Sports => Trinbago, NBA & World Basketball => Topic started by: capodetutticapi on January 12, 2012, 08:46:54 AM

Title: NBA 2011-2012
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 12, 2012, 08:46:54 AM
early prediction......de final is chicago vs oklahoma.them 2 teams on fire and with the short season they eh runnin outta steam.
Title: Re: NBA 2011-2012
Post by: weary1969 on January 12, 2012, 10:53:26 AM
early prediction......de final is chicago vs oklahoma.them 2 teams on fire and with the short season they eh runnin outta steam.

I could live wit dat. Once Miami eh dey I go b good.
Post by: Dutty on January 13, 2012, 09:47:08 AM

wow!! jump off de laker bandwagon . drop and roll smood smood, duss off she skirt, whistle and walkaway.....a perfect landing
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 13, 2012, 05:41:22 PM
Meh boy like he hit de fountain ah yute, back to back 40+ pt games.  We iz sleepers dis rounds
Post by: Dutty on January 13, 2012, 07:18:02 PM
yuh mean he go be bun out and sleepin come playoff time?

how much shot attempts? ,, since he eh passin da ball fuh nobody

Post by: 100% Barataria on January 13, 2012, 07:24:50 PM

Yuh take de bait, yeah, we highly unlikely to come back and win dis, but being underdog mite jus be de motivation he need to bring de best out of dis new look team, stranger tings have happened.  Dat said, it shuld be OKC, Chi town or Mia, but hey, dais why we play games and series
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 13, 2012, 08:25:27 PM

Yuh take de bait, yeah, we highly unlikely to come back and win dis, but being underdog mite jus be de motivation he need to bring de best out of dis new look team, stranger tings have happened.  Dat said, it shuld be OKC, Chi town or Mia, but hey, dais why we play games and series
pardnah hear this.........KOBE EH GETTIN ANEDAH RING.NOT THIS SEASON,NOT EVER.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 13, 2012, 08:40:29 PM
 :rotfl:, ah know you doh ever wah him geh anodder ring, he doh really need it, he have 5, but tell you what, he still has about 2-3 years left of solid basketball assuming no career threatening injuries.  When you look up the definition of type tripple A personality there is a pic of Kobe next to it.  So...if he gets another mega stuperstar at LA, could get another, doh rule it out, who knows
Post by: Quags on January 15, 2012, 12:06:07 PM
5 games in 6 nights this is retarded ,nuff ppl will get hurt this season .
Post by: weary1969 on January 17, 2012, 11:10:12 AM

wow!! jump off de laker bandwagon . drop and roll smood smood, duss off she skirt, whistle and walkaway.....a perfect landing

YUH REAL IDLE  :rotfl:
Post by: fari on February 06, 2012, 07:40:17 PM
jeremy lin getting on bai...de man have a real basketball iq
Post by: Bitter on February 07, 2012, 07:09:25 AM
Hard to describe. This link will explain it:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/dc-sports-bog/post/javale-mcgee-runs-back-on-defense-when-wizards-have-ball/2012/02/07/gIQAlQ65vQ_blog.html

(http://d3j5vwomefv46c.cloudfront.net/photos/full/511772526.gif?Expires=1328621154&Key-Pair-Id=APKAIYVGSUJFNRFZBBTA&Signature=Vd0MWMVdPemx8QB5h0Yg71JbZZbMiXR75jX0BRBZFkU1vvvZFPLfIm0TVUk7H~rV4lTiZhfqa6qA0MlQbuz8g~DyQwm7KTE4P21naCex3nbpzC3RC2NrKC8SnYIuU0n-NysvvfxxdIEmDcjyRhdvMLXvdyLaB~SzQ-LRdAEpKLQ_)

Post by: Dutty on February 08, 2012, 11:22:23 AM

Ah mighta be quick to say is the ivy league education...but then ah see ah lil story on he las week,,sadis real grind it out in the lower leagues oui
that kinda experience is priceless
Post by: fari on February 08, 2012, 09:09:24 PM

Ah mighta be quick to say is the ivy league education...but then ah see ah lil story on he las week,,sadis real grind it out in the lower leagues oui
that kinda experience is priceless

plus they say in the rookie game a few years back he was up against john wall and before the game done the crowd was chanting lin's name.  i real like this youthman, real humble but have real swag on the court.
Post by: Peong on February 09, 2012, 10:26:03 AM
Allyuh doh need to hurt up allyuh head, Miami not makin the same mistake this season.  Them super-athletes we have gonna destroy everybody.  Anyting test ded!
Post by: weary1969 on February 09, 2012, 11:51:32 AM
Allyuh doh need to hurt up allyuh head, Miami not makin the same mistake this season.  Them super-athletes we have gonna destroy everybody.  Anyting test ded!

Lebron find he last quarter? So he could lend somebody a dolar come playoff.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 09, 2012, 09:12:26 PM

Post by: capodetutticapi on February 09, 2012, 10:13:14 PM

i really eh see miami takin de whole hog.....they journey will end in de conference final.
Post by: soccerman on February 10, 2012, 12:44:46 AM
Whey SUPA these days...ah know my boy is the ultimate Miami fan
Post by: soccerman on February 10, 2012, 11:55:07 AM
NY vs LA tonight...will Lin because able to continue his streak, what is it 3 games in a row for him :thinking:
Post by: warmonga on February 10, 2012, 01:51:48 PM
NY needs to fire that coach ... Di man have no idea for a team wid a decent set of players there record should be better..
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 10, 2012, 06:47:04 PM
i eh see this chinee boy play yet.....go take ein de game tonite.....go knicks.
Post by: Bakes on February 10, 2012, 09:08:15 PM
NY vs LA tonight...will Lin because able to continue his streak, what is it 3 games in a row for him :thinking:

Make it four.

Capo wha'ppen de TTT feed tuh yuh house geh block or what? lol  Lin is the truth.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 10, 2012, 09:52:40 PM

Make it four.

Capo wha'ppen de TTT feed tuh yuh house geh block or what? lol  Lin is the truth.
oh jesus christ i eh know i was missin out on lin.....de dude on FYAH
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 10, 2012, 09:57:06 PM
lakers eh worth ah possy ah piss....got out played by ah team missin they 2 stars and had over ah dozen T/O.

KOBE GET HE ASS KICK BY LIN LIKE KAREEM GET IT BY BRUCE LEE.
Post by: royal on February 10, 2012, 10:01:23 PM
Jeremy Lin OMG.......... what ah story!!!!   
Post by: Bitter on February 10, 2012, 10:34:20 PM
Linsanity!
Post by: Daft Trini on February 11, 2012, 09:27:25 AM
Shout out to my Taiwanese Brother...!  :beermug:
Post by: warmonga on February 11, 2012, 10:47:11 AM
lin chow kobe bryant for 38  !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Post by: Peong on February 11, 2012, 01:48:14 PM
Lin get a whole setta open shots.  Somebody rough up da chinee lewwe see if he could still play.
Post by: warmonga on February 11, 2012, 04:02:11 PM
Lin get a whole setta open shots.  Somebody rough up da chinee lewwe see if he could still play.
yeah same thing I was saying... He got way to many open un contested shots but I will like to see if he can handle the ride when they start throwing di defence on him. Wish di yute di best in the NBA Harvard graduate ?playing in the NBA wey boi pressure.. I heard di bulls got him comming up soon.. I ready fi dat game let see if we can handle lin in chicago..

Post by: Daft Trini on February 13, 2012, 07:51:22 AM
I cuss my sister-in-law this weekend. I found out that Jeremy Lin was hot on her....steups!
Post by: Daft Trini on February 13, 2012, 07:52:07 AM

Taiwanese brother, not chinese  :beermug:
Post by: fari on February 13, 2012, 08:59:04 PM

you obviously did not see the game against the lakers...derek fisher tugged, pulled, pushed, grabbed...tried every move legal and illegal and the youth still drop 38.   coach hubie brown called it, he said "this guy is a solid guard". 
Post by: Peong on February 13, 2012, 10:03:43 PM

you obviously did not see the game against the lakers...derek fisher tugged, pulled, pushed, grabbed...tried every move legal and illegal and the youth still drop 38.   coach hubie brown called it, he said "this guy is a solid guard". 

So when Fisher was on him hard did he score or did he pass?
I saw the full highlights of all 38 points.  Many, many uncontested shots in there.

http://www.youtube.com/v/8iWWFk6TX18
Post by: socachynee on February 14, 2012, 01:36:35 PM
Will Jeremy light it up against the Raptors tonite?

http://www.cp24.com/servlet/an/local/CTVNews/20120214/120214_toronto_linsanity/20120214/?hub=CP24Sports

http://www.torontosun.com/2012/02/13/jeremy-lin-was-almost-a-raptor
Post by: ribbit on February 14, 2012, 08:43:56 PM
Calderon is a goat. To get picked at half court with less than 2 mins on the clock. Well, ah glad to see incompetence punished. Good for Lin and de Knicks.
Post by: Bitter on February 14, 2012, 09:45:16 PM
This fella on a roll. Game winning 3 point shot.

http://www.youtube.com/v/xv2bl2bXRGs
Post by: soccerman on February 14, 2012, 10:58:08 PM
This guy riding the Tim Tebow magic carpet....he might a cult figure just now with his following he's accumulating
Post by: Bakes on February 15, 2012, 12:41:57 AM
So when Fisher was on him hard did he score or did he pass?
I saw the full highlights of all 38 points.  Many, many uncontested shots in there.

He scored and passed... so much so that Kobe and World Peace take turns guarding him.  He only look wide open because he was leaving man standing still.  It will eventually cool off, but the creativity will still be there.  He too slight to play that many mins and take dat kinda pounding.

Funny thing is, I rooting fuh dis dude to make it since he was in summer camp looking fuh ah job and was happy when he signed with the Warriors.  Was happy (and curious) when the Knicks signed him... and cringed when he first took the court against the Celtics.  He looked shook and sure enough first time down he handle the ball the Celtics little back up guard rip him.  Amazing to see how far he's come since then, beginning with his very next game against the Nets and continuing to now.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on February 15, 2012, 08:04:02 AM
This fella on a roll. Game winning 3 point shot.

http://www.youtube.com/v/xv2bl2bXRGs

Toronto full ah one setta Asians.  crowd cheered for Lin despite them playing in Toronto.
Then again who cheering for the Raps these days.

Linsanity on VaLINtine's.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 15, 2012, 08:40:58 AM
miss de game but saw some hilites......NY goin crazy fuh this chap....hi scorer again,had some T/O...but he delivers when need be.he is a good fit fuh the team,stay healthy yung grasshopper.
Post by: warmonga on February 15, 2012, 09:17:24 AM
Lin playing good ball I still want to see him up against rose, miami heat, boston .Not because theese teams ar e decent is because the match ups.. I mean many of his shots was wide open shots.. I mean bad defending in the last shot against Toronto the defender know he was not going to drive di lane why will he gave him dat much room? terrible defending terrible..  Anyway or the other am rooting for him because I always like NY Knicks because of the rivals wid Bulls . I feal Knicks team is a good team but have been playing without balls lately.. Lin good luck but I still want to see you against My bulls then I go gave yu a bligh...lemme c what you can do..

Post by: soccerman on February 15, 2012, 10:49:07 PM
7 in a row!!! All he do is lin, lin, lin no matter what...a true Linderalla story

Carmelo who????
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 16, 2012, 08:34:10 AM
huge win fuh NY in msg lastnite....lin with career high 13 assist.
dallas sunday and new juzzy monday.
Post by: Dutty on February 16, 2012, 09:18:55 AM
7 in a row!!! All he do is lin, lin, lin no matter what...a true Linderalla story

Carmelo who????

yuh have royalty money for T-pain  eh
Post by: soccerman on February 16, 2012, 10:11:43 AM

Carmelo who????

yuh have royalty money for T-pain  eh

Nah mine original, no auto tune...so I safe
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 18, 2012, 11:40:08 AM
well de streak end at 7....lorse to NO lastnite.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 18, 2012, 07:10:31 PM
well de streak end at 7....lorse to NO lastnite.

ah understand that there were plenty linovers
Post by: Peong on February 19, 2012, 09:50:31 PM
Let Lin come to Miami nah.  We makin chow mein outta dat.

I just watch Denver - OKC.  Durant and Westbrook put up some big numbers tonight.
Post by: Bakes on February 19, 2012, 10:29:13 PM
Let Lin come to Miami nah.  We makin chow mein outta dat.

I just watch Denver - OKC.  Durant and Westbrook put up some big numbers tonight.

Everybody saying so until Jeremy. One thru and make chop suet out dry team, ask Dallas  ;)
Post by: Peong on February 20, 2012, 12:32:23 PM
Bakes that look like a drunk post.

Max Bretos and some other dude get in trouble for using the word "chink".

http://thebiglead.com/index.php/2012/02/20/espn-took-a-harsh-stand-with-the-max-bretos-one-month-suspension/
Post by: Bakes on February 20, 2012, 08:55:23 PM
Bakes that look like a drunk post.

Max Bretos and some other dude get in trouble for using the word "chink".

http://thebiglead.com/index.php/2012/02/20/espn-took-a-harsh-stand-with-the-max-bretos-one-month-suspension/

LOL... iPhone and dey auto correct... everybody say what you saying until Lin come thru and make chop suey ah dey team... just ask Dallas.

The uproar over the "chink" comment is ridiculously overblown.  An overreaction to an innocent mistake.  To fire one man and suspend another without pay for a month is heavy-handed as it is unnecessary.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 23, 2012, 05:55:49 PM
when lin done with heat tonite lebron go wish he was back in ohio. ::)
Post by: Peong on February 23, 2012, 08:40:22 PM
(http://http.cdnlayer.com/smoola/00/00/42/86a7f397d66f8037_m.jpg)

See this is what happens when yuh come up against a team that could defend.
Credit to NYK for stayin close up to the half.

Post by: capodetutticapi on February 23, 2012, 10:46:42 PM
(http://http.cdnlayer.com/smoola/00/00/42/86a7f397d66f8037_m.jpg)

See this is what happens when yuh come up against a team that could defend.
Credit to NYK for stayin close up to the half.

who make that......wok with yan
Post by: Bakes on February 24, 2012, 12:58:07 AM
Learning curve juss get ah li'l steeper, but no scenes.  We play the Hawks and then had to travel to Miami.  Miami was well-rested.  Now that Baron Davis getting healthier... once fit and Schumpert comes back D'Antoni will be able to play Lin less and get him some rest.  A bad game like this was bound to happen.  I guarantee you he won't have another bad game like this, not even against Miami, anytime soon.

The kid is legit.
Post by: Peong on February 24, 2012, 09:19:07 AM
Come on, Lin can play but if yuh really thought he could do the job against the Heat, it just means the hype workin on you.
Kenny Smith said it, Lin hadn't come up against a team as good as the Heat as yet.
And it really showed.  2 points in the entire first half!

Lin was bound to perform worse against a top team not because the Heat were fresh, but because the Heat are very, very, very good.
This ain't no joke team boss!

Miami need to stop it with these 12+ -point wins.  Save some of that energy for the postseason.
Post by: soccerman on February 24, 2012, 10:59:50 AM
I'm surprized to hear that Lin wasn't even a point guard in college and is running D'Antoni's system so effectively. Anyway he needs to get better against the full court press, that's his weakness and Miami was putting constant pressure on him in the back court esp with Chalmers. As Bakes said when Baron Davis is back he will be able to bring the ball up effectively when team high press.

This Miami team is very good and they're experienced, they play well together, seems like everyone knows their role and they're playing at a high level right now. It would've been difficult for Lin to come out and have a huge impact against them even when he only paly like 10 games in the NBA but if this Knicks team sticks together over the next year or 2 and they gel, they could be dangerous and a title contender. As much as it hurts me to say this as a Laker fan, this is Miami's year, if they don't win this year I doubt they'll ever win a championship with the big 3.

Unless we get Dwight Howard and Derron Williams after the All-Star break ;D
Post by: Bakes on February 24, 2012, 11:49:49 AM
Come on, Lin can play but if yuh really thought he could do the job against the Heat, it just means the hype workin on you.
Kenny Smith said it, Lin hadn't come up against a team as good as the Heat as yet.

Lin was bound to perform worse against a top team not because the Heat were fresh, but because the Heat are very, very, very good.

Miami need to stop it with these 12+ -point wins.  Save some of that energy for the postseason.

I dunno why you acting like somebody deny the Heat credit.

Soccerman, Lin was the point guard at Harvard man... I saw him play against us three years ago.
Post by: Peong on February 24, 2012, 12:20:33 PM

I dunno why you acting like somebody deny the Heat credit.

Soccerman, Lin was the point guard at Harvard man... I saw him play against us three years ago.

Ey iz not my fault yuh boy run up against a big side.

Durant and Co. are a joy to watch yes.  Those fellas playin a young man's game. Hard runnin all game.
Post by: soccerman on February 24, 2012, 02:54:13 PM
Okay maybe he played there as well then but I was watching Mike and Mike this morning and Doug Gottlieb stated he was a shooting guard for Harvard and tried out in the D-league as a shooting gaurd, that's why I was surprised. Gottlieb was stating that the reason his turnover rates were so high were because it wasn't his natural position. I've witnessed a lot of 2 guards bring the ball up the court so maybe he did play point as well for Harvard at times.
Post by: Bakes on February 24, 2012, 04:44:43 PM
Okay maybe he played there as well then but I was watching Mike and Mike this morning and Doug Gottlieb stated he was a shooting guard for Harvard and tried out in the D-league as a shooting gaurd, that's why I was surprised. Gottlieb was stating that the reason his turnover rates were so high were because it wasn't his natural position. I've witnessed a lot of 2 guards bring the ball up the court so maybe he did play point as well for Harvard at times.

Gottlieb musse smoking dat left over pot from he ND days... I read in SI just this week where Kenny Blakeney (former Duke shithong guard, and Harvard assistant) was talking about his game.  He told Lin during his sophomore year that he was an NBA player, because of his ability to keep his dribble alive in traffic, pull up on a dime at full speed, find the open player... and a fourth thing that just escapes me right now.  Dem is PG qualities, not shooting guard. Not that I arguing with you, I know you not arguing either, just dunno where Gottlieb coming from.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 25, 2012, 11:55:56 AM
Former Boston Celtics forward Rasheed Wallace's last game in the NBA ended in a Game 7 defeat to the Lakers in the 2010 Finals, before he announced his retirement.

Now the four-time All-Star is tipped to return to the court, alongside Kobe Bryant and Co. in Los Angeles.

Wallace will be hired to strengthen the Lakers bench, a source told CSNNE.com.

"His days as a starter in this league are gone," the source said. "I think he knows that, and so do the Lakers."

Wallace reportedly impressed at a summer Pro-Am tournament in North Carolina and, according to league sources, is deemed in fine shape to return to the pro game after undergoing a dedicated workout regime.

The veteran's arrival comes amid growing speculation surrounding forward Pau Gasol's future with the team.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 25, 2012, 02:11:15 PM
Bring back West

Stop smiling capo, the linderella story is over
Post by: Bakes on February 25, 2012, 10:27:17 PM

Here's a good article on him in the NYTimes... doesn't really say one way or another whether he played the position in college, but kinda hints at it... The Evolution of a Point Guard (http://www.nytimes.com/2012/02/25/sports/basketball/the-evolution-of-jeremy-lin-as-a-point-guard.html?pagewanted=1&ref=sports).

... and here's a funny vid lol

http://www.youtube.com/v/zExrVyTX_aw
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 02, 2012, 08:32:53 PM
DALLAS
In a stunning demotion, the NBA's reigning Sixth Man of the Year is set to play in the NBA Developmental League.

Lamar Odom, who starred last season for the Lakers, was demoted by the Dallas Mavericks to their D-League affiliate, the Texas Legends, and is expected to play at least one game for the team.

He will debut Saturday night against the Austin Toros, meaning he will miss at least two more Mavericks games.

Odom has been away from the team for the past four games to deal with a family issue.

According to the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Odom went home to Los Angeles because his father was ill, but it soon became apparent the health issue was not as serious as the first reports from the team indicated.

The Mavericks have explained the unprecedented move as a way for Odom to "get his legs back" before returning to the team.

The 6-foot-10 power forward, who stars on a reality show with wife Khloe Kardashian, is in the midst of his worst season as a pro, averaging 7.7 points and 4.5 rebounds and shooting 35.7 percent. He has clearly looked uncomfortable with Dallas, who acquired him in a trade shortly before the season started.

The Lakers originally tried to trade him in a deal to acquire point guard Chris Paul before the NBA stepped in to reject the trade on behalf of the Hornets. Upset over the team's attempt to trade him, Odom said he did not want to return to the Lakers, and he was instead sent to Dallas.

The 32-year-old had reportedly considered sitting out the season following two offseason tragedies. In July, he was in New York to attend the funeral of his cousin when the car he was riding in hit a motorcycle, which struck and killed a 15-year-old boy who was walking nearby.

"I guess he told you guys he was actually thinking about taking the whole year off," Mavericks star Dirk Nowitzki said Friday. "So obviously it was a lot deeper than people, I guess, expected, so it is what it is.

"He's a good guy to me. He's always fun to be around in the locker room and always got jokes. He's rapping constantly, free-styling. I guess he's just working through some personal stuff."

The defending-champion Mavericks, who are 21-15 this season, play at New Orleans on Friday and host Utah on Saturday.
Post by: Peong on March 03, 2012, 12:24:16 PM
Heat with a stutter.
Who think Lebron was wrong to pass to Haslem?
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 04, 2012, 06:54:51 PM
Gimme ah chess bounce dey weary.  Wade look like he was having a baby  :rotfl:
Post by: soccerman on March 05, 2012, 12:02:45 AM
Derron Williams dropped 57...he was on fire all game
Post by: Bakes on March 05, 2012, 01:32:59 AM
Damn... that's smoking, lol

Meanwhile my Knicks couldn't catch a break with the refs in Boston all game.  They finally had a chance to steal a 'W' and fumble it away... D'Antoni lost for ideas.  No way you let Paul facking Pierce shoot a three to tie the game and you leading with seconds on the clock.  That and Carmelo Anthony is the softest frigging 6'8 I ever see.  Dude crashes the board hard... love that about him.  But he too frigging in love with the jumpshot.  You blasted 6'8 and you dancing and chucking up shot from the perimeter like your name is Larry Bird... steups.

I won't blame the loss on the refs, D'Antoni or 'Melo though... too many turnovers.  Yuh not supposed tuh  win, and yuh not going to win doing shit like dat.
Post by: weary1969 on March 05, 2012, 10:08:44 AM

:beermug: We in 3rd spot at d moment. I cool wit dat.
Post by: soccerman on March 05, 2012, 12:02:43 PM
Damn... that's smoking, lol

Meanwhile my Knicks couldn't catch a break with the refs in Boston all game.  They finally had a chance to steal a 'W' and fumble it away... D'Antoni lost for ideas.  No way you let Paul facking Pierce shoot a three to tie the game and you leading with seconds on the clock.  That and Carmelo Anthony is the softest frigging 6'8 I ever see.  Dude crashes the board hard... love that about him.  But he too frigging in love with the jumpshot.  You blasted 6'8 and you dancing and chucking up shot from the perimeter like your name is Larry Bird... steups.

I won't blame the loss on the refs, D'Antoni or 'Melo though... too many turnovers.  Yuh not supposed tuh  win, and yuh not going to win doing shit like dat.

Yea Bakes you guys fought back and gave it away. With celtics having the last shot down 3, you have to be in Allen and Pierce's grill, no breathing room, make that shot as difficult as possible for them to take.
Post by: soccerman on March 05, 2012, 12:03:13 PM

Metta World Peace!!!! :beermug:
Post by: soccerman on March 05, 2012, 12:18:18 PM
Heat with a stutter.
Who think Lebron was wrong to pass to Haslem?

So I watched the replays of that last play and listened to the opinions of the so called "experts". To answer your question, it was the right play to make, Lebron drew traffic and executed a perfect bounce pass to Haslem to hit a 15 foot jumper on the buzzer. And that's the problem right there...you cannot depend on Haslem to make that shot, he's not made for that. This is where Lebron falls short IMO, the Heat were down in the fourth, Lebron pretty much single handedly brought them back in the game, in fact they got the lead late in the game and Harris scored a 3 point play to put the Jazz back up....then Lebron deffer again for Haslem to win the game. In those key moments, he has to learn to take those tough shots to decide the game. That's the one aspect Kobe has over him, everyone in the gym knows Kobe will take the last shot and he will take it despite of that.

He had a hot hand in the 4th quarter, hitting difficult shots and then he passed the ball off to Haslem when the game mattered most??? Just like the all-star game, hottest man on the court at that ponit in time then he tried to force a pass to Wade for a turnover when the game was on the line. If the pass to Haslem was for a dunk or lay-up then fine but not to make that jumper to seal the deal.
Post by: warmonga on March 05, 2012, 12:37:05 PM
why is everyone still talking about lebron past up on the last shot against Utah .. he was double team and made a great pass to udonis ..  udonis or Whatever his name is should have been question as to how you miss a wide facking open shot frm the top of the FT line ? I dislike Lebron as a miami heat player but that was a great pass.

Post by: soccerman on March 05, 2012, 01:10:30 PM
why is everyone still talking about lebron past up on the last shot against Utah .. he was double team and made a great pass to udonis ..  udonis or Whatever his name is should have been question as to how you miss a wide facking open shot frm the top of the FT line ? I dislike Lebron as a miami heat player but that was a great pass.

War I'm not disputing the pass, well executed but great players need to know who they're passing too. Maybe I'm wrong but I don't think Lebron should pass to Haslem to hit a buzzer beating jumper. The Jazz will double Lebron and leave Haslem open 10 out of 10 times in that situation. That's just me though but Lebron has the skill set to take a jumper while double teamed, he's used to that.
Post by: Bakes on March 05, 2012, 01:50:25 PM
So I watched the replays of that last play and listened to the opinions of the so called "experts". To answer your question, it was the right play to make, Lebron drew traffic and executed a perfect bounce pass to Haslem to hit a 15 foot jumper on the buzzer. And that's the problem right there...you cannot depend on Haslem to make that shot, he's not made for that. This is where Lebron falls short IMO, the Heat were down in the fourth, Lebron pretty much single handedly brought them back in the game, in fact they got the lead late in the game and Harris scored a 3 point play to put the Jazz back up....then Lebron deffer again for Haslem to win the game. In those key moments, he has to learn to take those tough shots to decide the game. That's the one aspect Kobe has over him, everyone in the gym knows Kobe will take the last shot and he will take it despite of that.

He had a hot hand in the 4th quarter, hitting difficult shots and then he passed the ball off to Haslem when the game mattered most??? Just like the all-star game, hottest man on the court at that ponit in time then he tried to force a pass to Wade for a turnover when the game was on the line. If the pass to Haslem was for a dunk or lay-up then fine but not to make that jumper to seal the deal.

Nah, daiz Haslem's shot... he making that mid-range shot since at Florida.
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 05, 2012, 07:33:29 PM

Metta World Peace!!!! :beermug:

The basketball player formerly known as Ron Artest
Post by: warmonga on March 06, 2012, 02:12:05 AM

No horrors soccerman I really didint read yu post .. all I know is several of my players frm my over 35 league keep pestering me bout it so I look at the highlights and I taught it was a great pass and any player finishing a game should be able to hit that shot .. It was uncontested. Lebron only had the ball for a mere second without anyone on him . look at the replay and you will see he was double team and if he drove the lane I believe time will have expired. Lebron is a great player but I believe wade and bosh is a better finisher than lebron.
Post by: soccerman on March 06, 2012, 11:57:52 AM
Yea no scene at all...I like Lebron's game the man is blessed with the physical ability and talent but if he wants to be a GREAT player in the NBA he has to learn to close out games. I've seen Udonis hit the mid range jumper many times but when the game is on the line, Lebron has to get selfish and take those shots himself not dish it off to a role player to win the game. I'm sure Rose, Kobe, Durrant even Carmelo would've placed it upon themselves to put the game in their hands as the franchise players.

I follow LJ on twitter, after the game this was one of his tweets "Man I have a sick feeling in my stomach right now! Really wanted tonight's game. I just had to make one more dang play out there." I'm guessing he finally realizing himself that he has to start closing out games as the marquee player on the team.
Post by: Bakes on March 07, 2012, 12:10:32 AM
Yea no scene at all...I like Lebron's game the man is blessed with the physical ability and talent but if he wants to be a GREAT player in the NBA he has to learn to close out games. I've seen Udonis hit the mid range jumper many times but when the game is on the line, Lebron has to get selfish and take those shots himself not dish it off to a role player to win the game. I'm sure Rose, Kobe, Durrant even Carmelo would've placed it upon themselves to put the game in their hands as the franchise players.

I follow LJ on twitter, after the game this was one of his tweets "Man I have a sick feeling in my stomach right now! Really wanted tonight's game. I just had to make one more dang play out there." I'm guessing he finally realizing himself that he has to start closing out games as the marquee player on the team.

I DVR'ed PTI yesterday and they were talking about the play... looking at it again, I'd say the pass to Haslem wasn't a bad choice, but the better play for me would be to drive to the bucket and at least draw contact on Jefferson and let the refs make a decision.  By saying "LeBron needs to take that shot" I keep picturing him taking a jumper, but keeping the ball in his own hands and taking it to the cup is also, him "taking the last shot".  So in that sense, I'd agree that in this particular instance, he needed to take the last shot.
Post by: Bitter on March 08, 2012, 09:55:36 AM
My brain says I have to stop watching the Wizards, but is like a car crash, I can't turn away. Somehow they manage to overcome a 20pt deficit and beat the Lakers. that doh compute either, but i have a great "highlight" to restore my sanity.

http://www.youtube.com/v/Oyk5wdQAgR8
Post by: soccerman on March 08, 2012, 11:03:29 AM
My brain says I have to stop watching the Wizards, but is like a car crash, I can't turn away. Somehow they manage to overcome a 20pt deficit and beat the Lakers. that doh compute either, but i have a great "highlight" to restore my sanity.

With all that (and it's a lot of bloopers from the Wizards this season) you'll still managed to beat my Lakers so I don't think you can comprehend how I'm feeling :cursing:
Post by: Bakes on March 08, 2012, 12:41:19 PM
Say what yuh want about the Wizards... they have the prettiest court in the NBA.
Post by: warmonga on March 09, 2012, 01:19:06 PM

http://www.youtube.com/v/Oyk5wdQAgR8
I sure he getting not top ten  today on espn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 09, 2012, 08:34:19 PM
Dwight Howard among five NBA trade scenarios to watch as deadline nears

By Marc J. Spears, Yahoo! Sports

With the NBA lockout pushing back the trade deadline to March 15 and the playoffs beginning just six weeks later, some team executives are wondering whether it’s even worth it to make a trade this season. And several officials have called this the quietest trade deadline in years.

“I’d be surprised if we see a lot of deals,” one Western Conference executive said. “In a short season, you can survive another 30 games and start talking trade to teams during the draft lottery.”

Said an East exec: “A playoff or playoff-hopeful team might do something to get them over the hump. But even if you have a problem guy, you don’t have to wait that long for the season to be over. It’s always hard to predict.”

Dwight Howard could leave the Magic as a free agent after the season if he isn't traded.
(NBAE/Getty Images)
The Orlando Magic’s potential trade of Dwight Howard is just one of five scenarios to watch leading up to the deadline.

Howard: The Orlando center hasn’t dropped his request to be dealt, but the Magic have spent more time discussing potential trades to bring in some help than deals to send him elsewhere. Howard can become a free agent after the season, and the uncertainty surrounding his future has stalled other potential trades.

“Dwight is holding up the league trade-wise right now,” one general manager said. “Everyone has crazy ideas here and there. But teams are reluctant to make a trade until something happens there.”

[ Adrian Wojnarowski: Magic still resisting Dwight Howard trade ]

Los Angeles Lakers big men Andrew Bynum and Pau Gasol: The Lakers will likely only move Bynum in a deal for Howard, sources said. The Houston Rockets still have interest in Gasol – who they nearly acquired in the offseason – but will likely have to recruit a third team that can send a point guard to the Lakers. The Rockets have shown no inclination to move their own point guard, Kyle Lowry.

The Lakers also could target the Cleveland Cavaliers’ Ramon Sessions, Utah Jazz’s Devin Harris or Portland Trail Blazers’ Raymond Felton in potential smaller deals. The Minnesota Timberwolves have shopped forward Michael Beasley to the Lakers, among other teams.

Boston Celtics’ Big Four: The Celtics won’t trade Rajon Rondo unless they receive a superstar in return. Trading Paul Pierce also appears unlikely. Ray Allen and Kevin Garnett are in the last year of their deals, which could free up salary-cap room in the summer. But Boston could also decide to deal either for a draft pick or quality young player.

Phoenix Suns guard Steve Nash: Nash will only be moved by the deadline if he asks to be traded, a source said. The All-Star, however, doesn’t appear interested in making that request. Nash is in the last year of his contract and could walk at the end of the season.

Golden State Warriors guard Monta Ellis: The Warriors’ preference is to include Ellis in a package for Howard. Ellis also has become more expendable because of the development of rookie Klay Thompson.

Other players to watch: Beasley; Felton; Sessions; Harris; Warriors center Andris Biedrins; Blazers guard Jamal Crawford; Charlotte Bobcats forward Boris Diaw; New Orleans Hornets center Chris Kaman; Rockets guard Courtney Lee; Dallas Mavericks forward Shawn Marion; Detroit Pistons guard Ben Gordon; Milwaukee Bucks forward Stephen Jackson; Sacramento Kings forward J.J. Hickson; Atlanta Hawks forward Josh Smith.
Post by: weary1969 on March 11, 2012, 05:47:46 PM
LOS ANGELES (AP)
Kobe Bryant scored 10 of his 26 points in the fourth quarter and hit a go-ahead jumper with 41.7 seconds to play, leading the Los Angeles Lakers to a 97-94 victory over the Boston Celtics on Sunday.
Andrew Bynum had 20 points and 14 rebounds for the Lakers, who rallied from a five-point deficit in the final 2 1/2 minutes. The All-Star center hit a short hook shot over Kevin Garnett with 15.5 seconds left, and Boston couldn't get a good look at a tying 3-pointer.

The Lakers scored the final eight points in their 18th victory in 19 home games, stylishly finishing their third straight victory over Boston.

Rajon Rondo had 24 points and 10 assists for the Celtics, who opened an eight-game road trip by blowing a late lead. On Boston's final possession, Ray Allen failed to get free for a 3-pointer before Rondo badly missed a tying attempt.
Post by: Peong on March 11, 2012, 07:44:01 PM
I doh know what wrong wit Wade and Lebron nah.  Real gallery for the last play, Lebron call Wade over to get the ball, then Wade tellin his teammates to clear the way. I say he goin and smoke the defender and finish from close in, this clown look to take a jumper from just inside the 3-point line with a man right up in his face.  Luckily he was able to play the foul which I think he would have gotten if he didn't score. 
That could have so easily missed and it woulda been more overtime, plus endless talk from all the Lebron and Heat haters.
Post by: Peong on March 13, 2012, 07:57:42 PM
Oh boy, Miami just choked big-time.  Orlando gave us so many chances with all the missed free throws in overtime, but Miami just could not score.  Lebron missed two late three point attempts.
Post by: Bitter on March 14, 2012, 08:51:20 AM
Another Wizards "Hightlight"

http://www.youtube.com/v/McoibcXuDwY
Post by: socachynee on March 14, 2012, 12:48:33 PM
Melo is back and Knicks on a downward slide
2-8 Coach leaves the team
is Melo a cancer  ???
Post by: Bakes on March 14, 2012, 02:16:29 PM
D'Antoni quits...

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/03/15/sports/basketball/mike-dantoni-resigns-as-knicks-coach.html

I dunno if he's a 'cancer' because his teammates have always loved him.  What he is is NOT a team player... as I just said on FB, 8 years in the League and he's still streetballin'... freelancing on offense and coasting on defense.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 14, 2012, 03:20:16 PM
oy vey
Post by: fari on March 14, 2012, 03:49:00 PM
good lord.  at first i was glad he get fired...then i hear he resigned.  look like he couldnt work with carmelo no more.   on npr they say the core of the team supported antoni (STAT, chandler, jeffries, davis, fields).      more chaos for the knicks :(
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 15, 2012, 05:16:26 PM
march 15th deadline trades...............superman stayin put.

After 7 1/2 seasons on the job in Portland, Nate McMillan is out as coach of the Portland Trail Blazers, according to multiple reports. Yahoo! Sports‘ Adrian Wojnarowski first reported the move, which was confirmed by Ken Berger of CBSSports.com.

> End Of A Lakers Era For Derek Fisher
The Lakers have parted way with longtime point guard Derek Fisher, according to multiple reports, trading him to the Houston Rockets just before the NBA’s 3 p.m. trade deadline on Thursday.

> Trail Blazers Send Camby To Houston
Veteran center Marcus Camby is on the move again, this time to Houston to join the Houston that continues the Portland Trail Blazers’ roster trade deadline roster makeover. The deal was first reported by Yahoo! Sports.

> Stephen Jackson And The Spurs?
The Golden State Warriors are trying to use Stephen Jackson to land a first round pick and Richard Jefferson from the San Antonio Spurs, according to league sources.

> Lakers Shore Up Backcourt
With a point guard corps that includes championship-tested veteran (and starter) Derek Fisher and his veteran backup, Steve Blake, the Lakers were looking to add a younger body in the backcourt that perhaps provides the best of both players’ skills. L.A. got exactly that by swinging at trade with Cleveland for point guard Ramon Sessions.

> Report: Nets Get Wallace From Blazers
Dwight Howard waiving his early termination option took him off the trade market and out of the free-agency pool for 2011-12. That put a kink in the rebuilding plans for New Jersey, which was on Howard’s preseason draft “wish list”. The Nets didn’t leave trade deadline day empty handed though, as they swung a deal for Gerald Wallace from the Blazers, reports Adrian Wojnarowski of Yahoo!Sports.

> Dwight Will Stay … For Now Anyway
OK, it’s over. Move along. Nothing more to see here. Dwight Howard went from being the face of the trade deadline to being an innocent bystander. He signed away his Early Termination Option, meaning he’ll be with the Magic at least until the summer of 2013 (at a cost to Orlando of $19.4 million).

> Clippers Figure To Stand Pat
After weeks of window shopping for a new shooting guard to replace the injured Chauncey Billups, the Clippers will let the trade deadline pass, barring an unexpected late development in the final hours.

> Gasol Doesn’t Expect To Be Traded
After hearing his name tossed around in trade rumors for months Pau Gasol does not expect to be traded by the Los Angeles Lakers today, according to a report in the Los Angeles Times.

> Pacers Get Barbosa
The Indiana Pacers, looking to augment their reserves for the stretch run, will acquire veteran guard Leandro Barbosa from the Toronto Raptors for a second-round pick, according to a league source.

> Sixers land Young in trade with Grizz
The Memphis Grizzlies have traded swingman Sam Young to the Philadelphia 76ers for future considerations, according to a source.

> Magic Waiting On Dwight’s Signature
The Orlando Magic are now “expecting to get” a signed “opt in” amendment from Dwight Howard and his agent this morning that will keep the All-Star center in Orlando for the 2012-13 season, according to two sources.

> Report: Celtics Interested In Kaman
The Celtics have been hard up on the frontline of late, what with Jermaine O’Neal nursing a wrist injury for the last 10 games and then, the recent disturbing news about reserve big man Chris Wilcox, who faces surgery for an enlarged aorta and will miss the rest of the season.

> Arenas On Grizzlies’ Radar
In their season-long pursuit of another long-range shooter, the Memphis Grizzlies have turned their attention to free agent option Gilbert Arenas, according to the Commercial Appeal.

> Beasley, Crawford on the move
Timberwolves forward Michael Beasley could be on the move today with the trade deadline just hours away. So could Trail Blazers guard Jamal Crawford.

> Yet Another Reversal: Howard To Opt In For 2012-13 In Orlando?
In one of the wildest 24 hour stretches of NBA trade deadline history, Dwight Howard has finally changed his mind about changing his mind one last time and will reportedly not leave the Orlando Magic via trade today or free agency this summer.
2012 Trade Deadline Tracker
Post by: weary1969 on March 15, 2012, 07:58:52 PM
Dwight Howard a doubleminded man is unstable in all hs ways.
Post by: Bakes on March 15, 2012, 08:15:08 PM
I dunno why the acting like Howard been flip-flopping... since this morning around 8 am it was reported that he would stay with the Magic for another year.

Fisher is class all the way... but Sessions will be a BEAST in LA.

Nick Young to the Clippers, despite what Capo post saying.  Also the Wizards trade Javale McGee... to Houston, I believe.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 22, 2012, 07:26:59 AM
derek fisher gone with a championship contender instead ah rockets....OKC.....knicks rollin nicely...hopefully they can finish in 5 or 6 spot...avoid heat and bulls in 1st rd.
Post by: soccerman on March 22, 2012, 09:38:55 PM
derek fisher gone with a championship contender instead ah rockets....OKC.....knicks rollin nicely...hopefully they can finish in 5 or 6 spot...avoid heat and bulls in 1st rd.
Since Woodson came on board the Knicks is 5-0...from Linsanity to Woodsanity

Kobe said he can't wait to demolish Fisher lol, we will see. OKC is tought to beat this year, our only hope is for Westbrook to make bad decisions by trying to be the man come playoff time
Post by: socachynee on March 23, 2012, 07:48:43 PM
wow so knicks were on a run only to be stopped by our Toronto Raptors
I Love This Game
Post by: Peong on March 25, 2012, 07:10:55 PM
Miami in disarray in the 2nd quarter.
Post by: soccerman on March 25, 2012, 08:13:24 PM
Yea tough one for MIA...13pt OKC lead in the 4th, let's see if they can come back
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 25, 2012, 09:04:20 PM
Yea tough one for MIA...13pt OKC lead in the 4th, let's see if they can come back
if these 2 teams meet in the final.....hahaha, king james in fuh another dissappointment.
Post by: Peong on March 26, 2012, 10:21:29 PM
Yeh all d Lebron haters must be in their glee.  Miami not lookin good right now.  I feel teams learnin how to defend against the Heat.
Them starboys need to be more versatile.
Post by: warmonga on March 27, 2012, 11:47:47 AM
Miami heat OKC finals .. watch and see
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 27, 2012, 02:35:38 PM
nah bulls v OKC.....ah predict it from de start.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 28, 2012, 08:24:44 PM
dwight and de magicians get blow out in de garden tonite.
Post by: soccerman on March 28, 2012, 10:42:05 PM
Kevin Love is having a helluva season and flying under the radar...yea the wolves is shit but he's averaging 26 pts per game behind Kobe, Durant and Lebron plus he's 2nd in the league in rebounds behind Dwight. Impressive!!! http://espn.go.com/nba/
Post by: weary1969 on March 29, 2012, 02:24:23 PM

We go c if I hv 2 strt 2 call u Nostradamus from June.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 29, 2012, 06:02:30 PM

We go c if I hv 2 strt 2 call u Nostradamus from June.
pressure fuh yuh man kobe tonite.....OKC in staples.
Post by: Peong on March 29, 2012, 08:31:38 PM
That's more like it. Go Heat!
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 29, 2012, 11:09:15 PM
westbrook is ah boss....OKC 102-93
Post by: soccerman on March 29, 2012, 11:11:48 PM
Lakers frustrating me dread...Yea Westbrook played like a borse tonight but he could be there downfall if he keeps trying to outshine Durant
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 29, 2012, 11:21:18 PM
Lakers frustrating me dread...Yea Westbrook played like a borse tonight but he could be there downfall if he keeps trying to outshine Durant
KD start off real poor....brook carry the team tru-out the 2nd half...them is de BEST pair in de NBA .

OKC VS BULLS FINALE.
Post by: soccerman on March 29, 2012, 11:36:12 PM
KD start off real poor....brook carry the team tru-out the 2nd half...them is de BEST pair in de NBA .

OKC VS BULLS FINALE.

OKC is athletic as fack though plus they're deep...Not a bad prediction but I ain give up on meh side yet ;D
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 31, 2012, 04:49:24 PM
lin out fuh de season...torn meniscus.....steups.
Post by: soccerman on March 31, 2012, 08:13:56 PM
lin out fuh de season...torn meniscus.....steups.
Doh fack meh up...I have to go read up on this
Post by: soccerman on March 31, 2012, 08:27:30 PM
Rapid Reaction: Lin out for the season
March, 31, 2012
MAR 31
7:36
PM ET
EmailPrintComments
By Christopher Hunt
Jeremy Lin has a chronic meniscal tear in his left knee. The injury, that will require arthroscopic surgery, should keep him out for approximately six weeks.

WHAT IT MEANS: Linsanity is officially over and the Knicks are back where they started -- looking for an answer at point guard. Baron Davis was brought in at the start of the campaign to lead the offense but hasn't been completely healthy all season. Coach Mike Woodson said he will ask more of reserve guards Mike Bibby and Toney Douglas. Woodson also said he believes the team will not be looking to sign another point guard.

TONEY TIME?: Douglas has been banished to the bench and has had difficulty breaking into the rotation. But now the Knicks are compelled to play him more minutes. Douglas has proven he can be a streak scorer and pesky on-the-ball defender, which is somewhat scary to think about considering Iman Shumpert -- a great defender himself -- is already in the backcourt. It's likely Shumpert will also be responsible for some of the ballhandling duties and might see his minutes increase, as well. There could also be some point-guard-by-committee going forward. J.R. Smith has played some point forward while Lin was out, and Carmelo Anthony could go back to initiating some of the offense, as well.

THE INJURY BUG: Despite the fact New York is 8-2 under Woodson, injuries have continued to threaten their chemistry and their hold on the eighth spot in the playoffs. Amare Stoudemire (bulging disk), Jared Jeffries (sore right knee) and Lin are all out. Anthony, who has carried the offense the past three games, is battling a sore groin. Tyson Chandler has been dealing with a sore wrist and also tweaked his groin. Davis is playing through hamstring soreness and Bill Walker is still day to day with a sore left elbow.
Post by: dinho on April 05, 2012, 07:30:13 AM
Commentator call this dunk graphic oui.. lol

http://www.youtube.com/v/gXTlcrmhRX0
Post by: giggsy11 on April 05, 2012, 02:42:39 PM
Pau should have just have stepped back and not provide a place for Blake to plant his forearm. He aint make no moves to even block shot or jump, so why be in the frame? 
Post by: soccerman on April 05, 2012, 05:27:32 PM
Pau should have just have stepped back and not provide a place for Blake to plant his forearm. He aint make no moves to even block shot or jump, so why be in the frame? 
We all know that Blake is a beast and freak of nature and when he launches off like that like that either 1) get out the way or 2) foul him, not to hurt him but you'll have to foul before he takes flight.
I watched the game and he came out to abuse Pau because he knows he's soft.
Post by: Peong on April 05, 2012, 05:58:51 PM
OKC is real trouble boy.  Heat played at home and struggled mightily.
That was a good game though, real battle of d bosses.
Post by: Peong on April 06, 2012, 06:00:59 PM
Heat lookin to open a pastry shop with all them turnovers they have in the 1st quarter.
Post by: Bakes on April 08, 2012, 02:08:20 PM
Melo with 41 including a huge three to tie and send the game into OT, then another three to bury the Bulls with 8 seconds left.
Post by: soccerman on April 08, 2012, 08:31:25 PM
Melo with 41 including a huge three to tie and send the game into OT, then another three to bury the Bulls with 8 seconds left.
Dat was an exciting game!
Post by: warmonga on April 10, 2012, 12:25:58 PM
wake up call tonight for my Bulls.. I love my bulls but I have been saying this for a long time if Knicks play wid sum balls they are a ruff team to beat.. anyway My bulls will be ready for them tonight .. its on .. bulls thumping dem tonight watch and see.. Knicks  gonna need more than melo to beat Da bulls tonight .. lets go Bulls.... Miami resting it on Celtics innah embarrassing way tonight also ..
Post by: Bakes on April 10, 2012, 02:00:03 PM
Dat was an exciting game!

Round 2 tonight... hopefully I'll make it back in in time.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 12, 2012, 07:15:32 AM
lookin like NY meetin Rosey and the bulls in rd. 1
Post by: soccerman on April 12, 2012, 09:19:08 PM
lookin like NY meetin Rosey and the bulls in rd. 1
I want NY to claim the 7th spot to see a NY vs Mia first round :beermug:
Post by: Peong on April 12, 2012, 09:20:59 PM
All Lebron had to do was hit that first free throw steups.
If Miami doh want to play extra time why they doh make sure it dun in regulation?
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 13, 2012, 06:55:17 AM
after watchin bulls heat lastnite....chicago winnin the championship this year......rose score 2 pts but the bench step up big time and de bench have depth to give away.
Post by: Peong on April 13, 2012, 11:43:45 AM
And Miami's bench sucks bad.  No balance.
The big 2.5 can't carry thru another whole season.  And then Spoelstra will take the fall.
Post by: warmonga on April 13, 2012, 01:20:19 PM
bulls lucky nuh rass yesterday... dat shot was off balance bad... the shit just went in... I go tek though...

Post by: weary1969 on April 13, 2012, 05:17:13 PM
after watchin bulls heat lastnite....chicago winnin the championship this year......rose score 2 pts but the bench step up big time and de bench have depth to give away.

:beermug: once it eh HEAT.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 13, 2012, 05:28:06 PM
Mamba's Lone Strike
April 13 -- Years from now, long after his quest for a all-time greatness is over, his legacy is cemented and his face plastered alongside the NBA's Mt. Rushmore with the other greats, someone will have to explain to the next generation how this happened.

Someone will have to explain how it came to be that Kobe Bean Bryant because he is ah shithound finished his storied career among the best of the best in almost every conceivable category of note, how he piled up championships, points, All-NBA honors, All-Star nods and Olympic gold medals and all of the other prizes the legends do, but has just one Most Valuable Player award.

Some poor soul will have to flip through the pages of history (or more appropriately, click through them) and explain why 2008 was the only year that the player who could very well go down as one of the two or three greatest players in league history, was duly recognized as the king of the (regular season) hill just once.

A hoops historian will have to try and explain why a man who spent a decade-plus as a first team All-NBA pick was the captain of that team just once. How did he finish his career with more MVP trophies from The Finals (2) and three times as many All-Star Game MVP trophies (4) on his mantle than he did MVP trophies?

Bryant will watch someone else walk away with the award once again this season, likely either LeBron James or Kevin Durant. They've led the way in the KIA Race to the MVP Ladder all season and will no doubt finish this season there on most people's officials ballots.

Bryant will most likely finish a strong third, the same spot he has held down all season on our list. But that doesn't mean we're comfortable toying with his legacy in this way. He is leading the league in scoring and is fourth in minutes played in this, his 16th season. Both are unbelievable feats when you consider the amount of mileage on his body (playoff minutes included).

For all of the things Bryant has been able to control on the floor, for all of the outcomes he's been able to manipulate with a crossover dribble, a late-game dagger, a simple flick of his wrist, this is one that he'll have to grin and bear as others mark the final score.

Lucky for him and his legacy, MVP trophies alone do not decide one's place among the best of the all-time best. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar won a record six MVP trophies, Bill Russell and Michael Jordan five each, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird and Moses Malone three each, while Bob Pettit, Karl Malone and Tim Duncan won two each. Suns point guard Steve Nash has two, one that could have (and some would argue should have) gone to Bryant. James already has two and could add a handful more before he's done. And Durant is looking for his first of what could be several as well.

Bryant, though, will have to suffer the same MVP travesty as his one-time running mate and nemesis Shaquille O'Neal. One-and-done MVPs.

Whether they were victims of circumstance or some other forces that prevented them from being feted properly is another discussion altogether. But the results remains the same, they are one and done.

And it seems as ridiculous now as it will for generations to come!

(Since we can't rank the entire Bulls team No. 1, we'll just go with our usual rankings from this point on!)

-- SEKOU SMITH
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 13, 2012, 08:21:19 PM
NY in 7th..........76's in 8th......with the 7 remainin games if we could finish 5-2 and magic keep losin we could b in 6th...lookin to face pacers.
Post by: warmonga on April 16, 2012, 08:37:46 AM
wey boi bulls playingl ike trinidad now heart attack basket ball!!!!!!!!!

Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on April 16, 2012, 07:55:17 PM
Dumbest NBA player....
the guy who post this lacking some brain cells also.
Ladies & gentlemen, i bring you javale:

http://www.youtube.com/v/AgSYA3Gb7oI
Post by: soccerman on April 16, 2012, 10:56:02 PM
Bad teams really find a ways to loose, I swear the Nets were on their way to pull their biggest win for the season over the Heat but Lebron just bulldozed them like a frieght train in the final 2 mins after being up by about 7or 8. Hopefully Brooklyn bring them better luck because NJ seem like a blight lol.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 20, 2012, 07:20:15 AM
dwight howard out for the rest of season and playoffs....back surgery......ah guess no olympics either.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 20, 2012, 09:20:46 AM
Charles Barkley talked Knicks on WFAN-Radio on Thursday morning, which is to say Charles Barkley bashed the Knicks on Thursday morning.

The opinionated TNT analyst was often critical of Mike D'Antoni's defensive coaching ability, but the coach resigning has done nothing to soften Barkley's opinion of the team.

"The Knicks still stink, dude," Barkley said on the station's morning show. "They're not going anywhere [in the playoffs], they're gonna be one-and-done."

The Knicks are 33-29 after winning six of their past eight games, and are currently the No. 7 seed in the Eastern Conference. The Knicks are likely to stay in that position, which would mean a matchup with the Heat unless Miami can get past Chicago for the top seed.

"I don't dislike the Knicks," Barkley said. "But they just don't have a good team. I just told you, they're the No. 7 seed. You guys act like they're the No. 1 or 2 seed."

Barkley did have praise for Carmelo Anthony, calling him the "best offensive player in the NBA." The former Suns great also suggested that Knicks interim coach Mike Woodson should get the full-time gig after this season. When John Calipari's name came up, Barkley did not feel it was the right fit.

"Let me tell you something, he's never going to be drunk enough to take that Knicks job," Barkley said. "That would be career suicide. I'm a big, big John Calipari fan, but he's not gonna take that job -- 'cause that ain't a good job."
Post by: soccerman on April 20, 2012, 01:04:35 PM
Bulls like they starting to loose grip coming down to the end, Heat rough dem up last night and Chicago is a physical team.

Also I think the Knicks are capable of going 7 games with the Bulls or Heat, don't think they'll win but the series should be exciting.

Post by: soccerman on April 20, 2012, 01:04:41 PM
I just hope Lakers can find a way to hold on to the 3rd spot, if we have to Memphis in the first round that will be pressure.
Post by: weary1969 on April 21, 2012, 07:02:48 AM
I just hope Lakers can find a way to hold on to the 3rd spot, if we have to Memphis in the first round that will be pressure.

ENTTTTTT
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 22, 2012, 07:07:12 PM

ENTTTTTT

Done deal, managed to claw back real nice and beat OKC at home.  We may not be winning de title but we can still fight, if we make it as far as the west conference finals ah will be very happy
Post by: soccerman on April 22, 2012, 07:27:20 PM

ENTTTTTT

Done deal, managed to claw back real nice and beat OKC at home.  We may not be winning de title but we can still fight, if we make it as far as the west conference finals ah will be very happy

Yea big come from behind win!!! How much games yuh feel dey go give Mr. World Peace?
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 22, 2012, 07:40:48 PM

ENTTTTTT

Yea big come from behind win!!! How much games yuh feel dey go give Mr. World Peace?

Dread, was wondering about this, I'd say 2-3 if Harding is ok, but if later diagnosis reveals some type of injury, much more.  We know there is no concussion, but the fact that Harding did not come back could spell a longer suspension for Ron, nothing peaceful about his actions today
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 22, 2012, 08:18:17 PM
no more basketball this season fuh artest....harden did suffer a concussion
Post by: warmonga on April 22, 2012, 09:49:52 PM
Because of his record he will suffer a long ban maybe for the rest of the season .. I personally don'tthink it was a dirty play , the player was just in the wrong place and collect a bad blow to his head..
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 23, 2012, 06:40:45 AM
Because of his record he will suffer a long ban maybe for the rest of the season .. I personally don'tthink it was a dirty play , the player was just in the wrong place and collect a bad blow to his head..
u jockin too much....yuh need glasses.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 23, 2012, 07:24:29 AM

Sorry fuh Harden, Ron need another name change
Post by: weary1969 on April 23, 2012, 08:48:05 AM

SMH
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2012, 02:53:33 PM

Yeah, it was so accidental that after he clock Harden Artest eh even pause to apologize or check on de man.  I give him the benefit of the doubt thru the whole Indiana thing, even two years ago when he was with Houston and square off with Kobe... but Artest is just an emotional imps.
Post by: Deeks on April 23, 2012, 07:00:45 PM
Fortunately or unfortunately, I saw that part of the game. I am still trying to figure out Ron Peace Artest. I don't think he saw the guy, but he knew a body was close by and throw the elbow thinking the person would move away. But Harden could not stop his forward momentum and got the elbow. Like Bakes said, many people gave him the benefit of doubt in his previous altercations, but this one was stupid. I don't even want to mention Balotelli. Some of these guys just have a streak of dotishness running thru their viens.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 23, 2012, 09:37:02 PM
Christie says good riddance to Brooklyn-bound Nets

Posted Apr 23 2012 7:23PM - Updated Apr 23 2012 8:13PM

NEWARK, N.J. (AP) -- As the Nets prepared to say goodbye to New Jersey, Gov. Chris Christie bid the Brooklyn-bound NBA team good riddance.

The typically blunt Christie said he would shed no tears over the departure of the Nets, who played their final home game of the season Monday night against the Philadelphia 76ers as they prepare to move to New York next season.

"My message to them is, goodbye," Christie said at an afternoon news conference at Newark Beth Israel Hospital where he signed a bill to promote organ and tissue donation. "You don't want to stay, we don't want you."

The Nets have played the last two of their 35 years in New Jersey in Newark at the Prudential Center Arena, the high-tech home built by the city of Newark and the NHL's New Jersey Devils in 2007.

The Nets' owners in the 1990s had sought to move the team to Newark from the Meadowlands but couldn't work out financing a new arena. They eventually sold the franchise in 2004 to real estate developer Bruce Ratner, whose plan all along was to move the team to Brooklyn, and the Nets wound up in Newark as they waited for the Barclays Center in Brooklyn to be completed.

Christie scoffed at the team's decision to choose New York over New Jersey.

"That's one of the most beautiful arenas in America they have a chance to play in, it's in one of the country's most vibrant cities, and they want to leave here and go to Brooklyn?" he asked. "Good riddance, see you later. I think there'll be some other NBA team who may be looking to relocate and they might look at that arena and the fan base in the New Jersey and New York area and say, `This is an opportunity to increase our fan base and try something different."'

Nets coach Avery Johnson was more charitable when asked if he sympathized with fans who had been following the team for years.

"I do in a lot of ways because you have some fans who have really been here, supporting the Nets," he said before the game. "You had fans who were here through the 12-win season, losing twice in the finals and that's really rough. It's tough getting there, but it's tough when you lose in the finals. I have been a part of a team that lost in the finals, but they continued to come back."

Told of Christie's comments, Johnson said: "Well again, everyone has an opinion. We're moving on. Hopefully, we'll move on and be successful."

Post by: capodetutticapi on April 24, 2012, 10:38:21 AM
de race for scorin title headin dong to de wire boy.....KD and de shithong called kobe tied on 27.9..........come on kevin!!!!!!!!!
Post by: soccerman on April 24, 2012, 12:10:18 PM
de race for scorin title headin dong to de wire boy.....KD and de shithong called kobe tied on 27.9..........come on kevin!!!!!!!!!
:rotfl: I ain lying yuh doh give Kobe ah chance atall
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 24, 2012, 12:36:02 PM

Doh study he and as for CC, why he eh hush, anybody want to play ball in de swamp land!!
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 24, 2012, 12:42:09 PM

Doh study he and as for CC, why he eh hush, anybody want to play ball in de swamp land!!
ah bet yuh 2 carib durant win it.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 24, 2012, 12:53:31 PM
Bet on, I want 2 shandy when black mamba take de title, on Sunday yuh see de fire he lite up in OKC backside -- best closer in de game today, hands down
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 24, 2012, 04:17:18 PM
Bet on, I want 2 shandy when black mamba take de title, on Sunday yuh see de fire he lite up in OKC backside -- best closer in de game today, hands down
they pull that victory out they ass....OKC win de 2 previous.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 24, 2012, 04:59:32 PM
James Harden not cleared to return yet

Updated Apr 24, 2012 3:01 PM ET

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP)

Thunder reserve James Harden has not yet been cleared to play after suffering a concussion when he took an elbow to the head from the Lakers' Metta World Peace.

Coach Scott Brooks disclosed the news Tuesday morning. He would not say whether he would play Harden if doctors allow it or hold him out as a precaution.

''That's hypothetical. I don't know,'' Brooks said. ''Until I find out if that is the case, I would have to think about that.''

The Thunder are locked into the No. 2 seed in the Western Conference playoffs with two regular-season games remaining, against Sacramento on Tuesday night and Denver on Wednesday night.

Harden was hurt when World Peace, formerly known as Ron Artest, swung his left elbow and hit him on the back of the head behind his left ear during a game Sunday. Harden was able to fly back to Oklahoma City and is going through the league's new process of getting cleared to play after a concussion.

''There's steps that we have to take. We just have to continue that, the process of doing all the steps,'' Brooks said, adding that there was ''really no update.''

He said Harden ''did a few things but just not everything'' in the team's shootaround on Tuesday morning.

''He seems fine to me,'' NBA scoring leader Kevin Durant said. ''I'm happy that everything is OK with him, nothing too serious, I guess. We're just taking it a day at a time. We care more about James' health than him being on the court playing basketball for us.''

Even with nothing to gain in the West standings, Brooks said he will ''definitely'' play his normal starters this week but he may reduce their playing time slightly.

''We still want to keep working on playing good basketball, working on our good habits,'' Brooks said. ''We've done a good job all year. We're not going to stop now. No matter who plays, we still have a standard that we have to make sure it's in check.

HISTORY LESSON
 How many times has Metta World Peace/ Ron Artest been suspended? Let's count.

''I really don't know right now the minutes. Still, they have to play a good amount of minutes to get a good rhythm and a good flow of the game. I can't imagine 40 minutes. It's probably mid-30s to low 30s on the guys that average that.''

Durant ranks third in the league with 38.7 minutes per game and just moved past Kobe Bryant for the scoring lead after the Thunder's loss in Los Angeles on Sunday. Fellow All-Star Russell Westbrook is averaging 35.5 minutes.

''If I play, I don't want to play 15, 20 minutes,'' Durant said. ''Scotty, whatever he wants me to do, I'll do it. But I really don't want to play a half or something like that. I want to go out there and, if I do play, kick it in full drive and use that as an opportunity to get better.''

''Once I'm in the mode and the energy is going, I just don't like to get pulled out and sit for a while,'' he added. ''I just want to hopefully play as long as I can. But we'll see what Scotty does.''

Durant, who has won the scoring title the last two seasons, is averaging 27.906 points to Bryant's 27.862.

''I know if I was in that situation, it would be on my mind and I would want it,'' Brooks said. ''I'm selfish and I would want to be able to say I'm the scoring champion. Kevin hasn't brought it up.''
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 24, 2012, 05:00:55 PM
barataria look like u boy kobe bow to KD in de scorin title race.

DURANT FOR MVP
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 24, 2012, 08:40:04 PM
barataria look like u boy kobe bow to KD in de scorin title race.

DURANT FOR MVP

ha ha, one more game to go, see how close dem #s is, Kobe going and put up 40+ vs de queens later in de week.  Under all de ole talk, doubt we culd beat OKC in 7, but ah takin what ah culd get!
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 24, 2012, 09:08:27 PM
artest out for 7 seven.
Post by: soccerman on April 24, 2012, 10:56:32 PM
artest out for 7 seven.

I think that's fair considering his history
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 25, 2012, 11:20:12 AM
artest out for 7 seven.

lakers have 1 more reg season game plus they gettin knock out in de 1st rd....so this extendin to next season......BARATARIA AND WEARY ALLYUH HEAR MEH.
Post by: Peong on April 25, 2012, 02:40:20 PM
artest out for 7 seven.

lakers have 1 more reg season game plus they gettin knock out in de 1st rd....so this extendin to next season......BARATARIA AND WEARY ALLYUH HEAR MEH.

:rotfl: that would be funny if it worked out that way.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 25, 2012, 05:17:50 PM
artest out for 7 seven.

:rotfl:  yuh clown, jus means Ron coming back by de time we play San Antonio in de West Conference finals  :beermug:
Post by: soccerman on April 26, 2012, 12:04:48 PM
Kobe needs to score at least 38 pts tonight vs the Kings to claim the scoring title, think he'll get it?
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 26, 2012, 02:09:17 PM
Kobe needs to score at least 38 pts tonight vs the Kings to claim the scoring title, think he'll get it?
HELL NO. :praying:
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 26, 2012, 05:39:43 PM
HELL NO. :praying:

Done deal, yuh know he motivated as hell for accolades, type A++++ personality. Would be very surprised if he did not go for it tonight...
Post by: weary1969 on April 26, 2012, 07:28:54 PM
artest out for 7 seven.

I'm not deaf I'm  ignorin u.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 26, 2012, 08:44:19 PM
bulls have no. 1 seed
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 26, 2012, 09:05:15 PM
lakers playin nuggets...if they get pass them....is thunder in they ass.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 27, 2012, 05:03:18 AM

would not be bad if nuggest series went 6, we need Ron for the OKC series
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 27, 2012, 07:07:17 AM

would not be bad if nuggest series went 6, we need Ron for the OKC series
if it should come to that.....it will b de series of the playoffs.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on April 27, 2012, 11:29:03 AM
The lakers will be beat the thunder.  In crunch time (final few minutes of game), the thunder is still a jumpshooting team.  In the double OT game they kept taking jumpshoots and missing, when they finally drove to the basket they ended up shooting free throws.  Common sense woud say to continue driving but no, lets take some more jump shots and miss.  The West finals will be lakers and spurs.  I hope i wrong and lakers get knockout early.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 27, 2012, 12:13:00 PM
As yuh know I and I is a lakers fan, but honestly, ah tink we need a perfect series to beat OKC, no injuries, mamba hitting 50+% every game, Bynum dominant in de paint, Ron strong at de forward and contributing, Pau having de form of his life, Sessions dishing, and strong bench support from Barnes, Blake and others.

Anyting can happen, but for us to prevail ah tink we will need de perfect series.  One series/game at a time doh, Denver 1st up
Post by: warmonga on April 28, 2012, 01:34:17 AM
well tomorrow party on..  let di thing start..
bulls in 6  Match up problems wid 76ers from long time
miami in 5 Knicks players have no facking balls dey play like a bunch of bitches
pacers in 5 (no howard)
Thunder in 6  west "brick" gonna tear dem up
spurs in 4 just to good
lakers in 6  Kobe cya do it by himself at all other players have to step up
cletics in 7 man to man match up in this game 

Post by: capodetutticapi on April 28, 2012, 09:04:03 AM
miami in 5 Knicks players have no facking balls dey play like a bunch of bitches
pacers in 5 (no howard)
spurs in 4 just to good

war u does smoke up yuh ganga and come and post HIGH class kaka....lol........knicks beatin heat,bulls sweepin philly,LA denver goin 7
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 28, 2012, 09:53:53 AM
Capo, yuh goin de garden to watch Lebrick and dem?  Studyin to take in one game in meh laker uniform  :devil:
Post by: warmonga on April 28, 2012, 02:32:08 PM
pacers in 5 (no howard)
spurs in 4 just to good

war u does smoke up yuh ganga and come and post HIGH class kaka....lol........knicks beatin heat,bulls sweepin philly,LA denver goin 7
I think yu thief mi weed bout knicks beating Miami... :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on April 28, 2012, 05:47:21 PM
Capo, yuh goin de garden to watch Lebrick and dem?  Studyin to take in one game in meh laker uniform  :devil:

I like dat idea.
Post by: warmonga on April 28, 2012, 06:15:36 PM
bulls done .. rose torn acl

Post by: soccerman on April 28, 2012, 06:26:34 PM

That man couldn't catch a break this season dread....the Heat have no excuse to win the east now!!!
Post by: weary1969 on April 28, 2012, 07:24:11 PM

That man couldn't catch a break this season dread....the Heat have no excuse to win the east now!!!

BIG FAT WET STEUPSSSSSSS
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 02, 2012, 03:32:01 PM
Knicks' Chandler wins Kia Defensive Player of Year
By Official release
Posted May 2 2012 1:53PM - Updated May 2 2012 4:56PM
NEW YORK -- Tyson Chandler of the New York Knicks is the recipient of the 2011-12 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award, the NBA announced Wednesday. Chandler becomes the first player in franchise history to earn the honor.
Chandler received 311 points, including 45 first-place votes, from a panel of 121 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Oklahoma City's Serge Ibaka finished second with 294 points and Orlando's Dwight Howard, who had won the award each of the previous three seasons, finished third with 186 points. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received.

With Chandler anchoring the middle, New York's defense improved markedly from the previous season in multiple categories. The Knicks ranked among the top half of the league in several key defensive categories, including opponent turnovers per game (17.0, 2nd), opponent field goal percentage (.442, 10th), and opponent scoring (94.7 ppg, 11th). Opposing teams averaged 22.5 more points and shot .520 from the field when Chandler was not in the lineup. Opponents shot .438 with Chandler in the lineup. In addition, Chandler grabbed 22.1 percent of his team's defensive rebounds when he was on the floor.
As part of its support of the Defensive Player of the Year Award, Kia Motors America will donate a new Kia Sorento CUV on behalf of Chandler to Art for Life Foundation, which focuses on creating programs that help kids who are undergoing physical, emotional or mental crisis to use art as a way of helping them work through and with their illness. Kia Motors will present a brand new Sorento to the charity of choice of each of five
2011-12 year-end award winners as part of the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." Following this season, Kia Motors will have donated a total of 21 new vehicles to charitable organizations since its support of the NBA's prestigious year-end honors began with the 2007-2008 season.
The 2011-12 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award is part of a series of on-court performance awards called "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." The series, currently in its fifth season, is a significant part of the multiyear marketing partnership between Kia Motors America and the NBA, and also includes the Most Improved Player, Sixth Man, Most Valuable Player of the Year Awards, and this year for the first time, Rookie of the Year. It also includes the Kia NBA Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Month which are awarded during the regular season. For more information on the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards" visit www.NBA.com/performanceawards.
The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 08, 2012, 08:58:25 PM
Bobcats to interview Patrick Ewing
By Adrian Wojnarowski | Yahoo! Sports

Orlando Magic assistant Patrick Ewing will interview for the Charlotte Bobcats head-coaching job, league sources told Yahoo! Sports.

Former Knicks player Patrick Ewing is a candidate for the Bobcats' coaching vacancy. The Bobcats are working to set up a meeting with Ewing once the Magic are finished in the Eastern Conference playoffs.
Ewing is a close friend of Charlotte owner Michael Jordan, and several sources believe the Hall of Fame center will turn out to be a serious candidate for the opening. Charlotte will make pitches to Golden State Warriors assistant Mike Malone and former Portland Trail Blazers coach Nate McMillan, but will likely hire its next coach from a pool of candidates like Ewing who have been less in demand for head-coaching jobs.
Ewing has worked eight seasons as an NBA assistant, including the past five on Stan Van Gundy’s staff with the Magic. Detroit Pistons general manager Joe Dumars interviewed Ewing for his franchise’s head-coaching job last spring and was impressed with him.
Charlotte officials flew to the Bay Area to meet with Malone on Tuesday. Malone is a coveted candidate who will likely be on the short list of most coaching openings this spring. He was the runner-up for the Warriors' job that went to Mark Jackson last year. The Warriors then made Malone the league's highest-paid assistant at $750,000 a year, hiring him to lead Jackson's staff.
Charlotte has to sell candidates like Malone and McMillan that Jordan is willing to make the financial commitment to build a winning organization. Charlotte will have to commit money to coaching salaries, as well as sell a plan to stock the franchise with talent.
Most of the better candidates will want to wait until the May 30 draft lottery to see if Charlotte will win the No. 1 overall pick to take Kentucky center Anthony Davis. The Bobcats parted ways with coach Paul Silas after a season that saw them finish with the lowest winning percentage (.106) in NBA history.
Post by: soccerman on May 08, 2012, 11:21:24 PM
Patrick Ewing is not a good fit for that Bobcats job after that season they just had. They someone to come in break bad habits and build that team from scratch. I wish Ewing all the best and hope he gets a head coaching gig one day but this Bobcats job I believe calls for a high calibre coach.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 10, 2012, 07:49:19 PM
Thunder's James Harden wins Kia Sixth Man Award
By Official release
Posted May 10 2012 7:51PM
NEW YORK -- The Oklahoma City Thunder's James Harden is the winner of the 2011-12 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award as the league's best player in a reserve role, the NBA announced today. Harden, who led all NBA reserves in scoring (16.8 ppg), came off the bench in 60 of 62 games he appeared in, helping Oklahoma City finish with the NBA's third-best record (47-19).
Harden received 584 of a possible 595 points, including 115 of a possible 119 first-place votes, from a panel of 119 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Louis Williams, who led the Philadelphia 76ers in scoring (14.9 ppg) despite not starting a single game, finished second with 231 points. Jason Terry of the Dallas Mavericks, who won the award in 2008-09, finished third with 81 points.

In order to be eligible for this award, players had to have come off the bench in more games than they started. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.
Harden, the third overall pick of the 2009 NBA Draft, was a model of consistency, scoring in double figures in 58 of 62 contests, while averaging 4.1 rebounds and 3.7 assists in 31.4 minutes per game. He topped the 20-point mark on 15 occasions, with the Thunder going 14-1 in those games. He shot .491 from the field, .846 from the free throw line, and .390 from three-point range.
As part of its support of the Sixth Man of the Year Award, Kia Motors America will donate a new Kia Sorento CUV on behalf of Harden to the Oklahoma City YWCA. The Oklahoma City YWCA provides the only shelter for battered women and children in Oklahoma County. Services include an emergency shelter, providing help in obtaining legal services, transportation, housing information, medical care, child care and advocacy service. Through an in-arena auction, Harden recently helped the Thunder Cares Foundation raise more than $15,000 for the YWCA's campaign to build a new domestic abuse shelter. Kia Motors will present a brand new Sorento to the charity of choice of each of five 2011-12 year-end award winners as part of the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." Following this season, Kia Motors will have donated a total of 21 new vehicles to charitable organizations since its support of the NBA's prestigious year-end honors began with the 2007-2008 season.
The 2011-12 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award is part of a series of on-court performance awards called "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." The series, currently in its fifth season, is a significant part of the multiyear marketing partnership between Kia Motors America and the NBA, and also includes the Most Improved Player, Defensive Player, Most Valuable Player, and this year for the first time, Rookie of the Year. It also includes the Kia NBA Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Month which are awarded during the regular season. For more information on the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards" visit www.NBA.com/performanceawards.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 11, 2012, 07:34:11 PM
MIAMI (AP) -- Heat forward LeBron James is the NBA's MVP for a third time, putting him alongside some of the game's all-time greats.

A person familiar with the decision told The Associated Press that James will be announced Saturday as this year's winner of the league's top individual honor, and that he'll be formally presented with the trophy by Commissioner David Stern on Sunday afternoon before Miami hosts Indiana in Game 1 of an Eastern Conference semifinal series.

IMO durant deserve it.
Post by: Peong on May 11, 2012, 09:31:59 PM
Look like it coulda gone either way.  I feel that will fuel Durant's desire if he bounce up the Heat in the final.
Post by: Bakes on May 12, 2012, 12:03:30 AM
MIAMI (AP) -- Heat forward LeBron James is the NBA's MVP for a third time, putting him alongside some of the game's all-time greats.

A person familiar with the decision told The Associated Press that James will be announced Saturday as this year's winner of the league's top individual honor, and that he'll be formally presented with the trophy by Commissioner David Stern on Sunday afternoon before Miami hosts Indiana in Game 1 of an Eastern Conference semifinal series.

IMO durant deserve it.

Nah, James is a much better all-round player and unquestionably does more for his team that Durant, who mainly just scores.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 12, 2012, 09:03:42 PM
LeBron James wins 2012 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award
By Official release
Posted May 12 2012 4:41PM
NEW YORK -- LeBron James of the Miami Heat is the winner of the Maurice Podoloff Trophy as the 2011-12 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award, the NBA announced today. James earns the honor for the third time in four seasons and becomes the first player since Michael Jordan to win at least three MVPs.

James totaled 1,074 points, including 85 first-place votes, from a panel of 121 voters that consisted of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada as well as an NBA.com MVP fan vote. For the third consecutive season, the NBA and Kia Motors America gave fans the opportunity to submit their votes by ranking their top five choices through a dedicated Web page on NBA.com. The fan vote counted as one vote and was compiled with the 120 media votes to determine the winner. Players were awarded 10 points for each first-place vote, seven points for each second-place vote, five for third, three for fourth and one for each fifth-place vote received.
Rounding out the top five in voting are Oklahoma City's Kevin Durant (889 points, 24 first-place votes), the Los Angeles Clippers' Chris Paul (385, six first-place votes), the Los Angeles Lakers' Kobe Bryant (352, two first-place votes), and San Antonio's Tony Parker (331, four first-place votes).
James led the Heat to a 46-20 mark and the No. 2 seed in the Eastern Conference Playoffs. Despite averaging a career-low 37.5 minutes, the eight-time All-Star led the NBA in plus-minus score differential (+7.6) and ranked third in scoring (27.1 ppg), while pacing the Heat in assists (6.2
apg) and tying for the team lead in rebounds (7.9 rpg). In addition, James established career bests in field goal percentage (.531) and three-point field goal percentage (.362).
This season, James was named the Eastern Conference Player of the Month twice (January and February), and he captured Eastern Conference Player of the Week honors six times, extending his NBA record for the most Player of the Week awards to 37. James has scored double-figure points in 419 consecutive career games, the seventh-longest streak in NBA history, behind Michael Jordan (866), Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (streaks of 787 and 508), Karl Malone (575), Moses Malone (526), and Oscar Robertson (428).
The NBA MVP trophy is named in honor of the late Maurice Podoloff, the first commissioner of the NBA who served from 1946 until his retirement in 1963.
As part of its support of the Most Valuable Player Award, Kia Motors America will donate a new Kia Sorento CUV to Akron Public School After School Program benefiting the Wheels for Education Program. Kia Motors will present a brand new Sorento to the charity of choice of each of five
2011-12 year-end award winners as part of the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." Following this season, Kia Motors will have donated a total of 21 new vehicles to charitable organizations since its support of the NBA's prestigious year-end honors began with the 2007-2008 season.
The 2011-12 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award is part of a series of on-court performance awards called "The Kia NBA Performance Awards." The series, currently in its fifth season, is a significant part of the multiyear marketing partnership between Kia Motors America and the NBA, and also includes the Most Improved Player, Defensive Player, Sixth Man awards, and this year for the first time, Rookie of the Year. It also includes the Kia NBA Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Month which are awarded during the regular season. For more information on the "The Kia NBA Performance Awards" visit www.NBA.com/performanceawards.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 21, 2012, 10:41:49 PM
ORLANDO, FLA. (AP)
The Magic fired coach Stan Van Gundy and split with general manager Otis Smith on Monday, the culmination of a season in which Orlando was ensnared in a long-running soap opera with Dwight Howard and made another first-round playoff exit.

''It's time for new leadership and new voices,'' Magic CEO Alex Martins said in a statement. ''The disappointment of getting eliminated in the first round of the playoffs these past two seasons played a primary role in our decision, as we feel our momentum towards winning a championship has paused.''

Smith and Van Gundy's problematic relationship with Howard weighed down the team all season after the All-Star center requested a trade.

Orlando went 37-29 in the regular season but was eliminated in five games by Indiana after a rash of late-season injuries that included back surgery for Howard. Orlando went 5-12 without him.

In early April, Van Gundy said top-ranking team officials had told him that Howard had asked management to fire Van Gundy as a condition for the center signing a long-term contract beyond 2013. Howard denied it.

Van Gundy coached the Magic for five seasons. He finished with a 259-135 record, going 31-28 in the playoffs.

Smith departs after six years. He was the architect of Magic teams that made it to the playoffs in each of those seasons, winning the Eastern Conference title in 2009.

The day after the Magic's season ended with the loss to the Pacers, Smith said that he needed a few days to decide if he wanted to return, calling it a ''50-50'' chance.

Van Gundy said at the time he wanted to come back and was hoping the ultimate decision would be about performance solely.

''When you're talking a professional relationship, what matters - at least to me - is the results,'' Van Gundy said. ''I don't care if it's a business relationship where two people at work are driving a business to make money, or if it's a sports relationship, where the object is to win games.

''Those kinds of professional relationships should be based on results, not on do we like each other or whatever. So to me, the relationship was great. There's a lot of wins and everything else.''

But both have acknowledged that this season was trying not only for the players but the organization as a whole.

''This season, and we've been digesting it all year, has been the longest, shortest season that we've had,'' Smith said. ''But it's something that you have to go through. Most sports franchises at some time go through a little bit of uncertainty and this is our time.''

Howard alluded to the strain in his relationship with Smith that dated to the previous summer. Howard said he and Smith didn't speak at all for a week after he made his trade demand. The pair eventually did sit down to talk. Howard promised to keep private future dealings between himself and Smith.

Still, stories swirled all the way up to the trade deadline in March. Howard said he had given up his opt-out clause and would remain under contract through the 2012-13 season. Smith said at that news conference that had Howard not opted-in, trading him was a scenario he and upper management had laid out.

See the best Orlando Magic action, or check out your favorite NBA team here.
Smith certainly had success since becoming general manager in 2006, but he was no stranger to criticism. He signed Rashard Lewis to a six-year, $118 million contract in 2008, making the forward among the five highest-paid players in the NBA. The move contributed to the Magic's payroll ballooning to the second-highest in the league.

Smith also raised questions the following summer, after a loss in the NBA finals, when he traded Rafer Alston, Tony Battie and Courtney Lee to New Jersey for Ryan Anderson and 33-year-old Vince Carter. He also chose to not match an aging Hedo Turkoglu's contract offer from Toronto.

Carter never really panned out and he was traded in December 2010 with Phoenix in a deal that brought in Jason Richardson and Earl Clark, but also the return of Turkoglu and his weighty contract from the Raptors.

Smith drew even more flak for a deal with Washington in which Lewis was traded for oft-injured Gilbert Arenas, who was in the middle of a $111 million guaranteed contract. His time in Orlando was also short-lived. The team used the new amnesty provision in the new collective bargaining agreement to waive him and wipe his contract off their books.

Van Gundy was a fiery presence during games. He was not a favorite among referees and was annually among the coaches with the most technical fouls. In a March 2011 Sports Illustrated poll of NBA players, Van Gundy was voted the most annoying coach in the league by a wide margin.

Howard often joked about Van Gundy's grumpy demeanor on the floor, but also acknowledged it was at times counterproductive.

This past summer, Smith met with Van Gundy and pledged to make improvements. The coach conferred with a Stanford psychology professor on becoming a better leader. There was surely one positive result - Van Gundy had just one technical during the shortened season.

Van Gundy arrived in Orlando in the summer of 2007 following the Magic's failed attempt to hire Florida coach Billy Donovan. Donovan had second thoughts days after signing his contract and eventually went back to Florida. The Magic scrambled and wooed Van Gundy, who was in line for the Sacramento job but called Orlando his first-choice.

Then troubles reached the basketball court - first with Turkoglu's facial fracture surgery and then Howard's back surgery. Turkoglu returned in time for the playoffs but Howard missed the final 17 games of the season, including the entire series against the Pacers.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 23, 2012, 10:35:22 PM
Shaquille O’Neal, a former Orlando stalwart who took off for Los Angeles, could make a return to the city as the Magic’s new general manager.

O’Neal will meet with the Magic next week to talk about their vacant general manager position, ESPN.com reported on Wednesday. The Orlando Magic recently let go of former general manager Otis Smith and coach of five years, Stan Van Gundy.

Shaquille O'Neal will speak with the Orlando Magic about their general manager opening.

The first four years of O’Neal’s career were played in Orlando, where he teamed up with Penny Hardaway to reach an NBA Finals series in 1995, before bolting for Los Angeles in 1996 to join the Lakers as a free agent. O’Neal is currently in his first year as an analyst on TNT’s “Inside the NBA” with former NBA players Charles Barkley and Kenny Smith.

O’Neal is the only recognizable name on the team’s list of possible general managers.

But a big name is eyeing the team’s coaching job, as former Utah Jazz coach Jerry Sloan has expressed interest in joining the Magic and Bobcats.

Sloan has yet to speak with the Magic, though he told Fox Sports Florida their vacancy was “intriguing”. He also said he had a conversation with Bobcats owner Michael Jordan on Tuesday, according to the Salt Lake City Tribune. Sloan will interview with the Bobcats later in the week, ESPN.com’s Chris Broussard reports.