Sports => Quizz Time & Facts => Topic started by: vb on July 15, 2014, 03:39:30 AM

Title: TT Olympian's father.
Post by: vb on July 15, 2014, 03:39:30 AM
What TT Olympian had a father who played FC cricket for TT.

This one tough so TM go ahead.  :)

Title: Re: TT Olympian's father.
Post by: vb on July 15, 2014, 09:48:23 AM
Let me add this is a bit of a trick question.

Post by: jusbless on July 15, 2014, 05:44:57 PM
Marc Burns father Alec Burns
Post by: jusbless on July 15, 2014, 05:46:52 PM
too simple
Post by: vb on July 15, 2014, 05:51:10 PM
too simple

Ok,

but there was another before Burns.

Now show me how simple it is.  :)
Post by: vb on July 17, 2014, 03:41:34 PM
too simple

Ok,

but there was another before Burns.

Now show me how simple it is.  :)

There is no record of this on the internet that I'm aware of, so you have to be good.

TM go ahead.

Post by: Deeks on July 20, 2014, 11:46:34 AM
This too hard, man. Male, female or transgender? ;D
Post by: Deeks on July 20, 2014, 11:48:21 AM
TT, swimming, sailing, weights?
Post by: vb on July 21, 2014, 08:50:34 AM
TT, swimming, sailing, weights?

male athlete: Track.
Post by: Conquering Lion on July 22, 2014, 01:41:39 PM
Mike Agostini
Post by: vb on July 22, 2014, 01:53:58 PM
Mike Agostini

No.
Post by: Deeks on July 23, 2014, 08:42:24 PM
When did his father play for TT?
Post by: vb on July 24, 2014, 02:11:13 AM
When did his father play for TT?

In the early 1900s.
Again, there is no evidence of this on the net, that I'm aware of.

So you have to be good. ;-)
Post by: Deeks on July 24, 2014, 09:40:58 AM
Joe Goddard.
Post by: vb on July 24, 2014, 01:26:31 PM
no
Post by: Deeks on July 27, 2014, 04:57:25 PM
Did this athlete run after the 70s?
Post by: vb on July 28, 2014, 04:37:57 AM
Did this athlete run after the 70s?

No
Post by: Deeks on July 28, 2014, 08:17:28 AM
P.G. Wilson. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: vb on July 28, 2014, 05:50:36 PM
P.G. Wilson. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Yes.

No, I was joking. ;-)
Post by: Deeks on August 02, 2014, 09:50:31 AM
VB, when you go gih we this answer, man?
Post by: Deeks on August 02, 2014, 09:52:29 AM
Mannie Ramjohn!
Post by: vb on August 03, 2014, 02:44:06 PM
Deeks, yuh trying boss, yuh trying.  ;D

Two hints:

This is a bit of a trick queston.
Secondly, the answer lies with CLR James.

Good luck.  ;)

Post by: Deeks on August 04, 2014, 12:10:04 PM
Constantine
Post by: vb on August 04, 2014, 04:24:16 PM
Constantine

Was there a Constantine that went to the Olympics?

No. ;-)
Post by: Deeks on August 04, 2014, 07:41:52 PM
Lance Pierre- Laura Pierre. Ha ha!!!! Ah win   ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Deeks on August 04, 2014, 07:52:32 PM
I got wrong. Is Rafee Mohammed.
Post by: Sando prince on August 04, 2014, 10:47:09 PM
 ;D if the athlete compete for T&T such a long time ago so there is no record of this on the net, how do we verify your answer is correct?

BTW ah have no clue who it is
Post by: vb on August 05, 2014, 12:30:37 AM
;D if the athlete compete for T&T such a long time ago so there is no record of this on the net, how do we verify your answer is correct?

BTW ah have no clue who it is

Good point. It will be explained in the answer.

"The answer lies with CLR James."
Post by: Deeks on August 05, 2014, 10:31:40 AM
So you trying to get everyone to read Beyond the boundary or what?
Post by: vb on August 05, 2014, 12:57:49 PM
So you trying to get everyone to read Beyond the boundary or what?

Now yuh close. ;-)
Post by: Deeks on August 11, 2014, 08:55:08 AM
I still trying to get a copy of the book. I want to win bad, bad, bad!!!!
Post by: vb on August 11, 2014, 11:36:23 AM
It around the first three or four chapters. But I'll wait a few days and just tell you.

Remember this is a trick question.
Post by: vb on August 20, 2014, 05:16:59 PM
Deeks,
I read to give the answer if you don't mind.

Post by: Deeks on August 21, 2014, 07:06:41 AM
Deeks,
I read to give the answer if you don't mind.

nah, nah. Doh give out the answaer yet.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: vb on August 21, 2014, 04:02:16 PM
OK boss is up to you.

Post by: fishs on August 25, 2014, 08:54:50 AM
  Would somebody answer the frigging question ?

I is ah old man I doh have the time to be waiting this loooong for ah frigging answer.
 Let DEEKS look for another question
Post by: vb on August 25, 2014, 01:55:39 PM
  Would somebody answer the frigging question ?

I is ah old man I doh have the time to be waiting this loooong for ah frigging answer.
 Let DEEKS look for another question

LOL ... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: vb on August 29, 2014, 04:28:57 AM
Deeks,

you have 'til Sept. 30th.

Post by: Deeks on August 29, 2014, 10:52:39 PM
Deeks,

Ok, stah!!!
Post by: vb on October 27, 2014, 09:36:54 AM
Deeks,

Ok, stah!!!

Deeks,

people getting vex. Yuh read the book yet? ;-)

Post by: fishs on October 27, 2014, 10:34:25 AM
 Not jus vex damn vex

Deeks I know the book doh have pictures but try nah !!!
Post by: Deeks on October 27, 2014, 07:42:04 PM
Not jus vex damn vex

Deeks I know the book doh have pictures but try nah !!!

Ok go ahead and give them the answer. i eh read the book.
Post by: vb on October 29, 2014, 05:15:19 PM
As I said this was a bit of a trick question.

He is Trini and he was an Olympian.
However, he did not represent TT at the Olympics.

The answer is MacDonald Bailey.

CLR wrote about him in Beyond a Boundary.
He said as a yute, watching cricket in Tunapuna. The local fellas were practicing. A man came up. Put down his briefcase, took off his jacket and his suspenders. He had just come from work. There was a rush to provide him with pads and a bat. He batted for a while. then took his jacket and ran off  to catch the train home.

The young CLR asked who this fella was. He was told that it was ??? Bailey who played cricket for TT. He was the father of Mac Bailey.
In later years when CLR was trying to figure out which First Division side to play cricket for in TT. He asked the advice of the older Bailey.

CLR had to think because one side was the working class Blacks, the other was the brown skin and lighter blacks - it indicated your social standing and was a big thing back then.

Post by: Deeks on October 31, 2014, 08:52:45 AM
VB, yes it was indeed tricky. Well only because I did not read the book. But nice once. he came to mind but I jus could not figure if any of his family was into sport. I knew his son Robert of Bert Bailey and the Jets and Osibisa fame, was one of TT finest musicians. But nothing sporting about them. bring ah next one, I will be prepared.