Sports => Football => Topic started by: Socapro on November 15, 2014, 09:27:36 AM

Title: CAC Games Thread
Post by: Socapro on November 15, 2014, 09:27:36 AM
Makeshift T&T football team for CAC Games.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Only one player who was in the squad on Saturday for the Women’s World Cup intercontinental playoff against Ecuador, has been included in a 20-member team, set to depart tomorrow for the Central America and Caribbean (CAC) Games women’s football tournament, which kicks off on Monday.

Tenisha Palmer, a back-up goalkeeper for the senior women’s team leads a squad dominated by players otherwise from the national youth teams.

Unlike the men’s football tournament, which is limited to Under-21 players (with the exception of three players), the women’s tournament is open and has no age restrictions. However, due to the closeness in proximity to the second leg Fifa Women’s World Cup Concacaf/Comnebol playoff qualifier, the T&T team will comprise mostly national Under-20 and U-17 players.

The team will be led in the interim by national Under-15 head coach Rajesh Latchoo, while Sharon O’Brien is the team manager. According to the T&T Football Association (TTFA), an arrangement was made between Latchoo and senior women’s team head coach Randy Waldrum to exclude the players (apart from Palmer), who will be in the squad for the crucial second-leg World Cup qualifier in Port-of Spain, on December 2.

Along with Latchoo and O’Brien, the travelling staff members are Joanne Curtis (assistant coach), Claire George (equipment manager), Glennon Foncette (goalkeeper coach) and Judy Ann Harewood (physiotherapist).

The CAC Games is a qualifying event for the Olympic Games. From the women’s tournament, the top two teams will qualify for the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

The “open” women’s team will kick off its account in Group A against Haiti, on Monday. Two days later, T&T will face Mexico and then finally Colombia on Friday. Albeit with a vastly different squad, T&T faced both Haiti and Mexico at the Concacaf Championships two weeks ago. T&T defeated Haiti 1-0 at the group stage, but lost to Mexico, 4-2, in added time in the third-place playoff.

Group B includes Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Venezuela and Nicaragua. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinal stage on November 25. The semifinal winners will advance to the final, while the losers meet in a third-place match, both on November 27.

The tournament is expected to be a difficult test for the T&T team as most other teams have reportedly opted to register nearly full-strength squads.

Women’s Squad: Nicolette Craig, Tenisha Palmer; Natasha St Louis, Patrice Campbell, Danielle Findley, Anastacia Prescott, Candace Edwards, Jonelle Warrick, Jo Marie Lewis, Iyesha Ollivierre, Taylor Mims, Chelcy Ralph, Summer Arjoon, Renee Mike, Patrice Vincent, Abishai Guy, Corel Carmichael, Sherine Scott, Kenna Charles, Raenah Campbell.

Title: Re: Makeshift T&T football team for CAC Games
Post by: Jack Horner on November 15, 2014, 11:08:54 AM
Now Latchoo is working for free.

Post by: Deeks on November 15, 2014, 11:20:59 AM
Looks like no men's football at the CAC for TT this time around.
Post by: presspass on November 15, 2014, 12:26:06 PM

No, T&T would have had to qualify for the CAC Games via the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship, which we didn't even participate in. At the Caribbean Under-20 finals or the final stage of qualifiers for the CONCACAF Championship, T&T finished last in the group stage behind Haiti, Puerto Rico and Curacao in that order.
Post by: Deeks on November 15, 2014, 01:43:45 PM

No, T&T would have had to qualify for the CAC Games via the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship, which we didn't even participate in. At the Caribbean Under-20 finals or the final stage of qualifiers for the CONCACAF Championship, T&T finished last in the group stage behind Haiti, Puerto Rico and Curacao in that order.

Totally forgot about that disaster of a tournament.  Oh well, Go Ladies!!!
Post by: presspass on November 15, 2014, 02:20:17 PM
Wouldn't be too confident based on the last fine of the article. Just hope that in the worst case scenario, if we do get a series of cutarses, it isn't reflected in the next set of women national team rankings. Haiti in particular gonna have it out for us.  :-\
Post by: Flex on November 15, 2014, 04:48:36 PM
Wouldn't be too confident based on the last fine of the article. Just hope that in the worst case scenario, if we do get a series of cutarses, it isn't reflected in the next set of women national team rankings. Haiti in particular gonna have it out for us.  :-\

This is the first this team coming together, we cant expect much?

Post by: Flex on November 15, 2014, 04:51:49 PM

So I take it the U-20 mens are through to the next CAC games seeing that we are Caribbean Champs?

Post by: presspass on November 15, 2014, 07:48:19 PM

So I take it the U-20 mens are through to the next CAC games seeing that we are Caribbean Champs?

It's really not very straightforward as tournament formats change. From my understanding, T&T would need to at least compete at the CONCACAF Championship, not the CFU final round, to have a chance of qualifying for the CAC Games. You can also be invited otherwise based on performances if you don't meet the original mark. That is if qualified teams pull out.
In any case, the CAC Games is a quadrennial event and the CONCACAF U-20 Championship happens every two years. So the 2017 CONCACAF U-20 event may actually be the qualifier for the CAC Games in 2018. Who knows how that tournament will run?

Anyway, for example, Cuba and Jamaica (CFU teams) qualified for this year's CAC Games after finishing at the semifinal and quarterfinal stage of the 2013 Concacaf U-13 Championship, respectively. However, a number of Central American teams (almost all in fact) actually qualified via the 2013 Central American Games. Haiti was invited to compete at the CAC Games to replace Colombia, and what I noticed from Haiti is that they were the "best" last placed finisher in the four groups at the Concacaf Championship. 

Hope it makes sense.
Post by: Flex on November 17, 2014, 04:57:42 AM

It's really not very straightforward as tournament formats change. From my understanding, T&T would need to at least compete at the CONCACAF Championship, not the CFU final round, to have a chance of qualifying for the CAC Games. You can also be invited otherwise based on performances if you don't meet the original mark. That is if qualified teams pull out.
In any case, the CAC Games is a quadrennial event and the CONCACAF U-20 Championship happens every two years. So the 2017 CONCACAF U-20 event may actually be the qualifier for the CAC Games in 2018. Who knows how that tournament will run?

Anyway, for example, Cuba and Jamaica (CFU teams) qualified for this year's CAC Games after finishing at the semifinal and quarterfinal stage of the 2013 Concacaf U-13 Championship, respectively. However, a number of Central American teams (almost all in fact) actually qualified via the 2013 Central American Games. Haiti was invited to compete at the CAC Games to replace Colombia, and what I noticed from Haiti is that they were the "best" last placed finisher in the four groups at the Concacaf Championship. 

Hope it makes sense.

Thanx..

Post by: Flex on November 17, 2014, 04:58:16 AM
T&T women begin CAC campaign vs Haiti.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T’s women football team will face off with Haiti in their opening match of the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games at the Estadio Unidad Deportiva Hugo Sanchez in Mexico from 10 am today.

The T&T team, led by head coach Rajeezh Latchoo, includes only one member of the senior women’s team, second choice goalkeeper Teneisha Palmer. The competition is considered to be an under-21 age group competition, with up to three players born before 1 January 1993 being allowed in the squad.

T&T will meet Mexico in its second Group A match on Wednesday and will close off the group phase against Colombia two days later.

Group B consists of Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Venezuela and Nicaragua. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals which are carded for November 25, with the final slated for November 27.

“It’s a really good opportunity for our younger players to get the exposure at this tournament. At the moment the Senior Team has the return World Cup qualifier to prepare for and so we felt it would be wise to bring some of the other players to this tournament,” Latchoo told TTFA Media.

“We have the other competitions to prepare for like future youth tournaments as well as the Olympic qualifiers. I think the team now has some very capable players and they will definitely gain from the experience of playing against teams like Mexico, Haiti and Colombia,” he added.

Some of the players selected with past senior team experience include JoMarie Lewis, Natasha St Louis, Candace Edwards, Anastascia Prescott, Taylor Mims, Jonelle Warrick and Patrice Vincent.

Post by: presspass on November 17, 2014, 08:11:45 AM
T&T women begin CAC campaign vs Haiti.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T’s women football team will face off with Haiti in their opening match of the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games at the Estadio Unidad Deportiva Hugo Sanchez in Mexico from 10 am today.

The T&T team, led by head coach Rajeezh Latchoo, includes only one member of the senior women’s team, second choice goalkeeper Teneisha Palmer. The competition is considered to be an under-21 age group competition, with up to three players born before 1 January 1993 being allowed in the squad.

T&T will meet Mexico in its second Group A match on Wednesday and will close off the group phase against Colombia two days later.

Group B consists of Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Venezuela and Nicaragua. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals which are carded for November 25, with the final slated for November 27.

“It’s a really good opportunity for our younger players to get the exposure at this tournament. At the moment the Senior Team has the return World Cup qualifier to prepare for and so we felt it would be wise to bring some of the other players to this tournament,” Latchoo told TTFA Media.

“We have the other competitions to prepare for like future youth tournaments as well as the Olympic qualifiers. I think the team now has some very capable players and they will definitely gain from the experience of playing against teams like Mexico, Haiti and Colombia,” he added.

Some of the players selected with past senior team experience include JoMarie Lewis, Natasha St Louis, Candace Edwards, Anastascia Prescott, Taylor Mims, Jonelle Warrick and Patrice Vincent.

This appears to be an unedited press release from the TTFA. The women's tournament is actually an open tournament unlike the men's, which is under-21 (with three exceptions). Lawd.
Post by: Socapro on November 17, 2014, 09:54:43 AM
CAC women start against Haiti
Story Created:    Nov 17, 2014 at 2:37 AM ECT (T&T Express)

Trinidad and Tobago’s women’s football team will face off with Haiti in their opening match of the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games at the Estadio Unidad Deportiva Hugo Sanchez in Mexico from 10am today.

The T&T team, led by head coach Rajeezh Latchoo, includes only one member of the current senior women’s team, second choice goalkeeper Teneisha Palmer. The competition is considered to be an Under-21 age group competition, with up to three players born before January 1, 1993 being allowed in the squad.

T&T will meet Mexico in their second Group A match on Wednesday and will close off the group phase against Colombia two days later.

Group B consists of Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Venezuela and Nicaragua. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals which are carded for November 25th with the Final slated for November 27th.

Post by: presspass on November 17, 2014, 10:06:50 AM
Fuentes also has the match starting at 10 am. It started at 12.

http://uk.women.soccerway.com/matches/2014/11/17/world/cac-games-women/haiti/trinidad-and-tobago/1966855/

Again, it's an open tournament for the women led by Rajesh Latchoo, not "Rajeezh Latchoo".

Express, Newsday and Guardian all had the same untouched press release.
Post by: Socapro on November 17, 2014, 10:11:22 AM
Fuentes also has the match starting at 10 am. It's started at 12.

http://uk.women.soccerway.com/matches/2014/11/17/world/cac-games-women/haiti/trinidad-and-tobago/1966855/

Again, it's an open tournament for the women led by Rajesh Latchoo, not "Rajeezh Latchoo".

Post by: elan on November 17, 2014, 11:30:36 AM

The game is at 14.00 which is 2pm CST which is 3 pm EST, which is 4 pm TT

http://info.veracruz2014.mx/info/eng/zz/engzz_daily_competition_schedule_date=2014_11_17.htm (http://info.veracruz2014.mx/info/eng/zz/engzz_daily_competition_schedule_date=2014_11_17.htm)
Post by: presspass on November 17, 2014, 11:44:37 AM
Thanks. had another source which said 10 am CST. Strange, because assuming the match started at midday, I saw a score on Soccerway that had Haiti as leading 1-0 in the first half. But the time I reloaded the page, the score was gone.
Post by: Sando prince on November 17, 2014, 12:18:49 PM
I know Haiti will be aiming for revenge after T&T recently beat them at the CONCACAF Championship. I hope this makeshift T&T team pull out a victory. Good luck ladies
Post by: elan on November 17, 2014, 02:51:55 PM
T&T vs Haiti

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B2q50eBCUAAA7n2.jpg)
Post by: elan on November 17, 2014, 03:11:41 PM
Al primer tiempo, #Haiti 1-0 #TrinidadYTobago con un gol de Roselord Borgella al minuto 26. #Futbol #Veracruz2014
Post by: elan on November 17, 2014, 03:12:18 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B2rB5JMCEAAtjs8.jpg)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B2rB5JVCAAEBN-j.jpg)
Post by: presspass on November 17, 2014, 03:53:07 PM
 :o T&T back in it.. Patrice Campbell equalized in the 51st. The match has roughly 10 minutes left.

Ok, so Kennya Cordner is in the team and went in as a sub in the 72nd minute.
Post by: Socapro on November 17, 2014, 03:58:26 PM
:o T&T back in it.. Patrice Campbell equalized in the 51st. The match has roughly 10 minutes left.

Ok, so Kennya Cordner is in the team and went in as a sub in the 72nd minute.

Can we get the link for the live updates please?
Post by: Socapro on November 17, 2014, 04:05:10 PM
Okay, I got the link for the live updates, its: http://info.veracruz2014.mx/info/eng/fb/engfb_football_results_women_w400_a_01.htm
Post by: presspass on November 17, 2014, 04:47:22 PM
Safe 1-1 FT.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 17, 2014, 04:54:04 PM
Okay, I got the link for the live updates, its: http://info.veracruz2014.mx/info/eng/fb/engfb_football_results_women_w400_a_01.htm

Women’s Squad: Nicolette Craig, Tenisha Palmer; Natasha St Louis, Patrice Campbell, Danielle Findley, Anastacia Prescott, Candace Edwards, Jonelle Warrick, Jo Marie Lewis, Iyesha Ollivierre, Taylor Mims, Chelcy Ralph, Summer Arjoon, Renee Mike, Patrice Vincent, Abishai Guy, Corel Carmichael, Sherine Scott, Kenna Charles, Raenah Campbell.

I eh see all these names on that link?
Post by: Orient Trini on November 17, 2014, 04:56:45 PM
Safe 1-1 FT.

Thank you Presspass.
I was on all TTFA social media accounts and nothing. No updates whatsoever.
Does anyone know who runs the Media department in the TTFA and can anyone offer me an email address so I can send a complaint?

I recently sat in front of my laptop for the Trinidad and Tobago game vs Curacao last Tuesday at 10:30pm UK time expecting to be updated minute by minute like almost every single club's twitter account would do over here to be updated via the TTFA twitter account every 20 minutes or so.

Absolutely painful to sit for 20 minutes wondering. Maybe whoever runs the account thinks it will build up the nerves  ;D 
Post by: Deeks on November 17, 2014, 06:36:44 PM
For a makeshift team, they did ok. Or were they training in secret and we did not know.
Post by: Deeks on November 17, 2014, 06:45:55 PM
How come the women wearing addidas and not Joma?
Post by: elan on November 17, 2014, 06:54:53 PM
For a makeshift team, they did ok. Or were they training in secret and we did not know.

They had 2 session Friday and Saturday. They arrived in Mexico this morning a couple hours before the game so they did really well.
Post by: elan on November 17, 2014, 06:55:26 PM
How come the women wearing addidas and not Joma?

TTOC wears adidas so they are part of the TTOC contingent.
Post by: Sando prince on November 17, 2014, 11:00:55 PM

Yes good result for this team  :applause:

I hope this result will give them more motivation
Post by: Tallman on November 18, 2014, 07:29:59 AM
Apparently Haiti only had 11 players available for de match. Two of their goalkeepers played as midfielders/forwards.
Post by: Sam on November 18, 2014, 09:52:23 AM

And this man is de official press officer.

So Rajesh went from indian to spanish.

Post by: presspass on November 18, 2014, 09:58:31 AM

Yuh want to get in trouble wit d bossman owa. He is the Director of Communications! And you can spot him from far away with that massive ego!

Post by: Sam on November 18, 2014, 10:25:49 AM

Yuh want to get in trouble wit d bossman owa. He is the Director of Communications! And you can spot him from far away with that massive ego!

Yuh eh see how long de man beak getting. Like he does real dig he nose.

Post by: dwolfman on November 18, 2014, 10:39:01 PM
Mexico and Colombia also drew 1-1 in the group.
Post by: Tallman on November 19, 2014, 02:52:16 PM
T&T starting XI vs Mexico:
Tenesha Palmer (GK), Taylor Mims, Jonelle Warrick, JoMarie Lewis, Abishai Guy, Chelcy Ralph, Candace Edwards, Natasha St. Louis, Iyesha Ollivierre, Anastascia Prescott, Danielle Findley
Post by: Sando prince on November 19, 2014, 03:33:46 PM

Go for the win ladies !  :beermug:
Post by: elan on November 19, 2014, 03:58:51 PM
Mexico 1 vs T&T 0
Corral 45'
Post by: Socapro on November 19, 2014, 04:06:18 PM
Mexico 5 - 0 T&T; match now in 2nd half.

http://info.veracruz2014.mx/info/eng/zz/engzz_football_sport_schedule.htm
Post by: Tallman on November 19, 2014, 04:53:26 PM
FINAL: Mexico Women whipped T&T 6-0 at the Central American and Caribbean Games in Veracruz, Mexico today. Goals were scored by Charlyn Corral (45’, 55’, 64’, 70’), Maribel Domínguez (46’), and Carolina Jaramillo (60’).
Post by: presspass on November 21, 2014, 12:00:02 PM
T&T's women's team closed its account at the CAC Games with a 7-0 loss to Colombia in the third and final  group stage match.

Colombia 7 (Katherine Arias 6th, Diana Ospina 16th pen, Iyesha Ollivierre own goal 32nd, Ingrid Vidal 33rd, Katerin Castro 77th, 79th, Hazleydi Rincon 90th+3) v T&T 0

This follows a 1-1 draw with Haiti and a 6-0 loss to Mexico.

Tough, but Mexico and Colombia went to win. Team T&T went for exposure and experience. 
Post by: dwolfman on November 21, 2014, 02:54:27 PM
International opportunities are so few and far between one can't fault that exposure plan. They still have classification matches to play.
Post by: Deeks on November 21, 2014, 03:10:30 PM
It is obvious the WC game next  2 weeks had an effect on which team would be at this CAC. Had they qualified for the WC, they could have used the WC to get added match practice. And I am certain  that  they would not have been beaten so badly. But this is also experience the "2nd team" will have gained.
Post by: Tallman on November 21, 2014, 03:50:37 PM
HIGHLIGHTS of Colombia Women’s 7-0 thrashing of T&T.

https://www.youtube.com/v/un2R1nXwyPI
Post by: asylumseeker on November 21, 2014, 06:18:31 PM
It's one thing to say that participating in this tournament gives the participants experience, but it's another thing to apply a structure to build on them having gone. If we didn't know before, the evidence in the video confirms/demonstrates that we are significantly further off than building on mere experience. If we are to bridge the gap between the WNT and the next wave of players, a full court press has to take place right now. Essentially the U-12s to U-16s (at home and abroad) are real crucial for focus. My fear is we have a void following this WNT, and a long period in the wilderness unless the WNT prevails and stays in the mix for a while.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 21, 2014, 08:18:08 PM
Who paying Latchoo for this mission? Or is this voluntarism for "the experience" too?  :P
Post by: Tallman on November 21, 2014, 09:55:38 PM
My fear is we have a void following this WNT, and a long period in the wilderness unless the WNT prevails and stays in the mix for a while.

Our U-20 team is a decent crop of young ladies, but if we not keeping dem active, we go suffer.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 22, 2014, 06:23:22 AM
My fear is we have a void following this WNT, and a long period in the wilderness unless the WNT prevails and stays in the mix for a while.

Our U-20 team is a decent crop of young ladies, but if we not keeping dem active, we go suffer.

Dahis good to hear. Aside from technical ability, work ethic is a concern I've heard aired regarding the understudies.

I suppose the issue is how much time they have before they get tossed in at the deep end to replace the preceding generation. There should be a buffer U-23 group.
Post by: Michael-j on November 22, 2014, 08:24:00 AM

Dahis good to hear. Aside from technical ability, work ethic is a concern I've heard aired regarding the understudies.

I suppose the issue is how much time they have before they get tossed in at the deep end to replace the preceding generation. There should be a buffer U-23 group.

True. But I don't expect a mass departure of players from the senior team once this campaign is over. From the information available the present womens senior team seems to be a relatively young group , averaging about 25 yrs I would estimate, so I would expect many of them to be around for at least another WC campaign to form the core around which a team inclusive of new, younger players can be developed.
Title: Re: Women Warriors Thread
Post by: Flex on June 06, 2018, 12:40:58 AM
T&T Women and Men’s teams get CAC Games Groupings.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women’s Team will come up against Mexico, Haiti and Nicaragua in Group B of the Women’s football tournament at the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games in Barranquilla, Colombia in July.

T&T will face Mexico in their opening match on July 20th at the Estadio Moderno Julio Torres. They then face Nicaragua on July 22nd and Haiti on July 24th. Group A comprises of Costa Rica, hosts Colombia, Venezuela and Jamaica. The Group winners and runners up will advance to the semi finals. The Gold Medal and Bronze Medal matches are scheduled for July 30th.

T&T Women’s head coach Jamaal Shabazz said these matches would be ideal for his players to challenge themselves against good quality opposition and will serve well ahead of the CONCACAF Caribbean Final Round of World Cup qualifiers in August.

“These matches in the CAC Games are providing  a great opportunity for us to measure where we are at CONCACAF level,” Shabazz told TTFA Media.

“In football you cannot elevate by being a blogger. You improve by raising your standard when you meet tougher opposition. Mexico, Nicaragua and Haiti are certainly tougher opposition but we are ambitious enough to at least desire a medal in this CAC games. Allahu ‘Alim and God knows best,” Shabazz continued.

The Trinidad and Tobago Men’s Under 20 team will also appear at the CAC Games and are in Group A alongside Colombia, Costa Rica and Honduras. The Men’s tournament is for under 21 players with teams allowed three players over the age of 21. T&T will face Honduras on July 20th at the Rogelio Martinez Stadium in Barranquilla, followed by Costa Rica on July 22nd and Colombia on July 24th. Group B comprises Mexico, Venezuela, El Salvador and Haiti. The Gold and Bronze Medal matches are scheduled for July 31st. The T&T U-20 Men’s Team is preparing for the CONCACAF Men’s U-20 World Cup qualifiers in November.

Title: Re: CAC Games Thread
Post by: Deeks on June 06, 2018, 03:36:29 PM
I am glad to see the TTFA giving these "small" tournaments some relevant importance. Next is Panam games and the Olympics. Baby-steps.
Post by: Flex on June 24, 2018, 12:45:34 AM
King to join T&T women’s team for CAC Games.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

EXPERIENCED central defender Arin King is set to join the T&T women’s football team for the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games, which will take place in Barranquilla, Colombia from July 19-30.

The T&T team have been drawn in Group B, where they will take on Mexico (July 20), Nicaragua (July 22) and Haiti (July 24). Group A will feature hosts Colombia, Costa Rica, Jamaica and Venezuela.

The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals, slated for July 27, with the final, and third-place match, set for July 30.

T&T coach Jamaal Shabazz said in an interview on Thursday, “Arin King is supposed to come in by next week (to the training squad).”

King has been out of the T&T team for the past year due to injury.

Shabazz mentioned during the recent CONCACAF Women’s Championship Qualification (Caribbean Zone) Group C qualifiers that the T&T team will be using the CAC Games as preparation for the Caribbean Zone Final Round qualifiers, which will be contested in Jamaica from August 25 to September 2.

There is uncertainty over the status of veteran winger Kennya “Ya Ya” Cordner, who suffered an injury recently.

There are three newcomers in the training squad – winger Tori Romano, midfielder Meyah Romeo (both United States born) and winger Melissa Baynes (Canada-born).

“We have a couple foreign (born) players,” said Shabazz. “We have Tori Romano, she’s 15 years old and is more than a storm in a teacup. She’s quite a tinymite but more than a handful.

“Melissa Baynes also (chose) to come in on Saturday,” added the T&T women’s team coach.

National Under-17 striker Afiyah Cornwall is also in the training squad and Shabazz pointed out, “She’s settled down nice with the seniors.”

The former Guyana and T&T men’s team coach said, “The girls have been making a good effort, training four days a week. The younger ones have exams. So, we’re balancing between exams with some of the younger ones and new players coming in, who we’re looking at right now.”

National Under-20 midfielder Shenieka Paul is still recovering from a knee injury which forced her to miss the Caribbean Zone First Round qualifiers.

US-born utility player Liana Hinds also missed those Caribbean Zone matches due to injury. Shabazz said, “She’s expected to come in (to the training squad), in early July.”

Post by: Flex on June 28, 2018, 12:47:34 AM
T&T Under 20 Men step up preparations for CAC Games.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 20 Men’s Team is currently engaged in preparations for next month’s Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games in Colombia.

Head Coach Russell Latapy has been conducting sessions at the TTFA Home of Football with training shifting to the Larry Gomes Stadium on Friday. Among the players working under Latapy is T&T Senior Men’s team defender Triston Hodge one of the three players over the age of 21 who will be allowed to participate in the competition.

T&T in Group A alongside hosts Colombia, Costa Rica and Honduras. The Men’s tournament is for under 21 players with teams allowed three players over the age of 21. T&T will face Honduras on July 20th at the Rogelio Martinez Stadium in Barranquilla, followed by Costa Rica on July 22nd and Colombia on July 24th. Group B comprises Mexico, Venezuela, El Salvador and Haiti. The Gold and Bronze Medal matches are scheduled for July 31st.

T&T U-20 midfielder John Paul Rochford is anticipating the upcoming fixtures, saying that it would serve as worthwhile preparations for the CONCACAF U-20 World Cu qualifiers in Florida in November.

“Things are going along well. The team he (Latapy) has selected for the CAC games has the core of the squad that he wants to participate in the World Cup qualifiers in November. So once we stick together and continue training as a unit then we will be ready for the games,” Rochford told TTFA Media on Tuesday.

Rochford, who was the topscorer with three goals in the recent Guadeloupe Six-Nation Tourney, is also keeping a keen interest in the ongoing World Cup in Russia as he focuses on his efforts for T&T.

“It’s a privilege and pleasure to be part of this team and also an honour to represent my country at the Under 20 level, the CAC Games and the World Cup qualifiers. I’m continuing to view this World Cup and learn from it. The football has been amazing and I will continue to learn from with tactical and positional observances,” Rochford added.

T&T captain Jayden Prowell meantime is remaining focused on the upcoming assignments.

“Things are shaping pretty well. Everyone is working really hard and digesting the knowledge that the coaches are trying to impart upon us. We are eager to play these games which are imminent,” said Prowell who recently returned from a training sting with Porto FC in Portugal.

“The key to us doing well will be to play to the coach’s instructions and be confident in what we do. It’s really good working under coach (Latapy). He has a lot of knowledge and we are very fortunate to have him as our coach. We are trying our best to develop ourselves not just as footballer players but as individuals,” Prowell stated.

The T&T U-20 Men’s Team is also preparing for the CONCACAF Men’s U-20 World Cup qualifiers in November.

Videos -

T&T U-20 Men get ready for CAC Games (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lmbh1M9--7E)

T&T U-20 Men look ahead to CAC Games in Colombia (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tz-1YC2JaV4)

Post by: Deeks on June 28, 2018, 04:16:06 AM
Is Justin Jadoo on this team?
Post by: Flex on July 11, 2018, 12:27:30 AM
Senior Women shift focus to CAC Games in Colombia.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women’s Team are completing their final few days of preparations on home soil before departing for Colombia to contest the Central American and Caribbean Games.

T&T, coached by Jamaal Shabazz and including defender Arin King and goalkeeper Kimika Forbes who are back in training having recovered from injuries. will open their Group B account against Mexico at the Estadio Moderno Julio Torres in Barranquilla on July 20th. Two days later they face Nicaragua before closing the group stage against Haiti on July 24th. Group A comprises hosts Colombia, Venezuela, Jamaica and Costa Rica. The group winners and runners up will move onto the semi finals on July 27th with the bronze medal and gold medal matches scheduled for July 30th.

As Shabazz puts the squad their its paces, the spirit in the camp is an upbeat one as T&T also looks ahead to the final CONCACAF Caribbean round of World Cup qualifying in Kingston, Jamaica in August.

Experienced midfielder Karyn Forbes recognises the value of the upcoming matches in Colombia.

“We are working really hard at the moment especially on fitness and organization. The mood is really great and it’s just for us to keep our heads down and stay focused,” Forbes told TTFA Media following a session at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium.

“We need to be a bit more focused going into these games simply because of the fact that we are going to play Mexico, Haiti and Nicaragua which are all organised teams. We also have some new players in the squad including the return of my sister Kimika (Forbes) and Arin King as well as other players like Liana Hinds coming back in. We know these opponents and their capabilities, so we will be taking each game at step at a time and trying to ensure we are as solid as possible,” she added.

The return of King and Forbes who missed the early part of CONCACAF Caribbean World Cup qualifiers is a much welcomed boost to the team according to Forbes.

“Having them back in the team gives us more stability from the back come up. Arin brings her experience from Canada and Kimika from Colombia. It’s about having everyone helping the team in the best way possible. The mood now is really good. We are trying to push the younger players seeing they are part of the next generation coming forward. When my era moves out of the football, they have to take up the mantle and help the country as best as they can,” Forbes said.

Under 20 team player Natisha John is also anticipating the chance to stake a claim with the senior team.

“It has been a great experience so far. It’s fun being a younger player and the older ones motivate players like myself a lot. They are always behind us to push more.  And then being one of the younger ones means I have to push myself more to keep up with the rest,” John said. “As a team communication is key for us. We try to have fun as much as possible but we are serious when it comes to preparation and games.

“I think we have it in us to bring it home when we get to Jamaica and secure a spot in the CONCACAF Finals. We know the Caribbean teams tend to come strongly at us so we know we have to bring our A-game. This CAC Games will also present with a good opportunity to get some match time before we travel to Jamaica for the qualifiers,” John said.

Post by: Dutty Love on July 15, 2018, 09:14:04 PM
Roster?
Title: Latapy’s Under 20s aim to compete strongly at CAC Games
Post by: Tallman on July 17, 2018, 06:38:31 PM
Latapy’s Under 20s aim to compete strongly at CAC Games
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men’s Team was scheduled to arrive in Barranquilla today ahead of their opening match on Friday at the Romelio Martínez Stadium, Barranquilla.

Head coach Russell Latapy finalised his team on the weekend for what is expected to be three critical matches in preparation for the 2018 CONCACAF Men’s Championship in November which also serves as Under 20 World Cup qualifiers.

“The main focus is on preparation for the Under 20 Qualifiers at CONCACAF Level in November so the squad selection for the CAC Games was made with that in mind,” Latapy told TTFA Media.

“We are taking players who are18 and 19 years old but we also needed some experience at the back and are very fortunate to have Triston Hodge from the senior team making the trip with us,” Latapy added. “He can guide the younger players and be our leader on the pitch.

“We have been working on our defensive organization and these games will be perfect for us to see where exactly where we at,” Latapy said.

“Our opening game is against Honduras which is CONCACAF opposition and this will give us a chance to test ourselves against similar type teams we will face in November. We have a chance to face Costa Rica for a second time this year and of course the host nation Colombia will be a very good test for us and a great opportunity for the boys to challenge themselves against quality opponents,” Latapy added.

Hodge is also anticipating the chance to represent T&T at the Games.

“It’s a really good opportunity for us to get three proper matches. It’s been a great experience working with this team under coach Russell and I’m really looking forward to the games as I think the squad is capable of pulling off some strong performances in Colombia and getting in the practice they need for the CONCACAF qualifiers in November,” Hodge said.

Following the opener against Honduras, T&T faces Costa Rica on July 22nd and Colombia on July 24th. Group B comprises Mexico, Venezuela, Haiti and El Salvador. The semi finals takes place with the top two teams from each group on July 28th with the gold and bronze medal matches set for July 31st.

T&T 20-man  Squad
Ethan Bonaparte, Rivaldo Coryat, Jerrin Jackie, Derron John, Shaqkeem Joseph, Isaiah Garcia, Darnell Hospedales, Jayden Prowell, John Paul Rochford, Kierron Mason, Denzil Smith, Jessie Williams, Judah Garcia, Triston Hodge, Mark Ramdeen, Nickel Orr, Jodel Brown, Jarred Dass, Isaiah Lee and Jadel Poon Lewis.
Title: T&T Women and Men’s U20 team start CAC campaign tomorrow
Post by: Tallman on July 19, 2018, 06:45:43 PM
T&T Women and Men’s U20 team start CAC campaign tomorrow
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago Women’s Senior Football and Men’s Under 20 team will be hoping to kick off their Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games in campaign on a positive note when they commence their respective group phase assignments in Barranquilla tomorrow (Friday).

The T&T Women will come up against Concacaf powers Mexico from 7pm (8pm TT Time) at the Estadio Moderno Julio Torres while the Men’s team, comprising of mostly under 20 players and three overage played including senior team defender Triston Hodge will face Honduras from 4pm (5pm TT time) at the Estadio Romelio Martinez.

The Women’s best finish at the CAC Games came in 2010 when they picked up silver medals, losing to Venezuela in the final in Puerto Rico. The Men’ best finish was also silver medal performance when they lost to Cuba in the 1974 Final in Santo Domingo. T&T’s next best performance followed in 1998, when they came in fourth place, losing to Costa Rica 6-1 in the third place playoff in Maracaibo, Venezuela. T&T had beaten Jamaica 3-2 in the quarter finals.

T&T ’s Women will come up against a Mexican outfit that includes striker Charlyn Corral, last season’s top scorer from Levante UD soccer club. Mexico are the defending women champions and their team also includes various overseas players, including Atletico Madrid’s defender Kenti Robles from Spanish league La Liga, as well as five other prominent players from the US soccer league. They defeated Colombia 2-0 in the final in 2014 in Vera Cruz.

“We are here to compete as best as we can and our first aim will be to achieve results that can take us into the knockout stage,” Shabazz said,

“The players are very eager to enter the competition because they see this tournament as the ideal opportunity to challenge themselves against some top quality opposition before we enter the final round of the CONCACAF Caribbean qualifiers next month. We are grateful for these matches.  The players have been working hard in training and staying disciplined and focused on the task ahead of them. We know what Mexico offers and we are anticipating a difficult encounter but not one in which we will back down at any time,” Shabazz said.

On the men’s side, Latapy said that despite some challenges with the conditions in Barranquilla, his team is ready to give it their best in the opening fixture.

“In terms of the trip so far I would say that it as been a very tiresome one in terms of our traveling to get here as we had to come in two different groups on two separate days.  In terms of the organisation I think they are a bit behind in terms of being ready for a Games of this magnitude but we’ll get on with it,” Latapy told TTFA Media on Thursday.

“In saying that, the preparation is ongoing. I am happy to say that this team is really looking forward to these matches in preparation for the CONCACAF qualifiers in November. We have five under 17 players in this squad and one player who is sixteen. In relation to moving forward I think this is the direction we want to go with in relation to planning for the future.

“I am quietly confident that a lot of the things we have been working on, we will show in this tournament. It is important that these players have an opportunity to experience international football at the highest level which will be invaluable experience going into the November tournament and we will be looking to compete against the other teams,” said the former Porto player.

“We know Honduras will be a physically strong team and we will prepare to face that. We want to keep working on our defensive organisation in these games. Technically all of our players are solid enough. Our biggest issue is what we do when we do not have the ball and hopefully in this tournament our players can get a better understanding of this aspect as we continue the preparation process. We have one final session later today where we’ll go over a few things before the match,” Latapy added.
Post by: Deeks on July 19, 2018, 08:02:27 PM
Pity Saddoo could not be on the team. I see Dass is on the team. Is he still at a US university?
Post by: Tallman on July 19, 2018, 09:39:06 PM
Pity Saddoo could not be on the team. I see Dass is on the team. Is he still at a US university?

Yes, he's at Stony Brook University.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 20, 2018, 06:12:53 PM
Finding live coverage of the men's tournament (https://youtu.be/9JRslz80Qt8) but not the women's. Anyone have the women's game?
Post by: asylumseeker on July 20, 2018, 06:32:11 PM
The men lost 2-0 to Honduras. Both goals were scored in the first half.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 20, 2018, 06:34:42 PM
Women started as follows versus Mexico:

Forbes, Russell, Cunningham, Belgrave, King, Superville, Shade, St. Louis, Francois, Forbes, Hinds.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 20, 2018, 06:48:42 PM
Goal in the 31' by Monica Ocampo. Yellow card for Forbes. There was an interruption in play because the net was damaged during the play leading to the goal or by the shot. Powerful strike.

Mexico 1 T&T 0.

EDIT: Score remains unchanged at half-time.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 20, 2018, 07:21:58 PM
México 2 T&T 0 at 53'.

Monica Ocampo scores her second goal of the encounter.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 20, 2018, 07:27:50 PM
Two goals in quick succession. 3-1.

Mexico at 54' and T&T at 57'.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 20, 2018, 07:34:16 PM
4-1 @ 66'.

EDIT: 5-1 @ 70'.

And that's how it ends.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 21, 2018, 06:55:43 AM
T&T Men and Women Go Down in Open CAC Encounters
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Men and Women’s Team suffered opening day losses at the Central American and Caribbean Games in Barranquilla, Colombia on Friday night. The Men, comprising of mostly under 20 players went down 2-0 to Honduras, conceding goals before the half time interval and ending the match a man down after Jerren Jackie was red carded for a second bookable offence. The Women’s Senior Team were handed a 5-1 loss by Mexico in their encounter.

At the Estadio Rogelio Martinez, T&T held their own for much of the first half against an Honduran outfit that included players physically bigger and more robust than Russell Latapy’s men. It was all event until the 31st minute when captain and defender Denil Maldonado put his effort past goalkeeper Denzil Smith from a wide incoming ball.

And T&T took some time to gather themselves before falling further behind four minutes before half time when Eduardo Cruz left the score at 2-0.

There were no further goals after that but T&T instead loss captain Triston Hodge to injury as he has to be taken to hospital but was later said to be out of danger. Jackie was sent off nearing the end after picking up an earlier yellow card in the 63rd.

“Not a bad performance. We were nice and solid in the first thirty minutes playing against a bigger and stronger team than us,” Latapy told TTFA Media after the win.

“Again I have to stress that this is preparation for us for the qualifiers in November. I am quite happy with the way the game went. But we still have to improve a lot. We have to be much better in our retention of the ball. We are winning things, breaking up plays in midfield and not able to keep the ball. We were compact enough and getting the ball in wide areas but just disappointing in the use of the ball and we give away too cheaply at times That caused us to have to work too hard to get it back and we got tired in the end,” he added.

Describing the goals conceded, Latapy thought they were preventable .

“We lost two goals that I thought were avoidable. One came from a corner but fair play to Honduras in that they were able to do things we were not able to do even though we have been working on it which is blocking players and preventing them from getting a free header and they scored on us in that way. And then seven minutes or so later there was some indecision with a ball played over the top and not deciding which player should cover and and which should attack the ball, allowing a simple cut back into the penalty spot and the boy slips it away.

“We were solid enough in the second half but all in all keeping in mind that this is development and preparation for November, we are heading there although we have a lot of work to do. As a nation we have to face the reality that we are playing against teams that have players playing in the professional leagues and overseas as well and some our boys, as talented as they are with as much potential as young players, some of them are not even playing in our Pro League. And with the lack of international matches we are always going to suffer and it is always going to be a learning experience.

“If we are going to qualify for a World Cup, then we need to have something in place that would allow us to play the number of games needed at this level. Some of the things we got caught out on today was not doing things at the right time, making fouls at the right time… falling down at the right time, being able to slow down the rhythm of the game when the tempo is against us, being able to quicken up the tempo of the game and play the ball forward in the right areas when we are on the front foot.  These things come with experience.

I have a couple players here who have not played five games at this level and it is difficult to just be thrown into a tournament like this. This is how you gain experience and I will say and ask continuously for the support that this team needs because a lot of these kids potentially are good players but it is always going to be an uphill battle if they don’t get the experience. We have another game to play in a couple days and we will prepare and again go into the contest with the intention of giving it our best and trying to improve every step of the way towards November,” Latapy concluded.

Colombia defeated Costa Rica 1-0 in the other Group A encounter on Friday. T&T faces Costa Rica on Sunday from 5pm TT Time.

Over at Estadio Moderno, T&T’s Women got a 57th minute item from Liana Hinds but that would be all they could muster against a well oiled Mexican team. Monica Ocampo scored the opening two goals in the 20th and 53rd minutes. Mexico’s third goal came in the 54th through Victoria Corral before Hinds made it 3-1. Kalyn Johnson (66th) and Vaitiare Robles in the 70th were the other goalscorers.

Haiti forfeited their Group B match to Nicaragua as at least seven of their players did not arrive in Barranquilla for the encounter, left stranded in Dominican Republic due to issues with travel documents.

T&T will face Nicaragua on Sunday from 5pm TT time.
Post by: kounty on July 21, 2018, 07:30:33 AM
TTFA Media

“Not a bad performance. We were nice and solid in the first thirty minutes playing against a bigger and stronger team than us,” Latapy told TTFA Media after the win.

Bring back Fuentes!?!?! lawd. this is the state we reach!

Not a comment from Shabbaz?

And I remember when there was hintings of discrimination when Lataz wasn't getting the head coaching jobs in Scotland -- dundee etc. but plain talk, bad manners -- add up this man record.. I wouldn't put he to coach my fete match team self. Cuz we always had a great game.
Post by: Tallman on July 21, 2018, 01:21:34 PM
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago U-20’s 2-0 loss to Honduras at the 2018 Central American and Caribbean Games. The goals can be seen at 1m05s and 1m42s.

https://www.youtube.com/v/rUNg4g-Le0A
Post by: vb on July 21, 2018, 02:17:28 PM
TTFA Media

Bring back Fuentes!?!?! lawd. this is the state we reach!

Not a comment from Shabbaz?

And I remember when there was hintings of discrimination when Lataz wasn't getting the head coaching jobs in Scotland -- dundee etc. but plain talk, bad manners -- add up this man record.. I wouldn't put he to coach my fete match team self. Cuz we always had a great game.

I was thinking the same thing before the tournament.

Just curious, did he have any warm ups at all?

Post by: lefty on July 22, 2018, 11:30:56 AM
yuh seein obvious signs of poor technique, positioning, decision making, off d ball play, defensive structure......... my word :yellowcard: >:( :(
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 22, 2018, 03:40:10 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ix1Gtc9j34

trinidad vs costa rica live
Post by: asylumseeker on July 22, 2018, 04:06:42 PM
Just saw what at first impression seemed to be a dubious offside call by the AR as the half closed and we had a gem of an opening on goal.

Anyhow ... there are good players in this squad, especially when one looks at the attacking elements. And, yuh can see Latas' frustrations. For one, the shots on goal are below par and certainly below the level of some of the passing as the attack builds.

Generally, the decision-making is unrefined for this age group.

There is a glaring deficit in the Back Four's understanding of what's required of them. The issue is bigger than them but it doesn't appear that they've worked as a unit on the training ground on when and where to move relative to the ball.

Was very disappointed to see Denzil concede a corner he had no business conceding (again towards the end of the half). Given his experience, he should have known that ball was way wide of the post.

All of that occurred in < 5 minutes viewing
Post by: asylumseeker on July 22, 2018, 05:10:48 PM
Respectable scoreline. However, no real progress can be had without investment. They need matches outside of T&T and/or to face quality foreign opponents consistently.
Post by: soccerman on July 22, 2018, 05:56:44 PM
What was the score?
Post by: JRtheWriter on July 22, 2018, 06:21:26 PM
Haven't gotten to see too too much but the defense of what I did see looked horrible. They looked unorganized, uncomfortable with the ball, and had some horrible marking. Every corner at least one person was wide open.

The offense looked pretty good though and you can tell we've got some talented kids, they were just indecisive with the ball. They need more experience as a team.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 22, 2018, 08:46:34 PM
What was the score?

3-2. It was 3-0 going into the interval. Rochford converted a penalty and Nickel Orr contributed the second item in a moment of conviction, enterprise and skill.

A point was available to us.

The Rochfords and international goals ...
Post by: asylumseeker on July 23, 2018, 06:19:05 AM
The women needed a win and ended up with a draw. Final score 2-2 despite leading 2-0.
Post by: Tallman on July 23, 2018, 09:38:13 AM
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago U-20’s 3-2 loss to Costa Rica

https://www.youtube.com/v/3D88ug2CKn8

FULL GAME: Costa Rica U-21 vs Trinidad and Tobago U-20

https://www.youtube.com/v/ynx6x6FnvIs
Post by: FF on July 23, 2018, 10:42:25 AM
The women needed a win and ended up with a draw. Final score 2-2 despite leading 2-0.

Shabazz team taking a lead and surrendering it?

Sounds vaguely familiar  :thinking:
Post by: Sando prince on July 23, 2018, 08:25:07 PM
another day same shit in TnT football...and why is Shabazz coaching any team? he has a history of failure, when will we learn
Title: Women held 2-2 by Nicaragua, T&T Men’s U-20 fight back in 3-2 loss to Costa Rica
Post by: Tallman on July 23, 2018, 08:50:41 PM
Women held 2-2 by Nicaragua, T&T Men’s U-20 fight back in 3-2 loss to Costa Rica
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women gave up a two-goal lead to Nicaragua while the Men pulled two items back in a late fight with Costa Rica as action continued in the Football competitions of the Central American and Caribbean Games in Barranquilla, Colombia on Sunday evening.

Needing at least a win at the Estadia Moderno to cement a place in the semi finals after Haiti forfeited their matches, T&T seemed set to achieving that but Nicaragua struck back in the second half to keep their hopes alive. But T&T aren’t quite finished as a win by Mexico over the Central Americans by four goals or more tomorrow would see T&T advance.

T&T went ahead on 45 minutes when Martha Silva turned on in past her teammate goalkeeper Bethania Aburto. And Karyn Forbes would double T&T’s lead two minutes later as the Jamaal Shabazz-coached unit looked to take control of the match and finish off their opponents. But some dogged defending and resistance paid off for Nicaragua. They forced themselves back into the contest through a 69th minute goal by Yessenia Flores and snatched the tying goal in the 75th minute with Flores again on target.

At the Estadio Rogelio Martinez, the start was not as bright for T&T’s Men. They found themselves chasing the game and trailing 3-0 after just 25 minutes. Head Coach Russell Latapy switched up his team from the earlier loss to Honduras and the local boys were caught napping in the early moments. Randall Leal (9th), Andres Gomez (16th) and Leal again with a 24th minute penalty left Costa Rica sitting pretty before the half hour mark.

But T&T, preparing for the 2018 CONCACAF U-20 World Cup qualifiers in November, were not to be totally played off the park on the day. A couple good moments instilled some confidence into the side and the pulled a goal back through John Paul Rochford from the penalty spot on 60 minutes.

T&T sprung to life and Nickel Orr topped off a strong individual run with a neat finish past goalkeeper Diego Rivas in the 69th minute. T&T kept the pressure on their opponents in the closing fifteen minutes but Costa Rica held on for the three points.

Head coach Latapy spoke of the fact that T&T took a while to settle in early parts of the encounter.

“It was a game of two halves. We started slowly but firstly because we are using this as preparation we wanted to change up the team and give some of the other guys the opportunity to play to gain experience and have a look and give them an opportunity to stake a claim for selection in November,” Latapy told TTFA Media..

“Although it’s a bit early but what we can really see these situations is in true international games.We started a bit slowly and it was just difficult for us at the beginning to deal wit the interchanging of the Costa Ricans and their movement off the ball. We really did not deal with it and we found ourselves three goals down after 25 minutes. But then after that our players were spurred on and we got some life and held on until half time. Then once we came back out after the chance to explain things a little better to the inexperienced players, it was sorted out better in the second half.

“With the introduction of the striker Isaiah Lee, he was able to go in behind with his pace and it opened up the game and created room for the midfielders to come into the little pockets and play. He got a penalty by running in behind and being nippy and in the right places. That helped us at 3-1 and then we had a fantastic finish from Orr with a great piece of individual skill.

“We know we can get that from him offensively but what we say to him and our wingers that in modern football, on the defensive part they really have to come back and help. We saw examples in the World Cup that even with the big teams such as Brazil and France, everyone getting back behind the ball and putting in their fair share of game. At 3-2 we thought with a bit of luck and more composure which we really lacked today by giving away the ball cheaply, we could have maybe done better with a bit more assertiveness,” said Latapy.

“I have to stress again that this a young team and we are in preparation for the tournament in November. All in all although the result is of utmost importance, it is a process we are working on and I think we are starting to see thing being executed on the field. We still have a long way to go but these tournaments definitely helps us to gain that experience and play at the type of intensity that international football is played at. It still is a learning experience for these young kids and we are fairly satisfied with the way things are coming along. One game to go here and we will try to share up the selection among the players and see how it goes,” Latapy added.

Goalkeeper Denzil Smith and Derron John were taken to hospital with the latter suffering a fractured finger while Smith underwent X-rays which showed no major issues following a clash of heads.

T&T Men will face Colombia at 8pm TT time on Tuesday. Colombia and Honduras drew 1-1 in Sunday’s other encounter.

Costa Rica vs Trinidad and Tobago

Trinidad and Tobago U-20 Men: 1. Denzil Smith (GK) (20. Jadel Poon-Lewis (GK) 35’), 2. Isaiah Garcia, 17. Jessie Williams, 3. Derron John, 12. Darnell Hospedales, 8. Kierron Mason, 14. Rivaldo Coryat (6. Isaiah Lee 54’), 15. John-Paul Rochford, 10. Judah Garcia, 13. Nickel Orr, 9. Jayden Prowell (captain) (18. Ethan Bonaparte 72’)

Unused substitutes: 20. Jadel Poon-Lewis (GK), 6. Isaiah Lee, 7. Mark Ramdeen, 11. Jarred Dass, 16. Jodel Brown, 18. Ethan Bonaparte, 19.Shaqkeem Joseph

Coach: Russell Latapy

Costa Rica: 1. Luis Rivas (GK), 2. Kevin Espinoza, 3. Pablo Arboine (captain) (17. Jose Espinoza 46’), 4. Juan Vargas, 16. Suhander Zuñiga, 20. Eduardo Juarez, 8. Bernald Alfaro (14. Roberto Cordoba 85’), 10. Jonathan Martinez, 7. Randall Leal (6. Luis Hernandez 72’), 11. Barlon Sequiera, 15. Andrés Gómez

Unused substitutes: 18. Patrick Sequeira (GK), 5. Juan Arguedas, 9. Bryan Rojas, 12. Jimmy Marin, 13. Diego Mesen, 19. Yostin Salinas

Coach: Hugo Herrera

Goalscorers:
Randall Leal (CRC) 9', Andres Gomez (CRC) 16', Randall Leal (CRC) 24' (penalty), John-Paul Rochford (TTO) 60' (penalty), Nickel Orr (TTO) 67' 

Yellow Cards:
Rivaldo Coryat (TTO) 54', Jaydon Prowell (TTO) 62', Kevin Espinoza (CRC) 66', Nickel Orr (TTO) 72'

Match Officials:
Referee: Mario Alberto Escobar Toca  (Guatemala)
Assistant Referee 1: Kevin Stephens (Guyana)
Assistant Referee 2: Kyle Atkins (USA)
Fourth Official: Bryan Lopez Castellanos (Guatemala)
Match Commissioner: Marlon Gomez Hernandez (Nicaragua)

Trinidad and Tobago Women vs Nicaragua Women

Trinidad and Tobago: 1. Kimika Forbes (GK); 2. Ayana Russell, 5. Arin King, 4. Rhea Belgrave; 8. Patrice Superville (19. Aaliyah Prince 79’), 11. Janine Francois (6. Natasha St Louis 90’), 3. Jenelle Cunningham, 14. Karyn Forbes, 16. Liana Hinds; 10. Tasha St Louis (captain), 9. Mariah Shade (15. Kedie Johnson 72’)

Unused substitutes: 20.Saundra Baron (GK), 7.Jonelle Cato, 12.Summer Arjoon, 13.Natisha John, 17.Afiyah Cornwall, 18.Naomi Guerra.

Coach: Jamaal Shabazz

Nicaragua: 1. Bethania Aburto (GK), 2. Martha Silva, 16. Diana Ortega, 18. Elizabeth Arcia, 4. Alys Cruz, 6. Sheyla Flores (7. Julissa Acevedo 78’), 10. Katherine Pereira, 13. Jansy Aguirre, 14. Kesly Perez, 17. Josseling Berrios (11. Yessenia Flores 45’), 9. Shanelly Treminio (19. Doriana Aguilar 70’)

Unused substitutes: 12. Beykel Méndez (GK), 3. Celeste Escobar, 5. Kelly Avalos, 8. Cinthya Orozco, 15. Ninoska Solis, 20. Natalie Orellana

Coach: Elena Dixon

Goalscorers:
Martha Silva (NCA) 45' (own goal), Karyn Forbes (TTO) 47', Yessenia Flores (NCA) 69', Yessenia Flores (NCA) 75'

Yellow Cards:
Karyn Forbes (TTO) 36', Diana Ortega (NCA) 45', Janine Francois (TTO) 52'

Match Officials:
Referee: Odette Hamilton (Jamaica)
Assistant Referee 1: Jassett Kerr (Jamaica)
Assistant Referee 2: Shannon Gibson (Barbados)
Fourth Official: Suleimy Linarez (Cuba)
Match Commissioner: Sarah Powery (Cayman Islands)
Post by: Tallman on July 24, 2018, 06:02:32 PM
WATCH LIVE: Trinidad and Tobago U-20 vs Colombia U-21

https://www.youtube.com/v/XLcwmEj4fXs
Post by: Deeks on July 24, 2018, 07:32:00 PM
Colombia 3-1. This team has too many deficiencies. long way to go.
Post by: Deeks on July 24, 2018, 07:39:24 PM
4-1 from a corner kick.
Post by: che on July 24, 2018, 07:43:30 PM
Our Football teams are both poor. But at least we are doing very well in swimming and cycling .
Post by: che on July 24, 2018, 07:53:53 PM
5-1 now  :cursing:
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 24, 2018, 07:53:58 PM
latapy went with a team of mainly under 20 players born (1999) so our boys  are you can say about roughly 2 years younger hodge is the only over age player there ....
Post by: asylumseeker on July 25, 2018, 05:39:26 AM
The women advanced. Next match on Friday. Nicaragua lost to Mexico by the convenient margin of 4-0 to permit our advance.
Post by: Tallman on July 25, 2018, 06:45:23 AM
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago U-20’s 5-1 loss to Colombia U-21

https://www.youtube.com/v/7k5i-ADUukU
Post by: Deeks on July 25, 2018, 02:32:39 PM
The only thing this team has going for them is that they are "young". There is still a tiny window to catch up. But we talking about TT football.  >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Sando prince on July 25, 2018, 07:47:14 PM

lol seriously when last T&T win a football game at any level. Feels like a very long time right now
Post by: Flex on July 26, 2018, 12:48:36 AM
T&T Women into CAC Games semi-finals.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women’s hopes of securing a medal at the 2018 Central American and Caribbean Games remained intact after Mexico’s  4-0 defeat of Nicaragua in the final group contest in Barranquilla on Tuesday night.

But more importantly, the passage to the semi-finals will afford T&T two more matches which will serve as valuable preparation for the upcoming CONCACAF Caribbean Final Round of World Cup qualifiers in Jamaica next month.

T&T will face Costa Rica in one the semi-finals on Friday with Mexico taking on Venezuela in the other encounter. The teams will be vying for a place in the final on Monday July 30th with the bronze medal match also scheduled for the same day.

Head Coach Jamaal Shabazz was obviously gracious for the opportunity to now contest for a medal following the 2-2 draw with Nicaragua and 5-1 loss to Mexico. T&T advanced ahead of Nicaragua by virtue of scoring six goals, one more than their Central American opponents.

“To qualify for the semi final round is a lesson for us in never saying die, belief and the miracle of Almighty God,” Shabazz told TTFA Media on Wednesday.

“It shows also the importance of scoring goals because it is by virtue of scoring that one goal against Mexico in a game in which we were slaughtered, has enabled us the opportunity for two more high level matches here in Barranquilla,” he added.

“It is only fair that we try to reward the efforts of the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee by pushing hard to get a medal.The girls are very eager for the Costa Rica test and we look forward to the battle on Friday,” Shabazz said.

Haiti forfeited the women’s competition, giving the other three teams full points and a 3-0 result.

The T&T Men on the other hand were not so fortunate, ending their campaign with a 5-1 defeat hosts Colombia on Tuesday. The only bright spot in the match was a spectacular free kick goal scored by substitute John Paul Rochford in the 62nd minute to pull the scores at 2-1 but Colombia piled on the pressure after that to score three further items. Rochford has netted five goals in his last four international appearances for the T&T Under 20 team. He has netted four of those goals after coming off the bench in the second half.

T&T line-ups vs Colombia. (http://ttfootball.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/TT-vs-Colombia.pdf)

Post by: asylumseeker on July 27, 2018, 03:37:38 PM
Link (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7DmNP3gUFQ) for the first semi-final currently in progress (Mexico vs. Venezuela).

Referee: Crystal Sobers, who some days back a Colombian commentator described as having an "elegant gait". ;D

Post by: Tallman on July 27, 2018, 06:01:11 PM
WATCH LIVE: Costa Rica Women vs Trinidad and Tobago Women. CAC Games Semifinal.

https://www.youtube.com/v/j7DmNP3gUFQ
Post by: lefty on July 27, 2018, 06:34:09 PM
lookin promisin so far still too slow on counter opportunities
Post by: lefty on July 27, 2018, 06:37:57 PM
stupid penalty
Post by: asylumseeker on July 27, 2018, 06:39:39 PM
We had 30 minutes + of reasonably good football on our part and we gave it away with casual defending against a player who has too many skillsets to just throw a foot at.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 27, 2018, 06:40:42 PM
lookin promisin so far still too slow on counter opportunities

Spot on.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 27, 2018, 06:52:53 PM
Costa Rica's attack is so skewed to the right attacking band that ah Mollon-type player would keep them honest and busy defensively on the left.

45 minutes in, we've seen most of what Costa Rica has to offer in versatility.
Post by: lefty on July 27, 2018, 06:55:22 PM
wonder if dem does do timed defense to attack transition drills in training, some ah dem girls have real toes on d flanks we coulda poison costa with quick threaded passes so often in d first half.....wonder if shabazz not seein dat ???
Post by: lefty on July 27, 2018, 06:57:30 PM
wonder if d girls dey self not seeing dat
Post by: asylumseeker on July 27, 2018, 07:03:34 PM
The last thing Costa Rica wants is speed running at them centrally. It would be nice to see it.
Post by: lefty on July 27, 2018, 07:26:14 PM
The last thing Costa Rica wants is speed running at them centrally. It would be nice to see it.

yeah dat dey could also let d wingers straddle d lines to stretch d play too open space centrally
Post by: asylumseeker on July 27, 2018, 07:44:51 PM
Tasha, Tasha, Tasha. Too experienced to be taken on a ride, yet she took one. Should have been an earlier shot before the GK got set and the defender could recover.
Post by: lefty on July 27, 2018, 08:00:40 PM
well dey did ok.......still nobody seemed to be aware that both wingers were being given yards of room on d flanks, throughout the game and we coulda be dropping and threading diagonals whole night for dem to run on to ??? ??? ??? ???.......whey jamal white board
Post by: Tallman on July 28, 2018, 07:14:48 AM
Tasha, Tasha, Tasha. Too experienced to be taken on a ride, yet she took one. Should have been an earlier shot before the GK got set and the defender could recover.

De back of de net should have been shaking long time.
Post by: Tallman on July 28, 2018, 07:23:42 AM
stupid penalty

Dat penalty looked bogus. It was bought.
Post by: lefty on July 28, 2018, 08:37:02 AM
stupid penalty

Dat penalty looked bogus. It was bought.
no doubt........but d defender was always in a bad position relative to the attacker....and should have been alert to how to attempt contact, she get suck in
Post by: Deeks on July 28, 2018, 09:23:21 AM
What was the final score?
Title: T&T Women to play for Bronze against Venezuela
Post by: Tallman on July 28, 2018, 02:22:12 PM
T&T Women to play for Bronze against Venezuela
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women footballers missed out on a chance of gold medal but will have an opportunity of securing the bronze tomorrow when they face Venezuela following their 2-0 defeat to Costa Rica in the semi finals of the CAC Games in Barranquilla on Friday night.

T&T’s women gave a creditable performance and may have found themselves to be somewhat unfortunate in the encounter after falling behind to a dubious penalty call in the 32nd minute. Mexican referee Maria Gonzales ruled that Jenelle Cunningham tripped Gloriana Villalobos on her way to goal. Carol Sanchez put away the resulting penalty and Maria Porras punished T&T for a defensive mistake in added on time.

T&T had their fair moments on goal with Tasha St Louis missing a glorious opportunity to level the scores in the 78th minute when she ran on a to flick on header by Karyn Forbes, got past Sanches but sent her effort wide, hitting the turf and the ball on the attempt.

Mexico overcame Venezuela 3-1 in the other semi final match and will meet Costa Rica in the final with T&T taking on their neighbours from 5pm TT time.

“Not the result we were hoping for but far from a disappointing performance,” head coach Shabazz told TTFA Media. “I think our players demonstrated a desire and displayed a courage that is encouraging as we look ahead to the remainder of the CONCACAF qualifier and potential matches against the likes of Costa Rica and Mexico. Of course it was not a good feeling to come away with the loss but we took away some positives.

“We’ll regroup and give it our everything in an attempt to secure the bronze medal against Venezuela. Of more importance for us at this stage is having the opportunity to have two top matches which will serve us well in preparation for the qualifiers later this month,” Shabazz added.

Lineups

Costa Rica:
1. Maria Bermudez (GK), 2. Garbiela Guillen Alvarez, 4. Mariana Benavides, 6. Carol Sanchez Cruz, 8. Daniela Cruz Medias, 9. Maria P. Salas, 10. Gloriana de J. Villalobos (20. Mariela Campos Alfaro 87’), 13. Fabiola Villalobos (11. Maria P. Porras 82’), 14. Maria F. Barrantes, 15. Cristin Y. Granados, 16. Katherine M. Alvarado (captain)

Unused substitutes: 3. Maria P. Coto, 5. Hillary Corrales Solis, 12. Lixy Rodriguez Zamora, 17. Karia P. Villalobos, 18. Daniela Solera Vega

Coach: Amelia Valverde Villalobos

Trinidad and Tobago: 1. Kimika Forbes (GK), 3. Jenelle Cunningham (7. Jonelle Cato 85’), 4. Rhea Belgrave, 5. Arin King, 8. Patrice Superville (19. Aaliyah Prince 65’), 2. Ayana Russell, 16. Liana Hinds, 18. Naomi Guerra (14. Karyn Forbes 53’), 11. Janine Francois, 9. Mariah Shade, 10. Tasha St. Louis (captain)

Unused substitutes: 20. Saundra Baron (GK), 6. Natasha St. Louis, 12. Summer Arjoon, 13. Natisha John, 15. Kedie Johnson, 17. Afiyah Cornwall

Coach: Jamaal Shabazz

Goals:
Carol Cruz Sanchez (CRC) 33’(penalty), María Porras (CRC) 90'+4

Yellow Cards:
Tasha St. Louis (TTO) 48', Aaliyah Prince (TTO) 71', Mariah Shade (TTO) 87'

Match Officials
Referee: Francia Maria GONZALEZ (MEX)
Assistant Referee 1: Lidia A. AYALA DE CUELLAR (ESA)
Assistant Referee 2: Melissa Katherine SNEDDEN (CAN)
Fourth Official: Sandra L. BENITEZ ARTEAGA (ESA)
Match Commissioner: Sarah Jennifer POWERY (CAY)

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZhttxxuQ_t4
Post by: Flex on July 29, 2018, 12:47:36 AM
Rochford: We have to step it up ahead of CONCACAF qualifiers.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago Under 20 midfielder John Paul Rochford wants to see his teammates in the current squad push themselves more as the look ahead to the CONCACAF Under 20 World Qualifiers at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida in November.

Rochford was letting his feelings known following the team’s exit from the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games in Barranquilla, Colombia.

T&T’s men ended their tourney with three losses in as many matches with their best showing coming in a 3-2 loss to Costa Rica in their second outing following an opening 2-0 loss to Honduras. Hosts Colombia ran out 5-1 winners in the final group encounter.

Rochford netted against Costa Rica and Colombia to take his tally to five goals in his last four appearances for the team.

“There were some positives for us in that it showed that once can work as a team and willing to fight hard together then anything is possible. I think this could have been seen in the Costa Rica match,” Rochford told TTFA Media from Barranquilla on Friday.

“But we still have a lot to do. Personally I think too much of the players still have a schoolboy mentality and I do not mean that in a bad away because a lot of us are still in school but I think at this level we have to be able to raise our game and be more professional. We have to be able to break out of that schoolboy mindset. It will be very important for us heading into the Concacaf tournament,” the Queen’s Royal College player added.

He mentioned that new opportunities are on the horizon for the players but they must be willing to take full grasp at what is in reach.

“We have to understand that there is a world of opportunities awaiting us out there. If we put our minds to it and we are willing to work harder and go the extra distance, then we can achieve things and the opportunities for progress in our careers will be endless,” Rochford said.

Coming off the bench and grabbing his chances is nothing new for Rochford. His free kick strike against Colombia has been one of the goals of the competition on the men’s side.

“It was just basically staying focused and knowing that I had to take my the opportunity when it came to me. I will continue to work hard and believe that as a team we can go places. It will be important for the entire squad to have this attitude in the months coming up before the qualifiers in November,” Rochford said.

The T&T Men’s team is still in Colombia and will return home on Monday. The team has engaged in some light training while there since the Colombia match.

Post by: Storeboy on July 29, 2018, 10:56:02 AM
Rochford is right about the attitude of TT players. But there is another question to be asked. Do we have the right coach? Latapy was arguably one of our greatest players, but his track record as a coach is dubious at best. Is it coaching? is it players? Do we have right selection? These are questions to be asked, analyzed carefully and make decisions appropriately.
Post by: Sando prince on July 29, 2018, 12:50:33 PM
Wy keep selecting Latas to coach different youth teams when the results over theirs shows he is not ready? So keep selecting failure lead me to accept the football federation themselves don't know wha d ass dey doing
Post by: vb on July 30, 2018, 02:54:47 PM
links for the TT - Venzuela game today??
Post by: Tallman on July 30, 2018, 03:19:24 PM
WATCH LIVE: Trinidad and Tobago Women vs Venezuela Women. CAC Games (Third Place Match).

https://www.youtube.com/v/h7Og5af3Pzg
Post by: Deeks on July 30, 2018, 03:28:14 PM
TT vs Ven  link. 0-0 after  23 mins.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7Og5af3Pzg
Post by: Deeks on July 30, 2018, 03:53:10 PM
If our girls win the bronze, I will totally surprise.
Post by: Deeks on July 30, 2018, 05:06:34 PM
Ven. 1- T&T 0. Our girls have a long way to go. TTFA better find a quick solution for these girls.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 30, 2018, 07:27:20 PM
Ha first get rid of shabbazz
Ven. 1- T&T 0. Our girls have a long way to go. TTFA better find a quick solution for these girls.

Step 1 get rid of Jamal i bet he is not getting paid ....
Post by: maxg on July 31, 2018, 04:03:49 PM
lineups ?
Post by: maxg on August 01, 2018, 12:49:15 PM
Ha first get rid of shabbazz

Step 1 get rid of Jamal i bet he is not getting paid ....
There are a few veterans that just didn't seem able, resorting to UFC tactics. Used to see some speedy girls at the lower ages, and not seeing those particular individuals now. Some girls defensively looked ready, but don't know their names.
Post by: Deeks on August 01, 2018, 03:14:13 PM
There are a few veterans that just didn't seem able, resorting to UFC tactics. Used to see some speedy girls at the lower ages, and not seeing those particular individuals now. Some girls defensively looked ready, but don't know their names.

I was surprise we did not get a red card or a couple players getting yellow. I am sorry, but I don't think these girls can make it. Like you said some girls on the defence look ready. But overall this squad not ready. I am hoping that they can prove us wrong.