Sports => Football => Topic started by: Bally on October 10, 2005, 05:06:44 PM

Title: Zlatan Ibrahimovic Thread
Post by: Bally on October 10, 2005, 05:06:44 PM
Lottery winner wants Ibrahimovic for local team

STOCKHOLM, Oct 10 (Reuters) - A football fan who won a record 122.8 million crowns ($15.99 million) on the lottery wants to buy Juventus and Sweden striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic for his local club, Swedish media said on Monday.

Ibrahimovic, 23, was valued at 16 million euros ($19.46 million) when Juventus bought him from Ajax Amsterdam in August 2004.

"We discussed the possibilities of buying Zlatan for Visby club Gute," national lottery spokesman Tommy Wahlgren said after talking to the 36-year-old winner, who was not named.

The unmarried, unemployed new millionaire is an avid fan of second division Gute, based on the Swedish island of Gotland in the Baltic Sea.

taken from yahoo.com
Updated on Monday, Oct 10, 2
 this man mad :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Title: Re: Lottery winner wants Ibrahimovic for local team
Post by: morvant on October 10, 2005, 05:21:38 PM
BUT HE AINT 1 STUPID HE 2 STUPID :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: KND on October 10, 2005, 05:51:59 PM
why he man this might be a good business move, teams buy and sell players for money all the time. this is good business.
Post by: Brej on October 10, 2005, 07:01:27 PM
yes but do you really think he would leave juve to go ther
Post by: troy piloy on October 10, 2005, 08:09:52 PM
This is the most stupid thing i have ever seen on this site
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: SHOTTA on October 10, 2005, 08:38:21 PM
d sad part is dat its nut up to zlatan its up to juve an wat if they say 40 million an d man say yea wat go be zlatan position???
Post by: pioneertrini on October 10, 2005, 08:43:15 PM
he go just say he cant agree personal terms wid the club and pray lol
Post by: SHOTTA on October 10, 2005, 09:35:02 PM
ah wunder if it hav alot of baller shallowenough to jus go wit d promise of reallllmoney in they pocket they aint care wher d awest is it cud be in d back by me an all
Post by: oconnorg on October 11, 2005, 01:30:59 AM
Wheeeeeys.. Dat is real Assness!!!!
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 11, 2005, 08:59:37 AM
Didn't know we still have people so stupid living on the planet.  Whey boy!
Post by: E-man on May 09, 2006, 11:06:22 AM
Swedes look to Ibrahimovic for World Cup magic.

Swedes look to Ibrahimovic for World Cup magic
By Associated Press

STOCKHOLM, Sweden - Already considered one of Sweden’s greatest players at 24, Zlatan Ibrahimovic could well become one of the world’s best. He has the size and skills. His temperament is another matter.

The Juventus striker is a defender’s nightmare. At 6-foot-3, he knows how to use his height. He’s also a gifted dribbler, a rare talent for someone that tall.
Ibrahimovic scored 16 goals in his first season with Juventus, helping the Turin team capture the Italian title last year.

But this season has been no easy ride. Critics questioned his place in the starting lineup after his scoring dried up in February after only six goals in Serie A. He then lost his place in the starting lineup to Alessandro Del Piero and didn’t score again until last Sunday.

In Sweden, however, his spot as a starter is guaranteed, barring injury. He fits well with veteran striker Henrik Larsson, and there isn’t any other forward who can match his skill in the Swedish attack.

“Right now, they play so well together it’s dangerous whenever one of them has the ball,” Trinidad and Tobago coach Leo Beenhakker said, referring to Larsson and Ibrahmimovic, whom he recruited to Ajax in 2001. “Those two guys are not just fantastic individual players, they also understand each other incredibly well.”

Added Sweden coach Lars Lagerback: “Juventus have had a very tough period when things have gone badly, and then it’s not easy for Zlatan, Del Piero or (David) Trezeguet to shine. If you look at Zlatan today, he is a significantly better football player than he was two years ago, when he was a success in the European Championships. He has become stronger both physically and mentally.”

Born in a troubled immigrant neighborhood of Malmo to a Croatian mother and Bosnian father, Ibrahimovic is somewhat of a misfit on the homogenous Swedish team. His me-first personality jars with Swedish traditions of teamwork, modesty and sportsmanship.

Yet the Swedish fans love him. Ibrahimovic performs tricks on the field no other player wearing the nation’s yellow-and-blue jersey would even dream of.

In Euro 2004 in Portugal, his acrobatic back-heel goal in Sweden’s’ 1-1 tie with Italy was one of the tournament’s highlights. In his last game with Ajax Amsterdam before joining Juve, he dribbled past four NAC Breda defenders - one of them twice - before rolling the ball past a helpless goalkeeper.

But Ibrahimovic’s penchant for the spectacular can also be a liability. He is often criticized for making things too complicated, sacrificing efficiency for flair. And when the scoring dries up, as it has this season, such complaints grow louder.

The result has been a return to the moodiness that gave young Ibrahimovic a reputation as a boastful hothead who ran afoul of teammates and opponents alike when playing for Swedish club Malmo FF.

At Juventus, his reported spats with teammates, as well as coach Fabio Capello, did not improve his standing as the club saw a comfortable league lead dwindle to a few points in the last weeks of the season.

Ibrahimovic will have a chance to start anew at the World Cup, where Sweden faces England, Paraguay and Trinidad and Tobago in the group stage. Defenders dismiss him at their peril.

Title: Re: Swedes look to Ibrahimovic for World Cup magic
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 09, 2006, 11:12:01 AM
Dog likin his lips for ya Zlatan...... bring yuh cast bitch!
Post by: spideybuff on May 09, 2006, 11:35:20 AM
Just doh let him trap the ball...!!  :o
Post by: Bourbon on May 09, 2006, 12:33:04 PM
I fraid he bad hoss. Zlatan is swedish fuh purge. De man wicked. He arrogant doh. Dat is he weakness dey.
Title: Sweden axe Ostlund from cup squad
Post by: E-man on May 09, 2006, 01:11:58 PM
Sweden axe Ostlund from cup squad
(cnn.com)

Tuesday, May 9, 2006 Posted: 1806 GMT (0206 HKT)

(http://i.a.cnn.net/cnn/2006/SPORT/football/05/09/world.sweden/story.ostlund.gi.jpg)
Ostlund has paid the price for a poor recent performance against Ireland

STOCKHOLM, Sweden -- Juventus's Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Barcelona's Henrik Larsson were named among six strikers in Sweden's World Cup squad on Tuesday.

But there was no place for Southampton defender Alexander Ostlund who was heavily criticised after Sweden lost 3-0 to Ireland in a friendly in March.

Coach Lars Lagerback brought in IFK Gothenburg's Karl Svensson and Fredrik Stenman who has had a strong first season with Bayer Leverkusen but never played for Sweden.

Another surprise was Fredriksborg's Rami Shaaban as one of three goalkeepers, with Eddie Gustafsson of Ham-Kam left out.

Shaaban played three games for Arsenal in 2002 before breaking his leg during training later that year and he never played for the London side again.

Sweden are in Group B with Paraguay, England and Trinidad and Tobago at the finals starting on June 9.

"Henrik Larsson is unique and can play in any position, on the midfield or as a forward," Lagerback said, adding that the 34-year-old was "improving with age."

Lagerback predicted Ibrahomovic would be "better than in Portugal" in Euro 2004, and said Arsenal's Fredrik Ljungberg has "a great eye for football."

Prolific striker Marcus Allback, who over the weekend won the Danish league with FC Copenhagen, was included as backup to Larsson and Ibrahimovic.

Lagerback said it was "easy to select 15, 16 players," and that the choice had been toughest regarding goalkeepers and defenders.

"After Sweden qualified, we have studied their performance on the national side and how they have fared in their clubs," 57-year-old Lagerack said, adding that while some of the players were young they were "selected on merits but may be future key players."

Provisional squad

Goalkeepers:

Andreas Isaksson (Stade Rennes)
John Alvbage (Viborg)
Rami Shaaban (Fredrikstad).

Defenders:

Erik Edman (Stade Rennes)
Petter Hansson (Heerenveen)
Teddy Lucic (BK Hacken)
Olof Mellberg (Aston Villa)
Mikael Nilsson (Panathinaikos)
Fredrik Stenman (Bayer Leverkusen)
Karl Svensson (IFK Goteborg).

Midfielders:

Niclas Alexandersson (IFK Goteborg)
Daniel Andersson (Malmo FF)
Kim Kallstrom (Stade Rennes)
Tobias Linderoth (FC Copenhagen)
Fredrik Ljungberg (Arsenal)
Anders Svensson (Elfsborg)
Christian Wilhelmsson (Anderlecht).

Forwards:

Marcus Allback (FC Copenhagen)
Johan Elmander (Brondby)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Juventus)
Mattias Jonson (Djurgarden)
Henrik Larsson (Barcelona)
Markus Rosenberg (Ajax).
Title: Re: Sweden axe Ostlund from cup squad
Post by: rastafari on May 09, 2006, 01:20:35 PM
I was hoping he would get a game because he ain't  all that good.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on May 09, 2006, 02:06:41 PM

liking he lips for the spanner he going and get
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 09, 2006, 02:08:10 PM
fuk you disgruntled yuh waggonist

weat kinnda crap was dat   yuh is my boi buh hard luks dey dred yuh deserve dat
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on May 09, 2006, 03:03:23 PM
I does admire all yuh patriotism eh, I to does revel in it from time to time

but once in a while yuh must wade in the reality pool
you feel if Zlatan running at Dog he could stop him
Post by: Big Magician on May 09, 2006, 03:05:38 PM
sweden dead......and ah use tuh live in sweden....disgruntled...ah go pay for yuh visit to seek some professional help bro.....you is the only man in tnt vex we make the world cup....i dont get it......wey you from breds??......why de f#ck not...why he cant stop him....because he from tnt...das yuuh point....
Post by: Brej on May 09, 2006, 03:17:39 PM

well 90% of de defenders in italy managed to do it
why cant Marvin
Post by: The_Ice on May 09, 2006, 03:26:02 PM

Main Entry:   Disgruntled
Part of Speech:   adjective
Definition:   unhappy
Synonyms:   annoyed, bad-tempered, beefing, bellyaching*, bitching, crabbing*, crabby, cranky, critical, disappointed, discontent, discontented, displeased, dissatisfied, griping, grouchy, grousing, grumpy, irritable, irritated, kicking, kvetching*, malcontent, malcontented, peeved, peevish, petulant, put out, sulky, sullen, testy, uncontent, ungratified, vexed
Title: Re: Swedes look to Ibrahimovic for World Cup magic.
Post by: Trini on May 09, 2006, 07:39:58 PM
Nah man, Dog eating up Zlatan 99% of the time.
But yuh have to rememebr men like Larson, Mellberg, Ljunberg and the rest of players on sweden team who play in the budesliga, premier league etc etc and to be quite honest, are technicall better than our players and have more world class experience.
But once dog in d zone, them men getting eat up raw raw.
I jus hope lanky Lawrence hold his own too.
The key for us beating Sweden is to play Ljunberg real real hard from the first whistle. I notice he have a real temper and kinda ignorant for arsenal.
If Cyd could hit him some stamp on the wing and ruffle him into a reaction, we could throw him off and even get him sent off.
Post by: rippin on May 11, 2006, 11:46:40 AM
A certain footballer horn disgruntled.
Now all yuh know why he so.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on May 11, 2006, 12:04:24 PM
A certain footballer horn disgruntled.
Now all yuh know why he so.

never been the same since then
Post by: kappy on May 11, 2006, 12:16:58 PM
Nah man, Dog eating up Zlatan 99% of the time.
But yuh have to rememebr men like Larson, Mellberg, Ljunberg and the rest of players on sweden team who play in the budesliga, premier league etc etc and to be quite honest, are technicall better than our players and have more world class experience.
But once dog in d zone, them men getting eat up raw raw.
I jus hope lanky Lawrence hold his own too.
The key for us beating Sweden is to play Ljunberg real real hard from the first whistle. I notice he have a real temper and kinda ignorant for arsenal.
If Cyd could hit him some stamp on the wing and ruffle him into a reaction, we could throw him off and even get him sent off.

fuh true ... he an ibrahimovic gettting good stick in germany ... Birchall and Whitley go ress some good tack on dem ...
Post by: Peong on May 11, 2006, 12:22:23 PM
Ljungberg does get upset every time he get rough up.  He does real complain and he not strong on the ball.  I could see us throwing him off his game.
Post by: Patterson on May 11, 2006, 01:12:03 PM
Ljungberg does get upset every time he get rough up.  He does real complain and he not strong on the ball.  I could see us throwing him off his game.

allyuh men good yes..........a man playing week in and out in the EPL and CL.........we could throw he off he game???????? highly unlikely
Post by: Observer on May 11, 2006, 01:53:18 PM

Why you so? Man looking to support dem team and players and you simply crying down people. Ok you may have your opinion that is fine but don't beat down man who doing their best for them country. If you was some kind ah big baller or Ex National team player then ok man might listen, but oh shit leh we enjoy we likkle outing nah.
Post by: Blue on June 04, 2006, 10:11:52 AM
Zlatan: I'm out of shape

Zlatan: I'm out of shape (http://home.skysports.com/worldcup/article.asp?hlid=392261&CPID=4&clid=361&lid=8&title=Zlatan:+I'm+out+of+shape)

Sweden striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic has remarkably admitted to never being in worst physical shape as a player.

The Juventus hit-man has been preparing with the Sweden squad for their World Cup Group B campaign against Trinidad & Tobago, Paraguay and England.

The former Malmo and Ajax hit-man struggled for form with The Old Lady this past season, despite Juve claiming the Serie A title.

Though manager Lars Lagerback is likely to start Ibrahimovic up front with Henrik Larsson in Germany, the goalscorer says dieting on Italian pasta has affected his fitness.

"I have never been so out of shape," Ibrahimovic said.

"I'm really struggling to find my form again.

"I get the feeling Italian food is not for me."

------

Thank God  ;D

Title: Re: Zlatan: I'm out of shape
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 04, 2006, 10:13:07 AM
good remain dat way till d 11th

yuh tink he hint dat he wants to leave italy with that remark?
Post by: noname on June 04, 2006, 10:20:49 AM
play dead to ketch corbeaux live
Post by: Grande on June 04, 2006, 10:40:27 AM
yuh lie!!
Post by: Trini Madness on June 04, 2006, 10:51:03 AM
if this is true....then pigs must fly then  :bs: :bs: :bs:
Post by: kingman on June 04, 2006, 11:07:35 AM
Mind games! Trust me...this is the same player that Beenie scouted Ajax. Zlatan good try...

kingman

Post by: masterblaster on June 04, 2006, 12:25:02 PM
Yeah and we in de Caribbean does wear grass skirt, walk roung barefoot and eat everthing, not only roti, with we hand!!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

We better get we fishin boats ready to come back home from Germany!!!!! :rotfl: :rotfl:

OH PLEASE man.....I never here of a Sweden team in World Cup with unfit players....He was sleepin while de rest of de team was playin warm up games or what?
Post by: AB.Trini on June 04, 2006, 12:26:52 PM
who cares?
Post by: E-man on June 04, 2006, 05:09:13 PM
No show, Ibrahimovic 
By Wang Meng Meng (asia1.com.sg)

June 05, 2006       

WHATEVER John Carew can do with a football, I can do it with an orange.

And he proved this boast. With the fruit, socks, golf balls and tennis balls.

Even with chewing gum, which he juggled it several times before hoofing it back into his mouth in a boot advertisement.

But now, Zlatan Ibrahimovic is in danger of running out of steam before the biggest show on earth.

Against Chile yesterday morning (Singapore time), he was so anonymous that it will give his countrymen something to chew about before their World Cup opening match against Trinidad and Tobago on Saturday.

With Henrik Larsson into the twilight of his career and Freddie Ljungberg struggling with a foot injury, the Juventus superstar is Sweden's brightest hope for glory in Germany though questions will have to be raised about his current form.

In his debut season for the Old Lady in 2004/05, the striker impressed with a 16-goal output and otherworldly skills.

OUT OF SORTS

That run screeched to a halt this term, with the Swede of Serbian and Croatian parentage looking increasingly out of sorts and watching his goal tally slashed to just seven strikes.

More worryingly, the 24-year-old is also sucked into the corruption storm that had engulfed the Turin club in the wake of the taped conversations involving Juve general manager Luciano Moggi.

When asked if the scandal had affected his form, Sweden's best player laughed off the suggestions, replying that his slump had more to do with eating too much pasta and gaining weight than having sleepless nights.

Whatever the real reason is, what is indeed true is that the man who can perform such jaw-dropping tricks was totally off-colour in the 1-1 draw against Chile.

Given a full 90 minutes to prove his worth, Ibrahimovic looked detached from the action and never threatened at all.

His only notable contribution was threading a clever through ball in the 22nd minute for the overlapping run of Ljungberg only for the Arsenal man to shoot straight at the goalkeeper.

With Sweden looking short of ideas, just like they did in the 0-0 midweek draw against Finland, they will rely more than ever on the maverick but he seemed to have lost his divine spark.

Even when he was given one final chance to redeem himself two minutes into stoppage time as Mathias Jonson's angled drive flashed across an empty goal, Ibrahimovic's instinct had deserted him by then as he watched helplessly just a few metres away.

With England seemingly able to cope with Wayne Rooney's injury, the race is now on to see who will grab the other ticket out of Group B.

Against Chile, Sweden coach Lars Lagerback fielded what was thought to be his strongest team but it was a line-up laced with problems.

Tobias Linderoth was given the runaround by the fleet-footed Chileans throughout. Anders Svensson, in the playmaker role, was a virtual passenger and will be a serious liability should he continue in this vein of form.

Only Larrson, who opened the scoring by ramming home a ferocious 20 metre free-kick in the 32nd minute and substitute Kim Kallstrom, whose surging runs from midfield had just earned him a move from Rennes to Lyon, warranted any praise.

Tell that to the Swedes, and football fans the world over. They will want to see the man who can juggle a piece of chewing gum performing similar stunts in Germany.

But given his poor show against Chile, he might even have problems juggling a ball now.

Sweden are in Group B with England, Paraguay and Trinidad & Tobago.
Post by: pioneertrini on June 04, 2006, 05:22:50 PM
Look di gum ting

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cOvUiKCcOj4&search=joga%20gum
Post by: Bourbon on June 04, 2006, 08:15:44 PM
I doh believe it. A certified Toolum manufacturer exporter and distributer out of shape??? NAH!!!!
Post by: trinidad badboy on June 04, 2006, 08:17:11 PM

he damm lie..
Post by: doublet750 on August 10, 2006, 10:05:35 AM
Ibrahamovic Newest Inter Signing

Juventus sell Ibrahimovic to Inter

(adds Juventus shares information, final para)

MILAN, Aug 10 (Reuters) - Zlatan Ibrahimovic became the latest big name to desert Juventus when he moved to Italian rivals Inter Milan for 24.8 million euros ($31.95 million) on Thursday.

The Sweden striker signed a four year contract, Inter said on their Web site after completing the most expensive incoming deal in Italy of the close-season.

ADVERTISEMENT

Juventus have sold several leading players after being demoted to Serie B last month for their role in Italian soccer's match-fixing scandal.

Ibrahimovic follows Patrick Vieira from Juve to Inter after the France midfielder moved last week - a few days after coach Didier Deschamps said no more players would be leaving.

The disgraced former champions had already sold Italy's World Cup-winning captain Fabio Cannavaro, Brazilian midfielder Emerson, and defenders Gianluca Zambrotta and Lilian Thuram.

Bought by coach Fabio Capello in 2004, Ibrahimovic gallantly filled the shoes of the injured David Trezeguet and went on to steer Juve to the Serie A title as the club's top scorer.

Last season, however, looking slow and uninspired, the Bosnian-born player managed only a handful of goals in Serie A and was similarly uninspired for Sweden in the World Cup.

Juventus shares plunged in early trade and were briefly suspended limit down. The stock was trading down four percent at 1.86 euros at 0925 GMT, the third-worst performer on Italy's stock exchange.

Updated on Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 5:31 am EDT

http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slug=reu-juventusibrahimovic&prov=reuters&type=lgns

Title: Re: Ibrahamovic Newest Inter Signing
Post by: doublet750 on August 10, 2006, 10:07:19 AM
inter are trying to capitalise and build a strong squad ...will they reap the rewards ??
Post by: Grande on August 10, 2006, 10:19:37 AM
inter are trying to capitalise and build a strong squad ...will they reap the rewards ??

even before these signings, on paper Inter is supposed to be giving stronger performances than what we see
Post by: Pompey on August 10, 2006, 10:24:22 AM
that is an incredible amount of money to pay for a player who is nowhere hear as good as he thinks he is. ::)
Post by: doublet750 on August 10, 2006, 11:11:38 AM
imbrahimovic is still young pompey so imagine what happens when he realises that he needs to werk on finishing (even though he is good at it ) ocne he perfects his game he his not over 24 i believe and should he perfect his game in a reasonable 3 year period next world cup he will be a force to reckon with
Post by: jai john on August 10, 2006, 11:14:09 AM
imbrahimovic is still young pompey so imagine what happens when he realises that he needs to werk on finishing (even though he is good at it ) ocne he perfects his game he his not over 24 i believe and should he perfect his game in a reasonable 3 year period next world cup he will be a force to reckon with

Still is a big gamble at that price you must admit !
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on August 10, 2006, 11:50:38 AM

As a Inter fan I am telling you they will find a way to implode and lose the scudetto
Post by: doublet750 on August 10, 2006, 11:57:23 AM
disgrunteld said it best.......yesit is a big price but when man u bought a hot tempered goal scoring lil rough neck from the merseyside area that played for EVERTON for around that price we all said that.....but look at how he blosoms when he cotnrosl himself......ibrahimovic has the skil to do well jsut watch and see how he will make them proud

WHAT YOU ALL FAIL TO DO IS REALISE THE INTER STRIKE FORCE NOW.....ADRIANO ...AND ZLATAN SO THEY WILL BOTH GET BETER COMPLIMENTING EACH OTHER ..both young and will grow not too mention their pwerful meances ..ALONG WITH THE GUIDANCE OF EXPEREINCED CAPPABLE CRESPO....like andre samuel would say ah love it ....can someone say cue and exit for obafemi martins
Post by: jai john on August 10, 2006, 12:39:44 PM
disgrunteld said it best.......yesit is a big price but when man u bought a hot tempered goal scoring lil rough neck from the merseyside area that played for EVERTON for around that price we all said that.....but look at how he blosoms when he cotnrosl himself......ibrahimovic has the skil to do well jsut watch and see how he will make them proud

WHAT YOU ALL FAIL TO DO IS REALISE THE INTER STRIKE FORCE NOW.....ADRIANO ...AND ZLATAN SO THEY WILL BOTH GET BETER COMPLIMENTING EACH OTHER ..both young and will grow not too mention their pwerful meances ..ALONG WITH THE GUIDANCE OF EXPEREINCED CAPPABLE CRESPO....like andre samuel would say ah love it ....can someone say cue and exit for obafemi martins

man united have just put in for adriano !
Post by: Pompey on August 10, 2006, 04:02:21 PM

it's not so much his finishing he needs to work on, it's his work level. If he put as much effort into his football as he does telling everyone how good he is, then he would be an amazing player.

At the moment, he is living on a reputation that he has not fully earned.
Post by: Filho on August 10, 2006, 07:53:17 PM
that is an incredible amount of money to pay for a player who is nowhere hear as good as he thinks he is. ::)

respek Pompey. Zlatan has talent and age on his side. I htink he will develop into a monster of a player if he cares to, but for now...he plays like a circus pony. One setta tricks that amount to very little. I think he scored a majestic 7 goals last season for Juve in Serie A. Of course he contributed more than goals, but by the end of the season people were wondering why he was starting ahead of Del Piero. Worst yet, people were wondering why he was starting ahead of Mutu.. Imagine, people say Adriano had a piss poor season and he scored twice as many goals as the big Swede in all competitions (I know I know...I am oversimplifing). Apparently he is also a pompous ass  ;D. The Ajax captain wrote about how happy the dressing room was to get rid of him when he moved to Juve. Right now he is young enough to still get ranks based on his potential. PLus I should not judge him too harshly on his first season in the most defensive league in Europe...but if he continues like he is...he will get ah overrated ranks in a couple years
Post by: emgee on August 11, 2006, 01:36:18 AM

zlatan is a strange guy

forced himself out of ajax
now forces himself out of juve

and then goes to INTER
one of the most boring teams ever

must be the money

Post by: dinho on August 11, 2006, 02:48:39 AM
i am an inter fan, but is like de chairman doh learn.. always buying and selling a setta big names rather than building a proper team...

check de flecking strike force now...

adriano
zlatan
crespo
recoba
cruz
martins

how yuh go keep 6 strikers happy.. whaz de best combo??

steups..
Post by: Blue on August 11, 2006, 06:18:56 AM
i am an inter fan, but is like de chairman doh learn.. always buying and selling a setta big names rather than building a proper team...

adriano
zlatan
crespo
recoba
cruz
martins

steups..

To me, the best combo is Crespo and Martins, but Martins just ask to leave so I would go with Crespo - Zlatan

I don't think Zlatan and Adriano can play together, neither of them is tenacious, they are both fairly lazy strikers. To be honest, I wouldnt mind seeing Adriano sold - he looked very lethargic last season, and I don't see him changing.

Recoba has been my favourite player for years, since Djorkaeff left,  but he is never fit, and only God knows why he thinks of himself as a striker rather than an attacking midfielder.

Cruz scores alot of goals, but I dont think anyone will mind if he leaves.

Post by: Pompey on August 11, 2006, 07:27:28 AM
I have just heard rumours that representatives of Martins (And Sully Muntri) are at Portsmouth today talking to Harry Redknapp and Sacha Gaydamak our new owner, so that is one less forward to worry about ;D
Post by: Filho on August 11, 2006, 07:41:49 AM

adriano
zlatan
crespo
recoba
cruz
martins

steups..

To me, the best combo is Crespo and Martins, but Martins just ask to leave so I would go with Crespo - Zlatan

I don't think Zlatan and Adriano can play together, neither of them is tenacious, they are both fairly lazy strikers. To be honest, I wouldnt mind seeing Adriano sold - he looked very lethargic last season, and I don't see him changing.

Recoba has been my favourite player for years, since Djorkaeff left,  but he is never fit, and only God knows why he thinks of himself as a striker rather than an attacking midfielder.

Sorry Ryan, Adriano is anything but lazy. He's actually a very hard working striker. Have you seen him play other than this past season? Anyone who has followed his career knows he works his socks off....but he lost his confidence last season and started looking lethargic. The fans gotr on him and his relationship with mancini seems to ahve soured. He's made it clear that he is unhappy at Inter...so it might be good for him to leave. But but he is a better striker than Zlatan right now: top scorer Confed Cup 2005, top scorer Copa America 2004, scores goals for fun in Serie A (even last season when he was poor he scored 13 goals to Zlatan's 7 and at the beginning of the season was a one man demolition force). Did more than Zlatan in the WC too....and he didn't play lazy (that was Ronaldo). Just wasn't too effective...and he is better in the air and at free kicks than Zlatan. Zlatan however seems a more skilful player who is superior with the ball at his feet. Overall Adriano is better than Zlatan or Crespo. I think one of them will be supporting him when the season starts if he doesn't leave for ManU
Post by: lickslikefire on August 11, 2006, 07:48:04 AM
Filho you real like Adriano boy...de amount ah times you defend him on dis forum  ;D
Post by: Filho on August 11, 2006, 08:22:05 AM
Filho you real like Adriano boy...de amount ah times you defend him on dis forum  ;D

really? my memory bad boy. i cyah really remember having to defend him too much...but I know I real big him up plenty on de forum...what can I say..dat is big big player ;D ;D
Post by: Marcos on August 11, 2006, 08:27:20 AM
Boy I hate Adriano after he purge in the WC.
He is a poor man's Ronaldo in my book.
I have seen him dominate before but he has been a shadow of that player in recent months.
Right now he looks slow and cumbersome as opposed to fast and powerful
Filho, you eh hadda defend every Brazilian. I love Brazil but I not on Adriano atall atall
Post by: dinho on August 11, 2006, 08:46:38 AM
first of all.... lay off meh boy adriano...i ent want to hadda call him and tell him men abusing hiim on dis forum.....

(http://static.flickr.com/48/191558945_7869dac80f_m.jpg)

he had some woman problems last year, can happen to anyone and he didn't have a good season, but in his prime no striker could touch him.. and his prime will be back...

secondly, the following cannot play on de same field together at the same time...

Zlatan, Adriano, Crespo, Cruz

Why??? there all the same... finishers... big man forward.. no blistering pace.. target men.. remember when we try Adriano, Vieri... did not work worst experiment ever.. i worried, 2 big men forwards doh ever work....

i hoping martins stay to complement the target man, i doh see de need for zlatan and crespo
Post by: Filho on August 11, 2006, 08:52:42 AM
Boy I hate Adriano after he purge in the WC.
He is a poor man's Ronaldo in my book.
I have seen him dominate before but he has been a shadow of that player in recent months.
Right now he looks slow and cumbersome as opposed to fast and powerful
Filho, you eh hadda defend every Brazilian. I love Brazil but I not on Adriano atall atall

hardly..I doh defend all of them...For example..I hate Emerson (alright..that might be too easy). There are a few who really cannot take at all..and some I used to like but outstay their welcome and now I real sour on them. But Adriano still young and was only poor for one season. How yuh go hate a player after 1 bad season..or a bad WC ;D I guess yuh hate nearly the entire Brazilian side. Adriano start 3 games and scored 2 goals...Even when he purging he cannot help but buss up de net. De man almost single handedly win the Copa America for Brazil and light up the Confed Cup. For me..that earn him a bligh for at least one season. Now if he purge this season..... ;)
Post by: Blue on August 11, 2006, 09:35:08 AM

adriano
zlatan
crespo
recoba
cruz
martins

steups..

Sorry Ryan, Adriano is anything but lazy. He's actually a very hard working striker. Have you seen him play other than this past season? Anyone who has followed his career knows he works his socks off....but he lost his confidence last season and started looking lethargic. The fans gotr on him and his relationship with mancini seems to ahve soured. He's made it clear that he is unhappy at Inter...so it might be good for him to leave. But but he is a better striker than Zlatan right now: top scorer Confed Cup 2005, top scorer Copa America 2004, scores goals for fun in Serie A (even last season when he was poor he scored 13 goals to Zlatan's 7 and at the beginning of the season was a one man demolition force). Did more than Zlatan in the WC too....and he didn't play lazy (that was Ronaldo). Just wasn't too effective...and he is better in the air and at free kicks than Zlatan. Zlatan however seems a more skilful player who is superior with the ball at his feet. Overall Adriano is better than Zlatan or Crespo. I think one of them will be supporting him when the season starts if he doesn't leave for ManU

I would like Adriano to shine as much as anyone, but I dont see him getting back to his goal-a-game form. Adriano's claim to fame is that he will shoot on sight. Last season, noone gave him the space he's had in the past, and his effectiveness plummeted. He's not a very creative player, and nowadays only scores goals against inferior opposition (d only big team I remember him scoring against last year was Milan...no doubt you will correct me  ;D)

Confed Cup is a second class competition, as was the particular Copa America that Adriano played in, so lets not even talk about those competitions.

I think Crespo is much better than Adriano or Zlatan, and I couldnt believe when we sold him a few years ago. I agree Adriano is better than Zlatan, but I see Cresp as a marksman with Zlatan as a creator....Adriano can not play as a secondary striker.

Anyway, as long as we win, I good

Forza Inter

(And sorry, but he is a lazy bastard)

Post by: Filho on August 11, 2006, 10:26:32 AM

I would like Adriano to shine as much as anyone, but I dont see him getting back to his goal-a-game form. Adriano's claim to fame is that he will shoot on sight. Last season, noone gave him the space he's had in the past, and his effectiveness plummeted. He's not a very creative player, and nowadays only scores goals against inferior opposition (d only big team I remember him scoring against last year was Milan...no doubt you will correct me  ;D)

Confed Cup is a second class competition, as was the particular Copa America that Adriano played in, so lets not even talk about those competitions.

I think Crespo is much better than Adriano or Zlatan, and I couldnt believe when we sold him a few years ago. I agree Adriano is better than Zlatan, but I see Cresp as a marksman with Zlatan as a creator....Adriano can not play as a secondary striker.

Anyway, as long as we win, I good

Forza Inter

(And sorry, but he is a lazy bastard)

hahah..I hear ya boy Ryan
but doh dis Confed Cup..he scored a double against a very good Argentine defense in the final and a double against a German team playing in Germany. That is class. Buss de net against the great European Champs Greece too  :-\

Copa America is not a second rate tourney either. That sounds like some good ole European media nonsense. Let's see Greece go and win that tourney  ;D ;D  He top scored in both and was Brazil's best player in both...that is not something to ignore at all bredda

Adriano has been playing and bussing the net in Italy for years, so it was not a case of defenders finally deciding not to give him room last season. that is way too simplistic. Since you are an Inter fan you should also knowhe was the leading scorer in Serie A last season until he got injured (scoring more than a goal per game in Serie A and the CL combined) ...never recovered his form after that. You also know that he almost singlehandedly won the pre CL qualifiers and dragged a poor Inter into the CL proper. I usedto go on the Inter fan website and read mancini beg people to give the rest of the team a chance, they are not a one-man team, yes Adriano is special..balh blah blah..that was last season..how soon we forget

hahaha Anyhow cool ting Ryan. I hope I not coming across antagonistic. We disagree. no worries
bless
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on August 11, 2006, 11:11:14 AM
31.95 mil and this man was unable to score on TNT, is it that our defending was first class or his form was just not there for the WC...
Post by: Marcos on August 11, 2006, 11:43:26 AM
I cyah say he was the best player in confed cup nah.
Granted I didn't see every game, but the games I did see he wasn't the best.
(Yuh forget about Kaka and the big tooth man or what?)

As for Zlatan, he need some good clout to get rid of his ego and then he will start playing again.

Post by: Maserati on August 12, 2006, 06:10:40 PM
lol time to buy juve shares..low price
inter have quite a strike force there..lets c if they can get their act together n finally win a Seria A title the way it supposed 2 be won.
Post by: palos on August 12, 2006, 06:45:16 PM

IF Ibrahimovic truly puts his mind to it, he will be the best stirker in football bar none.

At 24...well worth the gamble in my opinion.
Post by: doublet750 on August 13, 2006, 12:24:59 PM
lol time to buy juve shares..low price  SMARTEST ADVICE I SEE ON THIS FORUM SO FAR WITH THE SCANDAL PENALTIES GOING DOWN IN  YEAR OR TWO SHOULD YOU BUY ALOT YOU'LL BE A BOARD MEMBER  :angel:
inter have quite a strike force there..lets c if they can get their act together n finally win a Seria A title the way it supposed 2 be won.
Post by: Blue on September 26, 2007, 05:36:32 PM
Ibrahimovic turnin men inside out.

Watch dis goal...check d cutback dat left all d defenders for dead: http://zio.inter.it/media/mpg/G0805-3655-99341.mpg

D man is on fire dis season, 6 goals in 5 serie A games  :beermug:

Title: Re: Ibrahimovic turnin men inside out
Post by: Strip on September 26, 2007, 09:16:33 PM
all that --- and we defence still had him lock up tight last year
Post by: Trini on September 27, 2007, 05:07:52 AM
another classic example of club star and national underachiever...
Excelling at club ball sometime dont count for much at national level.
Although in some of the recent sweden games he looking more impressive too...

More evidence for my asssertation that having a load of premiership players will not significantly help T&T's chances for the 2010 WC. in fact it might be more detrimental than anything else as players now have greater chance of being injured (more competitive league and harder training - a la Carlos) and also being released for national duty.

Post by: Jah Gol on December 07, 2008, 09:29:15 AM
Ibrahimovic flick

Yesterday Inter played Lazio. Ibrahimivic did this in the run of play.

http://www.youtube.com/v/xUxpaL94idQ

btw Inter won 3-0

Title: Re: Ibrahimovic flick
Post by: Blue on December 07, 2008, 10:09:36 AM
amazing  :beermug:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on December 07, 2008, 11:01:19 AM
snap....  very berbatov esque
Post by: dinho on December 07, 2008, 02:06:43 PM
snap....  very berbatov esq

with all due respect, berbatov cyah shine Zlatan boots!
Post by: Observer on December 07, 2008, 04:26:54 PM
Honestly it just goes to show how we starved for flair and imagination of individuals in todays game. Not disrespecting the man, but passes and plays of that nature was part of all football in the 70's. Check Cabanas piece of magic

Cabanas    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Za0Rn6o2gqY&feature=related

Best         http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jm2kru2g5c&feature=related

It is a unfortunate that we don't have more footage of football in those times
Post by: kicker on December 07, 2008, 04:29:57 PM

You find Zlatan that good?

preference of style aside, I would say they're in the same class.
Post by: dinho on December 07, 2008, 04:55:58 PM
we eh talking overall...

we talking bout skill.

Hoss, Ibrahimovic skill-wise on a different planet. Sometimes I find he too skilful for his own good... Berbatov have silky touches yes, but he eh capable of some of the shit Zlatan does pull off week in week out.

Saying ibrahimovic look berbatov-esque is ah real strech imo.
Post by: Jah Gol on December 07, 2008, 05:04:53 PM
Honestly it just goes to show how we starved for flair and imagination of individuals in todays game. Not disrespecting the man, but passes and plays of that nature was part of all football in the 70's. Check Cabanas piece of magic

Amazing clips Observer. Thanks. But Zlatan scored one likeCabanas against Italy in Euro 2004.
http://www.youtube.com/v/9sdDmiv2SCI
Post by: asylumseeker on December 07, 2008, 05:48:44 PM
we eh talking overall...

we talking bout skill.

Hoss, Ibrahimovic skill-wise on a different planet. Sometimes I find he too skilful for his own good... Berbatov have silky touches yes, but he eh capable of some of the shit Zlatan does pull off week in week out.

Yuh sure dahis where de stretch is?

Main Entry:
    hyperbole
Pronunciation:
    \hī-ˈpər-bə-(ˌ)lē\
Function:
    noun
Etymology:
    Latin, from Greek hyperbolē excess, hyperbole, hyperbola, from hyperballein to exceed, from hyper- + ballein to throw more at devil
Date:
    15th century

: extravagant exaggeration (as mile-high ice-cream cones)
hyperbolist \-list\ noun
Post by: Blue on December 07, 2008, 06:04:45 PM

Nice goals observer...but compare Best's goal 2 d first goal in dis clip  :beermug:

http://uk.youtube.com/v/yObIYDOv1Qc&NR=1
Post by: Trini on December 07, 2008, 06:28:44 PM
berbatov good eh, silky smooth, but Zlatan is in a class by himself..
The only men in recent memory u could put on a similar level is Bergkamp and Zidane..
Post by: Grande on December 07, 2008, 09:41:32 PM

I used to say Berbatov is a poor man's Ibrahimovic...but Berba has improved since that I can't say that again
Post by: dinho on December 07, 2008, 10:53:20 PM

I used to say Berbatov is a poor man's Ibrahimovic...but Berba has improved since that I can't say that again

not saying no at all... just to reiterate, i am speaking solely about touches, not overall play or effectiveness.. player for player i would give zlatan the edge, but not by alot.

but zlatan has amazing skill, whereas i never even see berbatov put dong ah spanner..
Post by: Observer on December 08, 2008, 07:29:13 AM

Nice goals observer...but compare Best's goal 2 d first goal in dis clip  :beermug:

http://uk.youtube.com/v/yObIYDOv1Qc&NR=1

Don't get me wrong i was not making comparisons in any way. I was just saying that individualism was a big part of the game in the 70's and players use to enjoy displaying their skills.  I admire this type of play and far too often we don't see it in todays game.
Post by: fordy on December 08, 2008, 08:28:33 AM
yeh i saw the flick live and i had to wait on de replay to actually see what this man pull off!!! it was mad crazy!! :beermug:

and sancho hold down this man down in a world cup game and still cah get ah start on we locally based national team??? amazing!!! :beermug:
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on December 08, 2008, 08:46:29 AM

Being a Inter fan not withstanding, he is that good.

Berbatov good - real good actually, no argument there but Zlatan is better. One just has to watch the 2 leagues week in week out to see the difference. Zlatan does do some amazing shit against better defenders. Zlatan problem is sometimes he looks disinterested in what's going on like he's rather be elsewhere.

Post by: kicker on December 08, 2008, 09:53:56 AM

not saying no at all... just to reiterate, i am speaking solely about touches, not overall play or effectiveness.. player for player i would give zlatan the edge, but not by alot.

but zlatan has amazing skill, whereas i never even see berbatov put dong ah spanner..

Yeah men gettin' carried away with the Berba- Zlatan comparisons.  I was responding to the statement that Berba can't shine Zlatans shoes...I thought it was an exaggeration, but then when you qualified it as a statement comparing their tricks, then I say no scene...because Berbatov is not a trickster/individual dribbler in the realm of Zlatan (at least not nearly as flamboyant)... I don't think anyone in the game today is.

Outrageous dribblers in the likes of Zlatan & Okocha for e.g. are few and far apart.

Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on December 08, 2008, 09:58:36 AM
Both players are very good... It just reminded me of something Berba would do... I see every united game so I see what Berba does...his control is amazing and his audacity is up there with the best... I hardly see Italian Football but i've always been impressed with Zlatan...
Post by: asylumseeker on December 08, 2008, 08:49:27 PM
Well, well, well ... like somebody on FSC geh de Small Mag memo ... The direct quote was .... "Berbatov, he's like Ibrahimovic" ... right on time ... :)
Post by: dumpalewie on December 08, 2008, 09:14:00 PM

Definitely not in the same class.

Berbatov is good. Very skillful but disappears too much.

Zlatan is special!
Post by: dinho on December 08, 2008, 10:53:27 PM
Well, well, well ... like somebody on FSC geh de Small Mag memo ... The direct quote was .... "Berbatov, he's like Ibrahimovic" ... right on time ... :)

the problem with them people on FSC, like small mag is that they so brainwashed with the EPL that they cyah appreciate the kinda skill level that exists in other leagues like La Liga, Serie A and de bundesliga.

if it wasn't for the EPL, no touches men would not have a career.
Post by: Peong on November 06, 2010, 06:55:08 AM
Onyewu and Ibrahimovic Brawl

:duel:
http://www.goal.com/en-us/news/86/italy/2010/11/06/2201211/roman-rule-oguchi-onyewus-altercation-with-zlatan

Following a challenge by Zlatan Ibrahimovic in training Friday, Oguchi Onyewu shot up and put his hands around the Swede's neck. The two exchanged punches and slaps as 10 teammates attempted to separate them, according to several news sources in Italy.

Eventually coach Massimiliano Allegri issued stern words to both and suspended the training session early.

"The fight was animated, but the incident is over. The two players cleared up their disagreement," Milan vice president Adriano Galliani was quoted as saying on the club's website. "I'm happy when I see players pumped up, I'm happier seeing fiery training sessions than boring ones."

Seeing the 6'4, 210 pound Onyewu and the 6'5, taekwondo black-belt Ibrahimovic exchange blows surely qualifies as fiery.

Oguchi Onyewu, America's lone representative in Italy, hasn't enjoyed the best of years.

Since his move to powerhouse AC Milan, Onyewu has made just one competitive appearance, a substitute stint against FC Zurich in the Champions League last year. Following a knee injury in World Cup qualifying for the United States, Onyewu had knee surgery and has yet to make the bench for Milan since returning.

The looming central defender did feature for the U.S. in the World Cup, playing two matches before Bob Bradley realized his durability and movement wasn't up to scratch and plopped Gooch back on the bench.

The defender has hinted at some mental cracks during the grueling year-long recovery process. After a 4-2 loss to the Czech Republic in a friendly before the World Cup, Onyewu met questions about his fitness with a bullish challenge, "Did you see any rustiness?"

And after captaining the U.S. in a 0-0 draw with Colombia in October, he refused to even acknowledge the press.

Still, Onyewu may be gruff and intimidating, but he's not easily prone to violence. In June of 2009 he complained to a referee three times and threatened to walk off after receiving racial abuse from Anderlecht's Jelle van Damme. Instead of resorting to violence, the then Standard Liege defender sued van Damme for calling him a dirty monkey.

Ibrahimovic isn't the saintliest teammate either. Earlier this season, video of him acrobatically kicking Milan youngster Rodney Strasser in the back washed up on the Internet. The Swedish striker seemed to think it some sort of practical joke, but the youngster clearly wasn't amused, nor was there much inherent humor.

It's possible Ibra just rubs Onyewu the wrong way. Also likely is Gazzetta dello Sport's conjecture that the challenge riled Onyewu given his rehabilitating knee, though Gazzetta did judge the tackle not that bad.

Despite extending his contract a year (at no extra wages) this summer to repay Milan for the year he sat out, the incident will surely add credence to the rumors that the American will be loaned out this winter.

Perhaps the most interesting club linked, Napoli made moves for Americans Clint Dempsey and Jozy Altidore this summer, apparently keen to tap into the growing U.S. market.

With Alessandro Nesta and Thiago Silva unmovable at the heart of Milan's defense, and Sokratis Papastathopoulos, Daniele Bonera, and Mario Yepes ahead of the American in the pecking order, perhaps a move would revive a stagnating career.

A U.S. physio suggested to Goal.com that Onyewu won't regain 100% fitness until November or December, so a January loan move could come at the opportune time to help the the 28-year-old earn the playing time he needs to reestablish himself as first choice for the U.S. national team.

Title: Re: Onyewu and Ibrahimovic Brawl
Post by: Cowen on November 06, 2010, 08:25:10 AM
Hard to put a winner on this fight........dem 2 men dangerous  :devil:

Post by: Ngozi on November 06, 2010, 08:53:00 AM
I backing Gooch all day and twice on a sunday ... Ibra aint ready!
Post by: boss on November 06, 2010, 11:13:27 AM
Goal.com article. Lock thread.  >:(
Post by: Bakes on November 06, 2010, 11:25:43 AM

It's actually all over the net...
Post by: boss on November 06, 2010, 11:31:40 AM

In that case, unlock thread  ;D
Post by: mukumsplau on November 06, 2010, 12:09:48 PM
doh take ibra lightly eh...he kno ting!
Post by: Peong on November 06, 2010, 12:31:06 PM

In that case, unlock thread  ;D

lol I know somebody woulda comment on that.

Ibrahimovic is an expert at building team spirit.
http://www.youtube.com/v/HaE4d3nAL0g
Post by: Preacher on November 06, 2010, 01:44:43 PM
Nah...If you take God out your thoughts and just kick me like that....hmmm
Post by: mukumsplau on November 06, 2010, 04:03:26 PM
dinho is ah rel gladman boy jah
Post by: elan on November 06, 2010, 04:26:04 PM
Two gorwn arse men and slap passing? WTH....SMH
Post by: just cool on November 06, 2010, 06:03:44 PM
I never liked his vibes. big shytesnake throw away king! he proved it in the WC 2006 that he was overated when he couldn't score against us, he proved it when he went to barca and he will prove he's crap @ milan. not to mention that inter finally won the trebble when he left and eto came on board.
Post by: fari on November 06, 2010, 06:34:35 PM
gooch shoulda rest some hard hand on him for real
Post by: Bourbon on November 06, 2010, 07:05:18 PM
I would REALLY like to see a video of this.
Post by: sammy on November 06, 2010, 08:46:19 PM
dinho is ah rel gladman boy jah

dinho like he dared him to do it.
Post by: MEP on November 06, 2010, 09:16:38 PM
dem so does always get what coming to dem.....
Post by: Spursy on November 06, 2010, 09:38:40 PM
I would wanna beat gooch ass too.. he so big, ugly an ubzuckie.

btw we at Inter love Ibra... but maybe not anymore.
Post by: Ngozi on November 07, 2010, 06:14:00 AM
I would wanna beat gooch ass too.. he so big, ugly an ubzuckie.

btw we at Inter love Ibra... but maybe not anymore.
? ? ???
Post by: TriniItalian on November 07, 2010, 06:42:15 AM
Ibra isn't shit and shotta's statement not confusing after watch ibra week in week out to amazing things all nerazzurri love him... Who could forget that spin kick through ball to dejan down the line... However he's at Milan not so we hating to love him.
Post by: palos on November 26, 2010, 01:44:26 PM
Disgruntled and other haters....look allyuh boy Ibra

How AC Milan have turned it around

After winning just one of their first four games of the season, Massimiliano Allegri's Milan side have won eight of the subsequent nine and now finds themselves top of Serie A by three points. What has changed? Here are five reasons Milan have turned their season around.

1. Ibrahimovic on fire

(http://soccernet-assets.espn.go.com/design05/images/2010/1126/zlatanibrahimovicmilan2010-11_275x155.jpg)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic: Back in Serie A and repeating his Inter form at San Siro.  After an ultimately disappointing time with Barcelona, Ibrahimovic is back on familiar territory and is once again playing brilliant football. It's eight goals and four assists so far this season for the Swede, including the only goal in Milan's last two games against Inter and Fiorentina. Those two matches have shown how difficult it is to defend against Ibrahimovic, because he's such a good all-around striker.

Inter tried to use a high defensive line and were caught out by his pace in behind the defence for the goal, while Fiorentina defended very deep, and were undone by a brilliant piece of trickery in a crowded penalty box. Ibrahimovic is currently on an astonishing run of seven league titles in the past seven seasons with four different clubs - Ajax, Juventus, Inter and Barcelona. Can he make it eight in eight with a fifth club?

2. Change in formation

Allegri started off playing a 4-3-3 system, very similar to the shape used by Leonardo last season when Milan finished a distant third in Serie A and were knocked out of the Champions League with an embarrassing 7-2 aggregate defeat to Manchester United. Milan seemed to find it difficult to move the ball between midfield and attack, with wide players remaining high up the pitch against the opposition's full backs and no player to link the two zones.

The switch to a 4-3-1-2 system means Clarence Seedorf acts as the bridge in that position, linking play and helping Milan build up attacks more gradually. The use of four players in the centre of midfield allows Milan to dominate possession quite often. And the formation is simply a more "natural" way for Milan to play.

Under Carlo Ancelotti, when the club won a scudetto and two European Cups, AC Milan used a 4-3-1-2 or 4-3-2-1 system, packing the center of the pitch and rarely playing the ball wide. Four midfielders - Seedorf, Andrea Pirlo, Rino Gattuso and Massimo Ambrosini - are still around from that time, and it seems that they prefer playing in a narrow formation.

3. The use of three functional central midfielders

Since the 2-1 defeat to Juventus, Allegri has done away with playing Pirlo as a deep-lying regista (playmaker) and has instead selected three energetic, hard-working central midfielders from the group of Gattuso, Ambrosini, Mathieu Flamini and Kevin-Prince Boateng.

This makes Milan much more solid in front of their defense, and using three tacklers compensates for the fact that the forwards don't help out much defensively. Milan are a relatively old side - five years ago, Gattuso and Ambrosini could probably get through the defensive work as a two, but now they seem to need a third battler to help out. A word of caution, though: The absence of Pirlo does mean a lack of creativity from that position. In the 1-0 win over Fiorentina this past weekend, Milan probably didn't need three holding players and struggled to manufacture chances.

In some games, Pirlo will be needed to provide that creative spark.

4. Playing only two of Pato, Ronaldinho, Robinho and Zlatan Ibrahimovic

These four star names made Milan an attractive prospect for exciting attacking football, but after Allegri spent the first few weeks of the season trying to accommodate three of them in the same team, he eventually realized that their lack of defensive work - coupled with Gattuso and Ambrosini not being able to cover as much ground - was hindering the side. There was also a lack of interplay and understanding when three attackers were used, as none of the four is a particularly unselfish player. After trying to use Robinho in the trequartista (attacking midfielder) role against Juventus, Allegri has since used Seedorf there, leaving Robinho to play off Ibrahimovic. Milan look more balanced and move the ball much better in the final third. "It will be difficult to see Ronaldinho, Ibrahimovic and Robinho on the pitch simultaneously," Allegri told reporters last week.

5. Dropping Ronaldinho

Ronaldinho has not started a Serie A game since October 16, a 3-1 win over Chievo. He has started twice in the Champions League against Real Madrid in that time, but the game between the two at San Siro summed up the Brazilian's woes at the moment. He spent the game wandering round the pitch putting little effort in, then was replaced by Pippo Inzaghi, who provided both much-needed energy and two goals within 20 minutes of coming on.

Ronaldinho still has superb touch on the ball and can provide moments of magic, but he's not consistent enough to feature as Milan's first-choice central playmaker, and not hard-working enough to persuade Allegri to switch back to 4-3-3 and accommodate him on the wing. Combine this with his reputation for partying - he was photographed in a Milan nightclub in the early hours of the morning shortly before the game with Fiorentina, prompting Allegri to declare to the media, "They are not hours that are compatible with the life of an athlete." It looks as though this will be the former World Player of the Year's final season at Milan.

SOURCE (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=846384&sec=europe&cc=5901)

Title: Re: Disgruntled and other haters....look allyuh boy Ibra
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 26, 2010, 02:09:37 PM
Rank Shithong!
Post by: palos on November 26, 2010, 02:25:57 PM
Rank Shithong!

Dat shithong win 7 league titles in 7 years in Holland, Italy & Spain

He goin fuh CONSECUTIVE title # 8 dis year and his team currently on top de League

Name a nex player in a major league dat has come close to emulatin dat.

Jes one.
Post by: dinho on November 26, 2010, 02:54:35 PM
Rank Shithong!

He goin fuh CONSECUTIVE title # 8 dis year and his team currently on top de League

Jes one.

Eto'o.

Ibra eh play a big game for the season yet.

Wait till the CL group stages, the mandatory pop down coming.
Post by: Jah Gol on November 26, 2010, 03:13:58 PM
Rank Shithong!

Jes one.

Eto'o.

He played and scored against Inter. I still hate him though.
Post by: palos on November 26, 2010, 03:29:42 PM
Rank Shithong!

Jes one.

Eto'o.

And how many consecutive major league titles has Eto'o won?
Post by: Trini Madness on November 26, 2010, 03:39:28 PM
Rank Shithong!

Jes one.

Eto'o.

i could careless about how many trophies or how many league titles someone has gotten. if its one striker to get me through a clutch situation, its eto'o.
Post by: palos on November 26, 2010, 03:44:26 PM
Rank Shithong!

Jes one.

Eto'o.

i could careless about how many trophies or how many league titles someone has gotten. if its one striker to get me through a clutch situation, its eto'o.

Yuh entitled to go wit de lesser player if yuh want hoss  :devil:

And as yuh say clutch....ah guess cameroon never play no clutch games in de world cup
Post by: Pointman on November 26, 2010, 03:48:53 PM
That's awright, he still eh want nuttin with Carlos  ;D
Post by: elan on November 26, 2010, 03:54:13 PM
Rank Shithong!

Jes one.

Eto'o.

He was on a team that win las year, he eh win nutten.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on November 26, 2010, 03:54:47 PM
Was a big fan of Zlatan when he was at Inter, no denying that. He score some boss goals. In fact the best thing on a Sunday, after macaroni pie, was Zlatan for Inter.

However, Zlatan at Barca was a different story. All the tall, big nose f0kka wanted to do was karate kick the ball inside the net and the end result was the ball in the 5 row of the stands.

Maybe the Italian league suits him better, who knows.

I know I go get some talk for this, but I taking Bojan over him any day on my Barca side. A little toughening up and some self confidence and he go be a boss striker.

http://www.youtube.com/v/gDr71KzFy9c

http://www.youtube.com/v/wi_aGVkDpl4
Post by: Peong on May 10, 2011, 10:03:48 PM
Now Zlatan decides to kick Cassano in the head.

http://www.youtube.com/v/CgyJR-1LYvE&feature
Post by: fitzinho on May 11, 2011, 04:24:57 PM
Buh wha do Ibra dred...just so he like to kick people? I figure is because he's a black belt he figure he could get away with them type ah shit but he go kick the wrong person just now
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on May 11, 2011, 04:32:21 PM
Buh wha do Ibra dred...just so he like to kick people? I figure is because he's a black belt he figure he could get away with them type ah shit but he go kick the wrong person just now

Seem like daz kix fuh he.  He was laughin an cassano eh look upset needa!
Title: Zlatan like he is a hater
Post by: Observer on January 15, 2013, 06:00:45 PM
Dam! That is cold

http://rt.com/sport/football/messi-ronaldo-ibrahimovic-scandal-926/ (http://rt.com/sport/football/messi-ronaldo-ibrahimovic-scandal-926/)
Title: Re: Zlatan like he is a hater
Post by: Fyzoman on January 15, 2013, 07:12:55 PM
Nobody say dat you can't be top notch professional footballer and also be a c&^t at de same time, they are not mutually exclusive.
Post by: giggsy11 on January 15, 2013, 07:28:52 PM
Yuh feel Ronaldo not thinking the same thing about Messi and Messi about Ronaldo? That was funny, but so wrong! ;D All dem footballers arrogant, Zlatan just don't give a shite!
Post by: fitzinho on January 16, 2013, 06:14:40 PM
I doubt he really said that
Post by: Tallman on November 14, 2013, 07:32:58 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/gc9ktJ3JHXA
Post by: sammy on November 15, 2013, 07:16:16 AM
Sensational.

they way men does carry on - on facebook, is like only messi and CR could play football... it sickening.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on November 15, 2013, 10:17:43 AM
That man is a magical goal scorer!  Sammy true talk!
Post by: triniairman on November 15, 2013, 10:33:37 AM
Hate people who act like a bully. Ibrashit
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on November 15, 2013, 10:44:13 AM
Hate people who act like a bully. Ibrashit

Hate him all yuh want it changes nothing of his quality on the field tho.
Post by: Preacher on November 15, 2013, 11:37:44 PM
Club player.  How come he ain't do that against we?   Maybe he ain't try.   ;)
Title: Zlatan !
Post by: Jah Gol on November 28, 2013, 11:35:01 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/Ui2VxRoXegY
Post by: Tallman on February 05, 2014, 06:08:40 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/CdjdJgHrYxo
Post by: Fyzoman on February 05, 2014, 08:54:51 AM
I came into the last 10 minutes of this game, waaaayyyyyy!!

Ray Hudson say after Nantes had scored, that will more drama to come before the games ends (think there were minutes left?), not even a minute later Zlatan score yes.

Boss cross from Lucas, Thiago Motta is ridiculously good, my goodness!!
Post by: Peong on February 05, 2014, 10:09:07 AM
Technique and confidence.
Post by: palos on February 05, 2014, 06:03:04 PM

Not to mention thinking at warp speed
Post by: Deeks on February 05, 2014, 06:15:41 PM
I saw that goal yesterday. Lightening quick intuition.
Post by: Peong on February 05, 2014, 10:02:25 PM

Not to mention thinking at warp speed

Yes, yes.
Ibra is a killer.
Post by: Pur_Trini on February 06, 2014, 06:45:17 AM
Apparently the World Cup won't be worth watching without him.....  :rotfl:
Post by: Fyzoman on February 06, 2014, 04:56:03 PM
As men mention technique and warp-speed thinking, I thought about ManU's biggest dead weight getting a cross in their last defeat and instead of using his stupid foot he used his head instead and off course miss a sitter.
Post by: Tallman on February 21, 2014, 09:17:59 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/JbwS62UboN0
Title: Ibrahimovic sure of success in England
Post by: rotatopoti3 on February 23, 2014, 07:18:42 AM
Ibrahimovic sure of success in England

By ESPN staff
If Zlatan Ibrahimovic had ever played in the Premier League, he would have "destroyed" it. At least, he firmly believes so.

Ibrahimovic told The Mirror that the Premier League is "a very strong league," but he is confident he would have had success in England.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic says he  would have "destroyed" the Premier League if he had ever played in it.
"If I had played there, I would have destroyed it, like I have everywhere else," the Paris Saint-Germain striker told The Mirror.

At age 16, Ibrahimovic declined an opportunity for a trial at Arsenal and joined Ajax instead.

Now at 32, he lashed out at critics who would belittle him for never testing himself in England, and even took a shot at Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger, whose title drought with the Gunners has passed eight years.

"Arsenal could have happened, as everybody knows -- but I would not do a trial. Who do you think regrets that more, Arsene Wenger or Zlatan?"

Ibrahimovic scored four times in a 2012 friendly against England, a fact he has not forgotten.

"The last time I faced England, which is supposed to be the best players in the Premier League, what happened?" he said. "Maybe people need to be reminded that it was the Zlatan show.".................

Title: Re: Zlatan Ibrahimovic Thread
Post by: asylumseeker on February 23, 2014, 07:44:42 AM
... de big man can defend big chat.  :beermug:

Post by: elan on February 23, 2014, 08:50:34 AM
Why he need to play in England to prove anything. SAF never prove heself in Spain or Germany or France or Portugal or Italy, yet  he is de best.
Post by: palos on February 23, 2014, 03:34:00 PM
Why he need to play in England to prove anything. SAF never prove heself in Spain or Germany or France or Portugal or Italy, yet  he is de best.
Not to mention
Maradona
Messi
Zidane
Ronaldinho
Brazilian Ronaldo
Cryuff
etc

All ah dem play in Spain.

Looks like Spain is the REAL proving ground of the very best players.

England is peewat by comparison
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 23, 2014, 08:56:48 PM
Except Zlatan fart down heself during his time at Barca, maybe he and tiki taka jus did not mix
Post by: FF on February 23, 2014, 09:27:04 PM
16 goals in 29 games is farting down?
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 24, 2014, 07:25:30 AM

Yuh have to look back at where barca was then, not the barca of last yr or this year, compare his record to eto the previous seasons and messi, though the latter is probably an unfair comparison.  Going from eto to zlatan was an experiement that did not work, the goal ratio you show would be good anywhere else but not at barca that season...
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on February 24, 2014, 10:08:48 AM

Yuh have to look back at where barca was then, not the barca of last yr or this year, compare his record to eto the previous seasons and messi, though the latter is probably an unfair comparison.  Going from eto to zlatan was an experiement that did not work, the goal ratio you show would be good anywhere else but not at barca that season...

It wasn't an experiment at all.  Pep didn't like Eto'o and wanted to be rid of him.  Inter saw an opportunity to manage salaries by sending Ibra in the other direction.  The only reason Ibra actually cost Barca some change was because Ibra had a recently signed extension and therefore that meant his value was higher than Eto who's contract was an expiring one.  Zlatan played to his skill set within the set up there.  He did not spend enough time there to integrate into the Tiki Taka system yet still was able to produce a goal every other game on average.  To say that he fart dong heself is ah setta shit talk because outside of Eto, and Messi who else was prolific to that tune at Barca in the last 2 decades?  Villa? No. Henry? No. Eiur Gujohnsen? No. Giuly? No.  Larsson? No. Pedro, Lexi? No. 

I sure yuh get the picture, right?
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 24, 2014, 10:46:11 AM

It wasn't an experiment at all.  Pep didn't like Eto'o and wanted to be rid of him.  Inter saw an opportunity to manage salaries by sending Ibra in the other direction.  The only reason Ibra actually cost Barca some change was because Ibra had a recently signed extension and therefore that meant his value was higher than Eto who's contract was an expiring one.  Zlatan played to his skill set within the set up there.  He did not spend enough time there to integrate into the Tiki Taka system yet still was able to produce a goal every other game on average.  To say that he fart dong heself is ah setta shit talk because outside of Eto, and Messi who else was prolific to that tune at Barca in the last 2 decades?  Villa? No. Henry? No. Eiur Gujohnsen? No. Giuly? No.  Larsson? No. Pedro, Lexi? No. 

ha ha, well, yuh entitled to your opinion...yuh right about one thing, eto departure wasn't an experiment though I stated it as such....Henry IMO did much better and fit right in from the jump, it's not only about goal/match ratio but other aspects of the game of which you are aware...but Henry is a different footballer and you could argue the transition from Arsenal to Barca made that easier.

I will say this though, based on the ltd footage I have seen, Zlatan today is not the same player that Barca bought, that said, I def would not have bought him back then, his price tag then kinda reminds me of Bale today at RM....
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on February 24, 2014, 10:56:54 AM

ha ha, well, yuh entitled to your opinion...yuh right about one thing, eto departure wasn't an experiment though I stated it as such....Henry IMO did much better and fit right in from the jump, it's not only about goal/match ratio but other aspects of the game of which you are aware...but Henry is a different footballer and you could argue the transition from Arsenal to Barca made that easier.

I will say this though, based on the ltd footage I have seen, Zlatan today is not the same player that Barca bought, that said, I def would not have bought him back then, his price tag then kinda reminds me of Bale today at RM....

Kinda hard to argue against getting a striker who had won league titles in every league he played in as part of the act to exile ah striker of Eto caliber.  Despite the obvious maturity in his game today Zlatan was a top 10 - 15 (depending on opinion) club striker at that point.  Henry was always going to be an easier fit given the style of play he came from at Arsenal.  I am sure if you added CR, Hazard, Mata, etc. despite their obvious skills it would also take them some time to integrate into that system given that they always played in much more straight forward setups.  The price tag looked inflated but in reality it made sense.  I do understand why many would not and did not want him at that price though.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 24, 2014, 11:21:11 AM
Sense MS  :beermug:  Disagree that it made sense, but no seen, we could agree to disagree....
Post by: Flex on November 27, 2014, 04:51:50 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/OArACq2vEwY#t=118

Post by: asylumseeker on November 27, 2014, 11:15:31 AM
What's de issue, Flex? Yuh doh like Juventus ballers?  :devil:
Title: Zlatan Mad :D
Post by: Spursy on December 23, 2014, 01:41:14 PM
ZLATAN IBRAHIMOVIC FUMING AFTER BEING NAMED SECOND-BEST SWEDISH ATHLETE EVER
DECEMBER 23RD, 2014 BY THOMAS HAUTMANN
(http://media.tumblr.com/a51b9621581d2842d8715970b94420d9/tumblr_inline_nh1mxx5Ylp1ryfaxj.jpg)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic is upset. Very upset.

The PSG star finished second to tennis legend Bjorn Borg on Swedish newspaper Dagens Nyheters list of the countrys 150 greatest athletes of all time, and when congratulated by the paper, Zlatan gave this curt response:

"Thank you, but to finish second is like finishing last."

Okay, Ricky Bobby.

Asked where he thinks he shouldve landed on the list, Zlatan quipped: I would have been No. 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5, with due respect to the others.

To be honest, we kind of expected him to say that. Classic Zlatan!
http://blog.foxsoccer.com/post/105970544167/zlatan-ibrahimovic-fuming-after-being-named
Title: Re: Zlatan Mad :D
Post by: Spursy on December 23, 2014, 01:43:21 PM
Ibrahimovic comes second in poll of best sporting Swedes, blasts award
Zlatan Ibahimovic has reacted bitterly to being placed second in the rankings of Sweden's all-time sports people by a national newspaper, suggesting that he was clearly the best.
The Paris Saint-Germain striker has won the Guldbollen, an annual award given to the best Swedish footballer of each year, a record nine times and racked up over a century of caps for the national side.
However, after being declared as runner-up behind five-times Wimbledon winner Bjorn Borg by the Swedish newspaper Dagens Nyheter in a list of the top 150 Swedes, he responded in typically candid fashion.
"Thank you (for the congratulations), but to finish second is like finishing last," Ibrahimovic said in an interview with the publishers of the rankings.
"On that list I would have been number 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5, with due respect to the others."
Despite those comments, the 33-year-old still reserved praise for Tennis star Borg.
"He is a cool person and a living legend," he added.
FOX Soccer and Goal.com have teamed up to bring you the best in world soccer coverage. Visit Goal.com, and follow them on Twitter and Facebook.
http://www.foxsports.com/soccer/story/ibrahimovic-comes-second-in-poll-of-best-ever-sporting-swedes-blasts-award-122314
Post by: Deeks on December 23, 2014, 04:10:20 PM
Zlatan is a work of .... you name it.   ;D
Post by: Spursy on December 30, 2014, 02:25:03 PM
ZLATAN IBRAHIMOVIC: MOOSE HUNTER
DECEMBER 30TH, 2014

(http://media.tumblr.com/caa0ba61c330634ac104cdaa9bccc45c/tumblr_inline_nheo2gKixM1r0ljxu.jpg)
There are many titles that can be given to Sweden and Paris Saint-Germain star Zlatan Ibrahimovic and moose hunter is just the latest.

Swedish newspaper Expressen reported that the charismatic striker spent some of the winter holiday hunting in his home country. The paper reported that Zlatan felled a 500 kg (1,100 lbs) moose with a single shot to the heart.

Unsurprisingly, animal rights activists in Sweden are less than amused by Ibrahimovics hunting prowess and criticized him for supporting hunting as a sport.

Hunting is legal in Sweden and Ibrahimovic is a known fan. Hes had a license since 2010 and even starred in a Volvo ad featuring him lining up a rifle at a moose as well as other wintery, Nordic activities.
And in case youre wondering, his skills at animal capture dont end on land. This holiday, hes breaking personal records in fishing too.

(https://scontent-a-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/p720x720/10424323_909385485747520_8097297571199130559_n.jpg?oh=9a9af9d1e3f454778c84924f967dea49&oe=55343BD2)

http://blog.foxsoccer.com/post/106625784797/zlatan-ibrahimovic-moose-hunter (http://blog.foxsoccer.com/post/106625784797/zlatan-ibrahimovic-moose-hunter)
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on January 05, 2015, 10:12:23 AM
Yuh ha to respect Zlatan if fuh nothing else than the fact that he is consistent and unafraid to express himself.
Title: Ibra to Man U?
Post by: palos on June 14, 2016, 12:13:52 PM
Zlatan Ibrahimovic has agreed to provisional terms with Manchester United and will complete his move to Old Trafford after Euro 2016, sources close to the deal have told ESPN FC.

FULL ARTICLE (http://www.espnfc.us/story/2893192/zlatan-ibrahimovic-agrees-terms-on-man-united-move-sources)
Title: Re: Ibra to Man U?
Post by: weary1969 on June 14, 2016, 01:13:03 PM
How he and the Special One will co exist will be the most intresting thing in the EPL next season. It worked in Italy but the British press different.
Post by: Sam on June 15, 2016, 05:23:47 AM
Well look trouble.

Post by: MEP on June 15, 2016, 02:51:53 PM
No we doh want him.....send him to Celsea or Assnal or even that other manchester team.

I guess he will want the captaincy from Rooney.

This is going to be a tumultuous 3 years with Jose....so far he hasn't changed or shown any propensity to do so. He will probably recycle a bunch of pre-retirees.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 14, 2016, 09:52:22 AM
Things appear to be promising?
Post by: Mose on August 15, 2016, 09:21:28 AM
For now. Let's hope they stay on that track.
Post by: SHOTTA on November 13, 2016, 10:21:02 AM
in the middle of reading his book and he mention talking to a trini trialist who was at malmo ff with him....any idea who that could have been? tallman flex
Post by: Flex on November 13, 2016, 10:52:04 AM
in the middle of reading his book and he mention talking to a trini trialist who was at malmo ff with him....any idea who that could have been? tallman flex

Probably David Nakhid.

Post by: asylumseeker on November 13, 2016, 10:52:59 AM
https://www.facebook.com/socawarriors.net/photos/a.10150129013589314.321092.197865659313/10152670277424314/?type=1&theater
Title: LMAO! LION
Post by: rotatopoti3 on April 07, 2017, 07:50:15 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tfu1cLEwQPE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kuq7H8v9NqE
Post by: Flex on May 06, 2017, 01:42:28 AM
Manchester Utd's Zlatan Ibrahimovic ranks No. 2 on UK's rich list
By PA Sport

Lewis Hamilton is still the richest sportsman in the UK but Manchester United striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic is a close second after he gatecrashed the top 10 of the new Sunday Times Rich List.

Mercedes Formula One driver Hamilton, who is bidding to win his fourth World Championship this year, has a 131 million fortune and has seen his wealth increase by 25m in the past 12 months.

Ibrahimovic, United's 35-year-old Swedish striker, leapfrogged teammate Wayne Rooney to become the richest footballer on the list after he joined the English side in July last year.

The imposing forward has a wealth of 110m after more than a decade playing for Europe's elite clubs including Paris Saint-Germain, AC Milan, Barcelona, Juventus and Inter Milan and a lucrative long-term endorsement deal with Nike.

Formula One's Jenson Button and golfer Rory McIlroy make up the top five with wealth of 86m and 82m respectively.

McIlroy's fortune rose by 26m in the past 12 months, the biggest rise on the list, while Button's personal fortune grew by 9m even though he handed over his McLaren seat at the end of last season.

Football is the best-represented sport in the top 10, with five of the wealthiest sports people either players or managers.

Rooney (93m, up 11m) is third, while Manchester United manager Jose Mourinho is in seventh place (61m) and Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola equal ninth (50m).

Wales and Real Madrid striker Gareth Bale has seen his wealth rise by 20m in the last year to a total of 54m, to place him eighth in the top 10.

Sir Andy Murray is now worth 77m, making him the sixth-richest sportsman. The world No. 1 in men's tennis earned nearly 13m on court and plenty more off it to carry him to the total, the same number as that borne by his management company after he won his first Wimbledon 77 years after the last Briton to do so, Fred Perry.

Los Angeles Lakers basketball player Luol Deng completes the top 10 in joint ninth place with Guardiola (50m).

Deng is Sudanese-British and came to London aged eight after fleeing civil war in his home country. He moved to the United States as a teenager and has played for the Chicago Bulls, the Cleveland Cavaliers and the Miami Heat before switching to the Lakers.

None of the top 10 richest sports stars saw their wealth decline this year, with the cumulative rise standing at 129m.

Title: Because I am Zlatan
Post by: Deeks on March 31, 2018, 02:50:22 PM
Galaxy down 3-2 against LAFC. Galaxy coach send on Zlatan in about the 70th min. 5 mins later Zlatan hit a volley from  about 20 yards. 3-3. The stadium rocking forever. Breds, Zlatan has arrived or touchdown.
Title: Re: Because I am Zlatan
Post by: Deeks on March 31, 2018, 02:52:19 PM
Are you kidding me, he just scored again. 4-3.
Post by: Deeks on March 31, 2018, 02:57:17 PM
What a Hollywood story. Are you friggin kidding me.
Post by: Cocorite on March 31, 2018, 03:20:59 PM
Yeah just saw it myself. Absolutely amazing. Z-L-A-T-A-N :applause:
Post by: asylumseeker on March 31, 2018, 03:48:09 PM
Allyuh make me look. Well worth de peek! Deeks yuh mean about 20 yards from de penalty area. Jah know ah hope he goes to Russia.
Post by: soccerman on March 31, 2018, 03:52:55 PM
Yes today I witnessed the heroics of Messi and Zlatan all within a space of 30 minutes, what a day! Sister Jean will have to pull a rabbit out of a hat tonight to top that.
Post by: Peong on April 01, 2018, 11:42:45 AM
Mourinho was on de phone last night asking Zlat to come back.
Two of de nastiest goals boy
Post by: soccerman on September 16, 2018, 12:10:24 AM
The man's 500th goal was simply spectacular, only Zlatan is capable of scoring in that fashion.
Post by: Cocorite on September 16, 2018, 01:41:57 PM
The man's 500th goal was simply spectacular, only Zlatan is capable of scoring in that fashion.

All I could do was laugh. Only Zlatan
Post by: lefty on September 16, 2018, 10:15:33 PM

All I could do was laugh. Only Zlatan
ah f**kin spinning heel kick oui :o ;D :D :applause: :applause: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:
Post by: asylumseeker on November 22, 2018, 12:49:55 PM
Zlatan speaks: makes for a captivating listen and maybe even more intriguing to re-read the thread after having listened to his interview with Steve Crossman.

Zlatan is Football. (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p06sfl5f)
Post by: Cocorite on November 22, 2018, 03:45:03 PM
Zlatan speaks: makes for a captivating listen and maybe even more intriguing to re-read the thread after having listened to his interview with Steve Crossman.

This is brilliant from Zlatan . . .Great find Seeker.

This should be played for all T&T football people
Post by: asylumseeker on November 22, 2018, 04:12:46 PM

People dis geh tie up wid Zlatan. He projects confidence (anathema to many Trinis) but he is an exhibit of humility at the same time. Nuff things to learn, absorb and appreciate.
Post by: soccerman on November 24, 2018, 08:02:01 PM

People dis geh tie up wid Zlatan. He projects confidence (anathema to many Trinis) but he is an exhibit of humility at the same time. Nuff things to learn, absorb and appreciate.
:beermug: I enjoyed it, definitely one of my all time favorite players.
Post by: soccerman on July 19, 2019, 11:23:22 PM
Are you not entertained?
Post by: asylumseeker on July 21, 2019, 04:06:41 AM
"I have my confidence and I believe in myself. People call it arrogant, I call it confidence. Ignorant people call it arrogant, intelligent people call it confidence."

"I have a bulletproof mind."
Post by: asylumseeker on July 21, 2019, 04:09:30 AM
I dont accept when the ball doesnt arrive, or arrives too late. I want them to come up to my level.

All of this makes me slow down a bit. The game here [in America] could be so much faster, so much more tactical, so much more rhythmic.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 21, 2019, 04:10:55 AM
Of all the places Ive been in my life as a professional, this is the most difficult, he said in a recent interview with ESPN. MLS is not the level of Europe, to be honest. Before, I played with players either on my level or close to it. Which makes the game connect easier.

Here I am like a Ferrari among Fiats.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 22, 2019, 09:44:15 AM
Imagine @ 35 Zlatan telling them that.  One thing about him, he is loaded with entertaining ways of expressing himself. MLS needed a villain and he fits the role perfectly.
Post by: Tallman on July 22, 2019, 10:57:48 AM
Imagine @ 35 Zlatan telling them that.  One thing about him, he is loaded with entertaining ways of expressing himself. MLS needed a villain and he fits the role perfectly.

He's actually 37.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 22, 2019, 02:10:42 PM

He's actually 37.
Dat make mls look even worse
Post by: Deeks on July 22, 2019, 06:50:53 PM

He's actually 37.

Scorpion, I beg to differ. Not everybody can handle the MLS. Gerrard, Lampard, Drogba and many more never light up the MLS. But Beckham, Zlatan and Bradley Wright-Phillips did well.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 23, 2019, 09:07:58 AM

He's actually 37.

Scorpion, I beg to differ. Not everybody can handle the MLS. Gerrard, Lampard, Drogba and many more never light up the MLS. But Beckham, Zlatan and Bradley Wright-Phillips did well.

All 3 yuh mention either had very little gas left or didn't care that much. David Villa make mas same way and was never really great save for a 2 year stretch. Rooney also doing well and have loads of miles on them legs.  MLS decent and daiz about the size of it.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 30, 2019, 11:06:57 AM

He's actually 37.

All 3 yuh mention either had very little gas left or didn't care that much. David Villa make mas same way and was never really great save for a 2 year stretch. Rooney also doing well and have loads of miles on them legs.  MLS decent and daiz about the size of it.

Players at different moments in the careers mentally and physically. Nonetheless, in terms of comparable experiences I think Gignac's work with Tigres in Liga MX and  CONCACAF Champions League is also relevant to the conversation. Zlatan expected more than MLS could offer him but that bargain has also been compensated by cash in the bank.
Post by: soccerman on January 11, 2020, 10:05:15 AM
De man scored for AC Milan today....Iron, Lion, Zionlatan
Post by: Flex on March 07, 2020, 10:30:10 AM
Playing with Ibrahimovic was super frustrating, says ex-LA Galaxy teammate Lletget.
Goal.com.

LA Galaxy midfielder Sebastian Lletget says the atmosphere at the club has improved since Zlatan Ibrahimovic's departure.

The legendary striker spent two seasons with the MLS side before he left to return to AC Milan in January.

The former Barcelona, Juventus and Manchester United forward scored an incredible 53 goals in 58 games for Galaxy, finishing the club's top scorer and Player of the Year in both seasons.

While the 38-year-old's exploits saw him become a fan-favorite in the United States, it seems his teammates were not so fond of him.

Lletget has spoken out about the difficulty of playing alongside Ibrahimovic, admitting that the team's spirit has improved since his departure at the start of the year.

"Theres definitely a better feel around the place for sure, Lletget said on the latest episode of BSI: The Podcast.

"As far as chemistry, thats only going to build with time."

He added: "You couldnt be free. It was super frustrating. You feel like you want to literally take your boots off and just walk off the field.

"Its tough to play against him and tougher to play with him."

During a clash with local rivals LAFC, while the teams were all square at 3-3 and there were only six minutes left to the game, Ibrahimovic and Lletget stood side by side in a wall to defend a free-kick.

Although nothing came of the set piece, it went viral on social media because Ibrahimovic pushed the midfielder out of the wall, much to Lletget's shock.

"What's funny about that guy, that to me is complete insanity to do that to one of your teammates complete insanity," he said.

"I was telling him in that play: 'This [opponent] is alone, should I go?' I'm kind of whispering to him and he said: 'No, stay'. Then literally as he's about to kick it, he just shoves me and you can see in the video that I just play it off super cool. Then obviously I wake up the next day and it goes viral.

its one of those moments I think he shows his true colors.

(https://s.yimg.com/ny/api/res/1.2/zms38q8d._jZ._3X_WJ4Eg--/YXBwaWQ9aGlnaGxhbmRlcjt3PTcwNTtoPTM5Ni41NjI1/https://s.yimg.com/uu/api/res/1.2/0W.aU4TIrbZCPI9w6U3P6A--~B/aD0xMDgwO3c9MTkyMDtzbT0xO2FwcGlkPXl0YWNoeW9u/https://media.zenfs.com/en/uk.goal.com/e7ebaee946f22af548fc10cf0d1fc63f)
Playing with Ibrahimovic was super frustrating, says ex-LA Galaxy teammate Lletget

Post by: asylumseeker on October 17, 2020, 05:34:03 PM
De man scored for AC Milan today....Iron, Lion, Zionlatan

And not sloppy today (https://youtu.be/jY0slbSXlfU) in the Milan derby. Before the match Christian Vieri was adamant that Ibra would be a factor and that he was ... despite it being his first match back after contracting COVID-19.

Post by: asylumseeker on December 18, 2020, 05:28:29 AM
Zlatan's goal (https://www.mlssoccer.com/post/2020/12/17/zlatan-stunner-wins-greatest-goal-pres-att) being named the best goal in MLS history completes his 'I came, I saw, I conquered'. THE END.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 25, 2020, 05:10:42 AM
Now that the best MLS goal has been decided, have a look at the  "best goal" (https://www.youtube.com/v/o8wGN5uDaVg) from the NASL, the precursor to the MLS.

George Best, July 22, 1981, pissed off by the referee, feints his way to goal. San Jose Earthquakes vs Fort Lauderdale Strikers.

Q: Was there a Trini on the field/bench?
Post by: Tallman on December 25, 2020, 11:37:32 AM

Only one possibility
Post by: asylumseeker on December 25, 2020, 12:56:29 PM

Only one possibility

Agreed. Maybe he will confirm. :)
Post by: Tallman on December 25, 2020, 01:04:40 PM

Only one possibility

He was on the bench, but didn't play. Interestingly, Ray Hudson played and scored in that game. The great Gerd Meuller was also on de field.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 25, 2020, 01:22:38 PM

Only one possibility

He was on the bench, but didn't play. Interestingly, Ray Hudson played and scored in that game. The great Gerd Meuller was also on de field.

This is a tough question without a hint: Who was the first player Best skinned on the way to scoring? Hint: Think Hudson and Hislop.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 28, 2020, 09:54:52 AM

Only one possibility

This is a tough question without a hint: Who was the first player Best skinned on the way to scoring? Hint: Think Hudson and Hislop.

Dead give-away of a clue.

(https://s.yimg.com/aah/yhst-83114501141346/mens-silver-paisley-tuxedo-dinner-jacket-paisley-200-48.jpg)
Post by: soccerman on December 30, 2020, 10:07:44 AM

Only one possibility

(https://s.yimg.com/aah/yhst-83114501141346/mens-silver-paisley-tuxedo-dinner-jacket-paisley-200-48.jpg)
The suit alone was as you said, was a dead giveaway lol...maybe I should tweet this video to Bien Sports
Post by: asylumseeker on December 30, 2020, 11:25:10 AM

Only one possibility

The suit alone was as you said, was a dead giveaway lol...maybe I should tweet this video to Bien Sports

Ah guessing that Tallman was spared witnessing the sartorial splendor.

Dahis not him headless above doh. Just a pic I pulled from elsewhere.
Post by: Tallman on December 30, 2020, 10:11:23 PM

Ah cyah see de face in de video, but yuh clues eh helping meh.
Post by: soccerman on December 31, 2020, 02:32:14 PM

De outlandish suit was a dead giveaway. Is this person a former US youth coach and USMNT scout?
Post by: Tallman on December 31, 2020, 02:35:43 PM

Thomas Rongen?

De outlandish suit was a dead giveaway. Is this person a former US youth coach and USMNT scout?
Post by: soccerman on December 31, 2020, 03:09:39 PM

Thomas Rongen?

I believe that's him TM
Post by: asylumseeker on December 31, 2020, 04:15:50 PM
Yeah, correct: Rongen was George Best's first victim in that sequence.

Strangely, I can't find a pic of him in that garb online :). But I thought it must have caught the eye of anyone who has seen him on TV.

I wasn't aware of his Fenwickesque role (vs Maradona) on that goal until last week or not I would have been sure to have asked him about it.  ;D

Post by: maxg on December 31, 2020, 05:30:12 PM
 ???
Post by: asylumseeker on December 31, 2020, 06:42:45 PM
???

What could possibly be confusing on this thread?  :)
Post by: Flex on March 04, 2021, 02:45:19 AM
Zlatan Ibrahimovic continues criticism of LeBron James
By Joe Prince-Wright (NBC Sports).

Zlatan Ibrahimovic has doubled down on his criticism of LeBron James and athletes who speak out about politics and current affairs.

Speaking in a press conference for the San Remo music festival in Italy, Ibrahimovic had this to say about his recent comments regarding LeBron James.

Athletes unite the world, politics divide it, Ibrahimovic said. Our role is to unite the world by doing what we do best. Athletes should be athletes and politicians should do politics.

Last week LeBron James had hit back at Ibrahimovic, after initial comments from the AC Milan striker told the NBA superstar to stay out of it when it comes to politics and that he should do what youre best at because it doesnt look good to be outspoken.

Zlatan, 39, is often outspoken and his comments reached LeBron James.

Here was part of LeBrons response last week.

I will never shut up about things that are wrong. I preach about my people, equality, social injustice, racism, systematic voter suppression. Things that go on in our community because I was a part of my community at one point, seeing things that were going on, and I know it is going on still, James said.

The LA Lakers star was defiant as he said he has 300 plus kids at my school who need a voice and he is their voice, plus he was also generally confused about Zlatans comments.

There is no way I will ever stick to sports because I understand this platform and how powerful my voice is James said. Its funny he said that because I believe he was the same guy in 2018, when he was back in Sweden, talking about the same things because his last name wasnt a certain last name. That he felt like there was racism going on when he was out on the pitch. I speak from a very educated mind. Im kind of the wrong guy to go at because I do my homework.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EvKoL1nWYAgBizQ?format=jpg&name=small)

Post by: soccerman on March 05, 2021, 03:07:09 PM
As much as I like Zlatan as a player I think he was out of line for mentioning LeBron James name in his comments. LeBron and his team are highly calculated and is well informed on all the issues and he uses his platform to speak out against.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 05, 2021, 08:27:46 PM
As much as I like Zlatan as a player I think he was out of line for mentioning LeBron James name in his comments. LeBron and his team are highly calculated and is well informed on all the issues and he uses his platform to speak out against.

Initially I think he was trying to protect Lebron (why mess with your brand, bro?).

I worked with a senior decisionmaker who was not comfortable putting emails out. He was afraid of making errors. Mostly because he knew he made errors reflexively. So he encouraged others not to send emails so as not to make errors. He perceived his weakness to be that of everyone else, and, of course, he didn't want to be locked in a cycle or narrative that exposed his weakness.

Zlatan thinks because he would be out of his depth Lebron would be too. Also he can't fathom why Lebron wouldn't be out of his depth. He wouldn't have tossed that drivel in the direction of Thuram. (I am SURE Thuram has a lot to say on this matter because he has no qualms about weighing-in on similar issues).

At the end of the day, it also reveals Zlatan's blind spot regarding melanin.
Post by: Deeks on March 06, 2021, 01:01:55 AM
Lebron maybe only a high school graduate, but he is articulate and can discuss sport, social and political issues as normal as many of the "well educated" pundits.
Post by: Deeks on March 06, 2021, 01:19:32 AM

Initially I think he was trying to protect Lebron (why mess with your brand, bro?).

I worked with a senior decisionmaker who was not comfortable putting emails out. He was afraid of making errors. Mostly because he knew he made errors reflexively. So he encouraged others not to send emails so as not to make errors. He perceived his weakness to be that of everyone else, and, of course, he didn't want to be locked in a cycle or narrative that exposed his weakness.

Zlatan thinks because he would be out of his depth Lebron would be too. Also he can't fathom why Lebron wouldn't be out of his depth. He wouldn't have tossed that drivel in the direction of Thuram. (I am SURE Thuram has a lot to say on this matter because he has no qualms about weighing-in on similar issues).

At the end of the day, it also reveals Zlatan's blind spot regarding melanin.

I really like Zlatan. His braggadocio is both serious and comical. It is ironic that he has commented on his experiences as a Bosnian Swede. And yet he can't see the similarities with Lebron. I think he knows exactly, but he is holding back. Zlatan is correct about football uniting and politicians dividing. But I have seen some videos about ultras at the games in the Europe, and I think this is more than political. This is deep seated animosities that has been cemented among various ethnic groups for centuries.