Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: Zeppo on May 04, 2010, 03:32:19 PM

Title: The Official Song of the 2010 World Cup
Post by: Zeppo on May 04, 2010, 03:32:19 PM
Ladies and gentlemen, Shakira with "Waka Waka"!

WAKA WAKA - This Time for Africa - by Shakira - South Africa 2010 World Cup Official Song (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ztr96RbMW8)
Title: Re: The Official Song of the 2010 World Cup
Post by: Zeppo on May 04, 2010, 03:36:20 PM
Shakira's World Cup song isn't going over so great

With all the problems facing this summer's World Cup in South Africa, the last thing it needed was trouble over something as silly as the tournament's official anthem, but that's exactly what Shakira's "Waka Waka (This Time for Africa)" is causing among South Africans and many others who have endured it.

The song hit radio stations last week, with Johannesburg locals responding with comments like "It's horrible" and "How is Shakira going to sing the African part of it?" (My guess is with her voice, but a Speak & Spell could be a fun choice, too.)

(continue) (http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/blog/sow_experts/post/Shakira-s-World-Cup-song-isn-t-going-over-so-gre?urn=sow,238407)
Post by: Jah Gol on May 05, 2010, 06:48:11 AM
I heard South Africans don't like it.
Post by: E-man on May 05, 2010, 11:10:39 AM
Isn't that what Fozzie Bear used to sing?
Post by: Andre on May 05, 2010, 11:27:07 AM
shakira song have moments. feel a lil socaish at times.

prefer wavin' flag by k'naan.

http://www.youtube.com/v/8__lUfx7zdo

Post by: Trini Madness on May 08, 2010, 09:44:11 AM
i like both waving flag k'naan and oh africa by akon. i leaning a little bit towards oh africa though...
Post by: Quags on May 08, 2010, 09:47:34 AM

tough crowd.
Post by: Jah Gol on May 08, 2010, 03:55:49 PM

This is best World Cup song I've heard.
Post by: Jah Gol on May 08, 2010, 04:00:22 PM

The tempo and melody makes it sound a lot like soca.
Post by: Jah Gol on May 08, 2010, 06:17:05 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTJSt4wP2ME
English version. Big tune.
Post by: Bourbon on May 08, 2010, 09:07:41 PM
Apparently dis is de song she sample it from

http://www.youtube.com/v/ibqtKBpSQ3s
Post by: Andre on May 11, 2010, 11:06:18 AM

not surprising since soca is essentially african music exported to the caribbean.
Post by: Zeppo on May 24, 2010, 11:44:45 AM
Shakira Remixes African Hit for World Cup

As my colleague Celia Dugger reports, some South Africans were annoyed that a song by the Colombian singer Shakira was chosen as the official anthem of the 2010 World Cup, which begins in Johannesburg on June 11.

To fend off criticism, the organizers have pointed to the fact that the song, “Waka Waka (This Time for Africa),” is a collaboration between the Latin star and a South African band, Freshlyground.

For her part, Shakira Mebarak Ripoll has not invoked her credentials as a representative of the global meting pot — a Latina of Lebanese ancestry, she sings in both Spanish and English — but instead stressed the global nature of her effort to try to teach the world to dance the Waka Waka. She has a YouTube channel that encourages fans from every part of the planet to submit clips of themselves dancing to the song. Her official Web site points to video of recent “Waka Waka flash mobs” in Colombia and Venezuela and kids at a school she founded in her hometown  performing their version.

(continue) (http://thelede.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/05/24/shakira-remixes-african-hit-for-world-cup/)
Post by: Bitter on May 24, 2010, 12:00:38 PM
Not bad. I prefer the original though, but maybe I just like the old-school.

The bigger context of the representation of South Africa is one I picked up on early. To me this is like having a remix of Bahia Girl as the official anthem of the 2014 world cup. Worse yet, The original is a song from Cameroon.

Maybe is a conscious decision to make this an African world cup and not a South African one. But It wouldn't sit well with me if some woman from 1/2 way around the world do a remix with a Jamaican and then they tell me that is the official song of a T&T event.
Post by: Zeppo on May 24, 2010, 12:23:00 PM
It's not the least bit uncommon to have the official World Cup song done by an artist who is not from the host country.

France 1998 - Ricky Martin (Puerto Rican)
Japan/Korea 2002 - Anastacia (American)
Germany 2006 - Il Divo Quartet (Spanish, Swiss, American, French)

I really don't see what all the complaining's about.
Post by: Bitter on May 24, 2010, 12:37:13 PM
It's not the least bit uncommon to have the official World Cup song done by an artist who is not from the host country.

France 1998 - Ricky Martin (Puerto Rican)
Japan/Korea 2002 - Anastacia (American)
Germany 2006 - Il Divo Quartet (Spanish, Swiss, American, French)

I really don't see what all the complaining's about.

For some countries, music is closely identified with that country and the culture.
Post by: kicker on May 24, 2010, 12:59:29 PM

not surprising since soca is essentially african music exported to the caribbean.

yeah people have it back to front...dat eh sounding like soca...soca does sound like that!
Post by: kicker on May 24, 2010, 01:07:56 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTJSt4wP2ME
English version. Big tune.

That world cup song is a remix of a K'naan song completely unrelated to football...(which is actually alot better than the World Cup version)

http://www.youtube.com/v/iC8V8S_REhk

Post by: Zeppo on June 04, 2010, 02:47:15 AM
Here is Brazil's official song for the 2010 World Cup:

http://www.youtube.com/v/5xuRWYeZShw
Post by: Zeppo on June 11, 2010, 03:37:16 AM
Shakira at the World Cup opening ceremony. Waka waka, baby!  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/v/4O5zxyQ8lwM
Post by: D.H.W on June 11, 2010, 06:45:11 AM
HER HIPS DONT LIE
Post by: weary1969 on June 11, 2010, 08:02:32 AM

tough crowd.

ENT

Now hear it 4 d 1st time on tv6 I like it.
Post by: weary1969 on June 11, 2010, 02:45:24 PM

He used 2 say it after he told a joke.
Post by: weary1969 on June 11, 2010, 06:08:47 PM

I taught dat was d official song
Post by: WestCoast on June 11, 2010, 06:12:39 PM
I thought so too
but
"The song, Wavin Flag, was chosen as Coca-Cola's promotional anthem for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, to be held in South Africa."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wavin'_Flag
Post by: weary1969 on June 11, 2010, 07:54:30 PM
I thought so too
but
"The song, Wavin Flag, was chosen as Coca-Cola's promotional anthem for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, to be held in South Africa."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wavin'_Flag

Coca Cola Rule so c y we were convinced.
Post by: E-man on July 22, 2010, 08:09:31 PM
http://www.mediafire.com/?iqdmwmjzng2

K'naan's Wavin' Flag - Machel Montano mix with DJ Power
Post by: Midknight on July 22, 2010, 08:24:43 PM
I only just realised that Coca Cola and Pepsi both had promotional themes that were rivalling the official theme for airplay...wow

I say Coca Cola won: I loved Knaan's song. Heard Kes d Band do a socaish version of it that was really good, and started wondering if we had any songs out there that would make a great world cup theme if we were hosting the Cup tomorrow ("fighter" doesn't count - too team specific)

ps Zeppo wasn't Toni Braxton with Il Divo in 06?
I didn't even realise there was a theme song in 2002 - don't really like Anastasia anyway
Post by: Deeks on July 23, 2010, 02:59:39 PM
Apparently dis is de song she sample it from

http://www.youtube.com/v/ibqtKBpSQ3s

Both songs are good. But I would lean more to Waka Waka because of rhytm and I guess culture. Imagine coming thru Green Corner Jouvert Mornin' jamming this original version of Waka Waka.
Post by: E-man on July 23, 2010, 03:29:59 PM
I only just realised that Coca Cola and Pepsi both had promotional themes that were rivalling the official theme for airplay...wow

I say Coca Cola won: I loved Knaan's song. Heard Kes d Band do a socaish version of it that was really good, and started wondering if we had any songs out there that would make a great world cup theme if we were hosting the Cup tomorrow ("fighter" doesn't count - too team specific)

I didn't even realise there was a theme song in 2002 - don't really like Anastasia anyway

Hot Hot Hot was the theme in the '86 cup. Socaish enough? Perhaps just not Trini enough  ;D
see above for Machel's mix of knaan's song.

Post by: Deeks on July 23, 2010, 04:25:05 PM

Hot Hot Hot was the theme in the '86 cup. Socaish enough? Perhaps just not Trini enough  ;D

Hot Hot Hot is one of the most reconizable Soca songs on the planet. Next is Who let the dogs out. Actually in the Spain WC in 82, SIN(Spanish International Network) now Univision was playing Hot Hot Hot as their theme song. That tune and quite a few soca songs(Conga line, Thunder, Tiney Winey, Bachelor) were very popular in Central America, Ven and Colombia. Together with dance-hall reggae and soca, they come up with reggae-ton. Don't forget Punta from Belize.
Post by: Midknight on July 24, 2010, 06:11:39 PM

cheap attempt to capitalise on a good song. Much prefer the original, as is the case for Shakira's as well.

didn't know there were theme songs as far back as 1986, didn't know Hot Hot Hot was that old. its definitely soca though, Trini or not.
Post by: soccerman on July 26, 2010, 09:06:49 PM

Isn't the whole waving flag concept out of Trini :devil: I mean majority of the soca chunes is about waving a flag.

One of our entertainers should bring out a waving flag song for the next world cup that incorperates all the countries represented and that could be a hit, esp if TNT qualify ;D
Post by: Socapro on August 02, 2010, 09:56:41 PM

cheap attempt to capitalise on a good song. Much prefer the original, as is the case for Shakira's as well.

didn't know there were theme songs as far back as 1986, didn't know Hot Hot Hot was that old. its definitely soca though, Trini or not.

I believe "Hot Hot Hot" was recorded and arranged by top T&T arranger Leston Paul in late 1982 and became a global hit after its exposure during T&T Carnival 1983.
Also recorded and released around the same time was a similar soca groove by Baron called "Feeling It" also arranged by Leston Paul.
Both songs "Hot Hot Hot" & "Feeling It" have a similar chorus line and bass pattern, one says "Feeling hot hot hot" while the other says "Ah feeling it".
There is a dispute about which song was composed first as many songs are written months before being recorded and released but there is no dsiputing which one became the bigger international hit!
Post by: E-man on August 03, 2010, 04:28:15 PM

I believe "Hot Hot Hot" was recorded and arranged by top T&T arranger Leston Paul in late 1982 and became a global hit after its exposure during T&T Carnival 1983.
Also recorded and released around the same time was a similar soca groove by Baron called "Feeling It" also arranged by Leston Paul.
Both songs "Hot Hot Hot" & "Feeling It" have a similar chorus line and bass pattern, one says "Feeling hot hot hot" while the other says "Ah feeling it".
There is a dispute about which song was composed first as many songs are written months before being recorded and released but there is no dsiputing which one became the bigger international hit!

http://www.youtube.com/v/MSrklNeDwNM