April 19, 2024, 02:59:51 PM

Author Topic: ARSENAL FORWARD  (Read 896208 times)

Re: ARSENAL FORWARD
« Reply #4200 on: August 17, 2011, 10:49:10 AM »
conspiracy against arsenal!

Arsenal midfielder Alex Song will miss his club's next three Premier League matches after accepting an FA charge of violent conduct following Saturday's opening league game at Newcastle United.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #4201 on: August 17, 2011, 11:15:12 AM »
Nah we look fuh dat, plus yuh notice how many more cards we getting yet we labeled as a sorf side

We created our own mess

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #4202 on: August 17, 2011, 11:24:17 AM »
f**k off and go Nasri

I know I said fire wenger if we're lose cesc n sell nasri to epl competition now I just want the twat gone.

Plus this is season is a turning point for wenger. Last chance saloon, at the OK Emirates

« Reply #4203 on: August 17, 2011, 12:15:06 PM »

Arsenal midfielder Alex Song will miss his club's next three Premier League matches after accepting an FA charge of violent conduct following Saturday's opening league game at Newcastle United.

How much of a match ban did Rooney get for that elbow last year again?  ;)

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

« Reply #4204 on: August 17, 2011, 01:29:03 PM »

Well, to be fair, he accepted the charges when they gave him a chance to contest them. I guess we'll find out if Frimpong is ready.
Victoria concordia crescit

« Reply #4205 on: August 17, 2011, 01:42:05 PM »
Boy seems like in the eyes of everyman and his dog (or so claims the brit press) arsenal can do no right

Had udinese played manu (or someother more "english" team) the same way and same result they would applaud the english masters of withstanding the italian onslaught especially in light of injuries at the back AND the manager being banned AND missing two starters there would be praise glittered upon them

But no, they choose to focus on the negatives constantly

Agreed. Arsenal has two defenders injured and keeps a clean sheet, and instead of saying that Jenkinson did well on his debut/Wenger spotted a gem (this is 19 year old straight from the first division), the twist is that we have no depth. Instead of recognizing that Arsenal might actually now have a dependable GK, the twist is that they were lucky not to concede. If it were van der Sar making those saves last season, maybe he would have gotten some credit. When other teams don't play well but win, the reports praise their ability to dig out results on their bad days.

At the end of the day, each version of the story is just as true as the other. I don't think saying that Arsenal were lucky is any less true than saying Szczesny saved them from losing - it's just a matter of perspective. But you're seeing a certain negativity around everything that Arsenal does nowadays. I guess that's what you get when you don't win a trophy in 6 years, and when you throw away the Carling Cup and your strong league position in the fashion Arsenal did last season.

« Reply #4206 on: August 17, 2011, 02:12:39 PM »
Szczesny saved them from losing - That is his job! All the time the media going on and on about Arsenal need a keeper. The problem is the same media were critical of this youth and now he showing signs of developing into  a creditable keeper, they can't accept it. Just wait till me he makes one error. The I told you so's will come out.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #4207 on: August 17, 2011, 02:28:31 PM »

How much of a match ban did Rooney get for that elbow last year again?  ;)

ahahahahahaha i forgot too! f**kin united f**king fa

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #4208 on: August 17, 2011, 02:41:02 PM »
Szczesny saved them from losing - That is his job! All the time the media going on and on about Arsenal need a keeper. The problem is the same media were critical of this youth and now he showing signs of developing into  a creditable keeper, they can't accept it. Just wait till me he makes one error. The I told you so's will come out.
yup! all the papers goen quiet on that front, too busy trying to predict what piece wenger will pick and where he wil put it.

i say let OX loose on liverpool get him fired up no nerves just thirst!

« Reply #4209 on: August 17, 2011, 04:10:48 PM »

You could probably say it's an expectation thing too. People have come to expect Arsenal to drop leads, so when we hold onto one it's lucky. Or people expect Arsenal to out-pass and out-possess opposition so when we don't live up to that, the critics come out. No matter what though, you and GunnerStunner are right. Everyone seems to be waiting for Arsenal to fail so they could attack Wenger.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #4210 on: August 17, 2011, 04:25:50 PM »

You could probably say it's an expectation thing too. People have come to expect Arsenal to drop leads, so when we hold onto one it's lucky. Or people expect Arsenal to out-pass and out-possess opposition so when we don't live up to that, the critics come out. No matter what though, you and GunnerStunner are right. Everyone seems to be waiting for Arsenal to fail so they could attack Wenger.

yeah but you'd expect that we'd have drawn or lost the game based on previous results in games where we had over 60% possession but went on to lose or draw, so why is it when we get the job done it isnt good enough?

« Reply #4211 on: August 17, 2011, 09:14:03 PM »

yeah but you'd expect that we'd have drawn or lost the game based on previous results in games where we had over 60% possession but went on to lose or draw, so why is it when we get the job done it isnt good enough?

Until Arsenal win something or sign a big name, this will continue. Just media hyping the fact that Wenger under pressure from some fans.

« Reply #4212 on: August 18, 2011, 02:26:20 AM »
Sorry to break up the pity party fellas but is the media who was booing Arsenal during a meaningless Preseason game. The media has nothing against Arsenal, they all praise Wenger for his football but rightfully point out failures in his transfer policy.

The media is much more kind to Arsenal than the very vocal Arsenal fans who have been whining and bitching so much about their "6/7 years without..." that it is a running story.

I hear even Gary Neville was defending Wenger from the rabble in a print article.

« Reply #4213 on: August 18, 2011, 06:39:23 AM »
Sorry to break up the pity party fellas but is the media who was booing Arsenal during a meaningless Preseason game. The media has nothing against Arsenal, they all praise Wenger for his football but rightfully point out failures in his transfer policy.

The media is much more kind to Arsenal than the very vocal Arsenal fans who have been whining and bitching so much about their "6/7 years without..." that it is a running story.

I hear even Gary Neville was defending Wenger from the rabble in a print article.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #4214 on: August 18, 2011, 07:20:19 AM »
When thierry left he made the announcement himself.

Cesc couldn't get outta here fast enough

Wenger its time to earn so respect for the club and fans by the players. I don't care how much praise they heap on you they all f**king could show respect for the club bar RVP and Tommy V and Jackie Boy

The rest either know they real lucky to be here or indifferent to that fact, see rosicky bendtner

« Reply #4215 on: August 19, 2011, 09:52:08 AM »
Arséne Wenger has recast his side following the departure of Cesc Fábregas
The Arsenal Column

http://arsenalcolumn.co.uk/2011/08/15/9374/

Few teams have such an idealogical slant as Arséne Wenger’s Arsenal. In a video commemorating the Club’s 125th anniversary, the official website implores fans to explore the “passion, visionary philosophy and belief in youth that the Club inspires.” And certainly, Gus Hiddink believes that Arsenal are still one of the best sides in the world, less perhaps because of their reliance on youth, but mainly due to the attacking way they play football. “It’s true that, today, Barcelona leads the way — as Arsenal has done in the past,” he said in Issue Zero of The Blizzard. “And, in my opinion, still does, even if things haven’t worked their way in the Champions League so far.” However, that was five months ago, before Arsenal’s season imploded in their face like a birthday cake from Sue Sylvester.

Since then, Arsenal have sold off their most distinctive player, Cesc Fábregas. He was the one who was the most synonymous with their style and one who validated their game. Wenger built a system around him to get the best out of his ability to find team-mates that no-one could. Samir Nasri is set to follow and it seems that ideological slant is about to deviate somewhat, focusing less on the tippy-tappy concentrating more on the dynamic.

Arséne Wenger has recast his side following the departure of his captain. They are less focused on possession although it remains a key part to their strengths. However, Wenger’s aims this season are primarily to get the ball forward quickly and pass it with speed. It translates to a more direct approach; in the two games this season against Newcastle and Udinese, Arsenal essentially played with three strikers. Robin van Persie was backed up by Gervinho and Arshavin either side of him in a 4-3-3 formation in the first game and Marouanne Chamakh lined up alongside Theo Walcott and Gervinho at home to Udinese. The result was less passing through the middle and more focus on wing-play. Of course, the upshot of that is that Arsenal’s passing becomes less accurate as shown by the statistics against Udinese. UEFA.com list that The Gunners attempted a total of 546 passes, however, only 69% reached their target; way below their average of around 80%. They also made more fouls than Udinese and took less shots indicating that there may be an ugliness about Arsenal’s play this season.

On the other hand, they were markedly more accurate with the ball against Newcastle but as was often the case last season, they had trouble breaking down the opposition defence. Without players like Fábregas, Samir Nasri and the injured Jack Wilshere, Arsenal not only lose some of their ability to retain possession but incisiveness too. At St. James Park, there was an evident split between midfield and attack highlighting the need for a link player but also the change in emphasis for Arsenal away from the middle and to the flanks.

In the last couple of seasons, Wenger has tended to balance out the wings with one creative player –sometimes referred to as a “half-winger” — and a more dynamic winger the other side. His options this season, though, seem less varied; if Nasri departs it only leaves Arshavin as a player vaguely described a creative winger while Tomas Rosicky will probably get more time in the centre. By playing “strikers on the wings”, Arsenal’s aim is to try and get those two wide forwards behind as quickly and often as possible in an attempt to break down typically obdurate defences they face. One goal thus far in 2011/12 perhaps indicates it is still very much a work in progress but again, for the tactic to work, it is very reliant on the central midfielders to link up the attack. At Newcastle, the distance between midfield and attack was often too large. Aaron Ramsey, playing the playmaker role, likes to drop deep to pick up possession but in doing so, somebody else must occupy the space that he leaves. Tomas Rosicky didn’t and it must be noted Jack Wilshere does this very well therefore the cohesiveness of the whole unit was a bit disjointed. On the plus side, however, the rotation between the three central midfielders does give Arsenal a lot of ambiguity and fluidity and perhaps one of the arguments against Arsenal with Fábregas, no matter how brilliant he was, was that the side were too reliant on him. Now, the three can alternate responsibility.

One of the key differences between the Newcastle and Udinese encounters was Arsenal’s possession and passing accuracy statistics. While The Gunners held the ball for longer in the league, that may be down to the cautiousness of Alan Pardew’s side and the superior tactical nous of the Italians who came to exploit any Arsenal weaknesses.

Possession, as I’ve argued many times, is a form of defence for Arsenal. Indeed, it is for any ball-hungry side. Against Newcastle, by keeping the effectively ball, Arsenal stifled any hint of ambition the Toon Army had. As a result, they looked more secure as a unit although to be fair on the defence, they have been supremely organised these last two games. Wenger, though, lamented the “speed of our passing” in the 0-0 draw as one of the reasons for failing to break Newcastle down so perhaps as a reaction, they tried to raise the intensity of their game against Udinese. They made a breathtaking start, taking the lead in three minutes, but a little concerning was that they never let up. If possession is as much a form of defence as it is attack, they were unable to take the sting from game by holding onto the ball. The fast-paced football inevitably impacted on their ability to keep it for prolonged periods and that always gave Udinese a chance on the break. Perhaps most culpable was Alex Song, who more than just being overly exposed and heavily dependent to maintain Arsenal’s shape, had a pass success of 63%.

The presence of a Wilshere or Fábregas may have helped Arsenal keep Udinese at bay by way of keep-ball and as it turned out, they finally realised the error of their ways and killed off the game in the last twenty minutes. The introduction of Emmanuel Frimpong in that period cannot be understated as he helped Arsenal maintain a 4-2-1-3 shape. Indeed, structure has always remained Arsenal’s biggest weakness as their over-attacking approach tends to require more resources to push forward, leaving gaps at the back and that’s why effective use of the ball is ever more important. It can suffocate teams up the pitch and deny them from springing a quick breakaway. On the other hand, being less reliant of possession does increase Arsenal’s counter-attacking potential and in the absence of so many key players against Liverpool, it may be Arsenal’s best outlet of scoring.

We can probably put down some of the indecision and inaccuracy to the newness of the team and the need to get used to each other. Indeed, one of the reasons Wenger so wants to keep Nasri is that there would be no need to adapt as an understanding is already in place. Nevertheless, if Wenger is hoping to get Arsenal to be more dynamic again, it would still need a heavy dose of technical accuracy therefore the return of Wilshere and possibly a new signing to augment the new approach, cannot come soon enough.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #4216 on: August 19, 2011, 10:15:47 AM »
hmmm ok dansteel give us the foot notes?

possesion is defense
need to make passes faster
3 forwards means trying to get around defense
missing link between mid n attack
maybe give up possession when missing that link to utilse effective counter attacks

what else?
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 02:12:11 PM by GunnerStunner »

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #4217 on: August 20, 2011, 05:39:29 AM »
Will he stay will he go?

Either way nasri starts today and we need him

I hope he plays his ass off

Cheesy
Sagna TV LK CJ
Nasri Ramsey Frimpong
Walcott RVP AA

Sub AA for Ryo
Walcott for Ox

« Reply #4218 on: August 20, 2011, 06:37:22 AM »
Frimpong look like he have guts-like him. Arsharvin, Walcott, Ramsey killin all yuh. Nasri playing and making challenges-good tuh see.

« Reply #4219 on: August 20, 2011, 07:07:00 AM »
Arshavin real pulling stones.

« Reply #4220 on: August 20, 2011, 07:09:03 AM »
Vermaleans touch on the ball and composure is ridiculous .. what a good player!

« Reply #4221 on: August 20, 2011, 07:16:36 AM »
Arsenal coming into the game now. The new fellas settle down.
And as I say that, a red card for Frimpong...

« Reply #4222 on: August 20, 2011, 07:19:05 AM »
Rough on Frimpong, he was having an excellent game along with Jenkinson. Arshavin and Ramsey dragging stones though.

« Reply #4223 on: August 20, 2011, 07:23:36 AM »
Vermaleans touch on the ball and composure is ridiculous .. what a good player!

Boss Footballer indeed

Never liked Walcott, maybe its me, but he does not score enough goals and his only consistency is making poor decisions in possession.

Frimpong will learn how to compose himself in the tackle, the same way Patrick Viera did when he first arrived (Viera use to get sent off every other game)

Arsenal still need to get numbers in the box

« Reply #4224 on: August 20, 2011, 07:24:53 AM »
Rough on Frimpong?
That was a wildman challenge. The first yellow was just dumb.

Now look an own goal.

« Reply #4225 on: August 20, 2011, 07:25:31 AM »
lord .... kos, wilshire, diaby, traore, gibbs, djourou injured , gervinho,  song suspended , cesc, clichy, ebouie transferred nasri on his way out how much activity can any one man make in the transfer market to accomodate this?
I supporting my team all the haters can currently go f**k themselves.
look at that goal!! jeez

« Reply #4226 on: August 20, 2011, 07:33:58 AM »
As much as I think Walcott should be given a chance to play as a forward I don't think he is good enough to play for Arsenal. I think he is a real dotish footballer who's two assets it appears are his speed and that he is English.

« Reply #4227 on: August 20, 2011, 07:35:05 AM »
As much as I think Walcott should be given a chance to play as a forward I don't think he is good enough to play for Arsenal. I think he is a real dotish footballer who's two assets it appears are his speed and that he is English.
Well said. He's a dunce .

« Reply #4228 on: August 20, 2011, 07:35:51 AM »
I real proud of my side...is a reserve team out there and boys became men.

Frimpong is a boss, Vermarlen handle it.

Ignasi and Jenkinson put they best foot forward.

I real pleased.

Come on Wenger get out the cheque book. Fill the gaps...we go survive without cesc and nasri.

« Reply #4229 on: August 20, 2011, 07:40:13 AM »
let me tell you things I don't like ... Arsenal down to 10 men down a goal, lansbury bad tackle the man get ba yellow card and arguing with the referee ... young or old that just stupid ... I feel like walking on the pitch and hitting him a chop slap!!!
Let's see if the true supporters stand up and support Arsene or try and kick him when he and his team is down.