General => General Discussion => Topic started by: rotatopoti3 on March 09, 2014, 02:37:23 AM

Title: President Anthony Carmona Thread
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 09, 2014, 02:37:23 AM
Reema Carmona: Carnival conduct a mark of moral decay

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,191636.html

Reema Carmona, wife of President Anthony Carmona , yesterday said the conduct of some persons on Carnival Monday and Tuesday was a mark of the moral decay in society.

Speaking at the Interclub of Trinidad and Tobago’s annual International Women’s Day celebration at Pier 1 in Chaguaramas, Carmona said commercialisation has skewed TT’s moral compass and resulted in unethical and distasteful conduct.

“The perceived licence exercised and the conduct exhibited during Carnival may well be a reflection of the more insidious aspects of our daily existence which we knowingly and willingly accept into our lives and the lives of our family, which truly mark the moral decay of our society,” she said.

Carmona challenged attendees at the event to take control of themselves and consider the language they use, conversations they engage in, movies they watch, music they listen to, clothes they wear, places they go and things they do.

She also asked them to take control of their health and that of their families, noting lifestyle diseases such as obesity, diabetes and hypertension were prevalent in the country.

“The preemptive strike of change must take place in the kitchen and in the meals we provide. We are shortening the lives of our loved ones when we allow them to engage in unhealthy eating habits,” she said.

Referring to numerous reports of violence and abuse against women and children recently, Carmona noted that some homes had become battlefields, prisons and torture chambers.

She said some women endure abuse from male relatives because they believe they have no where else to go.

“The feelings of hopelessness and helplessness maintain the mentality of victimhood that leaves women paralysed, afraid to demand that they be treated with dignity and equality,” she said.

Saying there were both Government and non-government organisations providing support to women who want to get themselves and their children out of harmful situations, said she recognised that many women were not informed of their options, or that options were not accessible.

She suggested more proactive and realistic outreach initiatives were necessary.

Carmona advised that every woman should be their “sister’s keeper” instead of remaining silent spectators.

Title: Re: Reema Carmona: Carnival conduct a mark of moral decay
Post by: congo on March 09, 2014, 10:31:02 AM
Steupsss...Where all these bible thumper come out from all of a sudden. WTA they don't actually find some solutions to our everyday problems like crime and unemployment.  She don't know that it have some people who find her immoral for marrying a man much older than her?
Title: President Anthony Carmona Thread
Post by: Sando prince on October 22, 2014, 11:44:47 AM

Rachel Price gets Carmona warning letter

Lawyers representing President Anthony Carmona have sent a pre-action protocol letter to comedian Rachel Price requesting she cease and desist from discussing the attire of his wife, Reema Carmona. 

A news report on CNC3 said it was the first time they were aware a president of this country has taken such an action. The material had been advertised for an upcoming show of the comedian.

An official attached to President’s House said he was not sure what was happening. But there was “some document that is taking place with lawyers”. 
Contacted last night, Price said she had no comment.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Rachel-Price-gets-Carmona-warning-letter-280000162.html (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Rachel-Price-gets-Carmona-warning-letter-280000162.html)

Title: Re: President Anthony Carmona Thread
Post by: Sando prince on October 22, 2014, 11:45:28 AM

Rachel Price gets Carmona warning letter

Lawyers representing President Anthony Carmona have sent a pre-action protocol letter to comedian Rachel Price requesting she cease and desist from discussing the attire of his wife, Reema Carmona. 

A news report on CNC3 said it was the first time they were aware a president of this country has taken such an action. The material had been advertised for an upcoming show of the comedian.

An official attached to President’s House said he was not sure what was happening. But there was “some document that is taking place with lawyers”. 
Contacted last night, Price said she had no comment.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Rachel-Price-gets-Carmona-warning-letter-280000162.html (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Rachel-Price-gets-Carmona-warning-letter-280000162.html)

(https://scontent-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xap1/v/t1.0-9/10734128_1494506844169860_6548762667359462020_n.jpg?oh=6629c91c4c31e003df8f54ec80d5819d&oe=54BC9EF3)
Post by: Toppa on October 22, 2014, 01:39:36 PM
Well I never see more. What's a pre-action protocol, anyway?
Post by: Bakes on October 22, 2014, 02:31:44 PM

Notice of intent to sue, more or less.
Post by: Toppa on October 22, 2014, 05:41:38 PM

Notice of intent to sue, more or less.

Steups well he bold! Doesn't something have to be untrue to be called defamation? So what, all the calypsonians have to watch what they sing for carnival? Why he doh tell his wife to dress with decorum at the next UN function.
Post by: Socapro on October 22, 2014, 07:11:03 PM
Our President is rapidly losing the respect I once had for him much like our PM has done.
Post by: weary1969 on October 22, 2014, 07:17:15 PM
BIG FAT WET LOUD STEUPSSSSSSSSSS.
Post by: zuluwarrior on October 22, 2014, 08:13:13 PM
The powers you think i have my wife guts it the power you think i dont have my wife guts that too.

Post by: Controversial on October 22, 2014, 10:24:52 PM
someone post the picture of the attire lol :D
Post by: elan on October 22, 2014, 11:41:56 PM
(http://wp-ag.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/66/2014/09/ReemaCarmona.jpg)
Post by: elan on October 22, 2014, 11:43:49 PM
(http://wired868.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Reema-carmona-belt-zimbio.jpg)
Post by: Bourbon on October 23, 2014, 08:18:25 AM
Well the powers working. Didn't know he could do that. Nice to see him take a stance on an important issue.

Post by: Toppa on October 23, 2014, 09:31:51 AM
Dise wha she go look to wear at a UN function and doh expect to get talk? Is not Divali Nagar yuh was!
Post by: Controversial on October 23, 2014, 09:35:13 AM
actually i just read another site and saw a side picture and I believe it's a belt... i could be wrong so don't quote me, if it wasn't a belt, then it was highly inappropriate to wear...
Post by: Toppa on October 23, 2014, 09:45:55 AM
It wasn't no belt...
Post by: weary1969 on October 23, 2014, 09:51:28 AM
It wasn't no belt...

Who cares if it was a belt. It look like her guts. That is all that matters.
Post by: elan on October 23, 2014, 10:13:28 AM
actually i just read another site and saw a side picture and I believe it's a belt... i could be wrong so don't quote me, if it wasn't a belt, then it was highly inappropriate to wear...

(http://www.contactmusic.com/pics/ln/20140923/230914_fashion_4_development/reema-carmona-f4d-first-ladies-luncheon_4384340.jpg)
Post by: Socapro on October 23, 2014, 10:50:52 AM
The President's wife obviously needs some dress protocol training.

A UN function where you are in fact representing the country as the First Lady is not a function where you dress like a belly dancer.
Post by: Bakes on October 23, 2014, 12:28:28 PM

Dah belt have muscles.
Post by: Controversial on October 23, 2014, 12:58:12 PM

Dah belt have muscles.

:D :D :rotfl:

just looked at the close up.. can't believe she would wear that to a UN function to represent the nation... socapro is right she needs a consultant to help her dress...
Post by: Socapro on October 23, 2014, 01:53:57 PM
Also how come our President did not pull up his wife about her dress code at the UN function? Afterall he is a bit older and wiser than her and she should thus be willing to take his advice on certain matters. Or is this one of the powers that we think he has that he does not have, the power to advise his wife on how to dress?

Also is one of the powers that our President has that we don't think he has, the right to interfere with freedom of speech and stop people like Rachel Price from pointing out the obvious?

Remember he said that the powers that we think he has he does not have and the powers that we don't think he has, he has. I am finally beginning to understand what our President meant when he spoke that gibberish.
Post by: fishs on October 23, 2014, 02:08:46 PM

I cant believe all this shit.
 I see absolutely nothing wrong with what she wore. We are Trinidadians and our women wear fashionable out fits. The cost of that dress is probably more than most of our monthly salaries. On the one hand we talking about freedom of expression and on the other hand lambasting the woman for showing some skin. When celebrities show massive cleavage not a word.
We just full of double standards maybe she should dress like Taliban.

The real issue here as far as I see it is freedom of speech. If yuh fraid powder doh play mas !!!

You are now a public figure and open to scrutiny by the public and if the small minded view allows a comedian our somebody else like say a calysonian to make fun of a situation then so be it. Rachel Price has not crossed any decency barriers that we are accustomed to and does not deserve this action by this " moral" President.

But my personal view is that there is absolutely nothing wrong with what the lady wore
Post by: Deeks on October 23, 2014, 02:54:32 PM
Actually, I think she look good in it.  No problem with me. I have seen worse than that worn at important functions. But I understand there are protocols for certain events. And being the President, they should know the ropes. But it easy for men to just put on a suit. Always different strokes for women. Much Ado About Nothing. What I want to know. Was Price remarks about the dress, malicious!
Post by: Socapro on October 23, 2014, 03:10:29 PM
Actually, I think she look good in it.  No problem with me. I have seen worse than that worn at important functions. But I understand there are protocols for certain events. And being the President, they should know the ropes. But it easy for men to just put on a suit. Always different strokes for women. Much Ado About Nothing. What I want to know. Was Price remarks about the dress, malicious!

Are you serious? You do not dress for a UN function where you are representing the country as the First Lady in the same way as you would dress for a belly dancing competition.

I am sorry but the President should have known better and should have advised his wife accordingly even if she did not realise that it would be pointed out and viewed by members of the public as lacking protocol for a UN function where you are representing your country as our First Lady.

But our President did say the powers that we think he has he does not have and the powers that we don't think he has, he has so may be that explains it.
Post by: Toppa on October 23, 2014, 03:22:52 PM
Sorry, I wouldn't even wear a top like that in the street and I'm my 20s. She should have known better, a woman of her age and supposed stature. But that aside, as Fish said, the main issue here is the threat to sue madame Price if she dares to talk about his wife's attire at said function.
Post by: Deeks on October 23, 2014, 03:53:20 PM
the main issue here is the threat to sue madame Price if she dares to talk about his wife's attire at said function.

So Price have said anything as yet! Did she say anything malicious about the Prez wiife's dress? So if in the future Price would say, "the Prez wife wore a beautiful dress at the UN function". She could get sued!!??
Post by: Bakes on October 23, 2014, 04:22:54 PM

I see absolutely nothing wrong with what she wore. We are Trinidadians and our women wear fashionable out fits. The cost of that dress is probably more than most of our monthly salaries. On the one hand we talking about freedom of expression and on the other hand lambasting the woman for showing some skin. When celebrities show massive cleavage not a word.

The real issue here as far as I see it is freedom of speech. If yuh fraid powder doh play mas !!!

You are now a public figure and open to scrutiny by the public and if the small minded view allows a comedian our somebody else like say a calysonian to make fun of a situation then so be it. Rachel Price has not crossed any decency barriers that we are accustomed to and does not deserve this action by this " moral" President.

But my personal view is that there is absolutely nothing wrong with what the lady wore

Yes we do have a double standard here, she is not a celebrity she is the wife of our head of state, and she's representing the nation at a diplomatic function for UN heads of state.
Post by: Jumbie on October 23, 2014, 05:33:17 PM
Ms Price's delivery needs work. From the morning show, to her vlogs and everything else in between. She usually on point, but the manner in which she goes one..lets just say she coin the word wajang. A few months back she was schooled by a Bajan blogger.

The outfit is indeed questionable when you consider the event.

Post by: Bourbon on October 23, 2014, 05:40:03 PM
Now I not exactly a Rachel Price fan for various reasons. However my biggest concern is the fact that the office of the president initiated this action. Not Mrs Carmona. Not Mr. Carmona in his private capacity. The Office of the President. Isn't that a bit concerning? The one odd occasion we have definitive action on an issue by the president... Is because of this?

Yeah Rachel Price could be out of place at times. Especially given that this happened a few weeks ago... This issue would and could have been forgotten... Aside from how much Rachel could milk from it in her show.

But this is concerning. And no I don't think she should have worn that.
Post by: Bakes on October 23, 2014, 11:17:33 PM
Now I not exactly a Rachel Price fan for various reasons. However my biggest concern is the fact that the office of the president initiated this action. Not Mrs Carmona. Not Mr. Carmona in his private capacity. The Office of the President. Isn't that a bit concerning?

I love Trinidad, but ah doh miss it.  This is pure farce.  In any other developed/developing nation this would properly be the source of much laughter.  In order to bring suit you have to be an aggrieved party... and no, ketching feelings fuh yuh wife doesn't count.  In legal terms, Carmona in his private capacity lacks standing (or locus standi, if yuh feeling fancy).  Carmona in is official capacity also lacks standing.  The "Office of the President" is not a legal person, just like POTUS is not a legal person, Barack Obama is.  Therefore, how can the "Office of the President" be defamed?  Funny, if it wasn't such a sad commentary on the state of things in Trinidad. 
Post by: fishs on October 24, 2014, 04:59:02 AM

Yes we do have a double standard here, she is not a celebrity she is the wife of our head of state, and she's representing the nation at a diplomatic function for UN heads of state.

What should we judge this dress code on?
The lady in the picture with her is Asian and that her outfit is traditional. We have not seen a picture of any of the other women at the function. If you look at the background the pictures appear to be fashion type. To make an even handed judgement we need more information about the event itself and how the other people who attended it were attired. This is a photgrapher knowing the Trinidadian love for bacchanal isolating her
Post by: Bourbon on October 24, 2014, 05:26:37 AM
You right. This boils down to a photographer with an agenda. Kams was liming with Spiderman normal normal in the formal setting so why not.
Post by: Socapro on October 24, 2014, 07:50:52 AM
You right. This boils down to a photographer with an agenda. Kams was liming with Spiderman normal normal in the formal setting so why not.

I wonder if fishs listening to himself. The fella insulting people's intelligence just like the PPG regularly does.
Post by: Michael-j on October 24, 2014, 07:53:01 AM

The lady in the picture with her is Asian and that her outfit is traditional. We have not seen a picture of any of the other women at the function. If you look at the background the pictures appear to be fashion type. To make an even handed judgement we need more information about the event itself and how the other people who attended it were attired. This is a photgrapher knowing the Trinidadian love for bacchanal isolating her

The Asian lady is Mrs Ban Soon-Taek, wife of United Nations General Secretary, Ban Ki-Moon. The event was the Fashion 4 Development's annual First Ladies Luncheon.

"Fashion 4 Development’s Official First Ladies Annual Luncheon takes place during the United Nation’s General Assembly at the historic Pierre Hotel in New York City. This high level gathering unites First Ladies, Diplomats, Fashion VIP’s and other key influencers from around the globe to recognize and celebrate the unprecedented cooperation between Diplomacy & Fashion for the greater good of Women and Children worldwide."
  ( http://www.fashion4development.com/ (http://www.fashion4development.com/))
Post by: weary1969 on October 24, 2014, 08:01:02 AM

ENT
Post by: weary1969 on October 24, 2014, 08:02:40 AM
It will be nice to see how the other ladies were dressed.
Post by: Sando prince on October 24, 2014, 08:22:32 AM

(http://wp-ag.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/66/2014/09/ReemaCarmona.jpg)
Post by: Sando prince on October 24, 2014, 08:23:02 AM
It will be nice to see how the other ladies were dressed.

Post by: Ramgoat on October 24, 2014, 09:24:09 AM
 I think that the woman is elegantly dressed.
 Why would anyone one in Trinidad be  offended? I've watched your Carnival where the women dress like sluts and dance like whores and this is celebrated
Post by: Bourbon on October 24, 2014, 10:33:28 AM
 Why would anyone one in Trinidad be  offended? I've watched your Carnival where the women dress like sluts and dance like whores and this is celebrated

Right. Is a traditional Trinidad outfit.
Post by: Toppa on October 24, 2014, 10:58:46 AM

Right. Is a traditional Trinidad outfit.

Mmm that wasn't carnival, though. There's a time and a place for everything. Anyway, although I'm sure she was criticised for what she wore by the public, I think the real furore is over the President's threat to sue...
Post by: Bakes on October 24, 2014, 12:35:30 PM

Fishs you can't be serious.  We should judge it based on the fact that it was a UN event for First Ladies and she was representing the nation as such, she wasn't there in her private capacity.  Ban Ki Moon's wife wasn't wearing a "traditional" Asian outfit, she's wearing an evening jacket over a dress.  The photographer wasn't Trinidadian... this just shows that yuh commenting and ent even self realize what yuh really commenting on.

http://looptt.com/2014/09/26/first-lady-attends-un-events-nyc/
Post by: Deeks on October 24, 2014, 02:40:09 PM

Dude, Carnival is Carnival. This is not carnival. But I have no issue with her or the dress. It may be a bit risque for the occasion, though. But like everyone some have noted that she is the Prez. wife. Whether or not the Prez. like it, the TT public has its eyes glued on her. She is a trend setter. Just like the royal family or the wives of heads of state. And Dude, watch your mouth on our women.
Post by: Toppa on October 24, 2014, 06:32:09 PM
(https://scontent-b-sjc.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xap1/v/t1.0-9/10590436_783995081642686_161027583095938660_n.jpg?oh=c526ff810badac337ecc00ba39d57e4b&oe=54AD700A)
Post by: Ramgoat on October 24, 2014, 10:40:10 PM
 Whole episode .. silly
Post by: Deeks on October 24, 2014, 10:41:16 PM
Whole episode .. silly

Actually, I agree.
Post by: zuluwarrior on October 25, 2014, 10:22:15 AM
People John Wayne and John Benwah  of i95Fm had me dying with laugh a minute ago ,John Wayne was asking where was the president sleeping a month before he became the President also who is Boysie ?

He was asking if Boysie was the milkman or the man who attend to the pool ?

What is Boysie relationship with the Prez family ? Prez I feel you would be sorry you started this thing with Rachel.
Title: President holds his tongue
Post by: Socapro on October 25, 2014, 04:29:32 PM
President holds his tongue (http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,202044.html)
By Jada Loutoo Saturday, October 25 2014 (T&T Newsday)

President Anthony Carmona has decided to maintain public silence on his threat to sue comedienne and radio talk-show personality Rachel Price for comments she made about his wife’s attire on the air. The President is following the advice of his attorneys not to discuss the issue publicly.

In a brief statement yesterday, the Office of the President said His Excellency and his wife, Reema, had engaged in a “private and confidential relationship with Senior Counsel concerning matters that (had) arisen recently in the public domain.”

“Their Excellencies have been advised by Senior Counsel not to disclose the nature and content of those discussions emanating thereof. The action of Their Excellencies will be guided by Senior Counsel’s advice on said matters,” the three line statement concluded.

On Wednesday, the President’s House, in a media release, disclosed that the Office of the President had obtained legal advice from senior counsel, “regarding certain offensive statements recently made by a radio talk show host.”

President’s House stated a pre-action protocol letter was issued to Price two Fridays ago, “in respect of certain defamatory statements.” This, President’s House said, was done, “on behalf of Her Excellency Reema Carmona and the Office of the President.”

The full text of the letter from the President has not been released by President’s House. The allegedly defamatory remarks have also not been identified. Up to yesterday, Price, on her morning radio programme on RED 96.7 FM was adamant that she received no lawyer’s letter.

Questions sent to the President’s House information officer Theron Boodan on the issue were not answered and instead the three-line statement was issued indicating the President and Mrs Carmona will not be speaking on the matter, on the advice of Senior Counsel.

On Thursday, former President George Maxwell Richards described as “highly unusual” the decision of the President to issue the legal letter threatening lawsuit against Price.

Questions were also raised on whether the State is funding the intended legal action and whether the alleged defamation against Mrs Carmona extended to the President and the Office of the President.

In its statement on Wednesday, President’s House said, “Unwarranted attacks which cross the line into defamation and which seek to bring members of the family of His Excellency the President and by extension the Office of the President into disrepute will not be tolerated.” Legal sources said for defamation to be proved, the words complained of must be “untrue.”

“It is difficult to say if criticisms of someone’s dress can be construed as defamation unless we know what are the words complained of,” our legal sources concluded.

Price did not respond to calls and messages.
Post by: AB.Trini on November 11, 2014, 09:27:02 AM
In another thread,  I raised the question as to what powers over parliament does the president have? The president appears to possess the academic credentials, the legal mind and experience to discern right from wrong. However I am miffed by what appears to be a lack of assertiveness in taking a stance against apparent government mismanagement, alleged incompetence in most ministries and the inability of some ministries to achieve results in some of the 'major issues' to rock this government's tenure.
Today now I am reading in the Trinidad Express, of allowances awarded to the president. Now tell me what is the justification for this sum of money given :
His financial status
The requirements of his position
The state of public civil servants who are working for less
The earlier outcry of underpaid police officers
The lack of funding given to sports- ie the debacle of the Women's Soca Warriors

Regardless of who initiated the application for these funds, shouldn't our honourable president not stand up and refuse the transaction given his ability to discern? Or are we to decipher that this application was done without his knowledge or approval? If so I wonder who has the moral authority to make those decisions without his approval? This leads me again to ask what powers does our president really have to intervene in matters of government mismanagement?

Trinidad Express
Date: November 11 2014

Volney: Carmona got bad advice
Former minister Herbert Volney said yesterday President Anthony Carmona got bad advice on the issue of his receiving a tax-free $28,000 monthly allowance in addition to accepting State-provided accommodation. “I do believe that it is very embarrassing for the President that he has found himself in these circumstances and I think that the Cabinet would have to approve some sort of measure that he does not have to pay back the money because it was not his fault,” he said. The President would have collected approximately $588,000 tax free since his assumption to office in housing allowance. Volney, who like the President was a former judge, pointed out that “as a judge we know that you either take the house (State-provided accommodation) or you take the (housing) allowance. There is no ‘and’. As a judge we would have known that the choice was either/or. But then he is the President,” Volney said. He, however, added: “His (Carmona’s) own experience as a judge should have put him on guard.”

Additionally , from the same newspaper comes another article from the 'Voice of Reason'- I say this tongue and cheek- that of anyone who should call for giving money back-lol

Trinidad Express
November 11 2014
Jack: Give back $$

Independent Liberal Part (ILP) leader and Chaguanas West MP Jack Warner said yesterday the President was not entitled to receive a housing allowance and State housing at the same time. “He is not entitled to that money and he should give it back, uncompromisingly” Warner said, referring to the tax-free $28,000 housing allowance given to the President, in addition to State-provided housing at Flagstaff Hill. “He has set a bad example and it means that all the hopes which people had in him as a harbinger of good news and respect and accountability have now been dashed,” Warner said.

Post by: Bourbon on November 11, 2014, 11:32:38 AM
Yuh need to start from the top to lay the context.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/SRC-head-mum-on-perks-281712921.html

Eh have much to say...we just need an explanation as to why a housing allowance being paid if you already getting state accommodation in Flagstaff no less.

And in other news.....Mrs. Carmona seems to be cautious about revealing skin now:

(https://scontent-b-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpf1/v/t1.0-9/10645038_10152481533468067_2313801215527225043_n.jpg?oh=a90e99236191b172c3382a8b2fbe14f7&oe=54F0BD19)

Post by: Socapro on November 12, 2014, 06:03:51 PM
Oh what a tangled web... (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/letters/Oh-what-a-tangled-web-282361841.html)
Story Created: Nov 11, 2014 at 11:51 PM ECT (T&T Express)

As is now generally known, the Salaries Review Commission (SRC) is the only body empowered under the Constitution to make recommendations for the salary and benefits package for the Office of the President and some 300 other senior offices in the machinery of State.

The SRC’s recommendations are submitted in the form of a report to Cabinet and then, if Cabinet is so min­-
­ded, the report is laid in Parliament and the provisions become implementable. This last step is critical as we shall see.

The latest report from the SRC, in listing the pay and benefit recommendations for the Office of the President with respect to housing, states:

“Housing—Official resi­den­­ces, fully furnished and main­tained by the State with the neces­sary complement of household staff.

Where the official residence is not available for use by the President, and suitable alternative accommodation is not provided, an allowance of $28,000 per month.”

This recommendation is presented in clear and unambiguous language. And it is now the law, having been properly laid in Parliament as part of the SRC’s Report after Cabinet had passed judgment on the report in its entirety.

So what is the problem with President Anthony Carmona receiving the $28,000 per month allowance, tax-free or otherwise? In accordance with parliamentary authorisation, he must be paid the allowance “where the official residence is not available for use [by the President] and suitable alternative accommodation is not provided”. And therein lies the rub.

Someone had to make a judgment as to whether or not the “official residence” currently occupied by the President and his staff is “suitable”. Clearly, the assessment has been made that the current alternative accommodation is not suitable. Ergo, the allowance of $28,000 is payable. There is no mystery. The Ministers of Finance and Public Administration and the Head of the Public Service have nothing to answer. The allowance being paid to President Carmona is entirely lawful.

The only real issue here is whether or not the decision that the current accommodation provided for the President is unsuitable is correct or not. But who or what body is empowered to question this assessment that the accommodation is unsuitable? And assuming that this can be answered satisfactorily, how can the Chief Personnel Officer’s (CPO) interpretation/decision be legally reversed?

Meanwhile, in addition to salary and benefits, taxpayers will continue to pay $28,000 a month to the President for housing while, at the same time, footing the bill for four “unsuitable” apartments/units in Flagstaff Hill for the President and his staff.

Ashton S Brereton
via e-mail
Post by: Bourbon on November 12, 2014, 08:36:40 PM
I saw that letter today and considered it's points. I see the argument.... And while it isn't president's house..... Flagstaff isn't really a bad accommodation. So if that was the rationale that the policy specifically states president's house... And the interpretation allows it to be interpreted as such... Fine.

Wonder when the chairman of the integrity commission getting appointed?
Post by: Flex on November 17, 2014, 05:01:45 AM
BREAK YOUR SILENCE
AG calls on SRC chairman to speak up on President’s $28,000 housing allowance
By Stories by Ria Taitt Political Editor

Attorney General Anand Ramlogan is calling on chairman of the Salaries Review Commission (SRC) Edward Collier to break his silence and provide details “in the public interest” on the matter involving the payment of a $28,000 tax-free housing allowance to President Anthony Carmona..

“His silence is causing unnecessary consternation and disquiet and has the potential to bring the office of the Chief Personnel Officer (CPO) and the President into disrepute. He (Collier) therefore has a duty to clear the air on this matter,” Ramlogan said in a statement last night.

The Attorney General noted that the CPO by convention was secretary to the SRC and it was in this capacity that she wrote the correspondence, dated July 9, 2013, giving approval for the payment of a housing allowance to the President.

The President receives the unprecedented benefit of a tax-free housing allowance in addition to State-provided accommodation at Flagstaff Hill.

The Attorney General noted that the CPO, on her own, did not have the legal capacity to recommend and approve the housing allowance for the President.

Any such directive would have to come from the SRC, he suggested.

“The secretary of the SRC (the CPO) cannot, of her own volition, make a decision on the President’s housing allowance. That is a matter for the SRC alone. The advice of the secretary is not in any way binding on the members of the SRC. The CPO is not a member of the SRC,” said the AG.

“The SRC is the only body in law that could deal with the terms and conditions of the Office of the President.

It is a legal route by which the President’s allowance could have been paid. Since the Government had no knowledge about this matter, perhaps the time has come for the chairman of the SRC, Mr Edward Collier, to break his silence on this matter in the public interest and provide the necessary clarification regarding its role (if any) in this matter. His silence is causing unnecessary consternation and disquiet and has the potential to bring the office of the CPO and the President into disrepute. He therefore has a duty to clear the air on this matter,” Ramlogan stated.

Collier has thus far refused to comment on the President’s housing allowance, stating that the SRC does not comment publicly on such matters.

“What is in the (SRC) report is in the report,” he told the Express a week ago.

Ramlogan was responding yesterday to statements made by Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley at the PNM’s annual convention, at which he accused Government of knowing about the housing allowance since last year.

Charging the Government with deception, Rowley said: “They would have you believe that they did not know that the President was receiving a hefty housing allowance whilst having a suite of accommodation available to him.

“Let me tell you that this matter was raised in a Public Accounts Committee meeting in the presence of the Government since last year and the Government simply chose to look the other way. Now we have the Attorney General telling us that the CPO is independent and the Government is helpless in this situation,” he added.

Rowley said the Government was not powerless when it gave an “edict” to the CPO that she was not to settle for anything but five per cent with the public sector unions.

“We wait to see who will guide the next Public Service negotiations, since the CPO is independent. You simply can’t trust them (the Government) with anything they tell you,” the PNM leader declared.

On Rowley’s claim that the issue of the President’s housing allowance was raised last year at meeting of the Public Accounts Committee, Ramlogan said Rowley failed to provide any specifics as to who raised it and when.

“These meetings are held in public and televised. No one from the media reported on it and the PNM remained silent on the matter until now?” he asked.

“Assuming, but not admitting, that Dr Rowley’s allegation is true, why did HE remain silent on the matter for over a year? It is reminiscent of him allegedly holding on to fake e-mails for nine months before taking them to the Integrity Commission. Not a single utterance until today?” the Attorney General added.

Noting that Rowley also insinuated that the Government was somehow responsible for the payment of the housing allowance “that has attracted so much attention and disquiet”, Ramlogan stated: “This is a cheap and reckless attempt by Rowley to hitch the PNM to this allowance bandwagon and play politics regardless of the consequences.

“If indeed, the matter was raised by the PNM and nothing was done by the Government, I demand that Rowley provide the details of when this was raised and the steps he took to bring it to the attention of the nation. This will expose the true deception, PNM style.”

On Rowley’s criticism of his (Ramlogan’s) statement that the office of the CPO was an independent one over which the Government had no influence in such matters, Ramlogan said, according to the Civil Service Act, the CPO is the head of the Personnel Department, which has responsibility for addressing remuneration, grievances and classification of offices.

The Government, through the relevant Minister, has influence over the CPO in relation to these specific matters, he said, citing Section 15 of the Act, which states that ‘in the exercise of its duties and functions under sections 14, 16, 17, 18 and 19(1), the Personnel Department shall be subject to the direction of the Minister of Finance’.”

He said Rowley’s bold references to Government’s directive to the CPO on the settling of wage negotiations “missed the mark completely, if not deliberately”.

Noting that the President was not a civil servant, Ramlogan stressed that the terms and conditions for the Office of the President were not subject to the jurisdiction of the CPO.

However, the Attorney General pointed out that when the CPO functions as the secretary to the SRC, she was not performing a function that any Minister has control or influence over.

“It is unfortunate that Dr Rowley, in his usual rush to score cheap political points, failed to properly analyse the law on this matter and misrepresented the facts,” Ramlogan stated.

Post by: Sando prince on November 17, 2014, 08:44:20 AM

I support the proposal  of having clarification as to the role and powers of the President in the Constitution so the public will know exactly what is the President job.

Areas of Constitution reform will include:

• Internal Self Government for Tobago and the nature of the unitary state of T&T.
• Abolition of appeals to the Privy Council and instituting the CCJ as our final appellate court
• The role and functions of the service commissions
• Appointment of a commissioner of police
• The role and functions of the Salaries Review Commission
• The Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions and the exercise of prosecutorial authority in relation to white collar crime
• Electoral system reform
• Clarification of the role and powers of the President.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-11-17/pnm-rolls-out-2015-governance-plan (http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-11-17/pnm-rolls-out-2015-governance-plan)
Post by: Flex on December 11, 2014, 02:49:12 AM
Falling oil prices
By Ria Taitt Political Editor

CUTBACKS

The President is setting the example in belt-tightening. He has cancelled four functions he would ordinarily hold at this time of year.

The Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago (SPORTT) has followed suit and has “indefinitely postponed” the Spirit of Sports Awards 2014.

President Anthony Carmona announced on Tuesday he would not hold a number of traditional holiday
parties, in view of the economic situation.

Among the functions the President usually hosts at this time are one for non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and other civic society stakeholders, one for Members of Parliament, one for members of commissions and one in Tobago for members of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) and other officials.

A media function has also been traditionally held.

Addressing the Heroes Founda­tion on Tuesday, the President sta­ted: “We also cannot and must not
be indifferent to the drop in oil pri­ces where on Monday afternoon, the price of Brent crude dropped to US$66.77, the lowest since October 2009, and it must not be lost upon us that Morgan Stanley, the well-respected investment bank, has predicted that Brent Crude would sell at US$80 per barrel in 2015 but expects that oil prices would fall as low as $43 a barrel the said year. The price of Brent Crude has fallen by more than 40 per cent since June of this year.

“As responsible citizens, we must all do our part to cut back on expen­diture. I have engaged this. Traditionally, the Office of the President would host at least four official end-of-year functions, including one in Tobago. In order to cut back on spending, I cancelled them all two weeks ago. You, too, can be a hero in that regard and manage your spending over this Yuletide season.”

The Office of the President has been given a budgetary allocation of $37.7 million in this year’s budget, an increase of $4.8 million over last year’s expenditure of $34.5 million. In 2013, the Office of the President spent $20.4 million.

SPORTT, in a release yesterday, stated it regretted to inform stakeholders that the Spirit of Sport Awards 2014 (SOSA) was indefinitely postponed.

The company stated in reviewing its operational plans, as well as those of the national governing bodies under its purview, it noted several sporting organisations would take part in qualification events and intense training programmes in a pre-Olympic year. The Olympics are to be held in Rio, Brazil, in 2016.

The company said therefore, it had to carefully reprioritise the allo-cation of its resources, financial and
otherwise, and dtermine what would yield the best value for money.

This was also done against the backdrop of the Ministry of Finance indicating that ministries and State agencies must review their operations, with a view to cutting costs,” the release stated.

The company said it had worked assiduously over the last three years to establish the Spirit of Sports Awards as a key event on the country’s sporting landscape.

“While there is a level of disappointment as a result of the postponement of the awards, the company is confident that the decision is in the best interest of the nation’s athletes, teams and their Olympic aspirations. Work has already begun on ensuring that the SOSAs make a triumphant return in 2015,” the release pointed out.

HOWAI GAVE MANDATE

The cutbacks at the Office of the President and the SPORTT follow a mandate given by Finance Minister Larry Howai to all ministries to cut $45 million from their expenditure.

Howai said the budget expenditure would be reduced by $1.8 billion, with $1.3 coming from Government ministries and $507 million from the fuel subsidy, in the face of falling oil prices.

It is not clear whether the directive of the Finance Minister applied to all heads of expenditure, inclu­ding the Office of the President, or whether it was confined to the 33 Government ministries.

Howai said “ministries” were required to review their budgets to determine areas where expenditure can be suppressed to make up the anticiwpated shortfall.

While he gave various scenarios, Howai said the most likely scenario was the oil price would decline initially closer to US$60 per barrel but would eventually average between US$65 and US$70 per barrel.

He said using this scenario of a US$65 per barrel oil price and a gas price of US$2.75 per mmbtu, the reduction in total revenue would be $1.8 billion for the year. The budget is based on an oil price of US$80 a barrel.

Post by: Bourbon on December 11, 2014, 05:11:26 AM
Well done.
Post by: Errol on December 11, 2014, 05:25:39 AM
Dumas, Daly question President’s $28,000 monthly housing allowance
By Ria Taitt

GIVE IT BACK

Senior counsel Martin Daly has questioned the legal basis on which the Chief Personnel Officer granted approval for the payment of a tax-free $28,000 housing allowance for President Anthony Carmona.

And former head of the Public Service Reginald Dumas stated yesterday that it would be “ethically reprehensible” if President Carmona is indeed living in State-provided accommodation, while at the same time receiving a housing allowance.

“If that is so, then he should give back the money,” Dumas asserted.

If President Carmona has received the housing allowance since assuming office in March 2013, he would have, to date, received in excess of $500,000 tax-free.

“As far as I am concerned, if the State is providing furnished accommodation, there is really and truly no justification for providing a housing allowance in addition to that,” said Dumas.

“That would be charging the taxpayers twice and that, to me, is improper and unacceptable,” he added.

In a letter dated July 9, 2013, the CPO stated that “as a principle, where an office holder is provided with accommodation by the State, a housing allowance is not payable for any period during which he/she is provided with such accommodation”.

Post by: Deeks on December 11, 2014, 02:54:09 PM
The company said therefore, it had to carefully reprioritise the allo-cation of its resources, financial and
otherwise, and dtermine what would yield the best value for money.

Athletes and sports teams on the bubble go suck salt.
Post by: Sando prince on December 11, 2014, 05:44:40 PM
Falling oil prices
By Ria Taitt Political Editor

CUTBACKS

The President is setting the example in belt-tightening. He has cancelled four functions he would ordinarily hold at this time of year.

The Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago (SPORTT) has followed suit and has “indefinitely postponed” the Spirit of Sports Awards 2014.

President Anthony Carmona announced on Tuesday he would not hold a number of traditional holiday
parties, in view of the economic situation.

Among the functions the President usually hosts at this time are one for non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and other civic society stakeholders, one for Members of Parliament, one for members of commissions and one in Tobago for members of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) and other officials.

A media function has also been traditionally held.

Addressing the Heroes Founda­tion on Tuesday, the President sta­ted: “We also cannot and must not
be indifferent to the drop in oil pri­ces where on Monday afternoon, the price of Brent crude dropped to US$66.77, the lowest since October 2009, and it must not be lost upon us that Morgan Stanley, the well-respected investment bank, has predicted that Brent Crude would sell at US$80 per barrel in 2015 but expects that oil prices would fall as low as $43 a barrel the said year. The price of Brent Crude has fallen by more than 40 per cent since June of this year.

“As responsible citizens, we must all do our part to cut back on expen­diture. I have engaged this. Traditionally, the Office of the President would host at least four official end-of-year functions, including one in Tobago. In order to cut back on spending, I cancelled them all two weeks ago. You, too, can be a hero in that regard and manage your spending over this Yuletide season.”

The Office of the President has been given a budgetary allocation of $37.7 million in this year’s budget, an increase of $4.8 million over last year’s expenditure of $34.5 million. In 2013, the Office of the President spent $20.4 million.

So if this is the state of the economy and cutbacks is needed then why is the Prime Minister giving millions more to religious leaders. It is irresponsible for the government to ask for citizens to tighten their belts but at the same time give $55 Million to any religious body.
Post by: Deeks on December 11, 2014, 06:38:01 PM
I think is 55 mill. For the Christian. They will have to share it.
Post by: Sando prince on December 11, 2014, 06:41:08 PM

Religious leaders? Share it between their bank accounts or is it going to benefit their congregations?
Post by: weary1969 on December 11, 2014, 09:04:25 PM

Religious leaders? Share it between their bank accounts or is it going to benefit their congregations?

This is not new. The amt may b new.
Post by: Sando prince on April 05, 2015, 11:33:33 PM

(https://scontent-sjc.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpt1/v/t1.0-9/11110215_10153186676255610_7106015267150129191_n.jpg?oh=f4c293f214ffd64bd3258f7e08e5712c&oe=55A3FB8F)

President Anthony Carmona and his wife Reema Carmona with Perry Christie, Prime Minister the of The Bahamas at Rawson Square, Nassau, Bahamas. While vacationing in The Bahamas Their Excellencies were invited to celebrate Autism Day and Mrs Carmona was invited to address the function. Photo Courtesy the Bahamas Information Service senior photographer Peter Ramsay.

Post by: Sando prince on May 22, 2015, 10:57:15 AM

President has to act on the Integrity Commission now. Time for him to stop being quiet.

This latest shocking development with the Integrity Commission (IC) is a matter for the President, which requires his urgent attention, Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley said yesterday.
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2015, 11:18:04 AM

President has to act on the Integrity Commission now. Time for him to stop being quiet.

Powers to give a statement today. Lets hear if it is that he finally find Rachel Price so he can serve her with the PAP.
Post by: Bourbon on May 22, 2015, 10:52:33 PM
So... Did he give a statement? Up to six pm I didn't hear one.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 24, 2015, 04:45:42 AM
So... Did he give a statement? Up to six pm I didn't hear one.

Yeah.  A statement to confirm two commissioners resigned.  Nothing more.  Now tell me if these firetrucking ppl eh trying to provoke we??

Its times like these I miss my Robbie yes......... :'(
Post by: Bourbon on May 24, 2015, 07:35:04 PM
So... Thus far the president has issued statements to save the life of a giraffe in an European zoo... And warning Rachel Price.

I think I understanding more about the powers that I thought he had that he apparently doesn't.
Post by: Sando prince on June 12, 2015, 04:07:37 PM

Hold your hand, Carmona

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150611/news/hold-your-hand-carmona

OPPOSITION Leader Dr Keith Rowley yesterday described the process used to obtain his consultation in the appointment of two new members to the Integrity Commission as a "sham".

And he is warning President Anthony Carmona that if the appointments are made today as planned they will be unlawful.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 07, 2015, 04:09:48 AM
Carmona: Don’t call T&T banana republic
By Yvonne Webb (T&T Guardian).

President Anthony Carmona said T&T was neither a banana republic or a failed state and chastised nationals who refer to the country in such derogatory terms.

Addressing the Scout Movement Colour Parade and award ceremony at the San Fernando Hill last week, Carmona said: “As a (former) United Nations prosecutor, I can tell you what a failed state is and we are very far from that.”

He called on nationals to get their act together and take an example from Americans, who, he said, in spite of the many injustices taking place in their land, would never define their country in those derogatory terms.

“I often hear Trinidadians and Tobagonians refer to our country as a banana republic. Why don’t they (Americans) call the United States of America (USA) a banana republic, where 300 bike men meet in a car park and have a big shoot out resulting in some 15 persons dead, where terrorists are bombing left, right and centre.

“No, those people do not define America. They are citizens of America but they do not define America and nobody will call America, because of the slaughter that takes place in America, a banana republic.

“And nobody will call America a failed state because many men have been executed innocently in America because of prejudice and biasness and racial disharmony. No, because that will not define a country.”

Carmona said it should be the same for us as T&T was a great country. He persuaded the young men not to let anyone tell them differently.

He said adults were the greatest bullies and were not doing a great job of raising the standards of conduct and behaviour in our community.

He called on them to become upstanding citizens and ensure young people were taught proper values and respect.

He also advised the youths against engaging in social media, “where vicious, negative things are said over and over.”

He added: “You will not engage in social media, which I often refer to as a minefield of cowards, hiding behind some nom de plumes and fake names and fake emails, to insult and denigrate people.

“You would not do that because the Scout Movement is not about that. It is about sharing love, engaging in a philosophy of humanity to each other.”

He said while we have our share of problems in T&T, once the Scouts were prepared to stand up they could be part of the solution.

He advised against cowering in small corners to denigrate or talk people bad but instead take their selfless effort to a different level of patriotism which would lead to problem-solving.
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2015, 04:53:42 AM
Carmona: Don’t call T&T banana republic
By Yvonne Webb (T&T Guardian).

President Anthony Carmona said T&T was neither a banana republic or a failed state and chastised nationals who refer to the country in such derogatory terms.

Addressing the Scout Movement Colour Parade and award ceremony at the San Fernando Hill last week, Carmona said: “As a (former) United Nations prosecutor, I can tell you what a failed state is and we are very far from that.”

He called on nationals to get their act together and take an example from Americans, who, he said, in spite of the many injustices taking place in their land, would never define their country in those derogatory terms.

“I often hear Trinidadians and Tobagonians refer to our country as a banana republic. Why don’t they (Americans) call the United States of America (USA) a banana republic, where 300 bike men meet in a car park and have a big shoot out resulting in some 15 persons dead, where terrorists are bombing left, right and centre.

“No, those people do not define America. They are citizens of America but they do not define America and nobody will call America, because of the slaughter that takes place in America, a banana republic.

“And nobody will call America a failed state because many men have been executed innocently in America because of prejudice and biasness and racial disharmony. No, because that will not define a country.”

Carmona said it should be the same for us as T&T was a great country. He persuaded the young men not to let anyone tell them differently.

He said adults were the greatest bullies and were not doing a great job of raising the standards of conduct and behaviour in our community.

He called on them to become upstanding citizens and ensure young people were taught proper values and respect.

He also advised the youths against engaging in social media, “where vicious, negative things are said over and over.”

He added: “You will not engage in social media, which I often refer to as a minefield of cowards, hiding behind some nom de plumes and fake names and fake emails, to insult and denigrate people.

“You would not do that because the Scout Movement is not about that. It is about sharing love, engaging in a philosophy of humanity to each other.”

He said while we have our share of problems in T&T, once the Scouts were prepared to stand up they could be part of the solution.

He advised against cowering in small corners to denigrate or talk people bad but instead take their selfless effort to a different level of patriotism which would lead to problem-solving.

Thanks a lot from a failed President who has only helped T&T to now be viewed by many as a banana republic or a failed state.

Maybe Carmona will now realise that he is an embarrassment to T&T as a President and might step down?

Hardly anyone in T&T still respects him as a President and maybe he needs to take a long hard look in the mirror to realise why.
Post by: Deeks on July 07, 2015, 07:15:59 AM
Pres. Carmona can't be serious. Take a page from the Americans? If he knew the amount of derogatory things that have been posted by normal Americans since BO 44 has been President he would be surprised.
Post by: fari on July 07, 2015, 02:04:47 PM
Pres. Carmona can't be serious. Take a page from the Americans? If he knew the amount of derogatory things that have been posted by normal Americans since BO 44 has been President he would be surprised.

ent!  Also to piggyback on what meh boys on WACK radio were saying yesterday...why President Carmona always in attack mode, slightest thing the man ready to jep up smh
Post by: Sando prince on September 08, 2015, 03:43:39 PM

President Carmona congratulates PM-elect

http://www.looptt.com/content/president-carmona-congratulates-pm-elect (http://www.looptt.com/content/president-carmona-congratulates-pm-elect)

President Anthony Carmona congratulated Prime Minister-elect Dr Keith Rowley on the People’s National Movement’s victory at the General Election.

In a statement released on Tuesday September 8, 2015, Carmona said Dr Rowley’s statements to the nation were that of a “true statesman”.

“In a telephone conversation…President Carmona extended his sincere congratulations to Dr Rowley and the People’s National Movement (PNM) and their victory at the polls."

“President Carmona told Dr Rowley that his victory address to his supporters and by extension to the Nation was that of a true statesman.”

"his Excellency further complimented Dr Rowley for an address whose motif was one of genuine exculisivity to all, highlighting in laudable terms service to country and that we, the people of Trinidad and Tobago are one."

“His excellency shares with Prime Minister-Elect Dr Rowley as expressed by him during his address, his unabiding faith in the potential of our young people and the need to make of them genuine patriots of this Republic.”
President Carmona further invited Dr Rowley to a meeting on Tuesday to discuss the Prime Minister-elect’s swearing-in ceremony and that of his Attorney General.

Dr Rowley and his Attorney General, who has not yet been announced, are due to be sworn in on Wednesday September 9, 2015 at 1:30 pm.
Post by: zuluwarrior on September 09, 2015, 09:36:38 PM
Today should of been our new Pm big day but as usual our President had to fook that up. 

Our president suppose to swore in our new PM first but instead he started with the Ag then the security

Minister  then out Brand new PM the man make a boo boo on our national stage .

As of now Kamlier is still our Pm until the PResident correct that swearing in bull shit that he did today.

Post by: Bakes on September 09, 2015, 09:44:54 PM
Today should of been our new Pm big day but as usual our President had to fook that up. 

Our president suppose to swore in our new PM first but instead he started with the Ag then the security

Minister  then out Brand new PM the man make a boo boo on our national stage .

As of now Kamlier is still our Pm until the PResident correct that swearing in bull shit that he did today.

I'm no fan of Carmona but I don't see how this was his fault, the fella in the uniform was the one calling the order.  Sure yuh could say Carmona should have known better (in his first Prime Ministerial swearing-in ceremony) but to put this on him seems a reach.
Post by: MEP on September 09, 2015, 10:16:35 PM
Bakes isn't that a legal technicality and all have to be re-sworn again? Seeing that the PM has to appoint the AG as a matter of protocol and in this instance the reverse has happened. I'm hoping that maybe Dr. Rowley was sworn in earlier and that was just pomp and circumstance.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 10, 2015, 03:05:16 AM
Ultimately, what occurred should not have escaped the President. Despite all the "moving parts".

The same applies to Faris. However, from a statement attributed to Faris, it has emerged that Faris "got it".
Post by: Socapro on September 10, 2015, 05:12:18 AM
Ultimately, what occurred should not have escaped the President. Despite all the "moving parts".

The same applies to Faris. However, from a statement attributed to Faris, it has emerged that Faris "got it".

Faris is the one who pointed out the error to the President soon after.

Dr Rowley's appointment as PM was the only one that was valid in the public Swearing in ceremony.

I believe away from the cameras soon after that Faris and Dillion were both sworn in again in the right order as AG and Minister of National Security respectively as advised to the President by the new PM Dr Rowley.
Post by: Brownsugar on September 10, 2015, 06:36:35 AM
I eh no expert on protocol and such but, when I saw Major General being sworn in first I immediately said to my co workers why is that happening??

My rationale was that as far as I'm aware, the PM and AG must be sworn in first because the cabinet/government is not constituted until those two are sworn in.  To be honest, I don't think I would have noticed the faux pas if Faris Al Sexy was sworn in first BUT definitely not Major General.

That's what happens when you fire the Protocol Officer and don't hire another one......steups!!
Post by: weary1969 on September 10, 2015, 10:06:52 AM
I eh no expert on protocol and such but, when I saw Major General being sworn in first I immediately said to my co workers why is that happening??

My rationale was that as far as I'm aware, the PM and AG must be sworn in first because the cabinet/government is not constituted until those two are sworn in.  To be honest, I don't think I would have noticed the faux pas if Faris Al Sexy was sworn in first BUT definitely not Major General.

That's what happens when you fire the Protocol Officer and don't hire another one......steups!!

You and the Prez apparently.
Post by: Bakes on September 10, 2015, 11:23:32 AM
Bakes isn't that a legal technicality and all have to be re-sworn again? Seeing that the PM has to appoint the AG as a matter of protocol and in this instance the reverse has happened. I'm hoping that maybe Dr. Rowley was sworn in earlier and that was just pomp and circumstance.

Technically only Dillon's appointment was in jeopardy since he was sworn in without a government being in place.  Faris' was never in jeopardy, neither was Rowley's.  As I noted elsewhere, the Ministerial appointments could only take place on the advice of the PM, which implies that a PM must first be sworn in, then give the suggestion to the President.  We've always had PMs sworn in first, but never see them then making the suggestion to the President.  The implication is that the suggestion took place prior to the PMs swearing in.  No different than here.  The order is just a formality since the Constitution doesn't explicitly require it.
Post by: Socapro on September 10, 2015, 11:45:07 AM

Technically only Dillon's appointment was in jeopardy since he was sworn in without a government being in place.  Faris' was never in jeopardy, neither was Rowley's.  As I noted elsewhere, the Ministerial appointments could only take place on the advice of the PM, which implies that a PM must first be sworn in, then give the suggestion to the President.  We've always had PMs sworn in first, but never see them then making the suggestion to the President.  The implication is that the suggestion took place prior to the PMs swearing in.  No different than here.  The order is just a formality since the Constitution doesn't explicitly require it.

If the order was just a formality I don't think they would have gone thru the embarrassment of swearing in both Al-Rawi and Dillion once again outside the gaze of the cameras.
I think they did it again because there was a legal error based on our constitution that would have made their appointments invalid unless they were both sworn in again in the correct order after the PM was sworn in.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 10, 2015, 12:22:37 PM
Is the "suggestion" preceding being sworn a formality or a requisite?
Post by: Bakes on September 10, 2015, 02:24:57 PM
If the order was just a formality I don't think they would have gone thru the embarrassment of swearing in both Al-Rawi and Dillion once again outside the gaze of the cameras.
I think they did it again because there was a legal error based on our constitution that would have made their appointments invalid unless they were both sworn in again in the correct order after the PM was sworn in.

One thing I've learned not to do over the years is to argue the law with people who don't understand the law... and I don't mean that as an insult to you.  It simply means that we are not starting on common ground and if I explain the legal basis (as I've already done a couple times) for my opinion and somebody chooses to reject that and offer their own (witho and but supporting basis) then the discussion likely will bog down unnecessarily.  If you can find the basis for this "legal error" in the Constitution then by all means share it. 

If the Constitution is silent (as it is here) then you look at the legislative history/intent.  That is satisfied by the swearing-in.  Trinidad is a country that despite our vaille-qui-vaille reputation, is very beholden to it's tradiitons and protocols in certain circles... hence why we held dear to the frigging powdered wigs, and why we still to this day hold dear to "Silk", the ceremonial sword in the Regiment and frigging khaki uniforms for police (among others) in a tropical climate.  Sometimes it's best to do or re-do things out of an abundance of caution (http://www.nbcnews.com/id/28780417/ns/politics-white_house/t/obama-retakes-oath-office-after-flub/#.VfHmdvlViko), not because there is substance to the concerns, but rather just so that you give the chattering class and the detractors one less thing to talk about.
Post by: Socapro on September 10, 2015, 04:53:04 PM

One thing I've learned not to do over the years is to argue the law with people who don't understand the law... and I don't mean that as an insult to you.  It simply means that we are not starting on common ground and if I explain the legal basis (as I've already done a couple times) for my opinion and somebody chooses to reject that and offer their own (witho and but supporting basis) then the discussion likely will bog down unnecessarily.  If you can find the basis for this "legal error" in the Constitution then by all means share it. 

If the Constitution is silent (as it is here) then you look at the legislative history/intent.  That is satisfied by the swearing-in.  Trinidad is a country that despite our vaille-qui-vaille reputation, is very beholden to it's tradiitons and protocols in certain circles... hence why we held dear to the frigging powdered wigs, and why we still to this day hold dear to "Silk", the ceremonial sword in the Regiment and frigging khaki uniforms for police (among others) in a tropical climate.  Sometimes it's best to do or re-do things out of an abundance of caution (http://www.nbcnews.com/id/28780417/ns/politics-white_house/t/obama-retakes-oath-office-after-flub/#.VfHmdvlViko), not because there is substance to the concerns, but rather just so that you give the chattering class and the detractors one less thing to talk about.

You just gave your opinion on why they re-did the swearing in ceremony just like I gave mines.

Don't think your opinion holds any more value that mines but thanks for giving yours as well.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 10, 2015, 11:57:43 PM
Dumas: Carmona must take blame
Express

Former head of the public service Reginald Dumas says the Office of the President must take the blame for the breach in protocol at Wednesday’s swearing-in ceremony for new Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi and National Security Minister Edmund Dillon at Queen’s Hall, St Ann’s.

Al-Rawi and Dillon had to be sworn in a second time that same day after they were incorrectly sworn in before the Prime Minister on the first occasion.

“It was a breach of protocol,” Dumas told the T&T Guardian when contacted for comment yesterday.

He said while there was nothing in the law of the Constitution that speaks about the order in which people should be sworn in a new Cabinet, “logic and common sense will tell you that the Prime Minister, who is the head of the Cabinet, has to be sworn in first.”

He said it should be especially so “because it was the Prime Minister who selected the Cabinet,” adding there can be no AG or National Security Minister without a Prime Minister.

“So the Prime Minister should have gone (sworn in) first, then the Attorney General and whoever else after,” Dumas said.

According to Dumas, the order used at the swearing-in on Wednesday “appears to have surprised the entire country.

“It certainly surprised me but perhaps it is new of those powers the President told us that he has that we didn’t know about,” he added.

Asked who should take blame for the mix-up, Dumas said: “It is the President’s Office and the person who is responsible is the President.”

He said while President Anthony Carmona may have been advised by somebody else, “the decision would have been his.”

Dumas said he was again advising the President should have a protocol officer as part of his staff.

“The President’s Office should have a protocol officer to advise, recommend, et cetera,” he added. According to Dumas, the head of protocol in the Foreign Affairs Ministry should “be appointed as the head of protocol in the President’s Office.”
Post by: Sando prince on September 18, 2015, 03:25:59 PM

(https://scontent-ord1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xat1/v/t1.0-9/12036392_10208027532635951_97072574756911_n.jpg?oh=4d88cb51f62587f7a5af36811ff08474&oe=569E1537)
Post by: Sando prince on September 22, 2015, 05:07:00 PM

President Anthony Carmona has announced the list of the nine Independent Senators, who will be appointed tomorrow. They are Jennifer Raffoul, Melissa Vikki Ramkissoon, Taurel Shrikissoon, Sophia Karen Chote SC, Paul Gerard Richards, Stephen Creese, David Small, Ian Roach and Dr Dhanayshar Mahabir.

(https://scontent-ord1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xft1/v/t1.0-9/12036698_10153598319670610_804078378468120544_n.jpg?oh=5fac10dc7fc8d73ed3b07cc09c169401&oe=569F85AC)
Post by: Sando prince on September 22, 2015, 05:08:15 PM

Paul Richards eh? really?
Post by: Deeks on September 22, 2015, 07:13:29 PM

And who is Paul Richards?
Post by: Socapro on September 22, 2015, 09:47:47 PM

A TV Presenter from C-TV who interviewed a lot of politicians.
Post by: Sando prince on September 27, 2015, 05:58:00 PM

What you think about him now?

https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10153605988845610/ (https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10153605988845610/)

The newly appointed independent senator Paul Richards says he won't be resigning his position at the state-owned CNMG station since he isn't required to do so.

On Friday Richards hosted his usual morning show, Good Morning T&T before going off on a two-day retreat with the country's other independent senators.
Post by: lefty on September 28, 2015, 07:35:27 AM

What you think about him now?

https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10153605988845610/ (https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10153605988845610/)

The newly appointed independent senator Paul Richards says he won't be resigning his position at the state-owned CNMG station since he isn't required to do so.

On Friday Richards hosted his usual morning show, Good Morning T&T before going off on a two-day retreat with the country's other independent senators.

he not no braveboy, but I got d impression dat just like andy, he used to eat he food and humble he self onto d master
Post by: Sando prince on October 05, 2015, 09:14:25 AM
(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpt1/v/t1.0-9/12107913_10208125368321782_6318576184429532464_n.jpg?oh=fb410c508c61829f275233eaee30f884&oe=5689E502)
Post by: Sando prince on October 16, 2015, 01:29:22 PM

VIDEO Report; https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153702970367996/ (https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153702970367996/)

PRESIDENT CARMONA THE "WEDDING CRASHER"

US President Barack Obama isn't the only president to surprise a bride and groom on their special day.

Seems our own president is also doing it, as Ria Rambally found out.
Post by: Sando prince on November 09, 2015, 02:32:41 PM

"President Anthony Carmona says that in Trinidad and Tobago, we have persons who see wrong in everything that is right." See Video https://www.facebook.com/CCNTV6/posts/969146939794165
Post by: Socapro on November 12, 2015, 01:05:21 PM

"President Anthony Carmona says that in Trinidad and Tobago, we have persons who see wrong in everything that is right." See Video https://www.facebook.com/CCNTV6/posts/969146939794165

There he goes talking in code again and saying much about nothing.

Reminds me a bit of his powers speech when he said he has powers that we don't he has and the he doesn't have powers that we think he has.

I would prefer him not to say anything when he has nothing sensible to say rather than telling the T&T public a whole heap of nice sounding nothings or worse accusing them of haviong rum shop logic when they ask him about his monthly housing allowance for not living in the President's House.
Post by: Sando prince on March 26, 2016, 04:07:57 PM

President Anthony Carmona has called for mercy and forgiveness to pervade in this Easter season. In His Easter message the President said its time to recreate within our lives the love and application of mercy and reject outright the act of revenge

https://www.facebook.com/cnewslive/videos/10153982910465610/
Post by: Sando prince on May 25, 2016, 12:37:36 AM

PNM women, Fixin’ T&T protest
Kriyann Singh back in Senate

President Anthony Carmona is being severely criticised for the appointment of Kriyann Singh as an Independent senator.
The People’s National Movement (PNM) Women’s League yesterday registered “its strong objection” to the decision of the President to appoint, “even temporarily”, Singh.
And activist group Fixin’ T&T said the appointment raised “even more questions about the President’s competence”.
This is the second time in less than three weeks a temporary appointment to the Independent bench of the Senate by Carmona is the source of controversy.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160524/news/pnm-women-fixin8217-tt-protest
Post by: Sando prince on May 26, 2016, 06:11:42 AM

PNM women, Fixin’ T&T protest
Kriyann Singh back in Senate

President Anthony Carmona is being severely criticised for the appointment of Kriyann Singh as an Independent senator.
The People’s National Movement (PNM) Women’s League yesterday registered “its strong objection” to the decision of the President to appoint, “even temporarily”, Singh.
And activist group Fixin’ T&T said the appointment raised “even more questions about the President’s competence”.
This is the second time in less than three weeks a temporary appointment to the Independent bench of the Senate by Carmona is the source of controversy.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160524/news/pnm-women-fixin8217-tt-protest

Newly appointed senator claims no political bias

http://tringlobe.com/singlereport.php?adsid=299
Post by: Flex on January 15, 2017, 06:02:04 AM
Cops probe Carmona housing allowance
By Joel Julien (Guardian).

Williams: It is not yet a criminal investigation

A police investigation has begun into the housing allowance paid to President Anthony Carmona.

However, this is not yet a criminal investigation, acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams explained yesterday.

The investigation into the matter is currently being handled by the Anti-Corruption Investigations Bureau, Williams said.

The investigation comes in response to four letters sent by attorney Justin Phelps on behalf of his client Rhoda Bharath to the Commissioner of Police calling for the housing allowance paid to Carmona to be probed.

Bharath's call for the police to investigate the housing allowance came as a result of legal advice she obtained from British Queen's Counsel Cathryn McGahey which stated that a "proper and independent" police investigation must be conducted to "reveal the true picture" about the payment.

On March 18, 2013, Carmona assumed office as this country's president.

It was revealed that Carmona received a tax-free housing allowance of $28,000 a month from July 2013 to May 2015 despite also being provided with state accommodation at Flagstaff Hill. The monthly allowance amounted to some $644,000.

As a result of this, McGahey was asked to advise Bharath on whether a request to the Commissioner of Police for an investigation into misconduct in public office on the part of the President, his secretary Esther Daniel-Liverpool, and Chief Personnel Officer (CPO) Stephanie Lewis was justified.

In her advice, McGahey stated that "the case is finely balanced but I believe that there are the moment reasonable grounds to suspect that the offence of misconduct in public office has been committed.

"It is possible that further investigations will reveal correspondence to indicate that those involved in seeking or providing the allowance did not truly believe the President to be entitled to it, or were reckless as to whether he was. Equally, those investigations may show that everyone involved acted in good faith, whether or not the allowance was in fact payable on the true construction of the Salaries Review Commission Report. A proper and independent investigation should reveal the true picture," she stated.

On January 1, the Sunday Guardian reported that the SRC distanced itself from Carmona's housing allowance.

Phelps sends 4 letters to CoP

Since October 26, Phelps wrote the Commissioner of Police calling for an investigation into the matter.

Harold Philip was acting police commissioner at that time as Williams was on vacation.

Apart from the housing allowance, Phelps also raised the issue of threats and harassment to Bharath.

Phelps wrote the Commissioner of Police on three occasions after that.

The latest letter that Phelps sent was to Williams on November 28.

"I have not had any reply to any of my said letters, not even an acknowledgement. I am respectfully asking for such acknowledgement and reply please, so that I may advise my client accordingly," Phelps wrote.

In response to that letter, a letter signed on behalf of Williams, dated January 3, stated that the matter was forwarded to the Anti-Corruption Investigations Bureau.

"Your letter dated November 28th, 2016 on the subject is duly acknowledged," the letter stated.

"Please be advise that the report made by Ms Bharath was forwarded to the office of the Senior Superintendent Anti-Corruption Investigations Bureau where it is being diligently investigated by a team of officers," it stated.

"On completion, you will be informed of the findings," the letter stated.

Acting Snr Supt Yussef Alexander is currently the head of the Anti-Corruption Investigations Bureau.

No word from President's House

The Sunday Guardian called and sent text messages to communications manager at the President's House Theron Boodan to get a comment on the situation. Up to late yesterday, no response was received.

NO CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION HAS BEEN LAUNCHED—WILLIAMS

Contacted yesterday, Williams explained that the Anti-Corruption Investigations Bureau has made a "preliminary assessment" of the matter and has since written the Chief Personnel Officer.

"I have not yet seen anything related to the Justin Phelps submission on behalf of Rhoda Bharath. However, I have been able to verify that it was received at the office of the Commissioner and the administrative sergeant would have forwarded it to the Anti-Corruption Investigations Bureau," Williams said.

"A criminal investigation has not been launched into that matter. However, the Anti-Corruption Investigation Bureau by making a preliminary assessment of what has been sent has written the Office of the Chief Personnel Officer so that they can verify some information from the CPO," he said.

"On the face of that matter, having just spoken to the Senior Superintendent Anti-Corruption Bureau, on the face of it a question of whether the CPO exercised authority which is vested in her or she went beyond her authority, and if she went beyond her authority it still is not a criminal investigation. It then becomes a matter for the Public Service Commission because it will involve issues around the discipline of a public officer, so that is for the Public Service Commission to consider," he said.

"The only time that this becomes relevant for the police to consider is if it involves criminality and on the face of it, at this point in time based on the advice I have received from the Senior Superintendent of the Anti-Corruption Investigations Bureau, is that nothing has been so advanced of any criminality," Williams said.

Post by: soccerman on March 20, 2018, 02:56:33 PM
I heard he's out and we have a new President now, didn't even know it was time for a change.
Post by: Tallman on March 20, 2018, 03:03:45 PM
I heard he's out and we have a new President now, didn't even know it was time for a change.

You living in ah cave or wha?;D We have ah female President now. Paula-Mae Weekes. De inauguration was yesterday.
Post by: Deeks on March 20, 2018, 04:58:41 PM
I check out the video of her speech. Excellent. Good luck to her. I think she will make a good President for what the position entails. A figurehead, just like the queen of England. This is not a dispersion on her or her abilities. Can she do anything to alleviate the crime situation. Honestly I doubt it. But who knows, she could run for office when she retires. God Bless You, Madame.
Post by: soccerman on March 20, 2018, 11:13:46 PM
You living in ah cave or wha?;D We have ah female President now. Paula-Mae Weekes. De inauguration was yesterday.
It look so because I had no clue ;D