Sports => What about Track & Field => Topic started by: Flex on March 13, 2017, 09:24:28 AM

Title: Jereem “The Dream” Richards Thread
Post by: Flex on March 13, 2017, 09:24:28 AM
Richards breaks Boldon's record
By Kwame Laurence (Express).

Jereem Richards established a new Trinidad and Tobago record at the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division 1 Indoor Track and Field Championships, in Texas, USA, late yesterday. The University of Alabama student blazed the track in 20.31 seconds to erase Ato Boldon's 20-year-old indoor men's 200 metres standard from the books.

The superb run from Richards earned him top spot in section two and silver overall. American Christian Coleman produced a 20.11 scorcher in section one to grab gold for University of Tennessee. Coleman also won the 60m title, getting to the line in 6.45.

Boldon had established the old T&T record of 20.35 seconds back in 1997. Richards' 20.31 run moved him past Boldon into the number two spot on the all-time Central American and Caribbean (CAC) list, behind CAC record-holder Obadele Thompson (20.26) of Barbados. Richards is now joint-12th on the all-time global list with American Coby Miller. Coleman jumps to third, behind world record holder Frankie Fredericks (19.92) of Namibia and American Wallace Spearmon (20.10).

In Friday's qualifying round, Richards topped heat two in 20.50 seconds.

T&T/Alabama athlete Ruebin Walters clocked 7.77 seconds to secure fifth spot in the men's 60m hurdles final. American Grant Holloway, a student at University of Florida, captured the title with a 7.58 run.

Walters had clocked 7.73 to finish fourth in the first of two qualifying heats, on Friday, progressing to the final as a “fastest loser”.

In the men's distance medley relay, T&T's Asa Guevara ran the second leg for 11th-placed University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). Guevara split 48.05 seconds for the 400-metre run, while UTEP completed the 1200mx400mx800mx1600m race in nine minutes, 56.03 seconds.

University of Mississippi clocked 9:31.32 for the win, forcing Virginia Tech (9:33.35) and Georgetown (9:33.42) to settle for second and third, respectively.

Richards was expected to be back on the track after press time, last night, representing Alabama in the men's 4x400m relay. Another T&T/Alabama athlete, Domonique Williams was listed for action in the women's 4x400m.

At the NCAA Division 2 Indoor Championships, in Alabama, Adams State University sprinter Micah Ballantyne finished seventh in heat two and 13th overall in 6.84 seconds. The top eight advanced to the final.

Title: Re: Jereem Richards breaks Boldon's record
Post by: Socapro on March 14, 2017, 06:01:19 PM
Jereem Richards wins 2017 NCAA Championship 200M Final Section 2
https://www.youtube.com/v/FKJZxsQOrrk

And here is another video of the race (ESPN coverage): http://www.milesplit.com/videos/191307

Men 200m Dash

Finals: Heat #1      
Place   Overall   Name   Year   Team   Time   Score

1   1   Coleman, Christian   JR-3   Tennessee   20.11   10
2   4   Mitchell-Blake, Nethaneel   SR-4   LSU   20.63   5
3   5   Willis, Maxwell   FR-1   Baylor   20.69   4
4   6   Washington, Josh   SR-4   Arkansas   20.73   3
   Finals: Heat #2       

1   2   Richards, Jereem   JR-3   Alabama   20.31   8
2   3   Thymes, Just'N   SR-4   USC   20.36   6
3   7   Cotton, Kenzo   JR-3   Arkansas   20.75   2
4   8   Titi, Ncincilili   JR-3   South Carolina   21.03   1
   Preliminaries: Heat #1       

1   3   Coleman, Christian   JR-3   Tennessee   20.51   
2   10   Trimble, Jamiel   JR-3   Air Force   20.84   
3   12   Moffett, Malik   JR-3   Penn State   20.85   
4   15   Belcher, Christopher   SR-4   N. Carolina A&T   21.02   
   Preliminaries: Heat #2       

1   2   Richards, Jereem   JR-3   Alabama   20.50   
2   7   Washington, Josh   SR-4   Arkansas   20.81   
3   8   Willis, Maxwell   FR-1   Baylor   20.83   
4   14   Williams, Cameron   SR-4   Boston U.   20.98   
   Preliminaries: Heat #3       

1   4   Mitchell-Blake, Nethaneel   SR-4   LSU   20.55   
2   6   Titi, Ncincilili   JR-3   South Carolina   20.79   
3   11   Hudson, Andrew   SO-2   Texas Tech   20.84   
4   13   Smith, Teray   SR-4   Auburn   20.91   
   Preliminaries: Heat #4       

1   1   Thymes, Just'N   SR-4   USC   20.49   
2   5   Cotton, Kenzo   JR-3   Arkansas   20.65   
3   9   Chambers, Marcus   SR-4   Oregon   20.83   
4   16   Marshall, Deshawn   SR-4   Ohio State   21.27   

http://www.milesplit.com/meets/257341/results/500659/raw#.WMpb6tKLRkh
Post by: jusbless on March 15, 2017, 03:58:33 AM
Anybody realised that most of the 200m races was won by the athlete in lane 3. Is lane 3 the best lane to run in for indoors
Post by: Aviator on March 16, 2017, 12:16:07 AM
Lanes 5 and 6 are the best, especially on a banked track. The curve is gentler and you essentially start the race on a downhill angle from those lanes. In this case I just think it was a matter of the best runners being seeded in Lane 3.
Post by: Sando prince on April 21, 2017, 05:49:54 PM
Alabama Track & Field Q&A: Jereem Richards

Full Q&A interview here http://teamtto.org/index.php/sports/athletics/6616-alabama-track-field-q-a-jereem-richards

When did you realize that you could compete at the collegiate level, and come to the United States for college?

JR: Trinidad & Tobago is really small and at a young age I made a lot of the senior teams instead of running on the junior teams so I was exposed to a lot of senior running and training. I was recruited by some Division I schools but I needed to go the junior college route first because I was missing some classes. What made me really think about going to a D1 college was that I could get an education in the United States and I could run against some of the best athletes in the world, because the college system is where everyone begins.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 09, 2017, 06:30:32 AM
What high school this youth went to?
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 09, 2017, 02:16:44 PM
Jereem! Would have been the fastest qualifier. But slow down and looked around. Which gave him 20.14. Isaiah Young 20.12. But he had to run out hard for that.

Yohan Blake out.
Van Niekerk came 3rd. Just made the final.
Post by: Aviator on August 09, 2017, 02:19:08 PM
Jereem! Fastest qualifier again.

Yohan Blake out.

Ah jumping over here. Man looking real good. Will keep predictions to myself to avoid goat mouth.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 09, 2017, 02:21:15 PM
Ent, keep it up yute,  blessings for tmr
Post by: Deeks on August 09, 2017, 02:26:32 PM
Fingers crossed! Boa Sorte!!!
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 09, 2017, 02:29:21 PM

Jereem! Fastest qualifier again.

Yohan Blake out.

Ah jumping over here. Man looking real good. Will keep predictions to myself to avoid goat mouth.

I enjoy watching him run. I keeping my predictions to myself.

I love the drama in this event. First, Makwala the world leader get pull. Then he get to do a timed race. Then he come 2nd in the first semi. Then Blake, the 2nd fastest in the 200m of all time, comes 4th and misses the final. Van Niekerk comes 3rd and makes the final. Lemaitre who win a bronze in Rio, misses out in the final.. this race can go any way.
Post by: real madness on August 09, 2017, 03:07:50 PM
Jereem is looking great.  Wish him the best in the final. The weather giving trouble though.
Post by: Swima on August 09, 2017, 03:16:08 PM
Jereem! Would have been the fastest qualifier. But slow down and looked around. Which gave him 20.14. Isaiah Young 20.12. But he had to run out hard for that.

Yohan Blake out.

Actually, given the wind... he's the fastest by far. His heat was the only one with a head wind and heat one had a tail wind too fast to register legal times.
Post by: real madness on August 09, 2017, 05:24:46 PM
200 final should be very competitive. Jereem in form, makwala running angry, WVN tired but talented, the 2 Americans not under pressure and Mitchell-blake quietly running good. guliyev won both is races thus far.

this world championship has been full of surprises so far.
Post by: Deeks on August 10, 2017, 02:32:40 PM
The race run yet?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He win ?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: soccerman on August 10, 2017, 02:36:15 PM
The race run yet?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He win ?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I haven't seen it yet so I'm not sure. All I've saw so far was us getting smoked in the women's 200 semis's.
Post by: soccerman on August 10, 2017, 02:52:13 PM
Race on now!
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 10, 2017, 02:55:37 PM
3rd. Same time as WVN. Good race. Did not start good.
Post by: soccerman on August 10, 2017, 02:59:30 PM
3rd. Same time as WVN. Good race. Did not start good.
Close finish, but you're right he had some catching up to do after the bend. Really good effort though  :applause:
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 10, 2017, 03:02:30 PM
WVN beat JR by 1/1000 of a second.
Post by: Deeks on August 10, 2017, 03:02:44 PM
Beggars can't be choosers. We will gladly take it. Congrats to Jereem on his excellent performance. This is the warm up for Tokyo.
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 10, 2017, 03:05:12 PM
Youre right Deeks. The NAAA owes a lot to the NCAA. 
Post by: Deeks on August 10, 2017, 05:11:10 PM
It appears that Keshorn is in the final. Fingers crossed. We taking any medal!
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 10, 2017, 06:14:28 PM

And he look damn good. Looks like he in the shape of his life. One throw to get into the finals. Others needed to throw more than once.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 10, 2017, 07:28:26 PM

And he look damn good. Looks like he in the shape of his life. One throw to get into the finals. Others needed to throw more than once.

Dem German scarin meh doh, throwin over 90 like dey on de moon.  Anyway, best of luck to de man come Saturday  :beermug:

Big up to de Point yute, congrats Jereem!
Post by: real madness on August 11, 2017, 08:40:11 AM

Dem German scarin meh doh, throwin over 90 like dey on de moon.  Anyway, best of luck to de man come Saturday  :beermug:

Big up to de Point yute, congrats Jereem!

Vetter on fire and Kohler having a good season.  The other German Hoffman is a big threat too.  Plus you can't rule out Yego, Frydrych and Pitkamaki. I think Keshorn can challenge for medal if he can throw over 90.  looks to be in form now after struggling most of the season.  All it takes is one throw.
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 11, 2017, 01:55:38 PM
I wonder if Jereem will take his chances and turn pro.
Post by: Deeks on August 11, 2017, 03:57:10 PM
You guys read about TT 100m hurdler who got injured when she crashed into a hurdle.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/sportsnews/article-4781616/Deborah-John-suffers-horror-injury-World-Championships.html#comments

Sprinter Deborah John leaves World Championships in a head brace after horror hurdle clash in opening heats
Deborah John clashed head-first into a hurdle during the 100m heats in London
John lost her footing and was propelled into the fifth hurdle during the race
The Trinidad and Tobago athlete was taken off on a stretcher and in a head bra

Wishing all the best for a quick recovery. God Bless!!!
Post by: maxg on August 16, 2017, 04:44:54 PM
You guys read about TT 100m hurdler who got injured when she crashed into a hurdle.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/sportsnews/article-4781616/Deborah-John-suffers-horror-injury-World-Championships.html#comments

Sprinter Deborah John leaves World Championships in a head brace after horror hurdle clash in opening heats
Deborah John clashed head-first into a hurdle during the 100m heats in London
John lost her footing and was propelled into the fifth hurdle during the race
The Trinidad and Tobago athlete was taken off on a stretcher and in a head bra

Wishing all the best for a quick recovery. God Bless!!!
Any news ?
Post by: Aviator on August 16, 2017, 05:34:20 PM

Was wondering the same, but heard him mention that school starts back August 23rd, so I guess he's put that on the back burner for now.
Post by: Deeks on August 16, 2017, 06:12:29 PM
What year is he? I hope his senior year don't fall in the same year as the  Tokyo Olympics.
Post by: Trini1 on August 16, 2017, 07:16:23 PM
He's in his Junior year I believe.
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 16, 2017, 08:03:41 PM
From what I know, this is his final year. He did 2 years at juco before Alabama. So he might have 1 more year. But I wouldn't rule out the possibility of him having 2 more years. Some athletes do 2 years at juco, then 3 years at University.
Post by: Aviator on August 16, 2017, 08:15:45 PM
From what I know, this is his final year. He did 2 years at juco before Alabama. So he might have 1 more year. But I wouldn't rule out the possibility of him having 2 more years. Some athletes do 2 years at juco, then 3 years at University.
not possible unless you red shirt an entire season both inside and out.
You can have 5 years of school, but only 4 years of running.... No exceptions. Also this is his last year coming up now Trini 1 and Deeks
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 16, 2017, 08:16:50 PM

Was wondering the same, but heard him mention that school starts back August 23rd, so I guess he's put that on the back burner for now.

Could never go wrong with school. But sometimes the right numbers on the contract are worth it. So signing a six or seven figure contract, then setting aside 100k to return to school (as a back up in case of a career ending injury).. is worth it. We've all seen how the NCAA has killed many careers.
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 16, 2017, 08:19:44 PM
You can have 5 years of school, but only 4 years of running.... No exceptions. Also this is his last year coming up now Trini 1 and Deeks

Yes. It called red shirt.  And you're  right it can't be applied to him. You can only compete 4 years in NCAA.
Post by: Deeks on August 16, 2017, 09:11:15 PM

Yes. It called red shirt.  And you're  right it can't be applied to him. You can only compete 4 years in NCAA.

Well, if he decides to stay in school, good luck to him and we should pray that he graduate. If he decides to turn pro, Good luck with that also. And as g.o.p said, he should put aside money to come back to school in the off-season. Hopefully he should be out by 2019. Allyuh know how college track does drain you  like a souccouyant.
Title: Re: Jereem “The Dream” Richards Thread
Post by: real madness on August 17, 2017, 07:17:50 AM
This season was his JR year.  1 year left.
Post by: Flex on September 13, 2017, 01:38:21 AM
Richards on Adidas signing: It’s a great feeling
T&T Guardian Reports.

It took a little longer than some people expected, but yesterday Jereem Richards signed on with his first major sponsor since winning gold and bronze medals at the IAAF World Championships in August. It is global sports apparel giant, Adidas.

Both parties didn’t divulge any information on the deal, but speaking with Guardian Media Sports from the University of Alabama, Richards said he was thankful to all the people who helped lead up to this moment.

He said: “It’s always a great feeling to know that one of these companies look out and have faith in me, and believed, and I’m not going to disappoint them.

“I’m going to do the best that I can do and always put my best foot forward.”

Having restarted university a few weeks ago, Richards admitted it had been a challenge for him to settle down and refocus on school.

He said: “I had to try to let the hype go away because I am still a student and I still have to do my work and make sure I graduate.”

Richards won gold as part of T&T’s 4x400m team and bronze in the 400m event at London’s World Championships. (RB)

Post by: Deeks on September 13, 2017, 02:50:40 AM
Glad for him. Real glad. But help me clarify something here. But isn't this a violation of NCAA rules?
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 13, 2017, 05:14:39 AM
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170913/sports/jereem-turns-pro

We knew it was coming.

Violation of which NCAA rule Deeks?
Post by: Deeks on September 13, 2017, 06:29:18 AM
I did not read that article specifically mentioned that he turned pro. Well that is good in that he will avoid the college circuit grind in the Olympic year.
Post by: Storeboy on September 13, 2017, 07:35:20 AM
Glad for him. Real glad. But help me clarify something here. But isn't this a violation of NCAA rules?
It is not a violation to sign a professional contract. Now that he is signed he will just give up his scholarship, pay his own way through school and cannot run for Alabama. There is only a violation if he signs and then represents Crimson Tide, then it's the University of Alabama's problem.
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 16, 2017, 10:34:10 AM
I speculated that he would turn pro after winning two medals at the Worlds. Ato makes a good rationale for Jereems decision. Things that are significant for Jereem:
- just had his breakout season
- No Worlds or Olympics next year's
- The amount of running and the possibility of "bun out " that's comes with the long NCAA program
- Opportunity to make money

http://m.guardian.co.tt/sports/2017-09-16/boldon-backs-richards’-pro-decision

Seems as if Jereem had offers on the table at the end of Worlds. Good decision. More medals coming.
Post by: ffisback on September 16, 2017, 09:59:36 PM
To bad D Lendore did not make the same decision he did when he had a chance to skip his last year of collage.
Post by: Socapro on September 18, 2017, 09:01:55 AM
To bad D Lendore did not make the same decision he did when he had a chance to skip his last year of collage.

Was quietly thinking the same thing. However I don't think Lendore was offered a sponsorship deal after he won bronze anchoring our Men's 4x400m Relay team at the London Olympics in 2012. Maybe if Deon had won an individual 400m medal in addition to his relay medal in 2012 he may have been offered a sponsorship deal after London 2012.

However if I am not mistaken Lalonde Gordon who won both an individual 400m bronze medal and a 4x400m relay bronze medal at the London 2012 Olympics was offered an Adidas sponsorship deal after the London 2012 Olympics.

Unfortunately for Deon despite his great 400m potential he did not do enough in the individual 400m event at Major international meets while he was at Texas A&M to attract a good enough deal from a big sponsor to allow him to forego the rigorous Texas A&M schedule that they demand of their top college athletes that in most cases see them burnt out by the time they finish their college careers.
Post by: ffisback on September 25, 2017, 04:51:34 PM

Was quietly thinking the same thing. However I don't think Lendore was offered a sponsorship deal after he won bronze anchoring our Men's 4x400m Relay team at the London Olympics in 2012. Maybe if Deon had won an individual 400m medal in addition to his relay medal in 2012 he may have been offered a sponsorship deal after London 2012.

However if I am not mistaken Lalonde Gordon who won both an individual 400m bronze medal and a 4x400m relay bronze medal at the London 2012 Olympics was offered an Adidas sponsorship deal after the London 2012 Olympics.

Unfortunately for Deon despite his great 400m potential he did not do enough in the individual 400m event at Major international meets while he was at Texas A&M to attract a good enough deal from a big sponsor to allow him to forego the rigorous Texas A&M schedule that they demand of their top college athletes that in most cases see them burnt out by the time they finish their college careers.
D Lendore best year was 2014 when he was unbeaten he could have gone pro that year but he chose to stay in school.
Post by: Socapro on September 26, 2017, 06:24:20 PM

D Lendore best year was 2014 when he was unbeaten he could have gone pro that year but he chose to stay in school.

I don't think Deon won any individual 400m medal at any major championships in 2014 which I believe was the year of the last Commonwealth Games held in Scotland.

Can you recall if Deon was offered any major sponsorship deals in 2014 which he turned down?
Post by: Sando prince on June 24, 2018, 12:06:49 PM

(https://bloximages.newyork1.vip.townnews.com/trinidadexpress.com/content/tncms/assets/v3/editorial/4/2f/42fe9844-3e5a-11e8-871e-4b1906c3174e/5acf679caf05f.image.jpg)

Jereem cops Commonwealth Games 200m gold for T&T

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/local/jereem-cops-commonwealth-games-m-gold-for-t-t/article_e623643e-3e58-11e8-b08e-e385820c2dab.html

Jereem "The Dream" Richards captured Trinidad and Tobago's second gold medal at the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast, Australia in dramatic fashion on Thursday, when England's Zharnel Hughes was disqualified for impeding his rival in the final stage of the men's 200 metres event.

Richards did not get the start he would have wanted, needing to make up some four or five metres coming off the backstretch, as Hughes held a clear advantage ahead of Canada's Aaron Brown. However, Richards dug deep and quickly reduced the deficit to draw alongside Hughes, but appeared to check momentarily in mid-stride about five metres from the finish, just as he seemed about to get ahead of his rival. Both runners crossed the line together and were accredited with the same time of 20.12 seconds. Hughes claimed gold ahead of Richards, with Brown taking bronze in 20.34

Hughes however, was later disqualified as video replays showed he had drifted to the edge of his lane and in the process impeded his rival, as his left arm came across and struck Richards in the face at the point of where he had drawn level.

Post by: Sando prince on June 24, 2018, 12:07:32 PM

https://www.youtube.com/v/mj0Mygy6PKE
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 24, 2018, 04:25:06 PM
Thanks for posting, blessings to Jereem, wonderful youth  :beermug:
Post by: Flex on February 20, 2020, 12:53:06 PM
Jereem cops gold at Texas Tech Shootout 200m final
BY NARISSA FRASER (NEWSDAY).

T&T's Jereem "The Dream" Richards copped gold in the men's 200-metre final at the Texas Tech Shootout track meet in the US.

The Adidas sprinter started in lane six, blazing the trail to finish with a time of 20.71 seconds.

Jacolby Shelton put up an impressive challenge to take second place in 20.77 seconds, and Tinotenda Matiyenga finished third clocking 22.80 seconds after pulling up with an injury nearing the final 50m.

Speaking with Newsday on Monday morning, Richards said it was a good season-opener and he was pleased with his performances.

He also ran the 400m final on Saturday and finished in 46.55s in fourth place.

"I felt good and I just went out there and wanted to be relaxed and run a safe and comfortable race because I knew I had the 400m the other day.

"This was my last indoor meet and I'm just going to go back to training and prepare myself for outdoors."

Post by: Sando prince on February 26, 2020, 05:14:03 AM

20.71 is a good start early in the season. He need to be in sub 19.8 form come Olympics to hope to medal
Post by: Flex on April 23, 2021, 06:47:31 PM
Jereem Richards understands NAAA decision to pull Trinidad and Tobago from World Relays
JELANI BECKLES (T&T Newsday).

THE National Association of Athletics Administrations (NAAA) will not send a Trinidad and Tobago track team to the 2021 World Athletics Relays in Poland on May 1 and 2 because of the covid19 pandemic.

An NAAA media release on Wednesday said, “It is with regret that NAAA announces that it is withdrawing its team to compete at the 2021 World Athletics Relays, to be held in Poland on May 1 and 2. This decision has not been taken lightly but after careful consideration of the various challenges posed by the covid19 pandemic, the potential risk to participants and the significant difficulties with travel arrangements (NAAA decided it was best). NAAA is particularly concerned over the welfare of our athletes.”

T&T athletes have performed admirably at the event. “T&T has enjoyed considerable success at the relays and is the defending champion in the men’s 4x400m event.”

At the 2019 World Relays in Yokohama, Japan the quartet of Deon Lendore, Asa Guevara, Jereem Richards and Machel Cedenio won gold.

The NAAA wanted to have two teams represent T&T at the 2021 World Relays.

“Preliminary arrangements were made to enter a men’s 4x200m and a men’s 4x100m team. In the case of the latter, participation was seen as a means to qualify for the upcoming Tokyo Olympics. The top eight teams at the relays automatically qualify for the Olympics. In light of this, NAAA will now have to explore other options to have the men’s 4x100m team qualify.”

The Olympics are scheduled to run from July 23 to August 8.

In an interview with Newsday, Richards said, "I think it had to be something that was well thought out in terms of the feasibility of the travel. I know a lot of other countries have released their teams and had to pull it back." Jamaica and the USA, two powerhouse countries in track and field, have also decided to withdraw from the World Relays.

Richards, who is based in Florida, is hoping the T&T men's 4x100m team will be able to earn qualification for the Olympics. "It was really challenging for most countries to go and TT fell into that category...going forward I hope we are able to qualify the men's 4x1 team because I know that was one of our biggest (aims)...I believe there would be a lot of different options for us to go where we could qualify the team." Richards said there are meets in the US leading up to the Olympics where T&T can qualify. The T&T men's 4x400m and the women's 4x100m teams have already qualified for the Olympics.

The T&T 4x100m team that was scheduled to compete at the World Relays included Keston Bledman, Emmanuel Callender, Jerod Elcock, Kyle Greaux, Deon Lendore, Andre Marcano and Richards. The 4x200m team included Callender, Machel Cedenio, Elcock, Greaux, Lendore and Richards.

On not competing with his T&T teammates, Richards said, "It is definitely disappointing that we were not able to go out there and compete, but you have to have a level of understanding going forward. It is not a normal situation that we are in right now."

Richards said he understands the decision made by the NAAA.

Post by: Deeks on April 26, 2021, 05:07:21 PM
Jereem was brilliant on Saturday.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/sports/richards-warren-on-top-of-their-game-6.2.1320106.abbc226095

T&T's Jereem Richards ran a season's best 20.26 seconds to sprint to victory in the men's 200 metres at the USATF Grand Prix, the Oregon Relays, in Eugene, Oregon in the United States on Saturday.

The 2018 Commonwealth 200m champion comfortably beat to the line, American Josephus Lyles (20.46) and Jamaica's Christopher Taylor (20.73).

A season's best from Portious Warren saw her emerge champion of the women's shot put at the Louisiana State University (LSU) Alumni Gold at the LSU Bernie Moore Stadium in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

The local field specialist threw a distance of 18.12 metres to top the event which had two other T&T athletes compete including University of Alabama's Cherisse Murray and Texas A&M University's (TAMU) Tyra Gittens.

Murray heaved an outdoor season-best 16.50m but the Crimson Tide senior unfortunately missed out on a top-three finish, placing fourth.

TAMU redshirt junior and NCAA pentathlon champion Gittens placed 12th with her best mark being 13.26m. she also competed in the 110m hurdles and crossed fourth with a 13.26-clocking.

Unattached runner Asa Guevara had success in the men's 400m Olympic development race, placing second in a time of 46.09 behind Tiger Olympians' Vernon Norwood (45.17). In third place was Phillip Osei (Athletics Canada) with 46.17.

Tamia Badal of Colorado competed in the two women's hurdle events. The freshman placed 18th in the 100m hurdles with  14.10 (2.3 wind) and in the 400m hurdles, she finished 13th (1:02.03).

LSU senior Akanni Hislop also competed in the men's 200m and placed 10th with 21.05 (1.8w).

In Miami, Florida, Kai Selvon faced the starter in the women's 100m at the TRUFit Athletics Sprint Classic, Tropical Park Track.

The Puma MVP International sprinter advanced with the sixth-fastest qualifying time of 11.52 from the preliminaries, placing second in heat one. Selvon was slower in the final and placed seventh with 11.65 (1.3) in the dash.

Andre Marcano was a 10th-place finisher in the men's version of the race. The Central Park Track Club sprinter clocked 10.37.

Arkansas-Pine Bluff sophomore Safiya John had a busy schedule at the John McDonnell Invitational in Fayetteville, Arkansas, competing in four events but did not reach the podium in any.

On the track, she raced in the women's 200m and got to the line in 25.38 to place 26th and then in the 100m hurdles she was sixth with 13.56 (2.8w).

She also competed in two jump events, John placed ninth in the long jump with a 5.73m-leap and 10th in the triple jump with 11.60m.

Clement Campbell Jr, another Arkansas-Pine Bluff freshman, competed in three events and he too did not place among the top three in any. He was 20th overall in the men's 200m time final with a time of 22.19, seventh (7.43m) in the long jump and his team was disqualified in the 4x400m relay.

Franklyn Stanislaus placed eighth in the men's decathlon, tallying 6,347 points over the two-day meet.

The Arkansas-Pine Bluff sophomore won the 100 with 10.81 (2.7), high jump (1.92m) and 400m (49.38); was third in the long jump with 6.94m (2.2w); fourth in the 110m hurdles (15.03); seventh in the shot put (11.95m), eighth in both the discus (33.19), pole vault (3.30m) and 1,500m (5:47.49) and placed ninth in the javelin (33.32m).

Joanna Rogers was the other Arkansas-Pine Bluff student/athlete who competed at the meet and the freshman placed 19th in the women's 800 with 2:21.77.

On Friday, at the Wolfie Invitational in Stony Brook, New York, Fairleigh Dickinson sophomore Ako Hislop sprinted to second place in the men's 100m dash with 11.07.

Minnesota freshman Kion Benjamin and Purdue's Naomi Campbell, another first-year student, were aiming to complete their respective sprint doubles at the Fighting Illini Big Ten Relays but it did not pan as they had hoped.

Benjamin sprinted to silver in the men's 100m, placing second with  10.47 (1.7w) and missed out on a podium finish after crossing fourth in the 200m with 20.92 (2.8w)

Campbell placed ninth in the women's 100m with 11.98 (1.5) and tenth in the 200m with 24.62 (3.3) in the respective timed finals. She did, however, manage to help her team to a bronze in the 4x100m relays (45.48).

On Thursday, Jackson State freshman Adel Coltrust sprinted to four medals at the I-20 Twilight in Clinton, Mississippi.

He won gold in the men's 100m winning in 10.53 (-0.9) and copped silver in the 200m with a time of 21.35 (0.2). His team was also second in the 4x100m (41.18) and third in the 4x400m (3:12.41).
Post by: Sando prince on May 16, 2021, 12:12:14 PM

Jareem is in good form. he need to just focus on his game and continue to improve as the season progress and not worry about the bigger names and he will be in contention for a medal in Tokyo
Post by: Flex on August 29, 2021, 01:05:48 AM
Jereem reveals self-made athletics trading cards
ANDREW GIOANNETTI (T&T NEWSDAY).

JEREEM RICHARDS recently opened his first pack of first edition Athletic Excellence Trading Cards, a series of collectibles he designed to celebrate past and present Trinidad and Tobago track and field athletes, and raise their profile among younger generations.

"I waited a very long time for it," Richards told viewers on Instagram after revealing his first ten cards.

Each pack has ten cards, nine "normal" cards and one less common holographic (foil coated) card. Richards told Newsday on Friday that the cards are not yet on the market, and that the cost and other factors are still being worked out.

He said he is hoping to release those details in the coming months.

Richards said he designed the cards after using practising with software and teaching himself graphic design techniques, while Khaba-Marie Alexander did the lettering.

The entire purpose, he said, "was to showcase athletic excellence in TT... sooner or later (athletes outside of TT will be profiled) but right now I have to focus on Trinidad because I feel like...people don't really know the achievements of some of the past (national) athletes."

Richards revealed his first card to be retired distance runner Ronnie Holassie, who represented TT at the Olympic Games in 1996 and 2000. Like the other athletes, the card features his achievements and personal best(s).

It also includes a badge indicating that it is a first-edition. The other cards in his first pack included vastly experienced sprinters Marc Burns and Keston Bledman, retired hurdler Josanne Lucas, 800-metre specialist Jamaal James, three-time Olympic shot-putter Cleopatra Borel, men's shot putter Hezekiel Romeo, long-jumper Andwuelle Wright, and sprinter Jamol James.

Finally, the holographic card was revealed to be fellow quarter-mile specialist and Richards' team-mate on TT's 4x400m 2017 World Championships gold medal-winning team, Machel Cedenio.

In total, Richards designed and compiled profiles for 80 national athletes.

A scan code on the back of the package directs the user to Athletic Excellence Trading Cards' Instagram page.

(https://newsday.co.tt/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/IMG-3295-603x1024.jpg)
Trinidad and Tobago sprinter Jereem Richards holds one of his athletics trading cards.

(https://newsday.co.tt/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/IMG-3290.jpg)
Some of the trading cards. Photo via Instagram.

(https://newsday.co.tt/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/IMG-3292.jpg)
A trading card for Olympic gold-medalist Keshorn Walcott. Photo via Instagram.

Post by: gawd on pitch on March 19, 2022, 03:42:16 PM
Way to go Jereem. Gold in the 400m at the world indoor championships. Very historic and emotional win. Not only did he get Gold, he also got the Championship record, a personal record and a national record. It was only fitting that he broke Lendore's national record at the same time. He paid tribute to Lendore, who would have been running alongside him. Congratulations Jereem
Post by: Deeks on March 19, 2022, 03:55:53 PM
That was real nice and emotional. This guy is par excellence. Let's see what happen in Paris. I did not the see the women's 60. But I saw the men's. The Italian did it again. Kind of remind of Valerie Borzov. The Trini, Elcock , timed 6.63 came in 8th. He did not look to bad. How old is he? And is he related to Ancil and Marco Elcock?
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 19, 2022, 04:57:12 PM
Jerod is 23. His junior career did not begin the best. But he has improved in the last 1.5 years.

That 60m was a photo finish. Jacob just edged Coleman. Both had the same time.

Kambungi ate up the field in the women's 60m. 4th fastest time in history. Michelle 7th.
Post by: Sando prince on March 20, 2022, 03:30:44 PM
For anyone who missed the race video of Jereem winning the 400m Gold, here it is

https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/videos/2210375519110926 :beermug:

Post by: Sando prince on March 20, 2022, 03:31:17 PM

For anyone who missed the race video of Jereem winning the 400m Gold, here it is

https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/videos/2210375519110926  :beermug:

and here is the medal ceremony

https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/videos/452598116656744

Post by: Deeks on March 20, 2022, 04:25:43 PM
Am I wrong to suggest that Jareem needs to put on a little more muscle. Seeing that he is doubling in the 200 and 400.Correct me if I am wrong.
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 21, 2022, 05:26:22 AM
Am I wrong to suggest that Jareem needs to put on a little more muscle. Seeing that he is doubling in the 200 and 400.Correct me if I am wrong.

Possibly. Depends where. Remember when Richard Thompson dropped the weight. It ended up working against him. I think the training program and tailoring to the athlete is key. If Jereem training program requires more strength, then yes more muscle might be needed.
Post by: Deeks on March 21, 2022, 01:56:37 PM
Ok, cool.!
Post by: A.B. on March 22, 2022, 10:15:52 AM
I asked him yesterday if he's a 400m runner now - he said "no, but I'll still dabble in it."
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 22, 2022, 09:34:28 PM
I asked him yesterday if he's a 400m runner now - he said "no, but I'll still dabble in it."

Yeah and the question to you AB is, what event does he have a better chance at medalling in? I think that will determine what he does. He cant do the 200 and 400 at the same time.
Post by: Deeks on March 23, 2022, 07:54:24 PM
Interesting. Olympics in about 2 years.!
Post by: A.B. on March 25, 2022, 02:36:27 PM
I'd have to say 400m yes.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 26, 2022, 02:43:02 AM
I'd have to say 400m yes.

🙂
Post by: Deeks on April 10, 2022, 03:31:10 PM
https://olympics.nbcsports.com/2022/04/09/usatf-bermuda-games-noah-lyles-erriyon-knighton/

Saw the Bermuda Games yesterday. Man it was nice. The athletes struggled because of the high winds. The Bermuda stadium is constructed such that in the final 100, the athletes are running with the wind in their faces. As oppose to the wind at their backs. It was one of the most interesting meets I have ever witness. The competition was keen. And our boy Ato, ably assisted by Sanya were on top of the game in their commentaries.

First off, congrats to "The Dream" for pulling off the second spot. But the Bahamian who won,  not easy. Also congrats to Kirani James. He is a beast. Our boy Machel came in 5th. But the season now start. I saw Ato protege, Williams ?,  came in 2nd, I think. First time seeing her run. She is fast but short(no disrespect). I wished we had a female of her caliber.

But the race of the meet was the men 100. Man, how the hell JA does produce sprinters so, I don't know. This guy, Blake is running for Canada. And he beat Johan Blake, Lyles and Knighton. I know is only one race I have seen of him. But if he continues like this, he can cancel the Italian job in the future.

Nice, nice. Good job Ato and Sanya.
Post by: Deeks on April 11, 2022, 12:36:37 AM
What is your opinion of the Canadian Blake? Is he a real deal or flash n the pan so to say?
Post by: A.B. on April 12, 2022, 06:34:39 PM
Nobody losing any sleep over him. Maybe he will be in some races but he's not a real 100m threat
Post by: Deeks on April 14, 2022, 07:43:06 AM
Nobody losing any sleep over him. Maybe he will be in some races but he's not a real 100m threat

Cool!
Post by: gawd on pitch on May 29, 2022, 10:43:25 AM
Jereem ran a pb in the 400m yesterday. 44.79. That was only good enough to warrant 5th place. He did not time his race well at all. I think he's on to something big if he makes the a
necessary adjustments. Regardless good pb.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 26, 2022, 05:44:52 PM
Jereem!!! 19.83 at the National championships. Those 400s are paying off.
Post by: Sando prince on June 27, 2022, 05:12:02 AM
19.83 at Nationals

Here is Video https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/videos/564075168701129

Post by: Peong on June 28, 2022, 05:49:04 PM
19.83 is the 5th fastest in the world this year, very impressive.
On the question of muscle, there aren't many sprinters out there that are that slim. Slim might be optimal for him, I have no clue. Michael Norman who is the best 400 runner this year said last off season he hit the heavy weights hard.
Norman also has run 19.83 in the 200 this year.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 28, 2022, 08:07:21 PM
19.83 in those conditions are an indicator that he is on to something special. I think he'll break 19.77 in 3 weeks. I'm sure Ato ain't going to hate if he does.

When I seen Jereem win the 400m indoor, and the huge pb in the 400m outdoor, I knew he was going to put down a statement in the 200m this year.

Being slim is working. He's actually a lanky runner at 6"3 I believe. It's all about what works best for the athlete.
Post by: Sando prince on October 02, 2022, 08:57:47 AM

Video of Jereem 200m CommonWealth Games final gold medal win  :beermug:

https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/videos/583271010110317
Post by: Deeks on February 15, 2023, 11:37:28 AM
Saw Jereem win the indoor 400 at the 2023 Millrose Games NY. He looked good.
Post by: Deeks on February 25, 2023, 11:14:47 PM
Jereem wins again in England 👍🏿🙏🏿