April 26, 2024, 10:38:19 PM

Author Topic: A Suggestion to Senator Ato Boldon  (Read 5111 times)

A Suggestion to Senator Ato Boldon
« on: February 17, 2006, 04:51:53 PM »
I would like to say congrats on your appointment to the senate of Trinidad and Tobago. As many know our nation has a bi-cameral legislature and any legislation passed must go through the senate.

I have one suggestion to you Ato, can you please suggest to the UNC caucus that they change the citizenship rule, which does not allow individuals with trinidadian parentage to obatin a Trinidad and Tobago passport. In light of our PM's vision to reach first nation status, which is politically incorrect because it is actually developed nation status by 2020. I think he should follow the rest of the G8 nations who already have this allowance for individuals to obtain citizenship through their grandparents.

I think to UNC should push for this legislation to go through and put the pressure on the PNM to include this in their plans to reach developed nation status by 2020.

It would be a great service if you can also at some point mention this to your fellow senators and UNC colleagues that this issue needs to be addressed, if our nation plans to progress.

As a sports embassador Ato it would be crucial for you to know that many athletes, especially many footballers want to represent Trinidad and Tobago and cannot because of this regressive rule, which has not changed.

Vibes It Up

Good luck in your new role, serve the nation well

God Bless
« Last Edit: February 17, 2006, 04:58:02 PM by TrinInfinite »

Re: A Suggestion to Senator Ato Boldon
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2006, 05:00:51 PM »
TI yuh doh have a T&T passport?

ah dont understand dat.

yuhz a bottom child away?

heres a suggestion for Ato.

is best yuh do WHAT you do BEST and RUN yuh 100 METERS to yuh cyar and drive as far away from parliment as possible.

doh geh yuhself caught up in de political cross fire.

« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2006, 05:02:30 PM »
i not talkin about myself  ::) we have players and athletes who would represent trinidad, who cant bc dey grandparents are trini, terrible rule

« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2006, 05:05:54 PM »
i not talkin about myself  ::) we have players and athletes who would represent trinidad, who cant bc dey grandparents are trini, terrible rule
I am in FAVOUR of this! ;D(22nd Generation Canadian-Trini :devil: lining up for TNT lol)

on a serious note. I am in favour of TriniInfinites Suggestion.
If this cant be done I want to know why they dont go to 3rd Generation unlike most nations.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2006, 05:08:01 PM by Carib-briton(aka Futbol) »

« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2006, 05:08:14 PM »

I have one suggestion to you Ato, can you please suggest to the UNC caucus that they change the citizenship rule, which does not allow individuals with trinidadian parentage to obatin a Trinidad and Tobago passport. In light of our PM's vision to reach first nation status, which is politically incorrect because it is actually developed nation status by 2020. I think he should follow the rest of the G8 nations who already have this allowance for individuals to obatin citizenship through their grandparents.

TI, u sure about that law? I was born in d UK and have a Trini passport. I know real people like dat.

« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2006, 05:15:16 PM »

I have one suggestion to you Ato, can you please suggest to the UNC caucus that they change the citizenship rule, which does not allow individuals with trinidadian parentage to obatin a Trinidad and Tobago passport. In light of our PM's vision to reach first nation status, which is politically incorrect because it is actually developed nation status by 2020. I think he should follow the rest of the G8 nations who already have this allowance for individuals to obatin citizenship through their grandparents.

TI, u sure about that law? I was born in d UK and have a Trini passport. I know real people like dat.

Yes Boss. That rule is correct what he saying.
I thought you were a born trini. :devil: were you born here and went back?(if you stayed there for a number of years the rule might be different)

I know if you born here(UK anywhere outside TNT) you can't get trini citizenship but your kids wont be able to regardless if you have the passport and citizenship certificate

« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2006, 05:31:30 PM »
you can get Trini citizenship if your parents were born in Trini and you were not, but not if your grandparents were born in Trini and your parents were away.

So if you born away and parents from Trinidad you get
how you think Birchall get?

End of story

« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2006, 05:39:24 PM »
well i suppose they have to first consider it?

i dunno.

sketchi.

tallman?

« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2006, 06:06:56 PM »
Immigration Laws in  confusing to me boy but i get what you saying TI. You raise a valid point there.

« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2006, 06:36:50 PM »
I know if you born here(UK anywhere outside TNT) you can't get trini citizenship but your kids wont be able to regardless if you have the passport and citizenship certificate

I was asking about that a while ago...thanks for clearing it up.

« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2006, 08:30:54 PM »
what exactly is First/Developed Nation Status?

How will this new rule help us achieve this other than allowing athletes compete for us?

« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2006, 10:07:49 PM »
It gives you a bigger talent pool to draw from.
Athletes are just a subset of skilled workers that can make significant contributions to the country.

The CSME is pretty much the same thing with increasing the talent pool we can draw from.

Developed countries grab any and every talented person they come across and they stay on top while the rest of us complain about brain drain.....

« Reply #12 on: February 18, 2006, 10:18:34 AM »
A Suggestion to Senator Ato Boldon (from triniInfinite)

please use your office to see if u could get hardest on de World Cup squad for germany.

love TriniInfinite.

lol lol lol lol lol lol

ah love it!!.........just teasing yuh T.I.!!

« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2006, 10:35:15 AM »
De way allyuh talking about TI  Next ting he want de Honourable senator tuh help pass legislation legalizing gay marriage.

TI formalizing he status with Hardest...Mrs. Hardest!!!

« Reply #14 on: February 19, 2006, 11:54:16 PM »
De way allyuh talking about TI Next ting he want de Honourable senator tuh help pass legislation legalizing gay marriage.

yuh mad or wha, dat sodomite talk doh wuk 4 me, triniman was happy when dey pass dat up, i feel like 2 throw a nuclear warhead on de bullah parade :devil:

« Reply #15 on: February 20, 2006, 09:38:08 AM »
i suggest this go to general discussion

« Reply #16 on: February 20, 2006, 10:12:30 AM »
De way allyuh talking about TI Next ting he want de Honourable senator tuh help pass legislation legalizing gay marriage.

yuh mad or wha, dat sodomite talk doh wuk 4 me, triniman was happy when dey pass dat up, i feel like 2 throw a nuclear warhead on de bullah parade :devil:

what?

and after brokeback mountain did so well?

« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2006, 10:28:35 AM »
Look at the winter olympics on right now. There are so many people representing the US that look like they from europe that you would not know they were americans until they said so. So we should start that to. I saw a man and a woman in the figure skating last night, I swear they were from italy, only to find out they repping the US.

« Reply #18 on: February 22, 2006, 04:21:36 PM »
ato i ent hear yuh response yet breds?

« Reply #19 on: February 22, 2006, 04:48:28 PM »
De law is fine de way it is.  Why should someone who has trini grandparents automatically have trini citizenship?   How far back yuh want to go?  Great grandparents, great great grandparents?

My great grandfather was bajan.  Should I automatically have bajan citizenship even though I have never set foot in Barbados and know nothing much about Barbados (except that dey does thief we flying fish)?

« Reply #20 on: February 22, 2006, 04:51:28 PM »
De law is fine de way it is. Why should someone who has trini grandparents automatically have trini citizenship? How far back yuh want to go? Great grandparents, great great grandparents?

My great grandfather was bajan. Should I automatically have bajan citizenship even though I have never set foot in Barbados and know nothing much about Barbados (except that dey does thief we flying fish)?

Who wud want bajan citizenship?  :rotfl:

« Reply #21 on: February 23, 2006, 01:23:50 AM »
ato i ent hear yuh response yet breds?

De man busy being ah senator :devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #22 on: February 23, 2006, 06:11:40 AM »
Is this a football matter? And allyuh really going and harass the man with all kinda request when he come on the board to get his mind of the stress of politics?