March 28, 2024, 04:34:30 AM

Author Topic: NY FORUMITES  (Read 67122 times)

Re: NY FORUMITES
« Reply #60 on: May 16, 2006, 02:36:19 PM »
ok.. fellas

so we down to either the 1. High School trini_madness trying to get.. or 2. Cunningham Park..

We got to act now... we aint have much time.. also remember that weekend all dem parks will be packed so we hadda reach the place early and occupy we space

« Reply #61 on: May 16, 2006, 02:36:30 PM »
We cyah keep saying this park good and dat park good.... we have to get a contact for de park and lock it down!!

« Reply #62 on: May 16, 2006, 02:40:14 PM »
ok so far.. i seeing

mehself
FF
trinbago
100 % Barataria
morvant
tennorsaw
Trini_madness
monty
marcs

All giving verbal confirmation

« Reply #63 on: May 16, 2006, 02:42:56 PM »
We cyah keep saying this park good and dat park good.... we have to get a contact for de park and lock it down!!

FF, ah jus copy you on a note to de park facilities to secure Wingate, if feasible, stay tuned, will follow up wid a ph call....

CityParks Foundation Staff

City Parks Foundation
 830 Fifth Avenue
 New York, NY 10021
 Phone: 212.360.1399
 Fax: 212.360.8283
 Info@CityParksFoundation.org 
« Last Edit: May 16, 2006, 02:44:57 PM by 100% Barataria »

« Reply #64 on: May 16, 2006, 06:26:42 PM »
ah jus call de school,  de athletic director wasn't there....i called meh HS baseball coach and he say he'll ask for me. he also say that we might have to pay a fee to use de field. i'll call de school again tomorrow.

i could also see if we could use meh college field.

How bout Flushing Meadow Park

It have goal posts and field mark off in Flushing Meadow?

Or we ent business with all dat?

flushing meadow park by de big globe have rel good fields....one thing though theres no fences to block other people from coming in....plus alot of mexicans love to play organized ball over dey....so chances of getting a field over dey will be tough.

Cunningham Park is also good...pretty big...couple different fields..some with goal posts and every thing.....between the Grandcentral Pkwy and LIE......on union tkpke

that by de tennis fields? theres football fields over dey? ive never seen any,  though it is a big park we could just set up in de middle somewhere draw de boundaries and set up goals.

another option is alley pond park. theres one section where people hardly go to play,  but de pitch ent to good.....i would leave that as a last resort.

« Reply #65 on: May 16, 2006, 09:09:00 PM »
Cunningham actually has about 3-fields in one. If we get there early we should be good...but it would certainly help to get a contact to ensure we could get it

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
« Reply #66 on: May 17, 2006, 05:35:53 AM »
New Yorkers might be interested in this - a NYC journalist is looking for supporters from T&T. Info below.

Looking for NYC fans of “underdog” World Cup teams

I’m researching a story on World Cup fans in NYC. I’m specifically looking for places where fans of “underdog” soccer countries will be gathering to watch their matches.

If you happen to know and have contact info for anyone in New York who supports, or knows supporters of one of these teams, or just generally is a serious international soccer fan, I would be pleased to learn of it.

Leave a comment or email me at eshepard@gmail.com.
-be the change you wish to see-

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #67 on: May 17, 2006, 05:54:19 AM »
ok so far.. i seeing

mehself
FF
trinbago
100 % Barataria
morvant
tennorsaw
Trini_madness
monty
marcs

All giving verbal confirmation

I givin written confirmation.
I dey.
Toujour Pret!

Offline DeTrini

« Reply #68 on: May 17, 2006, 06:17:32 AM »
"where fans of “underdog” soccer countries will be gathering to watch their matches."

I don't know  where them gathering , but as a true Trini , Drunk or sober I go be in Dortmund.   8)

Offline DeTrini

« Reply #69 on: May 17, 2006, 06:19:26 AM »

I can make the run, what we talking about some small goal and posing??

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #70 on: May 17, 2006, 06:41:11 AM »
I be there. But finalize a location,date and time quickly.
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #71 on: May 17, 2006, 07:57:49 AM »

I can make the run, what we talking about some small goal and posing??

We looking at big goal facilities... small goal will of course run on de side as long as numbers come out.

« Reply #72 on: May 17, 2006, 08:12:04 AM »
We don't necessarily have to pay to go into a part. There are several parks that all we basically have to do is to reach early and occupy a space.

With that having being said, we have many choices. i personally know of alot in the Brooklyn area.

Let me know what you think.. and I need a head count..

« Reply #73 on: May 17, 2006, 03:45:32 PM »
oh lawd what a long bad flikkin day.....when i get out of class i call de school,  i repeat meh story about 3-4 times before they give meh to de athletic director.....de blasted grounds booked up!!! there are people that play organize ball over dey. de sweat on that grounds is a no go.....after that ah gone manhattan to de adidas store to get de TNT jersey.....and de man say they eh get shipment yet.....i wanted to buy a cameroon jersey at de puma store cuz it lookin bad......they doh have meh size. then gone home empty handed.....anything else to make meh day worse????

NY fellas we need to get a field somewhere...anywhere....we gotta act fast...memorial weekend right dey.

u know what i gonna ask meh college if we could use de grounds.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2006, 03:49:10 PM by trini_madnesss »

« Reply #74 on: May 17, 2006, 03:48:54 PM »
Well I put in ah application online for Wingate Park as well as Cunningham Park for Sun 28th from 12pm to 6pm... but ah not overly optimistic....

Look like we might end up having to move dread and pirate ah field on de day!

« Reply #75 on: May 17, 2006, 03:51:46 PM »
Well I put in ah application online for Wingate Park as well as Cunningham Park for Sun 28th from 12pm to 6pm... but ah not overly optimistic....

alright cool FF,  i gonna ask meh college if we could use de field incase de application doesnt go through.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2006, 03:58:49 PM by trini_madnesss »

« Reply #76 on: May 17, 2006, 03:59:29 PM »

alright cool FF, i gonna ask meh college if we could use de field.

Marine Park is a huge park.. we can go early, grap a spot.. put up a small tent and a big Warrior Nation banner so we can be recognize us.. we'll bring coolers and food and well sweat the football..

« Reply #77 on: May 17, 2006, 04:06:40 PM »

Marine Park is a huge park.. we can go early, grap a spot.. put up a small tent and a big Warrior Nation banner so we can be recognize us.. we'll bring coolers and food and well sweat the football..

wheres marine park?

« Reply #78 on: May 17, 2006, 04:12:09 PM »

wheres marine park?

10 blocks south of Kings Plaza Mall along Ave U.

« Reply #79 on: May 17, 2006, 04:34:29 PM »

wheres marine park?

10 blocks south of Kings Plaza Mall along Ave U.

eman.. I trying hard.. but these fellas unsure of what they want to do for sure..lol

you better take over

« Reply #80 on: May 17, 2006, 04:40:26 PM »
wha happen to all de fellas on de old thread? marine park is a way from where i living but i still going. we have toronto and T&T forumites making fun of we  :'(

« Reply #81 on: May 17, 2006, 04:52:44 PM »
big dawg de ting is yuh have to lock down a spot....

because yuh will go early and grab ah spot and next ting somebody come and bawl dey have a permit and we hadda move....

but talk to meh bout marine park...e-man too... how easy it is to go and set up dey... who in charge of dat park... we could play music etc etc.... it possible we go get run?

we cyah move vikie vie.... (although with 2 weeks to go this ting real vikie vie arready)  ;D

« Reply #82 on: May 17, 2006, 05:22:33 PM »

because yuh will go early and grab ah spot and next ting somebody come and bawl dey have a permit and we hadda move....

but talk to meh bout marine park...e-man too... how easy it is to go and set up dey... who in charge of dat park... we could play music etc etc.... it possible we go get run?

we cyah move vikie vie.... (although with 2 weeks to go this ting real vikie vie arready) ;D

Well Marine Park is a public park that pretty much open to anyone.. As far as the music is concernerd, I dont think it should ba a problem since alot of people does do it.. If you have any questions pm meh..

whey yuh ythink

« Reply #83 on: May 17, 2006, 07:22:14 PM »

we cyah move vikie vie.... (although with 2 weeks to go this ting real vikie vie arready) ;D

Well Marine Park is a public park that pretty much open to anyone.. As far as the music is concernerd, I dont think it should ba a problem since alot of people does do it.. If you have any questions pm meh..

whey yuh ythink

alright if de applications doh go through we will go marine park.....just to have a plan to stick with.......ah hoping we dont get kicked off  :-\

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #84 on: May 18, 2006, 07:37:40 AM »
Here is some info but not positive. I went to www.nyc.gov/parks . i think to process time for application will send the date pass memorial day.

Special Events Permits and Applications

Permit Forms
Online Apply for a Special Events Permit
By Mail  Download the Special Events Permit Application (104 kb PDF).
Mailing Instructions 

Planning a Special Event
All events in the City of New York require special event permits
There is a $25 non-refundable administrative processing fee
for all special events permits.
Permits require at least 21 to 30 days to be processed
(Different guidelines apply to demonstrations and rallies).
Please plan accordingly.
Applicant is solely responsible for obtaining any necessary
clearances or permissions for the use of intellectual property,
including but not limited to musical or other performance rights for the stage.
If you intend to have vendors at, sell anything at, charge for, or conduct
any other revenue-generating activity at your event on parkland,
you will require a Temporary Use Authorization (TUA) (PDF, 16 KB)
from Parks' Revenue and Concessions Division.
No large-scale events on the Sheep Meadow in Central Park
No back-to-back events in the same venue in the same flagship park,
with the exception of events in established concert venues
All permittees must adhere to the Special Events Guidelines
Please see the Rules and Regulations section for information on Special Events Concessions, including definitions of terms, a concession fee schedule, and exceptions to that schedule.
Borough Permit Offices
Citywide Special Events voicemail information: 212-360-1319

Bronx
Ranaqua
1 Bronx River Parkway
Bronx, NY 10462
(718) 430-1847
Bronx Events FAQ's

Brooklyn
Litchfield Villa
Prospect Park
Brooklyn, NY 11215
(718) 965-8912
Brooklyn Events FAQ's 

Manhattan
Arsenal West, 5th Flr.
24 West 61st Street
New York, NY 10023
(212) 408-0226

Manhattan Events FAQ's Queens
The Overlook
80-30 Park Lane
Kew Gardens, NY 11415
(718) 520-5941
Queens Events FAQ's

The Overlook Permit Office Hours
Mondays: 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m
Tuesdays - Thursdays: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m
Fridays: 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Staten Island
Stonehenge
Clove Lakes Park
Staten Island, NY 10301
(718) 390-8023
Staten Island Events FAQ's
 Citywide
The Arsenal
Central Park
830 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10021
(212) 360-1319

Related information
Designated Barbecuing Areas in City Parks
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #85 on: May 18, 2006, 10:50:20 AM »
Here is some info but not positive. I went to www.nyc.gov/parks . i think to process time for application will send the date pass memorial day.

Special Events Permits and Applications

Permit Forms
Online Apply for a Special Events Permit
By Mail  Download the Special Events Permit Application (104 kb PDF).
Mailing Instructions 

Planning a Special Event
All events in the City of New York require special event permits
There is a $25 non-refundable administrative processing fee
for all special events permits.
Permits require at least 21 to 30 days to be processed
(Different guidelines apply to demonstrations and rallies).
Please plan accordingly.
Applicant is solely responsible for obtaining any necessary
clearances or permissions for the use of intellectual property,
including but not limited to musical or other performance rights for the stage.
If you intend to have vendors at, sell anything at, charge for, or conduct
any other revenue-generating activity at your event on parkland,
you will require a Temporary Use Authorization (TUA) (PDF, 16 KB)
from Parks' Revenue and Concessions Division.
No large-scale events on the Sheep Meadow in Central Park
No back-to-back events in the same venue in the same flagship park,
with the exception of events in established concert venues
All permittees must adhere to the Special Events Guidelines
Please see the Rules and Regulations section for information on Special Events Concessions, including definitions of terms, a concession fee schedule, and exceptions to that schedule.
Borough Permit Offices
Citywide Special Events voicemail information: 212-360-1319

Bronx
Ranaqua
1 Bronx River Parkway
Bronx, NY 10462
(718) 430-1847
Bronx Events FAQ's

Brooklyn
Litchfield Villa
Prospect Park
Brooklyn, NY 11215
(718) 965-8912
Brooklyn Events FAQ's 

Manhattan
Arsenal West, 5th Flr.
24 West 61st Street
New York, NY 10023
(212) 408-0226

Manhattan Events FAQ's Queens
The Overlook
80-30 Park Lane
Kew Gardens, NY 11415
(718) 520-5941
Queens Events FAQ's

The Overlook Permit Office Hours
Mondays: 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m
Tuesdays - Thursdays: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m
Fridays: 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Staten Island
Stonehenge
Clove Lakes Park
Staten Island, NY 10301
(718) 390-8023
Staten Island Events FAQ's
 Citywide
The Arsenal
Central Park
830 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10021
(212) 360-1319

Related information
Designated Barbecuing Areas in City Parks

i dont understand why a application should take 21 to 30 days to be processed thats just  :bs: :bs: :bs:

« Reply #86 on: May 18, 2006, 12:15:21 PM »
Arite.... is trini_madness who say he coulda get de HS Field....

I jus PM him to see wha is de scene...

anything else on de cards fellaz

Wingate park in Brooklyn next to Kings County has a football field marked off equipped w/goal posts, not sure how one goes about getting that facility, that may also be a convenient venue

I was thinking the same thing.  We might have to contact the school directly or the school's district office.

« Reply #87 on: May 18, 2006, 03:21:35 PM »
I just playing farse...when exactly is Memorial Day again  ???

Someone suggested labour day weekend.  That might give allyuh enough time to book a ground and the turn out might be better with people from all over coming in for the festivities. 

Purely selfish reasons, but I would be in NY for the summer...August holidays...whatever.

Who knows maybe allyuh might even get to taste the now famous 'WN fish broth'  ::)

« Reply #88 on: May 18, 2006, 03:28:25 PM »
all dat could be a play pardners.....

but ah think right now man just thusty for a sweat!!

« Reply #89 on: May 18, 2006, 03:31:31 PM »
when WC done.. some men just going an say F it.. so that why we should do the sweat now