April 17, 2024, 11:57:34 PM

Recent Posts

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]
What about Track & Field / CARIFTA GAMES 2024
« Last post by asylumseeker on March 30, 2024, 05:46:59 PM »
Seeing that the U20 girls discus record has been broken.
Football / Re: Youth Football Thread
« Last post by asylumseeker on March 30, 2024, 05:45:07 PM »
The definition of "going brave".
Football / Re: Reon Moore Thread
« Last post by Tallman on March 30, 2024, 09:04:26 AM »
Reon Moore ready to light up Canada, grateful to ex-club: Army helped change my life
By Roneil Walcott (T&T Newsday)

As he looks forward to his debut season in the Canadian Premier League with Pacific FC, Soca Warriors forward Reon Moore has credited former club Defence Force for giving him the tools to succeed on a personal and sporting level.

Moore has set a personal goal of winning the Golden Boot award, and he sees the Canada league as a stepping-stone in his career.

After weeks of speculation due to Moore’s absence from the Defence Force squad in the Trinidad and Tobago Premier Football League (TTPFL) top flight, Pacific FC confirmed the signing of the electric Sangre Grande striker to a two-year contract on March 1. Pacific FC also have a club option for the 2026 season.

After stints in the T&T Super League (then T&T’s second-highest level of club football), featuring a spell with Guaya United, Moore signed with Defence Force and quickly became a key figure in the Army attack.

The 27-year-old said the move to Defence Force completely changed his life for the better, and he said it was a tough and emotional decision to part ways with the reigning TTP FL champions after spending eight years with the club.

This will be Moore’s second stint overseas, as he also had a six-month spell with Guatemala’s CSD Municipal in 2022. Moore said the move to Canada will help take him to the next level, as he has the burning desire to play in Europe’s top leagues and rub shoulders with the world’s best players.

“It was a very tough decision for me and my family, because I think Defence Force is the club where I really blossomed as a player and as an individual,” Moore told Newsday on March 28.

Moore said the Defence Force taught him important values that will carry him through his life.

“For me, living in Sangre Grande and going to Chaguaramas every day to train, I think one of the things that will go with me or whoever is reading this story will be commitment, discipline and hard work,” Moore said.

“Once you have those basic principles about yourself in football and as a gentleman, you are going to reach very far in life because the skill and everything (else) will come after.”

Moore said, “I just want to say thanks to Defence Force for changing my life drastically as a footballer and also as a person. Most definitely, I would like to return to Defence Force to finish up my career.”

A relentless attacker in the final third on the left wing or the centre-forward position, Moore’s skill and work ethic have been on full display at both club and international level. In the inaugural TTPFL season last year, Moore scored seven goals for Defence Force as they walked away with the league title, to go along with three goals in the TTPFL knockout tournament as the Army completed the double.

On the international scene, Moore has made himself a key cog in the Soca Warriors’ wheel, and he is coming off a 2023/24 Concacaf Nations League A campaign where he was one of coach Angus Eve’s most consistent performers – scoring a team-high three goals in six appearances.

Moore’s final goal of the Nations League A cycle came against the US when T&T got a 2-1 win in the return leg of their quarterfinal clash at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo last November.

The US won the quarterfinal 4-2 on aggregate and later finished as Nations League champions.

Moore has eight goals in 26 matches for T&T, with three of those goals also coming during the team’s 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup campaign. He was surprisingly overlooked for the 2023 Gold Cup.

Now, he’s a squad regular, and he believes the team is on an upward trajectory despite a disappointing end to their Nations League campaign in the 2024 Copa America play-in versus Canada on March 23.

“When you look back at the 2023/24 Concacaf Nations League A campaign – on the back of the 2023 Gold Cup – you would say it was a success for TT football on the whole. We have a lot of positives to take heading into the World Cup qualifiers,” Moore said.

He pointed to the changes he has observed within the Soca Warriors camp.

“I think the most glaring thing in the camp is the attitude and the willingness to work for one another,” he said, pointing to comeback victories against El Salvador, Guatemala and the US.

“There are some good principles in the young ones also. Soon again, T&T football will be a force to be reckoned with. We still learned a lot from the (play-in) experience. We are still pretty confident and ready for the World Cup qualifiers.”

The Soca Warriors’ FIFA 2026 World Cup qualifying campaign begins on home soil when T&T host Grenada on June 5. In the interim, though, Moore is focused on hitting the ground running for Pacific FC, starting with his team’s clash against Halifax Wanderers and his national teammate Andre Rampersad on the opening day of the season, April 13.

“It has been a warm welcome for me, and everybody is happy to have me here at Pacific FC. It’s just for me to get settled in as fast as possible and start performing.

“As a team, we want to win the league and participate in the Concacaf Champions Cup.”
Football / Re: 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League Thread
« Last post by gawd on pitch on March 30, 2024, 06:36:54 AM »
@Contro, I see some of your points. But if Calypso was so catchy, it would have survived the push from the Monarchy. It would have been more resilient. Remember the US media did that to hip hop in the 80s. but they realized hip hop is a force that cannot be stopped.

Indeed good conversation
« Last post by gawd on pitch on March 30, 2024, 06:33:02 AM »
@Deeks. We ain't blaming the name. Soca Warriors as a brand is like a paper tiger. Time to change it. It does not sound powerful at all. It's a weak brand. The majority of the teams that we play outside of the Caribbean think that Soca is a corruption of the word Soccer.

A change in identity might be what we need. I know yuh love your Soca Deeks, but think about Soca and think about if it really reinforces a warrior mentality that is needed on the field. Soca is a pacifier. Sure it puts you in good spirits. But it doesn't give you a killer instinct side like what you get with hip hop, reggae, rock music. Look at the UFC and listen to the music the fighters walk out to when going to the  octagon. It's always music that is hard-core. Music that encourages you to KICK ASS. Soca does not have the same impact on the athletes psyche. I think is once on UFC or Bellator a fighter walk out to Bunji "We ready". You see my point Deeks. Soca is not warriors music. It's pacifier music. It does not encourage the listener to revolt.

Next time you go to the gym, listen to some hard-core hip hop then try Soca. You'll see which one pushes you more.
« Last post by Controversial on March 30, 2024, 01:03:01 AM »
@gawd

Great convo brother, I'm enjoying talking about our history. We need more of these conversations for everyone to know our contributions to world history.

Not a lot of Universities have an in depth program like University of Toronto and York University, sadly. Our professors were great, PHDs/Doctorates etc with a vast knowledge of Africa and the Caribbean. It wasn't bird courses, the courses were hard and required serious work and research. You had to actually love being there and learning about our history.

I beg to differ brother, Calypso's decline was deliberate and due to Rocksteady's rise with Taitt. Had Taitt not re invented ska and added those calypso elements, Reggae would not have flourished. The rise of "black power" and independence movement in TT and push to become a republic created the right environment for a blacklist. A music doesn't just fade away like that, there is a reason for it, because artists in TT were constantly creating. Lancelot Layne and many others continued to re cerate but guess what?

We didn't have a record label in Trinidad and Tobago. Why is that? Calypso sells one million and continues to bloom in Hollywood movies etc but no label? Calypso also disappeared from the stations in the US as well after independence. The rise of reggae was orchestrated and Calypso had to fall on it's sword to enable the rise of reggae, which was basically an offshoot of calypso and it's root. If you are disloyal to the crown, you can take a back seat... Calypso took that backseat and continues to take that backseat with soca.

They had to blacklist calypso for reggae to rise and TT was persona non grata so it was inevitable.

JA separating their identity was largely due to their tie to the crown, their head of state being the Queen. TT was always about unity, which was another reason we became public enemy #1. A united West Indies means the eventual elimination of neo colonialism and TT spearheading that was a threat...

Our cultural Carnivals bring in billions to the city, they have no obligations to us. They allow us to celebrate our culture and in return they make money and profess they support diversity and inclusiveness. They know they control the radio and media, they control what you hear on Iheart radio and what charts on Billboard magazine. They control who performs at the Grammys and the TT population is smaller than most in a viral world. So our Carnival is not a threat to the hegemony they hold on world music and what is a Top 40 or Billboard hit.

So you can have your Carnival because we benefit more than you and your culture, with no strings attached. You get your jump up, we get our money and we still don't need to play your music on the radio, we can just steal your music and repackage it and have no consequences.

You ever notice that even though our Carnivals bring in billions annually to these cities, the music never gets played on mainstream radio? You would think that a festival and music that brings in more money than reggae or EDM etc and also was the first to sell one million, programmers for radio stations would push to play the music. Even if it was pay for play, they still would resist, despite them now playing afro beat and reggaetone, carbon copies of our music.

Much love brother, blessings for the easter....
@deeks

just because PNM doesn't want to rebuild and really invoke change in EDR means we are poor.

There is power and money in crime, control in crime... How do you control a nation and keep them in fear? CRIME... You flock to the govt of the day, to be the savior they will never be...

Ask yourself why you can walk a few blocks and the property value changes almost right across the street? The government and our nation has created that disparity in value...

There's so many things I know personally that will shock you but the two parties don't want enlightenment, they want control

« Last post by Controversial on March 30, 2024, 12:15:36 AM »
@deeks

lack of talent? no brother, lack of coaching and self control and governance over our football...

How can we lack talent, when we are not even selecting our best talent because Eve is controlled?

please brother, we have too much talent to choose from and we are not even doing that bc of who is in charge, FIFA..
Football / Re: The Best Ways to SABOTAGE the T&T National Football Team...
« Last post by Controversial on March 30, 2024, 12:12:00 AM »
@deeks

brother it's a wholistic approach to sabotage and neo colonial tactics of suppression of the Caribbean as a region. It is historical and continuous, no bewilderment there, just facts and historically that has been our story in the world.

We are used as votes, beating teams like Argentina and the likes of Germany are out of this world to many because we have never had a fair chance to win or compete. Wallace entered the frame and was beaten down and the NC installed, Hart was removed and undermined. The list goes on, it is not our fault in many cases because we cannot overpower FIFA.

For instance, if Wharfe is not elected, and an outlier is the new President and does not have the blessings of FIFA, we are back to the NC. If they even fire Eve, it may spell our nation being back under the NC, because that is a coach chosen by FIFA and paid by FIFA. This is not delusion and not because of our lack of talent. We have too much talent and they are not chosen.

We are currently not even allowed to choose our best talent or youth talent. The government also plays a big role in this sabotage and control, they could change the rule of nationality to boost our sport and football but have not budged. They are too busy stealing money from our nation...

The problem is not WE, but them and abroad. Check the dates of when sponsorship came into world football under Havelange, you will see when real revenues started to enter FIFA. Once that happened, TT and other nations of color had to take a back seat.

You've never asked yourself the question, why CFU isn't allocated two WC spots but has the second highest vote count in FIFA? We are the swing vote and control who becomes President but have no WC spots?????

Think about what I said above, it is time our people wake up to reality...

Football / Re: The Best Ways to SABOTAGE the T&T National Football Team...
« Last post by Deeks on March 29, 2024, 10:08:59 PM »
So in summary brother, to answer your question, the reason for sabotage of our football, was written before JW, continued with JW and is after JW as well.

Contro. I honestly admire your historical perspective on things and issues of TT. And I hoping I can meet You one of these days. But I am still a bit bewildered by your statement that even before Jack, FIFA and them wanted to keep down TT.

The only thing that impede us moving forward to upset the apple cart, IS WE. Not FIFA, is WE TT. All the successful football nations in Concacaf get backing from within. Business and government for finance and the citizens for backing in the stands. They have to work in tandem. That eh happening now. In 74 when the team almost went to the first Germany WC, who was TT president? Ken Galt. A former TT player who worked for Massy. He was able to get money for that squad. When the 74 Youth went Canada to play Concacaf U19, TTFA pull out all the stops to prepare the team. We came in third behind Mexico and Cuba. In 74 we won the silver medal in the CAC games. So the problem is We.
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]