General => General Discussion => Topic started by: mukumsplau on July 27, 2012, 09:11:30 PM

Title: Her Excellency Ambassador Baptiste Cornelis
Post by: mukumsplau on July 27, 2012, 09:11:30 PM
...interesting...lol..i stopped at 9mins ah cringing too much lol

http://www.youtube.com/v/R9EQqNZjPHI&feature=player_embedded
Title: Re: Her Excellency Ambassador Baptiste Cornelis
Post by: Bakes on July 27, 2012, 10:16:57 PM
We was discussing this on Facebook earlier... I could only make it thru 3 minutes or so.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 28, 2012, 04:15:31 AM
My word!!!   :o :o :-[
Post by: Jah Gol on July 28, 2012, 06:01:54 AM
This is amazing.
Post by: lefty on July 28, 2012, 06:17:56 AM
one of many muppets in this gov't
Post by: mukumsplau on July 28, 2012, 09:29:42 AM
made it up to the very intelligent parking buss joke on 17 minutes....ah reach mih threshold for the day...wat numbers allyuh clockin before hittin d 'x' on d browser?
Post by: congo on July 28, 2012, 09:30:57 AM
They remove a career diplomat to put she there. We need career diplomats. This country is so clueless.
Post by: elan on July 28, 2012, 10:38:51 AM
What she talking about Drs. making mistakes? I eh cross that part. Fadda Lawd.
Post by: truetrini on July 28, 2012, 10:55:51 AM
I stopped even sooner.  WHAT THE f**k  YES f**k was that/  My goodness...phew..if that is a keynote speech and if she was realll a lecturer there is little doubt in my mind what is behind the ignorance in our society today!
Post by: Jah Gol on July 28, 2012, 11:57:34 AM
The Prime Minister is responsible for this. She even glibly revealed how she was appointed to that position. Kamla is either oblivious to the fact that this woman is insane or she actively rewarded it.
Post by: vb on July 28, 2012, 12:01:48 PM
The Prime Minister is responsible for this. She even glibly revealed how she was appointed to that position. Kamla is either oblivious to the fact that this woman is insane or she actively rewarded it.

Breds around the 21st minutes, she say she thinking to become a garbage man because they have nice hours. And I like the accent garbage mawn. The first 10 minutes had me in stitches. Most of my friends couldn't make it that far. ROFL!!!!
Post by: dinho on July 28, 2012, 12:14:11 PM
Ohhh..... myyyy..... Goddd....

Nicki Menjai? All Fools day?

(http://www.threadbombing.com/data/media/54/000fs937.gif)

My number is 9:02 with a 2 min timer drag forward in between..
Post by: Football supporter on July 28, 2012, 01:06:12 PM
Made it to 20 minutes.

Was shocked that
 a) she admitted to using subliminal messages to promote Kamla. Are lecturers allowed in promote political parties?

b) What qualifications did she have to be a Minister of Health? Surely your supposed to use your M.P.s, particularly for key positions. Otherwise, why would you vote for the party?
Post by: truetrini on July 28, 2012, 02:05:06 PM
tank...for thank.   Healt  for health.   lord horrible and she could NOT stick to the topic.  and who the hell was she looking at????

cokey eye girl good to take in de savannah when there are multiple games going on..Baptiste Cornelis could tell you the score in two games at the same time.
Post by: mukumsplau on July 28, 2012, 02:39:03 PM
yall aint makeout she anthem hav an alternate ending "together we aspire together we achieve"....woulda love to know how she was like growin up
Post by: makaveli on July 28, 2012, 02:48:02 PM
was now coming to post this under the heading 'take a strong drink before you watch this', stopped on 3mins or so.

a drunk ****** can't f**k up so

*takes a shot of J Walker* ...bring back the balisier!!
Post by: Swima on July 28, 2012, 03:58:47 PM
Went to 8 minutes but stopped just in time to hear her meeting her husband on all fools day. WOW!
Post by: lefty on July 28, 2012, 04:20:23 PM
allyuh good I skip skip and skipped in total I maybe watch 45 secs :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: lawd have mercy .......what worse is d Black berry brigade look like they jump een to help she out in d comments but they couldn' make.......hell it had one comment did read so outlandish wouldna be surprise if was she steups.........people grab alyuh parachute we on d hindenburg wit dese people
Post by: Brownsugar on July 28, 2012, 05:09:13 PM
Made it to 20 minutes.

Was shocked that
 a) she admitted to using subliminal messages to promote Kamla. Are lecturers allowed in promote political parties?

b) What qualifications did she have to be a Minister of Health? Surely your supposed to use your M.P.s, particularly for key positions. Otherwise, why would you vote for the party?

That part about being given the Min of Health job was one of the first OMG moments I had watching that.  The woman basically said that the only reason she was chosen was because she Kamla's teacher in UWI.......

Now when this woman was first appointed I remember thinking eh??  What??  Who she??  Where she come from??  Now I understand why I'd never heard of her anywhere in the medical fraternity.....she eh know one damn thing bout health.......now think about the rest of Kamla's cabinet and wonder what de hell going on??

Ganga Singh and Hurricane George were two other appointments that made me go hhhhhhhmmmmmm.........a real pick up side.....we really in a mess yes.....
Post by: Football supporter on July 28, 2012, 06:34:04 PM
yall aint makeout she anthem hav an alternate ending "together we aspire together we achieve"....woulda love to know how she was like growin up

LOL, I was thinking I'm sure that's the slogan on the coat of arms and I didn't realise it was part of the National Anthem!!

Can't believe this lady is paid a fortune to be an ambassador. Just shows how people are given jobs just because they are friends.
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 28, 2012, 07:15:57 PM
After a few minutes, I could not watch any more. It was too embarrassing. I knew that the rambling and incoherence at the beginning of her address would only get progressively worse. I am seriously beginning to question her sanity. Her delivery was not lucid.
Post by: D.H.W on July 28, 2012, 07:24:21 PM
Why are her sentences not linking together? She starts off talking about one thing then goes to another in the same breath. Does she have a mental problem? Serious talk.
Post by: congo on July 28, 2012, 07:26:31 PM
This is the woman who educated the Prime Minister yeah and we wonder why Kamla is such as mess. The bar has been dropped too low for too long.
Post by: Football supporter on July 28, 2012, 08:34:05 PM
This is the woman who educated the Prime Minister yeah and we wonder why Kamla is such as mess. The bar has been dropped too low for too long.

I don't know this lady, but, to me, she looks a lot younger than Kamla. If so, how could she educate her  ???
Post by: congo on July 28, 2012, 08:45:43 PM
I'm thinking MBA. She said it herself, the opposition leader who at the time was one of her students.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 28, 2012, 09:41:53 PM

I don't know this lady, but, to me, she looks a lot younger than Kamla. If so, how could she educate her  ???
She was her lecturer and Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 28, 2012, 09:42:02 PM
Ex-minister takes heat over video lecture
Originally printed at http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Ex-minister_takes_heat_over_video_lecture-164161976.html

By Gyasi Gonzales gyasi.gonzales@trinidadexpress.com
July 28, 2012
FORMER health minister Therese Baptiste-Cornelis, now the country's ambassador to the United Nations in Switzerland, has been slammed on social media networking site Facebook and BlackBerry Messenger, following a lecture on cultural diplomacy she presented in Geneva in June.

The video, which shows Baptiste-Cornelis's speech, was uploaded to YouTube on June 28 and began spreading to Facebook over the past two days.

The Sunday Express viewed the video presentation, and although Baptiste-Cornelis addresses the subject of cultural diplomacy, throughout her 30-minute presentation, she also spoke at length about her stint as health minister, how she got the job as health minister and about how she met her husband on the Internet as well.

About her one-year stint as minister of health, she said, "I caused chaos. I told doctors they were making mistakes. They hated the fact that I pointed out they were making mistakes. They pleaded for me to get out, so I agreed with them in that plea, so I gave them even more stress so that they would plea louder, and then I was replaced by the MP (Dr Fuad Khan) who I was the campaign manager for in the elections. He's a doctor so he took over."

She did not receive many "likes" on Facebook for her presentation, which was described as rambling and embarrassing.

Some of the comments included:

"Have you ever seen a diplomat carry themselves with such lack of professionalism, diplomacy is all about how you appear to the outside world, how you represent your country. I am upset because the way she behaved does not represent the Trinidad and Tobago I know, the Trinidad and Tobago I'm working to help build. This is a disgrace, and I'm happy that people can recognise that. Accountability. That's the order of the day."

Another comment: "This is what happens when people just get appointed to diplomatic positions simply as a means of getting rid of them from active politics...."

Other viewers were a bit more understanding.

One wrote, "Forget being an ambassador and all that... As an educated female, she was disappointing to listen to. She clearly forgot what it takes to deliver a successful speech! She had the structure but lacked in delivery.... She had too much of her personal baggage in there.

The Sunday Express yesterday attempted to get a comment about the video, which has almost 3,000 views so far, but Foreign Affairs Minister Dr Suruj Rambachan could not be immediately reached last night.
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 29, 2012, 07:30:22 AM
Why are her sentences not linking together? She starts off talking about one thing then goes to another in the same breath. Does she have a mental problem? Serious talk.

I agree with you. She has to be put on medication immediately and should not be unleashed on an unsuspecting audience.
Post by: JDB on July 30, 2012, 07:08:16 AM
I only two minutes in and I had to stop fuss it cringeworthy. I feel like I watching the Saw movie where you want to see the plot progress but yuh don’t want to see the full gory details.

I wastrying to figure out what she is ambassador to then I realise is the same lod-mouth clown who was telling people to shut-up a couple years ago.

They really don’t value these Ambassodorial appointments. For the US they appoint a fella who was in school same time as me. No qualifications other than the fact that his family is party insiders.
Post by: lefty on July 30, 2012, 09:39:00 AM
what more maddening for me is d people dat trying to dong play diss.....if there was ever a time the leave to propaganda mechanism under lock an key it would be this.............it have people desperately tryin to spin and mitigate dis..........it all on Caribbean forums....we takin real blows and people getting on dey BB and computers tryin to spin dis...........DA fuukkkkk :frustrated: :frustrated: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing:.
Post by: fari on July 30, 2012, 12:51:40 PM
(http://i46.tinypic.com/2cd7bm9.jpg)
Post by: Dutty on July 30, 2012, 03:06:20 PM
If only she did stick to the script and jus read de speech, it mighta be tolerable

Is all de ad libs, filler and bad jokes crush de whole damn ting.

Big big ambassador in europe usin de word "arks" :D
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 30, 2012, 05:10:47 PM

Name an award after she yes...
Post by: lefty on July 30, 2012, 05:12:09 PM

well look ting :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 30, 2012, 05:13:50 PM

well look ting :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

The  Baptiste Cornelis Cultural Diversity Award soon to come on SW.net
Post by: dinho on July 30, 2012, 05:46:30 PM

Post by: Toppa on July 30, 2012, 08:01:31 PM

Post by: davyjenny1 on July 30, 2012, 08:37:19 PM
she said her sister is "very Fertile" she broadcasting that in a big way..
Post by: zuluwarrior on July 30, 2012, 09:43:18 PM
First was the minister of national security now is this one, these people like they on a mission to embarrass

the people and the country internationally and they are doing a good job at it, where are the PP

supporters /cults  .
RECALL THIS PP GOV PLEASE
Post by: FF on July 30, 2012, 11:00:42 PM

oh gaardooo  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

davyjenny take ah bounce and ah beer for dat  :beermug:
Post by: maxg on July 31, 2012, 12:00:49 AM
Frig..after all the post...ah fraid to hear it..had such a nice day today..lemme take meh liks like the bobolee average nobody citizen that I am, yes..Allyuh sure is not a tommy Joseph skit for some  new show ?
Post by: vb on July 31, 2012, 12:45:58 AM

oh gaardooo  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

davyjenny take ah bounce and ah beer for dat  :beermug:

;D ;D ;D
Post by: weary1969 on July 31, 2012, 09:27:00 AM
First was the minister of national security now is this one, these people like they on a mission to embarrass

the people and the country internationally and they are doing a good job at it, where are the PP

supporters /cults  .
RECALL THIS PP GOV PLEASE

Left them rite dey. MANNING MUST GO well he went so sit bck buckle up and enjoy d ride.
Post by: maxg on July 31, 2012, 09:52:47 AM
 :-[  :o 2:26.. Gorm that included the hostess.. Ah doh have no belly ? Or this lady have ah knack for rubbing ppl the wrong way?
Ah see how if used properly she might make a good ally, could lik up yuh opposition, but is like playing with fire..lemme see how far mrsG go get.. Lawd, she shameless boy
Post by: Mr Fix-it on July 31, 2012, 11:21:14 AM
Ah cah watch no more nah.....
Post by: zuluwarrior on July 31, 2012, 03:30:01 PM
Somebody play some muzik for she to wine nah man.
Post by: Bakes on July 31, 2012, 03:59:12 PM

Aapppsssss ....  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: zuluwarrior on August 01, 2012, 06:06:11 AM

Baptiste-Cornelis went overboard—Dumas

A technocrat, career diplomat or Trade Ministry official might have been better suited for the post of ambassador to the UN held by Therese Baptiste-Cornelis, says former head of missions Reginald Dumas. He was asked about the issue yesterday after a recent speech by Baptiste-Cornelis at the Institute for Cultural Diplomacy symposium in Germany was criticised. The Geneva-based Baptiste-Cornelis, in addressing the German symposium, reportedly recounted remarks about criticisms made to health practitioners, who she claimed could not take criticism. She also spoke at length about her personal life. This spawned a wave of criticism after the speech went viral on Facebook and also was circulated by e-mail. The Opposition has called for her removal.

Baptiste-Cornelis was appointed to the Geneva post in the July 2011 Cabinet reshuffle after the Prime Minister removed her as Health Minister. There was no answer at her Geneva office yesterday when the T&T Guardian repeatedly called to get a response about the criticisms. Queries left on the office’s answering machine did not yield a response.

Dumas, in a telephone interview yesterday, said Baptiste-Cornelis went overboard in her speech with personal anecdotes which bore little or no relevance to the issue. If she was an outstanding performer, who had just made the slip of being obtuse and irrelevant, that would be one thing, he added. But, Dumas said, from what he understood, Baptiste-Cornelis has had some “difficulty” with the post and that came as no surprise to him, since her post was a highly technical one, best suited to a technocrat. Dumas said she did not have that background. He noted Baptiste-Cornelis in her speech indicated she had heard the Prime Minister was making some changes and she made it clear she was ready to go. Noting reports that former Minister John Sandy was asked to consider a Geneva post, Dumas added: “I will suggest, if the Prime Minister had to make such changes, that a technocrat, career diplomat from the ministry or even a Trade Ministry official will be better suited to that particular post held by Baptiste-Cornelis, not a failed politician or so. That sort of decision requires caution and careful consideration.” Dumas said in his time ambassadors would be briefed on what issues they might face in the country they went to and other aspects of protocol, including brush-ups on etiquette and related issues.

He added: “You can’t just throw people in the deep end. In my time I briefed my successor and in some cases people gave their successors a list of people to get in touch with. “But that was a long time ago and I don’t know what systems apply now, so I can’t comment.” Dumas said he did not have assistance to write his speeches when he was head of missions and would write his own. He said he would like to hope ambassadors would speak to their staff to get help, especially if they had to make speeches before high-level forums like the OAS. He said he also expected ambassadors to learn. Mervyn Assam, former ambassador to the UK, Northern Ireland, France, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland, said he could not comment on the issue, save that he was surprised Baptiste-Cornelis did not seem to know ambassadors usually had multiple accreditation. He said ambassadors have at their disposal senior public servants to advise/assist them in speechwriting. PNM general secretary, Ashton Ford, a former attache at T&T’s London High Commission, said ambassadors and attaches always receive briefings from the Foreign Affairs Ministry, and “you work in accordance with government policy.”

Post by: Jah Gol on August 01, 2012, 06:26:57 AM
I expected stronger comments from him.
Post by: Mr Fix-it on August 01, 2012, 06:56:20 AM
(http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s480x480/385392_10150948846146296_1968763994_n.jpg)

Take win
Post by: asylumseeker on August 02, 2012, 11:15:20 AM

Borse! Memorable quote fuh sure. :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: asylumseeker on August 02, 2012, 11:21:23 AM
They remove a career diplomat to put she there. We need career diplomats. This country is so clueless.

Aside from this display, historically there have been several disincentives in attracting career diplomats. Not much hope of improvement anytime soon. We have more than clues; we just doh rely on them.
Post by: mukumsplau on August 03, 2012, 04:27:06 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/wAk1M47zYlM&feature=share
Post by: Brownsugar on August 03, 2012, 04:47:08 PM
Oh lawd fadder.....all yuh ease up nah.....oh gorm.......poor Tropical Bear.....
Post by: Socafan on August 03, 2012, 05:07:05 PM

Lol......good one....
Post by: D.H.W on August 03, 2012, 07:23:05 PM

hhhahahahaha  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Nikki Menjai  ::)
Post by: Bakes on August 03, 2012, 10:22:48 PM

Lawd... is all dat went on after de 3 minute mark?  Wheyyy...

Not Nikky facking Menj-eye doh.
Post by: Michael-j on August 04, 2012, 11:50:17 AM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/600114_406572619389952_1030533347_n.jpg)
Title: Re: Re: Her Excellency Ambassador Baptiste Cornelis
Post by: D.H.W on August 04, 2012, 12:14:30 PM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/600114_406572619389952_1030533347_n.jpg)

Oh larrrd
Post by: MEP on August 05, 2012, 09:32:40 AM
On a serious note who is the moderator? ah find she looking good....

Tropical Bear or Beer? why didn't she just call herself Carib?

I used to boast about how Trinbagonians are well educated and can hold their own in any forum.....boy what a liar I've become

And on a note so serious note this all pertains to "this is we time and we have to get one of we in there" a quote uttered by a board member of a state run company.
Post by: vb on August 05, 2012, 04:38:11 PM

I used to boast about how Trinbagonians are well educated and can hold their own in any forum.....boy what a liar I've become

And on a note so serious note this all pertains to "this is we time and we have to get one of we in there" a quote uttered by a board member of a state run company.

Boss, I notice the Moderator from the get go. I surprised somebody now mention it.

Yummy. Moderate all over me Mamma.  :P :P
Post by: Michael-j on August 05, 2012, 05:06:00 PM

Boss, I notice the Moderator from the get go. I surprised somebody now mention it.

Yummy. Moderate all over me Mamma.  :P :P

http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=117432129&authType=NAME_SEARCH&authToken=pBpK&locale=en_US&srchid=a9287e6d-c05b-4188-9fd9-54a06832892d-0&srchindex=1&srchtotal=2&goback=%2Efps_PBCK_*1_Amy_Soar_*1_*1_*1_*1_*2_*1_Y_*1_*1_*1_false_1_R_*1_*51_*1_*51_true_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2&pvs=ps&trk=pp_profile_photo_link (http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=117432129&authType=NAME_SEARCH&authToken=pBpK&locale=en_US&srchid=a9287e6d-c05b-4188-9fd9-54a06832892d-0&srchindex=1&srchtotal=2&goback=%2Efps_PBCK_*1_Amy_Soar_*1_*1_*1_*1_*2_*1_Y_*1_*1_*1_false_1_R_*1_*51_*1_*51_true_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2&pvs=ps&trk=pp_profile_photo_link)

https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/amysoar (https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/amysoar)
Title: Painful but precious in its truth
Post by: Tallman on August 05, 2012, 08:21:19 PM
Painful but precious in its truth
By Sunity Maharaj (T&T Express)

Now that the shock is beginning to subside, we should consider thanking Therese Baptiste-Cornelis for the raw insights she has given us into the insidious nature of maximum power.

In 37 minutes of uninhibited rambling, she blew the cover off our political pretensions, revealing us as a people represented by arbitrary, opportunistic power to which merit and standards are of no particular concern.

We now have new raw data in the form of a first person account of what, under the veneer of democratic political process, our politics really looks like. It ain't pretty but it is ours.

So, despite our huge investment in denial, it would serve us better if, after we're done beating up on the messenger of our mess, we would look into the mirror and ask: "So what are you going to do about it?"

Hopefully the political scientists at UWI already know what they're going to do. The Baptiste-Cornelis experience is rich material for a research project designed to bring greater clarity and understanding of our representation-resistant politics, masquerading as a variant of the Westminster system.

In those 37 minutes, the former lecturer of the Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business provided a truly rare and privileged view into the nature of the political beast that we are up against, ripping apart the sham of democratic process and revealing arbitrary power in all its glorious nakedness.

For fifty years we have been knocking our heads, trying to understand why the Westminster system bequeathed to us by the departing British has been failing us so badly; why we remain so powerless and trapped in a dysfunctional relationship with our politics.Why, with all the trappings of democracy—free and fair elections and parliament and all—the will of the people is reduced to the impotence of a dipped index finger once every five years.

Lloyd Best, long ago, gave us a fully explicated theory of how and why, but we have needed learning moments like this one to see in concrete terms what he so easily grasped in the abstract. Having provided such an opportunity, Baptiste-Cornelis should now go on to pen her political memoir of real politik T&T style. Our politics needs to be informed by more than zeppo and grapevine; we need her to break the pact of secrecy that binds the cohorts of power. So Madame, please tell us more!

It is good, too, that in her casual innocence, Baptiste-Cornelis has pushed us to the point of pain. If we could hold on to the hurt and trace it back to its origin, we might find that it leads to a deep, unexpressed love for this place. And because love brings compulsions of its own—often dangerous ones—we have preferred to bury it under a flippant cynicism, afraid that it might ask more of us than we feel able to give. But what if we did allow ourselves to become articulate about our love for this place? And what if we found that, having done so, we could release the energy for its demands on us?

Can we not sense that with every fall down the spiral of possibility, what Trinidad and Tobago is really asking from us is a declaration of love of an order higher than that which we proclaim?

Now that the undiplomatic diplomat has helped us to know better, are we still willing to be counted among the cheering masses, mere grist for the political mill?Will we still pour praise and stain our fingers for now-for-now politicians who got on the ticket because the leader called them to service one mad night? Will we still refuse to scrutinise credentials for cabinet duty and fitness to act on our behalf? Will we demand no guarantees about expertise in dispensing our resources representing us to the world?

This is the culture of collective unresponsibility that has given rise to the political phenomenon of which Baptiste-Cornelis is only an extreme example. She is no aberration; just a logical outcome.

Yes, she scares us, but only because she presents the awfulness of a truth we would wish to deny in our pretence to be a sophisticated electorate in a fully functional democracy, led by real leaders, capable of change and of taking the world by storm.

The truth is that we are a people easily fooled, not because we're not smart, but because of our capacity for self-delusion as a means of escape from the effort required to act on our own behalf.

It is the hallmark of our disempowerment that we are willing to accept that our world is completely beyond our control, rather than exert ourselves to let change in. So much better that we start from early to line up the bobolees to beat when things go wrong. As they surely will.

First we invite them to 'fool me nah!'; then we complain 'they fool we!'

What does it say about the representational aspect of our politics that it repeatedly throws up leaders who know so little about the country and its people? If we think better of ourselves, how then do we explain the crop of leaders we repeatedly end up with as representatives of us?

What does it say about us that having exercised our right to vote, we must stand by powerless,watching government after government become a train wreck?

In our impotence, we resort to the standard weapons of the disempowered: character assassination and personal humiliation. We boo, we spread rake, unable to access institutional tools for initiating change.

Based on the current explosive levels of impotent outrage, the forecast now can only be for plenty more booing. If not worse.

Still, all is not lost.

In our defence, we should admit that, relatively speaking, we are new to the exercise of self-responsibility for which political independence is merely one conducive condition.

We can also admit that our history of material dispossession makes us prime targets for bribery and, therefore, for early compromise and quick surrender.

And we should admit that our willingness to ignore trespasses against our vaunted standards and values stems from a deep sense of insignificance that makes us thankful for the merest touch by the hand of power,

As a catalyst for opening up the conversation, we should now thank Ms Baptiste-Cornelis and wish her well in her return to private life.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 05, 2012, 08:54:30 PM
Ah feel ah married to Sunity ...
Post by: truetrini on August 05, 2012, 09:35:31 PM
Ah feel ah married to Sunity ...

I wonder which party your wife voted for?  Remembering that in our Westminister style, a no vote is really a vote for the incumbent.

Hmmmm?
Post by: asylumseeker on August 07, 2012, 01:03:35 PM
Leave wifey alone.
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 03:39:47 PM
Leave wifey alone.
She was Llyod best wife and she most inportantly have no Chinee in she..unless you plan to put yuh ming pa ling in she?  lol
Post by: asylumseeker on August 07, 2012, 04:18:21 PM
Leave wifey alone.
She was Llyod best wife and she most inportantly have no Chinee in she..unless you plan to put yuh ming pa ling in she?  lol

I will take that under advisement. :)
Post by: weary1969 on August 09, 2012, 02:37:58 PM
Has been recalled d problem is back to POS.
Post by: truetrini on August 09, 2012, 02:42:31 PM
eh heh...lol   too funny
Title: Baptiste-Cornelis returns to T&T next month
Post by: Tallman on August 09, 2012, 03:18:13 PM
Baptiste-Cornelis returns to T&T next month
ctntworld.com

T&T's Ambassador to the United Nations in Geneva, Mrs. Therese Baptiste-Cornelis, will return to Trinidad and Tobago early next month to meet with the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Winston Dookeran.

This was confirmed by the Minister of Communications, Mr. Jamal Mohammed, at Thursday's Post Cabinet News Conference.

In response to a question on whether the Ambassador was recalled, Mr. Mohammed only said she is expected to return on September 3rd for discussions with Minister Dookeran.

The Ambassador has been severely criticised after a YouTube video featuring a lecture on Cultural Diversity as the Fourth Policy Area of Sustainable Development at the International Conference Center of Geneva began circulating last month.

In the video, she said only got appointed as a Minister because she used to teach the Prime Minister. She also said she may face a dilemma in 2015 as she would be unsure to vote herself out of Government, as she traditionally voted against the party in power. In the video, she regularly described her dislike for politics and her reluctance to assume office, even saying she was willing to vacate her position. She also referred to the nation's motto "Together we aspire, Together we achieve" as the closing lines of the national anthem and detailed the role of the internet in meeting her husband.

Prior to her appointment to Geneva, Ms. Baptiste-Cornelis served as a Government Minister for the Ministry of Health from May 2010 to June 2011. She was a lecturer and course coordinator at the University of the West Indies in Trinidad in the field of management and business strategy from October 2003 to May 2010.

She also held the position of Director of Cornelis & Associates Ltd. Trinidad in the West Indies from 2000 to 2010.
Post by: weary1969 on August 09, 2012, 03:34:05 PM
Time 4 her to return to Cornelis and Associates
Post by: Blue on August 09, 2012, 03:58:14 PM
Personally, I hope Tropical Bear finds the time to squeeze in one more speech between now and September  :)
Post by: zuluwarrior on August 09, 2012, 04:11:36 PM
Yuh see allyuh make we ambassador aka tropical bear loss she wuk .
Post by: Brownsugar on August 10, 2012, 05:27:34 PM
Time 4 her to return to Cornelis and Associates

Nah  let Geneva keep she....
Post by: boss on August 11, 2012, 09:30:52 AM
https://twitter.com/AmbassadorBaps/status/233928037564051456
https://twitter.com/AmbassadorBaps/status/233703723719864321
https://twitter.com/AmbassadorBaps/status/234005590114963456
Post by: Jah Gol on August 11, 2012, 09:42:55 AM
Ambassador Baps killing me
Post by: vb on August 11, 2012, 11:50:06 AM
https://twitter.com/AmbassadorBaps/status/233928037564051456
https://twitter.com/AmbassadorBaps/status/233703723719864321
https://twitter.com/AmbassadorBaps/status/234005590114963456

Breds, this woman gone off yes. She chastise the Deputy PM about his communication skills and call the Acting PM "a tun tun."

LAWWDD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: asylumseeker on August 11, 2012, 04:42:10 PM
Share the full transcript, nah.
Post by: vb on August 12, 2012, 05:24:48 AM
Share the full transcript, nah.

Click on her name. When the page opens up, click on her name again.
You'll see her full page.

Now she dissing Anil Roberts. ;-)
Post by: truetrini on August 12, 2012, 07:50:27 AM
It is merely parody....Relax all
Post by: Bakes on August 12, 2012, 07:51:51 AM
It is merely parody....Relax all

Spoof... actually.
Post by: truetrini on August 12, 2012, 08:12:07 AM
Can a parody be a spoof?

Always thought spoof was parody by imitation
Post by: Jah Gol on August 12, 2012, 08:33:22 AM
How did the Minister of Foreign Affairs become embroiled in this mess. Aren't ambassadors selected by the Prime Minister ? The Minister of communication then says it was the MoFA's decision and not a cabinet decision to recall Baps. I hate how Kamla deflects controversy by deferring responsibility to her Ministers. Surely it was her call to make Baps the Minister of Health in the first instance and then the Ambassador to the UN. How then can the Foreign Minister unilaterally recall her. Steups , we that stupid ?
Post by: lefty on August 12, 2012, 08:58:40 AM
Steups , we that stupid ?

not really, but alot of trini does pretend to be stupid depending on which gov't dey support....so it will work every time.......unfortunately >:(
Post by: Brownsugar on August 12, 2012, 03:23:45 PM
That Ambassador Baps twitter account is real tears!!!....the goodly Ambassador was cheering for Gabrielle during the Javelin event......oh lawd ah love it.... :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on August 12, 2012, 06:45:26 PM
Can a parody be a spoof?

Always thought spoof was parody by imitation

Well not to get technical... but in lay man's terms, parody is making fun of something real by incorporating elements of the original and exaggerating it.  Spoof is passing off something as real that isn't real... a fake.

In this case TBC doesn't have a Twitter account (I don't think), so somebody set up a fake account pretending to be her (in jest)... as opposed to making fun of the real TBC account. 
Post by: asylumseeker on August 12, 2012, 07:02:12 PM
In her speech, she alluded to having 2 accounts on one of the social media platforms ... one in her public capacity, the other private persona.
Title: Hitler reacts to Therese Cornelis' speech in Geneva
Post by: truetrini on August 27, 2012, 12:36:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IK3nlI2RNBw

embed this for me somebody thanks
Post by: Mr Fix-it on August 28, 2012, 12:02:46 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IK3nlI2RNBw

embed this for me somebody thanks

TT nah, yu win for today.  Dem boy in de office want to know wah ah watching so to  :rotfl: and  :'( at the same time.  Fadda put ah hand :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: boss on September 17, 2012, 07:15:22 AM
https://twitter.com/AmbassadorBaps/status/246981882812702720
https://twitter.com/AmbassadorBaps/status/246296035272564737

Post by: Toppa on September 17, 2012, 10:50:23 AM
https://twitter.com/AmbassadorBaps/status/246981882812702720
https://twitter.com/AmbassadorBaps/status/246296035272564737

:D
Post by: Bourbon on September 29, 2012, 08:43:22 PM
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2012-09-29/baptiste-cornelis-tells-why-she-quit-i-can%E2%80%99t-work-govt-%E2%80%98political-gimmicks%E2%80%99

Former T&T Ambassador to the United Nations in Geneva, Switzerland, Therese Baptiste-Cornelis says she resigned on September 16 because the People’s Partnership had become a government of “political gimmicks and misdirection.” Baptiste-Cornelis, who served as Minister of Health from 2010 and was later posted as ambassador to the UN, after Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s first Cabinet reshuffle in June 2011, discussed her resignation in an e-mail to the T&T Guardian yesterday.

“I accepted the challenge to be part of the PP Government, as I believed it was a way to serve my nation, not as a test in political gimmicks and misdirection, which it turned out to be,” Baptiste-Cornelis added. Her resignation came after controversy over her remarks in a June 28 YouTube  video of an address she gave in Europe, in which she spoke about her term as health minister, how she met her husband online and her friendship with the Prime Minister.

Baptiste told the T&T Guardian she resigned “because what the PP Government currently stands for is greatly different from what I had believed it to represent.” She said she never had any “vested interest in politics. Never did.” Baptiste-Cornelis said she accepted an offer to serve the nation from Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

“The method of service was changed in 2011 and again I accepted, as I always sought the interest of my fellow nationals, and I believed I could be of value in Geneva, given my business acumen, knowledge and experience,” Baptiste-Cornelis added. She said on July 26, she contacted Persad-Bissessar asking for an update on whether or not she was being removed as ambassador. She did not reveal the PM’s response.

Baptiste-Cornelis said two days later, on July 28, a video of her speaking “to 17 students goes viral and is falsely portrayed on local media as a diplomatic speech to diplomats.” She said on July 31, then acting Foreign Affairs Minister Dr Surujrattan Rambachan called her for the first time. The call  went to her voicemail but she returned it promptly, she said.

“Rambachan indicates that the ambassador has upset the children of Trinidad and Tobago, saying they did not all know the words of the national anthem. He reprimands me for calling politicians liars,” Baptiste-Cornelis said. She said she told Rambachan her mother had said that “politics is filled with liars.”

Baptiste-Cornelis told the T&T Guardian: “Rambachan says my speech has destroyed everything that the PP has tried to build in Trinidad and Tobago over the last two years. He says the worst part is that I am the subject of editorials.” Baptiste-Cornelis said she told him many others had also been the subject of editorials, and asked why he had allowed the media to “falsely portray (the) speech as a diplomatic statement to diplomats.”

She said Rambachan sidestepped the question. She said she then enquired from Rambachan why none of her achievements in Geneva had ever been made public in T&T, despite releases being sent to him as required. She said: “Rambachan says that things happen for a reason.” Baptiste-Cornelis said she told Rambachan he “already had his mind made up, so he should do what he thought he needed to do.”

She said he quickly ended the telephone conversation. Baptiste-Cornelis said on August 3, Persad-Bissessar wrote to her thanking her for her great service in Geneva, saying that she would be reposted to headquarters in Port-of-Spain. Former national security minister John Sandy has been appointed to replace Baptiste-Cornelis as Ambassador and Representative to the Permanent Mission of the Republic of T&T to the United Nations, Geneva, Switzerland.
Post by: boss on October 15, 2012, 07:22:50 AM
The real Baptiste-Cornelis reach on twitter
https://twitter.com/BaptisteCorneli/status/257748601508335616
Post by: Bourbon on October 15, 2012, 07:50:52 AM
The real Baptiste-Cornelis reach on twitter
https://twitter.com/BaptisteCorneli/status/257748601508335616

If this turns into a back and forth.....i think it might be EPIC.
Post by: warmonga on October 15, 2012, 08:14:23 AM
who is this person and why we paying her  so much attention?  bout her excellency?
Post by: Jah Gol on October 15, 2012, 08:20:14 AM
who is this person and why we paying her  so much attention?  bout her excellency?
Because your beloved Prime Minister chose to provide us with unceasing entertainment by appointing a crazy person to not one but two high public positions (Minister of Health then Ambassador to the UN).
Post by: warmonga on October 15, 2012, 08:22:39 AM
Because your beloved Prime Minister chose to provide us with unceasing entertainment by appointing a crazy person to not one but two high public positions (Minister of Health then Ambassador to the UN).
ok cool I love My PM !!!!!!!!!!!!

Post by: Dutty on October 15, 2012, 08:37:16 AM
'

because she is most excellent, an she sister is very fertile
Post by: warmonga on October 15, 2012, 08:40:34 AM
'

because she is most excellent, an she sister is very fertile
good looking out I go have to tek a peep a she and she sister pics then..

Post by: Deeks on October 15, 2012, 10:02:49 AM
Because your beloved Prime Minister

Whether you like or not, our beloved PM
Post by: boss on March 29, 2013, 08:00:01 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BGkQEt4CQAAhLK0.jpg:large)

Post by: just cool on March 31, 2013, 03:05:05 AM
I did kinda like this mad gyul, @ least she was trying she best and was hands on, only if she had ah better disposition she would made ah good public servant, say what the intentions were good, but was found lacking in ability.
Post by: vb on March 31, 2013, 03:04:25 PM
I did kinda like this mad gyul, @ least she was trying she best and was hands on, only if she had ah better disposition she would made ah good public servant, say what the intentions were good, but was found lacking in ability.

In the US she woulda get a Talk Show.

Put she on SPALK with Anil. Let me laugh at two as@ at the same time.