Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: Bitter on June 24, 2010, 05:33:11 AM

Title: WC 2010 - Match 41 - Group F : Slovakia vs Italy
Post by: Bitter on June 24, 2010, 05:33:11 AM
Slovakia-Italy preview (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=249722/match=300061480/preview.html)

Few would have put money on Group F looking the way it does at this stage of the tournament, with reigning world champions Italy sharing second place with New Zealand, and Paraguay leading the pack. Two games in though, that is the way things stand and with just three points separating top from bottom, it is anybody's guess who will claim the prized places in the last 16.

The match
Italy-Slovakia, Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg, Thursday 24 June, 16.00 (local time)

It feels like Marcello Lippi has spent most of this tournament dismissing talk of a crisis in the Italian camp. "I don't want to talk about the problems of the team, the problems are on the pitch," snapped the Italy coach on Monday. Results, however, have certainly not gone the way the Squadra Azzurra would have envisaged when they arrived in South Africa to defend their title. Two draws have left them in an uncertain position, but Lippi insists his side have the talent to turn things around. If ever there was time for Italy to step up to the mark, it is now. Only a win will guarantee them a place among the big boys when the Round of 16 gets under way.

It's been a mixed start for Slovakia, who have managed just one point from their opening two games – drawing with New Zealand, before being beaten 2-0 by Paraguay. They now face the reigning world champions knowing that a win will see them through, providing the Kiwis don't continue their surprising run and beat the South Americans in Polokwane. Vladimir Weiss's side managed just one shot on target in their last match and will need to improve upon that statistic if they are to extend their stay in South Africa.

"We're very persistent: we don't give up until we've succeeded," said striker Stanislav Sestak. And they will need to call upon that kind of determination if they are overturn Lippi's side.

Players to watch
Vincenzo Iaquinta v Robert Vittek

It is a simple footballing fact that goals win games, so, with both sides desperate for a win in their pursuit of a place in the last 16, the onus is likely to fall on the frontmen. Vincenzo Iaquinta got off the mark against New Zealand in Nelspruit at the weekend, netting the penalty-kick that spared his sides blushes against a team 74 places below them in the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking. Robert Vittek sits alongside his Italian counterpart in the scoring charts, having scored against the same opposition in his side's opening game, when he was also named Budweiser Man of the Match. Statistically, there is little to choose between the two; Vittek pips his rival when it comes to the number of shots each has managed – five to Iaquinta's four – but with the Slovak striker having scored from open play, you could argue he has been the more productive of the two so far. The only figure that will matter in Johannesburg on Thursday, however, will be the one that sits in the points column, and both Iaquinta and Vittek will be out to influence that.

The stat
23 – the number of corners Italy have won so far at South Africa 2010.

What they said
"I really don’t know what our problem is. We are making a lot of mistakes, especially at the back. We knew they (Paraguay) would be a difficult side to beat but we couldn't make enough openings," Miroslav Stoch, Slovakia midfielder.

"We haven't done what we're capable of but we can still kick-start our World Cup, anything can still happen. There's a feeling of disappointment, when a team plays with heart and desire, if you don't get a result your disappointment is relative to the amount of effort you put into it," Italy coach, Marcello Lippi.

Voice of the fans
"It will be unbeliveable if small Slovakia send last world champion home those guys have chance to make a biggest surprise of the turnament. I think Italy will be under huge pressure and this is our chance to take all 3 points and qualify to the 1/8finals,” FIFA.com user, matho88.

The question
Italy's opening two FIFA World Cup games have finished 1-1 - the most common result for the Squadra Azzurra in the history of the tournament, with 13 of their games having finished that way. Will they score a third 1-1 draw against the Slovaks? Or can Slovakia claim their first FIFA World Cup win as an independent nation?
Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 41 - Group F : Slovakia vs Italy
Post by: JDB on June 24, 2010, 07:55:39 AM
Where all the Azzuri fans? I can't see Italy losing this one but I can't see them passing Paraguay either which means an early exit to Holland in the second round.

I expecting another draw or a close Italy win.
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 08:02:55 AM
Lets go Slovakia!!!!  ;D

Post by: capodetutticapi on June 24, 2010, 08:08:59 AM
hopin rome fall today. :devil:
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 08:24:57 AM
YESSSS!!  :rotfl:

Post by: Bitter on June 24, 2010, 08:25:49 AM
Look ting!!!
Post by: FF on June 24, 2010, 08:27:14 AM
allyuh men have me laughing  ;D
Post by: lefty on June 24, 2010, 08:31:55 AM
good god good lovr it ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: lefty on June 24, 2010, 08:34:28 AM

y because we hate, ah hope d americans on here watchin, alyuh ent really special d HATE JUS IS
Post by: D.H.W on June 24, 2010, 08:35:28 AM
Italy getting purge  :rotfl:
Post by: FF on June 24, 2010, 08:36:56 AM

y because we hate, ah hope d americans on here watchin, alyuh ent really special d HATE JUS IS

nah is de typical trini reactions... LOOK TING!!

I enjoying everything... I is ah card carrying hater for life
Post by: Tallman on June 24, 2010, 08:43:11 AM
I enjoying everything... I is ah card carrying hater for life

(http://26.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_krzvu8gUHL1qzmu29o1_500.jpg)
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 08:45:19 AM
Ouch! dat look like ah real deep cut, hope he alright

Post by: Brownsugar on June 24, 2010, 08:46:02 AM
I can't see Italy losing this one but I can't see them passing Paraguay either which means an early exit to Holland in the second round.
I expecting another draw or a close Italy win.

What blasphemy!!!.... :o :o  ;D

Tallman, I wanted to get the acutal clip from that episode where everybody in the room says "Hate, hate, hate, hate" over and over....ah want it for the next thread nah..... :devil: ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 24, 2010, 08:50:05 AM
Commentator just say "even the sphaghetti in your kitchen is wilting"  :rotfl:
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on June 24, 2010, 09:09:04 AM
send them home!
imagine both teams from last wc final fail to progress to second round.

TnT should have been in this world cup! Things all out of place when these European sides off their home continent. 
Post by: fari on June 24, 2010, 09:22:10 AM
slovakia real ball 1st half...lippi bring on de big guns 2nd half but i feel even if italy score dey have to watch out cause dat vittek fella up top causing some problems.   i rooting for italy to go gome...ah still vex dey win in 06!!!! >:(
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 24, 2010, 09:25:58 AM
skrtel save they  ;D
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 09:26:25 AM
Nice save dey boy

Post by: Trini Madness on June 24, 2010, 09:31:28 AM
slovakia playing some ball boy. this game more entertaining than de paraguay game. i like italy but i feel they going home early...

edit: goal slovakia 2-0 now
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 09:32:07 AM
YESS YESS times 2  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

Post by: capodetutticapi on June 24, 2010, 09:32:24 AM
rome has fallen...2 nil slovakia
Post by: FF on June 24, 2010, 09:32:28 AM
MAMAYO BACCHANAL
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 09:32:51 AM
Wey Dinho boy?  :D

Post by: E-man on June 24, 2010, 09:33:26 AM
oh yeah. Italy and France finish at the bottom
Post by: Spursy on June 24, 2010, 09:33:35 AM
MAMA MIA!!!
Post by: JDB on June 24, 2010, 09:34:33 AM
Italy going home. I want to dead with laugh.
Post by: lefty on June 24, 2010, 09:34:51 AM
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL ;D BALLETELLI MUS BE SAYIN ALYUH RACIST FUUCKS TAKE DAT........
Post by: fari on June 24, 2010, 09:35:57 AM
ent i say vittek was a boss...lippi is ah arse he shoulda carry de rossi and balotelli (or at least one of the two to inject some life into this dead horse side).   vittek for the hattrick!!!! :devil:
Post by: Trinidogg on June 24, 2010, 09:36:10 AM
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL ;D BALLETELLI MUS BE SAYIN ALYUH RACIST FUUCKS TAKE DAT........
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: good for them Italians, but u know Ballotelli love that country he reject Ghana.
Post by: just cool on June 24, 2010, 09:36:17 AM
Hahahahahahahaha  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:!! good fuh dem, and dey racist and want an all italian team, let dem take dat! super mario must be laughing his arse off!
Post by: just cool on June 24, 2010, 09:37:33 AM
That's what they get for blanking the best striker they have in SUPER MARIO!! :devil: :devil:
Post by: Socafan on June 24, 2010, 09:37:37 AM
YYYYEEESSSSS.......!!!!!Take dat Italy!! Allyuh luck finally run out. And dey go finish bottom of the group too.
Post by: FF on June 24, 2010, 09:38:15 AM
oh gorsh... poor lippi look like he want to cry
Post by: Bitter on June 24, 2010, 09:39:11 AM
The comeback is on!
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 24, 2010, 09:40:48 AM
oh gorsh... poor lippi look like he want to cry

Again, look like it would fall bucket a drop
Post by: Socafan on June 24, 2010, 09:41:02 AM
oooops....LOL..
Post by: FF on June 24, 2010, 09:41:11 AM
GAME ON.. Italy only need one goal
Post by: fari on June 24, 2010, 09:43:47 AM
italy play like ah african side today boy...no urgency until de 80th min ;D
Post by: lefty on June 24, 2010, 09:44:02 AM
OFFSIDE DRED WEE BOY
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 09:44:29 AM
Offside!

Post by: Bitter on June 24, 2010, 09:46:00 AM
Squeeze bamsee time in Slovakia and Italy.
Post by: lefty on June 24, 2010, 09:47:11 AM
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL
Post by: fari on June 24, 2010, 09:47:15 AM
super sub!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Bitter on June 24, 2010, 09:47:19 AM
HELLS YEAH!!!!!

WHAT A FINISH!!!!
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 09:47:36 AM
Dagger dagger dagger we like it

Post by: Socafan on June 24, 2010, 09:47:46 AM
BOOOOMMMMMMM!!!!!!!TAKE DAT ITALY!!!!!!! 3 IN ALLYUH PWEFFEN!!!
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 24, 2010, 09:48:08 AM
drama boy
Post by: Trini Madness on June 24, 2010, 09:48:22 AM
what a game!!! most exciting game ive seen so far...this is world cup football!
Post by: FF on June 24, 2010, 09:48:34 AM
PANG PANG PANG PANG

nail in de coffin!!! Finish boy
Post by: Bitter on June 24, 2010, 09:49:39 AM
I guess we can say that Buffon really was that good.
6 shots on target, 5 goals against for Italy.

Both finalists from 2006 gone.
Post by: E-man on June 24, 2010, 09:49:52 AM
well that is the arrogance, complacency and smugness that lets the underdogs through on display today. Slovakia has been looking pretty good. They could be a cinderella
Post by: just cool on June 24, 2010, 09:50:14 AM
MEH LARDOOOOOOO........ :o :o        
Post by: lefty on June 24, 2010, 09:50:41 AM
what d fuuck pressure
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 09:50:46 AM
Lawd Fadder!  :o borse goal doh

Post by: 100% Barataria on June 24, 2010, 09:50:53 AM
WTF
Post by: just cool on June 24, 2010, 09:50:56 AM
SLOVAKIA MAKIN IT REAL HARD BOY!
Post by: Bitter on June 24, 2010, 09:51:01 AM
Every time you write off Italy they score.

This might be the game of the tournament so far. Down to the wire.

Pressure!!!
Post by: fari on June 24, 2010, 09:51:09 AM
one of the goals of the world cup rasss...quags shoulda start!!!!
Post by: Socafan on June 24, 2010, 09:51:18 AM
!!!!!!!!!WTF!!!!!..........

ok ok dais ah good goal. :)
Post by: elan on June 24, 2010, 09:51:30 AM
How with all the stoppage in this game they could only come up with 4 minutes, when yesterday there was basically no stoppages and they got 4 minutes?
Post by: E-man on June 24, 2010, 09:52:00 AM
Slovakia need to get possession and learn to hold.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 24, 2010, 09:54:32 AM
Game done
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 09:54:54 AM
How with all the stoppage in this game they could only come up with 4 minutes, when yesterday there was basically no stoppages and they got 4 minutes?

Well it into 6 mins now and counting...

Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 09:55:50 AM
Game set match

Post by: Bitter on June 24, 2010, 09:56:19 AM

Howard Webb accustomed to working Man U games...  ::)
Post by: Spursy on June 24, 2010, 09:56:39 AM
ITALY get robbed this game.. that was a good goal
Post by: elan on June 24, 2010, 09:56:51 AM

Yeah from stoppages in the soppages  :devil: but originally they said 4 minutes which cannot be right if we are to look at yesterday.
Post by: fari on June 24, 2010, 09:56:59 AM
quagliarella is unconsolable...he knows he shoulda have started b/c he woulda put de slovak defense under pressure...i feel sorry for him but not for cannavaro and dem other buggers...cant stand dem
Post by: Socafan on June 24, 2010, 09:57:04 AM
Dais it...1 most hated team out. De next one to go is Argentina.....This is a good WC.
Post by: daryn on June 24, 2010, 09:58:00 AM
a whole match play in that stoppage time.
Post by: elan on June 24, 2010, 09:58:53 AM
It's funny how quickly John Harkes could say definitely that the player was offside, when yesterday it was basically the same thing with the USA goal and they debate it forever. If they did not win they would still be debating it.

At the same time F'k off Italy racist bastards. I hope Balotelli  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: D.H.W on June 24, 2010, 09:59:13 AM
what a game. Italy get caught napping 3 times
Post by: FF on June 24, 2010, 09:59:31 AM

Gone from here nah... everybody getting rob eh?... de man offside... deal with it
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 24, 2010, 09:59:42 AM
Italy did not deserve to go through, but the game is not about equitability, this team pales in comparison w/the 06 side, back to the drawing board, they will be back for sure, in the mean time, well done Slovakia, two footballing giants (who were playing piss poor this WC) back home, WC coming alive this 3rd rounds, ah yes.
Post by: D.H.W on June 24, 2010, 09:59:56 AM

u joking right?
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 10:00:12 AM

STEUPSSSSSSS!!!!

Post by: FF on June 24, 2010, 10:00:23 AM
It's funny how quickly John Harkes could say definitely that the player was offside, when yesterday it was basically the same thing with the USA goal and they debate it forever. If they did not win they would still be debating it.

At the same time F'k off Italy racist bastards. I hope Balotelli  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

It was almost de same margin too... Harkes is ah poonanny
Post by: Socapro on June 24, 2010, 10:01:41 AM
Italy 2006 World Cup Champs are out!

Was this deservedly so?!!

Let the debates begin!!  ;)
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 10:03:20 AM
Italy 2006 World Cup Champs are out!

Was this deservedly so?!!

Let the debates begin!!  ;)

Very much so, I saw that coming, that is why I had Slovakia and Paraguay going through in my Bracket!  :rotfl: I love IT!!!!!

Post by: congo on June 24, 2010, 10:03:40 AM
Everytime Slovakia scored, i ate a banana...Send dem home...f**king racists pigss...It's fitting that they failing in AFRICA..!!!
Post by: kicker on June 24, 2010, 10:07:08 AM
Everytime Slovakia scored, i ate a banana...Send dem home...f**king racists pigss...It's fitting that they failing in AFRICA..!!!

What if Slovakians are even more racist than Italians?

It's a possibility.   
Post by: elan on June 24, 2010, 10:08:07 AM

u joking right?

Yeah very good call from the assistant. I does wonder how those men does get them close call. Them men have balls of steel.
Post by: elan on June 24, 2010, 10:09:01 AM

It's a possibility.   

Statistically Italian are 85% more racist than Slovakians
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 10:11:16 AM

It's a possibility.   

Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 10:11:44 AM

It's a possibility.   

Kicker why you so boy?  ;D

Post by: kicker on June 24, 2010, 10:14:40 AM

LoL  ;D

Post by: congo on June 24, 2010, 10:15:49 AM
Imagine they gone all the wayyyyy to Africa to get a cutarse...This is perfect..!!!
Post by: FF on June 24, 2010, 10:16:39 AM

It's a possibility.   

Post of the day!

allyuh doh study kicker... allyuh ent realise he hating on we hate... thais de path of de dark side...
he go join we soon  :devil:
Post by: kicker on June 24, 2010, 10:17:39 AM

Yeah very good call from the assistant. I does wonder how those men does get them close call. Them men have balls of steel.

I think they go with their gut on those super close calls...Whatever the first instinct tells them, just go with it, doh overthink it, and say screw it if it ultimately ends up being a mistake...

Hadda be a hard life making calls at that speed in the thick of the action...Requires nerves of steel.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 24, 2010, 10:17:59 AM
Now all yuh answer mih honestly, when this tournament started if anybody did post that France AND Italy (both finalists from 2006) would have gone home at this stage and not only just go home, but finish DEAD LAST in the group, all yuh woulda believe??!!....

Lawd fadder, the World Cup's been turned upside down!!!....ah love it!!...
Post by: just cool on June 24, 2010, 10:18:58 AM
SUPER MARIO  SUPER MARIO  SUPER MARIO super mario super mario super mario............ :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :devil: :devil:
Post by: soccerman on June 24, 2010, 10:20:25 AM
Now all yuh answer mih honestly, when this tournament started if anybody did post that France AND Italy (both finalists from 2006) would have gone home at this stage and not only just go home, but finish DEAD LAST in the group, all yuh woulda believe??!!....

That's the beauty of the WC, can't underestimate anyone.
Post by: FF on June 24, 2010, 10:20:40 AM
Brownsugar I woulda take that bet... I done win $20 on account of France... I shoulda look for ah italian to go against too
Post by: lefty on June 24, 2010, 10:21:01 AM
dinho gih we ah post leh we know if u alrite nah ....................we worried ::) ;D
Post by: DeSoWa on June 24, 2010, 10:22:16 AM

I left both of them out my Bracket  ;D

Post by: soccerman on June 24, 2010, 10:22:27 AM
Imagine they gone all the wayyyyy to Africa to get a cutarse...This is perfect..!!!
Yuh done know! :beermug:
Post by: Marcos on June 24, 2010, 10:28:13 AM

Going off their pre-world cup form this should come as no surprise
Post by: kicker on June 24, 2010, 10:28:52 AM
dinho gih we ah post leh we know if u alrite nah ....................we worried ::) ;D

Seriously where is Dinho?
Post by: Jah Gol on June 24, 2010, 10:32:56 AM
I love this game.
Post by: Babalawo on June 24, 2010, 10:34:31 AM
 :devil: counting how much facebook waggonists taking down their Italy jerseys
Post by: Brownsugar on June 24, 2010, 10:35:45 AM

Going off their pre-world cup form this should come as no surprise

DEAD LAST??!!  De both ah dem??....well to be honest I really didn't follow the pre-tournament games, so yeah it ah bit surprising to me....not France so much, but Italy....ah mean like they forget how to score AND defend!!....DEFEND!!  Italians who cyar defend properly??!!....the place has just gone mad!!....

Ah love it!! (c) Andre Samuel....
Post by: dinho on June 24, 2010, 10:57:12 AM
WORST ITALIAN SIDE I'VE SEEN SINCE I WATCHING FOOTBALL!!

Seriously, i was trying to be positive and telling myself that they would scrape through to at least the quarters as always. But nah boy what mess.

This side have no scorers. With all due to respect to Di Natale, Iaquinta, Gilardino and Quagliarella dem is not men you could depend on to bore like say a Klose, Fabiano, Villa or even a Inzaghi. Dem does look good against shit teams in Serie A, score some highlight goals but nutten special.

Then the midfield. Pepe is ah rank shitong, he is something to bring off the bench at most. Camoranesi does get a bly on the basis of being the only Italian with some touches but he is more nothingness. Gattuso gone through so long ago and Pirlo not far behind. De Rossi is a good player but not somebody to build yuh side around..

Then the defence.. Poor Baresi, Bergomi, Maldini and Costacurta must be throwing up all now from what they see on display. Cannavarro gone through, Chiellini is a bake, Zambrotta does try but he also past his prime.. Dem men get ketch sleeping for just about all the goals conceded in this tournament.

And NUTTEN on de bench... when yuh feel yuh should draw for a lil Rossi, Cassano, Balotelli is Maggio and Marchisio in yuh waist. STEUPPSSS

What a waste of a Juventus Italian side..
Post by: kicker on June 24, 2010, 11:03:24 AM

Was thinking the same thing watching today i.e. the heavy Juventus bias in the team...
Post by: Marcos on June 24, 2010, 11:06:58 AM

Seriously, i was trying to be positive and telling myself that they would scrape through to at least the quarters as always. But nah boy what mess.

This side have no scorers. With all due to respect to Di Natale, Iaquinta, Gilardino and Quagliarella dem is not men you could depend on to bore like say a Klose, Fabiano, Villa or even a Inzaghi. Dem does look good against shit teams in Serie A, score some highlight goals but nutten special.

Then the midfield. Pepe is ah rank shitong, he is something to bring off the bench at most. Camoranesi does get a bly on the basis of being the only Italian with some touches but he is more nothingness. Gattuso gone through so long ago and Pirlo not far behind. De Rossi is a good player but not somebody to build yuh side around..

Then the defence.. Poor Baresi, Bergomi, Maldini and Costacurta must be throwing up all now from what they see on display. Cannavarro gone through, Chiellini is a bake, Zambrotta does try but he also past his prime.. Dem men get ketch sleeping for just about all the goals conceded in this tournament.

And NUTTEN on de bench... when yuh feel yuh should draw for a lil Rossi, Cassano, Balotelli is Maggio and Marchisio in yuh waist. STEUPPSSS

Horse Chiellini actually not that bad. And there was a reason Lippi was begging Nesta to come back into the national team, he knew the defence was suspect. Fabio has been awful since his Mardid days. Italy hangs its hat on resolute defending, and this team was terrible defensively.

But agree with you on the strikers. They are second tier at best. When you hear man like Borriello (sh*tsnake) name was even in the conversation to make this team you should know the team in trouble. Not sure that the system was the best either.
Post by: fari on June 24, 2010, 11:20:19 AM
he needed a fantasista, a true midfield general, a man with touches for days...and he leave cassano home...wtf???

doh even get me started on men like balotelli.

a pardna now make a point that i agree with...he say italy's best teams are dominated by foreign players so the good italian youngsters battling up with midtable sides instead of getting CL experience.  (hm that sound like another country that i know of, can't remember which...)
Post by: dinho on June 24, 2010, 11:25:49 AM

Horse Chiellini actually not that bad. And there was a reason Lippi was begging Nesta to come back into the national team, he knew the defence was suspect. Fabio has been awful since his Mardid days. Italy hangs its hat on resolute defending, and this team was terrible defensively.

But agree with you on the strikers. They are second tier at best. When you hear man like Borriello (sh*tsnake) name was even in the conversation to make this team you should know the team in trouble. Not sure that the system was the best either.

You see that 2nd goal? Hoss a ball gone out to the wing and a man play back a one touch simple and Chiellini was sleeping. How you go let that man get in front of you to hit near post?

I remember Italy once carry a side to a euros with a strong back 4, no midfield and Baggio and still rip up. All kinda shitongs like Moriero and workhorse like Di Biagio and Dino Baggio in the midfield but at the end of the day we had a defense and thats all that mattered.

Now which Italian side ever leak 3 goals in a world cup?? And to Slovakia?? Nah, nah, nah!!  >:(
Post by: Brownsugar on June 24, 2010, 12:21:24 PM
Dinho, I just glad yuh OK.... ;D

But seriously, yuh see dis??

You see that 2nd goal? Hoss a ball gone out to the wing and a man play back a one touch simple and Chiellini was sleeping. How you go let that man get in front of you to hit near post?

I nearly dead when I see dat!!!  I couldn't believe is an Italian side I was watching....
Post by: JDB on June 24, 2010, 12:26:57 PM
Cassano must be laughing he ass off. Both Lippi and Domenech living in the past. Let them ride out.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 24, 2010, 12:32:30 PM
When was the last time Italy didn't make it out of the group stage.
Post by: weary1969 on June 24, 2010, 12:35:13 PM

CO-SIGNNNNN

Post by: 100% Barataria on June 24, 2010, 12:36:57 PM

Actually, I think the 86 team would give this team a good run for its money in terms of who is the worse side, but they def neck and neck...Lippi make de same mistake Bearzot make, not b/c yuh win de prior WC mean yuh should bring a fairly unchanged side and leave obvious inclusions out
Post by: giggsy11 on June 24, 2010, 12:56:28 PM
I have not watched the game yet but this would have been a sweeter week if US was heading home too.
Post by: Reaper2004 on June 24, 2010, 01:18:20 PM
So France out Justice for Ireland, Italy out Justice for Australia (for that dive in the second round back in 2006) and France (Thats what you get for dissing Zizou family) KARMA IS A BITCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Trinimassive on June 24, 2010, 01:30:50 PM
SUPER MARIO  SUPER MARIO  SUPER MARIO super mario super mario super mario............ :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :devil: :devil:

He need to choose GHANA
Post by: weary1969 on June 24, 2010, 01:33:01 PM
I have not watched the game yet but this would have been a sweeter week if US was heading home too.

Doh 4get d brits dem shoulda b home and it would have been a perfect week
Post by: D.H.W on June 24, 2010, 01:50:07 PM

dey going home sunday doh worry
Post by: weary1969 on June 24, 2010, 02:11:21 PM

Post by: Mango Chow! on June 24, 2010, 02:58:41 PM

Nah! dey leaving Monday! The airports will be too crowded with all the departing americans overflowing from Saturday.
Post by: Midknight on June 24, 2010, 04:18:58 PM

Yeah from stoppages in the soppages  :devil: but originally they said 4 minutes which cannot be right if we are to look at yesterday.

USa scored in the first minute of extra time. let it go nah dread, sheesh
Post by: Midknight on June 24, 2010, 04:24:26 PM
So France out Justice for Ireland, Italy out Justice for Australia (for that dive in the second round back in 2006) and France (Thats what you get for dissing Zizou family) KARMA IS A BITCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

who dis zizou family in France?

edit...nevermind I ah little slow tonight...took me a little time to get through the order of the logic in that sentence
Post by: mwanasoka on June 24, 2010, 04:34:14 PM
Let the Rotten Tomatoes FLYYYY !!!!

Karma is a dish best served COLD !     :rotfl:
Post by: Brownsugar on June 24, 2010, 04:36:22 PM

Nah! dey leaving Monday! The airports will be too crowded with all the departing americans overflowing from Saturday.

:devil: :devil:

Ah love it!!  (c) Andre Samuel..
Post by: Observer on June 24, 2010, 04:39:28 PM
 :wavetowel: ah waving as their plane leave. Only regret Enngland not on the same flight. Shit football needs to be flushed  ;D
Post by: real madness on June 24, 2010, 04:41:04 PM

I think quagliarella would have had a bigger impact if selected earlier.  I agree that Cassano and Rossi should have been in the squad but it would not have made much difference.  Italy probably would have reached the quarters with better squad selection but their midfield and defence is very poor.
Post by: D.H.W on June 24, 2010, 05:15:26 PM

Post by: mwanasoka on June 24, 2010, 05:35:13 PM
:wavetowel: ah waving as their plane leave. Only regret Enngland not on the same flight. Shit football needs to be flushed  ;D

Iz True, dis sequel eh done !! I forget Hengland hadda

pay for de Locks Tuggin shame too. It soon cum ! Shame

Zizou career was derailed from becoming an even bigger  

consummate baller.
Post by: JDB on June 24, 2010, 05:44:00 PM

I think quagliarella would have had a bigger impact if selected earlier.  I agree that Cassano and Rossi should have been in the squad but it would not have made much difference.  Italy probably would have reached the quarters with better squad selection but their midfield and defence is very poor.

Cassano had a falling out with Lippi son, his former agent an Lippi bending ever since. Serve him right.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 24, 2010, 06:00:24 PM

Cassano had a falling out with Lippi son, his former agent an Lippi bending ever since. Serve him right.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh, look at dat, yuh see?  The karma was coming in like streams of income!
Post by: xixgon on June 24, 2010, 06:20:52 PM

(http://blogs.thescore.com.s3.amazonaws.com/footyblog/files/2010/06/Cannvaro.jpg)

We made you our bitch, now retire like a man :)
Post by: D.H.W on June 24, 2010, 06:49:45 PM

(http://blogs.thescore.com.s3.amazonaws.com/footyblog/files/2010/06/Cannvaro.jpg)

aaaaaaahahahahahahaha  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: D.H.W on June 24, 2010, 06:52:04 PM
but alyuh aint noticed almost all the NIKE men in the write your future commercial, Team out or jumping up to qualify for the next rounds?
Post by: Bakes on June 24, 2010, 06:59:32 PM

Who's your daddy?
Post by: Spursy on June 24, 2010, 07:05:53 PM
 alyuh worried about this game.. holland gonna rip them hardcore... italy woulda get it too, they might be going home jus to avoid the orange side.

seriously thou.. Lippi banked on Pirlo not fit and even tried to save him for knockout rounds finding it hard to look at the bench without a Del Piero, Totti or a Nesta... For me Italy havent been fun to watch since departures of those accompanied with Maldini, Cocu and even Vieri or Baggio/Squillaci. They cant be replaced.

Lippi didn't fail much.. jus italy dont have any ripe talents besides Ballo and he is a wildcard that isn't worth risking, imagine Anelka with France but then again.. France is France and Italy is Italy.

And Italy was denied a legit goal but it wasnt meant to be, the other was a very close offside call and Pepe.. mama mia! lass time u wear a blue shirt fella, u done  :rotfl:
Post by: real madness on June 24, 2010, 07:45:37 PM
Lippi simply had an old squad and tried to make it "younger" by throwing in a few young players for the World Cup when he should have blooded the younger guys starting in the Euro tournament.  They have young enough talent to recover soon, Balotelli, Rossi, Santon, Chiellini, Criscito, Candreva, De Rossi, etc.

I still glad they get a beat down.  Playing that defensive brand and hoping to win 1-0.  During the last 20 minutes today they proved that they can attack although I think Quagliarella made all the difference.
Post by: ribbit on June 24, 2010, 07:53:57 PM

for real. send england home and let new zealand stay.
Post by: Peong on June 24, 2010, 08:07:02 PM
Quote from: sHOTTA12
For me Italy havent been fun to watch since departures of those accompanied with Maldini, Cocu and even Vieri or Baggio/Squillaci.

You mean Coco. Cocu is the Dutchman.
Quagliarella looks very good, hope to see more from him.
De Rossi is good, but to me he is still a junior player in terms of performance.
From the time I see Italy was relying on him I see they in trouble.
Iaquinta is real shit.

For years Italy had Del Piero, Inzaghi and Totti to provide goals.
The players they have now are not even close.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 24, 2010, 08:45:41 PM
http://mediaservices.myspace.com/services/media/embed.aspx/m=105590774,t=1,mt=video
Que Golazo.
Post by: E-man on June 24, 2010, 08:50:59 PM

CO-SIGNNNNN

Actually this is the 2nd time Italy managed to win the previous world cup and get knocked out in the group stage, taking into account there were no WCs in 1942 and 46. In 1938 they won, in 1950 they managed 2nd in their group  but only the first team, Sweden, went through. India, also in their group, withdrew because of the boots thing.
Post by: Kingk on June 25, 2010, 01:11:28 AM
umm
why is Tea better than italy.......................because it stays in the cup longer  ;D
Post by: willi on June 25, 2010, 03:24:05 AM
Lippi sell out di man dem W Cup by stupid loyalty to the old men of the last campaign.

Serves them right!
Post by: Brownsugar on June 25, 2010, 06:17:10 AM
I caught a replay of the Slovakians 3rd goal.  The man sheer speed beat the Italian defenders.....he take off like a rocket and the Italians just stand up like blue statues around him, by the time dem realise what was happening, ball done in the back ah de net!!....
Post by: giggsy11 on June 25, 2010, 06:37:37 AM
The Italians were just as disgraceful with their play acting as the French were with their synchronized dysfunctional team effort.
Post by: Midknight on June 25, 2010, 07:12:00 PM
Lippi simply had an old squad and tried to make it "younger" by throwing in a few young players for the World Cup when he should have blooded the younger guys starting in the Euro tournament. 

Yes, but he wasn't the coach during the Euros remember? They brought him back after Donadoni failed to live up to their expectations.
Post by: soccerman on June 27, 2010, 01:45:16 AM

Dat look like a scene from Spartacus
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 27, 2010, 07:56:30 AM
Lippi simply had an old squad and tried to make it "younger" by throwing in a few young players for the World Cup when he should have blooded the younger guys starting in the Euro tournament. 

Yes, but he wasn't the coach during the Euros remember? They brought him back after Donadoni failed to live up to their expectations.

thanks for the correction.