Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: E-man on July 03, 2010, 02:34:31 PM

Title: WC 2010 - Match 62 - Semi-finals: Germany vs Spain
Post by: E-man on July 03, 2010, 02:34:31 PM
Match 62 - Semi-finals - 07 July
Durban - Durban Stadium

Head-to-Head

GER:ESP
wins 8:6
draws 6
goals 27:22

Germany-Spain preview (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=249719/match=300111114/preview.html)

There will be at least one European representative in the Final of the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™, after Germany and Spain go head-to-head in the second semi-final on Wednesday evening. The match gives the Germans the opportunity to avenge their defeat to a Fernando Torres goal in the final of UEFA EURO 2008. No less than 19 survivors from that game – eight Germans and 11 Spaniards – will be on show in Durban, yet much has changed since that night in Vienna.

La Roja have struggled at times to produce the same majestic football that swept them to the European title, while Joachim Low’s revamped unit are unquestionably the form side of the competition. Die Nationalmannschaft have been winning new fans with their adventurous approach and earning praise from even the most seasoned of observers, Franz Beckenbauer among them. “Germany have never played like this before,” said an admiring Kaiser after his compatriots had seen off Argentina in the last eight.

The match
Germany-Spain, Semi-Final, Durban, Wednesday, 7 July, 20.30 (local time).

While no side has scored more goals in the tournament than Germany’s 13, the statistics show that Spain have done more attacking than anyone. If those two pieces of information are anything to go by, this should be quite a match. The Germans have been nothing short of spectacular in South Africa. After putting four past Australia in the group phase, they clicked into top gear in the Round of 16, overwhelming England 4-1 with their rapid counter-attacking style and then put another four past Argentina in the quarters.

Though Spain have reached a semi-final for the first time ever, they have been unable to match the exacting standards they have set for themselves in recent times, reproducing their eye-catching possession football only sporadically. Victors by a single goal in their last three games, the European champions can justifiably point to some massed defences as the reason for their reduced creativity, but there will be no excuses for a lack of spark come kick-off time on Wednesday.

All the indications are that Vicente del Bosque will keep faith with the XI that started against Paraguay, which means a reprieve for the misfiring Torres, who has yet to score. As for opposite number Low, his most pressing problem is to find a replacement for the suspended Thomas Muller, with Piotr Trochowski, Toni Kroos and Cacau all in the frame.

Players to watch
Miroslav Klose v David Villa

The leading marksman at South Africa 2010 with five of his country’s six goals, the Spanish striker is just one away from joining Raul as La Roja’s top scorer of all time. No less important to his team than the in-form Villa, Klose is closing on another record. The German forward needs to find the back of the net one more time to draw level with Brazil’s Ronaldo as the leading goalscorer in FIFA World Cup finals history with 15 goals. One behind the Spaniard in the South Africa 2010 charts, Klose has not given up hope of making off with the adidas Golden Boot as well.

The stat
3 - The number of times the two sides have faced each other in FIFA World Cup matches. Germany have yet to lose, winning 2-1 at England 1966 and Spain 1982 and forcing a 1-1 draw at USA 1994.

What they said
“Spain are the favourites to my mind and their team play is just amazing. They don’t have one Messi, they have several, and they don’t make many mistakes either, unlike England and Argentina. We need to force them to make errors,” Joachim Low, Germany coach.

“We haven’t come this far to finish fourth. We are going to fight hard against Germany to reach the Final, which is our one and only objective. We’ve reached a landmark for Spanish football by getting past the quarter-finals, but we know the Germany match is the most important in our history, even more so than the EURO 2008 final in Austria,” Iker Casillas, Spain goalkeeper and captain.

Voice of the fans
“Each match is a different story. Every team Spain have played against so far have defended, which is what teams who fear us do. It will be different against Germany though. There will be more space and whoever controls the midfield will have every chance of winning. This is going to be the game of the World Cup, the Final played one game early,” FIFA.com user oficus 11 (Spain).

Have your say
Can Miroslav Klose and/or David Villa make history in Durban?

Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 62 - Semi-finals: Germany vs Spain
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 02:49:35 PM
stueps , Spain aint winning this, go Germany!!
Post by: Brownsugar on July 03, 2010, 02:54:35 PM
stueps , Spain aint winning this, go Germany!!

While this one have mih..... :drool: :drool:

Somehow German opposition for the Oranje is a more frightening prospect than a Spanish one......
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 02:56:14 PM
for real
Post by: Socapro on July 03, 2010, 04:48:13 PM
Final will be Germany v Holland I'm afraid as I can't see Spain overcoming Germany!  8)
Post by: rotatopoti3 on July 03, 2010, 09:51:39 PM
Final will be Germany v Holland I'm afraid as I can't see Spain overcoming Germany!

This is d type of game Torres might just wake up and decide iz time.... :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: behind-de-bridge on July 04, 2010, 03:25:18 AM
Gernamy is playing as a 'team' and that make them favourites for me. The other 'sides' are a group of men that just happen to be on the same pitch.
Post by: lefty on July 04, 2010, 05:10:46 AM
germany playin sweet ball, that an eman goal celebrations ;D :beermug: incourage mih to trow mih support  behind dem  ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 04, 2010, 06:33:19 AM
This game so funny eh, right now the stars seem aligned for Germany, no doubt.  One thing we have not seen yet in the knock out phase is for them to concede 1st, if this happens vs Spain not sure how it would change the game, but football is a funny funny game
Post by: Jumbie on July 04, 2010, 06:40:54 AM
This Germany team reminds me of the Russians during the last Euros. Mash up teams..including a Dutch team that was unbeaten.. we all know what happened to that Russian team after. Close to call, but I feel Spain will win it in the middle of the park.
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 04, 2010, 06:51:01 AM
This Germany team reminds me of the Russians during the last Euros. Mash up teams..including a Dutch team that was unbeaten.. we all know what happened to that Russian team after. Close to call, but I feel Spain will win it in the middle of the park.

Sense, that's why we play games.  Now if we could only get FIFA to clean up the beautiful game
Post by: ribbit on July 04, 2010, 10:06:54 AM
mueller will miss this game due to the yellow he pick up against argentina. and cacau look to have an abdominal strain. hopefully cacau recover in time.
Post by: che on July 04, 2010, 10:07:48 AM
Germany playing real ball right now. But the two teams I really hate are Germany and Italy so I backing Spain.
Post by: Toppa on July 05, 2010, 12:18:02 PM
Spain shaking in their boots right now. They have yet to put on a truly convincing display and Germany say they want revenge for the Euros.
Post by: Observer on July 05, 2010, 12:52:13 PM
Just trying to spark some football talk. I do not think Germany can play any better. Offensively they show variety in approach, in goal scoring and deadly on the transition. Defensively they are solid when organized and flawless in the transition. On Set Plays, well we talking Germany. This is where Spain will suffer most.

Now the big question is can Spain play better? Ball possession is not in question, they use it for offense and defending. Penetration is their main weakness. Is this simply a matter of player selection? Last game when Torres was removed and Fabragas brought in Spain looked marginally better, but still played too centrally and lacked width. Now when Pedro came on wow it was like a different team, mobile and showed attacking variety.

With the right selection Spain can in theory be a very different team from the one scouted over 4 games. Having said all that, my guess is Del Bosque will make the same mistake so many Spanish coaches made over the years. The "Raul syndrome" regardless of the effect Raul played. Now it seems its the same with Torres.   ???
Post by: palos on July 05, 2010, 01:05:37 PM
Andres Iniesta will be the difference maker in this game.

Post by: College on July 05, 2010, 01:51:13 PM
Andres Iniesta will be the difference maker in this game.

How so?
Post by: Socapro on July 05, 2010, 03:13:02 PM
This game so funny eh, right now the stars seem aligned for Germany, no doubt.  One thing we have not seen yet in the knock out phase is for them to concede 1st, if this happens vs Spain not sure how it would change the game, but football is a funny funny game

Didn't England get knocked out by Germany in a game where England scored 1st and the score ended up as 4 - 1 to Germany or is my memory failing me?!  ::)
Post by: FF on July 05, 2010, 03:16:13 PM

Didn't England get knocked out by Germany in a game where England scored 1st and the score ended up as 4 - 1 to Germany or is my memory failing me?!  ::)

???

davyjenny nomination?
Post by: Socapro on July 05, 2010, 03:19:45 PM

???

davyjenny nomination?

Oh yeah, ah just remember now, Germany scored 1st and England equalised in the 1st half then Germany hit them with 3 more in the 2nd half! Sorry my memory is getting bad!!  ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 05, 2010, 05:54:15 PM

???

davyjenny nomination?

Oh yeah, ah just remember now, Germany scored 1st and England equalised in the 1st half then Germany hit them with 3 more in the 2nd half! Sorry my memory is getting bad!!  ;D

Yuh memory still failin yuh, Germany hit dem 2 and then it was quickly 2-1 and really 2-2 but never officially, then 2 more in a rage to make it 4-1, but no seen, it's been a long month
Post by: Fyzoman on July 05, 2010, 06:15:14 PM
blah, blah, blah...anybody who really know football know dat Spain doh have ah chance in hell ah beating Germany....just kidding...seriously though, Germany winning wid ease.
Post by: willi on July 06, 2010, 03:06:33 AM
Germans better be wary of the Tiki-takka ball that Spain plays. IF TORRES FINDS HIS SHOOTING BOOTS, THE GERMAN PANZERS WILL BUCKLE! Spain is a good team that is finding their balance slowly.
Post by: lefty on July 06, 2010, 06:33:28 AM
really liked this (http://af.reuters.com/article/sportsNews/idAFJOE6640CW20100705) article ...........take wisdom from all sources and combine them to make something good
Post by: ribbit on July 06, 2010, 07:52:16 AM
paul de octopus (http://edition.cnn.com/2010/SPORT/football/07/06/germany.octopus.semifinal/index.html?hpt=P1&fbid=S-oXSfNSyWJ) picking spain

(http://i.cdn.turner.com/cnn/2010/SPORT/football/07/06/germany.octopus.semifinal/t1larg.paul.afp.gi.jpg)
Post by: Observer on July 06, 2010, 08:04:33 AM
really liked this (http://af.reuters.com/article/sportsNews/idAFJOE6640CW20100705) article ...........take wisdom from all sources and combine them to make something good

Nice piece! He also has the talent. Ozil, Muller, Khedira, Cacau all bring something to the table & with a little difference. Mixed in with Klose and Podolski, experience and goals scoring ability, they have been the talk of the WC. Should not have been surprising though. Semi 2006 (at home), Euro 08 Final and now. they have been knocking on the door
Post by: Jumbie on July 06, 2010, 08:33:17 AM
Iker Casillas Fernández will be difference in this game  ;)
Post by: E-man on July 06, 2010, 09:38:35 AM
paul de octopus (http://edition.cnn.com/2010/SPORT/football/07/06/germany.octopus.semifinal/index.html?hpt=P1&fbid=S-oXSfNSyWJ) picking spain

(http://i.cdn.turner.com/cnn/2010/SPORT/football/07/06/germany.octopus.semifinal/t1larg.paul.afp.gi.jpg)

He's just part of the tactics now, at this level he's switching it up to boost the opponents' overconfidence.
Post by: Observer on July 06, 2010, 10:19:07 AM
This world cup is already determined by the numbers....

1. Brazil won the World Cup in 1994; before that they also won in 1970.

Adding 1970 + 1994= 3964

2. Argentina won its last World Cup in 1986; before that they also won in 1978.

Adding 1978 + 1986= 3964

3. Germany won its last World Cup in 1990; before that they also won in 1974.

Adding 1974 + 1990= 3964

4. Brazil also won the World Cup in 2002; before that they also won in 1962.

Adding 1962+ 2002= 3964

5. Therefore, if you want to know what nation is going to win the World Cup in 2010, you only have to subtract 2010 from the magic number that we have determined: 3964.

3964 minus 2010 = 1954...

In 1954 the World Cup was won by Germany!!!

Probably not scientific... but pretty interesting...
Post by: FF on July 06, 2010, 10:24:10 AM

Adding 1970 + 1994= 3964

Adding 1978 + 1986= 3964

Adding 1974 + 1990= 3964

Adding 1962+ 2002= 3964

5. Therefore, if you want to know what nation is going to win the World Cup in 2010, you only have to subtract 2010 from the magic number that we have determined: 3964.

yeah probably not  ::)

Post by: giggsy11 on July 06, 2010, 12:24:56 PM
Germany has played and taken care of sides with suspect defenses by targetting 1or 2 defenders. Spain has a suspect defense-Puyol is the Spanish John Terry, Peque good in the air, reads the paly well but can be attacked on the ground due to his lack of foot speed.Ramos is also good at going forward but an average defender.  I would say that Germany is and has been the smartest, best coached team. Germany is the last team left that I am routing for. If God forbid Spain win and they playing Uruguay or Holland my world watchin over! Don't want a cheats like Robbin and Van Bommel tuh prosper or Uruguay and their anti football. Spain defenitely not!
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 06, 2010, 01:34:31 PM
Germany has played and taken care of sides with suspect defenses by targetting 1or 2 defenders. Spain has a suspect defense-Puyol is the Spanish John Terry, Peque good in the air, reads the paly well but can be attacked on the ground due to his lack of foot speed.Ramos is also good at going forward but an average defender.  I would say that Germany is and has been the smartest, best coached team. Germany is the last team left that I am routing for. If God forbid Spain win and they playing Uruguay or Holland my world watchin over! Don't want a cheats like Robbin and Van Bommel tuh prosper or Uruguay and their anti football. Spain defenitely not!

Truth of the matter is Pique/Puyol have not been the same for Spain as they have been for Barca, for Barca they are usually rock solid, the 3-1 lickin away to Inter being an exception.  Not sure how much the non-Barca Spanish midefield/defence is playing a role in this....
Post by: FF on July 06, 2010, 01:47:31 PM

Truth of the matter is Pique/Puyol have not been the same for Spain as they have been for Barca, for Barca they are usually rock solid, the 3-1 lickin away to Inter being an exception.  Not sure how much the non-Barca Spanish midefield/defence is playing a role in this....

but you ent easy at all... is 6 barca men start de last game...

INCLUDING a midfield with INIESTA, XAVI and BUSQUETS in front of PIQUE and PUYOL

Post by: 100% Barataria on July 06, 2010, 01:53:34 PM

INCLUDING a midfield with INIESTA, XAVI and BUSQUETS in front of PIQUE and PUYOL

Correct, not singling out anyone, but IMO they (Puyol/Pique) don't look the same now compared to for Barca, not sure why
Post by: dinho on July 06, 2010, 01:58:40 PM

Correct, not singling out anyone, but IMO they (Puyol/Pique) don't look the same now compared to for Barca, not sure why

Because shitty Sergio Ramos always running out de judgement back!
Post by: pecan on July 06, 2010, 02:06:59 PM

Adding 1970 + 1994= 3964

Adding 1978 + 1986= 3964

Adding 1974 + 1990= 3964

Adding 1962+ 2002= 3964

(http://www.theusrus.de/Blog-files/WorldCup.png)
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 06, 2010, 02:12:39 PM
that calculation predicted a brazil victory in 2006.
Post by: pecan on July 06, 2010, 02:19:23 PM

yeah . .2/7 wrong, not statistically significant  ::)
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 06, 2010, 02:43:58 PM
Entertaining read on Paul the Octopus

My father real taking it on...only saying that bloody octopus pick spain

http://specials.blogs.time.com/2010/07/06/germanys-psychic-octopus-predicts-victory-for-spain/

this part made me crack up

This, of course, demands some post-match analysis. It transpires that Paul has only ever got one prediction wrong and that was when he decreed that Germany would defeat Spain in the final of EURO 2008. Fans are hoping that the opposite will take place so that history repeats itself (kind of) and actually Germany will triumph with Paul getting one more shot at glory.

And not everyone is enamored by him: the Argentinians threatened to kill Paul and put him in a paella after he went against Diego Maradona's men (see below). The newspaper El Dia offered this recipe for anyone daring enough to capture the intrepid octopus: "All you need is four normal potatoes, olive oil for taste and a little pepper."

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Post by: D.H.W on July 06, 2010, 03:21:33 PM
Go Spain  :devil:
Post by: Toppa on July 06, 2010, 03:38:19 PM

Yuh shaking in yuh boots eh? Yuh know allyuh only have a shot against Spain.

Yuh fraid the German Blitzkreig too bad!
Post by: D.H.W on July 06, 2010, 03:51:51 PM

:)
Post by: Brownsugar on July 06, 2010, 03:52:43 PM

We doh have a problem admitting that the Germans are causing some concern, we is realistic fans........

GO SPAIN!!!

:devil: :devil:
Post by: Toppa on July 06, 2010, 04:25:05 PM

We doh have a problem admitting that the Germans are causing some concern, we is realistic fans........

GO SPAIN!!!

:devil: :devil:

Realistic?  :devil:
Post by: trinindian on July 06, 2010, 06:57:14 PM

Adding 1970 + 1994= 3964

Adding 1978 + 1986= 3964

Adding 1974 + 1990= 3964

Adding 1962+ 2002= 3964

(http://www.theusrus.de/Blog-files/WorldCup.png)

Whey yuh a say there Ms. Cleo? I like it 
Post by: Spursy on July 06, 2010, 10:30:12 PM
meh this is the repeat of euro2009 finals... spain won it... they might again.. no muller xd

is this fifa way of getting the world to was the euro retake.. again??

13 teams.. 1 muss make it or 3... unfair
Post by: sammy on July 07, 2010, 06:11:58 AM
WHEEEEEYYYYY real excitement this morning yes..
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2010, 07:34:11 AM

yeah . .2/7 wrong, not statistically significant  ::)

Yeah. Brazil and Germany win so many World Cups and make so many finals you could find any number of false "trends"

For example I hear peopls saying that when Germany lose a final they win the whole thing 8 years later.

1966 - 1974

1982 - 1990

2002 - 2010?

Don't mind they lose the 1986 final too.

Another piece of nonesense is that they never go more than 20 years without winning it

1954 - 1974,  20 years

- 1990, 16 years

- 2010, 20 years?

I personally want Spain to win this. Another new winner on the trophy (Spain or Holland) is good for the game.
Post by: willi on July 07, 2010, 08:14:56 AM
Viva Espanya, VIVA!
Post by: ribbit on July 07, 2010, 08:34:35 AM
as this thread is, so far, lacking any racial content, ah putting this quote from spanish defender capdevila:

"What's apartheid?" (http://www.cbc.ca/sports/soccer/fifaworldcup/blog/2010/07/quotes-of-the-world-cup.html)
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on July 07, 2010, 09:30:57 AM
(http://img686.imageshack.us/img686/5268/spain20104july2.jpg)
(http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/6888/spain20104july6.jpg)
(http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/5236/spain20104july3.jpg)
(http://estaticos03.marca.com/imagenes/2010/07/04/futbol/mundial_2010/selecciones/espana/1278269321_0.jpg)
(http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/3576/spain20104july5.jpg)

Albiol returned to training following his leg injury from last Sunday, but Cesc had to withdraw early due to a shoulder injury suffered when he was taken down following the Xabi Alonso penalty miss.

Durban - Moses Mabhida
Wednesday kickoff
2:30pm eastern

Recent form last six international results

GERMANY: WWLWWW
4-0 Argentina (N)
4-1 England (N)
1-0 Ghana (N)
0-1 Serbia (N)
4-0 Australia (N)
3-1 Bosnia-Herzegovina (H)

SPAIN: WLWWWW
1-0 Paraguay (N)
1-0 Portugal (N)
2-1 Chile (N)
2-0 Honduras (N)
0-1 Switzerland (N)
6-0 Poland (H)

Last meeting
29 June 2008
EURO 2008 Final in Vienna
Germany 0-1 Spain
0-1 Torres 33'

Matches: 23
Germany wins: 9
Spain wins: 6
Draws: 8
Goals scored: Germany 28, Spain 22
Post by: dinho on July 07, 2010, 10:00:48 AM
Ballack ousted from team camp

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/worldcup2010/3043967/Michael-Ballack-ousted-from-Germany-camp.html (http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/worldcup2010/3043967/Michael-Ballack-ousted-from-Germany-camp.html)

MICHAEL BALLACK has been ousted from the Germany camp after a massive rift with captain Philipp Lahm.

The crocked ex-Chelsea star faces a bleak international future after Lahm insisted he will not give up the captain's armband next season.

Boss Joachim Low, preparing his side for tonight's World Cup semi-final against Spain, revealed Ballack was asked to leave as team doctors did not have time to treat his ankle injury.

The midfielder will not be present for the showdown in Durban to decide who faces Holland in Sunday's final.

Ballack, 33, joined up with the German squad last week to act as a cheerleader.

But his presence has caused tensions in a group who have done brilliantly without him.

Lahm piled on the pain by insisting: "I won't give back the armband to Ballack. They will have to take it off me."

Post by: Toppa on July 07, 2010, 10:28:30 AM
Come, come, all these off-field shenanigans will distract them from the task at hand.

Post by: Observer on July 07, 2010, 10:34:58 AM

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/worldcup2010/3043967/Michael-Ballack-ousted-from-Germany-camp.html (http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/worldcup2010/3043967/Michael-Ballack-ousted-from-Germany-camp.html)

MICHAEL BALLACK has been ousted from the Germany camp after a massive rift with captain Philipp Lahm.

The crocked ex-Chelsea star faces a bleak international future after Lahm insisted he will not give up the captain's armband next season.

Boss Joachim Low, preparing his side for tonight's World Cup semi-final against Spain, revealed Ballack was asked to leave as team doctors did not have time to treat his ankle injury.

The midfielder will not be present for the showdown in Durban to decide who faces Holland in Sunday's final.

But his presence has caused tensions in a group who have done brilliantly without him.

Lahm piled on the pain by insisting: "I won't give back the armband to Ballack. They will have to take it off me."

Yes Lahm tell him to hol ass. In the earlies he was very critical of the coach and  had to publicly make an apology. Ballack being injured was a blessing in disguise.
Post by: sammy on July 07, 2010, 10:37:06 AM

Yes Lahm tell him to hol ass. In the earlies he was very critical of the coach and  had to publicly make an apology. Ballack being injured was a blessing in disguise.

true true, he is a big bully
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 10:41:14 AM
Come, come, all these off-field shenanigans will distract them from the task at hand.

great  :devil:
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on July 07, 2010, 11:01:25 AM
Torres dropped to the bench, hopefully for Pedro.
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2010, 11:14:07 AM

Or Fabregas. If Torres gone to the bench Villa should be running through the middle which means Iniesta could get back toth eleft hand side instead of playing on th eright and drifting centre all the time.

If Germany give Spai 4 I will have to stop watching football because that ent making no sense at all. Germany deserve they results against Argentina and England but I believe that it was favourable match-ups. England slow and had no ideas, Argentina weak on the wings in both attack and defence. In defence Germany kill them. In attack they allow Germany to smother them by only going through the centre.

Spain is a different proposition and player for player better than Germany but this German side have a winning system and executing it to perfection. Spain on the other hand trying to shoehorn themselves into this 4-2-3-1 system that is not what they accustom to. Hopefully they will gain some advantage from it in matching up to Germany. Where they can't match them though is speed and athleticism...Xabi and Buquets can't match Schweinstieger and Khedira.

On the other hand Iniesta, Villa and Xavi is the men to finally show up Mertesacker as a sack of "merde".

Whatever happen I expecting a close one, a 1-0, 2-1 or penalties.

VIVA L'Espana
Post by: sammy on July 07, 2010, 11:18:19 AM

Or Fabregas. If Torres gone to the bench Villa should be running through the middle which means Iniesta could get back toth eleft hand side instead of playing on th eright and drifting centre all the time.

If Germany give Spai 4 I will have to stop watching football because that ent making no sense at all. Germany deserve they results against Argentina and England but I believe that it was favourable match-ups. England slow and had no ideas, Argentina weak on the wings in both attack and defence. In defence Germany kill them. In attack they allow Germany to smother them by only going through the centre.

Spain is a different proposition and player for player better than Germany but this German side have a winning system and executing it to perfection. Spain on the other hand trying to shoehorn themselves into this 4-2-3-1 system that is not what they accustom to. Hopefully they will gain some advantage from it in matching up to Germany. Where they can't match them though is speed and athleticism...Xabi and Buquets can't match Schweinstieger and Khedira.

On the other hand Iniesta, Villa and Xavi is the men to finally show up Mertesacker as a sack of "merde".

VIVA L'Espana

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooooo

*hiss*

:thumbsdown:
Post by: E-man on July 07, 2010, 11:24:11 AM
published starting lineups:

Neuer
Friedrich
Khedira
Schweinsteiger
Ozil
Podolski
Klose
Trochowski
Lahm
Mertesacker
Boateng

Casillas
Pique
Puyol
Iniesta
Villa
Xavi
Capdevila
Alonso
Ramos
Sergio
Pedro
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on July 07, 2010, 11:30:13 AM
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Picture2-1.png)
Post by: E-man on July 07, 2010, 11:47:51 AM
Not exactly a warm beach day (18 C)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0gUzacdeGscQJ/610x.jpg)
Supporters of Germany holding a national flag relax at the Durban North Beach, across the Indian Ocean, moments before the 2010 FIFA World Cup second Semi Final football match between Germany and Spain at Durban's Moses Mabhida stadium on July 7, 2010.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 07, 2010, 11:49:14 AM
published starting lineups:

Trochowski  Who he??

Casillas
Pique
Puyol
Iniesta
Villa
Xavi
Capdevila
Alonso
Ramos
Sergio
Pedro

hhhhhhmmmm No Torres in the starting line up....well, well, well....
Post by: Toppa on July 07, 2010, 11:57:58 AM

VIVA L'Espana

Ah rel glad to hear yuh say this.  :devil:

You're like the anti-thesis too Brownsugar.
Post by: dinho on July 07, 2010, 12:04:59 PM
I wouldve started with Fabregas instead of Pedro the weak-fish, but then I guessing that he not 100% recovered from his injury.

Anyway, world cup done for me i have no horse in this tournament so just want to see some good football.
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 12:14:12 PM
go Spain  ;D
Post by: DeSoWa on July 07, 2010, 12:14:51 PM
Fab shoulda get the start!

Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 12:25:52 PM
Anthems playing!

Get ready to cry for Spain!  :'(

Post by: STEUPS!! on July 07, 2010, 12:26:36 PM
this game is a tough one to call. if i had to judge by d performances in d cup so far, ill give germany d edge, but villa is poison so spain cud very well suprise dem.
Post by: College on July 07, 2010, 12:27:05 PM
GERMANY!!!!
Post by: fari on July 07, 2010, 12:29:13 PM
is about time torres get dropped...spain need big man to step up if they want to bring the cup home for the first time
Post by: Bitter on July 07, 2010, 12:34:19 PM
What de ass.
Clout up that fool!
Post by: DeSoWa on July 07, 2010, 12:34:28 PM
WTH!!!!  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

Post by: STEUPS!! on July 07, 2010, 12:34:52 PM
yuh know how long i eh see a stormer!
Post by: Bitter on July 07, 2010, 12:38:13 PM
Spain like they think they could exploit Germany right side.
But the chance come from the left...
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 12:42:40 PM
spain playing rel good
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 07, 2010, 12:48:52 PM
spain playing rel good

suprisingly
Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 12:50:16 PM
ha ha Mueller sit down in Ballack seat...

ent is usually Ballack sit down next to Bierhoff... dey send he arse home  :rotfl:
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 12:56:58 PM
i swear is barca playin playin here. d Germans cah touch d ball
Post by: Bitter on July 07, 2010, 01:05:20 PM
This game playing very polite. Germany content to wait to get the ball an spring the counter.

Spain have all the ball, but no real menace. I feel Germany will score first.
Post by: fari on July 07, 2010, 01:08:47 PM
germany defenders big but not comfy with ball at feet, if spain pressure them they could get some chances...real cat and mouse game going on
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2010, 01:10:19 PM
To paraphrase Panday...

"wake me up when Germany take a shot"
Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 01:16:17 PM
Spain missing a Messi type player in the final third!!

It look like Argentina was missing the whole rest of Barcelona
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 07, 2010, 01:18:33 PM
spain need to make that possession count otherwise germany will get 1 chance and make dem cry.
Post by: DeSoWa on July 07, 2010, 01:20:35 PM
Spain missing a Messi type player in the final third!!

It look like Argentina was missing the whole rest of Barcelona

FAB10  :beermug:

Post by: Bitter on July 07, 2010, 01:20:47 PM
Is like a bullfight. The Banderillero does weaken the bull and then the Matador does come in and kill it.
Right now Spain is all Banderilleros and no Matadors. They missing a fit Torres.
Post by: sammy on July 07, 2010, 01:22:24 PM
spain is the most boooring side in this WC
Post by: DeSoWa on July 07, 2010, 01:25:12 PM

Yuh see hate, now dat is hate  :devil:

Post by: Red Mango on July 07, 2010, 01:25:46 PM
Little trianges people... little triangles...

Vamos Germany!!! let's go!!!
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2010, 01:26:04 PM
Pitiful dive by Ozil
Post by: sammy on July 07, 2010, 01:27:30 PM
 spain does make me feel like :puking: when they playing like this
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 01:28:08 PM

Yuh see hate, now dat is hate  :devil:

Post by: sammy on July 07, 2010, 01:28:42 PM
Pitiful dive by Ozil

maybe it wasnt deserving of a penalty, but there was contact.
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 01:33:45 PM
Pitiful dive by Ozil

maybe it wasnt deserving of a penalty, but there was contact.

A foul & a Free kick should have been awarded for that!
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 01:35:29 PM
Spain are toothless! All this pretty passing and no end result!

Germany will poison them on the counter soon!  ;)
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2010, 01:36:52 PM
If them two shots fall to Fabregas is goal.
Post by: Red Mango on July 07, 2010, 01:41:27 PM
Dis is de ground dat Switzerland beat Spain on yuh know...

Vamos Germany... Let's go!!!
Post by: Socafan on July 07, 2010, 01:46:11 PM
Hmmmmmm...Things not looking good for Germany at all boy.
Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 01:46:54 PM
Low say he model Germany game after Spain among other teams...

well right now Spain giving dem a first hand lesson
Post by: Bitter on July 07, 2010, 01:50:32 PM
Not having Jens Lehmann as your goalie does make a huge difference eh
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 01:52:16 PM
Hmmmmmm...Things not looking good for Germany at all boy.

Last time ah check the score was 0-0 and no end product yet for Spain!

Germany will take this!  ;)
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 01:54:27 PM
stueps spain should be leading now
Post by: mwanasoka on July 07, 2010, 01:55:27 PM
Very nice !
Post by: Bitter on July 07, 2010, 01:59:19 PM
Game Done!
Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 01:59:37 PM
AT LAST!!!
Post by: DeSoWa on July 07, 2010, 01:59:43 PM
Boom!

Post by: STEUPS!! on July 07, 2010, 01:59:50 PM
waaaaayyyzzz
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 02:00:13 PM
goal in dey hole
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2010, 02:00:50 PM
JUDGEMENT
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 07, 2010, 02:01:28 PM
finally...time to send home this overachieving german team...holland next.
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2010, 02:01:52 PM
Let's see thus GREAT attacking German side now.
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 07, 2010, 02:02:10 PM
like paul d octopus know what he talkin bout!
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 02:03:10 PM
Like Paul the Octopus blight my team or what?!  ???

If Germany lose this game I will personally kill Paul chop him up and serve him for sushi! >:(
Post by: Jah Gol on July 07, 2010, 02:06:54 PM
Catalunya is not Spain !
Post by: Bitter on July 07, 2010, 02:08:15 PM
Bench Pedro now!!!!!!
Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 02:09:12 PM
Greedy B!tch

and Catalunya is a province of Spain.. no matter what anybody say

next ting allyuh go say Tobago is not T&T
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2010, 02:09:32 PM
What de ass wrong wid Pedro in trute
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 07, 2010, 02:10:11 PM
Bench Pedro now!!!!!!

selfish player..he want his own glory.
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 02:11:14 PM
pedro is a c**t
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 07, 2010, 02:11:58 PM
pedro is a c**t

he get sub... :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2010, 02:12:38 PM
The whole German side just falling down now.

I guess that is Plan B
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 07, 2010, 02:13:07 PM
pedro is a c**t

he get sub... :rotfl: :rotfl:

:devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: Jah Gol on July 07, 2010, 02:14:16 PM
FF its a phrase used often in Barcelona. I was just biggin up a up a Barca man.
Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 02:15:21 PM
FF its a phrase used often in Barcelona. I was just biggin up a up a Barca man.

Who? pedro?  :devil:

catalunya could keep him
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 02:18:46 PM
long time i aint see a selfish player like pedro waaay
Post by: Socafan on July 07, 2010, 02:20:19 PM
Game done....Germany couldn't see they way....

Aight Spain. Good team finally. Good game too.
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 02:21:09 PM
hahahaha :devil:
Post by: fari on July 07, 2010, 02:21:26 PM
holland have they work cut out...and the 3rd place game go be good
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2010, 02:21:57 PM
BEAUTIFUL.

Hard luck Eman but I couldn't buy the German hype.
Post by: Bitter on July 07, 2010, 02:22:06 PM
That was a dry match.
But still, we will have a new member of the world cup winners fraternity for sure.

Spain moving like how Italy was in 2006, not overpowering, but just enough.

I wish i had study the Octopus early and bet money.
Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 02:22:13 PM
Spain is just that good... they make this Germany team look like nothing...

I am impressed...

Xavi and Iniesta is just two legends in they prime!
Post by: elan on July 07, 2010, 02:22:29 PM
Shyte tactics, poor coaching decision. Spain dictated the pace, but showed no true effort to win the game.
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 07, 2010, 02:23:28 PM
sport is a cruel thing yes!

who wuda thought after d run germany was havin, dey wuda lose like dis  :-\
Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 02:24:37 PM
That was a dry match.
But still, we will have a new member of the world cup winners fraternity for sure.

Spain moving like how Italy was in 2006, not overpowering, but just enough.

I wish i had study the Octopus early and bet money.

You mad yes... you cyah be seriously comparing this Spain team to Italy 06
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 07, 2010, 02:25:58 PM

that remind of ah time i did that, my team up 4-1 with a 20 minutes left and we get a 3 vs 1 breakaway and i decide to dribble and try to score because i wanted ah beavertrick...i miss and get sub one time...when i reach near de bench...the coach tell me get mih arse off the field.
Post by: elan on July 07, 2010, 02:27:14 PM

I am impressed...

Spain was not impressive. They had the ball where they always have the ball. What was so impressive? How many penetraing passes did they make? How many balls in the final seam? They had the ball in the spaces that Germany gave them. How many crosses that was effective? Boateng let Ramos cross and nothing, did not even pick someone out. The problem started when Jansen came on for Boateng. He had Ramos under manners even though Pedro drifted out there.

Spain did nothing more, than score the goal. Too much respect from Germany for Spain.
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 02:28:06 PM

that remind of ah time i did that, my team up 4-1 with a 20 minutes left and we get a 3 vs 1 breakaway and i decide to dribble and try to score because i wanted ah beavertrick...i miss and get sub one time...when i reach near de bench...the coach tell me get mih arse off the field.

Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 02:28:20 PM

that harsh against you!!

this man playing in a world cup semifinal with ah 1-0 lead and torres wide open... and de kissmeharse greedy man go beat dey?

ah woulda bench him for de final too
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 02:29:20 PM

Like Paul the Octopus blight my team or what?!  ???

If Germany lose this game I will personally kill Paul chop him up and serve him for sushi! >:(

What does Paul d Octopus have to say about the result of the final with Holland vs Spain?

Guess they haven't had time to ask him yet but whatever he says I'm betting my lasp penny on that result!  8)

Then I'm having him for dinner for going against Germany!  :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 02:29:58 PM

that harsh against you!!

this man playing in a world cup semifinal with ah 1-0 lead and torres wide open... and de kissmeharse greedy man go beat dey?

for real dais rel shit
Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 02:30:13 PM

I am impressed...

Spain was not impressive. They had the ball where they always have the ball. What was so impressive? How many penetraing passes did they make? How many balls in the final seam? They had the ball in the spaces that Germany gave them. How many crosses that was effective? Boateng let Ramos cross and nothing, did not even pick someone out. The problem started when Jansen came on for Boateng. He had Ramos under manners even though Pedro drifted out there.

Spain did nothing more, than score the goal. Too much respect from Germany for Spain.

Respectfully disagree.. this is how spain play... you can't get the ball from them and they WILL wear you down. This is why they have only lost 2 games in 3 years!!

I thought germany had the weapons to hit dem on the counter but they stifled that too... Germany scored 4 goals three times in this World Cup and were made to look quite toothless... Impressive

Post by: kaliman2006 on July 07, 2010, 02:30:20 PM
Good win for Spain. Pedro better be grateful that Germany didn't find a way to come back or he woulda had to apply for citizenship in another country.

It shows Spain's class that they commiserated with the German players in their defeat.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 07, 2010, 02:31:58 PM
Pedro unscore that goal, what an idiot.......well done Spain...

DHW where yuh??  Boy is time to

:praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:
Post by: elan on July 07, 2010, 02:32:46 PM
First time WC in Africa and a first time winner.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 07, 2010, 02:32:56 PM

that harsh against you!!

that was a coach who use to cuss nuff man...i get off real easy.

i still hurting over brazil cutarse but nice to see Spain in ah WC final.
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 02:33:28 PM
Pedro unscore that goal, what an idiot.......well done Spain...

DHW where yuh??  Boy is time to

:praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:

we have a great chance now

:challenge: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:
Post by: Brownsugar on July 07, 2010, 02:35:18 PM
I could tell E-man not his usual self today.....we eh get no finals thread yet...  E-man yuh alright??
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 02:35:43 PM
Post by: palos on July 07, 2010, 02:36:09 PM
The better team on the day....BY FAR IMO.....won the game.

Germany had little answer for a Spain side that finally played like how most people knew they could play.  It's extremely difficult to chase the ball for 90 minutes and that's what Spain made Germany do.

To Germany's credit, Spain had very few clear cut chances to score and I believe Low played the game the way he had to.  Let Spain have possession (they'll have it anyway as their players are superior technically), close ranks in the final third and deny the passes in the seams they love so much, and hope to catch them on the counter or off of a set piece.  That plan worked for the most part except for a breakdown in communication on the goal.

Once the goal scored, Germany was always going to be vulnerable pressing for an equalizer and only Ronaldoesque (de portugese one) play from Pedro denied Spain a second.  He was rightly substituted.  That said, he was also Spain's MOM for me...slightly ahead of Iniesta who is simply a freak.

Commiserations to Germany....but they can have no complaints.  They lost to a much better team on the day.

Congrats to Spain.....a new world cup champion beckons on Sunday.
Post by: weary1969 on July 07, 2010, 02:36:36 PM
like paul d octopus know what he talkin bout!

ENTTTTTTTTTTTT
Post by: Bitter on July 07, 2010, 02:37:51 PM
Paul is a mafia setup.
Watch he go predict a Holland win, after we done bet all we money, Spain running out 2-0
Post by: weary1969 on July 07, 2010, 02:39:53 PM
Paul is a mafia setup.
Watch he go predict a Holland win, after we done bet all we money, Spain running out 2-0

Paul doh predict only Germany games?
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 02:40:53 PM
Okay ah backing Spain for the title now, lets hope ah doh blight dem!  ::)

Still waiting to hear what Paul de Octupus have to say though if ah going to bet any money on the result!  8)
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 02:42:45 PM
Paul is a mafia setup.

I hope so!  ;)
Post by: Deeks on July 07, 2010, 02:43:04 PM

I am impressed...

Bro,
          I beg to differ here. Spain dictated the pace with a lot of lateral and short passes. They werenot that pretty or a forceful penetrating team like Germany. But Spain made life difficult for them. I would not say Spain outclass them, but played better than them.
Post by: Deeks on July 07, 2010, 02:44:50 PM

Still waiting to hear what Paul de Octupus have to say though if ah going to bet any money on the result!  8)

Anybody know how fried octopuss does taste?
Post by: Bitter on July 07, 2010, 02:46:53 PM
I think Germany show Spain too much respect. Of course, Spain deserve respect, but Germany play that game to not-lose. I thought they would loosen up in the 2nd half, but they were really hoping to convert one half-chance.

Spain was Spain. They keep possession until the opposition lapse and then score. They switch to a counter-attack posture immediately after the goal, and are just as happy to defend the 1 goal lead as any other bunker-down team. The Puyol goal was mostly bad-mind though. Pique probably still want to know who foul him as he was going for an open header.
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 02:49:05 PM

Paul de Octopus picking Spain

Yeah, I think Paul looking good to fry!!  ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 07, 2010, 02:52:38 PM

I am impressed...

Yuh know class, so for de life of me cyar understand why yuh backin a dead horse in La Liga  :devil:

BTW, all Spain scorers so far from Barca
Post by: Observer on July 07, 2010, 02:58:11 PM
Shyte tactics, poor coaching decision. Spain dictated the pace, but showed no true effort to win the game.

So what does that say for Germany. Spain kept it, made Germany work, but never put the ball at risk. Why cross when it got wide? Villa was never going to win it. So probe, keep it and wait for the one or two chances. Overall I do not think it was Germany intention to drop off, they simply were denied the ball. No opportunity to build or counter attack
Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 02:58:40 PM

I am impressed...

Yuh know class, so for de life of me cyar understand why yuh backin a dead horse in La Liga  :devil:

BTW, all Spain scorers so far from Barca

is de colours on the crest... it have ah moldy mcdonalds finish :puking:

nah but Real was de first european team I get to watch live regular... so dats meh horse

Real Madrid,
Salamanca (dem ent saying nothing at all)
and Inter Milan... because of after Sunday Lunch Serie A in the 80's
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2010, 03:06:30 PM
Germany play Spain thesame way they play England and Argentina. Spain just stifle their breaks much better, even though Germany almost break through a couple times.

The difference in play was huge. Spain justknock the ball naturally. Germany keep setting up hopeful footraces on the wing. Spain was also much better at beating the first man to pull Germany out of shape.

That defence was under constant threat of being opened up with a single pass, which is impressive against a side defending so deep
Post by: palos on July 07, 2010, 03:08:52 PM

So what does that say for Germany. Spain kept it, made Germany work, but never put the ball at risk. Why cross when it got wide? Villa was never going to win it. So probe, keep it and wait for the one or two chances. Overall I do not think it was Germany intention to drop off, they simply were denied the ball. No opportunity to build or counter attack

I not sure if peeps understand how much it does take out of players to be chasin de ball for 70 minutes out of a 90 minute game.

Germany game is based on a swift counter attack.  Spain game is based on possession of the ball...and when they lose possession, to win it back quickly by pressing the opposition.  Germany had 2 counter attack chances in the entire match.  Both of them were decent chances but it was all they had.  For a team that ran riot against England and Australia, it's a credit to Spain for the way they took Germany out of their game.

The point you make about not crossing the ball is salient.  Why cross the ball when midget Villa was never goin to win any header?  Bess to keep it and try to work an opening.  It's to Germany's credit that they kept their shape and discipline over the course of the game.

Not sure what happened with the goal and where the breakdown occurred....BOTH Pique AND Puyol had FREE HEADERS on that play.  Who lapse in de German defence?
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 07, 2010, 03:10:03 PM
Germany play Spain thesame way they play England and Argentina. Spain just stifle their breaks much better, even though Germany almost break through a couple times.

The difference in play was huge. Spain justknock the ball naturally. Germany keep setting up hopeful footraces on the wing. Spain was also much better at beating the first man to pull Germany out of shape.

That defence was under constant threat of being opened up with a single pass, which is impressive against a side defending so deep

Yeah, well said, w/5 midfielders to boot
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on July 07, 2010, 03:18:10 PM
Puyol first miss.
(http://d.yimg.com/a/p/rids/20100707/i/r2841101505.jpg)

Then he made amends.
(http://d.yimg.com/a/p/rids/20100707/i/r1251538311.jpg)
(http://d.yimg.com/a/p/ap/20100707/capt.6d8214fccd9448f7a2a9439da4b95a93-6d8214fccd9448f7a2a9439da4b95a93-0.jpg)

Germany chased shadows for much of the game and Barca were wearing them down. They was a goal mouth scramble where Iniesta broke away and Villa narrowly missed and open goal.

The front 3 Barca tandem of Xavi, Iniesta, Pedro and soon to be Villa looked more dangerous than any team they have fielded thus far.

Pedro undid all his hard work and creative play by one selfish decision. You would think someone like him who comes from a side of world class passers would have done better.

Viva La Roja
Post by: Cantona007 on July 07, 2010, 03:37:20 PM

Calamari...
Post by: Bourbon on July 07, 2010, 03:41:12 PM
Who de hell first thought of having an octopus predict football games anyhow?
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 03:43:37 PM

Who knows & who cares, maybe be 007 did?! But he's proving to be a hit!!  8)
Post by: giggsy11 on July 07, 2010, 03:56:56 PM

Calamari...

Breaded with an aoli sauce is the best!
Post by: giggsy11 on July 07, 2010, 03:59:16 PM
I have not seen the game yet and was trying to avoid finding out the result but failed after checking my email and the damn thing was sittin in looking at me. No I am not bussin a gut tuh watch on Sunday. Steeups!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: elan on July 07, 2010, 03:59:51 PM

I am impressed...

Respectfully disagree.. this is how spain play... you can't get the ball from them and they WILL wear you down. This is why they have only lost 2 games in 3 years!!

I thought germany had the weapons to hit dem on the counter but they stifled that too... Germany scored 4 goals three times in this World Cup and were made to look quite toothless... Impressive

Did you hear Klinsman.
Post by: elan on July 07, 2010, 04:00:37 PM

I am impressed...

Bro,
          I beg to differ here. Spain dictated the pace with a lot of lateral and short passes. They werenot that pretty or a forceful penetrating team like Germany. But Spain made life difficult for them. I would not say Spain outclass them, but played better than them.

Agreed.
Post by: Cantona007 on July 07, 2010, 04:05:10 PM

Calamari...

Breaded with an aoli sauce is the best!

I prefer a tart marinara, but this will work too...  ;D
Post by: elan on July 07, 2010, 04:07:53 PM

I not sure if peeps understand how much it does take out of players to be chasin de ball for 70 minutes out of a 90 minute game.

Germany game is based on a swift counter attack.  Spain game is based on possession of the ball...and when they lose possession, to win it back quickly by pressing the opposition.  Germany had 2 counter attack chances in the entire match.  Both of them were decent chances but it was all they had.  For a team that ran riot against England and Australia, it's a credit to Spain for the way they took Germany out of their game.

The point you make about not crossing the ball is salient.  Why cross the ball when midget Villa was never goin to win any header?  Bess to keep it and try to work an opening.  It's to Germany's credit that they kept their shape and discipline over the course of the game.

Not sure what happened with the goal and where the breakdown occurred....BOTH Pique AND Puyol had FREE HEADERS on that play.  Who lapse in de German defence?

Yeah but both of you miss the main point, Germany did not chase the ball. They took space away. Germany only started chasing after the goal was scored. Germany played the shyte football that Brazil played.
When the Germans pushed up and moved the ball around in the top of the mid 1/3 Spain was chasing (that's what they do) to win the ball back and Germany did well in keeping the ball. Spain looked dishevled in the midfield whenever Germany pressed them, even give the ball back. As long as Germany gave them the space they looked good, which is expected, but under pressure they did nothing spectacular.

As much as Puyol should have converted the 1st header, so to should have Klose converted the volley. Understanding what both teams was trying to do, the game was nothing saved for the goal.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 07, 2010, 04:12:45 PM

Well guess what, i got news fuh yuh!!! they lorse!!
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 07, 2010, 04:37:00 PM
Well fellas.... ah still in it!!!

Check this, midway first page.

Just like i called it:      http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=49645.0#lastPost
Post by: palos on July 07, 2010, 05:25:18 PM
Yeah but both of you miss the main point, Germany did not chase the ball. They took space away. Germany only started chasing after the goal was scored. Germany played the shyte football that Brazil played.
When the Germans pushed up and moved the ball around in the top of the mid 1/3 Spain was chasing (that's what they do) to win the ball back and Germany did well in keeping the ball. Spain looked dishevled in the midfield whenever Germany pressed them, even give the ball back. As long as Germany gave them the space they looked good, which is expected, but under pressure they did nothing spectacular.

As much as Puyol should have converted the 1st header, so to should have Klose converted the volley. Understanding what both teams was trying to do, the game was nothing saved for the goal.

Dude, you realize that once Germany start to press Spain lookin fuh de equalizer, how vulnerable they were on the counter from Spain?  De one Pedro fork up.....a nex when Torres was one on one wit Friedrich etc.  Dat is EXACTLY why Germany played the game plan they did...and every other team that plays Spain as well.  Because they know if they press dem, one of Spain's strengths is playing when they DON'T have the ball, regaining possession, and ketchin de opposition out of position in de process.

Low did what he had to do.  It didn't work.  That happens in football.  Germany were beaten by a CLEARLY SUPERIOR team on the day.  No shame in dat. 
Post by: palos on July 07, 2010, 05:27:23 PM
As much as Puyol should have converted the 1st header, so to should have Klose converted the volley.

Huh?  We obviously eh watchin de same game.
Post by: palos on July 07, 2010, 05:36:39 PM
"They have been playing together for several years, they are very cohesive, their moves come automatically," German striker Miroslav Klose said. "They were simply the better team."

SOURCE (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/report?id=264121&cc=5901&ver=us)

NUFF SAID.  PUNTO FINAL!
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 07, 2010, 05:37:14 PM

horse, i was talkin generally. never was i backin germany
my team dis world cup was ghana
so relax nah  ::)
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 07, 2010, 05:50:11 PM

I knew that. ha go take yuh advise. buh.. guess wha kinda beers ah drinking now? not carib or stag eh..wid the little bit ha fluid ozs I does get. Ha hope you make some sense when de fearless one ask you a few questions :devil:
Post by: Observer on July 07, 2010, 06:55:15 PM
Wisdom from the Kaiser

http://g.ca.sports.yahoo.com/soccer/world-cup/video/ssworldcup-19014010/beckenbauer-germany-s-success-a-surprise-20719955#video=20762048
Post by: Bakes on July 07, 2010, 07:06:32 PM

Go easy on dem dey coach... some ah dem World Cup coaches ent up to your level yet.  Del Bosque need tuh return tuh de 'forest' from whence he come, he clearly ent figure out that Pedro showing Torres how it's done yet.
Post by: Bakes on July 07, 2010, 07:10:33 PM

Calamari...

Pollock... Calamari is Squid.

Anyways... allyuh men evil boy, Octopus is one ah de smartest, most intelligent creatures on earth.  Something w/o ah backbone ent supposed tuh be dat bright.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 07, 2010, 07:20:53 PM

The person who remembered what intelligent creatures they are.  Paul smarter dan all ah we!   ;D
I am shocked.   The Germany we saw today was not the Germany we saw in the other knockout games....but then, they didn't play against Spain, either.  Missing Muller obviously hurt them, but on this day.....I eh so sure that even he would have mattered.  Congrats to Spain....I hope they beat holland.  (and all the Barca players get a winners' medal!!)  ;)
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 07, 2010, 07:41:49 PM

I knew that. ha go take yuh advise. buh.. guess wha kinda beers a h drinking now? not carib or stag eh..wid the little bit ha fluid ozs I does get. Ha hope you make some sense when de fearless one ask you a few questions :devil:

dat was already last week  :P
Post by: Jah Gol on July 07, 2010, 08:14:32 PM
Spain controlled the game and showed why they are the best team in the world. I hope they go on to win on Sunday. Who says you can't win playing beautiful football in the 21st century.
Post by: julie_mango on July 07, 2010, 08:47:52 PM
Elan, breds, doh study these Trinis on socawarriors, if Germany had that one goal, they wouldah be singing a different chune, they want to call everybody waggonist, Latapy is de best when he coach in Tobago against Costa Rica, then he is ah shithound the next day... the so called "experts" on this forum know nothing about football, yesterday, Germany was winning the world cup, today Spain winning the world cup. 

Part of the problem today as you correctly pointed out was the subbing of Boateng, also, don't remember his name but he did not impress me when he was subbed in prior games, #15, but today #15 should have stayed on the field, if Cacau was not injured, I thought he should have been given a run, or start in place Mueller. 

My only beef with Germany is they gave Spain too much respect, it was OK to give Spain room to knock the ball around, it was not like they had that many penetrating balls, like when Spain played Portugal, that was total control, Puyol came in with a great header today that won the match.  Not dissin Spain, they did a good job, overall the better team I must admit but it was not as one sided as the so called "experts" on this website seem to believe.  It is these same "experts" on this website that keeping back TnT football, right up their with Warner and the TTFF, same backward thinking immediate gratification mentality, only want to criticize and shout man down, once yuh not in they "crew", yuh torkin "shyte", that is crabs in the barrel mentality, it too prevalent here.

I am impressed...

Post by: elan on July 07, 2010, 08:58:51 PM

Dude, you realize that once Germany start to press Spain lookin fuh de equalizer, how vulnerable they were on the counter from Spain?  De one Pedro fork up.....a nex when Torres was one on one wit Friedrich etc.  Dat is EXACTLY why Germany played the game plan they did...and every other team that plays Spain as well.  Because they know if they press dem, one of Spain's strengths is playing when they DON'T have the ball, regaining possession, and ketchin de opposition out of position in de process.

Low did what he had to do.  It didn't work.  That happens in football.  Germany were beaten by a CLEARLY SUPERIOR team on the day.  No shame in dat. 

Before the goal even in the first half when Germany pushed higher up the field, Spain lost the ball easily. The midfield for both teams were nullified. Spain were not "superior" better yes, again no one answered the quetions I asked. What did they do that was superior other than score the goal (obviously that's all that matters)? No true penetrating balls, no final seam balls, poor crosses, no successful combination play in and around the box. Spain superiority lies in these, which they did not get to do.

It is expected that Spain would have had the ball more often, therefore you concede that part of the battle. No need to waste effort on that, what you have to control is the other aspects of the games which Germany did very well, just as Spain took away the counter attack.
Post by: elan on July 07, 2010, 09:00:28 PM

Go easy on dem dey coach... some ah dem World Cup coaches ent up to your level yet.  Del Bosque need tuh return tuh de 'forest' from whence he come, he clearly ent figure out that Pedro showing Torres how it's done yet.

I guess Torres played longer than Pedro today. Why did the coach not start Torres? You at basic level fella all you see is who score a goal.
Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 09:06:31 PM
Before the goal even in the first half when Germany pushed higher up the field, Spain lost the ball easily. The midfield for both teams were nullified. Spain were not "superior" better yes, again no one answered the quetions I asked. What did they do that was superior other than score the goal (obviously that's all that matters)? No true penetrating balls, no final seam balls, poor crosses, no successful combination play in and around the box. Spain superiority lies in these, which they did not get to do.

It is expected that Spain would have had the ball more often, therefore you concede that part of the battle. No need to waste effort on that, what you have to control is the other aspects of the games which Germany did very well, just as Spain took away the counter attack.

Quote of the month!

Go back and clarify that before yuh get a davyjenny award
Post by: ribbit on July 07, 2010, 09:45:31 PM
As much as Puyol should have converted the 1st header, so to should have Klose converted the volley.

elan, yuh mean de volley from kroos? ???
Post by: Bakes on July 07, 2010, 10:33:00 PM
I guess Torres played longer than Pedro today. Why did the coach not start Torres? You at basic level fella all you see is who score a goal.

Maybe because Torres not completely fit and not producing?  Contrary to what you assert, Pedro ent producing much more than Torres... and he eh have de benefit of injury to blame.  But yuh right... I on ah basic level, with del Bosque and dem apparently.  Yuh hiding out or what... how come de RFEF ent know yuh available?
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 08, 2010, 12:04:26 AM

I knew that. ha go take yuh advise. buh.. guess wha kinda beers a h drinking now? not carib or stag eh..wid the little bit ha fluid ozs I does get. Ha hope you make some sense when de fearless one ask you a few questions :devil:

dat was already last week  :P
So yuh think it end there, not ah chance. The fearless one always have individuals come back orn and plus it have 2014 right round the block so doh slip up. You're tagged baby.
Post by: Savannah boy on July 08, 2010, 01:24:31 AM
Del Bosque eh coaching one fart. Dat team doing what dey doing in spite of him. All he doing is calling everybody son of a bitch on missed shots.
Post by: Savannah boy on July 08, 2010, 01:30:48 AM
Germany guilty of not doing what they do best. They tried to be too defensive.  Schweinsteiger and Kadeira were playing so close to the back four that their team could not attack with their usual numbers. I know they missed Mueller and Podolski played real shit. They gave Spain too much respect and as a result too much possession. Loew looked at the Paraguay game tape and tried to replicate it...big mistake.
Post by: Red Mango on July 08, 2010, 02:33:22 AM
The better team won on the day...

it was about tactics, not tic-tacs

(Spain = pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, frustrate, look for the break, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, pass, have a go and so on and CAPITALIZE on their chances. is 2 yes 2 free headers Puyol get, 1 in each half, and NOT A GERMAN CLOSE HIM DOWN...)

Germany never used the channels to get behind the defence in the same way as they did against The Old Enemy (Engerland) or The New Enemy (Argentina)... they missed Muller yes, but look to the 3rd place play off v Uruguay and see for yourselves...

Lowe has proved what Klinsmann set in motion though, technical ability + skill + movement = game winning performances, when everybody knows their role...

Many could learn a thing or 2 from this game, especially if you look at the segments where each had possession and used the ball effectively... The only thing missing from the German performance to get them the game they really wanted (against Holland) was to score first and make the Spanish panic and take the game to them...

A sure fire carbon copy of the Euro 2008 Final (same score, though the goal came in a totally different way in Austria)...

Onward to The Final...
Post by: willi on July 08, 2010, 03:37:15 AM
Spain is a bigger side to Germany. Men playing against a good interCol side. LoL

Allyuh can gwaan mek excuse, but Spain have Germany ticket long time. Go back go watch the Euro2008 final!
Post by: sammy on July 08, 2010, 06:16:35 AM
steups....world cup done early yes :'(
Post by: JDB on July 08, 2010, 06:21:58 AM

Too right for all the popularity of counter attcking football now, Spain and Barcelona are the two most devastatiing counter-attacking teams. We just don't get a chance to see it because teams do not commit many men against them. We had some glimpses in Barcelona vs Arsenal though. I don't know what people expect Spain to do when they facing 9 men line up in front of them. I could guarantee that if Spain play Germany that way Germany wouldn't have a hope of scoring from open play.

Germany cannot press Spain high up the field for 90 minutes because they cannot hold on tto the ball. Spain's team defence is excellent. Every manjack including Iniesta, Xavi, Pedro and Villa swarm the player holding the ball so a team like Germany cannot keep the ball passing around Spain for long. This is especially so when you consider that, unlike Spain, their centre-backs can't get involved because they are not comfortable on the ball. They only have so many options before they lose the ball.

For all the talk about Spain not doing anything with the ball what do these other sides do. If Spain's possession game is their best defensive tool at least it is a toolthat is guaranteed to wear down the opposition and always keep them on their toes on the edge of their own box.

They are much more adventurous and brave than a team like Germany and for that they deserve credit. How many teams wil lput a dribbler out there to create something knowing that is an easy way to lose possession. I will also give them credit for not trying to leverage their technical advantage to earn penalties. Several time sthey coulda walk into the box, try a dribble and wait for a foul but they pass up that opportunity everytime.
Post by: Observer on July 08, 2010, 06:31:02 AM
Germany guilty of not doing what they do best. They tried to be too defensive.  Schweinsteiger and Kadeira were playing so close to the back four that their team could not attack with their usual numbers. I know they missed Mueller and Podolski played real shit. They gave Spain too much respect and as a result too much possession. Loew looked at the Paraguay game tape and tried to replicate it...big mistake.

You serious with this comment, or is you who did not look at the Paraguay game.
Paraguay pressed Spain and in particular they focused on pressing Alonso and Busquets. Where and when did Germany do the same?
Post by: JDB on July 08, 2010, 08:27:36 AM

You serious with this comment, or is you who did not look at the Paraguay game.
Paraguay pressed Spain and in particular they focused on pressing Alonso and Busquets. Where and when did Germany do the same?

Observer I was thinking the same think but don't want to seem like I twisting the knife. Paraguay give Spain more pressure. They defend in a similar fashion to Germany but Paraguay's counters were more open and free-flowing and less dependant on just outrunning the Spanish midfield to the next penalty box.
Post by: Bitter on July 08, 2010, 08:45:23 AM
Spain 1-0 Germany: Pressing, passing and Puyol
July 7, 2010
http://www.zonalmarking.net/2010/07/07/spain-1-0-germany-2010-world-cup-tactics/

The starting line-ups
(http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/1480/spaaaaaainifinalfinalfi.jpg)

A narrow but deserved victory for Spain, who simply carried out their gameplan more effectively than their opponents.

There were two issues to be decided with the starting line-ups. Joachim Loew chose Piotr Trochowski ahead of Toni Kroos to replace Thomas Mueller, whilst Vicente del Bosque finally dropped Fernando Torres, opting for Barcelona’s wide forward Pedro instead.

And it was Pedro who was the key player in the opening period of the game. He was constantly involved in play, receiving the ball both in wide areas and centrally, between the lines. He played a superb through ball to David Villa to create the game’s first (and arguably best) opportunity, but his best work was in his movement and positioning. He didn’t always stay wide, but he made darting runs in behind opponents to create attacking options, whereas David Silva (who started the other game Spain played without Torres, against Switzerland) looks to play a slightly more casual, relaxed passing game.

The other man who had an excellent opening period was Sergio Busquets. Not the most popular player in the Spain squad, and probably the least naturally gifted midfielder on show today, but he did his job very well, both with and without the ball. He forced Mesut Oezil to have a quiet game and followed him throughout the pitch. Oezil started to wander into deep positions, allowing Sami Khedira to make forward runs, but Spain dealt with this well – Busquets continued to close Oezil down regardless of which position he took up, whilst Xavi dropped in and covered.

Busquets’ positional sense is exemplary, for he manages to constantly take up positions which simultaneously make him available for a pass, and be in place to prevent opponents attacking if the move dies down. In the first half he attempted 40 passes, and completed 39 – his critics will say that he only ever plays short passes to Xavi and Andres Iniesta, but that is his job. Besides, it wasn’t necessarily true, as the statistics show he frequently played forward balls to Pedro.

Pressing

The best feature of Spain’s game was their pressing. Germany played superbly against England and against Argentina, and the quality of those performances should not be forgotten or understated after this defeat, but Loew’s men found themselves up against an entirely different challenge in midfield today. England’s pressing was awful whilst Argentina’s wasn’t properly integrated, but Spain did it amazingly well throughout. Germany’s two central midfielders were denied time and space on the ball and weren’t able to play the killer passes they had done so well in this tournament. Whereas against England they had 3 v 2 in the centre of midfield, today they were down 3 v 4 when Iniesta came inside, and they struggled to work the ball into the final third.

Germany seemed disjointed between the midfield and attack. Miroslav Klose and Lukas Podolski saw little of the ball in build-up play – and not once in the entire game one complete a pass to the other, which sums up how much Germany struggled in attack. Mueller was also missed – Trochowski had a decent game, but is simply not the same type of player as Muller, who more naturally linked up with Klose and made direct runs towards goal. There was less movement and interchanging of positions, and Klose found it difficult against Pique and Puyol.

Passing

Iniesta coming inside to create a numerical advantage for Spain in midfield also worked predictably well when they had the ball. A key method of getting the ball forward was to bring Iniesta in to create the 4 v 3, therefore forcing one of the Germany wingers into the centre of the pitch to try to relieve the shortfall. In turn, this created space for Joan Capdevila and Sergio Ramos, who would storm forward into dangerous positions. Ramos did this particularly well, and Podolski spent much of the game on defensive duty, rather than running towards Spain’s goal.

Despite Spain passing well, they weren’t creating a great amount of chances. Villa had his quietest game of the competition so far, closely marshalled by the two German centre-backs. They practically doubled up on him, denying him space to turn, for they weren’t too worried about the threat of runs in behind from other players, as Spain generally only got a maximum of three players into dangerous positions. The full-backs dealt with the other two.

Germany looked happy to accept Spain having the majority of possession, but the German counter-attacks weren’t forthcoming. Their wide players were in defensive positions, whilst Busquets and Alonso broke up attacks high up the pitch, meaning Gerard Pique and Carles Puyol were rarely threatened by Klose.

This general pattern of play continued after half-time, although the game opened up slightly and there were more shots on goal. Most of came from Spain – long-range efforts from Pedro and Alonso, and a cross smashed across the six-yard box that David Villa nearly converted. But the best chance at 0-0 fell to Germany, and Kroos. It was a move reminiscent of Germany’s final three goals against Argentina – Oezil moved to the left to overload Spain on the flank, he slipped the ball to Podolski, whose cross found Kroos. His volley was hit into the floor, and was a reasonably easy save for Casillas.

Puyol

For a game featuring a great tactical battle and tremendous, intricate passing moves, the winner was incredibly simple. Xavi swung the corner in, Carles Puyol’s run from deep caught out Germany’s zonal marking system, and he powered a header into the net to give Spain the lead.

And as we’ve said so often in this tournament, when Spain take the lead, they never look like losing it. Nor did they look like losing the ball for much of the final 20 minutes – there was little intention to try and score a second (although Pedro wasted a chance to square to Fernando Torres to confirm the win) and they closed the game out effectively. Germany threw on Mario Gomez for Khedira, but never looked like scoring.

Conclusion

In all, a marvellous game of football. Tense and tight in the first half, with the teams trying to work each other out and passing the ball excellently. Then a slightly more open second half – with the better side going ahead relatively late on (but still with enough time for their opponents to get back in the game). They couldn’t, and the win was deserved.

Germany’s midfield has been utterly superb throughout this tournament, but here they simply found themselves against players that were better both in and out of possession. Xavi was the star man – completing more passes than any other player, running a greater distance than any other player, dictating the game from the centre of midfield, and providing the assist for the goal.

But maybe the most crucial difference was simply quality. Oezil, Schweinsteiger and Khedira are talented players on the up, but were up against Iniesta, Alonso and Xavi, three of the best midfielders of their generation. It would be unfair to say Germany’s trio were outclassed, but they were certainly second best on the day.
Post by: elan on July 08, 2010, 12:26:21 PM

Maybe because Torres not completely fit and not producing?  Contrary to what you assert, Pedro ent producing much more than Torres... and he eh have de benefit of injury to blame.  But yuh right... I on ah basic level, with del Bosque and dem apparently.  Yuh hiding out or what... how come de RFEF ent know yuh available?

Once yuh on the field yuh fit. Ref. Drogba. Apparently you don't understand the other dimensions of the game, other than when a goal score. Why was Boateng replaced?

Come up with something better nah man. Show a little creativity in your knowledge of the game. How about you tell me how what I say is wrong. I guess you can be a better coach than Rafa, but I knows nothing.
Post by: elan on July 08, 2010, 12:28:15 PM

elan, yuh mean de volley from kroos? ???

Yeah, the one with the inside of the foot.
Post by: elan on July 08, 2010, 12:35:17 PM

Too right for all the popularity of counter attcking football now, Spain and Barcelona are the two most devastatiing counter-attacking teams. We just don't get a chance to see it because teams do not commit many men against them. We had some glimpses in Barcelona vs Arsenal though. I don't know what people expect Spain to do when they facing 9 men line up in front of them. I could guarantee that if Spain play Germany that way Germany wouldn't have a hope of scoring from open play.

Germany cannot press Spain high up the field for 90 minutes because they cannot hold on tto the ball. Spain's team defence is excellent. Every manjack including Iniesta, Xavi, Pedro and Villa swarm the player holding the ball so a team like Germany cannot keep the ball passing around Spain for long. This is especially so when you consider that, unlike Spain, their centre-backs can't get involved because they are not comfortable on the ball. They only have so many options before they lose the ball.

For all the talk about Spain not doing anything with the ball what do these other sides do. If Spain's possession game is their best defensive tool at least it is a toolthat is guaranteed to wear down the opposition and always keep them on their toes on the edge of their own box.

They are much more adventurous and brave than a team like Germany and for that they deserve credit. How many teams wil lput a dribbler out there to create something knowing that is an easy way to lose possession. I will also give them credit for not trying to leverage their technical advantage to earn penalties. Several time sthey coulda walk into the box, try a dribble and wait for a foul but they pass up that opportunity everytime.

It's easy to put a dribbler on there, as you must have that penetrating option. As Germany showed, the passing did nothing to threaten a goal. Shots from outside and set pieces was what it came down too. Can't see how you all not getting this. SPAIN HAD ALL THE BAL,L YES. However, that's was it, they had the ball, Germany was never frustrated. As again, show where they were chasing the ball. Look at the German lines and let me know.

Germany lost and at the end of the day that's all that matters. Goals are the only thing that counts in this game. You all ounderstand and see the game differently to me. As I said Understanding how both teams play the game had nothing in it.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 08, 2010, 12:38:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/p0Q6ax7vxlg
Nothing to do with the game but ....
Post by: elan on July 08, 2010, 12:39:57 PM

Quote of the month!

Go back and clarify that before yuh get a davyjenny award

Did you see the " "?
Post by: Red Mango on July 08, 2010, 12:46:06 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/p0Q6ax7vxlg
Nothing to do with the game but ....

:beermug: :beermug:

A Boom A Lack...  ;D
Post by: asylumseeker on July 08, 2010, 12:48:06 PM
Del Bosque eh coaching one fart. Dat team doing what dey doing in spite of him. All he doing is calling everybody son of a bitch on missed shots.

I wonder what Aragones thinks about these proceedings. Actually here's what he says:

Speaking to Al-Jazeera, he said: "It will be difficult to beat Spain now.

"The important thing is that the team that kept possession of the ball won. They [Spain] could have had more goals on the counterattack, but today [against Germany], football won."

Whoever the winner in the final is, Aragones is pleased with the two sides who will be competing in it.

"This will serve well for football," he declared.

and

Former national coach Luis Aragones criticized the team's tactics after its shocking 1-0 upset loss to Switzerland on Wednesday, adding that a lackadaisical start didn't help.

"There wasn't enough conviction to go and seize the game from the opening second," said Aragones, who led Spain to its European Championship triumph in 2008.

"We lacked speed off the ball, and we didn't look for open space well enough."

Aragones did not agree with successor Vicente del Bosque's decision to play both Xabi Alonso and Sergio Busquets in midfield, with both players often hanging back -- especially Busquets, who is a defensive player.

"The better team didn't win, just the better organized one," Aragones said after the match.

Del Bosque sought to defuse the situation, saying that he "totally respects" Aragones' opinions.

"Not one bad word will escape my mouth about" him, Del Bosque said. "There is only one Spain -- not one Del Bosque one and another Aragones one."

The coach added that "everyone has the right to express their own opinions. He's a person that knows this group of players. He's worked with them and has achieved success."

and

Former Spain boss Luis Aragones has praised current coach Vicente del Bosque for not altering their style of play to counter the style of an opponent after they overcame Portugal to reach the World Cup quarter-final.

Aragones, who lead Spain to European Championship glory in 2008, has defended his stance that la Furia Roja did not play well in the group stages but acknowledged that they are gradually improving.

"I've told what I see as the truth. In the groups I said we did not have good games. The team had possession of the ball but did not make many chances," Aragones was quoted as saying by AS.

"They have gone from low to high. In the first three games they were a little slow, did not offer an acceptable pace of movement of the ball, but in the second half against Portugal we saw a Spain that moves the ball very well.

They controlled the game and the chances and therefore deserved to go through. But the way they play does not change for anyone. The coach has to take credit for not changing their style because of the opponent."

Post by: dinho on July 08, 2010, 02:16:20 PM
Amazing how men could watch this brand of football being played by this Spain side and not label it anything but beautiful. The intricate passing, the movement off the ball, the pressing, the defensive structure.. basically ah bess brand and men calling that frustrating???

Even the German coach come out and say that Spain right now are the masters of football and acknowledged them as the plainly superior team. Germany looking bad yesterday is more a consequence of Spain looking good, and it is to the credit of the strength of this German team that they were able to plug the holes and limit the opportunities that Spain had to cut them open.

Spain peaking at the right time in this tournament. It will take alot for them not to win this World Cup.

But lewwe see what Paul the Octopus have to say about the matter.
Post by: Flex on July 08, 2010, 04:40:40 PM
Spain ’s seductive siesta salivates.
By: Lasana Liburd (T&T Express).

Ten minutes into the 2010 World Cup semifinal between European giants Spain and Germany , the British television commentator declared “nothing of relevance so far…”

And there I was—spellbound by the rhythm of the game.

The commentator’s mood did not change in the first half.

I thought the distaste for football that did not involve breakneck pace and smashing bodies was a cliché. Perhaps not.

For me, though, this was the game I fell in love with in the late 1980’s when artists like Zico, Michel Platini, Michael Laudrup, Marco Van Basten, Socrates, Enzo Francescoli, Carlos Valderamma, Roberto Baggio, Paul Gascoigne and the incomparable Diego Maradona wore shorts and created vivid, brilliant pictures with a football.

It was an era when Dutch legend Johan Cryuff could chastise his players for running too much without inviting ridicule.

“Football is a game you play with your brains,” said Cryuff, a champion as a player and coach. “You have to be in the right place at the right moment, not too early, not too late.”

These days, advances in diet, medicine and physical conditioning tip the scale in favour of natural athletes and football is often a game of whack and move like tennis.

And then, right after the slog fest of Uruguay versus Netherlands and Germany ’s free scoring triumphs over Argentina and England , along comes a Spanish team moving with all the intensity of a civil servant after his lunch break on a Friday afternoon.

“It is a game that can burst into life at anytime,” he said, as though imploring viewers not to switch to Channel Three’s cooking program.

But the game was humming. Spain were not stumbling through a siesta.

Rather Spanish manager Vicente Del Bosque deduced that the young German outfit fancied the all-action, kamikaze stuff. And so, he made it a game of patience. It was like a cricket test match started, unannounced, in the middle of a 20/ 20 tournament.

Xavi and Andres Iniesta toyed with the ball while the anxious Germans sat back and waited for their turn to play. For all the benefits of the counter-attacking game favoured by the likes of twice European champion, Jose Mourinho, it is a retro-active and therefore—at least in the opinion of a writer with no coaching badges—an inferior style. It relies on a team pushing without abandon into opposition territory, being loose with possession and then tardy in setting up a defensive trap while also leaving gaps to be exploited.

The Spanish squad moved together in a compact unit and pressed high up the pitch as a safeguard against the long, majestic diagonal balls from midfield that tore Argentina and England to shreds. But that was only Plan B. The pro-active Spaniards focused more on exploiting German weaknesses than becoming too preoccupied with the unquestionable ability of their opponents.

If every game were a slugfest, would such high scoring, reckless clashes not become boring and predictable?

Spain had other ideas about their semi-final assignment. Del Bosque set up a squad capable of the intricate “tikki takki” passing game espoused by Spanish champions, Barcelona . They pushed Germany back and waited. Like a parent pretending to be reading the paper while eyeing a child becoming more engrossed in a game with running water.

When Germany least expected it… Slap!

Carlos Puyol soared through the air to power home his first World Cup goal after eight years of trying. It was his third international goal after 89 appearances. German goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, quite understandably and for more reasons than one, never saw it coming.

The televised highlights would show Puyol’s superb headed effort and a few near misses. But it will not come close to telling the tale. In the same way that brief replays of tumbling wickets can never capture the essence of an epic test match. Or the image of a sword being thrust into a bull’s shoulder says nothing about the drama of a bullfight.

After an unsightly identity crisis following their opening defeat to Switzerland , Spain seem to have regained their composure and belief at a crucial juncture. There were seven Barcelona employees in their starting line-up to face Germany and there is unlikely to be change for Sunday’s final against the Netherlands .

The Dutch are muscular in central midfield where the bruising pair of Nigel De Jong and Mark Van Bommel are surely two of the harshest art critics in the game today. Neither will be as easily seduced by a feigned Spanish siesta as the green Germans.

There were signs of unease too by Spanish captain and goalkeeper Iker Casillas that might encourage Dutch fans.

If the captain is meant to embody the ethos of his squad, then it must be incongruous that Spain are led by a goalkeeper who is always anxious to punch and hack rather than hold the football.

But let us not get ahead of ourselves with thoughts of Sunday’s show.

Instead, kudos to a cerebral contest that was more “Sixth Sense” than “Die Hard”. Some patrons would scoff at one movie and praise the other. A true connoisseur can appreciate both.
Post by: palos on July 08, 2010, 07:11:52 PM
WOW!

Top class stuff from Lasana here.  I would put this article alongside ANY OTHER in ANY PUBLICATION by ANY WRITER and it would more than hold it's own.

Lasana mus be a Spaniard by osmosis because he right at de top of his game here.   :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

Respeck and thanx Flex for posting this  :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on July 08, 2010, 08:56:20 PM
WOW!

Top class stuff from Lasana here.  I would put this article alongside ANY OTHER in ANY PUBLICATION by ANY WRITER and it would more than hold it's own.

Lasana mus be a Spaniard by osmosis because he right at de top of his game here.   :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

LASANA IS A BOSSSS
Post by: Sam on July 09, 2010, 04:39:26 AM
Lasana, I think Van Bronckhorst is de Dutch captain.... :devil:
Post by: Dutty on July 09, 2010, 06:52:31 AM
WOW!

I was jus about to say dat

This man writing style improve by leaps since he lil 'hiatus'.......on the other hand he was probably sandbagging with de express all along
Post by: sammy on July 09, 2010, 07:04:11 AM
steups....doh care what no one say, that game was boring no arse. Best casillas and puyol play 1-2 in the back, whole game. All that knocking with no aim, imagine puyol had to come and score the winner - to his credit offcourse.

I fear for the finals snooze fest. I wonder who will fall down the most in the final, iniesta or robben? >:(
Post by: dinho on July 09, 2010, 07:36:55 AM
Excellent article by Lasana!! :applause: :applause: :applause:

I like how he call Van Bommel and De Jong two of the game's harshest art critics.. lol
Post by: kicker on July 09, 2010, 08:46:38 AM
To me Spain's game is more precision, patience and compactness than it is jogo bonito.  Their passing is not that special to look at unless they decide to spring intricate one-two's in the attacking third (which they did particularly in the 2nd half against Germany) as opposed to the easy option of  knocking it out wide to Sergio Ramos for the cross... which when they fall into the trap of doing (i.e. in the confed-cup against U.S.A, and against Switzerland and Honduras for long periods) they are actually kinda ordinary IMO...but it's very effective because it moves the ball forward in small increments allowing the team to inch forward as a unit and stay compact- one of the reasons why Spain isn't too susceptible to the counter-attack.  If the Dutch can hustle and muscle them off the ball like Chile did before they went down to 10 men, Spain's passing game all of a sudden will look very poor and out of sorts as it did in the Chile game before they got the man advantage.

Barca's game for e.g. all around the field is alot prettier than Spain's- Barca works the ball quicker, they're more resilient to defensive pressure and they execute passes within tighter spaces and with more non-traditional angles which gives their passing game a much better look.  Brazilian, Argentine and Dutch teams of the past have been prettier in possession than this Spain team - Maybe using less passes, but more non traditional angles, and less straight-forward passes i.e. flicks, no-looks, dummies and dribbles in between... but in the modern int'l game Spain is probably as good a passing team as we'll see...   
Post by: Brownsugar on July 09, 2010, 08:52:20 AM
But lewwe see what Paul the Octopus have to say about the matter.

He say Spain will win and I say  :flamethrower: for Paul.....literally!!... :devil: ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on July 09, 2010, 12:38:02 PM
WOW!

LASANA IS A BOSSSS

COSIGNNNNNNNN!!!!!.... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

(p.s ah only NOW read the article   ;D)