Sports => Football => Topic started by: jusbless on August 03, 2011, 01:55:15 PM

Title: Khaleem Hyland Thread
Post by: jusbless on August 03, 2011, 01:55:15 PM
'racing Genk wants international Trinidad & tobago' racing Genk has long sought, but the Belgian landskampioen is now fully work of strengthening. khaleem Hyland must be the following asset, know gazet of Antwerp. Hyland is a 22-year-old middenvelder from Trinidad and Tobago. He is at present still two years, under contract by zulte waregem. Hyland is a physically strong middenvelder with a good afstandsschot.
Title: Re: Khaleem Hyland
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on August 03, 2011, 02:24:06 PM
I think he should stay at his current club because every year a big club (juve & spurs & galatasaray) puts in a bid for him. I doubt that Genk would get him this yr then let him transfer after the season. After this year he will be eligible for belgium citizenship(i think) and more clubs will inquire bid again. The positive is that he might be able to play champions league football however Genk has to make it through the next 2 rounds first.
Post by: frico on August 03, 2011, 02:25:25 PM
Any good news is welcome mate even if its part Flemish. 8)
Post by: mukumsplau on August 03, 2011, 03:05:17 PM
I think he should stay at his current club because every year a big club (juve & spurs & galatasaray) puts in a bid for him. I doubt that Genk would get him this yr then let him transfer after the season. After this year he will be eligible for belgium citizenship(i think) and more clubs will inquire bid again. The positive is that he might be able to play champions league football however Genk has to make it through the next 2 rounds first.

i remember the juve interest....would have blown my mind if that had materialised..a trini in juve?!
Post by: andre samuel on August 04, 2011, 07:16:17 AM

i remember the juve interest....would have blown my mind if that had materialised..a trini in juve?!

That Juve link was just a rumour, from my understanding, the only Italian club that actually bid for him was Genoa.
Post by: Jayerson on August 04, 2011, 07:31:37 AM
Well Genk made it into the final qialifying round for the UCL
Title: Hyland back in T&T for WC
Post by: royal on August 29, 2011, 08:02:30 PM
Interview

http://www.youtube.com/embed/85kbNJMSrvY
Title: Re: Hyland back in T&T for WC
Post by: trini_stallion on August 29, 2011, 08:18:04 PM
thanks royall...mann breathing rel hard boiii lo...and ah tell me if ah wrong, but Pfister ah man hired to open de dooor for him...wtf..i wah be ah coach weee...

He talkin sense, mentioned that de training was ah work out...4-0! :beermug:
Title: Re: Hyland back in T&T for WC
Post by: Controversial on August 29, 2011, 11:50:17 PM
Interview

http://www.youtube.com/embed/85kbNJMSrvY

fuentes should get a little more info on how hard/intense the training is, it would be interesting to know
Title: Re: Khaleem Hyland Thread
Post by: madness on August 30, 2011, 07:55:19 AM
true
Post by: Flex on September 24, 2011, 05:17:19 AM
Hyland nets in Racing Genk 6-2 romp .
T&T Guardian Reports.

Soca Warriors midfielder Khaleem Hyland scored his first goal since moving from Zulte Waregem in Belgium in a 6-2 triumph over Third Division club Deinze in a Cup clash on Wednesday.

The 21-year-old Hyland who featured for T&T in its two 2014 Brazil FIFA World Cup Concacaf qualifying wins over Bermuda and Barbados netted in the 38th minute to make it 3-0 at the Burgermeester VanDe Wiele Stadion, Deinze.

Jelle Vossen (third, 60th) Jeroen Simaeys (15th), Anthony Limbombe (48th), and Kennedy Nwanganga (78th) got the other goals for Racing Genk while Alain Van Mieghem (61st)  and Dmitriy Yakovlevskiy (71st) scored for Deinze.
Title: How much Genk pay for Khaleem Hyland?
Post by: rastafari on October 04, 2011, 05:44:01 AM
I can't recall hearing anything about a transfer fee being paid to zulte waregem. Does anybody know how much money was paid to them by Genk?

JAH BLESS
RASTAFARI
Title: Hyland back in Belgium.. missing the Gold Cup ?
Post by: Banter Banton on June 23, 2013, 11:28:20 PM
Now saw something Hyland posted on facebook and the location was Belgium

Didn't the training camp start today ??

When will we know who are the players involved in the camp and when do we expect our foreign based pro's to join up ?

Men fitness probably horrible, they all on holidays for a good while now and majority of the squad wasnt there for the 2 June friendlies.. I expect fitness to be our major issue at the Cup
Title: Re: Hyland back in Belgium.. missing the Gold Cup ?
Post by: Quags on June 23, 2013, 11:43:51 PM
The boys must be feeling they could win the cup and nobody will get a good contract lol .
But the cup is just for the joy of the nation .
Post by: just cool on June 24, 2013, 04:09:40 AM

When will we know who are the players involved in the camp and when do we expect our foreign based pro's to join up ?

Men fitness probably horrible, they all on holidays for a good while now and majority of the squad wasnt there for the 2 June friendlies.. I expect fitness to be our major issue at the Cup
He's the next one to go, just like peltier! wid he star boy swell headed self.   :pissedoff:
Title: Re: Gold Cup 2013 Preparations and Meet up
Post by: Sam on June 24, 2013, 05:02:19 AM
Flex bring something to my attention de odda day and it kinda make sense.

Yorke and Latapy = Hyland and Peltier.

Lime, party and bull girls.

F00ck T&T.

Post by: Bourbon on June 24, 2013, 06:35:01 AM

F00ck T&T.

Well at least we get a replacement for dem off the field  :D
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on June 24, 2013, 07:19:59 AM

F00ck T&T.

Dem only 24,
they will come around when they reach 36+ years or so....
Post by: injunchile on June 24, 2013, 08:03:58 AM
Hyland- Peltier not in the same league as Yorke-Latapy. In all fairness to the lads let us see who has been called up and what excuses have been given. We are jumping the gun on this one.
Post by: Banter Banton on June 24, 2013, 08:08:47 AM
I just reporting what I saw... who knows, the kid maybe had loose ends to tie up and then return

Let's not bash him for something that isnt confirmed please

today is the press conference to unveil Hart,  I have a couple friends who will ask questions today on the matter.
Post by: kiffysmooth on June 24, 2013, 08:19:42 AM
Been hacker didnt need him den, so I don't tink he need him now either.. Let he stay where he is... Very much overrated in my opinion
Post by: just cool on June 24, 2013, 08:32:49 AM
Been hacker didnt need him den, so I don't tink he need him now either.. Let he stay where he is... Very much overrated in my opinion
I domn't know bout that!

as ah matter of fact he might be one of our most technical players to date.

he offers a lot going forward and plays on the highest level, and i'm sure if he makes the team he will dispose of yuh boy bleeder who IMO is ah wonderful midfielder if what i saw of him in the past yr is to be believed, but bleeder offers very little in the attacking third, in other words he's not a goal threat.

we need all the help we can get, and hyland is plenty help bro, it's just that his attitude sucks and he's as swell headed as they come. in other words, not committed to the RWB.
Post by: Trinidad Sports Reality on June 24, 2013, 08:33:05 AM
Nope Hyland is here i saw him Fri taking in a fball game in Enterprise a league Clyde Leon running
Post by: Flex on June 24, 2013, 08:43:13 AM
He left T&T, now back in Europe.

Post by: Jay10 on June 24, 2013, 12:49:55 PM
The guy has a club who pays his wages. if they say he has to be in Belgium, thats why he is in belgium
Post by: weary1969 on June 24, 2013, 01:20:58 PM
The guy has a club who pays his wages. if they say he has to be in Belgium, thats why he is in belgium

Nah TNT 1st everyting after. YEAH RITE
Post by: Banter Banton on June 24, 2013, 01:37:24 PM

It is a FIFA tournament... If he is fit and we called him up his club cannot block him

I reckon he's gone back to tie up some loose ends and meet the team either here or in USA

Post by: Tallman on June 24, 2013, 01:41:30 PM
It's the same story with Bateau. He's in Belgium doing pre-season training with Mechelen. Haven't heard if/when he'll link up with the senior team.
Post by: Deeks on June 24, 2013, 03:17:03 PM

He's the next one to go, just like peltier! wid he star boy swell headed self.   :pissedoff:

How allyuh come to that conclusion?
Post by: spideybuff on June 25, 2013, 06:58:55 AM
Coaches eh getting pay, players eh getting pay...

Anybody here really want to blame players if they put their club before country?

I am one of the most patriotic people you would ever meet...but it have no benefit for anybody to represent our national team right now if it affecting their club careers.

Maybe men like Yorke and Latas, who were established stars for their team could do that, but every one of our players fighting to be relevant at their clubs right now.

Kenwyne going anywehre next year? Or he still going to be benching at Stoke?
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 25, 2013, 12:14:05 PM
With so much supposed star boy mentality players is ah wonder we could actually ever field a team.  ::)
Post by: andre samuel on June 25, 2013, 12:20:02 PM
So quick to jump to conclusions.......how many of you knows what was agreed upon by the club and the ttfa?

All of a sudden he is perceived as a starboy?

Based on what?

Steups!
Post by: Banter Banton on June 25, 2013, 12:56:02 PM
I feel I will delete this thread yes

not once did I accuse Hyland of ducking out on us.. I just wanted to know If he will be called up for the Cup but then Liburd posted an article stating alot of the squad are back in Europe because the HAD TO REPORT FOR PRE SEASON WITH THEIR CLUBS

Once we call upon any they must be released in accordance with FIFA Regulations

I fully expect Hyland to be in the Gold Cup squad

Post by: banton on June 25, 2013, 01:09:19 PM
dey will be back.would of been nice for all the players to practice together but say wat
Post by: g on June 25, 2013, 08:55:24 PM
FIFA rules stipulate for tournaments players are obligated to be part of the national team training camp for 2 weeks prior to the tournament. Which makes the start date for camp June 24th.

I don't know the circumstances around why the player is not in the squad but clearly this is not ideal. I know for example Glen went to India to finalize his contract and will join the squad later in the week so I will reserve comment until an official release from the technical staff as to the official reason.
Post by: Jay10 on June 25, 2013, 10:01:31 PM
I'm sure he will play in the GC. When we spoke he indicated that his club were having some problems with releasing him, so I guess the TTFF has to sort it out. He NEVER indicated that he didn't want to play.
Post by: Rodney on June 26, 2013, 05:18:23 AM
I'm sure he will play in the GC. When we spoke he indicated that his club were having some problems with releasing him, so I guess the TTFF has to sort it out. He NEVER indicated that he didn't want to play.

Agreed, it's up to the TTFA to sort it not Hyland. It is not Hyland's responsibility to force a release from his club, it is the TTFA's as anything else has a good chance of compromising his posistion with his club.

It's nothing new, despite the rules many clubs push things to the limit in the hope associations or the players themselves will cave. Most European leagues play hard ball with national associations especially ones they think are weak. I am yet to see a trouble free run up to the African Nations Cup; there are always battles between clubs and associations about releasing players when that tournament is on.

The TTFA need to grow ah pair and fast!

Title: Re: Re: Hyland back in Belgium.. missing the Gold Cup ?
Post by: D.H.W on June 26, 2013, 05:27:54 AM
I feel I will delete this thread yes

not once did I accuse Hyland of ducking out on us.. I just wanted to know If he will be called up for the Cup but then Liburd posted an article stating alot of the squad are back in Europe because the HAD TO REPORT FOR PRE SEASON WITH THEIR CLUBS

Once we call upon any they must be released in accordance with FIFA Regulations

I fully expect Hyland to be in the Gold Cup squad

Delete it. The thread out of control now.
Post by: Banter Banton on June 26, 2013, 05:40:09 AM
Tallman, Flex... plz delete this thread

jesus christ boy Just Cool
Post by: D.H.W on June 26, 2013, 06:57:41 AM
Hmmmm.
Post by: just cool on June 26, 2013, 10:41:23 AM

Mr, you just come on this site last yr and you want tuh silence me??

lemme ask yuh something, where the fack were you when this board nearly died when all the wagonnist run out and abandon the team?? prior to the gold cup it's myself, FF, barataria, worm and ah few other member who was tuning in to the games, no one else could be bothered,

and God forbid if we didn't qualify for this gold cup, is now the board would need ah defibrillator bc the site almost flat lined after the WCQ, and now new life has been breathe into the site, all the sooo called football lovers poking out their heads with their noses in the air, and you want tuh come and take set??

all this talk bc i run one joke wid ah man (grayskywalker), and is commission of inquiries for so!

so that yuh know friend, yuh barking up the wrong tree. yuh better find someone else tuh fack wid eh cherry/ full warrior.
Title: Hyland is Overrated...
Post by: Controversial on July 13, 2013, 12:06:52 AM
For all the talk, people talking about Hyland, I hardly ever see Guerra give away a ball or make such bad passes in a game.

I'm sorry but Hyland should not be a starter, Bleeder ah love yuh breds but your not Captain material or first team material anymore. J Jones is a waste and I was happy to see Carter get a rest.

To be totally honest I believe we need 5 men in the mid, 4-5-1 is a better formation for us, or at least have a man like Guerra play behind Jones and put Hector on the wing in the future.

what is frustrating is to see defenders make school boy mistakes, ball watching, allowing strikers too much space, not defending with their life. Hart is a great coach, its too bad, he has these wanna be primadonnas on the team that feel they should be there.

Time to get rid of them and field players who actually love defending and winning, TT players attitude is below par for intl football
Title: Re: Hyland is Overrated...
Post by: just cool on July 13, 2013, 01:45:25 AM
For all the talk, people talking about Hyland, I hardly ever see Guerra give away a ball or make such bad passes in a game.

I'm sorry but Hyland should not be a starter, Bleeder ah love yuh breds but your not Captain material or first team material anymore. J Jones is a waste and I was happy to see Carter get a rest.

To be totally honest I believe we need 5 men in the mid, 4-5-1 is a better formation for us, or at least have a man like Guerra play behind Jones and put Hector on the wing in the future.

what is frustrating is to see defenders make school boy mistakes, ball watching, allowing strikers too much space, not defending with their life. Hart is a great coach, its too bad, he has these wanna be primadonnas on the team that feel they should be there.

Time to get rid of them and field players who actually love defending and winning, TT players attitude is below par for intl football
I wasn't going to respond to you ano, but i had to say something bc you're back on this kid after the splendid game he had tonight, BTW, did you even watch the game last night?? wah yuh is a troll or what??

every time we lose you does come bawlin bout this one is sh!t and that is in crap, man grow the fack up and learn the game nah!

some players have bad games and some don't have quality, hyland have quality but had two bad games, jovin jones was pure class today, and if you didn't see that then yuh need to start watching ice hokey and leave football be.

the ppl who don't have quality and should not be on the team period, or should not be seeing anytime but riding pine should be bleeder, carter, jamal gay, jorslin and clyde leon. these fellas lack ability and needs to be off the team or on the bench permantly unlees we have ah big lead and need to rest some players.

but hyland have real quality, he just had ah few bad games.
Post by: Gazza on July 13, 2013, 10:58:13 AM
Hyland is a very good player. we need him in the mid. Guerra has talent but i en think he good enuff for international. jus my humble opinion. too much flair ting he does focus on.
Post by: Quags on July 13, 2013, 01:15:57 PM

I wasn't going to respond to you ano, but i had to say something bc you're back on this kid after the splendid game he had tonight, BTW, did you even watch the game last night?? wah yuh is a troll or what??

every time we lose you does come bawlin bout this one is sh!t and that is in crap, man grow the fack up and learn the game nah!

some players have bad games and some don't have quality, hyland have quality but had two bad games, jovin jones was pure class today, and if you didn't see that then yuh need to start watching ice hokey and leave football be.

the ppl who don't have quality and should not be on the team period, or should not be seeing anytime but riding pine should be bleeder, carter, jamal gay, jorslin and clyde leon. these fellas lack ability and needs to be off the team or on the bench permantly unlees we have ah big lead and need to rest some player.

but hyland have real quality, he just had ah few bad games.
Hockey done boi ,Chicago Blackhawks legacy .Only Baseball on lol .
Post by: sub1 on July 13, 2013, 01:30:08 PM

Nothing too controversial about your analysis since it lets us know that you know very little about the game. BTW you got two things right one is the Theobold comment and the other is about Carter.
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 13, 2013, 01:34:18 PM
Guerra need a better agent than this, man.
Post by: coache on July 13, 2013, 01:40:55 PM
Why we goin around in circles about players..it doesn't matter who yuh play ..yuh might correct someting here but another problem pop up elsewhere no one player has all the required attributes..is how yuh use them..the Kenwyn Jones problem solve because he getting the service he motivated and he has some fitness..one problem solve..a whole heap a other problems become apparent..
Leave de players alone dey could play..leave dem..you cyah do better..look Beenhakker dey..therein lies all de problems..
Post by: Controversial on July 13, 2013, 04:04:45 PM

Nothing too controversial about your analysis since it lets us know that you know very little about the game. BTW you got two things right one is the Theobold comment and the other is about Carter.

I think your lack of debate is a testament to your lack of knowledge about the game. Instead of worshiping that image you have erected of Hyland. Why not comment on why he is our best option for an attacking midfielder?

Other than the fact he plys his trade in europe, lets hear your infinite wisdom?
Post by: just cool on July 13, 2013, 04:18:14 PM
Contro, really bro? and you have knowledge of the game?  :rotfl: :rotfl:

yuhs the one who said that jovin jones should be subbed, and for who aubrey david, daniel cyrus?? you have shown that your knowledge of the game is all in your noggin.
Post by: Tallman on May 20, 2014, 04:50:57 AM
Khaleem Hyland has been told by KRC Genk that he is free to look for another club, because he is not in coach Emilio Ferreira’s plans for next season.
http://www.footgoal.net/suite.php?selection=99482
Post by: Tallman on May 20, 2014, 06:46:31 AM
Khaleem Hyland has been told by KRC Genk that he is free to look for another club, because he is not in coach Emilio Ferreira’s plans for next season.
http://www.footgoal.net/suite.php?selection=99482

This is why he was hardly making appearances for the club recently. I didn't even realize that the coach who brought him to Genk, Mario Been, had been sacked since February.
Post by: Tiresais on May 20, 2014, 11:16:50 AM
That's craziness - he's a top player. Tell the Belgians! Fenwick can tell them how good he is!
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on May 20, 2014, 12:13:47 PM
That's craziness - he's a top player. Tell the Belgians! Fenwick can tell them how good he is!
I wont be surprised if he moves to a better league he had alot of interest a few years ago and hes still young.
Post by: g on May 20, 2014, 03:19:18 PM
Nature of the business, hopefully we could remain in Europe with another top flight team.
Post by: Deeks on May 20, 2014, 06:52:21 PM
Racing Quenk!!!
Post by: Tiresais on May 21, 2014, 02:07:46 AM
More likely Standard Liegé given Duchatolet's network
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 24, 2014, 12:15:43 PM
QPR may come knocking harry rednapp wanted hyland long ago .....
Post by: chelsealife on May 24, 2014, 12:22:11 PM
QPR may come knocking harry rednapp wanted hyland long ago .....
I was just coming here to say that. Great minds think alike  :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Tiresais on May 24, 2014, 02:08:44 PM
Lets hope eh!
Post by: Tallman on July 02, 2014, 08:32:14 AM
Khaleem Hyland’s former club, Zulte Waregem, is once again interested in the midfielder.
http://www.belgiumsoccer.be/nl/nieuws/lees/2014-07-01/zulte-waregem-hoopt-te-gaan-shoppen-bij-krc-genk
Post by: dreamer on July 02, 2014, 09:28:28 AM
Nice. Stay in Belgium. He done know de language(s).
Post by: Controversial on July 02, 2014, 11:35:41 AM
highly overrated player... i was happy he was pushed back to HM but i don't think he is up to the task after his last few games
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 02, 2014, 03:17:47 PM
highly overrated player... i was happy he was pushed back to HM but i don't think he is up to the task after his last few games
Dat drum skin eh buss yet?
Post by: Tallman on July 10, 2014, 09:39:41 AM
After several days of negotiations, Zulte Waregem has cooled their interest in Khaleem Hyland. The midfielder has been deemed too expensive for the club.
http://www.voetbalbelgie.be/nl/article.php?id=82361
Post by: FF on July 27, 2014, 02:39:09 PM
The Belgian league has begun.
Khaleem Hyland scored and then got two yellows and was dismissed in Genk's 3-1 loss to Mechelen.
Sheldon Bateau played 90 mins for Mechelen

(http://images.voetbalkrant.com/300x250/63/63937.jpg)

(http://sporza.be/polopoly_fs/1.2045048!image/4257073587.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape190/4257073587.jpg)

Bateau celebrating 3rd from left
(http://www.voetbalnieuws.be/uploads/vieren(kv-mechelen)(27-07-2014).jpg)
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 27, 2014, 03:20:12 PM
He gone from 'not in coach plans' to starting?
Post by: Tiresais on July 27, 2014, 03:21:42 PM

He's not done himself favours by getting sent off lol
Post by: Football supporter on July 27, 2014, 04:37:16 PM

....to not available for next game!
Post by: Tallman on July 28, 2014, 05:54:11 AM
WATCH Khaleem Hyland score KRC Genk’s first goal of the 2014/15 season.

https://www.youtube.com/v/kkMt7G3ANA8
Post by: Deeks on July 28, 2014, 08:23:59 AM
Well, i have to see the tackles that caused the send-off. Ah mean, some refs are pretty trigger happy these days. And the coach may have asked him to be more aggressive in the middle. That could be the cause of the 2 yellows.
Post by: FF on July 28, 2014, 08:51:31 AM
Well, i have to see the tackles that caused the send-off. Ah mean, some refs are pretty trigger happy these days. And the coach may have asked him to be more aggressive in the middle. That could be the cause of the 2 yellows.

They show the second one at 1:41 in the video. Kinda shoulder to shoulder but a lil reckless...
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 28, 2014, 12:49:14 PM

They show the second one at 1:41 in the video. Kinda shoulder to shoulder but a lil reckless...

Da was ah shit yellow for a normal shoulder to shoulder!  Nothing reckless in da one fuh me.  Hyland looked to be slightly off balance entering the collision but that in itself didn't warrant a second yellow.
Title: Khaleem Hyland Thread
Post by: grimm01 on July 29, 2014, 11:30:08 AM
Looks like Genk coach get fired after one game.

http://news.yahoo.com/1-game-gone-genk-fires-coach-very-early-080753723.html
Post by: FF on August 04, 2014, 06:49:50 PM
Bateau did not even feature on the bench for Mechelen yesterday in a 3-1 loss to Gent.
No news on injury or even if a transfer is afoot. There has been interest in him in Belgium and Holland.
Investigating.

Tallman, you hear anything?

EDIT: injury related it is being reported
Post by: Tallman on December 15, 2014, 03:24:29 PM
Khaleem Hyland is in England looking for a new club.
http://www.voetbalnieuws.be/news/156927/Middenvelder_van_KRC_Genk_zoekt_club_in_Engeland
Post by: Deeks on December 15, 2014, 05:23:37 PM
http://www.voetbalnieuws.be/news/156927/Middenvelder_van_KRC_Genk_zoekt_club_in_Engeland

Good luck. He could try  liverpool!!!!
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 15, 2014, 08:12:40 PM

A Prem team would be a pleasant surprise. More likely Championship/League 1.
Post by: Spursy on December 16, 2014, 12:03:11 AM
Kaleem would be best in MLS
Post by: Mose on December 16, 2014, 10:22:31 AM

Wasn't it interest from a Prem/English club that led to him going to Belgium in the first place? i.e. Loaned out to a Belgian sister club to develop and until he qualified as an EU resident  to avoid work permit issues.
Post by: FireBrand on December 16, 2014, 10:52:26 AM

Wasn't it interest from a Prem/English club that led to him going to Belgium in the first place? i.e. Loaned out to a Belgian sister club to develop and until he qualified as an EU resident  to avoid work permit issues.

Correct... Harry Redknapp tried to sign him at Portsmouth but his work permit was denied. He then moved to Portsmouth's feeder club Zulte Waregem, before signing with Genk.
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 16, 2014, 04:30:53 PM

Based on potential. He is what he is now.

And that ain't meant as an insult. If he could make in the Prem, I glad. But you doh usually go from benching in Belgium to the Prem. Realistically, I'd expect him in the Championship. League One if his agent eh wukking.
Post by: Spursy on December 16, 2014, 04:47:30 PM
Seriously.. MLS.. it's alot better than credited for.
Post by: Tiresais on December 29, 2014, 06:57:55 AM
Hearing rumours he's trialling/trialled at my love - Charlton Athletic :)
Post by: Tallman on January 08, 2015, 11:29:02 AM
Khaleem Hyland has accused his club, KRC Genk, of being disrespectful. Apparently Khaleem was on the team bus waiting to go to the airport to catch a flight to Turkey for winter training, when he was told that there was no ticket for him and he would not be making the trip.
http://www.voetbal24.be/2015/01/08/speler-van-genk-luidt-de-alarmbel-ik-word-niet-als-mens-behandeld-ik-zit-aan-de-grond/
Post by: dreamer on January 08, 2015, 11:46:47 AM
Not easy for a trinbagonian (or anybody for that matter) being an international professional footballer.
Real pressure. When yuh start feeling yuh being persecuted .... and start saying so too,  then is bye bye time oui.
Hopefully plan B,C,D in place to jump ship after having several high yield interviews
Post by: Tallman on January 08, 2015, 09:39:07 PM
According to theguardian.com, English Premier League club, Crystal Palace, has given a trial to Khaleem Hyland.
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/jan/08/alan-pardew-newcastle-crystal-palace
Post by: madness on January 08, 2015, 11:33:57 PM
why the english club needs to have him doing a trial? Genk should do a loan contract.
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 09, 2015, 02:14:46 AM
News looking shaky now: http://twitter.com/domfifield/status/553327824497807362

Hope something still comes of it.
Post by: Tiresais on January 09, 2015, 07:13:04 AM
why the english club needs to have him doing a trial? Genk should do a loan contract.

'cause you need to be sure he's at the right level to play, especially if you're going to pay a monthly fee for his services and/or set a transfer fee for end-of-loan transfer.
Title: Cardiff City take Genk midfielder Khaleem Hyland on a week's trial
Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2015, 11:19:12 AM
Cardiff City take Genk midfielder Khaleem Hyland on a week's trial
By Alex Bywater (Wales Online)

Trinidadian midfielder Khaleem Hyland has joined Cardiff City on a week's trial.

The 25-year-old is no longer wanted by Belgian club Genk, who are managed by former Scotland, Rangers and Aston Villa boss Alex McLeish.

Genk are currently on tour in Turkey though Hyland did not join the team on the trip after being told by McLeish to find a new club.

And his new destination could well be the Welsh capital with Bluebirds boss Russell Slade running the rule over Hyland this week. Should he impress Slade sufficiently, the Cardiff boss could be tempted to take the plunge with Hyland who is a powerful midfield player.

He has international experience with Trinidad and Tobago and has also featured in the Champions League with Genk. He played the full 90 minutes for the Belgian side as they were humbled 5-0 by Chelsea at Stamford Bridge in October 2011.

While Hyland is still on trial for now, any potential signing would add to the number of midfielders already available to Slade.

The Cardiff boss is determined to stamp his mark on the Bluebirds squad and will be hoping Hyland is more of a success than Islam Feruz, who failed to impress sufficiently when on trial from Chelsea last week.
Post by: Bakes on January 12, 2015, 12:28:25 PM
Damn... I thought he was highly thought of at Genk.  According to this report it makes it seem as though McLeish is running him out of town.
Post by: de_redman on January 12, 2015, 12:45:31 PM
interesting...
Post by: FF on January 12, 2015, 12:59:35 PM
Damn... I thought he was highly thought of at Genk.  According to this report it makes it seem as though McLeish is running him out of town.

He was.

The man was a regular starter under Mario Been. Then McLeish came in last year and he was gradually reduced to a bit part role.
It is clear McLeish does not trust him. He fought back into contention and started the first game of the season but received a red card and that was it ever since.
Post by: Flex on January 12, 2015, 01:46:51 PM
Alex McLeish still have a hard on for T&T players since the Latapy episode....

Post by: FF on January 12, 2015, 02:24:56 PM
Flex you laughing. I feel so.  ;D
Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2015, 04:08:21 PM
Who is Cardiff City target Khaleem Hyland? All you need to know about Bluebirds trialist
By Simon Gaskell (Wales Online)

Cardiff City could be about to make Khaleem Hyland their next January signing after he joined the club for a week’s trial.

But what do we know about the man who looks set to leave Racing Club Genk in Belgium?

Here we take a look at just what Bluebirds fans can expect should Slade decide to hand the 25-year-old a deal at Cardiff City Stadium...

What position is he?
Hyland is a big, strong and combative defensive midfielder who is said to have a good range of passing and a fierce shot. He is also able to slot in at the back if need be and played for Racing Club Genk there when they took on Chelsea in the Champions League in 2011.

Where has he played his football?
He started his career with San Juan Jabloteh in his native Trinidad and Tobago before Harry Redknapp tried to take him on at Portsmouth in 2008. That move was ultimately doomed though when the then-19-year-old Hyland failed to secure a work permit. That was in spite of him making his debut for Trinidad and Tobago’s national side that year and featuring in a friendly for the Soca Warriors against England a couple of months previously.

He ended up with Zulte Waregem in Belgium where he scored five times in 59 appearances before moving to Genk in 2011. There he has four goals in 75 games. He now has dual citizenship after getting a Belgian passport so securing a work permit should present no problems on this occasion.

Why is he leaving Genk?
According to Marnik Geukens, a Belgian football journalist, Hyland had a ‘good contract’ with Genk and, because they have other midfield options, new boss Alex McLeish was willing to let him go.

Geukens told WalesOnline: “They have two young kids in his position who are doing well. One is Sergej Milinković-Savić - the brother of the Manchester United keeper Vanja Milinković-Savić. He is doing well plus there is a local guy as well.

“That’s why Hyland has left. The problem is he is one of the guys with a good contract so they tried to get rid of him because they have the same options in that position.

“Alex McLeish is the new boss and he is building a new team, a young team. That’s one of the reasons they want to let him go. They don’t have financial problems because they are one of the richest teams. The problem is they are cutting down the budget because they aren’t playing European football this season.”

How good is he?
Geukens says Hyland is more than good enough for Championship level when performing at his best. He certainly has a good pedigree, having won 37 caps for his country and started both of Genk’s games against Chelsea in the Champions League in 2011/12. They were beaten 5-0 at Stamford Bridge, where Hyland picked up a booking, but held Chelsea 1-1 in Belgium.

Is there any competition for Hyland’s signature?
Reports in Belgium say Hyland has been in the UK since December looking for a new club.

According to reports earlier this week, Alan Pardew’s Crystal Palace were also thought to be interested in taking Hyland on trial.

Kenwyne Jones is a big mate of Hyland’s though, and linking up with his international team-mate may be a big pull for him and decisive factor in Cardiff’s favour.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 12, 2015, 04:46:48 PM
McLeish
Post by: maxg on January 12, 2015, 06:25:23 PM
McLeish+Bruce+Sourness :flamethrower:
Post by: Sam on January 13, 2015, 05:47:36 AM
Add Fergie to that list to

McLeish+Bruce+Sourness+Fergie+Hughes

Post by: Tallman on January 13, 2015, 07:38:42 AM
Cardiff City boss Russell Slade impressed by Khaleem Hyland as he hunts for midfield enforcer
By Steve Tucker (Wales Online)

Cardiff City trialist Khaleem Hyland has made a good first impression at the club according to Bluebirds’ boss Russell Slade.

The 25-year-old midfielder, currently frozen out at Belgian club Genk, is spending a week training in the Welsh capital with a view to a permanent deal.

A tough-tackling midfielder, Hyland is a Trinidad & Tobago international and good friends with Bluebirds striker Kenwyne Jones.

Standing at 6ft he would seem to fit the bill when it comes to boosting Slade’s options, but the Cardiff manager said it was too early to make a decision on the player yet.

“First impressions are good, he had a good first session with us, but it’s early days yet,” said Slade.

“He came recommended to us and Kenwyne has told us a lot about him so we thought we would invite him over.

“He’s a big strong lad and very combative in the middle of the park. Saying that though technically he is very good as well.

“We will see how things go throughout the week now.”

Hyland has made just two appearances this season for Genk who are managed by former Aston Villa boss Alex McLeish.

He was also left behind when the Belgian side went on warm weather training to Turkey recently and despite being contracted until summer 2016, he can buy himself out of his contract now.

The midfielder, who played in the Champions League for Genk in 2012, is known to be keen on a move to Britain.

He almost joined Portsmouth back in 2007 and had a trail with Celtic, but saw his plans scuppered then by problems over a work permit.

Hyland received Belgian citizenship last summer so that is no longer an issue.

He remains a Trinidad and Tobago international with 37 caps so far.

Friends with striker Jones, the two men went out for dinner together in Cardiff Bay following the Bluebirds Championship win over Fulham on the weekend.

Hyland, who is represented by Cardiff-based lawyer Paul Mohamed, recently trained with Crystal Palace and the Eagles are said to be still monitoring his situation this month, but the Bluebirds look likely to get first refusal on his services.
Post by: maxg on January 13, 2015, 09:44:19 AM
I guessin
https://www.facebook.com/pages/ROTI-Indian-street-Food/226836287419111
Post by: dreamer on January 13, 2015, 12:09:49 PM
Nice going Khaleem.
To you Mr Cardiff selector snooping on our message board,

It does NOT get any better than Khaleem "the rock" Hyland.
He is an attacking midfielder converted because of his strength and other attributes, into a powerfully built defensive midfielder.
He frequently unleashes two heat-seeking, Cruise missile rockets with both feet and has the best locker room personality that you could ask for.
Understands the priority of ball possession and keeping it simple and low risk.
Technically very solid and advanced for his age. Head is on and well focused.
Internationally well exposed and multilingual.
Will be in the next two World Cups with a newly ascendant T&T.
Tremendous resale value at only age 25.

Recommendation:
Buy immediately at whatever asking price you were offered.
Just call up & ask Beenhakker.
After you get him you're gonna want a new Trini find every year as it's just damn good business.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on January 14, 2015, 11:38:22 AM
Just call up & ask Beenhakker.

No doubt Beenie would endorse such a move, but Maturana (despite how he was viewed by many here) is the reason Hyland ascended.  Remember him getting picked while unattached and various board members complaining about it, yet Maturana stuck with him and did not let up.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on January 16, 2015, 12:44:18 PM
Hyland about to sign on loan for the rest of the season.

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/cardiff-city-set-sign-khaleem-8457634
Post by: Peong on January 16, 2015, 01:27:24 PM
Good for him.  Hopefully he gets a full deal at the end of the season.

Contracted until summer 2016 though.  If Genk don't want him they should terminate it.
Title: Khaleem Hyland to Norway?
Post by: Tallman on January 26, 2015, 02:47:04 PM
Belgian newspaper, Het Belang van Limburg, reports that Norwegian club, Strømsgodset, is interested in Hyland.
http://www.voetbalbelgie.be/nl/article.php?id=91184
Post by: Mose on January 27, 2015, 09:08:53 AM
What happened with the offer from Cardiff??
Post by: trini supporter on January 27, 2015, 09:14:37 AM
Racing Genk is rapidly farewell Khaleem Hyland. At least that's the intention. Het Belang van Limburg reports that the Norwegian Stromsgodset told the midfielder.

Hyland recent weeks tried to decorate a contract in England. He tested at Crystal Palace and Cardiff City. Apparently he still could not convince all.

In Genk Hyland has no future. At Stromsgodset is Marvin Ogunjimi active.

This is the translated version.. guess the Cardiff deal fell through 
Post by: Tallman on January 27, 2015, 09:20:01 AM
What happened with the offer from Cardiff??

There was never any official offer.
Post by: dreamer on January 27, 2015, 10:09:49 AM
When does the transfer window close?
FS and Sancho, get ready for a marquee player purchase.
Post by: Mose on January 27, 2015, 10:44:57 AM
End of this month. Think Hyland needs to stay in Europe though.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on January 27, 2015, 09:37:12 PM
Blackpool or Cardiff according to Hyland. Apparently the wage situation in Cardiff is helping to prevent the move. So he is considering Blackpool instead.

http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=nl&u=http://www.nieuwsblad.be/cnt/dmf20150127_01497219&prev=search
Title: Hyland training with Blackpool
Post by: Tallman on January 29, 2015, 11:57:41 AM
Hyland training with Blackpool
blackpool.vitalfootball.co.uk

Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Khaleem Hyland has been training with Blackpool this week, with a view to a move to the Seasiders.

The 25 year old is a tough tackling midfielder, who plays his club football for Genk, who he is in his fourth season playing for.

Hyland has so far won 37 international caps with Trinidad and Tobago, and is no longer required by the Belgian club and has been told that he can look for new employers by ex Birmingham City boss Alex McLeish.

Hyland was previously on a trial with Scottish side Celtic, but a 450,000 bid was turned down, and in 2008 was linked to Portsmouth, but the clubs initial application for a work permit was rejected by the Home Office.

Whilst waiting for the work permit to join Portsmouth, Hyland joined the clubs Belgian feeder club Zulte Waregem, where his loan was made permanent in 2009, where he stayed until 2011 before joining Genk.
Post by: Tiresais on January 31, 2015, 06:04:51 AM
Glad to hear he's still in with a chance :)
Post by: Pur_Trini on February 06, 2015, 08:33:28 AM
Anyone know the latest on Hyland?  Didn't sign for Blackpool in the end as his name is not in their squad list.  Thanks.
Post by: Flex on March 26, 2015, 01:53:04 AM
Hyland expects 100 per cent from Warriors.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Belgium-based Soca Warriors midfielder Khaleem Hyland says he is expecting nothing less than 100 per cent from his team-mates tomorrow when the Soca Warriors entertain Panama in an international friendly at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

Speaking yesterday, Hyland of Racing Genk said, “We’ve been working hard for the past couple days in training. Obviously the coach is looking at a few new faces because the big picture is the Gold Cup and the World Cup qualifiers. I for sure would like to make it to a Gold Cup Finals and even win it as well as to play in a World Cup.

“But this is all part of that journey. I hope we can get things right and pull off a decent performance on Friday (tomorrow). The public needs to support this team now because when you look at all our opponents in Concacaf, everybody is on board with the football team and supporting them from the early stages. Hopefully we can get the same kind of love and support from our people as well.”

Hyland’s fellow Carenage-born resident and Orlando City midfielder Kevin Molino also wants to see this country’s senior footballers step up to the call tomorrow.

The 24-year-old Molino, who has netted 11 goals in 29 internationals, trained with his team-mates, several of them for the first time, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo yesterday as coach Stephen Hard oversaw a lively session as the players pushed themselves for selection in the starting XI of the upcoming encounter.

Molino said the mood in the camp, which includes 11 players who will be aiming for their first senior appearance, has been upbeat but he knows that the newcomers will have some nerves to overcome as he recalled his early days with the senior team.

“It’s always good for new players to come in. You can always learn from a younger player or a senior player. You can encourage the younger ones and encourage them for the future. And I’ll do whatever I can do to guide them on the right path along with the other senior players and the coaches.

“I’ve always said it’s very important to get a cap early in your career so that when you go into international competition or games you will not be shell-shocked. You want to get games under your belt as soon as possible. I was lucky to get early caps under Russell Latapy at age 18 and it helped me along with my career now. I just hope the guys can live up to the challenge and expectations and listen to what the coach has to tell them and I think everything will be okay,” he said.

The Carenage-born player described the preparations as positive so far.

“I see a lot of positive things in training. We are still learning more about each other as it’s not like a club when you get to spend long periods together. We’ve just got to come together this week and work as best as we can and pick things up quickly. I think so far things have been shaping up quite well and it’s just about getting ready for the game on Friday and going out there to give a good performance and build on it for the Gold Cup and the World Cup qualifiers,” the former Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive player said.

T&T faces Guatemala in its opening Gold Cup fixture on July 9, Cuba (July 12) and Mexico three days later and Molino sees Panama as proper opponents in preparation for these clashes.

“Panama have been improving rapidly and they have a strong Central American influence and style that is similar to Guatemala and Mexico. This game will give us a good idea of what we need to do in our approach for the Gold Cup games and the qualifiers later this year.”

Today, both Hart and Panama's head coach Hernan Dario Gomez will be the feature speakers at a pre-match press conference at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, VIP Lounge from 2.30 pm.

RELATED NEWS

Khaleem Hyland weighs options.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Belgium-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland is back home with the national senior team preparing for tomorrow’s international friendly against Panama at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. But while he’s already thinking about the Concacaf Gold Cup in July, Hyland has to make some decisions regarding his club career as Racing Genk could soon be a club of the past for him.

Hyland has not found favour with Genk manager Alex McLeish since he took over the top job last year. McLeish was also coach of Russell Latapy at Hibernian and Glasgow Rangers.

“Things are a bit cloudy with my team at the moment. But I still have a year at Genk and with the transfer window coming up I’ll see what are the possible options and hopefully things will be better in the future,” Hyland said.

Hyland has made 75 appearances for Genk since joining the club in 2011. Prior to that he played 59 games for Zulte Waregem dating back to 2009. The 25-year-old has played in the European Champions League with Genk. Earlier this year he was on trial at English club Cardiff City.

But while he’s waiting out time at Genk, the former San Juan Jabloteh player from Carenage is hopeful of a positive year for this country.

“We have a lot in store for us this year with the Gold Cup and the World Cup qualifiers. We are building as a team and it’s good to see new faces around also as it helps to widen our pool. The game against Panama will be good test for us and hopefully we can continue to improve heading into the Gold Cup,” he said.

Kick off time tomorrow is 7pm in Couva.

Post by: Deeks on March 26, 2015, 05:18:43 AM
McLeish appear not be on the favoured side of Trinis. If Quenk dump you, come down in Central. You could get run with the Sharks. Your old coach Fenwick is back. And best of all, the co-owner of the Sharks is the MoS.
Post by: Tallman on May 19, 2015, 07:14:32 AM
KRC Genk tells Khaleem Hyland that he can leave the club
http://www.voetbalnieuws.be/news/180452/Deze_8_spelers_mogen_van_Genk_andere_oorden_opzoeken
Post by: Peong on May 19, 2015, 06:57:11 PM
We knew it was gonna happen.  Now to find a decent club.  Good luck Hyland.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 24, 2015, 08:51:26 PM
Any new news on Hyland?
Post by: Tallman on May 24, 2015, 09:00:16 PM
Any new news on Hyland?

Same old, same old. Genk tell him to look for another club.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 24, 2015, 10:09:01 PM
Thx TM, best of luck Hyland
Post by: Tallman on June 12, 2015, 09:45:29 AM
Khaleem Hyland has signed a one-year contract with Belgian Pro League club, KVC Westerlo
http://www.kvcwesterlo.be/a-kern/nieuws/item/1076-kvc-westerlo-strikt-khaleem-hyland
Post by: FF on June 12, 2015, 09:51:02 AM
Westerlo are currently a feeder club to Premier League club Chelsea.

Just FYI  ;D
Post by: maxg on June 12, 2015, 10:35:31 AM
Westerlo are currently a feeder club to Premier League club Chelsea.

Just FYI  ;D
bottom feeder

leech, or in other words a total lack of responsibility to provide for oneself. Relies heavily upon friends, neighbors or anyone really for sustenance. a slacker through and through.

Bart wakes up and thinks to himself, "dang, i dont have any money still" so he leaves his wallet at home on purpose and later says to his friends, "Whoops, I forgot my wallet today again, could you please buy my lunch again?" what a bottom feeder.

Oops..that would be TTF...ahh forget it..joke not coming off   :devil:
Post by: Mose on June 12, 2015, 10:36:18 AM
Congrats Hyland! Cement yuh place in dat midfield!
Post by: dreamer on June 12, 2015, 11:13:34 AM
Yes!
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 12, 2015, 11:18:06 AM
Had a feeling he would stay in Belgium, was hoping he would join OH Leuven so he would help persuade Bostock to join up. Good move now hopefully he gets consistent minutes.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 22, 2015, 06:18:24 PM
scored today in 3-2 win
Post by: dreamer on September 22, 2015, 06:55:34 PM
Nice. Well done Khaleem. Build your worth in your new club and bring that confidence to the National team
Post by: Tallman on September 23, 2015, 09:10:47 AM
WATCH: Khaleem Hyland scores during KVC Westerlo’s 3-2 win over Cercle Brugge in the Belgian Cup (Round of 16)

https://www.youtube.com/v/j_RnwFWD_Yg?start=142
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on September 23, 2015, 09:20:17 AM
Well executed by Hyland!
Post by: Peong on March 13, 2016, 12:11:44 PM
Hyland playing now

http://live.robinwidget.com/livematches/free-live-video-streaming-westerlo-waasland-beveren-football-274101.html
Post by: FireBrand on March 13, 2016, 01:38:33 PM
Today was the final game day of the Jupiler League season and Hyland and Westerlo escaped relegation by the skin of their teeth, with a 1-0 victory against 12th place Waasland-Beveren. They were at the bottom of the league for most of the season and needed nothing but a win to stay up. Unfortunately the win came at the expense of Soca Warriors prospect John Bostock's team. OH Leuven needed just a tie to avoid relegation, but were defeated 1-0 at home by league leaders Club Brugge.   
Post by: asylumseeker on April 09, 2016, 03:33:40 PM
Thanks again for the goal yuh scored in Guatemala. Very crucial goal. Breakthrough goal that set the path to gehhin 2 additional points and minimizing the possibility of gehhin none.

Need I remind everyone, 20 minutes into the second half we were on a diet of mud and water. The going was not easy. Hyland's goal created turmoil in the stands and changed the circumstances on the pitch. On top of that, his wicked ball to KJ was an assist. Had none of this occurred, we wouldn't have been on route to where things stand.

If allyuh want to complain about something it should be the chances we spurned versus the US. Why? Like Mexico, we would have been on 12 points and in the Hex securely.

Yuh know what that goal and assist did? Remind us all of the player's utility. And, provide us the opportunity to see his thought process under adversity in advanced positions. Certainly got my attention.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 09, 2016, 04:06:10 PM
Thanks again for the goal yuh scored in Guatemala. Very crucial goal. Breakthrough goal that set the path to gehhin 2 additional points and minimizing the possibility of gehhin none.

Need I remind everyone, 20 minutes into the second half we were on a diet of mud and water. The going was not easy. Hyland's goal created turmoil in the stands and changed the circumstances on the pitch. On top of that, his wicked ball to KJ was an assist. Had none of this occurred, we wouldn't have been on route to where things stand.

If allyuh want to complain about something it should be the chances we spurned versus the US. Why? Like Mexico, we would have been on 12 points and in the Hex securely.

Yuh know what that goal and assist did? Remind us all of the player's utility. And, provide us the opportunity to see his thought process under adversity in advanced positions. Certainly got my attention.

That was Joevin.

That aside, agree that he is a crucial part of our team toward achieving the ultimate goal of qualifying for Russia, '18.   :beermug:
Post by: asylumseeker on April 09, 2016, 04:32:35 PM

That was Joevin.

That aside, agree that he is a crucial part of our team toward achieving the ultimate goal of qualifying for Russia, '18.   :beermug:

The facts don't help my narrative. :)
Post by: Peong on September 25, 2016, 01:43:20 PM
I think Hyland just set up a goal to take the lead in the 85th minute.

Yeah it look like Hyland with the run and deep cross to win 2-1. Nice man
Post by: Tallman on September 25, 2016, 03:24:57 PM
WATCH: Khaleem Hyland provides the assist on the game-winning goal in KVC Westerlo’s 2-1 win over RSC Anderlecht.

https://www.youtube.com/v/ASEsJiVpb1Y
Post by: Thomo on September 26, 2016, 06:20:27 AM
What a pass!! Well done Khaleem!!
Post by: Mose on September 26, 2016, 08:03:13 AM
Well I guess, so much for the "he can't pass" line of thinking  ;D

Well done dude!  :beermug:
Post by: Thomo on September 26, 2016, 08:29:17 AM
@Mose... Men say "he cyah pass"..but look. "he cyah defend/attack", then he git MOTM performance against USA at home. "he cyah score" but remember Guatemala. One man say he "stupid", another called him "dunce", more say "inconsistent". And guess what he's always in the team sheet for his club playing the same position that he plays for country. Big up yourself Khaleem. Clearly your club and country managers know and appreciate your worth than some of the armchair pundits on SWO.
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 26, 2016, 10:10:32 AM
@Mose... Men say "he cyah pass"..but look. "he cyah defend/attack", then he git MOTM performance against USA at home. "he cyah score" but remember Guatemala. One man say he "stupid", another called him "dunce", more say "inconsistent". And guess what he's always in the team sheet for his club playing the same position that he plays for country. Big up yourself Khaleem. Clearly your club and country managers know and appreciate your worth than some of the armchair pundits on SWO.
I think, at a certain point, people felt like he had the potential to be great (along with Peltier and Guerra). We buy into that hype. And now that he's older and just kinda 'dependable', people judging him based their expectations instead what he actually is.
Post by: Thomo on September 26, 2016, 10:29:30 AM
By "great" I suspect you mean an attacking midfielder who plays in the final third. In the beginning he more or less suited that role and it was their that he was deployed. However when he move abroad to Belgium he was converted to a deep lying defensive midfielder. Most likely because of his size, height and power. A similar thing with John Obi Mikel before his arrival at Chelsea. So you are right if I interpreted "great" correctly.
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 26, 2016, 11:11:49 AM
By "great" I suspect you mean an attacking midfielder who plays in the final third. In the beginning he more or less suited that role and it was their that he was deployed. However when he move abroad to Belgium he was converted to a deep lying defensive midfielder. Most likely because of his size, height and power. A similar thing with John Obi Mikel before his arrival at Chelsea. So you are right if I interpreted "great" correctly.
By great I mean playing top flight ball. Highly sought after, etc. That's what we were being sold on those 3 youths when they was getting big trials all over and Redknapp was fighting up to sign them. He hit Gerrard a nice beats and we start to believe.

Instead, he playing mid flight ball at an unheralded team in an unglamourous position. Which is a better standard than most of our players, but some fans ain't judging him like that. They still looking for a Prem type player, not seeing that and fighting him down.
Post by: Deeks on September 26, 2016, 05:13:56 PM
So what happened in the Guatemala and USA games that just passed?
Title: Khaleem Hyland admits crying over failed Celtic move
Post by: Tallman on October 31, 2016, 01:41:19 PM
Khaleem Hyland admits crying over failed Celtic move
By Aiden Cusick (hitc.com)

Trinidad & Tobago midfielder Khaleem Hyland has admitted to Voetbal Niews that his failed moved to Celtic left him in tears.

Hyland impressed while on trial at Parkhead in 2007, prompting the Bhoys to offer £450,000 for his services.

However, San Juan Jabloteh, the 27-year-old's club at the time, asked for more money and the deal collapsed, with Portsmouth landing him a year later.

Celtic, meanwhile, signed Dundee United's Barry Robson the following January, having had already bolstered their midfield with Scott Brown and Massimo Donati prior to Hyland's trial.

"When I was eighteen I was able to go on trial with Celtic," Hyland said, as quoted by Voetbal. "They offered £450,000 but my club in Trinidad and Tobago wanted more. I shed tears over it. I had already the tasted the fantastic atmosphere in the stadium."

Work permit issues scuppered Hyland's chances of ever turning out for Portsmouth, who were a Premier League club at the time, and the player was loaned to Zulte Waragem - the start of a seven-year spell in Belgium.

Now of Westerlo, via a stint at Genk, the 53-cap international has reiterated his desire to play in English football.

"As long as I keep playing football that English dream remains alive," he added. "But now all my focus is on Westerlo."

Hyland's current side prop up the Belgian Pro League table, having taken nine points from a possible 39 so far.
Title: Hyland vows to give 100% under the new man in charge
Post by: Tallman on December 10, 2016, 04:03:15 PM
Hyland vows to give 100% under the new man in charge
TTFA Media

Belgium-based Midfielder Khaleem Hyland is anticipating his return to the National Men’s Senior team under the new period of guidance of head coach Tom Saintfiet.

The two men have football whereabouts in common as Hyland currently plays for KVC Westerlo, the same club that Saintfiet represented as a player between 1990-1992. Saintfitet also underwent his UEFA Pro Licence at the club of which he lives less than 15 minutes away from.

Speaking on Saturday, Hyland, age 27,  said it was important that he and the rest of the selected players adapt quickly to Saintfiet as the man in charge of the team ahead of the upcoming matches. He also mentioned that Westerlo Technical Director Wim Van Hove had already spoken to him about Saintfiet as the two are well acquainted.

“The manager Wim said to me a couple days ago that he knows coach Saintfiet well and that he was here at Westerlo and they are good friends. I had a conversation with coach Saintfiet  today and he spoke well of Wim whom he said was one of the first persons that sent him a note of congratulations when he got the job,” Hyland told TTFA Media.

“We have our task ahead with our new coach. We have a job to do which is the same job we had from the start of the campaign which is to go to the World Cup and we as players really want to go to a World Cup. We as players have the job to do. The coach is only there to guide the players. We have to perform on the field and it doesn’t matter what the situation is, the coach cannot come out on the field and he can only guide us from the sidelines.

“The player has to make the final decision when he is on the field and give his one hundred. I as a player always give my full hundred and will continue to do so once I have on the Red,White and Black.

“It has always been my dream to represent my country and I will always give my best because I am not playing for myself only but also the entire country. We want to put back Trinidad and Tobago football on the map and by trying to do so we have to qualify for the World Cup and this means we have to play and give the support to whoever the coach is and right now Tom is the man in that position,” added the former Jabloteh player.

“I know a lot of people expressed their disappointment with the situation over the last few days but that is part of life. We wish coach Hart the best of luck. I personally sent him a message. We know what he wanted to achieve and what he gave for T&T football and the mindset he instilled in us. I know he wants the best for us which means we have to overlook all the negatives right now and focus on the bigger picture which is the success of the national team and our football in general,” Hyland said.

Hyland suffered a hamstring injury in the Honduras game and felt a slight tinge after 40 minutes in his return game for Westerlo last month. He has since undergone further rehab and is back in the Westerlo squad for Sunday’s encounter with Standard Liege in which he will be hoping to make his full return to play.

T&T faces Nicaragua in two international friendlies in Nicaragua on December 27th and 30th before returning home to square off with Suriname on January 4th and Haiti on January 8th in CFU Gold Cup playoff matches at the Ato Boldon Stadium. The next two CONCACAF Final Round qualifiers are against Panama and Mexico at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on March 24th and 28th.
Post by: FireBrand on December 11, 2016, 03:10:14 PM
He scored today in a 3-1 loss to Standard Liege.
Post by: Tallman on December 14, 2016, 03:15:09 PM
WATCH: Khaleem Hyland scores a consolation goal in KVC Westerlo’s 3-1 loss to Standard Liège

https://www.youtube.com/v/wq8tH7iou8I
Post by: MEP on December 14, 2016, 08:16:28 PM
that was a serious toepee
Post by: Tallman on January 22, 2017, 05:52:21 PM
WATCH: Khaleem Hyland scores the game-winning goal in KVC Westerlo’s 2-1 win over KV Mechelen

https://www.youtube.com/v/sQMmQVJEYOM?start=392
Post by: Peong on January 22, 2017, 09:53:39 PM
Nice finish
Post by: Flex on February 10, 2017, 03:59:06 AM
Hyland ready to play for Lawrence.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Belgium-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland is pledging his full commitment and support to new national senior team head coach Dennis Lawrence.

The former Racing Genk midfielder played with Lawrence on the senior team during the 2010 World Cup qualifiers.

“I want to congratulate Dennis on the new job. I was fortunate to have played with him and he was a great contributor to our national team. He talked to you a lot as a more experienced player and made you feel confident as a young player on the national team, giving you the confidence to play at that level,” said Hyland. “And I expect he will bring that same approach to the team as head coach which will be good for the younger players in the squad currently.

“Now that he (Lawrence) is the man at the helm of the team I am looking forward to playing under him. I know he will need us as players to give him that confidence with our commitment and dedication to the national team and I am sure he will get that,” added the ex-Jabloteh player.

Hyland said he was satisfied with the selection by the TTFA and somewhat relieved that the coaching job situation had been ironed out following the exit of Stephen Hart.

“I was not able to play under the last coach (Tom Saintfiet) but everything happens for a reason and I am just happy that we’ve sorted out the situation of the coach for the national team and now we can move past the last episode. I think we are all just looking forward to giving 100 per cent under Dennis for the national team and giving it everything we have for the next two games in March against Panama and Mexico,” added Hyland.

Post by: Tallman on March 14, 2017, 01:11:30 PM
KVC Westerlo midfielder Khaleem Hyland has been suspended for three matches and fined €800 (http://www.nieuwsblad.be/cnt/dmf20170314_02779723) for violent conduct toward Racing Genk midfielder Jean-Paul Boëtius. On another note, Westerlo has been relegated to Belgian First Division B after finishing the 2016/17 Belgian First Division A season in last place.
Post by: FF on March 14, 2017, 03:55:22 PM
Wayy them was in the driver seat to avoid relegation for the last couple months. Pop down the last two weekends yes.
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2017, 05:25:59 PM
Khaleem Hyland has signed with Saudi Arabian club, Al-Faisaly FC

(https://scontent-mia1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19554453_10155537588059314_6567825980750574891_n.jpg?oh=79f3fabccca0aaf0ea80efb1ad04fad0&oe=59C69E06)
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 10, 2017, 08:44:48 AM
Get dem Saudi chips yute!!!
Post by: Flex on July 11, 2017, 01:41:32 AM
Hyland hyped for new switch to Saudi Arabian club.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago international Khaleem Hyland is off to join teammates Carlyle Mitchell and Willis plaza on the Asian continent. And yes, it’s another football deal for a local player. Hyland agreed to a two-year deal with Saudia Arabian top flight club Al-Faisaly Harmah with a one year option this week, leaving Belgium club KVC Westerlo.

Hyland joined the European professional ranks in 2008 when he signed with Zulte Waregem from San Juan Jabloteh, later moving to Racing Genk in 2011 where he spent four years, appearing in the UEFA Champions League for the Belgium giants. He joined Westerlo in 2015.

His move to Al Faisaly comes after strong interest from the club and after it was announced recently Saudi Arabia will increase the quota of foreign footballers in its pro league by 50 percent, as part of broader efforts to develop sports in the kingdom.

Six foreigners instead of four will be allowed per team in the Abdul Latif Jameel League, the Saudi Football Federation decided. The ruling applies to the 14-team league from next August when the new season begins.

“I feel good about this move,” Hyland told TTFA Media on Monday.

“It’s a new challenge for me at this stage of my career. I am 28 at the moment and with a lot of football left in me but I felt the time was good and the opportunity came at the right time for me to move on from Belgium where I’ve had a wonderful nine, close to ten years, in my career.”

“My aim is to remain humble and maintain my standards in life and to play to the best of my ability at a high level which I believe will happen in the Kingdom. The League there is getting bigger every season and there is a growth in the number of international players entering the league which I am happy to be part of.

“I played there in 2013 with the National Team and the experience was great. We got a win against the host country in the third placed playoff so there are memorable experiences for me in Saudi Arabia and I am hoping to add to that,” added the former San Juan Jabloteh player.

Al Faisaly currently has two players with Saudi Arabia national team experience, Mohamed Al-Bishi and midfielder Ahmad Abbas, as well as Brazilian Igor Rossi Brancho, a former player with Scottish club Hearts.

Oman national team captain and Reading FC goalkeeper Ali al Habsi is set to join another Saudi club, Al Hilal this month.

Additionally, The English Premier League’s high-profile referee Mark Clattenburg is leaving the league to take up a position in Saudi Arabia, where he will replace Howard Webb, another former Premier League referee, as head of refereeing at the Saudi Arabian Football Federation.

Revenue from TV broadcast of the domestic league has helped – in 2014 the regional media conglomerate MBC Group paid about US$1.1 billion for TV rights for 10 years. But reports have indicated that the annual distribution of these funds along with those from league sponsors and game-day ticket sales are not enough to keep clubs financially stable.

With all that is happening in the league, Hyland will be looking to get active as quickly as possible as the club prepares for the the start of the season in August. And T&T’s two crucial World Cup qualifiers against Honduras on September 1st and Panama on September 5th will be high up on Hyland’s agenda.

“Yes it’s important to start well and get down to business here with the club because obviously I want to be in the best possible shape for the two qualifying matches in September. Those games are extremely important for us as I think we have a very good chance to keep our chances alive with two positive result against Honduras and Panama,” Hyland added.

Note: Willis Plaza and Carlyle Mitchell recently signed with Indian I-League club East Bengal.

(http://ttfootball.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/hylandsigns2.jpg)

Title: TTFA extends condolences to Khaleem Hyland on his mother’s passing
Post by: Tallman on December 06, 2017, 09:57:32 PM
TTFA extends condolences to Khaleem Hyland on his mother’s passing
TTFA Media

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association extends deepest condolences to National Senior Men’s Team captain Khaleem Hyland and his family on the passing of his mother Carol. She passed away earlier today on her 65th Birthday after ailing for the past few months.

Hyland is currently at home, arriving home on Friday and was able to spend time with his mother before her passing. The current Saudi-Arabia based midfielder enjoyed a close, loving and supporting relationship with his mother whom he described as his “number one fan”.

“My Mom found I was too young to play with the older guys,” Hyland recalled in a previous story as he spoke of her “cutting his tail” whenever he chose to run away from home to play the game as a young boy.

“Elder folks in the community saw my capability, and my Mom eventually realised my talent,” Hyland said. “I am thankful for her support. She sacrificed herself for me to make it in life to achieve my goal.”

TTFA President David John-Williams added, “Our prayers and thoughts are with Khaleem and his close ones in this extremely difficult period. Khaleem has been a faithful servant to the country and our national teams and I am certain he would have made her tremendously proud with his accomplishments.”

Hyland suffered the loss of his brother Kwasi who lost his life after sustaining gun shot wounds in 2009.

Funeral arrangements for Carol Hyland will be announced by the family in due course.
Post by: soccerman on December 06, 2017, 10:59:27 PM
Sorry to hear Hyland, sincere condolences.
Post by: Deeks on December 06, 2017, 11:00:22 PM
My Deepest Condolences on the lost of Your Moms. God Bless!
Post by: asylumseeker on December 07, 2017, 01:27:25 AM
Guidance and strength, Khaleem.
Post by: royal on December 07, 2017, 06:33:43 AM
deepest condolences to the family 
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 09, 2017, 08:18:51 AM
Hang in there brother Khaleem!
Post by: asylumseeker on December 19, 2017, 11:58:38 AM
WATCH and listen to Khaleem Hyland unplugged.

https://www.youtube.com/v/EakkbxQZyCc
Post by: Tallman on December 21, 2017, 08:30:05 PM
WATCH: In the second of a two part interview, Soca Warriors football star Khaleem Hyland talks about what it means to represent the red, white and black kit and how he is motivated by his murdered brother, Kwesi.

https://www.youtube.com/v/tmuT2JPTw1M
Post by: Tallman on May 24, 2018, 05:50:33 PM
WATCH: Khaleem Hyland scores an absolute screamer in Al Faisaly’s 3-1 loss to ASAC Concorde (Mauritania) in an Arabian Club Championship Group A Playoff match

https://www.youtube.com/v/0ccZeC-JdSs
Post by: Deeks on May 24, 2018, 10:55:09 PM
Man what a strike. But the stands empty!
Post by: asylumseeker on May 25, 2018, 03:01:57 PM
Deft left foot.  :applause: And awareness!

(A Saudi club shouldn't be losing to a Mauritanian club).
Post by: Flex on January 02, 2019, 08:04:13 AM
Captain Hyland looks ahead to ‘intense’ 2019.
TTFA Media.

With 2019 calendar promising to be an event-filled one for Trinidad and Tobago on the international football stage, National Senior Men’s team captain Khaleem Hyland is heading into the new year with an intense anticipation which he hopes will transform possibility into reality.

On the agenda is the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the United States in June to be followed by the Nations League later in the year and before that, T&T will travel to Racecourse Ground in Wrexham to face Wales on March 11th.

Hyland wants T&T to stake a claim at the confederation’s showpiece event after missing out in 2017.

“I hope we can continue to get good games in 2019 as we did in 2018 and we can give our best for the upcoming Gold Cup,” Hyland told TTFA Media on Monday.

“The Gold Cup is a great competition. We made it to the quarter finals consecutively in 2013 and 2015 and we all know this competition gives us the chance to come up against teams like Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama and USA and therefore it will be important for us to have good preparation with games and camps in order to be ready for the tournament,” added the Saudi Arabia-based midfielder.

“I hope we can put Trinidad and Tobago back on the map football wise and I think by doing well in the Gold Cup and striving to even win it will do a lot for us but we need our people to support us like other countries do and bring back the love in the country through sport especially football. We have what it takes but we need everyone on board,” Hyland said.

Reflecting on 2018 during which T&T earned victories over United Arab Emirates and Guadeloupe in two of its six international friendlies which includes classes with Iran, Panama and Thailand, Hyland said “2018 was good with both country and club as a player. I picked up a few more things in my career and developed more as a player both for Al Faisaly and the national team as captain. We the ‘Warriors’ played a lot of good countries in 2018 and we took a lot on board from those games.

“Any player’s dream is to represent for there country and once we are called upon we will do what it takes to be the best at it,” Hyland concluded.

Post by: Flex on February 23, 2019, 01:26:43 AM
Hyland backs Lawrence’s extension… says Wales game could be a life changer for players.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s team skipper Khaleem Hyland is expecting this country to maximise the opportunity to prepare for the Concacaf Gold Cup by warming up against a team such as Wales which he expects to present a quality test for his side.

Hyland also expressed his satisfaction on Friday over  Dennis Lawrence’s contract extension as head coach of the Men’s Senior Team.

“It’s a great opportunity for the country to play games like these. I think it’s a dream come true for the younger players to play against players like Gareth Bale and others. I think the training camp leading up to the game hopefully will be good one . The conditions will be a bit colder than normal. The players who have experience playing abroad should be at home with regards to the conditions,” Hyland told TTFA Media on Friday.

“We have to make use of the opportunities we get and lessen down on the unnecessary free kicks and set pieces against them. I am positive that we can have a solid game against Wales and hopefully we can all be healthy and fit for the game

Regarding Lawrence’s post as head coach, the former Racing Genk midfielder stated, “I played with him and I know him as a player and now as a coach and I think I have a full view of what his ambitions are. He is someone who is ambitious and i think it is a great opportunity for him to be the boss and the coach of his country.

“He took us to the World Cup in 2006 and now he has the opportunity to start fresh again and compete in major tournaments. I can only wish the best for him and I think everyone is willing to work. It is something we all need to do together. We need to be together as one country and take everything as a stepping stone into the major competitions.

Hyland, who played against England in a 2008 friendly at the Hasely Crawford Stadium at age 18, feels that the Wales encounter could open doors for players on the international market.

“I was a young player as well getting the opportunity to play against England and that changed my whole life at that point in time so it’s a great opportunity for the younger ones to take this game very seriously because you never now who his watching you and when your life can change.

“Hopefully we can have some good training sessions at good facilities across there. I also think it is a great opportunity to play a game like this leading up to the Gold Cup . We missed out on the last Gold Cup even though we did great in the two other tournaments before. And now we have another chance to return to the tournament that is such a big one in the region. We want to show everyone what we are capable of,” Hyland continued.

Post by: frico on February 24, 2019, 01:48:19 PM

You never know how good African clubs are,Muratania boarders Senega,Mali and Algeria and as we know these countries have produced brilliant footballers in the past and still do.They were colonised by the French with french as their main language,the country is a mix of Africans ,Arabs and Berbers a mixture of both.I would not be surprised if they beat a Saudi club,they must be just as football mad as the rest of Africa.

I was checking their players and they have more players in Europe than we have,Turkey,Spain and Greece to mention some,and not in low divisions too.Their best FIFA ranking was 85 in 1994...present 101.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 24, 2019, 05:29:36 PM

You never know how good African clubs are,Muratania boarders Senega,Mali and Algeria and as we know these countries have produced brilliant footballers in the past and still do.They were colonised by the French with french as their main language,the country is a mix of Africans ,Arabs and Berbers a mixture of both.I would not be surprised if they beat a Saudi club,they must be just as football mad as the rest of Africa.

I was checking their players and they have more players in Europe than we have,Turkey,Spain and Greece to mention some,and not in low divisions too.Their best FIFA ranking was 85 in 1994...present 101.

I included in my consideration, much of what you excluded and at least half your post focuses on Mauritania's national team.

Have you seen the budget for a Mauritanian club?
Post by: asylumseeker on February 27, 2019, 03:14:37 PM
Have a read, frico.

“These images are important for us because they show how far we’ve come,” says Hachim El Yamani, an ex-footballer who has been covering the local game as a pressman for more than twenty years.

He tells Joy News that eight years ago, this country’s football was as barren as the desert, which covers approximately three-fourths of the country.

The top flight, or Ligue 1, which had just nine teams, was erratic. They had just two divisions. They had – and still have – never qualified for a major continental competition. They had no Fifa standard stadium. They did not have a single player in the whole country – which is four times the size of Ghana – on a standard salary or insurance.  The football association operated out of a rented structure.

Meanwhile, the top flight has been expanded to 14 teams, and a salary is mandatory. No player goes home at the end of the month without pay, a function of a strict $78,000 budget limit enforced for Division 1 and 2 sides back in 2010.

Not long after these steps were taken, Tevragh Zeina became the first Mauritanian club to advance to the second round of the African Confederations Cup since 1994. But the national team needed a shot of experience, so the Federation began approaching eligible players.

https://www.myjoyonline.com/sports/2018/February-22nd/lowly-mauritania-teaches-ghana-africa-a-football-lesson-with-photos.php

Post by: frico on February 28, 2019, 09:36:25 AM
asylumseeker: Thanks for that nice bit of history,I would like to see them in the not too distant future in the Africa Nations Cup,seems like they would catch up fast,remember they have players in Europe although their football was so disjointed.When they have things sorted we could be hearing more about them,thanks again mate.
Post by: Tallman on January 20, 2020, 11:59:04 PM
WATCH: Khaleem Hyland nets a brace in Al-Faisaly's 2-2 draw with Al-Hilal. The first goal is exquisite.

https://www.youtube.com/v/sXSAkzMUnPw?start=59
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2020, 06:42:49 AM
So that's where Giovinco disappeared to.  :)

First goal from typical Hyland range. He's scored several quality goals from that distance + about 15 to 20 meters.

Of course the Saudis have $ for VAR implementation. We need to catch up  in terms of training,  implementation  and playing/officiating under those conditions.

Congrats to Khaleem. 
Post by: Cocorite on January 21, 2020, 12:15:50 PM
Is it just me or is it that all T&T boys scoring since the new Admin take over? :whistling:
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2020, 04:46:21 PM
Is it just me or is it that all T&T boys scoring since the new Admin take over? :whistling:

Yuh not alone.
Post by: Tallman on February 22, 2020, 10:33:11 AM
WATCH: Khaleem Hyland with a delightfully weighted 35-yard pass to assist on Al-Faisaly's only goal in their 2-1 loss to Al-Ettifaq

https://www.youtube.com/v/4OYSL8PoJU0?start=136
Post by: Tallman on February 28, 2020, 04:42:57 PM
WATCH: Khaleem Hyland opens the scoring by blasting a right-footed shot into the roof of the net from 14 yds out during Al-Faisaly's 2-0 win over Al-Adalh

https://www.youtube.com/v/C5eeGyByptY
Title: Hyland stays positive, eager to see what the future holds
Post by: Tallman on April 07, 2020, 03:35:21 PM
Hyland stays positive, eager to see what the future holds
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s Team Captain Khaleem Hyland is keeping busy and maintaining high hopes of wearing the National Colours in the future again at whatever time that may be.

With the Saudi Arabian Premier League currently on hold as well as all upcoming CONCACAF competitions including the CONCACAF Gold Cup playoff scheduled for June now postponed, Hyland is simply staying safe but remaining eager for what the future holds.

“It’s been difficult for everyone as not being able to play football is very hard to endure. I see everyone posting all this time without football and life is not normal. The supporters and players both here and at home have a challenging time to get through,” Hyland told TTFA Media.

The former Belgium-based midfielder spoke about recently appointed Men’s Senior Team head coach Terry Fenwick and his period working under him at San Juan Jabloteh during his teenaged days.

“Now we have a new coach. It’s been a while now Terry Fenwick has been aiming and hoping that he would get the job. Congratulations to him. I worked with him at a young age at Jabloteh and I know he is a very good person. He knows what he wants and he knows how to get information to players and get quality out of them. He tends to have his ideas and plans on board,” Hyland said.

“Hopefully we can all work for the best for our country and for our football to move onto the right track and hopefully we can move on to better ways, winning ways or to even a better structure that the past. The past is gone. Unfortunately things didn’t go as planned with Dennis (Lawrence). I wish him the best of luck. He is a great person also.

Hyland said it was imperative that all concerned moved in the same direction to take T&T’s football back to a form of respectability .

“We just have to look forward to the future and work hard as a team. Everyone needs to do their own homework also. It’s a new coach in charge now and everyone has a chance to show what they can do and bring forward the best towards the national team. We are representing the Red, White and Black and we need to do our best for our country. It is an honour to always wear the colours of Trinidad and Tobago.”

While football is out, Hyland has ensured his fitness remains intact.

“I’ve been going through my paces everyday, working hard, training hard The last couple months paid off with me getting on the scoresheet and the team doing great before Covid 19 took over.

“Right now here in Saudi Arabia and in the world everything is at a standstill and the league has been postponed. It is hard for me to be here with days off and I cannot leave the country and cannot fly to go and be with my loved ones. I have a couple friends here in Saudi Arabia and they make me feel at home away from home. The atmosphere in Saudi Arabia is still good and they are dealing with it well and taking the precautionary measures to ensure we are safe.

“I wish everyone the best of health and best of luck. We know the procedures we need to follow  to be clean and be healthy. We need to rally together as a country to get it all back on track. Hopefully we can live as one again as a country and as people in this world,” Hyland ended.
Post by: Tallman on April 09, 2020, 05:36:08 PM
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago Captain Khaleem Hyland sends a message from Saudi Arabia to all of those who have been performing acts of bravery to assist during the Covid-19 pandemic

https://www.youtube.com/v/JBcu8F6Dy5Y
Post by: Tallman on April 26, 2020, 06:56:18 PM
WATCH: Several T&T citizens remain trapped in other countries due to the closure of our borders. One such person is National Football Captain Khaleem Hyland, who is currently in Saudi Arabia awaiting word on when he can return home.

https://www.youtube.com/v/qq0rQXgut_8
Post by: Tallman on June 24, 2020, 02:50:16 PM
WATCH: Andre Baptiste interviews Trinidad and Tobago Captain Khaleem Hyland.

https://www.youtube.com/v/tzpYXNvc80E
Title: Hyland backs Fenwick
Post by: Tallman on June 25, 2020, 07:37:20 AM
Hyland backs Fenwick...let Englishman succeed or fail
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

SAUDI ARABIA-based senior national football team captain Khaleem Hyland believes Englishman Terry Fenwick should be given his chance as men’s head coach, despite the questionable circumstances surrounding his appointment last January.

Hyland comments came in a video interview on Andre Baptiste’s Sportalk show on I95.1 FM. Fenwick’s contract is said to be one of three documents signed by sidelined Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president William Wallace, but in so doing without final board approval.

“I think the right decision is to keep him as coach and if he fails it is a decision of the TTFA and, if he succeeds, then they can keep him on board,” stated the 31-year-old midfielder.

Hyland, who got his break in local professional football under the transplanted Englishman at San Juan Jabloteh, said Fenwick wanted to be T&T head coach for a long time and he deserves to at least get the opportunity. “I don’t think they should sack him (Fenwick) for whatever reasons that are going on,” Hyland opined. “He is the coach, so they need to give him his opportunity.”

Hyland credited Fenwick for bringing intensity to the team at San Juan Jabloteh when they won the Pro League in 2005. He also credited the Englishman for giving playing opportunities to young players.

“He shows that he knows what he is doing, at least at the club level in Trinidad and Tobago,” Hyland noted. “Hopefully, he can bring that to the national team... but I don’t think he can do it alone.”

Hyland called for all stakeholders to come together and rebuild football in T&T. He also endorsed the approach of T&T scouting players from abroad. He pointed out while there is no shortage of talent in T&T, that discipline and mental strength is often missing in some players.

“I would say maybe we don’t have the discipline and the mental strength to go with the talent,” stated Hyland, adding, “At the highest level of football, talent comes last. You need to have the discipline and will and the bad-mind to take you out of difficult situations.”

He said many Caribbean countries had improved significantly by scouting overseas players, citing Guyana as an example. He said the Guyanese resembled an English Championship Division team at the last CONCACAF Gold Cup.

“If we need to go outside and find other players with parents and grandparents from Trinidad and Tobago to make our football and our country stronger and better, so be it,” Hyland contends.

He is of the view that local players get onto the national team too easily these days, and that scouting foreign-born players increases competition and makes the team stronger. “I think we should, because a lot of other countries do it,” Hyland concluded.
Post by: Flex on August 25, 2020, 12:48:36 AM
Hyland tells Wallace: Look at the bigger picture.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

National football captain Khaleem Hyland has called on T&T Football Association president William Wallace to look at the bigger picture in his team's fight against the sport governing body FIFA to overturn its decision to appoint a Normalisation Committee and allow them (United TTFA) govern the country's football.

Hyland, speaking on the Andre Baptiste I.95.5 Programme on Saturday said he understands Wallace's fight for what he believes is right, but said at the end of the day there is need to look at the bigger picture, as their actions will not only affect them but an entire nation with younger ones, which will represent the future.

“The kids' dream is something that, we all have kids and we want them to live up to their dreams just as we did. I am a player now and coming down to age, it's a dream for me to go to a senior World Cup. I hope and pray that everything that's going on will resolve in the best way for the players, and I hope that the sanctions that FIFA wants to hand down will not happen.”

Hyland is set to lead a T&T team into the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers in October, where a more than manageable win in a group that comprises Guyana, St Kitts/Nevis, Puerto Rico and the Bahamas awaits them.

Hyland who plays professionally for in Saudi Arabia for Al-Faisaly, as a midfielder, said international football is an opportunity for many young footballers to receive caps to further their careers abroad and the sanctions can prevent that.

Post by: pull stones on August 25, 2020, 12:59:29 AM

National football captain Khaleem Hyland has called on T&T Football Association president William Wallace to look at the bigger picture in his team's fight against the sport governing body FIFA to overturn its decision to appoint a Normalisation Committee and allow them (United TTFA) govern the country's football.

Hyland, speaking on the Andre Baptiste I.95.5 Programme on Saturday said he understands Wallace's fight for what he believes is right, but said at the end of the day there is need to look at the bigger picture, as their actions will not only affect them but an entire nation with younger ones, which will represent the future.

“The kids' dream is something that, we all have kids and we want them to live up to their dreams just as we did. I am a player now and coming down to age, it's a dream for me to go to a senior World Cup. I hope and pray that everything that's going on will resolve in the best way for the players, and I hope that the sanctions that FIFA wants to hand down will not happen.”

Hyland is set to lead a T&T team into the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers in October, where a more than manageable win in a group that comprises Guyana, St Kitts/Nevis, Puerto Rico and the Bahamas awaits them.

Hyland who plays professionally for in Saudi Arabia for Al-Faisaly, as a midfielder, said international football is an opportunity for many young footballers to receive caps to further their careers abroad and the sanctions can prevent that.
andre has really gone all out to help his fat ugly friend back into the leadership seat by ramping up his campaign to have WW walk away in peace. i hope hyland know that TT not going to the octagon, nor are they getting into the gold cup. they are a shit team that can't even beat the top four teams in CFU.

why don't they take the ban and reorganize football, fat david john willie don't care if we got banned either since it was his idea to sik giovani on us, so go ahead and do us a favor, ban us geo, what are you waiting for? do us all a big favor and bring on the ban. it's not like we have won anything in the last 15 years anyway, maybe this ban might just do us a world of good, like keeping our blood pressure at a healthy level.
Post by: FF on August 25, 2020, 02:00:38 AM
Calling to look at the bigger picture when at the same time they missing the forest for the trees.

Wallace and them are indeed looking out for the long term good of the program.

Anybody who take Hyland point of view is like telling slaves don't revolt because one or two of them does get to work in the house from time to time.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 25, 2020, 09:13:07 AM
The ghost in the room is the absence of a key pillar: a players association with teeth.

I empathize with Hyland and Bateau. I would not want to miss out on a WC campaign based on long enduring f**keries --- particularly in a situation in which COVID-19 is allowing us a second chance after the ignorance of the post-Hart period.

However, in my view,  it wasn't strategically convenient nor necessary nor sensible for United TTFA to consult with players or coaches before taking action.  Are we serious? In a T&T in which someone was bound to talk and carry the information where it had no business being taken? Nah. Ultimately there's a price for dysfunction. And part of the dysfunction is no players and coaches association.  Having both could have faciliated more of what Hyland,  Bateau,  Eve and Hood have been concerned about. Maybe the time on-hand should be used to fill that breach.
Post by: kounty on August 25, 2020, 12:59:19 PM

The quote attributed to Hyland in the headline and the quote within the body of the article aren't exactly the same. Anybody listened to the program and could tell if those were Hyland's words? or from the context of what Hyland was saying was implying that Wallace etc should just back down (for the sake of players)? or was his suggestion more in line with what Look Loy is saying - It's a long game and the CURRENT score is 1-0 ...Fifa have the ball to kick off the 2nd half? (which i interpret to mean the case was about building leverage to negotiate a bigger position).
Post by: asylumseeker on August 26, 2020, 12:15:20 AM
Well, well, well. I am pleased to learn that coaches have decided that "one for all and all for one" must take the form of an organization that protects their interests.

I am cautiously encouraged although I am confused as to how a "minor mix-up" could result in a major fck up. National team coaches locked out from the stadium will preserve a stain of being  one of the worst public images of Trinidad and Tobago football and there have been several ugly ones.

The challenge of carrying out instructions crafted in a Mother Country has always been that the intellectual authors of the instructions are not the ones who have to dirty their hands at the point of delivery. Formation of the association suggests that morale is improving, but tlhe licks probably won't stop anytime soon. Players your turn.
Post by: Tallman on September 22, 2020, 03:50:09 PM
Midfielder Khaleem Hyland joins recently promoted Saudi Professional League club Al-Batin, on a free transfer from Al-Faisaly.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EijPkC5XYAACnUr?format=jpg&name=medium)

New 2-year Saudi deal for Hyland.
T&T Express Reports.

National team midfielder Khaleem Hyland has signed a two-year deal with Saudi Arabian team, Albatin FC.

Hyland, 31, has spent the last three seasons playing for Saudi clubs after beginning his international club career in Belgium. News of his new deal was revealed on T&T Sport Diary where the Carenage-born midfielder expressed elation to have started a new journey.

“I’m excited to start my new chapter, the club has a goal that they want to achieve and I’m on the same track to make them reach it,” he told T&T Sport Diary (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OGMpshvN5Cs&feature=emb_title). “I’m feeling good, it’s a great deal for me and the club and hopefully, we can make history in the Saudi League like I did with my first club, Al Faisaly.”

T&T Sport Diary commented, “Hyland is also a major local stakeholder and a very important player at the national senior level so we definitely had to ask how he felt about the big decision today by the United TTFA to cease their matter against FIFA.”

Hyland, who has captained the national team on several occasions, replied: “I’m happy that the United TTFA looked at the bigger picture and the future for the kids and football. I hope we can build on this as a country and move forward to better things in the future.”

Post by: asylumseeker on September 22, 2020, 05:16:10 PM
Congrats, skipper!
Post by: Tallman on September 26, 2020, 01:05:26 PM
WATCH: Khaleem Hyland 2020

https://www.youtube.com/v/OGMpshvN5Cs
Title: Hyland anticipates positive movements with Normalisation Committee in charge
Post by: Tallman on November 28, 2020, 01:45:56 PM
Hyland anticipates positive movements with Normalisation Committee in charge
T&T Guardian

Relieved by FIFA's decision to lift the suspension on the T&T Football Association (TTFA), Khaleem Hyland, the T&T senior men’s team captain is now anticipating a return to leading the national team.

Hyland, yesterday, paid tribute to former Argentina captain Diego Maradona, while observing the passion for the game in the South American country which he witnessed when T&T faced the 1986 World Champions in an international friendly in Buenos Aires in 2014.

“I want to pay respect and express condolences to the family, friends and ex-teammates of Diego Maradona. World football has lost a footballing God. It is a sad week for all of us. Everyone is grieving as he had a part to play in the lives of so many people regarding their love for the game. He was a dominant and inspirational figure to millions including myself,” Hyland said.

Reflecting on his experience on Argentina soil, the Saudi Arabia-based player continued, “It was so great to witness in Argentina how they worshipped Maradona and Messi with so many billboards and posters across Buenos Aires. Their passion for the game is immense and they always want the best for their team and the country.

"I hope one day I can live to see something similar in my country. But of course, we as players need to do our part and we as a country have to really put our heads together to lift ourselves.

“Everyone needs to come on board and we need to start from now knowing that the suspension is lifted. The Normalisation Committee (NC) is in charge and everyone involved needs to give the NC the fullest support and respect in order for us to do this for the country, thinking of the future generations.”

The midfielder, who played in the UEFA Champions League for Belgium club Racing Genk, stressed the importance of stakeholders putting the development of the local game above everything.

“It is important that we know at this time the path forward with FIFA assisting in overseeing our football. Right now, the Normalisation Committee is in charge. I have had good conversations with the chairman Robert Hadad on things we need to work on and how we can work together to achieve this,” Hyland said.

“I haven’t met him (Hadad) in person as yet but we have had some great conversations over video calls and he seems like a person who wants to improve the state of our football and a great guy. All the stakeholders need to come together as one to put T&T’s football back on the map and back to a respectable position. From partners, fans, coaches and players, we all really need to pull together and play our part.”

The former San Juan Jabloteh man intends to do his part, once called upon.

"It is always a pleasure and honour to represent T&T and a dream come true to not only play but to captain the national team. As a player, it is just about being able to give back everything and share my knowledge and experiences that I inherited from the older ones who I rubbed shoulders with both at home and abroad. Once I am still in good shape and strong-minded, I will always be available to play and contribute to my country.”

Touching on Maradona’s influence, Hyland spoke of the occasion which saw him and the rest of the T&T line-up being able to take the field at the famous Estadio Antonio Vespucio Liberti – better known as the Monumental. It is one of South America’s three great stadiums along with the Maracana in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and the Centenario in Montevideo, Uruguay and has hosted some of the Argentinian national team’s most memorable games and provided a suitably dramatic setting for the opening match and the final of the 1978 FIFA World Cup, won by the hosts.

“It was great to play against Argentina just before the 2014 World Cup at a stadium where Maradona’s presence was strong so many times as a player and head coach of Argentina. The biggest players in the world played at that venue and played against us in that game. One of the world’s best Lionel Messi is an understudy of Maradona and we had that opportunity to take the field alongside him.

“In my life, I didn’t see a lot of Maradona live but I’ve always watched so many clips of him and his influence was massive. Playing against Messi was like playing against Maradona in many ways because of their similarities but of course, Maradona is Maradona and we will never see someone like him again,” said Hyland.
Post by: Flex on December 01, 2020, 01:06:17 AM
Let’s work together now, says Hyland
T&T Express Reports.

Trinidad and Tobago senior team captain Khaleem Hyland is anticipating a return to leading the national team, and says he is relieved that the recent suspension of this country from all international football has been lifted by FIFA.

“Everyone needs to come on board and we need to start from now knowing that the suspension is lifted. The normalisation committee is in charge and everyone involved needs to give the NC the fullest support and respect in order for us to do this for the country, thinking of the future generations,” said Saudi Arabia-based Hyland.

The midfielder who once played in the UEFA Champions League for Belgium club Racing Genk, stresses the importance of stakeholders putting the development of the local game above everything.

“It is important that we know at this time the path forward with FIFA assisting in overseeing our football. Right now the normalisation committee is in charge. I have had good conversations with the chairman Robert Hadad on things we need to work on and how we can work together to achieve this,” said Hyland.

“I haven’t met him (Hadad) in person as yet but we have had some great conversations over video calls and he seems like a person who wants to improve the state of our football and a great guy. All the stakeholders need to come together as one to put Trinidad and Tobago’s football back on the map and back to a respectable position. From partners, fans, coaches and players, we all really need to pull together and play our part,” says the former Jabloteh man.

He intends to do his part once called upon.

“It is always a pleasure and honour to represent Trinidad and Tobago and a dream come true to not only play but to captain the national team. For me as a player it is just about being able to give back everything and share my knowledge and experiences that I inherited from the older ones who I rubbed shoulders with both at home and abroad. Once I am still in good shape and strong minded I will always be available to play and contribute to my country.”

Touching on the late Diego Maradona’s influence on him, Hyland speaks of the occasion which saw him and the rest of the T&T line-up being able to take the field at the famous Estadio Antonio Vespucio Liberti – better known as the Monumental. It is one of South America’s three great stadiums along with the Maracana in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil and the Centenario in Montevideo, Uruguay and has hosted some of the Argentinian national team’s most memorable games and provided a suitably dramatic setting for the opening match and the final of the 1978 FIFA World Cup won by the hosts.

“For me it was great to play against Argentina just before the 2014 World Cup at a stadium where Maradona’s presence was strong so many times as a player and head coach of Argentina. The biggest players in the world played at that venue and played against us in that game. One of the world’s best Lionel Messi is an understudy of Maradona and we had that opportunity to take the field alongside him.

“In my life I didn’t see a lot of Maradona ‘live’ but I’ve always watched so many clips of him and his influence was massive. Playing against Messi was like playing against Maradona in many ways because of their similarities but of course Maradona is Maradona and we will never see someone like him again,” said Hyland.

Title: Hyland extends greetings and gratitude
Post by: Tallman on December 23, 2020, 07:26:24 PM
Hyland extends greetings and gratitude
TTFA Communications

While he may be far from home and away from his family, Saudi Arabia based national team captain Khaleem Hyland took time to issue greetings to the local football community and express gratitude to the Normalization Committee for fulfilling its commitment
to members of the Senior Men's team regarding outstanding monies.

Hyland and other members of the Senior Team received payments this week for past international matches under ex-head coach Dennis Lawrence.

"I just want to say thanks to everyone who played a part in getting the players their outstanding match fees before the Christmas season," Hyland told TTFA Media.

"They (Normalization Committee)  are also working at the moment on fixing  some other things ahead of the new year . We hope we can move forward from here all together and make a better future for everyone in our football," added the ex-Racing Genk player.

"I have been in contact from day one with Mr (Robert) Hadad to make this happen and he promised to give the guys the money once the problem was resolved and now we can say he made it happen and thanks again to him and the committee."

Hyland took the opportunity to also wish the T&T community a safe and happy holiday.

"I am still in Saudi Arabia longing to be with my family who I haven't seen for so many months. The situation here is not the best with the pandemic because of recent developments but we are coping. I want to wish everyone back home, persons in the FA and generally all my family the best for the season. Continue to stay safe and enjoy the rest of the year as best as you can. There is hope ahead so let's work towards a better year in 2021,"Hyland said.
Title: Hyland: We have to do our homework before next two games
Post by: Tallman on April 22, 2021, 03:46:27 PM
Hyland: We have to do our homework before next two games
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

'It's time for us to do our homework', national midfielder and captain Khaleem Hyland has said ahead of the team's two World Cup Qualifying matches against the Bahamas and St Kitts and Nevis on June 5 and 8, respectively.

The defensive midfielder told Guardian Media Sports recently that it is because St Kitts and Nevis did their homework that they are currently at the top of Group F of the qualifiers with six points from their two matches.

T&T are second in the group with four points from a win against Guyana 3-0 in the Dominican Republic and a 1-1 tie against Puerto Rico in Mayaguez, while the Guyanese rebounded to a more-than-convincing 4-0 win over the Bahamas after its disastrous performance against the Soca Warriors on March 25.

Hyland said: "We are disappointed but four points are better than none at all. We went into the game with hot blood, we did our job in the first 15 minutes and then we squeezed pressure on Guyana. The second game didn't go as planned because of a number of situations, where we can say it's two games in almost four to five days we played. Long travelling and long bus ride, but we want to have no excuse.

"It was heavy for me personally, it was a heavy day with the artificial turf which I don't like at all. Also, a lot of grain and water were on the pitch which was a bit discomforting for me.

"The result didn't go the way we wanted. I think we underestimated Puerto Rico by winning our first game so comfortably. Puerto Rico did their homework, now we have time to do our homework for the next two games," Hyland said.

With just the winner of the group advancing to the second round of the qualifiers, T&T will be favoured to beat a struggling Bahamian outfit on June 5, but could be in for a challenge against the Kittitians.

According to Hyland, however, the good thing is that they will have to face St Kitts and Nevis in an expected do-or-die clash that could determine the ultimate winner of the group.

"The situation is that St Kitts and Nevis is doing the job on the field. We still have to play them, that's the only good thing, so the ball is in our court and once we win our next two games, we will be on top of the table," Hyland said.

The steady T&T midfielder called for all efforts to be made by the powers that be, to have the game, expected to be the country's home game, to be played at home.
Post by: Tallman on August 11, 2021, 01:19:39 PM
Hyland: 'I kept pushing. There was always Hope'

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZAnAJ8iAiUg
Title: Hyland: T&T Pro League is no professional league
Post by: Tallman on August 26, 2021, 08:19:48 PM
Hyland: T&T Pro League is no professional league
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

T&T's top tier football competition - the T&T Pro League - is anything but a professional league said national midfielder and captain Khaleem Hyland on Wednesday.

Though Hyland's career as a defensive midfielder began at long-standing Pro League outfit San Juan Jabloteh in 2008, the 32-year-old has pointed to several questionable situations that confuse him, inclusive of the number of players who are without an income presently, and who were not receiving salaries despite having contracts with clubs.

Recently, several players who were attached to clubs in the T&T Pro League and others, whose contracts in the League had expired, were requesting stipends from the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee while training with the senior national football team.

The more-than-steady defensive midfielder, who now plays for Al Batin in the Saudi Arabian League, revealed that he receives a weekly salary consistently, despite the challenges the league faces like any other.

He said: "I don't think we should call the T&T Pro League a professional league because it is not. It does not operate as a professional league. For instance, a professional league means players have contracts for a certain amount of time, and when the COVID-19 pandemic began, nobody's contract should have ended automatically.

"What should have happened is that they should have all come together and decide on a way forward, how to move forward, and how they should have gone about it. The players should have been getting paid for the entire period of their contract," Hyland explained.

Guardian Media Sports has been reliably informed that in the T&T Pro League, more than 90 per cent of the players and staff of the teams were not being paid due to the tough economic climate, together with the government's reluctance to fund the league until a proper business plan is produced by the management of the league.

Only La Horquetta Rangers, a team owned by businessman Richard Ferguson, paid their players throughout the pandemic to date.

Minister of Sports and Community Development Shamfa Cudjoe said her government will only invest in player and athlete development and will hold off on pumping more money into the T&T Pro League, having done so for the past 16 years.

Hyland said in Saudi Arabia it is similar to T&T and all over the world when it comes to professional sports and governments' input, but he made it clear that there is strict accountability.

He said he agrees that government should invest in the T&T Pro League, they should demand strict accountability from clubs, even if it means handing in their books.

He further called for the League to get up and running in the shortest possible time, pointing out that there are lots of young people who depend on it.
Post by: Deeks on August 27, 2021, 03:12:34 AM
It is a good assessment. But again, tell us what we don't know already.
Post by: Flex on December 12, 2023, 04:20:15 PM
Hyland plays for Police FC now..

Post by: Flex on December 14, 2023, 10:44:12 AM
After 15 years abroad, Hyland returns to 'put Police on the map'.
By Roneil Walcott (T&T Newsday).

FORMER Soca Warriors captain Khaleem Hyland made a return to the local football scene after 15 years when he debuted for Police FC in their TT Premier Football League (TTPFL) tier one match against 1976 FC Phoenix at the St James Police Barracks on Monday.

Hyland, 34, played 45 minutes in a 2-0 victory that propelled Police to fifth in the standings.

It was Hyland's first professional match in two years, with his previous game having come for T&T in a Gold Cup qualifier against French Guiana in July 2021. Injury ruled the then T&T captain out of the subsequent Gold Cup tournament.

The combination of covid19 and a contractual dispute with his former Saudi Arabian club Al-Batin, contributed to Hyland's two-year hiatus from the beautiful game.

"It was a hard time for me in terms of finishing my contract in Saudi Arabia in 2021. It was an unjust cause situation...It is sad I had to part ways in that manner," Hyland told Newsday.

Hyland said the two-year hiatus could have sent into him a "depressing state," as he was also away from his family during the period.

"I made a decision to take some time for myself before I go back to do anything concerning football," the bustling midfielder said. "I was training with the national team sometimes and I was also doing my little personal training. When you do not have a goal in life, it is very easy to call it quits.

"It has been a long time I have been grieving, and a lot of thoughts have been going through my head on whether I should continue or call it quits. I was just happy and fortunate enough that I could share the field with Police FC on Monday night and get my first 45 minutes."

With over 90 senior T&T caps to his name, Hyland is not ruling himself out of national duty, but he is taking his journey to fitness one day at a time.

"I have not officially retired from T&T football. I will always have love, passion and joy, and that is why I played from a young age and I have played so long for the T&T national team.

"I will not say I will never play for T&T again. Right now, I am not playing for T&T. I am now focusing on getting myself back in shape because I have not played since 2021. I am focusing on myself first before I could focus on anyone else."

Hyland, who left San Juan Jabloteh in 2008 to join Portsmouth's youth team in England, has joined seasoned Police campaigners such as Keron Cummings, Adrian Foncette, Joevin Jones, Mekeil Williams and current Soca Warriors standout right back Alvin Jones. Hyland says the Police team are like a "family" to him as he has "rubbed shoulders on the field with coaches and the players" for many years.

Under former coach Richard Hood, Police beat Terminix La Horquetta Rangers in the FCB Cup final in December 2019 to claim their first national title for 25 years. Police won the then-National League crown in 1990 and 1994. Hyland said it is time to "put Police back on the map."

"I have to take it day-by-day because we are not in control of our lives, God is in control of our lives.

"I am trying to give 110 per cent with Police FC every time I touch the pitch. When I am not on the pitch, I also try to help the younger guys with the experience I have gained over my years of playing international and professional football."

Police finished fifth in the inaugural TTPFL season with 39 points following a rough start to their campaign. This season, they have got five points from their first three games after back-to-back draws with Eagles FC (formerly Cunupia FC) and defending champions Defence Force, to go with their win over newcomers Phoenix.

"We have everything to play for. What I wish for Police FC, is that we have a healthy team throughout the season. Let us go out and work hard and enjoy the game and do what we love."