Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: 1-868 on February 09, 2010, 10:43:29 AM

Title: Brazil star Ronaldinho doubtful for World Cup squad
Post by: 1-868 on February 09, 2010, 10:43:29 AM
Brazil star Ronaldinho doubtful for World Cup squad

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8506394.stm

Ronaldinho could miss the World Cup after being omitted from Brazil's final warm-up friendly ahead of the summer tournament in South Africa.

He will not face Ireland at Arsenal's Emirates Stadium in London on 2 March.

The AC Milan star, 29, has not played for Brazil since the start of 2009, but his improved recent form has encouraged supporters to call for his return.

But coach Dunga has resisted pressure from the fans and local media in Brazil to recall the ex-Barcelona forward.

The 1994 World Cup winning captain has kept faith with Michel Bastos (Lyon), Juan and Doni (both Roma), Kleberson (Flamengo) and Gilberto (Cruzeiro).

Former Manchester City forward Robinho, who is now on-loan at Santos, has been included in the squad as has Liverpool midfielder Lucas. But there is no place for Manchester United midfielder Anderson.

Ronaldinho won the World Cup in 2002 and famously knocked out England at that tournament after lobbing keeper David Seaman with a second-half free-kick.

Brazil legend Pele was another who called for Ronaldinho to return to the fold.

Ronaldinho has appeared 87 times for his country, scoring 32 times.

He was also twice named World player of the year in 2004 and 2005 and has won the prestigious Ballon d'Or (european player of the year) once.
Title: Re: Brazil star Ronaldinho doubtful for World Cup squad
Post by: 1-868 on February 09, 2010, 10:46:31 AM
Brazil squad to face Ireland:

Goalkeepers: Julio Cesar (Inter Milan), Doni (Roma).

Defenders: Maicon (Inter Milan), Daniel Alves (Barcelona), Gilberto (Cruzeiro), Michel Bastos (Lyon), Juan (Roma), Lucio (Inter Milan), Luisao (Benfica), Thiago Silva (AC Milan).

Midfielders: Gilberto Silva (Panathinaikos), Josue (Wolfsburg), Felipe Melo (Juventus), Lucas (Liverpool), Kaka (Real Madrid), Ramires (Benfica), Elano (Galatasaray), Julio Baptista (Roma), Kleberson (Flamengo).

Forwards: Robinho (Santos), Adriano (Flamengo), Nilmar (Villarreal), Luis Fabiano (Seville).
Post by: Touches on February 09, 2010, 11:18:09 AM
It must have a way for one of them names to get changed and put in "teets"

Teets playing ball!
Post by: lefty on February 09, 2010, 11:22:29 AM
Teets playing ball!

lmao
Post by: kicker on February 09, 2010, 11:26:58 AM
On paper that is not a scary Brazil team (by their standards), but Dunga has managed to bring the best out of squads with less talent than has been seen previously.  

Robinho- out of form
Kaka- out of form
Luis Fabiano- Just returned from injury
Giberto Silva- over the hill?
Josue- role player
Lucas- speculative and inconsistent at best
Elano- disappeared
Kleberson- still alive?
Ramires- unproven
Julio Baptista- inconsistent
Adriano- unproven for some time

Still think Ronaldinho will sneak his way in the roster, if he continues to perform at the current level (and better).  He'll get a pre tournament camp call up, and play his way into the mix...
Post by: dinho on February 09, 2010, 11:35:16 AM
i agree with leaving him out of this one..

let the man feel he still have to work his way into the side.

yuh eh see 3 months of form and he done start back palancing already?

as soon as this world cup done i feel he overs with serious football.
Post by: kicker on February 09, 2010, 11:42:30 AM

Have to admit, that is a great addition to the Trini vocabulary. 
Post by: Bianconeri on February 09, 2010, 12:00:47 PM
On paper that is not a scary Brazil team (by their standards), but Dunga has managed to bring the best out of squads with less talent than has been seen previously.  

Robinho- out of form
Kaka- out of form
Josue- role player
Elano- disappeared
Kleberson- still alive?
Ramires- unproven

Still think Ronaldinho will sneak his way in the roster, if he continues to perform at the current level (and better).  He'll get a pre tournament camp call up, and play his way into the mix...

hadda disagree with ya on a few there
Gilberto doing his thing with Panathinkaikos....it aint Arsenal or a big name team but they in Champions' League every yr so ya know he competeing at a high lvl throughout

Elano is the same...we may not see these men play but they doing well...not to say they warming bench...
and we know Galatasaray is a good side

Ramires performed well when he get his chance...so ya cah hate on him
He decent and could ball

Adriano is Adriano...we know what he capable of and he producing in Brazil..done talk!

Josue there long time...so no questions there

lucas and Kleberson kinda have me wondering...
tho kleberson is a WC winner so ya cah doubt the ability...
Lucas....i eh know...
julio baptista and Robinho somehow get in even tho they real struggling...
but they goin on name...cah hate o that

with that said...i aint a brazil fan...the total opposite...ITALY
so this aint a biased view at all
Post by: weary1969 on February 09, 2010, 12:23:41 PM

Teets playing ball!

Cosignnnnnnn

Have to admit, that is a great addition to the Trini vocabulary. 

Cosignnnnnnnnnn
Post by: kicker on February 09, 2010, 12:36:49 PM

hadda disagree with ya on a few there
Gilberto doing his thing with Panathinkaikos....it aint Arsenal or a big name team but they in Champions' League every yr so ya know he competeing at a high lvl throughout

Elano is the same...we may not see these men play but they doing well...not to say they warming bench...
and we know Galatasaray is a good side

Ramires performed well when he get his chance...so ya cah hate on him
He decent and could ball

Adriano is Adriano...we know what he capable of and he producing in Brazil..done talk!

Josue there long time...so no questions there

Right right, I hear you....just tough to follow some of these fellas outside of the mainstream leagues in Europe, especially when they left the spotlight due to age or questionable form...
Post by: dinho on February 09, 2010, 12:38:10 PM
i find it real hard to picture Lucas in a brazil jersey.

Possibly the most unbrazilian brazilian ever to get a pick. Must be why dunga like him.
Post by: Blue on February 09, 2010, 12:40:58 PM

Robinho- out of form
Kaka- out of form
Josue- role player
Elano- disappeared
Kleberson- still alive?
Ramires- unproven

Adriano rediscovered his form in the Brazilian Serie A last year. He led Flamengo the title for the first time in a good few years, and I think he ended up as top scorer.
Post by: Preacher on February 09, 2010, 12:56:50 PM

Teets playing ball!
Straight up!! 
Post by: KND2 on February 09, 2010, 01:17:49 PM
Dunga will get kidnapped if he does not pick Ronaldhino.

plain and simple

he will be in the squad.
Post by: Marcos on February 09, 2010, 04:58:44 PM
Lucas is shite and Robinho has ALWAYS been WAY overrated. The world finally seeing that Kaka eh all dat. Scorin a setta penalty and claimin you are Milan's talisman.

But on the real Dunga just using this as a motivational tool. Nobody cares about this game.

Real happy to see Thiago Silva get call up. Men playin real ball too. Cyah believe Pato can't make the side either. I rather play Diego than Robinho
Post by: Trinimassive on February 09, 2010, 06:07:23 PM
At one point Ronaldinho was benching regular fuh Milan so it's not like he cyah make the Brazil squad. But Dunga wouldn't call him up if he feel Ronaldinho being a distraction.
If he think he will go there and sneak out to dance the Brazilian Tango in ah night club or do the horizontal dance on some willing South African he won't pick him

Lucas is shite and Robinho has ALWAYS been WAY overrated. The world finally seeing that Kaka eh all dat. Scorin a setta penalty and claimin you are Milan's talisman.

But on the real Dunga just using this as a motivational tool. Nobody cares about this game.

Real happy to see Thiago Silva get call up. Men playin real ball too. Cyah believe Pato can't make the side either. I rather play Diego than Robinho

That not gonna happen.

For the most part for Juve Diego been playing enough Kaka

Post by: kicker on February 09, 2010, 06:51:16 PM

Nah man, Robinho on form is pressure. 

Kaka is a big player, not so much the dancing Brazilian that many like to see, but pace and technique for days - and he used to score way more than just Penalties- doh talk that...but he's reeling from a long standing hernia condition (that he developed at Milan...too much man pulling his stones  ;D kidding) ...but it has serious ramifications on his training- he missed quite a few games this season, and it looks like it's screwing up his performance on the field.   

Not a fan of Diego- always missing a step at the int'l level in my opinion.

I think Pato might be currently injured....
Post by: nnyman18 on February 09, 2010, 08:33:11 PM
I so mad right now I might as best just let this one slide
Post by: Dumplingdinho on February 09, 2010, 08:47:14 PM
Robinho is overrated, he better than Denilson but similar in productivity for the most part...I rather play Nilmar ahead of him but the current system only allwos for 1 forward and 2 men playing behind Fabiano (Kaka and Robinho right now).  Hopefully it will be Kaka and Ronaldinho at the world cup...diego is a club player.
Post by: Marcos on February 10, 2010, 02:31:14 PM
Diego real not gettin any love in this thread boy. Jah.

On the real though, Robinho looks and plays like a small man and adds very little value. Yuh cyah be dat and have a bad attitude.

Flames for he
Post by: kicker on February 10, 2010, 03:14:29 PM
Diego real not gettin any love in this thread boy. Jah.

On the real though, Robinho looks and plays like a small man and adds very little value. Yuh cyah be dat and have a bad attitude.

Flames for he

LOL  :rotfl:
Post by: Blue on February 10, 2010, 03:22:57 PM

Kaka is a big player, not so much the dancing Brazilian that many like to see, but pace and technique for days - and he used to score way more than just Penalties- doh talk that...but he's reeling from a long standing hernia condition (that he developed at Milan...too much man pulling his stones  ;D kidding) ...but it has serious ramifications on his training- he missed quite a few games this season, and it looks like it's screwing up his performance on the field.   

Pato is currently sh!t, daz what. Very overrated.

Robinho is much better for Brazil than he is for any club.
Post by: fordy on February 10, 2010, 03:33:09 PM

Brethren that high grade you smoking i need some please!! :beermug:
Post by: nnyman18 on February 10, 2010, 08:53:17 PM
Ah must cosign that one Fordy. Ah feel that ting he smoking go real sell in trini.
Post by: kicker on February 10, 2010, 09:08:32 PM

lol Coming from an Inter man, I'll take that with a grain (pound) of salt  ;D. 

Agree with you on the Robinho point. 
Post by: nnyman18 on February 10, 2010, 09:32:30 PM
If ah beat have dunga so spiteful Ronnie lucky he didn't do him ah John Terry. He might have killed him
Post by: nnyman18 on February 12, 2010, 02:45:31 PM
Ah guess Dunga not watching this game against Udinese and taking notes. He might just tune in the 2nd half
Post by: davidephraim on February 12, 2010, 07:59:52 PM
If ah beat have dunga so spiteful Ronnie lucky he didn't do him ah John Terry. He might have killed him

The Phrase Horna-man has been replaced with "a John Terry"
I like it.
Post by: soccerman on February 14, 2010, 08:50:04 PM
Ah guess Dunga not watching this game against Udinese and taking notes. He might just tune in the 2nd half
He was in true form for that game!!! Disguised passes, accurate long passes to the forwards (in stride) and of course clever & tricky on the ball. He was a gem to watch. If he does not make the team for this WC, I wouldn't support Brazil in protest. That's a really tough stand to take.....please Dunga, do the right thing :praying:
Title: Ronaldinho @ world cup??
Post by: onlikecorn on April 22, 2010, 03:01:32 AM
Ronaldinho says he is convinced he will be part of the Brazil squad that will win this summer's World Cup finals in South Africa.

Ronaldinho was a key member of Brazil's side at both the 2002 and 2006 events - helping them to win the tournament in 2002 - but has not made an impression on Brazil coach Dunga and could miss out on this year's tournament.

However, the AC Milan playmaker says that he is not fearing for his place in the squad.

"I will go to the World Cup and I will win it,'' he said in an article in Chi. "Recently I have had problems with the national team, but it hasn't been my fault.

"I can't imagine a World Cup without Ronaldinho on the field. It seems impossible to me when I think of not playing.

"I feel bad, really bad. Therefore, I can safely say I will make my country proud in the World Cup and, above all - with my team-mates - I'll win it."

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/story/_/id/775070/ce/uk/?cc=5901&ver=us (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/story/_/id/775070/ce/uk/?cc=5901&ver=us)

Sounds a bit cocky to me. . . . but i think the brazil team may have a boost . . but at the same time they make it to the world cup without him . .so i dont know what to think. . .but it doesnt really matter to me. . i dont like brazil anyway . . . but the more entertainment at the world cup the better. . so i say play de man  . . haha ..
Post by: Jah Gol on May 11, 2010, 10:28:07 AM
He get leave out !

From Reuters

Soccer-Adriano, Ronaldinho left out of Brazil's World Cup squad

Tue, 11 May 17:18:00 2010
Buzz Up!

Striker Adriano and former World Player of the Year Ronaldinho were left out of the Brazil World Cup squad named by coach Dunga on Tuesday.

Playmaker Ronaldinho has not been picked for Brazil since April last year although an improved season with AC Milan had led to hopes of a recall for the finals in South Africa.

(Reporting by Pedro Fonseca; Editing by Ken Ferris

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/11052010/2/soccer-adriano-ronaldinho-brazil-world-cup-squad.html
Post by: Jah Gol on May 11, 2010, 10:35:37 AM
SAO PAULO — Ronaldinho, Adriano and Neymar have been left out of Brazil's preliminary World Cup squad.

Coach Dunga announced 23 players and will later Tuesday include seven others to complete the roster. Ronaldinho, Adriano and Neymar may be among the seven chosen, but would only be on standby in case of injuries.

Kaka, Robinho, Maicon and Julio Cesar were picked in the squad, but three-time FIFA player of the year Ronaldo and veteran left back Roberto Carlos were not included as expected.

Dunga is sticking to most of the players who helped Brazil win last year's Confederations Cup and finish first in South American World Cup qualifying.

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/soccer/2010-05-11-4102928665_x.htm
Post by: Jah Gol on May 11, 2010, 12:21:44 PM
Ronaldinho, Adriano out of Brazil's initial roster

By TALES AZZONI (AP) – 1 hour ago

SAO PAULO — Ronaldinho, Adriano and Neymar were left off Brazil's 23-player World Cup roster on Tuesday.

Coach Dunga was to announce seven others later Tuesday, completing the team's preliminary 30-man list, which was due to FIFA. The 23-man list doesn't have to be finalized until June 1.

Kaka, Robinho, Maicon and Julio Cesar made the cut, but three-time FIFA player of the year Ronaldo and veteran left back Roberto Carlos were not selected.

Dunga is sticking to most of the players who helped Brazil win last year's Confederations Cup and finish first in South American World Cup qualifying.

"These players are winners," Dunga said. "There is no doubt that they are prepared to help Brazil reach its goal. They are ready to give their best for the country."

One of the biggest surprises was the absence of Adriano, who had been constantly called up by Dunga in recent matches. But there had been doubts because of recent off-the-field problems that caused him to miss several training sessions with Flamengo.

"We gave Adriano numerous chances," Dunga said. "But it came to a time when we had to make a decision."

Wolfsburg's Grafite was called up to take Adriano's place.

Ronaldinho, a two-time FIFA player of the year, hadn't been called up for the national team since April 2009, but had been playing well this season with AC Milan.

Brazilian fans and local media had also been pushing for Dunga to summon Santos young sensations Neymar and Paulo Henrique Ganso, who have been among the top players in Brazil this year.

The 18-year-old forward Neymar has dazzled fans with his speed and balls skills, being called by many as the new Robinho. The 20-year-old Ganso, or Goose in Portuguese, attracted attention for his maturity and ability as a playmaker. Along with Robinho, they led Santos to more than 100 goals in some 30 matches this year.

"Some players are extremely talented, but we have to test them before taking them to a World Cup," Dunga said. "Maybe they are ready to play in a World Cup now, but maybe they are not."

Just three of the 20 are based in Brazil: Gilberto, Kleberson and Robinho.

http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5j79mWU8vP7a8jRLdVIMdGiwh6NdQD9FKP0B80
Post by: Marcos on May 11, 2010, 01:05:30 PM
Messsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Post by: Bourbon on May 11, 2010, 01:11:26 PM
Steups.

Anyhow..dis de provisional 23. I go wait and see if de final 23 have him before i start to cuss loud.

Post by: Marcos on May 11, 2010, 02:06:20 PM
This is a footballing tragedy
Post by: Observer on May 11, 2010, 02:10:29 PM
Adriano, Ronaldinho and Pato all left out. Pato is a major surprise for me, because up until his injury he was the leading scorer not only for Milan but in Italy.
Ronaldinho I expected because Dunga said as much long ago.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 11, 2010, 09:07:25 PM
Adriano, Ronaldinho and Pato all left out. Pato is a major surprise for me, because up until his injury he was the leading scorer not only for Milan but in Italy.

In Pato's case I heard it's a matter of chemistry ... Jekyll and Hyde
Post by: Observer on May 12, 2010, 07:10:02 AM

Could be, but strikers need to play and he has been injured. 12 goals in 20 games (until injury) eh nutten to snuff at, especially when none are penalties. Interesting note the Brazilian press is more up in arms that Neymar has not been selected more than any other non selection.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 12, 2010, 11:45:08 AM
Of the teams I've seen announced, something that's caught my eye this year moreso than in the past is the comparative breakdown of the 30 provisional players ... some DTs have opted for as many as 5 GKs, others the traditional 3 ... some have as many as 12-13 midfielders named ... others perhaps 8 ... of course, the fact that some national team resources are more extensive than others provides a partial explanation, but it's still very interesting to see how a coach's philosophy blends with his reality in deciding on how to compose the squad. To this end, Dunga has IMV really shown a commitment to his brand. Some guys ... other DTS  are clearly hedging bets constructed on experience, injury and fitness, positional versatility and their group stage opponents, among other things. With respect to the last item ... the question is what happens if/when they make it out of group play?
Post by: Jah Gol on May 13, 2010, 08:31:16 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/-7n8KJP4CBI&playnext_from=TL&videos=-AwDAcJeKxM
Post by: Bourbon on May 13, 2010, 09:07:53 PM
I feeling to cry now.
Post by: Trini Madness on May 13, 2010, 11:23:02 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/-7n8KJP4CBI&playnext_from=TL&videos=-AwDAcJeKxM

great great video.

I feeling to cry now.

yea i went on de emotional rollercoaster dey too
Post by: asylumseeker on May 14, 2010, 07:39:19 AM
Question: that move at about 8:28 in the video ... how long has it been around football?
Post by: elan on May 14, 2010, 01:29:42 PM
Brazil criticized for Ronaldinho

JOHANNESBURG -- World Cup head organizer Danny Jordaan has criticized Dunga for leaving Ronaldinho out of his top picks for Brazil's tournament roster, saying some coaches are "blinded" by a sense of power.

Jordaan said Wednesday that Ronaldinho is a "soccer genius" who had talents "enjoyed by few in the game, both past and present."

Ronaldinho was selected for Brazil's 30-man provisional squad, but Dunga has made it clear the AC Milan player was not part of the main 23-man lineup he announced Tuesday. Ronaldinho likely will only play in the event of injuries to other players.

Jordaan said it was "sad and unfortunate" that the tournament would probably be without Ronaldinho, and that someone of Dunga's experience should have selected the midfielder "as a matter of course."

Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press

Post by: Bourbon on May 14, 2010, 02:41:42 PM
Making noise bout it go jus make dunga more stubborn.
And even if he relent...he go look like he letting people dictate him.
Just hadda leave it so..as sad as it is. Unless somebody get injured....he eh go be dey.
And Brazil BETTER win...else it go have rel strife and turmoil.

Post by: Blue on May 15, 2010, 04:17:17 AM
Sacrilege. Last time I saw him play for Brazil was against Italy, when he mash up de place. At least he in de provisional 30..hopefully someone get injured.
Post by: Blue on May 15, 2010, 04:25:09 AM

To be fair, Pato is highly overrated, and iz not like he has done much in a Brazil shirt. 8 caps, 1 goal.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 15, 2010, 06:35:35 AM
Brazil criticized for Ronaldinho

JOHANNESBURG -- World Cup head organizer Danny Jordaan has criticized Dunga for leaving Ronaldinho out of his top picks for Brazil's tournament roster, saying some coaches are "blinded" by a sense of power.

Jordaan said Wednesday that Ronaldinho is a "soccer genius" who had talents "enjoyed by few in the game, both past and present."

Ronaldinho was selected for Brazil's 30-man provisional squad, but Dunga has made it clear the AC Milan player was not part of the main 23-man lineup he announced Tuesday. Ronaldinho likely will only play in the event of injuries to other players.

Jordaan said it was "sad and unfortunate" that the tournament would probably be without Ronaldinho, and that someone of Dunga's experience should have selected the midfielder "as a matter of course."

Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press

Jordaan's thinking about tournament success and appeal from an organizer's viewpoint ... Dunga couldn't give a rat's ass (?) ... he's thinking about team cohesion and personal responsibility.
Post by: Jah Gol on May 15, 2010, 04:18:55 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/l46CkS-EDvQ

MILAN, May 15 (Reuters) - Ronaldinho said he was unsure if he would stay at AC Milan next term after scoring two goals in the Rossoneri's 3-0 win over Juventus in their final game of the season on Saturday. Inconsistent Milan will finish third in Serie A and coach Leonardo, very close to fellow Brazilian Ronaldinho, is leaving after just one season with a new coach yet to be identified. Asked if he was 100 percent sure he would be at Milan next season, in-form Ronaldinho told Sky TV: "I don't know."

The forward, whose contract runs out at the end of next season, smiled and then quickly walked away from the microphone.

The former world player of the year had previously been asked about being left out of Dunga's provisional Brazil World Cup squad.
"My reply is here, on the field. If what I have done this season is not sufficient to go with the national team, that is his decision and I respect him a lot," said the 30-year-old, who scored 12 Serie A goals this term.

http://football.uk.reuters.com/leagues/seriea/news/2010/05/15/LDE64E0DP.php (http://football.uk.reuters.com/leagues/seriea/news/2010/05/15/LDE64E0DP.php)
Pure Class.

Post by: Mango Chow! on May 16, 2010, 10:41:37 AM

To be fair, Pato is highly overrated, and iz not like he has done much in a Brazil shirt. 8 caps, 1 goal.

If at the age of 20, you was good enough to even be considered for the Brazilian Olympic football team, much less for the senior national team, I would hardly call yuh overrated, Padnah.  30+ goals in 76 appearances for AC Milan?  I am more inclined to believe it just may be a chemistry and maturation process than him being overrated.   
Post by: kicker on May 17, 2010, 10:07:21 AM

how many minutes did he play in those 8 caps? 

My guess is not many.