Sports => Football => Topic started by: truthseeker on July 10, 2010, 11:53:54 AM

Title: Using GPS Sports Vests to improve Soccer Performance...
Post by: truthseeker on July 10, 2010, 11:53:54 AM
Gents, I just stumbled on this article. It shows how scientific the game has become and why we in Trinindad and Tobago must improve in all aspects or be left behind...

Wenger to track players from SPACE in bid to stop Arsenal
( May 24 21:51 )

Arsene Wenger will track his players from SPACE next season to prevent injuries from yet again wrecking the club’s title bid.

The Arsenal boss has been without up to a dozen players at any one time this season, including defender William Gallas and Robin van Persie. Now Wenger intends to use satellites to monitor his stars’ susceptibility to injury in a bid to rectify the problem.

Chief Executive Ivan Gazidis explained: “If there are things we can do we will do them. For example, we’ve introduced a GPS system this year for the first time.

“This is tracking literally from satellites in space, the training movements on the training field of every player.

“It gives you a lot of information. It tells you not just how far the players are running and how fast they are running and what levels of intense activity they have in training.

“It also measures ­something called ‘the load’ – and this is literally the amount of time a player’s foot is on the ground while he is running.

“You can see if you have a player coming up to a risk of injury in a subsequent game because you can see two things in general: one is that their work-rate comes down in training and secondly their ‘load’ increases. In other words, their foot stays on the ground for longer when they run.

“When you are feeling good and feeling active you are more on your toes. When you’re not, you’re more on your heels. That can help you to predict when players are in a dangerous situation.

“Unfortunately, it takes a while to build that record to get the full benefit of that system.

“So we are unlikely to see the benefits really coming through until the second half of next year,” he said. Arsenal and GPSports>

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
STAR WARS
( Apr 19 17:01 )

"Manchester United star striker Wayne Rooney using GPSports technology during training. GPSports assists EPL & RFU.

Tech wizards, GPSports, who have developed the SPI Pro, an innovative GPS based athlete performance tracking system, powers the training of Chelsea, Manchester United, Real Madrid, Leinster, The RFU, the All Blacks and the Wallabies.

The detailed information gained from this technology has helped to reduce injuries, develop game and position-specific training plans, and boost squad fitness.

"Our key clients how have the lowest injury rates in the league". Says GPSports Managing Director, Adrian Faccioni. "This is due to the ability to accurately monitor the loading for every player." If a player's position requires them to do a lot of lateral movement or sprints in a game, coaches can train them accordingly. Our next product, the SPI Pro X, records data a 15 times a second, so we'll soon know every blade of grass covered."

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
How data is changing the way we play sports
( Mar 15 15:21 )

"Who to pick for the team this week?" has always been the toughest question in sports management. Now, sports performance indicator (SPI) monitors are taking the guesswork out of coaching and training. "They tell you what to do -- and what not to do," says Gareth Gilbert, 37, who works for the Canberra-based technology firm GP Sports Systems. A SPI monitor can now be as small as a deck of cards.

Worn across the shoulders, it packs in GPS, heartrate monitor, digital compass, gyroscope and accelerometer. Whether in training or in play, it can transmit real-time data on speed, direction, jumps, impact loads, distance and heart rate to anywhere in world, five times a second. In the Premiership League, Chelsea and Fulham are using the technology, and Man United is believed to be interested too. However, it's taking off fastest in elite rugby.

"We have to be as clever as possible," says Allan Ryan, 30, head of strength and conditioning at London Irish, who regards the new SPIs as an "insurance policy" that will help youngsters such as 22-year-old centre Adam Thompstone (above) have a longer career.

By revealing "body load" -- total stress -- SPI monitors can prevent overtraining. "In the past, players aimed to finish a session last, to prove their fitness," says Ryan. "Now they're finishing first -- showing they've reached their targets."And a big surprise, says Ryan, is that one-to-one sessions (traditionally regarded as "light") can take a heavy toll.

Coaches in Australian Rugby League are also using the monitors to time substitutions or select players for specific functions such as man-marking. British teams are limited to using the devices in training. But with nine Aussie coaches currently in the UK Super League alone, pressure for change is building.

Bradford Bulls' trial of GPS could help England close the gap on Australia
( Jan 13 15:43 )

Michael Fisher - Telegraph Going strong: Matt Diskin's (left) testimonial against Leeds will see the GPS system in use

The club have received permission from the Rugby Football League to try GPSports' GPS system for the first time in Sunday's Matt Diskin testimonial match against Leeds at Headingley, with a view to using it in their Engage Super League opener at Huddersfield on Feb 5.

The device, which is placed in a harness incorporated into a vest, is used to monitor heart-rates and track a player's movement around the field.

"It's a huge advancement in terms of sports science that we're starting to grasp," said McNamara. "It will advance our game massively. If every club and every player had it, it would be great from an international perspective.

"We used them with England in the Four Nations and we gained some fantastic information."

McNamara, who was assistant to former England coach Tony Smith, admits the system could be used to help decide when to substitute a player during a match.

"It's in its early stages but it's amazing what you can do," he said. "It's a live system as well so you're getting a constant feed. Every physical aspect is tracked. You know exactly how far you've run in 80 minutes of rugby league, what speeds you get to and how many impacts you get and what that takes out of the body."

Bradford's new head of physical performance Geoff Evans said: "We will endeavour to use this information to improve all aspects of our preparation and performance for the coming season."
Title: Re: Using GPS Sports Vests to improve Soccer Performance...
Post by: Red Mango on July 10, 2010, 02:54:52 PM
Dais real cash doh...

If these companies sponsoring these developments, I all fuh dat... but who pushin dey han in dey pocket?... Not Jack Wower...   ::)