Sports => Football => Topic started by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 11, 2011, 06:50:12 PM

Title: Small Mag observations T&T vs Barbados
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 11, 2011, 06:50:12 PM
I am no Touches with all the dixee giveaways and bmobile models etc but here is my opinion of the game:

We started with a 4-4-2 .. Phillips, Telesford, James, Power, Adams, Peltier, Hyland, Molino. Daniel, Stern, Jorsling

1st Half started well enough with us keeping the ball well but I noticed Stern and Jorsling both similar in their playing style were too close to each other but that allowed Peltier to use the right channel both in and wide a little more than he would have had Kenwyne been the strike partner using the space better than Jorsling and Stern who are more play to their feet strikers because their ability to hold up play and bounce it off or find a pass is better than Roberts and Jones who are more run behind the defence type of strikers.

Anyway it was obvious the pairing was too similar and was not going to work. Peltier scored a good goal in the 7th when he fought off 1 defender and the keeper and hit a low drive with good composure to make it 1-0 .. After that it was very poor stuff .. giveaways, little movement on and off the ball, bad control, bad decision making.. Only Hyland looked good in the 1st half..plenty aggression and using the ball best of everyone but also winning it back. We looked flat and a change was needed.

Now, I am a massive Hector fan.. This kid is Special, ever since he made his way into the team around the Latapy era I knew he was going to be an important player in this campaign. First off and I am not afraid to put my neck on the chopping block but he is the closest thing technically we have since Latapy, his touch is majestic and the tempo he brings to a game causes our play to transform into another dimension. The game was crying for a live wire to bring it to life. If the team was a patient , at half time he would be pronounced dead but luckily we had that little extra shock to bring him back and that was the introduction of Hector.

Hector and Tinto came on for Jorsling and Daniel.. both exiting players were poor, Jorsling was non existent and Daniel, though one of our better technical players lacks the drive and energy to really impact the team.

The oncoming pair brought great energy and we switched to a 4-3-3 with Hyland as a holding mid and Molino and Hector on top of him with Tinto left Peltier right and Stern through the center which is his best as he can bring the CAM's into play .

Immediately it worked with seemingly all the play going through hector, bouncing it sweetly with Hylanf who was fantastic in possession in the 2nd half too, One touch, two touch , pass, move, pass move, boom bang boom bang.. zipping fast paced smart football .. Crowd start to freak.

Peltier's second was a well worked goal after a nice sequence of passing and his third was a brilliant finish .. A very hard worked hat trick with his 1st 2 goals down to his determination. Dont let the hattrick make him a saviour though, he was still guilty of some poor decisions and a bit greedy with the ball when he had a couple opportunities to square Stern for what I think would have been goals.

Hector was on another level, just oozing with quality and letting the ball do the work and Hyland and Molino and Stern were reaping the benefits of his pulsing play by allowing their technical ability to come together and bring Tinto and Peltier into the game with devastating effect

Stern should have scored when he was played in by Tinto but the keeper made a fantastic foot save but Stern would put that down as a bad miss given his quality. I love Stern John, the underdog, but at his age still tryign his best despite being visibly unfit (I'm thinking after his Mother's death he may have halted his training with personal duties ) not to mention playing the lone striker at his age isnt easy. There is a role for him yet and we should never discard a striker who will find the net, who has technical ability in abundance when it comes to holding up a ball with a man on his back and releasing other players to do damage... Stern John despite missing a goal or running or gunning was a huge reason we won this game by 4 goals due to his quick 1 touch football during Peltier's 2nd and 3rd

Hector rounded off the win with a well deserved brilliant solo effort when he was played through and 1 on 1 a messi esque chip which capped the performance of the 2nd half in the perfect way, Elegance.

Player Ratings:

Phillips- 8/10- Solid, didnt drop a ball, covered angles, number 1 by a long way

Telesford- 7/10- Did the right things, didnt force the ball, defended well, very good option to have
James- 8/10- Leader of the back and did his job, kept them at bay while keeping his line of defenders in check, good effort
Power- 7/10- Always hungry but sometimes a little too eager to jump into situations leaving himself exposed, a few bad passes but all in all a good job done
Adams- 6/10- dont let the radio fool you, 1st half he was terrible, miscontrolling often, forcing the ball, getting caught out of position,  much better 2nd half when he enjoyed the room to go forward due to us switch to a 4-3-3 , something to work with but we need Samuel back immediately or Joevin Jones to come back into the LB until Samuel is here

Peltier- 8/10- well taken goals all at very important times, good pace and tracking back very well, some bad decisions when on the ball though that he needs to work on and I want to see more delivery from him especially in a 4-4-2... enjoy the moment corn curls, but push on
Hyland- 9/10- Possibly the best I've seen from him since the England friendly in 08.. Since he's been away I get the starboy vybe when he is on the field with lack of effort or care but he rolled up his socks and got stuck in and really made me proud tonight, the boy is now a man.. he kept the ball well, won it back well and showed great desire in transition . Quality player on his day
Molino- 7/10- Didnt like him in a CM in a 4-4-2.. he looked a bit lost playing so deep and was careless when on the ball in the 1st half.. 2nd half playing almost behind Stern he enjoyed the creative room and his link up play with Hector Hyland Stern had his swag turned on and he was pulsing the play well and had a fine assist for the 3rd goal with a perfect through ball for Peltier
Daniel- 5/10- Out of it, lack of desire, poor service and a small injury.. not your night Skilla but we know what you have when you decide to use it.. Get Hungry

Stern- 7/10- Form is Temporary but Class is permanent and I'll use that motto for his 90 minute assessment : Wasn't his best game and should have scored a goal but really assisted the team play in the 2nd half with quick passing and his hold up ability allowed the midfielders to use the ball quicker and wide when he pulled defenders with him. Never turning his back on us he gave what he could for 90 minutes at his age up front while recovering from his mothers death and lack of game time and training I salute his efforts tonight.

Jorsling- 5/10 - Non existent but I really like this player so I hope he isnt discarded as he is very similar to Stern and he is a goalscorer.. as I mentioned I dont think the Formation and strike partner helped his game today.. he is better as a lone striker or with a running strike partner as we saw with him and Baptiste linking with lethal effect.

Subs:
Tinto- 8/10- One of the best games from him in a very long time, used the ball well, full of running and desire and brought great Energy to the game, he looked good on the left of the 4-3-3 and I think the 35th minute sub in Bermuda made him go on with a point to prove today.. keep it up Tinto this is what we want

Jaggy- 6/10.. not that much done when on.. a nice solo run but then a bad pass at the end of it which sums him up to me, full of industry but no product

and last but not least , my man of the match
Hector 9.5/10-
Completely changed the game, the intensity in play on and off the ball of the team increased with his arrival on the scene, his quick tempo style allowed the team to express themselves with the ball and let it do the work. He was involved in all 3 second half goals scoring 1 himself.
This kid is the truth

My assessment:
I think we have found our formation but it is finding the right personnel for it will be tricky, Personally I would go with:
Phillips

Edwards
James
Primus
Samuel

Birchall(holding)
Hyland
Hector

Peltier
Jones
Molino

Jones may ironically be the weak link in the formation as it probably requires a striker with top technical ability but I am hoping he can mix his game with the game needed and cause a deadly combination

At the end of the day yes its only Barbados la la la but after seeing the 2nd half performance and knowing the players coming back to the team I feel very confident going into the next 2 games

Cheers for the 3 points and good play lads

Title: Re: Small Mag observations T&T vs Barbados
Post by: breezers on October 11, 2011, 06:59:18 PM
Great job SM...preciate yuh efforts!!! :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: royal on October 11, 2011, 07:13:02 PM
cheers :beermug:
Post by: christiano on October 11, 2011, 07:13:31 PM
A National team is a representation of our society ! Fans reach and settle down second half and so do the team at home.

T&T fans and players must not arrive at halftime !

Phillips - Solid in air . Needs to be more ascertive coming off his line
James - Good Game
Seon Powers - Barring one obvious mistake - Great Game - Best Header of the ball in defence in years !
Telesford - Ok game. He was allowing players to run at him and he was giving them room to enter the box !
Adams - Nervous and too flat footed and unaware in defence
Molino  - Good link up play . Good Game
Hyland - Good game but was hiding from the ball in the first half ! He needs to lead this midfield !
Daniel - Needs to up his game as a senior player !
Peltier - Great energy off and on the ball ! Well taken goals !
Stern - Played a solid Stern game
Jorsling - No link up play with mid or Stern . Should be a good sub the way Scotland was for us in 06.
Tinto - Changed the game with Hector ! Good performance as he offered needed width !
Hector - Pure class . MVP for me !

OTTO - Amazing ability to make needed changes ! Strong coach with brave tactical awareness to make changes irrespective of the player !

T&T needs to stop playing 2nd half football ! with the returning players this team will get stronger !

I will like to see Toussaint on this set up !

Post by: FireBrand on October 11, 2011, 07:23:18 PM
Thanks Smalls...yuh cookin' with gas! 

HECTOR...my #10!!!
Post by: Bianconeri on October 11, 2011, 07:28:39 PM
Small Mag

I notice ya mention wanting to see Primus as a starter...
but when last has he played for us there??

and i kinda out of it but....

whappen to birchall and edwards for this game??
Post by: samo on October 11, 2011, 07:29:58 PM
Thanx smalls...   :beermug:
Post by: just cool on October 11, 2011, 07:36:19 PM
Good  stuff smalls, but lemme ask yuh dis, is there no place for my striker (darrly roberts) in yuh line up, common ? two goals and three assist is nothing to sneeze @ you know, plus he's been playing out of position since the campaign began..
Post by: Peong on October 11, 2011, 07:44:16 PM
Small Mag

I notice ya mention wanting to see Primus as a starter...
but when last has he played for us there??

and i kinda out of it but....

whappen to birchall and edwards for this game??

Injury and court date respectively.
Post by: BESBRAHN on October 11, 2011, 07:53:38 PM
Politics is playing a part in team selection. Hughton Hector should have started as he has demonstrated that he is of greater technical ability than most on the team a while now. Stern is overweight and past his best, we need to give the younger strikers a chance, I would love to see Toussaint in this team. Hyland was hugely disappointing in the first half....much better in the 2nd. Guilty of giving away the ball too much. Power made his entry into the national setup a few years ago as a clumsy rightback...now he is in the centre, I heard he improved but not impressed with him at all today. He is good in the air though. Julius James had a decent game, Molino was ok,expect more from him in time to come. Tinto was busy and he and Hector changed the game and added creativity and threat.

Overall , poor 1st half, Pretty decent 2nd half.

Man of the match for me was Peltier with honourable mention to Hector for his 2nd half.

When Birchall comes back for me he slots right in and either molino or Hyland is dropped. Carlos for Akeem Adams, Kenwyne for Stern.

Bermuda and guyana drew 1 all...

Observation: We looked much more compact in the 2nd half playing 4-3-3...less exposed in the back and Hyland looked great as the sitter in midfield. Also allowed more space for the wingbacks to get forward...Telesford looked good on the overlap, was not picked out when he made them though. He is a good utility player with a role to play...
Post by: Cocorite on October 11, 2011, 08:08:41 PM
If the TTFF had foresight Small Mag would be groomed for a future T&T coach. And I'm serious as a heart attack.

Smalls, I hope you do this on your own (If it is something you'd aspire to)

Thanks for the report. Much appreciated.
Post by: soccerman on October 11, 2011, 08:33:59 PM
Small Mag, as a man who attends almost all our home games....is this the best our team has looked in a while from what you are seeing? I'm mean from reading what you guys say and watching the highlights, it looks like we're coming inot form as a team.

Much respect for the report :beermug:
Post by: Anbrat on October 11, 2011, 08:40:20 PM
Certainly an assessment with a tactical outlook! Good job!
Post by: asylumseeker on October 11, 2011, 08:51:47 PM
SM, ah know you had Peltier in your starting XI. How did your team match up with how Pfister started? :cheers:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 11, 2011, 09:04:12 PM
If the TTFF had foresight Small Mag would be groomed for a future T&T coach. And I'm serious as a heart attack.

thanks Cocorite.. I've actually been involved in coaching since late 09.. I had my own youth team in 2009-2010 called the red brigade which was my neighbour and their friends and would just put a U13 team together and I would do some sessions in the Savannah and we won some games vs Fatima and CIC u13 etc including a tournament with CIC Fatima and Maple Leaf.

Then Alan Cabral hired me to become the u13 QPCC coach and I started June 2010 and this April we went Barbados for the Barbados Cup and my boys came 3rd after a very harsh semi final exit where we were subject to very suspect officiating .. It was so blatant the chairman of the Barbados Cup personally apologised to me at the coaches function . We then entered the pro league as Ma Pau through a merger and being in Barbados missed the first 3 games which we lost by default.. our next 7 games were 1 loss vs eventual champions W.Connection, 1 draw vs Cali and 5 wins including an 8-1 hammering of Police against my good friend and old coach La Foucade .

After that 1st round though everything went downhill at QPCC with all the behind the scenes drama some boys left, and we only had a team of 15 from the start and then summer holidays started and some of the boys went away for holidays and we would go to games with 10 men and we definitely had the youngest team in the league and when the season ended I was using 9 and 10 year olds in an under 13 division so plenty losses in the 2nd round but good learning experiences for the boys and myself.

I recently did the Dutch C license course, Was a really good course teaching you mainly how to structure your sessions etc

Since QPCC under Alan folded just been working and now and then go some La Foucade sessions to stay sharp and I also coached an under 16 team to the title at the QPCC youth tournament last week Wednesday.  Hopefully by December I'll be back in the mix somewhere
Post by: madness on October 11, 2011, 09:12:42 PM
Phillips

Edwards
James
Primus
Samuel

Birchall(holding)
Hyland
Hector

Peltier
Jones
Molino(Robert)

Post by: Brej on October 11, 2011, 10:24:13 PM
Well done small mag... dont put all your hopes in hector though....
and as you rightly said its only barbados... Quality players will shine against top teams so time will tell ... we have yet to play a "good" team under pfister ... and guyana also isnt a top team...
i fully expect us to come out of this group and in the next group phase against mexico and co... we will see this team's true character
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 11, 2011, 10:35:40 PM
I wouldnt say I would put all hopes but I honestly think he enhances the tempo and quality of play.. for me he is a sure starter due to his versatility.. he can play CM in a 4-4-2, winger in a 4-4-2, behind the striker in a 4-4-1-1 , CAM in a 4-3-3 or left or right in it too ... there is no reason for him to be out of the squad 
Post by: madness on October 11, 2011, 10:53:31 PM
de team is coming man, football is football, never know what can happen.
Post by: Cocorite on October 12, 2011, 12:07:32 AM

thanks Cocorite.. I've actually been involved in coaching since late 09.. I had my own youth team in 2009-2010 called the red brigade which was my neighbour and their friends and would just put a U13 team together and I would do some sessions in the Savannah and we won some games vs Fatima and CIC u13 etc including a tournament with CIC Fatima and Maple Leaf.

Then Alan Cabral hired me to become the u13 QPCC coach and I started June 2010 and this April we went Barbados for the Barbados Cup and my boys came 3rd after a very harsh semi final exit where we were subject to very suspect officiating .. It was so blatant the chairman of the Barbados Cup personally apologised to me at the coaches function . We then entered the pro league as Ma Pau through a merger and being in Barbados missed the first 3 games which we lost by default.. our next 7 games were 1 loss vs eventual champions W.Connection, 1 draw vs Cali and 5 wins including an 8-1 hammering of Police against my good friend and old coach La Foucade .

After that 1st round though everything went downhill at QPCC with all the behind the scenes drama some boys left, and we only had a team of 15 from the start and then summer holidays started and some of the boys went away for holidays and we would go to games with 10 men and we definitely had the youngest team in the league and when the season ended I was using 9 and 10 year olds in an under 13 division so plenty losses in the 2nd round but good learning experiences for the boys and myself.

I recently did the Dutch C license course, Was a really good course teaching you mainly how to structure your sessions etc

Since QPCC under Alan folded just been working and now and then go some La Foucade sessions to stay sharp and I also coached an under 16 team to the title at the QPCC youth tournament last week Wednesday.  Hopefully by December I'll be back in the mix somewhere

Wow. You've been busy. It has been some time now that I have noticed your analysis of games and found it to be above average. Keep at it bro. Hopefully in time you'll get your big break and get to develop your obvious talent.

Thanks for sharing. And good luck.
Post by: BESBRAHN on October 12, 2011, 03:51:59 AM
I agree with Small Mag 100 percent...Hector is versatile and can fit in anywhere in the attack in any formation.
Post by: just cool on October 12, 2011, 04:14:01 AM
Politics is playing a part in team selection. Hughton Hector should have started as he has demonstrated that he is of greater technical ability than most on the team a while now. Stern is overweight and past his best, we need to give the younger strikers a chance, I would love to see Toussaint in this team. Hyland was hugely disappointing in the first half....much better in the 2nd. Guilty of giving away the ball too much. Power made his entry into the national setup a few years ago as a clumsy rightback...now he is in the centre, I heard he improved but not impressed with him at all today. He is good in the air though. Julius James had a decent game, Molino was ok,expect more from him in time to come. Tinto was busy and he and Hector changed the game and added creativity and threat.

Man of the match for me was Peltier with honourable mention to Hector for his 2nd half.

When Birchall comes back for me he slots right in and either molino or Hyland is dropped. Carlos for Akeem Adams, Kenwyne for Stern.

Observation: We looked much more compact in the 2nd half playing 4-3-3...less exposed in the back and Hyland looked great as the sitter in midfield. Also allowed more space for the wingbacks to get forward...Telesford looked good on the overlap, was not picked out when he made them though. He is a good utility player with a role to play...
Breds, hector is ah super sub, and every team needs these kind of players, ah man who is better than most of the team , but yet the coach uses him sparingly, and when he does play he produces, now that's the beauty and wonder of ah super sub
Post by: Fyzoman on October 12, 2011, 06:25:42 AM
Give thanks Smalls...yuh eh know how much these lil update/analysis means to ah man like me out here who didn't get to see de game...it doesn't hurt dat yuh is ah fellah who know yuh football too.
Post by: College on October 12, 2011, 07:18:11 AM
Nice Smalls  ..
Post by: breezers on October 12, 2011, 09:16:47 AM

Breds, hector is ah super sub, and every team needs these kind of players, ah man who is better than most of the team , but yet the coach uses him sparingly, and when he does play he produces, now that's the beauty and wonder of ah super sub

I understand wuh yuh sayin Jus Cool and yes coaches do dat with players using dem as a "trump card" and yes every team need players who cud come off d bench and give d team ah spark and yes Hector is certainly dat player. Dis may not be d best example but i'll use it anyway...Messi was dat type of player too fuh barca...being used as a 'super sub' fuh ah while and had dis continued he wudna become d player we know today. So it's all about phases...he start off wid dat super sub role and since he was lookin d part and he deserved more...he was given more responsibility and dats how he became d player we kno today. So doh get loss in d translation..ah not tryin tuh class both players and teams but IMHO Hector is we special player who deserve more cuz he worth it and he need more responsibility in order to flourish as ah player and tuh better serve he country...forget local vs foreign base d man shud be ah sure starter whilst somebody else should be groomed fuh dat super sub role. So if dat mean one of we foreign base hatta siddown....dais wuh it is fuh d betterment of d team/country! But at d end of d day d coach hatta bite d bullet fuh he decisions...so wid dat being said if he see it fit fuh Hector tuh play dat super sub role ah guess dais wuh it is...hate it or love it!
Post by: Marcos on October 12, 2011, 10:06:21 AM
I also think Hector is the truth from what little I have seen of him. His technique seems to be far superior to the other local-based players.

Peltier, Hector, Hyland and Philip should be the core of the team going forward.

I'm a bit surprised Otto would decide to start Hector on the bench
Post by: dinho on October 12, 2011, 10:16:46 AM
Nice report small mag...

One observation though, from all accounts Stern had a rough game... 7/10 dawg??  Ah find yuh does be giving he and Birchall lagniappe.

Post by: Controversial on October 12, 2011, 10:37:45 AM
Nice report small mag...

One observation though, from all accounts Stern had a rough game... 7/10 dawg??  Ah find yuh does be giving he and Birchall lagniappe.

i highly doubt small mag will give a objective report of the match, subjective is maybe the word you were looking for to describe the report
Post by: lefty on October 12, 2011, 10:43:34 AM
Otto seems to be building ah team for speed, if that is the case Stern will increasingly become less relevant(not a slight.......yet) which is a good thing, if succession plannin on Otto mind, bad if it is not, 2014 three years away, really  hope man not sufferin delusions of a full comeback, it simply not goin to happen...........if and when he is called upon to give way I hope he does it gracefully ..................honour d Heroes yes..........but don't let them become Liabilities and SmallMag might cuss mih but it comin for stern if not here a'ready......adjust yuh tinkin and start lookin to d future
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 12, 2011, 10:44:59 AM
Nice report small mag...

Even Otto said in his post match interview Stern was very important in the 2nd half using his brain because it was evident he was tired but he let his brain do the work and bring players into play and he said he was very happy with him

And yes Stern and Birchy are my 2 fav players on the team so they will always get a little extra as their class on and off the pitch arent noticed or appreciated by players, fans and even coaches... lol
Post by: Deeks on October 12, 2011, 04:51:43 PM
Thanks for the report SM. If you plan to take an assignment with TTFF I would be surprised. But go brave Bro. I would prefer you and some serious, committed business people try and bring out a team in POS that feels like a United POS. I never felt that with Mau Pau. I felt it with QPCC-Rangers. But it was too good to be true. We want a team that can bring both east and west POS together. remember the goal is to bring people in the stands. if you can do that, I will personally bestow knighthood on you. The right honourable Bro, Sir Small Mag(Magician of POS). BOA SORTE.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2TXit3bu3AM&feature=related