May 24, 2013, 03:19:43 PM

Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
Football / Re: Manchester City, New York Yankees to own new MLS team
« Last post by Mango Chow! on Today at 03:12:56 PM »
Now actually just come from dey, moms wanted a shrimp roti  ;D  Some months ago a chinese man in the line in front of meh wid he wife.  Dey talkin in their language quick quick and pointing at different tings.  He look round and ask meh, what's that, and keep askin fuh everything he and he wife was pointing to and order one of each.  Afterwards he say, I am new to the neighbourhood but love the food.  two ah dem buy food ah swear fuh about a 2 weeks

...so yuh see what ah say is true?!  :D
Football / Re: UEFA Champions League 2012/2013
« Last post by Mango Chow! on Today at 03:11:59 PM »
Hmmm...was there even any hype around this final> I could have easily forgotten it was today.

I'm not that interested in seeing two German teams play against each other. But they both deserve to be there.

Doh mind dat, Toppa, I did wake up dis mawnin' thinkin' it was Thursday.

on another note: "Fox Soccer" put up a lil' ting on dey facebook page today: "Gus Johnson names his keys to victory for tomorrow's Champions League Final"   From de time ah see it ah know is worries.....The comments were/are unanimously merciless.
What happen was he went and party late and never show up for practice the next morning.
The club decide to take the hard line on this disciplinary issue and told him that was the final straw, better he find a next club.
It just so happen the finals was coming up and the management would not budge on the decision and so allow him to play the final.

I lived in Edinburgh at the time and remember the whole drama...McLeish didn't really have much choice...the picture in the paper had Latas in a car looking rel drunk, and he was subsequently charged for drunk driving...the media were saying how the manager had to do something to maintain respect...McLeish would have looked like a pushover if he didnt act. Apart from the drink driving charge, I think he had also broken the clubs rules which said no drinking 2 days before a game (another game, not the cup final)

Now the scene was that Latas was due to leave the club at the end of the season anyway whereas McLeish had every intention of staying...so I guess McLeish felt he did what he had to do...coupled with the fact that he would have known Celtic would have blown dem out anyway (they won the domestic treble that year, Henrik Larsson mash up everyting and everyone in his path)

General Discussion / Re: London Beheading
« Last post by Preacher on Today at 02:34:26 PM »
Yeah brother sadly they are.  http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-22630303   They even have made more arrests.
Fantasy League / Re: A mad man bet: TT vs England, 2006 WC
« Last post by vb on Today at 02:32:25 PM »
I talking about a bet re. the 2006 WC, a man win  money and allyuh move my post to the Fantasy League?? ::)
Football / Re: Changing Footballing Philospohy of the EPL
« Last post by Deeks on Today at 02:27:48 PM »
Longball, if properly used, could be an effective means of counterattacking particularly against a team that's pressing high up the pitch. But you need the right people for the job. And if you doubt you only need to look back at Breitner and Rumenigge (for either Bayern or Hamburg I forget which) back in the 80's. Not that that was the exclusive way the team played but I remember often enough seeing Rumenigge breakaway under a 40yd pass out of the defensive third from Breitner.

DC United used to dominate with it in the earlies of the MLS. They had a speedy forward, Roy(?) something or other who used to get called for offside like 10 (I'm probably exaggerating) times a game but at least a couple of times he would beat the offside and is 1v1 with the keeper. I believe he still holds the MLS single season goals record.

The problem comes when you start overdoing it and losing perspective on the proper use, much as sammy said the passing game can become extremely boring if, for example, all yuh doing is looking to hold the ball in the back and not move upfield.

Breitner and Ruminegge were at Bayrn. Two great ones. Roy Lassiter played for DC and also played for the US a couple of times. DC united under Arena had a good mixture of short and long ball. I still say that the MLS stifled DC and had a part in their current down fall. All they cared about was the NY/LA axis for the tv audience. They had this salary cap that did not allow DC to keep their best players. They had was to off-load good players to other teams. But as soon as Beckham was available, they open up the salary cap and steered him to LA. And they did the same for Henri NY/NJ. The MLS sucks!!!!
Football / Re: Russell Latapy: Alex McLeish says I cost him the Scottish Cup
« Last post by FF on Today at 02:24:44 PM »
What happen was he went and party late and never show up for practice the next morning.
The club decide to take the hard line on this disciplinary issue and told him that was the final straw, better he find a next club.
It just so happen the finals was coming up and the management would not budge on the decision and so allow him to play the final.
Other Sports / Re: lil swimmers
« Last post by maxg on Today at 02:17:41 PM »
record posted
http://www.fnq.qc.ca/nouvelles_voir.asp?CodeN=1417

Max where the english version, SW should have strict language rules. ::)
yuh could click translate on the google bar, man..daiz how i does do it   ;D
Yeah, I didn't realize it was two weeks before the match McLeash geh orn so for.

I'm all for professionalism and excellence, but some people too trigger happy and bossy for their own good.

Football / Re: Changing Footballing Philospohy of the EPL
« Last post by Banter Banton on Today at 02:04:41 PM »

Longball, if properly used, could be an effective means of counterattacking particularly against a team that's pressing high up the pitch. But you need the right people for the job. And if you doubt you only need to look back at Breitner and Rumenigge (for either Bayern or Hamburg I forget which) back in the 80's. Not that that was the exclusive way the team played but I remember often enough seeing Rumenigge breakaway under a 40yd pass out of the defensive third from Breitner.

DC United used to dominate with it in the earlies of the MLS. They had a speedy forward, Roy(?) something or other who used to get called for offside like 10 (I'm probably exaggerating) times a game but at least a couple of times he would beat the offside and is 1v1 with the keeper. I believe he still holds the MLS single season goals record.

The problem comes when you start overdoing it and losing perspective on the proper use, much as sammy said the passing game can become extremely boring if, for example, all yuh doing is looking to hold the ball in the back and not move upfield.

I have nothing against it.. it is a tactic..especially vs a high line defense but some teams play it over and over again.. West Ham and Stoke really.. everyone else have moved on from making it their go to play
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10