General => Entertainment & Culture Discussion => Topic started by: Flex on April 12, 2011, 05:01:21 AM

Title: The Mighty Sparrow Thread.
Post by: Flex on April 12, 2011, 05:01:21 AM
Sparrow gives Powell 50 CDs
Tuesday, April 12 2011
T&T Newsday

CALYPSO King of the World, The Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco) yesterday had former US Secretary of State and Chairman of the US Joint Chief of Staff, General (ret) Colin Powell dancing and singing along to his hit song “Congo Man” at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA) in Port-of-Spain.

“Aye, aye, yay...I envy the congo man. I wish it was me ah want to shake he hand...” Powell was heard singing as he clapped and chipped while Sparrow sang on stage. Later, the Birdie gave Powell a bag with 50 CDs containing most if not all of Sparrow’s songs over his long career.

Powell dipped into the bag and pulled out one of the CDs entitled, “Barack the Magnificent”. As Sparrow sang some verses from the song, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar held the bag of CDs.

“I know Mr Powell well. I met him before. He is such a wonderful guy. You know, he likes to sing and he can dance to my songs too,” Sparrow said. Earlier on, both Sparrow and emerging calypso star Aaron Duncan, the reigning National Junior Calypso Monarch, performed for Powell.

(http://www.newsday.co.tt/galeria/2011-04-12-front-1.jpg)
Former US Secretary of State Colin Powell (left) dances while Calypso King ofthe World Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco) sings his hit song 'Congo Man' yesterday at the Diplomatic Centre in St Ann's, during a reception in Powell's honour hosted by PrimeMinister Kamla Persad- Bissessar.
Author: AZLAN MOHAMMED

(http://www.newsday.co.tt/galeria/2011-04-12-5-2a_Colin_Powell_12.jpg)
TETE A TETE: Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar speaks to a smiling former US Secretary of State Colin Powell yesterday at a reception in Powell's honour at the Diplomatic Centre in St Ann's.
Author: AZLAN MOHAMMED
Title: Re: The Mighty Sparrow Thread.
Post by: Dutty on April 12, 2011, 09:32:13 AM
Years ago I read a story, probably apocryphal, that Powell use to blast sparrow music in his office when working late.

I likin de birdie suit too bad
Title: Mighty Sparrow Tribute Thread
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 04:19:43 PM
As we all prayer for Sparrow's speedy recovery I am also going to invite you folks to post your favorite Sparrow tunes in this thread coming right up from 1955 thru to the 90's during which time he produced an album almost every year. I don't think any artists in any other genre of music including reggae has done that.

But before we get started let’s take in this excellent Mighty Sparrow interview conducted by renowned pan-kaiso composer Alvin Daniel.

Mighty Sparrow - King of Calypso (Calypso Showcase presentation)
http://www.youtube.com/v/M58tKHeYBVU
Interview with Alvin Daniel
Title: Re: Mighty Sparrow Tribute Thread
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 04:26:27 PM
Now let’s check out his Road March winning calypsos in chronological order.

Sparrow talking about the history and background of his first major hit Jean & Dinah.

Mighty Sparrow - Jean & Dinah
http://www.youtube.com/v/Gso_y-Bqybc

And now here is the original recording!  :beermug:

Mighty Sparrow - Jean & Dinah (1956 T&T Road March)
http://www.youtube.com/v/jGB6_3g5FYE

Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 04:29:47 PM
Mighty Sparrow - P A Y E (1958 T&T Road March)
http://www.youtube.com/v/UNFFDzOYCrs
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 04:32:07 PM
Mighty Sparrow - May May (1960 T&T Road March)
http://www.youtube.com/v/x5F39EpWem8
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 04:37:13 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Royal Jail (1961 T&T Road March)
http://www.youtube.com/v/tVdocTev65A
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 04:38:45 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Melda aka Obeah Wedding (1966 T&T Road March)
http://www.youtube.com/v/cGFcX1dEti8
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 04:40:07 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Sa Sa Yea (1969 T&T Road March)
http://www.youtube.com/v/mDAJyA3RS_0
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 04:49:49 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Drunk & Disorderly (1972 T&T Road March)
http://www.youtube.com/v/osPT21Extkc
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 04:54:26 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Doh Back Back (1984 T&T Road March)
http://www.youtube.com/v/yR6Evk8IASc

Sparrow embraces the change from Calypso to Soca introduced by Shorty!
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 05:02:08 PM
Now let’s check out his Calypso Monarch winning calypsos in chronological order.

Mighty Sparrow - Jean & Dinah (1956 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/HZ2_3hqFZvk

Yes he won both the Calypso Monarch and Road March titles with this one in 1956.
Until 1958 Calypsonians only needed to sing one calypso to compete for the Calypso Monarch title.
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 05:11:15 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Ten to One Is Murder (1960 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/zWuRQATlGkA
Song no.1

Mighty Sparrow - May May (1960 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/renFzJFY2Fw
Song no.2

Yes he won both the Calypso Monarch and Road March titles with May May in 1960.
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 05:40:42 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Sparrow Come Back Home (1962 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/-JCO8c-pHxU
Song no.1

Mighty Sparrow - Federation (1962 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/NZ7mU4DCtbc
Song no.2

This was the year that T&T & Jamaica gained Independence from Britain after Sparrow's great commentary on the demise of the West Indies Federation.
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 05:48:12 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Dan is the Man (1963 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/24rQOy2HZFE
Song no.1

Mighty Sparrow - Kennedy (1963 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/J8r2HYzBRxc
Song no.2

Sparrow's commentary on Kennedy's death here is potent!
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 05:55:34 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Drunk and Disorderly (1972 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/QBPwZXwi3qg
Song no.1

Mighty Sparrow - Rope (1972 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/yP1TSToX-_I
Song no.2

Yes he won both the Calypso Monarch and Road March titles with "Drunk and Disorderly" in 1972.
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 06:07:42 PM
Mighty Sparrow - School Days (1973 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/eHokQWkX3sk
Song no.1

Mighty Sparrow - Same Time, Same Place (1973 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/deRwfci3GAs
Song no.2

"School Days" and "Same Time, Same Place", two calypso classics by the Mighty Sparrow that won him the 1973 crown.
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 06:15:04 PM
Mighty Sparrow - We Pass That Stage (Live recording) (1974 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/KzL9SzEe2Ug
Song no.1

Mighty Sparrow - Miss Mary (1974 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/ymIBfMOTFPs
Song no.2
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 06:24:56 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Survival (Live Performance)  (1992 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/hVsYlv9Plog
Song no.1

Mighty Sparrow - Both of Them (Live Performance) (1992 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
http://www.youtube.com/v/5-StVcVDuB4
Song no.2
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 06:26:42 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Calypso King of the World
http://www.youtube.com/v/A7ED17YnhxI
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 06:27:56 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Changing the Course of Calypso
http://www.youtube.com/v/N36UsB1z_WA
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 06:29:15 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Calypso Trade Unionist
http://www.youtube.com/v/QaOrx6X_ehk
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 06:30:53 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Calypso Rivalry
http://www.youtube.com/v/N6j2Qv6Kgug

Mighty Sparrow - Tribute To His Great Rival The Grandmaster Kitch (1993)
http://www.youtube.com/v/69eYm2gcqfY
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 06:34:32 PM
Mighty Sparrow - Calypso as Mother Music
http://www.youtube.com/v/BMkKbltjEEo
Post by: Socapro on September 11, 2013, 08:58:11 PM
Now lets take in the Mighty Sparrow live singing a soca medley of his hits.

Mighty Sparrow Classic Hits Live
http://www.youtube.com/v/3B-Sl7l_56g

I think the backing band might be Roy Cape All Stars.
Post by: MEP on September 11, 2013, 10:06:43 PM
yuh ask people to post and only you posting ..steupssssssss

anyway here is one of my favoriteshttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19e-CiRmMcY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19e-CiRmMcY)

http://www.youtube.com/v/19e-CiRmMcY
Post by: Brownsugar on September 12, 2013, 05:01:23 AM
Cyar get the link right now but one of my all time favourites is "The Steering Wheel".........my parents and Great-aunt bought almost every Sparrow record (if not all) and dey used to play dem records over and over and over.....so I feel I know all he songs by heart......

Edit:  Dis is de song......I like the part about de lady foot stick in de steering wheel and she father come out to admonish Sparrow.......ah love it......

http://www.youtube.com/v/D0UZGAOV1rA
Title: Sparrow In Press Conference @ The Bassline Jazz Club, Ghana, West Africa.
Post by: Socapro on September 12, 2013, 10:14:21 PM
G.B.T.V. CultureShare ARCHIVES 2000: MIGHTY SPARROW "Speaks with the press in GHANA"
http://www.youtube.com/v/P1CZXFx4jsg
PRESS CONFERENCE @ THE BASSLINE JAZZ CLUB, GHANA, WEST AFRICA.
Post by: Brownsugar on September 14, 2013, 06:31:26 AM
And another one of my favourites......ah really love this one....the correct name of the song is "Well Spoken Moppers"

http://www.youtube.com/v/bshHSBD3fFM
Post by: fari on September 15, 2013, 01:57:37 PM
i have that mighty sparrow volume 1 cd and for the last 8 yrs or so that has been played repeatedly in the car...this song below is one of my fave songs on it.   also totally randomly i saw the birdie, kenny j and some others perform in a free show in brooklyn in 1999, can't remember where it was though. 

http://www.youtube.com/v/GRe8ZdACziM
Post by: vb on September 15, 2013, 03:39:20 PM
i have that mighty sparrow volume 1 cd and for the last 8 yrs or so that has been played repeatedly in the car...this song below is one of my fave songs on it.   also totally randomly i saw the birdie, kenny j and some others perform in a free show in brooklyn in 1999, can't remember where it was though. 

http://www.youtube.com/v/GRe8ZdACziM

The amount of free shows that man has given eh.

Also more than once he has given Sparrow's Hideaway free of charge to various promoters of different events.

When the JP Complex get built many moved on but my father remembers Sparrow letting him promote two fights there free of charge back in the 70s.

Post by: fari on October 23, 2013, 10:25:13 AM
just heard Calypso Rose give an update live on WACK radio...she said she spoke with the birdie last Friday and he told her "the birdie will fly again!"
Post by: boss on February 19, 2014, 01:15:45 PM
Order of Trinidad and Tobago for Sparrow
...State to pay medical bills for living legend

By Carolyn Kissoon
Trinidad Express
Story Created: Feb 19, 2014 at 1:25 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 19, 2014 at 2:36 PM ECT

PRIME Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has announced that Slinger "Mighty Sparrow" Francisco will be awarded the Order of Trinidad and Tobago, the nation's highest honour.

She made the disclosure this afternoon at a function in Penal.

Persad-Bissessar said the State will foot all medical bills for the Calypso legend, who attended today's event, and said he would graciously accept the honour and assistance.

Masman Peter Minshall, who also attended the event, is expected to receive a deed to his property at Federation Park, Port of Spain.

Persad-Bissessar made the announcement while attending the annual Siparia Women's Association's Kiddies Carnival competition and Bhupsingh Park, Penal Junction.

Sparrow sang verses from some of his songs including Congo Man, Education and Dan is the Man in the Van.

(from the Multimedia Desk)
Post by: Bitter on February 21, 2014, 06:22:48 AM
Sparrow’s ‘late’ award upsets Clarke: Stop patronising our local artistes
Published: Friday, February 21, 2014
Richard Lord
http://guardian.co.tt/news/2014-02-21/sparrow%E2%80%99s-%E2%80%98late%E2%80%99-award-upsets-clarke-stop-patronising-our-local-artistes

Artist LeRoy Clarke has slammed the Government for its belated decision to award the Mighty Sparrow, Slinger Francisco, the Order of the Republic of T&T, saying it was only after the calypso king of the world almost died that its hand was forced. Speaking hours after Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced that Sparrow would receive the country’s highest award and that they would foot his US medical bills, Clarke said it was a shame it had to take his recent serious illness for the authorities to honour him. “We have to wait until Sparrow dead and come back alive to give him an award,” Clarke said at his book launch at the National Library, Port-of-Spain, on Wednesday. “You see the point? He should die first and come back. Maybe I should fake it and go into a coma. Stop patronising me, man, stop it,” he added.

Sparrow, 78, spent several weeks in a New York hospital after he fell into a diabetic coma after a stroke last September. He returned home last week after his recovery and immediately made it known that while In T&T for Carnival, he would seek to make appearances at events in order to help pay off his hefty medical bills. Camboulay Productions, whose media partner is Guardian Media Ltd, had launched a five-part lecture series in part to raise funds to assist him with those medical expenses before the PM announced the Government’s intention to honour Sparrow. The group was seeking to raise at least $100,000.

Speaking after Gopeesingh and Rowley, Clarke said he had to live a rough life and accused the Government of paying lip service to the arts. Quoting the names of his books, Clarke said the people of the country were living in joyless days as they went about their business seemingly without any soul. “Get up, wake up to the parables of our joyless days. These are joyless days,” he added. He used derogatory language to describe the state of life for artistes and other citizens in the country and accused the politicians of not meaning what they said. He also spoke about the amount of money being spent on cultural ambassador and soca star Machel Montano, adding young people have so much energy but have nowhere to go. 

“Where are they going to go if Machel Montano is the symbol of success. Come on, if he is the symbol of success, where are they going? “He is an ambassador to fly free. I am not against him, you know. The poor little fellow, he is (being) used. Why you don't send men who have voices, who when they sit down they have a voice identical to the beauty, discriminating beauty of this place?”  he asked.

Clarke claimed artists were not being allowed on radio and television stations to speak about their work. Another ailing artiste, Ella Andall, had given so much and now that she was ill, he said, there was no one to assist her. His own life, he said, was saved by musician Ataklan and his girlfriend, who visited him at his home weeks ago as his blood pressure was very high and he was unaware of it at the time. Clarke said homosexuality was a major threat to art and predicted that before the end of 2014 there would be a same-sex marriage in T&T.

Praise for the Chief
Among those in the audience for the launch of Clarke’s books, Parables of our Joyless Days and Symmetries of Words Made Flesh, were Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh, Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, artist Earl Lovelace and former culture minister Joan Yuille-Williams. Gopeesingh, in his address, said the 75-year-old master artist, Clarke, grows more valuable to T&T as he produced new paintings and books. He said Clarke “presents the society with hard truth about itself, which may not be easy to digest at times but which is necessary to confront, if we are to overcome the many challenges we face.” Rowley also spoke favourably about Clarke’s contribution to T&T, describing him as “the best that T&T can produce.” He said Clarke was “a sobering intervention in my own life in the political landscape.”
Post by: Ramgoat on February 21, 2014, 06:24:29 PM
 Le Roy Clarke is a hypocrite .
I am not Trini but  the Mighty Sparrow should have been the recipient of this honor  eon ago .
 Did Clarke ever agitated for honoring this great man when the PNM was in power which   was 90% of the time since independence. ?
 He should have praised this Govt for doing the  right  thing.
Post by: Socapro on February 21, 2014, 06:48:31 PM
Sparrow’s ‘late’ award upsets Clarke: Stop patronising our local artistes
Published: Friday, February 21, 2014
Richard Lord
http://guardian.co.tt/news/2014-02-21/sparrow%E2%80%99s-%E2%80%98late%E2%80%99-award-upsets-clarke-stop-patronising-our-local-artistes

Artist LeRoy Clarke has slammed the Government for its belated decision to award the Mighty Sparrow, Slinger Francisco, the Order of the Republic of T&T, saying it was only after the calypso king of the world almost died that its hand was forced. Speaking hours after Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced that Sparrow would receive the country’s highest award and that they would foot his US medical bills, Clarke said it was a shame it had to take his recent serious illness for the authorities to honour him. “We have to wait until Sparrow dead and come back alive to give him an award,” Clarke said at his book launch at the National Library, Port-of-Spain, on Wednesday. “You see the point? He should die first and come back. Maybe I should fake it and go into a coma. Stop patronising me, man, stop it,” he added.

Sparrow, 78, spent several weeks in a New York hospital after he fell into a diabetic coma after a stroke last September. He returned home last week after his recovery and immediately made it known that while In T&T for Carnival, he would seek to make appearances at events in order to help pay off his hefty medical bills. Camboulay Productions, whose media partner is Guardian Media Ltd, had launched a five-part lecture series in part to raise funds to assist him with those medical expenses before the PM announced the Government’s intention to honour Sparrow. The group was seeking to raise at least $100,000.

Speaking after Gopeesingh and Rowley, Clarke said he had to live a rough life and accused the Government of paying lip service to the arts. Quoting the names of his books, Clarke said the people of the country were living in joyless days as they went about their business seemingly without any soul. “Get up, wake up to the parables of our joyless days. These are joyless days,” he added. He used derogatory language to describe the state of life for artistes and other citizens in the country and accused the politicians of not meaning what they said. He also spoke about the amount of money being spent on cultural ambassador and soca star Machel Montano, adding young people have so much energy but have nowhere to go. 

“Where are they going to go if Machel Montano is the symbol of success. Come on, if he is the symbol of success, where are they going? “He is an ambassador to fly free. I am not against him, you know. The poor little fellow, he is (being) used. Why you don't send men who have voices, who when they sit down they have a voice identical to the beauty, discriminating beauty of this place?”  he asked.

Clarke claimed artists were not being allowed on radio and television stations to speak about their work. Another ailing artiste, Ella Andall, had given so much and now that she was ill, he said, there was no one to assist her. His own life, he said, was saved by musician Ataklan and his girlfriend, who visited him at his home weeks ago as his blood pressure was very high and he was unaware of it at the time. Clarke said homosexuality was a major threat to art and predicted that before the end of 2014 there would be a same-sex marriage in T&T.

Praise for the Chief
Among those in the audience for the launch of Clarke’s books, Parables of our Joyless Days and Symmetries of Words Made Flesh, were Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh, Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, artist Earl Lovelace and former culture minister Joan Yuille-Williams. Gopeesingh, in his address, said the 75-year-old master artist, Clarke, grows more valuable to T&T as he produced new paintings and books. He said Clarke “presents the society with hard truth about itself, which may not be easy to digest at times but which is necessary to confront, if we are to overcome the many challenges we face.” Rowley also spoke favourably about Clarke’s contribution to T&T, describing him as “the best that T&T can produce.” He said Clarke was “a sobering intervention in my own life in the political landscape.”
Clarke made some great points! These politicians don't really care about our culture and our cultural pioneers who have helped to shape our cultural identity and to put our country on the world map internationally.
I hope Shadow's bass man King Farrell is waiting patiently in hell for some of these politicians to buss they toe if they only dare jump up too slow!!

Shadow - Jump Judges Jump (1977)
http://www.youtube.com/v/owuYW_3LMLs

Most of our politicians from all parties are a national embarrassment.
Post by: Deeks on February 21, 2014, 08:04:48 PM
Socapro, I agree that the party of the day is conveniently "using" Sparrow and Minshall for scoring points. The govt in power at the time have also used our sports heros quite conveniently and controversially(Lara stadium).  But honestly these 2 guys have put TT on the global entertainment map. I honestly think they both deserve the recognition and what ever financial rewards. Whether is PNM, UNC, PP who giving it. Rowley will not get points on this one. In addition Sparrow has health issues. I know people will see past this. If you is ah PNM, you still ah PNM. If yuh is ah UNC/PP, you will remain so,  and brag how Kamla did better than PNM.

Now, I think Clark should get recognition. Unfortunately some types of artistes, artist, writers, entertainers, sportsmen-women are more famous than others. Unfortunately, the perception is that Leroy falls in the not-so-famous in the TT psyche. Artists like Atteck, Chu-Foon, Cazabon, Boodhoo, Barney are not even on the ordinary Trini radar.  But Bunji, KI, Destra, Iwer, etc are up there. At least for now.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 02, 2014, 10:44:33 PM
Good to see Sparrow on stage. But ... am ... ah hope we eh geh ah Milli Vanilli.
Post by: MEP on March 04, 2014, 11:00:20 AM
Socapro, I agree that the party of the day is conveniently "using" Sparrow and Minshall for scoring points. The govt in power at the time have also used our sports heros quite conveniently and controversially(Lara stadium).  But honestly these 2 guys have put TT on the global entertainment map. I honestly think they both deserve the recognition and what ever financial rewards. Whether is PNM, UNC, PP who giving it. Rowley will not get points on this one. In addition Sparrow has health issues. I know people will see past this. If you is ah PNM, you still ah PNM. If yuh is ah UNC/PP, you will remain so,  and brag how Kamla did better than PNM.

Now, I think Clark should get recognition. Unfortunately some types of artistes, artist, writers, entertainers, sportsmen-women are more famous than others. Unfortunately, the perception is that Leroy falls in the not-so-famous in the TT psyche. Artists like Atteck, Chu-Foon, Cazabon, Boodhoo, Barney are not even on the ordinary Trini radar.  But Bunji, KI, Destra, Iwer, etc are up there. At least for now.
Are they world reknowned...that's the big difference
Title: Sparrow blessed with top award
Post by: Socapro on June 13, 2014, 03:46:04 PM
Sparrow blessed with top award (http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,196123.html)
By SEAN DOUGLAS Thursday, June 12 2014 (T&T Newsday)

SLINGER Francisco, “The Mighty Sparrow”, was yesterday presented with the nation’s highest honour, the Order of the Republic Of Trinidad and Tobago, by President of the Republic Anthony Carmona, at a presentation ceremony at NAPA, Port-of-Spain. Also present were Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and Chief Justice Ivor Archie and their spouses, all of whom shook his hand in congratulations, with Mrs Denise Archie breaking formalities by a friendly hug.

This stirred the delight of guests, a host of personalities in the public sphere, including entertainers, politicians and board directors.

The audience was thrilled by the awardee performing several of his classics, including “Model Nation”, “Willie Boy” and “Maharajin” (accompanied by East Indian folk dancers) plus the reflective “My Way” (sung by crooner, the late Frank Sinatra), having surprised all by opening with “The Lord’s Prayer”. Other Sparrow songs were sung by David Bereaux and Friends Ensemble and the Bishop Anstey High School Choir, with backing by Cummings and the Wailers.

Sparrow later told reporters the award made him feel “very special” and “hot, hot, hot, like Arrow”. He said, “Nothing comes before its time. I’m very, very blessed.”

He said similar awards should be given posthumously for the likes of Aldwin “Lord Kitchener” Roberts and, Fitzroy “Lord Melody” Alexander.

“It would be something positive for all the other calypsonians as well. The younger ones are going to see what can happen. I’m glad, I’m very, very happy.”

He vowed to keep the award close by. “Every time I see it obviously it will bring some happiness to me and put a smile on my face.”

His message to youngsters? “Work hard. Don’t ever give up, because you see what happens when people work hard and dedicate themselves. Even higher things and better things can happen to the youngsters ones. Technology today is giving every one of us a better chance.” His future plans, “I have one or two ideas already. I’ll remember to do something about it for next year.”

His secret recipe? “Say your prayers. People tell me, ‘when we heard what was happening to you we prayed.’ I want to tell them, ‘thank you, folks’. Thanks to the good Lord, I’m here, moving as good can be. If you’d seen me many months ago...ha, ha, ha. Look at me, I’m standing even without the cane. They graduated me from a wheelchair to a walker and then this cane, and now I can throw this cane aside and the doctor in New York said, ‘Don’t show off’.”

Sparrow is hopeful of returning to the calypso tent next year.

Last year, Sparrow spent months in a New York hospital after suffering a stroke and was in a coma. He returned to Trinidad for Carnival, earlier this year, and the Prime Minister announced he would receive the nation’s highest award.

Persad-Bissessar told Newsday, “I think people are very, very happy, excited and enthralled, if I may go that far, from the comments I’m receiving. It is the first time a calypsonian has received the highest award of our country. I know that previously they received other awards but never the highest award. I feel very humbled that I was the instrument by which that could happen. It shall not be the last.”
Title: SPARROW’S $2M CHRISTMAS GIFT
Post by: Socapro on December 19, 2014, 12:23:40 AM
SPARROW’S $2M GIFT (http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,204455.html)
By Andre Bagoo Friday, December 19 2014 (T&T Newsday)

GOVERNMENT yesterday announced what amounts to a $2 million Christmas gift for the Mighty Sparrow.

As shoppers all over the country continued to work on their Christmas gift list, Minister of Culture Dr Lincoln Douglas announced the State would license Sparrow’s (Slinger Francisco) memorabilia for a ten-year period with an option to renew.

At a Cabinet media briefing held at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s, Douglas conceded that while the move was meant to preserve and recognise the calypso legacy of Sparrow, the move was also designed to give the legendary calypsonian financial support.

In an immediate reaction, Sparrow, speaking with Newsday from New York, said Santa Claus had passed his way.

“This is most welcomed,” the calypsonian said. “Praise God, Santa Claus has passed my way.” After performances in New York this week, Sparrow is due to arrive in Trinidad on Boxing Day (December 26) for a series of further performances, kicking off what is planned as a hectic year for him.

Douglas said the Ministry will license all of Sparrow’s memorabilia. This includes six calypso monarch crowns; 52 certificates; 42 compact disks; eight citations; four DVDs; 14 medals; 136 plaques; 76 pictures; 22 proclamations; eight tokens; 94 trophies; and 78 videos.

“The terms of the agreement is that for a sum of $2 million, the Ministry will acquire the memorabilia for a ten-year period that will become part of a show and part of a museum experience,” Douglas said. “We will have a ten-year unlimited access and custodianship – with the option for renewal – to replicate, licence materials and derive income and show and curate the works of the Mighty Sparrow.” Douglas hinted similar arrangements may be forthcoming for other artistes.

“I think that this is a tremendously positive thing as we continue to look into a lot of the works of some of our great artistes whom we will work with to continue to curate to display the works that they have produced over the years,” Douglas said. “We have started with the Mighty Sparrow because we are really honoured that he is here with us and is still performing all over the world. So it is really a privilege and an honour for us to participate in this regard.”

Questioned by reporters, the Minister further stated, “It is also a support for Sparrow himself too.”

The latest gift tops off a triumphant year for Sparrow, a diabetic, who continued to recover from serious illness – which saw him hopitalised and in a coma – in late 2013.

In February this year, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced that Sparrow’s medical expenses would be paid for by the State and that he would be awarded the Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (ORTT), the nation’s highest award. The calypsonian was invested with the ORTT at a special ceremony by President Anthony Carmona at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA) in Port-of-Spain in June this year subsequent to that announcement.

Asked about his health, Sparrow yesterday told Newsdsay, “I am very good. Last year I was sick, but now I am ready to roll. The next performance is at the end of this week in New York. I will be coming to Trinidad on Boxing Day. I have several performances planned for the coming weeks, including many birthday parties and events. In the middle of 2015, I think am doing Madison Square Garden and there’s a performance planned at Globe Cinema in Port-of-Spain as well.”

Douglas said the memorabilia would be displayed at Sparrow’s home in Trinidad but there were plans for a “festival village” to be set up in downtown Port-of-Spain, subject to approval. However, there are also many other options for displaying the items, such as Queen’s Hall, the Carnival Institute, Naparima Bowl and the north and south campuses of the NAPA. He said the process of licensing should be done by February.

In relation to Carnival 2015, the Minister said there were no plans to cut the ministry’s disbursal for the festival, including its prizes.

“We have no intention and there is nothing planned for the cutting back of Carnival prizes,” Douglas said. “There has been no cut whatsoever in any of the subventions, whether it is regional Carnival or mas prizes, or steelband prizes. Everything is set to go for Carnival 2015.

At yesterday’s briefing Douglas further announced that work will continue of three other “festival villages” at an overall cost of about $15 million.

Douglas said a festival village at Laventille will be completed at a cost of $4.1 million and would be a facility done in collaboration with the Laventille Rhythm Section. A similar “incubator” facility tied to the Pamberi Steel Orchestra at Old Road, Santa Cruz, will also be completed next year at a cost of $2.3 million.

A facility which started 28 years ago at the Mausica Old Road, Arima, for Mausica folk theatre is also due to be completed at a cost of about $8.1 million. He said a Ramleela festival village is also planned.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 19, 2014, 08:18:44 AM
$2m (TT) over 10 years? Sparrow eh lie ... yuh could really geh it all for nutten.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 14, 2015, 08:10:17 PM
Socapro, can you confirm that Buckingham Palace/Downing Street honoured Sparrow with an OBE? Just looked at the list, but it's much too long fuh me to dissect right now. I thought that thing was much less extensive than it is.
Post by: Flex on October 18, 2015, 09:32:39 AM
Sparrow still waiting on Govt money
By JULIEN NEAVES (NEWSDAY).

CALYPSO King of the World, The Mighty Sparrow (Dr Slinger Francisco), who will be bestowed the Order of the British Empire (OBE) this week, says he was contacted by an official from the Ministry of Culture about a promised $2 million from Government to assist with his medical expenses and was asked to have “patience”.

“Patience is the name of game,” said Sparrow in a telephone interview. He said someone from the Ministry of Community Development had called him on the matter and when he asked them “when (they) going to get things done”, the official asked him for patience.

Telling Sunday Newsday that “virtue is grace” and “Grace is a little girl who takes little care of her face”, he said no timeline for the payment was given but that he was “anxious to get things going.

“(I have a) lot of things to do,” he announced.

In 2013, the calypsonian spent months in a New York hospital recovering from a stroke and a coma. On February 19, 2014, then Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar promised that once he presented medical bills, the State would take care of those expenses.

Sparrow, 80, who lives in the United States, arrived in Trinidad on August 26 in the hope of collecting his cheque but had to leave “empty-handed” on September 4.

Oilfield Workers Trade Union President general Ancel Roget, who had organised a media tele-conference last month for Sparrow to highlight the issue, said then the failure of the State to fulfill the promise was not only wrong and immoral but was also a disrespect to the national icon and to culture.

Sparrow, in Trinidad for the last two weeks, said he will be in Grenada on October 22 where he will be bestowed the British award, the Order of the British Empire (OBE).

Last June he received Trinidad and Tobago’s highest award, The Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

His other accolades include: in 1969 the Humming Bird Medal (Silver) for Calypso; in 1987 the Honorary Doctorate of Letters from the University of the West Indies; in 1993 the Chaconia Medal (Gold) for Calypso; in 2001 the Order of the Caribbean Community and in 2013 the Lifetime Achievement Award from Government.

He has won the Calypso King title seven times and the Road March title eight times. His catalogue of songs include hits like “Yankees Gone”, “Jean and Dinah”, “Congo Man”, “Drunk and Disorderly” and “Phillip My Dear”.

Post by: Deeks on October 18, 2015, 01:55:56 PM
Mighty Sparrow - We Pass That Stage (Live recording) (1974 T&T Calypso Monarch winner)
Song no.1

Song no.2

In my mind, Shadow buss him in 74. Lot of people think so.
Post by: Quags on October 18, 2015, 08:06:00 PM

Song no.1

Song no.2

In my mind, Shadow buss him in 74. Lot of people think so.

Bass man is a forever classic , but that first sparrow tune really uplifting to young nation I could see why the judges pick it to win the crown.
Btw does sparrow have a shitty song?
And another thing , who is really better than sparrow , Frank Sinatra , Nat KingCole , Elvis, Glen Miller ?? Not to many ppl I guess.
National Treasure. 

Post by: Deeks on October 19, 2015, 05:02:32 PM
I am not doubting Sparrow's greatness. He is the greatest singer of the calypso art form. Kitch is a close second. I also must mention the ones before Sparrow: Roaring Lion, Houdini, Atilla the Hun, King Radio, etc.Sparrow  has a wide repertoire of calypso music. Absolutely fabulous. But in 74 Shadow did something to calypso. He accentuated or revolutionized the way the bass/bass guitar is used in calypso. And 4 years later Shorty/Ed Watson/Maestro were pumping Soca.

But yes, Sparrow is definitely on a pedestal of his own.
Post by: Socapro on October 20, 2015, 10:19:29 AM
I am not doubting Sparrow's greatness. He is the greatest singer of the calypso art form. Kitch is a close second. I also must mention the ones before Sparrow: Roaring Lion, Houdini, Atilla the Hun, King Radio, etc.Sparrow  has a wide repertoire of calypso music. Absolutely fabulous. But in 74 Shadow did something to calypso. He accentuated or revolutionized the way the bass/bass guitar is used in calypso. And 4 years later Shorty/Ed Watson/Maestro were pumping Soca.

But yes, Sparrow is definitely on a pedestal of his own.

Regards your statement highlighted in RED you are posting misinformation Deeks.

What Shorty did was independed from what Shadow did and Shorty started his experiments and move towards Soca as early as 1972 which culminated with "Endless Vibrations" in 1974 same year as Shadow's "Bassman".

See this thread for more details: Tribute to the the Father of Soca & Jamoo, Lord Shorty aka Ras Shorty-I (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=58177.msg843599#msg843599)
Post by: Quags on October 20, 2015, 11:44:42 AM
Deeks listen to bassman last night with a new ear looking for the link and it was a game changer.
But pro does have a point because Endless Vibrations actually telling singers to change calypso music .
Post by: Sando prince on March 18, 2016, 02:18:41 PM

The Mighty Sparrow today received a cheque of $2 million for 10 years licensed usuage of his memorabilia from the Minister of Community Development, Culture and the Arts Dr. the Honorable Nyan Gadsby-Dolly.

The Mighty Sparrow and Permanent Secretary Ms. Vidya Ramkhelawan signed an agreement for his memorabilia to be exhibited by the State.

Sparrow sang "Memories" as part of his acceptance speech following receipt of the cheque.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=615658958582943&set=gm.1117472068305054&type=3&theater