April 18, 2024, 02:37:48 AM

Author Topic: Police deny claims of Wenger-Davids tunnel bust-up  (Read 4167 times)

Police deny claims of Wenger-Davids tunnel bust-up
« on: April 24, 2006, 04:43:13 AM »
Police deny claims of Wenger-Davids tunnel bust-up

The Metropolitan Police have denied that officers were forced to intervene in a tunnel confrontation between Arsene Wenger and Edgar Davids after Saturday's north London derby.

Wenger and Davids were reported to have clashed when the Arsenal boss accused Tottenham's Dutch midfielder of cheating during the controversial 1-1 draw at Highbury.

It has been claimed that, amid fears the dispute might escalate, officers split up the pair and escorted them to the changing rooms.

But a spokesperson for the Metropolitan Police insisted this morning that no incident occurred in the tunnel.

'As is always the case, police are in the tunnel area at the end of every game. But no officer was involved or witnessed any altercation between Mr Wenger and Mr Davids,' said the spokesman.

Wenger was furious with Tottenham's 66th-minute opener which saw Michael Carrick and Davids set up Robbie Keane.

The Arsenal boss felt Tottenham should have stopped play following a collision between Emmanuel Eboue and Gilberto Silva which left both players injured.

Wenger squared up to Martin Jol in the dugout and after the match he branded the Spurs boss a 'liar' for claiming he did not see the incident and labelled the goal a 'disgrace'.

i doh understand y them men picking on my playa davids. carrick received the ball, turn, pass to the finnish guy (taino -spelling) then the guy pass to davids , davids squared d ball and keane score. so  y lehman pick out davids to want to ruff up? y they en cuss up  and ruff up carrick tail? if any playa saw the guys on the ground it had to be carrick

Re: Police deny claims of Wenger-Davids tunnel bust-up
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2006, 05:31:58 AM »
ah also think the ref had ah whistle... when points scarce, man will fight dong anything oui

Offline marcel

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2006, 05:35:24 AM »

why should tottenham stopped playing when 2 players of the other team collie?
a bit strange...

and davids off  course is an easy target
he allways takes the beating
look at the reason why he received the first yellow card.
not fair

« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2006, 06:21:12 AM »
carrick took d balll an stop watch d 2 men on d ground an say

fuego fo dem yes better dey watch where dey goin

d funny ting is accordin who yuh backin yuh aint go mind

if gerrard an lampard crash samuel passes to yorke and yorke squers to stern and we score d winner for 3 pts what allyuh go do??

if yorke and whtiley crash joecole passes to owen who square to rooney and he buss way d net what allyuh go say

it hav no football rule sayin kick out ball

« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2006, 08:12:08 AM »
i doh understand y them men picking on my playa davids. carrick received the ball, turn, pass to the finnish guy (taino -spelling) then the guy pass to davids , davids squared d ball and keane score. so  y lehman pick out davids to want to ruff up? y they en cuss up  and ruff up carrick tail? if any playa saw the guys on the ground it had to be carrick

Lehman probably singled out Davids because he is Dutch. The others just followed Lehman's lead. When it comes to football...the Germans and Dutch can't stand each other

Offline thane

« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2006, 09:56:00 AM »
nah man is all in fair play.....but at d end of the day it is not a rule..so.......

« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2006, 10:08:59 AM »
There is an unwritten football law that says you stop playing when a player(s) is down on the field due to some injury.  Carrick saw what happened...paused and decided to continue play.  Davids continued on knowing full well that 2 Arsenal players were down.  Actually...everybody paused when the incident occurred.

It is the ACCEPTED and SPORTING way to stop play when that happens...regardless of whether it is 2 players from the same team or not.

Lest people forget....Several years ago...Kanu playing for Arsenal scored a goal in similar fashion i.e. he kept on playing while everyone else stopped.  Going strictly by the letter of the law...the goal was legal and the referee pointed to the spot.  Wenger promptly apologised after the game and insisted to the English FA that the game be replayed as Kanu claimed he wasn't aware that he should stop.  The game was replayed and Arsenal went on to win anyway....but the point is that Wenger strongly believed back then and obviously to this day in fair play.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2006, 10:47:31 AM by palos »

« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2006, 10:35:55 AM »
Ain't something like this happen in a Secondary school game a few years ago. I can remember the match but my memory tell me that a player was injured in the dying minute of a game, his team kick the ball out. The team thought the opposition was going to give them back the ball from a throw but they took the ball and score on the team. Anybody know what game i talking about.

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2006, 10:55:45 AM »
Ain't something like this happen in a Secondary school game a few years ago. I can remember the match but my memory tell me that a player was injured in the dying minute of a game, his team kick the ball out. The team thought the opposition was going to give them back the ball from a throw but they took the ball and score on the team. Anybody know what game i talking about.

yeh that was arima compre & somebody ah tink sanj juan or gustine..i eh too sure which one

« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2006, 11:17:40 AM »
now i am a supporter of fair play  but after the arsenal collision1 pass make, then a 2nd pass and the ball come to you.........would u kick it out? that is ah hard call to make. i remember dicanio( @ west ham) stoping play with an empty net infront of him cause d keeper was down injured.

« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2006, 03:49:03 PM »
Karma...what goes around comes around. Everything evens out in the end. Arsenal win so much tief penalty and score a tief goal when man was injured themselves. Arsene Wenger calling Martin Jol a liar...but he is the king of saying he eh see nutten. Doh study it...Tottenham will get theirs too. But for now Arsenal hadda take it and cool it.

PLus, as a neutral, I eh see nutten wrong there. The clash between the Arsenal players looked innocuous and in a split second there was no indication that they could not have gotten up on their own. Except in the case of a clash of heads or a real nasty looking tackle, or when the referee blows...I have never seen a game stop immediately when players collide...there is always three or four passes before players realize that they should put the ball out. It just so happen that three or four passes was all Tottenham needed to score. hard luck and good night

« Reply #11 on: April 24, 2006, 03:54:21 PM »
Karma...what goes around comes around. Everything evens out in the end. Arsenal win so much tief penalty and score a tief goal when man was injured themselves. Arsene Wenger calling Martin Jol a liar...but he is the king of saying he eh see nutten. Doh study it...Tottenham will get theirs too. But for now Arsenal hadda take it and cool it.

PLus, as a neutral, I eh see nutten wrong there. The clash between the Arsenal players looked innocuous and in a split second there was no indication that they could not have gotten up on their own. Except in the case of a clash of heads or a real nasty looking tackle, or when the referee blows...I have never seen a game stop immediately when players collide...there is always three or four passes before players realize that they should put the ball out. It just so happen that three or four passes was all Tottenham needed to score. hard luck and good night

:applause: :applause: :applause:

Offline scarface

« Reply #12 on: April 24, 2006, 03:59:49 PM »
wenger is a fool. ah sure he wasn't complaining when jose mari get axe down & no call get made!!

« Reply #13 on: April 24, 2006, 04:54:03 PM »
The Voyer would have got cut ass from the pitbull

« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2006, 05:14:50 AM »
Strange how there could be accusations of a tunnel bust up, if Davids was sent off before the end of the game and would have gone straight to the dressing room...... ???.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2006, 05:21:16 AM by FLi ! »

Offline scarface

« Reply #15 on: April 25, 2006, 06:51:39 AM »
Strange how there could be accusations of a tunnel bust up, if Davids was sent off before the end of the game and would have gone straight to the dressing room...... ???.

cuz it maybe when the teams were leaving the stadium!!

« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2006, 07:09:58 AM »
There is an unwritten football law that says you stop playing when a player(s) is down on the field due to some injury.  Carrick saw what happened...paused and decided to continue play.  Davids continued on knowing full well that 2 Arsenal players were down.  Actually...everybody paused when the incident occurred.

It is the ACCEPTED and SPORTING way to stop play when that happens...regardless of whether it is 2 players from the same team or not.

Lest people forget....Several years ago...Kanu playing for Arsenal scored a goal in similar fashion i.e. he kept on playing while everyone else stopped.  Going strictly by the letter of the law...the goal was legal and the referee pointed to the spot.  Wenger promptly apologised after the game and insisted to the English FA that the game be replayed as Kanu claimed he wasn't aware that he should stop.  The game was replayed and Arsenal went on to win anyway....but the point is that Wenger strongly believed back then and obviously to this day in fair play.

Lawd..de man pull out the history books for that one. Doh loose faith in your teams ability to win the CL and have ah chance again next rongs. Buh if was you I would be worried as well.. tough game today..then IF they win they have to face ah rock in dat Barca team. ... then if all fails, they have to end the season wid more points than Spurs.. watch meh.. as the CEO of the Barca waggonist assoc.. I can give you full membership as a "gold" level waggonist to support ah BIG team.. PM meh..we ent want oddas to know U business.

Offline chelsea64

« Reply #17 on: April 25, 2006, 07:59:40 AM »

Palos

This is the first time I can't agree with you. Yes there is an unwritten law to stop play when a man is down, but only for a serious injury or a knock to the head.

This was an ordinary collision between two team mates with no obvious sign of a bad injury, in fact one of the players got to his feet only to go back down to ground in the hope of getting the play stopped. Arsenal themselves refused to stop play last week when Villareal players were prostrate on the ground, the claim being that the Villareal players were feigning injury.

Football is a man's game but you see too many professionals falling to the ground and rolling around as though they had been shot when a minimal amount of contact has been made. If a game was stopped every time a player went to ground it would not be worth watching as any attacking moves would be halted by a wave of players falling to the ground.

Games should only be stopped if there is a serious injury to a player and the referee is in the perfect position to tell if this is the case. In my experience, when it comes to an obviously serious injury, team rivalry is forgotten and players will always stop the game to allow for quick treatment to a fellow professional. 

Saturday's draw has probably killed of Arsenal's hopes qualifying for the Champions League through their league position and Wenger knew that. An Arsene (I did not happen to see that) Wenger under pressure gets rattled easily and for years Alex Ferguson, and more recently Jose Mourinho, have been able to exploit that fact. He gambled with his team selection and didn't get the win. No complaints and concentrate on reaching the CL final.
Come on the Chels.

« Reply #18 on: April 25, 2006, 08:09:33 AM »
None of this would matter when Arsenal wins the Champions League and Tottenham fails to qualify even after coming in 4th :devil: :devil:

« Reply #19 on: April 25, 2006, 08:51:43 AM »
Palos

This is the first time I can't agree with you. Yes there is an unwritten law to stop play when a man is down, but only for a serious injury or a knock to the head.

How does one determine in a millisecond whether the injury was serious or not?  You do realise, ALL the players on the field paused when the clash occurred and then Carrick resumed playing.

« Reply #20 on: April 25, 2006, 09:02:35 AM »

why should tottenham stopped playing when 2 players of the other team collie?
a bit strange...

it doesnt matter, kick the ball out

« Reply #21 on: April 25, 2006, 09:04:24 AM »
wenger is a fool. ah sure he wasn't complaining when jose mari get axe down & no call get made!!
and capello is a fool, he cant control hes players i.e cambifasso

« Reply #22 on: April 25, 2006, 09:26:38 AM »
Palos

How does one determine in a millisecond whether the injury was serious or not?  You do realise, ALL the players on the field paused when the clash occurred and then Carrick resumed playing.

So.. everytime ah man fall down yuh kick de ball out? because yuh cyah determine in dat millisecond if he injured or not?

Everybody pause... de man start to get up... and den drop down again trying to stop play.... everybody play on... good goal...

Also... what about de 2003 FA Cup semi final where a Sheffield player went down and Arsenal continue playing and score...

Wenger said after de game and I quote, "Frankly, I don't think they can demand for us to kick the ball out because there was no free-kick and the action goes on until the ball goes out"   LOL :rotfl:

what a frigging hypocrite!
Karma is ah bitch!

« Last Edit: April 25, 2006, 09:28:24 AM by FF »

« Reply #23 on: April 25, 2006, 09:42:36 AM »

nah...many players who get a red card watch the game from the edge of the tunnel instead of going to the dressing room. If you watched the end of the game, Wenger didn't even shake Jol hand and went straight into the tunnel one time. He could have bounce up David then

« Reply #24 on: April 25, 2006, 09:51:24 AM »
...but the point is that Wenger strongly believed back then and obviously to this day in fair play.
Whaaaat??  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #25 on: April 25, 2006, 09:54:59 AM »

fully agree. I saw the hightlight, and yes it was a kinda hard luck for Arsenal.....but in a battle for the ball, two players from the same team collide and knock eachother down, I can't be too harsh on the Tottenham player for continuing play.........

In most such situations, play continues for a while before the ball is played out anyway.......

In dubious cases like this one, the onus often falls on the disadvantaged team, to either scramble to win the ball back and play it out, ask the opposing team to kick it out, or signal to the ref that their player is seriously injured in which case the ref would halt play.......didn't appear that either was done......

« Reply #26 on: April 25, 2006, 12:16:52 PM »

nah...many players who get a red card watch the game from the edge of the tunnel instead of going to the dressing room. If you watched the end of the game, Wenger didn't even shake Jol hand and went straight into the tunnel one time. He could have bounce up David then

scarface, it's a tunnel bustup, not an outside stadium brawl....

FA officials and stadium staff are supposed to ensure that players sent off go back to their dressing room, especially since it wasn't white hart lane, but highbury in which case, Davids safety would have been more of a  concern to the stewards.....the whole story just didn't sound convincing...