Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 04:02:33 PM

Title: WC 2010 - Match 63 - Play-off for third place (10 July): Uruguay vs Germany
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 04:02:33 PM
Match 63 - For third place - 10 July
Nelson Mandela Bay/Port Elizabeth - Port Elizabeth Stadium

Head-to-Head

Total  Total 
 Germany    Uruguay 
 3 Matches Played 3 
 2 Wins 0 
 1 Draws 1 
 0 Losses 2 
 6 Goals for 1 
 1 Goals against 6

I will leave it to E-Man to update the preview after he recovers from Germany's disappointment!  :(
Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 63 - Match for third place (10 July): Uruguay vs Germany
Post by: Brownsugar on July 07, 2010, 06:44:56 PM
Why FIFA does even bother with this 3rd place thing??   ??? :-\
Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 63 - Match for third place (10 July): Uruguay vs Germany
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 06:50:01 PM

More money to be made in television rights, ticket sales, etc.

Plus more money for the 3rd place team & more points for them in the FIFA rankings!

Who going to say no to that?  ;)
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 07, 2010, 07:24:00 PM

Plus more money for the 3rd place team & more points for them in the FIFA rankings!

Doh mind she!  She only showin' off 'cause she side goin' and win second place!!   Well look ting nuh!
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 09:14:33 PM

Doh mind she!  She only showin' off 'cause she side goin' and win second place!!   Well look ting nuh!

:notlistening:
Post by: Brownsugar on July 08, 2010, 05:09:29 AM

Chups....
Post by: Socapro on July 08, 2010, 08:05:33 AM

Doh mind she!  She only showin' off 'cause she side goin' and win SECOND place!!   Well look ting nuh!

Yeah, yuh probably right!  8)
Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 63 - Play-off for third place (10 July): Uruguay vs Germany
Post by: mwanasoka on July 09, 2010, 10:36:10 PM
This is my Final here.
Now Germany,remove yuh gloves
and issue ah serious Arse Wooping. :praying:
Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 63 - Play-off for third place (10 July): Uruguay vs Germany
Post by: Big Magician on July 10, 2010, 04:55:06 AM
Paul yuh mudder come
Post by: E-man on July 10, 2010, 10:40:20 AM
Unfortunately, I won't be able to watch this game live today, so expect the goal celebrations later on.

We were seriously bummed on Wednesday boy.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/04HP3AN4I19lo/610x.jpg)

Go Germany!

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0boDh0TcVU1aE/610x.jpg)
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 10, 2010, 10:41:05 AM
i need a germany win for the betting pool at work.
Post by: D.H.W on July 10, 2010, 12:17:49 PM
Go Germany!
Post by: giggsy11 on July 10, 2010, 12:33:43 PM
If harkes calling this game that could mean he not calling the final tomorrow! From my mouth to Jah's ears!
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 10, 2010, 12:38:08 PM
dat blasted suarez. evertime i see him i get sick

an now uruguay appealin heavy heavy for a hand ball. forkin hypocrites  >:(
Post by: giggsy11 on July 10, 2010, 12:43:46 PM
The way Schweinsteiger runs and carries him self favors Beckham and reminds me of him. Obviously more talented and better than Beckham.
Post by: richpy on July 10, 2010, 12:49:32 PM
R9 WC scoring record safe, ah could breathe easy now!
Klose must have been in real poor health not to play this game, unless they bring him on
Post by: richpy on July 10, 2010, 12:55:48 PM
They booing the hell out of Suarez. Ian Darke say it in poor taste
Post by: E-man on July 10, 2010, 12:56:31 PM
1:0 (pcture to follow I'm on a BB)
Post by: giggsy11 on July 10, 2010, 01:08:14 PM
Ah wonder if Hitler enjoying watching this Germany side? :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on July 10, 2010, 01:08:55 PM
1-1 now
Post by: asylumseeker on July 10, 2010, 01:11:06 PM
anybody feel 3rd place goals shouldn't count in the golden boot tally?
Post by: richpy on July 10, 2010, 01:14:11 PM
That is how yuh make a player/team feel uncomfortable. Suarez passing off the ball quick quick now.

Might have factored in him throwing away too.

Uruguay looking good.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 10, 2010, 01:18:43 PM
anybody feel 3rd place goals shouldn't count in the golden boot tally?

why not?
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 10, 2010, 01:19:30 PM

why u vex with suarez....vex with gyan for missing the penalty.
Post by: Trini Madness on July 10, 2010, 01:22:57 PM

gyan redeem himself with de second penalty. and it meant something to make gyan take the first penalty in the PSO.

go germany!!!
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 01:24:22 PM
The way Schweinsteiger runs and carries him self favors Beckham and reminds me of him. Obviously more talented and better than Beckham.

Lol... I does cyah believe the shit I does read on this site sometimes nah.
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 01:26:25 PM

What de f**k Gyan missing have to do with Suarez blatant cheating?  Even forking Fucile nearly break he back on ah backflip trying to hands de ball.  Let Suarez haul he mudderc**t... take boo in yuh kakahole.
Post by: D.H.W on July 10, 2010, 01:30:02 PM
yuh know that ball rel f**ked up. stueps , first time i see a ball make so much movement in flight at speed.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 10, 2010, 01:30:27 PM

What de f**k Gyan missing have to do with Suarez blatant cheating?  Even forking Fucile nearly break he back on ah backflip trying to hands de ball.  Let Suarez haul he mudderc**t... take boo in yuh kakahole.

i didnt say suarez didnt cheat but a lot of players would have done the same...it is an instinct...i have done it and to be honest in the heat of the moment there is only one thing on ur mind ...dont let the goal score.

Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 01:38:06 PM
i didnt say suarez didnt cheat but a lot of players would have done the same...it is an instinct...i have done it and to be honest in the heat of the moment there is only one thing on ur mind ...dont let the goal score.

I have seen many other professionals try in vain to reach the ball with their heads, arms fully locked to their sides as to not even give the chance of a handball.  This discounts the notion that "any" pro would do the same as others have argued.  I also personally don't think there was anything "instinctive" about it... as Observer rightly pointed out in the other thread, Suarez only hands it because Fucile miss handling it himself.  Them men was of the deliberate mindset (to me) not to let that ball score at any cost, that late in the game.
Post by: DeSoWa on July 10, 2010, 01:38:31 PM
we disappointed with Gyan for missing that penalty but no way feeling sorry for Suarez, he deserve what he get now...play with fire you get burn!  >:(

Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 01:38:57 PM
Forlan a-facking- gain... lol

Off de shin dis time.
Post by: richpy on July 10, 2010, 01:39:07 PM
Flicking Forlan

Wonderful volley!
Post by: D.H.W on July 10, 2010, 01:40:40 PM
GOAL SAH !!!! :notworthy: :salute:
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 01:40:50 PM
we disappointed with Gyan for missing that penalty but no way feeling sorry for Suarez, he deserve what he get now...play with fire you get burn!  >:(

Plus de fact for me that he showed absolutely no remorse... in fact just de opposite, de facker had the nerve to say he'd do it again if necessary.  Let him haul he backside.
Post by: Trini Madness on July 10, 2010, 01:43:29 PM

Plus de fact for me that he showed absolutely no remorse... in fact just de opposite, de facker had the nerve to say he'd do it again if necessary.  Let him haul he backside.

:beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 01:43:51 PM
Muslera in a mess.
Post by: DeSoWa on July 10, 2010, 01:44:38 PM
nice header, not sure if he intended it though...we go take it anyhow  ;D

Post by: weary1969 on July 10, 2010, 01:45:46 PM
nice header, not sure if he intended it though...we go take it anyhow  ;D

ENTTTTTTTTT
Post by: Trini Madness on July 10, 2010, 01:46:47 PM
i dunno why de english announcer only mentioning suarez...steups...even harkes said he wouldve tried to head de ball out. what suarez did was unprofessional plain and simple.....what scout go take a kid for doing that? tell me!!
Post by: DeSoWa on July 10, 2010, 01:47:11 PM
why them commentators saying it is disgraceful they way the crowd is booing Suarez  ???

I have heard plenty players get booed in the EPL just for switching teams and they never had a problem with it then...blasted hyprocrites  >:(

Post by: giggsy11 on July 10, 2010, 01:48:43 PM

Lol... I does cyah believe the shit I does read on this site sometimes nah.

LOL.... Funny thing is I say the same thing when I have read the majority of your posts, save a couple!
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 10, 2010, 01:50:13 PM
i dunno why de english announcer only mentioning suarez...steups...even harkes said he wouldve tried to head de ball out. what suarez did was unprofessional plain and simple.....what scout go take a kid for doing that? tell me!!

quote exactly what harkes..he joked and gave the politically correct answer and said he would head the ball because he good enough to head then he said on a serious note it is an instinct and suarez did what any player would do....if yuh quoting quote correctly, don't quote the part that benefit u....now i not defending suarez but de fellah young and he will learn his lesson and if he doesnt then it may have a negative impact on his career.
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 01:50:53 PM
LOL.... Funny thing is I say the same thing when I have read the majority of your posts, save a couple!

Given the depths of your understanding I actually take comfort in not making sense to you... we simply communicate on different levels.
Post by: Fyzoman on July 10, 2010, 01:52:02 PM

right???? let the boo birds haul they stinkin asses....Gyan is ah effin GOAT...if he did score de kiss-meh-tail penalty life woulda go on, nobody woulda be talkin no stupidness bout changing rule and all kinda sh*&.....score de frickin penalty for yuh team and Africa, and all non-racist.
Post by: Trini Madness on July 10, 2010, 01:53:42 PM

quote exactly what harkes..he joked and gave the politically correct answer and said he would head the ball because he good enough to head then he said on a serious note it is an instinct and suarez did what any player would do....if yuh quoting quote correctly, don't quote the part that benefit u....now i not defending suarez but de fellah young and he will learn his lesson and if he doesnt then it may have a negative impact on his career.

if thats what he said then im sry i take it back. but i did manage to hear what i just said in the previous post. didnt no he was joking.  :beermug:

i just hate de fact it have people calling him a "hero" steups...please...
Post by: Fyzoman on July 10, 2010, 01:57:49 PM
hear nah ah wonder if men woulda be so bent outta shape if dis handball was in a game between two european or south american..or any team dat wasn't ah african team...and if i get back into coaching, i would advise my young charges to do de same damn thing senor Suarez did...or as Small Mag said (words to de effect), "fly and wrap it up like m*&ther c*&t Buffon!!)
Post by: Trini Madness on July 10, 2010, 01:58:21 PM

right???? let the boo birds haul they stinkin asses....Gyan is ah effin GOAT...if he did score de kiss-meh-tail penalty life woulda go on, nobody woulda be talkin no stupidness bout changing rule and all kinda sh*&.....score de frickin penalty for yuh team and Africa, and all non-racist.

even if he did...people wouldve been complaining how ghana playing dirty. do u know de amount of people only fighting me down cuz of that??? f**k that sh!t dread. every flikkin day boy...is only heckle after heckle...and i only feel they stereotyping....if it were some other team outside of africa it wouldve been silent
Post by: giggsy11 on July 10, 2010, 01:59:08 PM

Given the depths of your understanding I actually take comfort in not making sense to you... we simply communicate on different levels.

Dred trust me you have a one track mind- "try tuh show people on this forum how smart I am". I guess the people you deal with on a one on one level off the forum don't think you are as smart as you will like to believe that you are! But whatever floats your boat; if it makes you feel like you are somebody and a smart somebody when you post on this forum carry on son!  ;)
Post by: Red Mango on July 10, 2010, 02:03:56 PM

:beermug: :beermug: Jam dem!!!
Post by: Red Mango on July 10, 2010, 02:08:21 PM

I'm in TOTAL agreement with this post... these things should NOT be encouraged in the game...

Keep it clean... Honour before Glory, because being inglorious is not honourable...
Post by: weary1969 on July 10, 2010, 02:11:52 PM
Paul could breathe lil bit 3-2
Post by: mwanasoka on July 10, 2010, 02:16:19 PM

This British commentator says that NED goalkeeper Maarten STEKELENBURG text his teammate @ Ajax  Suarez, to congratulate him for being the tournament's best Goalkeeper.He seem to enjoy saying it.Think he and Harks
are still grieving for the perfectly good cutt arse USA received from Ghana.Dey hearts bleed.
Post by: Red Mango on July 10, 2010, 02:18:29 PM

This British commentator says that NED goalkeeper Maarten STEKELENBURG text his teammate @ Ajax  Suarez, to congratulate him for being the tournament's best Goalkeeper.He seem to enjoy saying it.Think he and Harks
are still grieving for the perfectly good cutt arse USA received from Ghana.Dey hearts bleed.
...and still bleedin'... dem fellas on toots man... stub it out!...

Bless Up!...
Post by: richpy on July 10, 2010, 02:21:00 PM
Forlaaaaaaaaan!

Almost!
Post by: D.H.W on July 10, 2010, 02:25:42 PM

100% RECORD for the German team
Post by: Socapro on July 10, 2010, 02:26:03 PM
Forlaaaaaaaaan!

Almost!

Paul de Octupus aka yuh Mudder come is right again!!!  ;)

Looking forward to the final tomorrow!  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on July 10, 2010, 02:26:52 PM

100% RECORD for the German team

ENTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT
Post by: D.H.W on July 10, 2010, 02:27:24 PM
Forlaaaaaaaaan!

Almost!

Paul de Octupus aka yuh Mudder come is right again!!!  ;)

Looking forward to the final tomorrow!  ;D

ah keeping these post on record for yuh beating tommorow
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 02:29:26 PM
Very good game.

Hard luck for Forlan... de ress ah Uruguay could pelt dey frame.

Boateng save he best game for last... he's been a revelation at RB for Germany this Cup.

Mueller for Best Young Player- second German in a row to cop the title after Podolsky in 2006.

Schweinsteiger will cement his role as an elder statesman in the German roster in the years to come.  His steadying hand as Captain tonight in Lamm's absence was evident... the give-away notwithstanding.

Aogo played a very good game, although he was lucky to play more than 4 minutes of this one.

The pitch was in horrible condition... and it can't all be blamed on the rain.  At times man was kicking up huge chunks of sod and was bare sand underneath.  Even with all that rain, a new modern facility like that should have had better drainage.

The Ref was ah boss tonight... I thought he showed great restraint on what very easily could have been a justified red card on Aogo in the earlies.  Aogo get he first start and was ah li'l tizic, but he settle in nicely in the end.
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 02:37:51 PM

Maybe he was responding to this (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/jul/03/fifa-may-extend-luis-suarez-ban)...

“The ‘Hand of God’ now belongs to me — mine is the real ‘Hand of God,’ ” Suárez said. “I made the best save of the tournament. There was no alternative but for me to do that, and when they missed the penalty I thought, ‘It is a miracle and we are alive in the tournament.’ Now we are in the semifinals, although I was very sad because no one likes to be sent off.”

This is the man some people want me to feel sorry for??

Steups.
Post by: Trini Madness on July 10, 2010, 02:46:16 PM

Maybe he was responding to this (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/jul/03/fifa-may-extend-luis-suarez-ban)...

“The ‘Hand of God’ now belongs to me — mine is the real ‘Hand of God,’ ” Suárez said. “I made the best save of the tournament. There was no alternative but for me to do that, and when they missed the penalty I thought, ‘It is a miracle and we are alive in the tournament.’ Now we are in the semifinals, although I was very sad because no one likes to be sent off.”

Steups.

wow.......just wow...
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 10, 2010, 02:51:31 PM

Steups.

yuh unders! fork suarez

well done to d crowd for booin his stink ass
Post by: Red Mango on July 10, 2010, 03:02:02 PM
Suarez shame ah nation wid ah rich footballing pedigree... but dais he weight now to carry... Jus' like Terry Henry...

STUB IT OUT!!!
Post by: kicker on July 10, 2010, 03:05:53 PM
If yuh man enough tuh cheat and show no remorse yuh hadda be man enough tuh take some boo...

Yuh could vex with whoever yuh want...Suarez is a big man- take boo...

3 black players in the starting line up for Germany today- the world is changing.  
Post by: mwanasoka on July 10, 2010, 03:46:31 PM

Steups.
Yuh rite bout that.Imagine,dis forker missin he catechism class @ school cuz he scrimmage went into OT !
Observer was correk when he say,' He sell he Sold @ de crossroads !
Post by: mwanasoka on July 10, 2010, 03:49:10 PM

Steups.

yuh unders! fork suarez

well done to d crowd for booin his stink ass
Oh Gaad !    :rotfl:
Post by: g on July 10, 2010, 03:52:02 PM
If yuh man enough tuh cheat and show no remorse yuh hadda be man enough tuh take some boo...

Yuh could vex with whoever yuh want...Suarez is a big man- take boo...

3 black players in the starting line up for Germany today- the world is changing.  

All part of d game as far as i see it. The laws of the game were enforced.

Every pro has to be prepared for hostile environments. I actually thought Suarez played well today.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 10, 2010, 05:20:09 PM
BNS,

this was boateng first game as right back..he played left back after replacing bastuder who started the tournament...he looked better in this position but then again this game was open.
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 05:34:29 PM
BNS,

this was boateng first game as right back..he played left back after replacing bastuder who started the tournament...he looked better in this position but then again this game was open.

I stand corrected then... but yeah, he looked really comfortable in that RB position today.  His crosses into the box led to one goal and created several opportunities in the second half.  I thought both he and Agogo, filling in at left back, looked really good today.
Post by: kicker on July 10, 2010, 05:54:58 PM
Is Boateng naturally right footed?  His crosses looked dangerous today.

Lahm used to play a right footed left back (in previous German squads) who always had to cut back to cross- it works for some but I always find it to be a little in efficient unless you're an attacking player cutting in to shoot. 
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 10, 2010, 05:56:38 PM
BNS,

I stand corrected then... but yeah, he looked really comfortable in that RB position today.  His crosses into the box led to one goal and created several opportunities in the second half.  I thought both he and Agogo, filling in at left back, looked really good today.

yeah boateng sent in a lot of good crosses...RB might be his spot since lahm prefers left back but their coach prefers lahm as the RB...this german team will be one of the top contenders in 2014 but a lot happens in 4 yrs, ppl get injured, coaches do $hit, etc

Post by: JDB on July 10, 2010, 06:18:36 PM
Is Boateng naturally right footed?  His crosses looked dangerous today.

Lahm used to play a right footed left back (in previous German squads) who always had to cut back to cross- it works for some but I always find it to be a little in efficient unless you're an attacking player cutting in to shoot. 

He is right-footed but a very two-footed player. He play the left-back without looking out of place but I remember him still shooting with his right from distance when he had a chance in the England or Argentina game.
Post by: E-man on July 10, 2010, 07:36:01 PM
I'm back, Germany 3rd again, steups. But congrats to them anyway. That's why I start a 2014 thread already. Looking to the future. Only thing is we'd need to be the first European team to take it in the Americas - new history to write  ;D

Anyway belated goal celebrations:

3:2!

(http://estaticos.archivo.marca.com/fotogalerias/2008/eurocopa2008/bellezas_alemania_espana/fotos/02.jpg)

(http://estaticos.archivo.marca.com/fotogalerias/2008/eurocopa2008/bellezas_alemania_espana/fotos/06.jpg)

(http://www.faz.net/m/%7B11449F48-7DFA-4FCC-98A6-7FD586DA1654%7DPicture.jpg)

(http://www.faz.net/m/%7B844259F6-FC8D-4020-B8C4-E47A5560CA16%7DPicture.jpg)

(http://www.faz.net/m/%7BE6333A39-D9B8-4AFD-B079-ECBEB93B74B9%7DPicture.jpg)

(http://www.faz.net/m/%7B4CAE50DD-463C-4EAF-BE88-0F0B7FBEF8C3%7DPicture.jpg)

(http://www.faz.net/m/%7B5080500A-E08B-41F8-A855-5BA9CA758D5F%7DPicture.jpg)

(http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/1755/610x2h.jpg)

(http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/3337/610xy.jpg)

(http://img714.imageshack.us/img714/5499/34174740160959456115192.jpg)

(http://img202.imageshack.us/img202/1648/610x8ev.jpg)

(http://img706.imageshack.us/img706/3820/36102740152002406115192.jpg)

(http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/7503/sexyfans08.jpg)

(http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/2900/x6105.jpg)

(http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/304/37334738342099466115192.jpg)

(http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/7131/061cy.jpg)

(http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/6365/029ui.jpg)
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 07:51:49 PM
(http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/1755/610x2h.jpg)

(http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/3337/610xy.jpg)

I am Bakes, and I approve of this message  :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on July 10, 2010, 08:18:28 PM
(http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/7131/061cy.jpg)

:drool:
Post by: DeSoWa on July 10, 2010, 08:29:31 PM
Willkommen back E-Man  ;D  :beermug:

Post by: Socapro on July 10, 2010, 09:57:00 PM
Great Stuff E-man!! Glad you are back on form!!  And congarts on your team's 3rd place, nothing to sneeze at! ;)
Post by: just cool on July 11, 2010, 03:33:09 AM

Yuhs ah kinda c@nt or what!!! FYI, how many players have the fortitude tuh miss ah penalty and five mins later had the nerve tuh kick another one??  i seen the best strikers in the world miss penalties, so hush yuh mudda c@nt wid yuh suarez worship, BC he's ah forkin scumbag and yuhs ah scum bag for bigging him up yuh c@nt!!

you probably never played one single professional football game in yuh life, but have the audacity tuh call big players goat.  sssttuueepppsss!!
Post by: just cool on July 11, 2010, 03:36:51 AM
hear nah ah wonder if men woulda be so bent outta shape if dis handball was in a game between two european or south american..or any team dat wasn't ah african team...and if i get back into coaching, i would advise my young charges to do de same damn thing senor Suarez did...or as Small Mag said (words to de effect), "fly and wrap it up like m*&ther c*&t Buffon!!)
You really from fyzo, BC yuh sound like ah real country bumkin corn husk eatin racist moron!! yuh can't even contain yuh bias, it spillin all out ah every hole in yuh body. even yuh a$$ and yuh mouth merge wid all the sh!t yuh spuring.   carry on moron!!
Post by: Feliziano on July 11, 2010, 08:33:27 AM
You really from fyzo, BC yuh sound like ah real country bumkin corn husk eatin racist moron!! yuh can't even contain yuh bias, it spillin all out ah every hole in yuh body. even yuh a$$ and yuh mouth merge wid all the sh!t yuh spuring.   carry on moron!!
oh the irony  ;D
btw Fyzo is a black rasta if I remember right, not a Coolie Spik if thats what yuh was implying lol
and yes I belive if it wasn't an African team involved most people here wouldn'tve really cared.
Post by: kicker on July 11, 2010, 08:39:15 AM
I belive if it wasn't an African team involved most people here wouldn'tve really cared.

Good talk, but that doh change what it is. 

Some injustices unfortunately require an unrelated impetus for people to stand up and take note. 

If there was no oil in the middle east the U.S. wouldn't care about Iraq- doesn't render what was happening over there unworthy of critique.     
Post by: Feliziano on July 11, 2010, 08:48:38 AM
I belive if it wasn't an African team involved most people here wouldn'tve really cared.

Some injustices unfortunately require an unrelated impetus for people to stand up and take note. 

If there was no oil in the middle east the U.S. wouldn't care about Iraq- doesn't render what was happening over there unworthy of critique.     
Point taken Kicker

What Suarez did was unsportmanlike plus his celebrating wasn't the best move either.
but he was given the maximum punishment allowed within the laws of the game
This shows that FIFA has work to do to prevent another similar situation happening again in the future
Post by: Observer on July 11, 2010, 08:52:08 AM
Great game yesterday I really enjoyed the dish served by both teams.  :applause: :applause:

Post by: kicker on July 11, 2010, 08:53:47 AM

This shows that FIFA has work to do to prevent another similar situation happening again in the future

Either that or we just accept the harsh reality of life...something tells me that neither will happen and that we'll be arguing about stuff like this until the end of time.  

Post by: ribbit on July 11, 2010, 08:54:05 AM

a puzzling analogy. what injustice was going in iraq before de USA get involved? ???  yuh saying that if it wasn't for the handball in the uruguay-ghana match, people woulda leff de game alone instead of trying to 4k it up with ever more needless rule changes.
Post by: kicker on July 11, 2010, 09:03:16 AM

a puzzling analogy. what injustice was going in iraq before de USA get involved? ???  

Never said there was injustice in Iraq (never said there wasn't either  ;D )- the injustice related to what happened in the match...the impetus in the match was sentiment toward Africa.  The impetus in the U.S.- Iraq scenario is arguably the price of oil. the analogy isn't that puzzling unless you're hung up on the word "injustice" when instead the point I'm making is really about the impetus (which is what Feliz was talking about).

I doh wanna get involved in political debate and totally derail the thread but many Americans will argue that one of the reasons for invading Iraq was in the interest of social and political reform.  Many would rebut that notion by saying that if there was no oil over there, Americans wouldn't care about the social or political climate over there... Even if such is true, it doesn't necessarily render the social/political climate in that country unworthy of critique or even reform...Note: I am not expressing an opinion on whether social/political reform was/is actually necessary in Iraq...so lewwe doh start that conversation  ;D
Post by: Feliziano on July 11, 2010, 09:17:39 AM

a puzzling analogy. what injustice was going in iraq before de USA get involved? ???  yuh saying that if it wasn't for the handball in the uruguay-ghana match, people woulda leff de game alone instead of trying to 4k it up with ever more needless rule changes.
I for one don't want to see too many rule changes cause I like de bacchanal  ;D
Post by: Observer on July 11, 2010, 09:30:02 AM
cannot remember any such backlash towards the German player or team in 2002, when one of their players did the exact same thing versus the USA. What is worst is he got away with it! Ok, he was more suttle in preventing the goal with his hand, but does that make it acceptable!

Post by: Bakes on July 11, 2010, 10:18:29 AM
cannot remember any such backlash towards the German player or team in 2002, when one of their players did the exact same thing versus the USA. What is worst is he got away with it! Ok, he was more suttle in preventing the goal with his hand, but does that make it acceptable!

Observer, you not seeing the same reaction because:

1. More people were emotionally invested in this game than in the Germany-US game back in 2002 when Frings handled the ball.  More people invested this time so you're hearing more outrage at the play.

2. Frings didn't go on to crow and gloat in the aftermath did he?
Post by: Deeks on July 11, 2010, 11:33:25 AM
BNS,

That is the hallmark of a good professional. You put him out of position and he plays it as his natural position. To be honest, I have hardly seen Boateng played before.  I thought LB was his natural position. He looked proficient at LB, but  looked much better at RB. this augurs well for the Germans and for him in the future.
Post by: just cool on July 11, 2010, 01:35:03 PM
oh the irony  ;D
btw Fyzo is a black rasta if I remember right, not a Coolie Spik if thats what yuh was implying lol
and yes I belive if it wasn't an African team involved most people here wouldn'tve really cared.
You lookin fuh ah man or what!! why you on me so fardder??  as for fyso, he talking nonsense, is like he have someting against africans, that's why ah mentioned his racist intent. so weh you saying, it doh have black ppl who hate black ppl?

PS: so you could use the word spik but i can't?  now dat is forkin irony.