during the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Phillip has had a roller coaster role on the national team and admits to having considered quitting at one point. He has had stints as the first call but has also had to play a secondary role to the now retired Jan-Michael Williams, the younger Adrian Foncette and more recently, Denmark-born Nicklas Frenderup. The Gold Cup has seen a resurgence of Phillip’s role as he started matches against Mexico (0-0), where he was named Man-of-the-Match, and Guatemala (1-1), where he gave another heroic performance.

“Unfortunately, we did not go onto the second stage, but players can still hold their heads high and be proud of the small accomplishment,” states Phillip, who believes that now is the time to get the role of permanent coach squared away and for the rebuilding to start.

“We definitely need to get our house in order. In the past we always wait last-minute for when something is coming up to organise and then expect the team to do well,” he says. “We (need to) put things in place from now, try to build on this performance from now, and get in a head coach so there can be programmes heading into the Nations League.”

Having been relegated from League A of the Nations League, an achievable incentive for the national team would be to qualify directly for the 2023 CONCACAF Gold Cup by winning one of the likely three groups in the less competitive League B grouping, which contains the likes of French Guiana, Guatemala, Guadeloupe and Montserrat.

“We definitely need to put things together so we stand a good chance of qualifying for these tournaments,” Phillip adds. Another big incentive for the national coach, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association TTFA and the normalisation committee, is to improve T&T’s current #13 ranking in CONCACAF and get back among the top six—which will offer the team an automatic qualifying route to the final stage of World Cup qualifying.

Sancho believes that if given the nod, Eve will have to orchestrate a restructuring of the national team while at the same time winning matches.

“From a development standpoint, from the player pool that he has, all these things have to come into play,” Sancho says.

In the short term, if given the job full-time, Eve will probably retain the experience of Sheldon Bateau, Aubrey David, Kevin Molino, Joevin Jones and captain Khaleem Hyland. However, he now has likely and younger replacements available in Keston Julien (22), Triston Hodge (26), Jesse Williams (20) Jelani Peters, Justin Garcia, Noah Powder (22), Shannon Gomez (25), Levi Garcia, Ross Russell Jr and Alvin Jones.

There are also potential young recruits further up-field in Justin Araujo-Wilson (18), Che Benny (20), Molik Khan (18), Akeem Roach (25), Kathon St Hillaire (23), Daniel Phillip (20), Jomal Wiliams (27), Neveal Hackshaw, Duane Muckette (26), Shaqueen Joseph, Molik Khan, Isaiah Lee (21), Isaiah Hudson, Akeem Garcia, Ryan Rampersad, Justin Sadoo and Tyrel “Pappy” Emmanuel, along with those who will emerge from the local league.

Sancho says the decision-makers now have to make firm choices about the direction the national team and T&T football heads in.

“Is it now that we want a developmental team with 2026 in mind? Do we want a competitive team, keeping some of the older heads? Are we going to stand to recruit overseas players, and what will that look like?” asks Sancho. “And then you could ask yourselves, who is the right person to move this forward?”

Both Phillip and Sancho agree that Eve has brought some positives to the national team.

“From where the team was, to where he brought it off the field, in terms of the camaraderie, playing for the shirt, team spirit, I think he has done an outstanding job of doing that in a short space of time, Sancho states.

Phillip also endorses the work Eve did at the Gold Cup, having worked with Club Sando for the first time.

“He (Eve) came in a very short space of time and a lot of people may have written him off due to the campaign we had in the World Cup qualifiers. He brought a different aura to the team, a different level of team spirit; helping the guys to believe in themselves; always there to give a listening ear to the players,” Phillip testifies. “That augured well for the team during the tournament and hopefully he (can) get the chance to carry on and take Trinidad and Tobago Football forward.”
Post by: Deeks on July 23, 2021, 09:27:58 AM
Sancho believes that if given the nod, Eve will have to orchestrate a restructuring of the national team while at the same time winning matches.

“From a development standpoint, from the player pool that he has, all these things have to come into play,” Sancho says.

In the short term, if given the job full-time, Eve will probably retain the experience of Sheldon Bateau, Aubrey David, Kevin Molino, Joevin Jones and captain Khaleem Hyland. However, he now has likely and younger replacements available in Keston Julien (22), Triston Hodge (26), Jesse Williams (20) Jelani Peters, Justin Garcia, Noah Powder (22), Shannon Gomez (25), Levi Garcia, Ross Russell Jr and Alvin Jones.

There are also potential young recruits further up-field in Justin Araujo-Wilson (18), Che Benny (20), Molik Khan (18), Akeem Roach (25), Kathon St Hillaire (23), Daniel Phillip (20), Jomal Wiliams (27), Neveal Hackshaw, Duane Muckette (26), Shaqueen Joseph, Molik Khan, Isaiah Lee (21), Isaiah Hudson, Akeem Garcia, Ryan Rampersad, Justin Sadoo and Tyrel “Pappy” Emmanuel, along with those who will emerge from the local league.

pullstones, look like Sancho reading your comments on this forum boy.
Post by: pull stones on July 23, 2021, 01:27:30 PM

i don't think so deeks. he's advocating for eve and i'm in strong opposition to his appointment, he's talking about comradery with the players and i say that players should be able to be motivated even if playing for the devil as a coach, once they understand that they are out there playing for the shirt and the flag, not a doting grandfather favorite uncle coach to be motivated to play or country. trinis will get nowhere if we don't toughen up, our youths are way too sensitive to survive the rigors of the modern sporting environment.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 23, 2021, 02:14:59 PM

i don't think so deeks. he's advocating for eve and i'm in strong opposition to his appointment, he's talking about comradery with the players and i say that players should be able to be motivated even if playing for the devil as a coach, once they understand that they are out there playing for the shirt and the flag, not a doting grandfather favorite uncle coach to be motivated to play or country. trinis will get nowhere if we don't toughen up, our youths are way too sensitive to survive the rigors of the modern sporting environment.

If Brent Sancho was advocating for Eve he would have said so. What I've heard him state is a broader concern regarding the ecosystem of football and how that ecosystem should influence coach selection. On that I think he has a point that should be difficult to ignore.
Post by: Tallman on November 03, 2023, 01:34:37 PM
Veteran Soca Warriors' goalkeeper Marvin Phillip retires with 'heavy heart'
By Roneil Walcott (T&T Newsday)

Longstanding Trinidad and Tobago goalkeeper Marvin Phillip has announced his retirement from international duty with the men's football team, 16 years after making his debut versus Panama at the Estadio Rommel Fernandez Gutierrez in Panama City.

Phillip, 39, took to Instagram early on Thursday to relay the news, saying: "It comes with a heavy heart and sadness that I announce I'm hanging up my gloves with immediate effect from the national stage."

Best known for his shot-stopping ability and his cat-like reflexes between the sticks, Phillip made 92 appearances for the Soca Warriors and also served as team captain on several occasions.

Under current senior team coach Angus Eve, Phillip led the team as skipper in two matches at the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup and also captained the team at the beginning of the 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League campaign. Phillip played the solitary match for T&T at the 2023 Gold Cup tournament – a thumping 6-0 loss to the US in July. That was his last match for the Soca Warriors.

T&T will lock horns once more with the US in the 2023 Concacaf Nations League A quarter-finals this month, but Eve will not be able to rely on the "role model" figure of Phillip. The T&T team finished second behind Panama in their Nations League A group, with Phillip left out of the squad for those matches.

Eve commended Phillip's leadership over the years and thanked him for his influence on T&T's current crop of goalkeepers: Christopher Biggette (27), Nicklas Frenderup (30), Denzil Smith (24) and Jabari St Hillaire (23).

"Marvin would have been tremendous in allowing Frenderup to settle in and be a part of the process as he was a foreign-based player," Eve told Newsday.

"Marvin has been there mentoring (Denzil) and working with him day in, day out. He has been a role model to these guys in the way he has carried about himself. He would just let them know what to expect at this level because he has seen it all.

"I can't (over-)emphasise how important he was from a leadership and mentorship standpoint with the group."

Before his senior team debut versus Panama in 2007, Phillip showed promise at both the Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) and national youth level. In September 2001, he was T&T's starting goalkeeper for the Fifa under-17 World Cup which was played in T&T.

Phillip reflected on his memories of wearing the red, white and black.

"I must say this is an extremely difficult moment for me right now," Phillip said in his Instagram post. "As I'm reflecting about my career as a national player from when I represented us as an under-17 player competing in a youth World Cup in 2001, to being on the senior team throughout until 2023, I'm very glad and grateful for everything I've accomplished at the national level."

Eve also spoke to Phillip's longevity.

"To say Phillip's retirement was a surprise or a sudden departure, I probably might say no. Marvin has been a fantastic servant to the country," Eve said. "He and the guys did really well in the youth World Cup (in 2001) and from there he just went on from strength to strength."

But, he added, "In everything we do, there is change and he is getting on in age. We had spoken about him taking up more of a coaching role sometime in the future.

"If he thinks it's the right time for him to hang up his gloves, I want to continue to wish him all the best. He knows if he needs any help or assistance from me, it is always there."

At senior level, Phillip had a healthy tussle for T&T's number-one goalkeeping spot with Jan-Michael Williams, whose own senior team career spanned from 2003-2017.

Eve says he welcomes the competition in the goalkeeping department.

"There is a battle for the number-one spot and players have to grab the opportunity," he said. "I remember back in the day (we had goalkeepers like) Clayton Ince, Ross Russell and Shaka Hislop and these guys when I was playing. They were fighting for the number-one spot and they were all fantastic goalkeepers. Marvin had to battle with Jan-Michael (Williams) for most of his career.

"I think we are in a good place. Maybe Marvin is clearing the way for somebody to come and establish themselves as the new number one."

Phillip has spent most of his playing career in T&T, with W Connection, Central FC and Point Fortin Civic being some of the teams he has represented. Phillip won the Caribbean Club Championship with Connection in the 2008/09 season and turned out for T&T in four Gold Cups.

Earlier this year, Phillip helped AC Port of Spain to a second-place finish in the inaugural T&T Premier Football League (TTPFL) season.

He vowed to keep on plying his trade locally.

"I won't be leaving the game just yet, but I'll continue contributing professionally in the local leagues, playing and sharing my knowledge I gained throughout my career.

"I thoroughly enjoyed every second of playing football for my country and being allowed to represent (T&T) at the highest level was indeed and truly a great blessing indeed."
Post by: Tallman on November 26, 2023, 06:33:03 PM
Goalie Marvin Phillip charting his new career off the field
By Jovan Ravello (T&T Guardian)

From Eccles Village to the world, Marvin Phillip has lived and played every young footballer’s dream. The long-term Trinidad and Tobago Senior National Football team goalkeeper called time on his international career on November 2 but isn’t done with the sport.

The Soca Warrior’s second most-capped goalie (92) and a true legend in his own right took a moment from training to speak with Guardian Media Sports Senior Reporter/Producer JOVAN RAVELLO about his journey.

Sunday Guardian: You recently announced your retirement from international football. How did you arrive at this point?

Marvin Phillip: It’s a bit hard to leave the game I’ve been playing for quite several years, but this decision came through having discussions with my family. It wasn’t an overnight decision, I’ve been thinking about this for a year, and a half. Speaking with my wife and kids, they felt I should leave while I’m on top.

Sunday Guardian: A lot of people say goalkeepers have a screw loose. How did you decide to pick up gloves?

Marvin: All goalkeepers have their story, mine is probably the same as many others. I didn’t start as a goalkeeper, I started as a striker. There was an Under-15 match, and the keeper didn’t come that day, I decided to go in the goal and a coach, Mr. James saw me that day, invited me to play with Gasparillo Youths and from there it was history.

Sunday Guardian: Who was the most influential coach/administrator in your career?

Marvin: I have to go back to where it all started. It all started with Mr Oswald James. I would like to thank him. He saw something in me that I didn’t even see. He said he saw potential in me as a ‘keeper at that young age. I was like whatever and just going along. So I’d like to express my gratitude to him because he kickstarted my career.

Sunday Guardian: How did that set your vision for the rest of your life?

Marvin: To be honest, football in that community wasn’t the first sport. The first sport was cricket, so back in the day cricket season was from January to probably about June; then football for the rest of the year. Many people don’t know this but my first time on a national team would’ve been as an Under-13 cricketer.

Later, I had the chance to play football and there was the ICN/CLICO Under-13 tournament trying to prepare a team for (the FIFA Under-17 World Cup) 2001 everything just fell into place with me being selected and being under the wing of (Strike Squad goalkeeper) Michael Maurice.

Sunday Guardian: You have a pretty rare record, winning both football and cricket Intercol titles. How did you manage that?

Marvin: Back in the day, I went to a school that was playing both sports, before winning those titles I was doing the same at Presentation College. At Princes Town they didn’t want me to play any cricket at all. I had some cousins on the cricket team and they begged me to play and everything worked out.

Sunday Guardian: How important was that time at Princes Town? It was a pretty exciting team, even though we beat you guys in Moruga.

Marvin: (laughs) Firstly lemme say this, on record, Moruga always used to give us trouble down in Moruga, but when they out of Moruga was easy pickings (laugh). Being at Princes Town, it wasn’t hard playing on that team; we had the likes of (Anthony) Noriega who was a former national defender, the now deceased Clyde Leon, Linsie Sherwood, Andrei Pacheco. So Coach Gill had nothing else but to get us to play a nice style of football together and we won a national championship

Sunday Guardian: What was the first time throwing on that national kit like?

Marvin: It is always an honour to represent your country, from the youth level. It was a bit difficult being screened with about 300-400 from around Trinidad and Tobago and being in the final cut it was definitely an honour. We know football was on a high from 2006, but after that, there were a couple of players who were blacklisted and everything just fell into place for me from 2007 until 2023 when I announced my international retirement.

Sunday Guardian: Talk to me about the ride as a national senior footballer.

Marvin: It wasn’t a perfect ride, I would’ve had a lot more ups than downs, a lot of turbulence along the way but I saw it through, those times. And I think I represented my country well.

Sunday Guardian: What were some of the proudest moments?

Marvin: I could pinpoint a lot; World Cup qualifiers in Costa Rica. I had a tremendous outing there; my most recent would’ve been against Mexico in the 2021 Gold Cup, and just before that a friendly in Japan under coach Dennis (Lawrence), three would’ve been the proudest for me.

Sunday Guardian: The Mexico game in particular was a heated atmosphere. What kind of feelings were you going through?

Marvin: As players you live to play these games. Playing Mexico in the States you could say it was a home game, the stadium had about 70,000 Mexicans, definitely a hostile environment. But as the game went along- the team playing well, I making some saves, they felt the pressure and fortunately for us, we came out with a draw.

Sunday Guardian: People, including me, don’t understand what it is to be a professional footballer, can you try to explain it?

Marvin: It’s difficult, really difficult. Some people may think that it’s just three hours of training for the day and that’s it. But to be a top player you need to put in the work. If you don’t you definitely won’t have success. You need to put in the work, on the field, off the field, in your habits, diet, and rest, it’s hard work but after that, you’ll reap the rewards.

Sunday Guardian: More recently we’ve seen younger keepers like Denzil Smith, and Christopher Biggette making the step up, how do you feel about the next generation of glovemen?

Marvin: Our country is blessed, because throughout the years we had tremendous goalkeepers from Lincoln Phillips, Earl Carter, Michael Maurice, Ross Russell, Clayton Ince, Kelvin Jack, Shaka Hislop, after those names myself, Durance Williams, Cleon John, Jan Micahel Williams. So now these youngsters are making the transition, it’s good for them.

Denzil has been knocking on the door for quite a while, he’s young, and he has a lot to learn but as you can see, he’s ready for the international level

Sunday Guardian: How do you feel about the current crop of national players?

Marvin: Our football wasn’t on a high for quite a while, kudos to the coach, he’s gotten some good results recently where a lot of people wouldn’t have had any hope, so I think once the team sticks together, works hard and [PP1] goes out there and performs I think we’re in a good place right now heading into the 2026 World Cup campaign.

Sunday Guardian: Is your club career still alive? How much longer do you think you can compete at the highest level?

Marvin: I’ll be playing football in the TTPFL this year, and be mentoring some youths as well at whatever club I’ll be at.

Sunday Guardian: Is coaching the next step for you?

Marvin: I’m currently finishing some licenses, I already have my goalkeeper certificate so most likely early next year, I’ll be with (the coaching staff) of a club for the TTPFL Youth League.

Sunday Guardian: How does it feel to walk away?

Marvin: It’s a bit sad but I’m very proud of what I accomplished in my career, I’m very proud of what I’m still accomplishing as a player and as a human being.

My wife, thanks to her, has been a pillar towards the things I’ve been doing, my mom, and my dad have been a tremendous support and my kids as well, they support me in everything I do.