April 26, 2024, 09:28:09 AM

Author Topic: T&T flag flying high over North London (pics)  (Read 4996 times)

Offline JayTheWrecker

T&T flag flying high over North London (pics)
« on: May 01, 2006, 09:54:50 AM »
These pics were taking yesterday by myself. This is my local pub The Lansdowne Bar which is on Burnt Oak Broadway in North London. Technically, Burnt Oak is actually in Middlesex but this area is still considered "North London". Anyways, about a week ago someone stole two of the 6 flags that are flown outside the Lansdowne. Yesterday I saw Robin the owner of the bar, hoisting a replacement French flag. So I approached him and asked him what happened and he told me about the theft blah blah blah and also the fact that he was still a flag short. So I then casually mentioned that I happened to have a full size flag in my car (as you do) which he was welcomed to have. Robin asks me "is it a flag of a country that's in the World Cup". Now Robin is an Irishman and his eyes lit up when I replied "indeed it is, Trinidad & Tobago, and we're in the same group as England"  5 minutes later the flag was up and flying proud. And before anyone asks, no it wasn't me who tiefed the other flags to make room for the T&T one, although the thought did cross my mind ;D

you can just make out my Austin Cooper in the corner of the car park

Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

Offline pioneertrini

Re: T&T flag flying high over North London (pics)
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2006, 09:57:46 AM »
Well done son. We will take over the world soon  ;D

« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2006, 09:58:56 AM »
aaaah!!!!!! JAY!!!!!!!!! GOOD JOB!!! WE FLYING WITH THE BIG BOYZ!!!

« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2006, 10:32:17 AM »
Nice one. Pictures tell a thousand words. May is the month that the football fever will fully register in T&T. Fellas, we are in for one hell of a ride!

« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2006, 10:34:45 AM »
Yuh lie Jay..is you self whey teef de flag
and ~connveeeniently~ happned to have one in yuh car to replace it

Nevertheless the ends justified the means

« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2006, 10:50:32 AM »
Jay, does he know that the Flag must be Hoisted at 6am and am and taken down at 6 pm ? and it MUST NOT touch the ground ?

« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2006, 10:56:51 AM »
Jay, does he know that the Flag must be Hoisted at 6am and am and taken down at 6 pm ? and it MUST NOT touch the ground ?

Once the flag is well lit in need not be taken down at 6.00pm

« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2006, 11:05:02 AM »

Once the flag is well lit in need not be taken down at 6.00pm

JAY is it well LIT ?

« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2006, 11:10:52 AM »
Nice Jay....very nice

you did us proud  :beermug:

« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2006, 11:12:00 AM »
nice work...

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2006, 11:47:04 AM »
nah WestCoast, Chorleywood is way outside London. And guys, that pub and them flags are well lit at night. Also, i talk to Robin just before the Arsenal game kick off (i left at half-time because match is done) Robin thinking of putting up a camera to stop people taking flag and thing :thumbsup:
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2006, 11:50:18 AM »
Yuh lie Jay..is you self whey teef de flag
and ~connveeeniently~ happned to have one in yuh car to replace it

Nevertheless the ends justified the means

life is full of coincidences  ;D

« Reply #12 on: May 01, 2006, 11:51:00 AM »
I eh go lie
yuh represent Trini they

yuh see a opportunity and eh waste no time
the man see a flag pole bare and jes so happen he have a flag in he car trunk

very well done

Offline Johpants

« Reply #13 on: May 01, 2006, 02:32:23 PM »
Well yuh reach eh, Jay (the nameshifter -as I saw on an earlier post). Yuh actually get Disgruntled to make a post that belies his name. You are one of the few and should be damn proud.

Btw, great job!

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #14 on: May 01, 2006, 04:56:59 PM »
Johpants, thanks for the heads up

Disgruntled_Trini, you honour me, sir :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: May 01, 2006, 05:20:51 PM »
   wherever we go ...everybody know we name...   tnt tnt tnt

Offline lp

« Reply #16 on: May 01, 2006, 05:32:25 PM »
Jay, you are a true Warrior!!!!!!!

« Reply #17 on: May 01, 2006, 06:10:56 PM »
nice work, you must be a real trini if you carrying around an extra trini flag in your trunk. well done.

« Reply #18 on: May 01, 2006, 06:19:37 PM »
Jay as usual yuh representing T&T very well....Keep it up man

Offline dombasil

« Reply #19 on: May 01, 2006, 07:22:33 PM »
Jay
Alyuh really good oui.
And d man believe that it was all a coincidence. And to top it off, yuh lending a helping hand to deter the thieves, whomever they maybe. ;)

« Reply #20 on: May 01, 2006, 07:24:18 PM »
yuh is ah boss dan

fabio

« Reply #21 on: May 01, 2006, 09:18:09 PM »
jay, yuh is ah boss sa, thanks for d pics.....on ah different note, yuh is really ah mechanic?

Offline Behbehman

« Reply #22 on: May 02, 2006, 09:28:04 AM »
Our flag was also flying very high in Akron, Ohio at the International Association of Pan Conference during the weekend of April 28-30, 2006.  I attended this conference as a pan enthusiast and met many Trinis including the the "Father of the Modern Steelpan" Ellie Manette himself. I want to add that Pan is played with reverence in the USA.  I cannot explain everything I saw with respect to the scientific development of pan but what I know is that pan has entered the realm of rocket science.  Our flag will continue to fly high everywhere else in the world but it is regrettable that I have to cry when everyday I continue to see and read stories like:"T&T among top 6 homicidal nations." I have to weep when I contemplate on the TT Express article: "Man slain on way from church."

Fly flag fly,
Up in the sky
Fly high,
While some cry...
And others sigh,
Do or die!
Let us try
To fix the eye,
On the flag flying high.

Offline chelsea64

« Reply #23 on: May 02, 2006, 09:51:33 AM »
Nice one Jay. That's getting the job done.
Come on the Chels.

« Reply #24 on: May 02, 2006, 09:58:26 AM »
well done jay, take a drink for that :beermug:.  i myself have a big one in my office, the students say u could see it from a mile away.  i will take a pic of it one of these days...

Offline SMH

« Reply #25 on: May 02, 2006, 02:13:38 PM »
Great job Jay... just returned from UK last week or would have made a detour just to see your flag. Think I might have freaked out if I'd simply passed by and seen our flag flying high there!!!!

« Reply #26 on: May 02, 2006, 02:22:12 PM »
WAY TO REPRESENT DEY JAY(A A ah rhyming oui ;D ) great job...make sure nobody ent tief we own doh. :beermug: :devil:

Offline ZionYouth

« Reply #27 on: May 02, 2006, 07:41:39 PM »
well done jay let us be known :beermug: