April 16, 2024, 03:04:42 AM

Author Topic: remember the ole time days?  (Read 12999 times)

remember the ole time days?
« on: May 08, 2006, 05:30:20 PM »
Close your eyes, and go back . . .

Way back...

I'm talking about hide and seek at dusk.

The excitement of catching candle flies in a jar and batimamselles.

Keeping an eye out for Soucoyant and La Diablesse.

Looking through the window at the people passing on the street or the rain falling, or just looking.

Sitting or rocking in the gallery.

Saying good morning or good evening to anybody you see on the street.

Licking your lips over hops and condensed milk.

Going to Saturday afternoon confession.

Drinking Chocolate tea and cocoa tea and green tea and shining bush tea.

Carrying sandwiches in a brown paper bag to school.

Eating Chilibibi and Press with green and red syrup, with or without milk.

Bathing in cold water from a barrel with a calabash.

Hopscotch, butterscotch, hoop, Jacks, Police and Thief, Rounders!

Pass-out Cricket in the road with a lime.

Lying on the floor reading Mandrake and Katzenjammer Kids and Mutt and Jeff.

Borrowing books from the library.

Hula Hoops and Jawbreakers and kaiser balls.

Bathing in the rain under the guttering.

Going for walks on Sunday afternoon. Band Concerts. Window shopping.

Wearing old pants to the beach and collecting sea shells and pretty stones.

Wait. . .

Putting the ti-marie to sleep.

Killing birds with sling shot and cooking and eating them.

Pitching Marbles and playing jockey in the canal.

When a calypso on the radio in Lent would have caused a scandal.

When going to town was a major outing requiring serious preparation.

Spending holidays by your grandmother and aunts.

Castor oil and senna pods at the end of August to clean you out!

Eating caimite and mammy seepote and downs and sapodilla and sugar apple and tying up your mouth with lalay.

Climbing trees, skipping rope and eating a bucket of long mango.

And Christmas time.....

Making a Christmas tree from a guava branch with cotton for snow.

You thought apples and grapes only grew at Christmas time.

When you wish for a gun or a dolly, but get a pair of pajamas.

Boiling the ham in a pitch oil tin in the yard.

Going to midnight mas and falling asleep.

How the air feels cleaner and the sky is brighter.

Cops and Robbers, Cowboys and Indians.

Sliding down the bannister, jumping on the bed.

Pillow fights.

Having a pet chicken, duck, rabbit or goat and crying when it became a meal.

Being tickled to death.

Running till you were out of breath.

Laughing so hard that your stomach hurt!

Being tired from playing....remember that? Neither me.

Going to the Chinee shop for Trebor and a penny sweet biscuit.

There's more . . .

Scratching your mother's head.

Fighting for the bowl when your mother made a cake.

Churning coconut or custard ice cream on Sunday and licking the palette.

Peeling cane with your teeth.

Easter holidays, August holidays, Christmas holidays were not called Spring Break, Summer and - well, we still call them Christmas holidays, thank goodness.....

Listening to "Portia Faces Life" on the radio every day.

Remember when . . .

When there no sneakers, only washekongs and you washed them every Saturday and whitened them.

When you knew nothing of rotweillers or pit bulls - only pot hounds.

When a penny was a decent allowance, and another penny a huge bonus.

When you'd reach into a muddy gutter for a penny.

When fashionable young ladies wore crinoline and boleros.

When your mother wore stockings that came in two pieces and had garters.

When all of your male teachers wore ties and female teachers had buns.

When none of your female teachers were married.

When you had to be rich to have a car or a radio.

When there was no TV and you went to sleep at 7.00 o'clock.

When there was no designer water.

When laundry detergent had free glasses, dishes or towels hidden inside the box.

When any parent could discipline any child or feed him or use him to carry groceries, and nobody, not even the child, thought a thing of it.

When it was considered a great privilege to be taken out to dinner at a real restaurant with your parents.

When every kitchen had a safe with wire mesh.

When milk came in rum bottles and had to be boiled and the cream was a great treat.

When they threatened to keep children "down" if they failed a school test... and they did!

When your mother used to say that your licks hurt her more than it hurt you.

When adults spoke in code so "little ears" wouldn't hear.

Basically, we were in fear for our lives but it wasn't because of drive-by shootings, drugs, or gangs. Disapproval of parents and grandparents, godparents, tanties... these were a much bigger threat!

Don't forget Gru Gru Bef and Tolomb Bum Bum!!

Or making kite with flour glue and cociea as a frame, using zwill on the tail, using typewriter ribbon for a tail, getting very upset when your kite goes HiOOH! down the street and trying to climb the tree down the block to get it back!

And those of us from Port of Spain:

Remember Guava Valley down by the National stadium??

How about fishing down Slipway??

Catching Guabin up Pompeii river?

What about:

Using a slingshot to shoot down a jap nest and run for your life!!!

Pelting stones at a full mango tree when you hungry so you dont have to go home for lunch!

Catching fowls in the backyard and cutting their heads off and putting the headless body under a bucket to stop it from running around!

Helping the fishermen pull seine in Mayaro so you could get some free fish!

Having a marbles club and storing all your marbles in a 5lb KLIM tin.

Using a steel ball bearing as a "tor".

Attaching playing cards with clothes pins to the back wheel of your bicycle to make it sound like a motorbike!

Playing with toy guns and not having to worry about the police shooting at you!

Putting sugar on your bread and butter.

Getting up early to go to the bread bakery for fresh hot hops bread!

Cooking every part of the chicken except the head and sucking the bones!

Getting some nice hot Pow (cha su bao) from a chinese restaurant.

Sweeping the dirt backyard with a cociea broom!

Getting your Sunday coconut water and boil corn or roast corn by the

Savannah.

Going to cinemas to see an Audie Murphy Movie.

Paying ten cents for a taxi.

Lining up with the school children to wave the Union Jack at Queen Elizabeth or any other member of the Royal family when they came to visit!

Getting your tail cut when you were bad and never thinking it as about child abuse!

Buying black pudding from the street vendor.

Re: remember the ole time days?
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2006, 05:36:17 PM »
 :'(

Offline ndookie

« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2006, 07:45:25 PM »
i young eh , but yuh really remind me of some good stuff there .. how things does change so fast ... well done..
Glory Glory Man Utd !

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2006, 08:05:12 PM »
Close your eyes, and go back . . .

When going to town was a major outing requiring serious preparation.

dis does still go own yes..esp if yuh living in south or de east

« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2006, 08:32:11 AM »
Alberta yuh nearly bring tears to ah grown man eyes oui. Also yuh real date yuhself dey breds when yuh mention having to line up to wave union jack flag at the English Queen. Meh father used to tell meh about that, to this day dah man cyar stand the Queen and England. ;D
I grew up in the country but from reading this there seems to be almost no difference between urban and rural life in Trini.

What 'bout riding ah home made scooter and boxcart(boxcyart) ;D

playing cricket with ah coconut bat

rolling ah bycicle wheel with ah stick

bussing caps and carbide and bamboo

eating chennet and cocorite til yuh get sick

catching 7 color fish in de canal

making ah chikichong kite

having kite fights with yuh friends(seeing who could make dey kite duck)

the list goes on....

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2006, 09:45:26 AM »
The good old days,

Back when if the sada roti was cook in the morning I wasn't eating it in the afternoon,(now it could spend mths frozen and I will still eat it)

If i did not like what my mom cook all i need was a dollar to walk out the road to buy a doubles.

Eating crix and tost dipping it in my milo (yes i said dip)

Figuring who coming by you for christmas so you will know who you will be visiting on newyears day.

Using the stalk of wild bush to make "bullets" to make shoot with rubber band

Jumping on your chopper and riding for hours and parents not worried that u will get run over.

Putting a mirror next to the fish bowl with the fighter fish so it can fight it self

Playing sc-oo-ch

buying guppy and hilary for a dollar

using truck bearings to make a box cart

making flappers from the guardian (for the life of me i can't recall how to do this)

making chow from almost anything

collecting pepsi, rc and carib marbles.

when the jamat take over and television was broadcast out of tobago and all they use to show was the little mermaid

maxi with hard pong

tying the grass together in the play ground to trip people when they running.

Saying I can't wait to grow up because then they can't tell me what to do
« Last Edit: May 09, 2006, 11:50:08 AM by trinindian »

« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2006, 06:38:26 AM »
Boi this is real  tripping down on memory lane yes.

« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2006, 07:55:14 AM »
The good old days,

Back when if the sada roti was cook in the morning I wasn't eating it in the afternoon,(now it could spend mths frozen and I will still eat it)

If i did not like what my mom cook all i need was a dollar to walk out the road to buy a doubles.

Eating crix and tost dipping it in my milo (yes i said dip)

Figuring who coming by you for christmas so you will know who you will be visiting on newyears day.

Using the stalk of wild bush to make "bullets" to make shoot with rubber band

Jumping on your chopper and riding for hours and parents not worried that u will get run over.

Putting a mirror next to the fish bowl with the fighter fish so it can fight it self

Playing sc-oo-ch

buying guppy and hilary for a dollar

using truck bearings to make a box cart

making flappers from the guardian (for the life of me i can't recall how to do this)

making chow from almost anything

collecting pepsi, rc and carib marbles.

when the jamat take over and television was broadcast out of tobago and all they use to show was the little mermaid

maxi with hard pong

tying the grass together in the play ground to trip people when they running.

Saying I can't wait to grow up because then they can't tell me what to do

boy.....i remember de days we used to wait for hard pong maxis...with the conductor always pimping it out

all yuh ever play cricket with a foil ball and use yuh hand as a bat

playing all fours in the AV room for money

breaking beach behind de ART room almost every other day to sweat football and cricket....form 4 and 5 I swear we miss 1/3 of classes....I remember how ascot was our second home

going clubs like club life, club crocodile was the "in" ting....oh my word....we were real youth men

mayfairs was de baddest...

eating cheese pie at lunch...we had a renowned pie man.....them pies was de best dred......

going EXPO to gape in de stadium....ah tell yuh.....trinis is professional gapers....doh get tie up...

awe lawse memories

« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2006, 02:44:48 PM »
whey alllyuh living??!
ALL MAXIS HAVE HARD PONG STILL

Offline trinindian

« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2006, 03:39:17 PM »
whey alllyuh living??!
ALL MAXIS HAVE HARD PONG STILL

They have hard pong still? must be the sound of the engine  ;D
I remember when i was in secondary school they pass some law about, and you would go and see big holes under the back seat where teh speakers use to be. Some maxi use to show movies and blue movies.

But when they stop the music is when i start travelling with the red bus, for the aircondition..

To add to the good old days,

Who recalls

Party time from upper level,

when 98.9 was radio Yo

spending most of your form six in curepe playing pool, even though u went to school in POS.

going three mayfairs in one day, Saint's > St Joseph-Joseph > SAGs and then St anthony's or Fatima the next day.

« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2006, 04:23:02 PM »
-playing marble pitch, which was very organzed and had a specific lexicon onto itself. eg farts, bumbay, lele, uppernox,tour,big zulu, dab etc(anybody remember other pitching terms  ??? )

-riding on the handlebars of ah pardnah's bike for miles

-going for manure in the pasture and not afraid of snakes or bugs, insects etc

- chewing laglee to catch birds

-smelling the air around christmas time

-watching the vapors rise from the asphalt after it rained

- chasing lizards and chickens in the yard knowing you could never catch them

-anxiously awaiting mango, pomerrac, pomme citay season

Offline trinindian

« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2006, 04:27:49 PM »
-playing marble pitch, which was very organzed and had a specific lexicon onto itself. eg farts, bumbay, lele, uppernox,tour,big zulu, dab etc(anybody remember other pitching terms  ??? )

fend top head, draws, puss-cah-lay, tonkco, lines

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2006, 09:24:16 PM »

That is an excellent compilation AlbertaTrini,  excellent excellent !! 

« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2006, 10:19:39 PM »

Thank you for that memory Pointman
mango over here is 5 dollars and not even from dey caribbean.
now i think back at how much bird pick mango that fall on dey ground and i kick dem in dey drain  >:(

as dey saying goes "never miss dey water.....'

« Reply #14 on: May 22, 2006, 08:54:44 AM »

Thank you for that memory Pointman
mango over here is 5 dollars and not even from dey caribbean.
now i think back at how much bird pick mango that fall on dey ground and i kick dem in dey drain  >:(

as dey saying goes "never miss dey water.....'

I does hardly even eat mangoes over hear...only a setta hog mangoes.

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #15 on: May 22, 2006, 09:19:11 AM »
remember.....the ole version ah Sesame STree, fragel rock, the Muppet Show.....
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #16 on: May 22, 2006, 10:53:26 AM »
i remember dem shows....i used to want to be Miss Piggy! :-[

remember de music videos dey used to show every saturday morning before trinidad had cable?
and every sunday after lunch was mastanabahar and some indian movie...
and wen TTT used to sign off with the national anthem...if i was up i used to satnd up at attenttion in meh bed
« Last Edit: May 22, 2006, 10:56:15 AM by Little Jodie P »
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

« Reply #17 on: May 22, 2006, 03:10:43 PM »
What yuh remember Panorama? TTT

Uncle......
Aunty Kay?

Holly Betteadieu (sp)

Lokk nah before cable  people coming by yuh windows and watching T,V no burglar proff bars back then.

Oh lawd life seem so peaceful then what happen tuh we society? why we walking in fear? why the killings? why the hating? lawd bring ah blessing upon meh homeland; ah have tuh come back tuh retire. ah want peace and plenty love.

« Reply #18 on: May 22, 2006, 03:13:38 PM »

Uncle......
Aunty Kay?

Holly Betteadieu (sp)

Lokk nah before cable  people coming by yuh windows and watching T,V no burglar proff bars back then.

Oh lawd life seem so peaceful then what happen tuh we society? why we walking in fear? why the killings? why the hating? lawd bring ah blessing upon meh homeland; ah have tuh come back tuh retire. ah want peace and plenty love.

Holly and my father were classmates

I do remember auntie Kay

« Reply #19 on: May 22, 2006, 03:58:55 PM »
allyuh making me go back in meh days

*allyuh remember dey days of no burglar proofing roun ya house ?
ya could sleep and not one fly enter ya house, morning, noon or night

sunday lunch, ever man jack hadda sit down aroun' dey table - or else

dey in car was Datsun 120Y and Bluebird

everybody pelting waist fur dey tambu, roaring lion, blue boy, duke, sparrow
it was just called kaiso/calypso.  nothin bout soca, chuntey soca, ragga soca, future soca etc
charlies roots, majors and shadileer were dey brass bands tur beat.

everybody ya know either had ah mango, tanbrand, plum, chennet, coconut or ah rose or hibscus tree in dey yard.
church is every saturday or early sunday morning
dem days only had 3 (known) religions - catholic, hindu and baptise (ah know ah go get pound)  steups
nothing name kiss bread, cause everything come out ya mudda oven.

teacher cutting ya ass, before you reach home, news get back to ya mudda ya get licks and she cutting ya ass too....no question ask
infact was dey principal doing dey beating....lord, Mr Germaine, had a belt name celentine. ah seriously think dey bury it with he yes.

ah go stop dey

« Last Edit: May 22, 2006, 04:02:50 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #20 on: May 23, 2006, 08:34:01 AM »

Uncle......
Aunty Kay?

Holly Betteadieu (sp)

Ha Ha Alberta is RIKKI TIKKI With UNCLE TAVI yuh want tuh say.

He had the popeye cartoons coming out of de box wid de lights.

Wha about RESCUE

TEN CENTS SURPRISE BAG.

Yuh first communion .

Tiefing communion wine if yuh was ah altar boy.

Dreading haircuts.

Sennae fuh yuh skin every Saturday morning. ugh

Party at Palaver Place, Infinity, Heritage, Studio 57, Galaxy, Peno's

De real BRASS O PAN FETE in PSA.

Defence Force vs Tecsa

Stick fight wid real buss head.

Common Entrance exams when yuh had tuh write an not shade.

Yuh get ah " U" in an O' Level exam and yuh tell yuh parents it mean understood the subject  ;D ;D

Hoping an praying dat yuh get tuh sit next tuh de girl yuh think is the prettiest in primary school, getting yuh wish an not saying anything tyuh her fuh de year.

On special occasions yuh mother buy new clothes fuh de children an you an brother get the same outfit only different colour.

Yuh father starting he car with ah crank.

And last but not least....

Goodnight Mary, Goodnight Jim Bob, Goodnight Granma, Goodnight Ma,Goodnight Pa .... Goodnight Johnboy

« Reply #21 on: May 23, 2006, 08:49:01 AM »
"Yuh father starting he car with ah crank"

???  ???

Fishs how old you really is dred??  :D

« Reply #22 on: May 23, 2006, 11:20:25 AM »

???  ???

:rotfl: :rotfl: and I thought I was de resident ole man on de board. In trute doh, meh neighbor grandfadda used to use ah crank for dey car.

« Reply #23 on: May 23, 2006, 11:26:52 AM »
allyuh making me go back in meh days

*allyuh remember dey days of no burglar proofing roun ya house ?
ya could sleep and not one fly enter ya house, morning, noon or night

sunday lunch, ever man jack hadda sit down aroun' dey table - or else

dey in car was Datsun 120Y and Bluebird

everybody pelting waist fur dey tambu, roaring lion, blue boy, duke, sparrow
it was just called kaiso/calypso.  nothin bout soca, chuntey soca, ragga soca, future soca etc
charlies roots, majors and shadileer were dey brass bands tur beat.

everybody ya know either had ah mango, tanbrand, plum, chennet, coconut or ah rose or hibscus tree in dey yard.church is every saturday or early sunday morning
dem days only had 3 (known) religions - catholic, hindu and baptise (ah know ah go get pound)  steups
nothing name kiss bread, cause everything come out ya mudda oven.

teacher cutting ya ass, before you reach home, news get back to ya mudda ya get licks and she cutting ya ass too....no question ask
infact was dey principal doing dey beating....lord, Mr Germaine, had a belt name celentine. ah seriously think dey bury it with he yes.

ah go stop dey

funny enough we didn't have none ah dem trees in we yard, but we had ah zaboca, soursup and breadfruit and fig trees in de yard. We also had passion fruit pumpkin and sapodilla vines in de back. Chickens and rabbits and ah bad dog only barking day and night.

We primary school principal was Mr Singh and dat dougs used to beat we with ah barber shop leatherstrap, allyuh kno the leather strap dey does sharpen the razors wid. De man used to have it drapped across he shoulder and yuh gehin it and he putting back on he shoulder all in one motion.

« Reply #24 on: May 23, 2006, 10:26:11 PM »

???  ???

Lol  Old enuff tuh see Princess Magaret, Haille Selassie, Bob Marley, Santos with Pele when they came to Trini.

But really the first car ah remember mih father had , he used to start it with ah crank sometimes a old Austin Cambridge.  ;D ;D ;D

Offline Lil Jodie P

« Reply #25 on: May 23, 2006, 10:39:40 PM »
ah mixing and mingling well wit de older folks....look ting!

i still have meh mudda milk inmeh face...so i go jus hush and listen to allyuh...cuz de days i remember was like yesterday tuh allyuh!
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

« Reply #26 on: May 24, 2006, 12:46:18 AM »
ah mixing and mingling well wit de older folks....look ting!

i still have meh mudda milk inmeh face...so i go jus hush and listen to allyuh...cuz de days i remember was like yesterday tuh allyuh!

Age is jus ah number.

Young at heart

Wisdom beyond your age

« Reply #27 on: May 24, 2006, 06:05:13 AM »
Pointman what about this

in every yard there must be dey following items:

1. marbles - ah stick to draw dey circle
2. ah skippng rope
3. trambrind, mango, plum seeds
4. chalk to draw dey hop scotch box
5. ah black board
6. ah ole kilm pan to beat drum
7. one side ah slippers
8. ah pot hound aka dustbin terrier
9. ah sling shot

In dem days you MUST have had one of the following experiences

1. ah jep sting
2. ants bite
3. bird shit on ya head
4. scars on ya knee and elbow
5. nail jook
6. run down by ah dog
7. ah 10 speed cycle
8. ya bath at dey side ah dey road from ah barrel ah rain water
9. ya drink rain water
10. river bath

continue....like ah forgetting :-\
« Last Edit: May 24, 2006, 06:06:48 AM by TriniCana »

« Reply #28 on: May 25, 2006, 08:00:46 AM »
Pointman what about this

in every yard there must be dey following items:

1. marbles - ah stick to draw dey circle
2. ah skippng rope
3. trambrind, mango, plum seeds
4. chalk to draw dey hop scotch box
5. ah black board
6. ah ole kilm pan to beat drum
7. one side ah slippers
8. ah pot hound aka dustbin terrier
9. ah sling shot

In dem days you MUST have had one of the following experiences

1. ah jep sting
2. ants bite
3. bird shit on ya head
4. scars on ya knee and elbow
5. nail jook
6. run down by ah dog
7. ah 10 speed cycle
8. ya bath at dey side ah dey road from ah barrel ah rain water
9. ya drink rain water
10. river bath

continue....like ah forgetting :-\

TriniCana like you ah ole oman too or yuh juss a country bookie ;D river bath and ting, well we ent have no rivers in Point so ah cyar relate...but the rest ah could deal wid, especially the ants bites ;D

what bout playing football in the rain...that was boss

playing windball cricket whole day

breaking l'ecole beache(allyuh know what that is ;D )

« Reply #29 on: May 25, 2006, 09:07:12 AM »

TriniCana like you ah ole oman too or yuh juss a country bookie ;D river bath and ting, well we ent have no rivers in Point so ah cyar relate...but the rest ah could deal wid, especially the ants bites ;D

what bout playing football in the rain...that was boss

playing windball cricket whole day

breaking l'ecole beache(allyuh know what that is ;D )

:o

You is ah BAD!! BAD man...you badder dan Mastife oui

I goin an sit back to see how dis go play out