April 19, 2024, 03:52:47 PM

Author Topic: Let's Unite for the sake of our "Soca Warriors" in Germany.  (Read 3886 times)

Let's Unite for the sake of our "Soca Warriors" in Germany.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

In the midst of preparations for the farewell encounter against Peru next Wednesday and the team's send off to Germany, TTFF Special Adviser Jack Warner and Minister of Sport Roger Boynes have agreed to put all their political differences aside and are also appealing for there to be unity among all as the country's gets set to witness the historic appearance of Dwight Yorke and his teammates.
Warner, on Wednesday, as the TTFF received a TT$3.5 million cheque, said he was prepared to focus entirely on ensuring that the team was as best prepared and the country at large would be showcased in the finest way possible to the World come next month in Germany.
"I have appealed for us all to put all the differences aside and forget the politics for the sake of the Soca Warriors and this once in a lifetime achievement. And we have agreed to do so," Warner said. "Let us put the politics behind us. Let us make this part of our national reconciliation. Let us recapture what we had after the team was victorious in Bahrain when Indian, African, Chinese, White, old and young came together and if we can do that then we would have achieved what we all wanted.
"Let us once and for all dedicate the remaining time to the team and ensure that we can show the world what we are capable of as all eyes will be on us next Wednesday as this is the only international game being played on that day. Everyone wants to see the Soca Warriors and learn more about them and we must all be fine ambassadors of our country.
"This farewell match is a gift to the nation as this the last chance we will have the Soca warriors will be in the country. They have all had a testing times and we all have not had easy times.  But we will ensure that they would not have left here feeling insecure and  I give you the assurance they will shall be totally happy," Warner said.
Boynes further said: "Today all the political games have been stopped. I assure you that we want to ensure that our Soca Warriors has a whole nation behind him and we are all backing them one hundred percent."
He added that there had been 41,000 request for tickets for the Peru match and with those being delivered last weekend to purchases through the text to win system, all remaining tickets were sold on Wednesday at the TTFF headquarters car park and any remains will be sold through selected KFC outlets. No tickets will be sold on matchday.
"Our intention is to have a packed stadium and we intend to give a message to the world that as a small nation, we too can achieve and do what the big nations can do," Warner added.
He also revealed that the farewell dinner next Friday at the Dr Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence will "be the mothers of all farewell dinners" adding that 1,200 persons have purchased tickets at $1,000 a person. President George Maxwell Richards will be the guest of honour with Minister of Sport Boynes and TSTT's Carlos Espinal also being main guests. Prime Minister Patrick Manning has been invited but has indicated his unavailability.

Jamaicans received US$10.2 M for '98 qualification.

The Jamaican Football Federation benefited from a budget estimated at US$10.2 million from its Government to go towards it's qualification and participation at the 1998 World Cup Finals in France.
Horace Reid, the general manager of the "Reggae Boyz" at the time who is now attached to TT/Germany 2006 Limited as team chief operations officer, revealed that the JFF had countless support of the Government and its  Sports Minister Portia Simpson  throughout the 1998 campaign. Simpson is today the Prime Minister of Jamaica.
The figures were presented by Reid as the TTFF began receiving payments in part of the $45 million budget from the government, three million of which were contributed by Atlantic LNG at a media conference on Wednesday afternoon. Another cheque valued at $14.4 million was presented by Sports Minister Roger Boynes to the TTFF on Monday amounting to just over $17 million given out so far, with just over a month left before the ‘"Soca Warriors" kick off its 2006 World Cup against Sweden on June 10.
In the outline of the contribution from the Jamaican Government, it was stated that general assistance towards prequalification, qualification and pre-World Cup preparation periods (Air tickets, hotels, meals, waiver/discount of  fees for stadium and match related items etc) amounted to an estimated US$3.5 million.
Moreso, aside from the estimated $10,2 million contribution, following the team's participation at the 1998 World Cup, fifty persons inclusive of players, technical staff and administration staff were given a qualification grant of JA$500,000 towards a plot of land or a Government housing unit. Loan concessions with very favorable terms were granted for the further development of the land/units by the national housing trust (Government Agency).

What the JFF Received.

1.Technical staff salary:US$50 monthly for 5 years : US$3.0M
2. Grant of a 45 seater bus inclusive of maintenance : US$0.3M
3. Tax waiver on all National Team equipment : US$1.2M
4. Taxwaiver on all players and technical staff earnings : US$2.0M
5. Training facilities : US$0.2M
6. General assistance towards the pre-qualification, qualification
And pre-World Cup preparation periods( air tickets, hotels,
meals,waiver/discount of fees for  stadium and match related items
items etc) : US$3.5M

TOTAL : US$10.2M

1 .American Airlines (air tickets) – US$4m
2. Grace Kennedy (food) – US$0.3m
3.Private Sectors sponsorship of local players salaries: US$l.0M

50 persons (players, technical and admin staff) were given a
qualification grant of JA$500,000 towards a plot of land or a
Government housing unit. Loan concessions with very favorable
Terms were granted for the further development of the land/units
by the National Housing Trust (Government Agency).
« Last Edit: September 09, 2006, 07:38:12 AM by Tallman »

Re: Let’s Unite for the sake of our ‘Soca Warriors’ in Germany.
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2006, 03:55:53 PM »
HEADLINE....[/color]

New Pirates Of The Caribbean, featuring Jack Warner.

Imagine a millionaire like Warner begging for money every day.... and he have no love for poor people. The same treatment he gets from the government in return Jack gives it to the poor people. Imagine man who poor and was die-hard supporters from day one have to fork out $500/$300 for a farewell match to see we players some for the last on T&T soil. Shame on you Jack, you just want everything and now you using this Jamaican story as a yard stick (politics yuh bringing up again), well learn from them, they are playing friendly games every month and they not even in de world cup, they also had a free game for the local fans as a send of, they was also refused to play a match vs T&T because yuh shame we get licks....

You stand to make millions on your Simpauls package, plus yuh get $15 million yesterday from de goverment, what else yuh have up yuh sleeve. He want de government to hook up de players so he wouldn't have to and still get a good name, make it look like he fighting for them nah..

« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2006, 05:08:55 PM »
He added that there had been 41,000 request for tickets for the Peru match and with those being delivered last weekend to purchases through the text to win system, all remaining tickets were sold on Wednesday at the TTFF headquarters car park and any remains will be sold through selected KFC outlets. No tickets will be sold on matchday.

41 000 requests but yet dey hadda sell remains lol

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2006, 05:34:48 PM »
Small Magician, i thinks you must be drunk too because you posted that article in the wrong thread  :)
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2006, 05:38:58 PM »
FUH REAL LOL    i now see it dere  hard luks lol

ok its moved lol

« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2006, 05:43:21 PM »
Small Magician, i thinks you must be drunk too because you posted that article in the wrong thread  :)

« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2006, 06:10:20 PM »
What JW needs to do is to step behind the scene, become less visible and allow Camps and company to move to the fore. If he remains in the forefront (his craving), he is putting JW ahead of even the "unity" strategy he now hopes to ease the pressure off him. Strange but true, lets see what he would do. :devil: :devil: