March 28, 2024, 04:43:36 PM

Author Topic: World Cup quiz  (Read 6140 times)

World Cup quiz
« on: January 26, 2006, 06:48:17 PM »
I have a quiz for everyone. Post your answers and i would tell you how much you got and i would pm you all the answers  ;D

Question number 1)
1966 World Cup Finals

The Jules Rimet World Cup trophy was stolen just before the 1966 World Cup. Who found it?

a)Scotland Yard
b) A dog
c) A tramp

Question number 2)
1966 World Cup Finals

Something else went missing in 66. Which German player took home the ball used in the final?

a) Lothar Emmerich
b) Franz Beckenbauer
c) Helmut

Question number 3
1966 World Cup Finals

Which rule was used for the last time in the finals in England?

a) No substitutes
b) Two points for a win
c)The two seeded teams only played the two unseeded teams/extra time in the case of a draw

Question 4
1966 World Cup Finals

How much did it cost to stand on the terraces at the Wembley final?

a) £10
b) £8
c) £5

Question 5
World Cup 66

Which german politician was convinced that the disputed third goal in the England - Germany final was valid?

a) President Heinrich Lübke
b) Chancellor Ludwig Erhard
C) Vice-Chancellor Erich Mende

Question 6
1966 World Cup Finals

At the World Cup draw in Leipzig in December 2005 the head of the 2006 World Cup Organising Committee, Franz Beckenbauer, met one of the opposition from the 1966 Wembley final again. Who was it?

a)Bobby Moore
b)Bobby Charlton
c)Geoffrey Hurst

Question 7
England captain Bobby Moore was arrested and spent four days in a Colombian prison during the 1970 World Cup competition. What was his alleged offence?

a) Assaulting a police officer
b) Whistling on a Sunday
c) Stealing jewellery from a shop in BogotἯtd

Question 8
Why did the Indian national team withdraw from the 1950 World Cup competition?

a) Their top goal scorer couldn't find a babysitter
b) Their much-loved captain had booked the wrong four weeks off work
c) They had been forbidden to play barefoot

Question 9
Players on the United Arab Emirates team were offered bonuses for each goal they scored during the 1990 World Cup finals. What form did these bonuses take?

a) Marks & Spencer gift vouchers
b) Woolworths record tokens
c) Rolls Royce cars

Question 10
Why was Chile disallowed to participate in the 1994 qualifying competition?
a) A Chilean goalkeeper faked his injury in a qualifying match.
b) Chile were unable to pay the participation fee.
c) Chile refused to play a play-off match in USSR in 1989.
d) The Chilean military government was accused of murdering thousands of political opponents

Question 11
Why did the referee add on 8 minutes of injury time to the first half of extra-time in the 1990 Semi-Final between Italy and Argentina?
 a) The referee forgot about the time.
 b) The stadium clock had stopped moving.
 c) The Italian goalkeeper was knocked down unconscious.
 d) Three players were sent off during that period

Question 12

What were the similarities of the hat-tircks scored by Argentina's Gabriel Batistuta in 1994 and in 1998?
a)  The date was 21 June of the year.
b)  The opponents were World Cup finals debutants.
c)  The third goal was a penalty.
d)  All of the above

Question 13
Why did Ronaldo change his hair style after Brazil beat England in the 2002 quarter finals?
 a) To carry out a promise to his physiotherapist.
 b) To improve his ball control by head.
 c) To look more different from his teammate Roberto Carlos.
 d) He was inspired by a character in an ancient Korean movie

Question 14
Which country was the original hosts of the 1986 World Cup?
 a) Chile.
 b) Uruguay.
 c) Colombia.
 d) Brazil

« Last Edit: January 26, 2006, 07:47:50 PM by Tallman »

Re: World Cup quiz
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2006, 10:45:00 PM »
Here are my answers:

Question number 1)
1966 World Cup Finals
The Jules Rimet World Cup trophy was stolen just before the 1966 World Cup. Who found it?
b) A dog

Question number 2)
1966 World Cup Finals
 Something else went missing in 66. Which German player took home the ball used in the final?
c) Helmut Haller

Question number 3
1966 World Cup Finals
a) No substitutes

Question 4
1966 World Cup Finals
c) £5

Question 5
World Cup 66
Which german politician was convinced that the disputed third goal in the England - Germany final was valid?

Question 6
1966 World Cup Finals
 At the World Cup draw in Leipzig in December 2005 the head of the 2006 World Cup Organising Committee, Franz Beckenbauer, met one of the opposition from the 1966 Wembley final again. Who was it?
c)Geoffrey Hurst

Question 7
England captain Bobby Moore was arrested and spent four days in a Colombian prison during the 1970 World Cup competition. What was his alleged offence?
c) Stealing jewellery from a shop in Bogota

Question 8
c) They had been forbidden to play barefoot

Question 9
Players on the United Arab Emirates team were offered bonuses for each goal they scored during the 1990 World Cup finals. What form did these bonuses take?
c) Rolls Royce cars

Question 10
a) A Chilean goalkeeper faked his injury in a qualifying match.

Question 11
Why did the referee add on 8 minutes of injury time to the first half of extra-time in the 1990 Semi-Final between Italy and Argentina?

Question 12
What were the similarities of the hat-tricks scored by Argentina's Gabriel Batistuta in 1994 and in 1998?
a)  The date was 21 June of the year.

Question 13
Why did Ronaldo change his hair style after Brazil beat England in the 2002 quarter finals?

Question 14
 c) Colombia.

« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2006, 10:26:16 AM »
tallman yuh have to give these quiz and dem like about two days b4 yuh light it up ;D

« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2006, 11:20:32 AM »
Tallman you real good but you get four wrong. So you get 8/12 = 66%

« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2006, 12:22:41 PM »
tallman yuh have to give these quiz and dem like about two days b4 yuh light it up ;D

Thais wha I go to say.... he ent even give man chance to answer

Question number 1)
1966 World Cup Finals
b) A dog

Question number 2)
1966 World Cup Finals
c) Helmut Haller

Question number 3
1966 World Cup Finals
a) No substitutes

Question 4
1966 World Cup Finals
c) £5

Question 5
World Cup 66

Question 6
1966 World Cup Finals
c)Geoffrey Hurst

Question 7
c) Assaulting a Police officer

Question 8
c) The man mix up he holidays

Question 9
c) Rolls Royce cars

Question 10
a) Chilean government bloodshed

Question 11

Question 12
What were the similarities of the hat-tricks scored by Argentina's Gabriel Batistuta in 1994 and in 1998?
a) The date was 21 June of the year.

Question 13

Question 14
 c) Chile

« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2006, 01:38:17 PM »
Ok Tallman you got number 5, 6, 7 and 12 wrong
FF you get 5, 6, 10, 12 and 14 wrong 

« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2006, 02:41:08 PM »

I hereby launch an appeal on number 7 and 12 because I believe dat I am right.

« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2006, 08:36:35 PM »

well i would launch an investigation

Offline Leone

« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2006, 10:36:14 AM »

yes i believe he is right about the stealing jewellry.
Soca Warriors Supporters Club (S.W.S.C)

Blood, Sweat & Fete.

« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2006, 11:30:20 AM »

yes i believe he is right about the stealing jewellry.

Tallman i launch my investigation and i found out that you did indeed got number 7 right. Number 12 is going to the inquiry. Will report the verdict in a while

Got the verdict the answer for 12 is all above and you got it wrong

We know he both hat tricks were on the same day
They were both against teams that was making thier first world cup debut ( Greece and Jamaica)
His Third Goal came from the penalty spot

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/soccer/world/events/1998/worldcup/news/1998/06/21/argentina_jamaica/

Can find a source where i found the question but i guess you could take my word that the third was a penalty aginst greece  ;D
« Last Edit: January 28, 2006, 11:50:00 AM by skins »