March 28, 2024, 04:48:21 AM

Author Topic: Haitian robbery" T&T cheated W/Cup spot.  (Read 57330 times)

Re: Haitian robbery… T&T cheated W/Cup spot.
« Reply #30 on: May 25, 2006, 11:03:22 PM »

The 70's was probably the best days of Trini sport, we was winning everything in the Caribbean, Football, Hockey, Netball, Lawntennis, Table tennis, bodybuilding, car racing, pigeon racing, monopoly....

An yuh remember after dey show Fist of Fury an Enter de Dragon , is ah setta people outside cinema kung fu fighting.

we had to be be best in dat too.  ;D ;D ;D :beermug: :beermug:

3 card knock, spark tootee for butternut, snakes and ladders, ludo, synchronized swimming, rescue catch

copy dat ....bu'how yuh go mention all ah dem teams and individual sports and NOT menshun de best car drivers in de caribbean and ah eh talkin bout Tom Miller eedah....but dem sca-electric drivers....dem other caribbean island didden wha nutten wit dem nah!....gentlemen start your engines...... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Sorry about dat , mih brother win it 3 years straight.

But ah also forget karate... remember after Deluxe and Strand bring Fist of Fury and Enter de Dragon, outside Cinema is a setta man KUNG FU FIGHTING ? ;D ;D :beermug: :beermug:
« Last Edit: May 25, 2006, 11:06:38 PM by fishs »

« Reply #31 on: May 25, 2006, 11:39:59 PM »

But ah also forget karate... remember after Deluxe and Strand bring Fist of Fury and Enter de Dragon, outside Cinema is a setta man KUNG FU FIGHTING ? ;D ;D :beermug: :beermug:

I meh self cyatspraddle one or two men after watching a good kickup

« Reply #32 on: May 26, 2006, 06:26:59 AM »
 :o   ??? I-I am sorry I am totally devoid of any knowledge of a game called "spark totee for butternut"

could you explain the rules to me? google dosent seem to have anyting  ;)

if is de kinda game lil boys does hadda play out of public sight..den is arrite,, doh explain nuttn

« Reply #33 on: May 26, 2006, 08:16:12 AM »
i would like to see those goals...
until then i find it unfair to say that the over ruled goals were bad decisions..cuz i never see de goals...

Lawrd faddah..!!

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #34 on: May 02, 2007, 11:11:06 AM »
Westcoast, thanks for the link to this thread. :beermug: This article by Lasana should be required reading in order to unite our players. History is repeating itself with the current impasse. What a disgrace that these guys (Jack, Groden and Camps) can get away with this crap. It's like deja vu all over again. It is time to flood the various media outlets with letters and inform and awaken the public. We have to be a part of the solution.

« Reply #35 on: May 02, 2007, 11:59:22 AM »
Westcoast, thanks for the link to this thread. :beermug: This article by Lasana should be required reading in order to unite our players. History is repeating itself with the current impasse. What a disgrace that these guys (Jack, Groden and Camps) can get away with this crap. It's like deja vu all over again. It is time to flood the various media outlets with letters and inform and awaken the public. We have to be a part of the solution.

I ready long time....I go be easy to find....ah goh be home, with no team to support.... >:(

Re: Haitian robbery" T&T cheated W/Cup spot.
« Reply #36 on: May 03, 2007, 04:18:43 AM »
« Last Edit: May 03, 2007, 04:56:44 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #37 on: August 26, 2007, 01:08:46 PM »

This was really a sad time for Trinis who followed the football.
 When yuh check the players and that team .... man at least the second rounds was their destiny
So true! Yet some are in denial of our ability to compete  internationally.
This 1973 team had talent to cut it on "the World stage", I had to revisit this thread because this is an important part of our football history. The under 17 team made it to the finals, the results are not flattering but they have youth on their side and they will learn. I hope to see them one day take us to the second round.
Many have forgottten or are not aware of the trials of this 1973"Classic Team". Folks we have the talent but our Administrators cannot get out of the way.

« Reply #38 on: August 26, 2007, 02:02:16 PM »
The youths in those days was playin with heart and soul , the youths of today are  weak physically and mentally yuh cannot speak to them to  loud , strait op they hav no discipline.what the fail to realize it take team work to score gols not individualism.

« Reply #39 on: August 26, 2007, 02:22:34 PM »
Sometimes good threads get buried.

« Reply #40 on: August 26, 2007, 02:44:31 PM »
i would like to see those goals...
until then i find it unfair to say that the over ruled goals were bad decisions..cuz i never see de goals...

Oh gosh...here we go.  Hear nah...you from Trinidad?  How you could call yuhself warrior till death and write something like this?  De Ref get ban, Haiti get ban after de World Cup for a long time and you still need to see de disallowed goals to decide if they were fair or not?  :rotfl:

« Reply #41 on: August 26, 2007, 02:45:06 PM »
In speaking to some of de players on de 73 team, many of them were of de belief dat dis Haiti game was made tuh be de scapegoat of dat World Cup campaign. Dey point to de Honduras game, which was played 5 days earlier,  as de critical game. Dey felt dat overconfidence and overall slackness caused them to lose that game.

« Reply #42 on: August 27, 2007, 01:45:05 PM »
Ah have to respond to dis....just not right now....ah have de people wuk to do.....but all yuh realise dat if yuh just change de dates and de names of de players in parts of dis article Lasana could well be writing about de current situation wid de Jacklisted players....

Offline MATADOR

« Reply #43 on: August 28, 2007, 09:04:38 AM »
Gentlemen, I have a good and reliable source on this matter as well and I must say it is very hard and sometimes too emotional for it to even be discussed...but, there are only two people with the footage of the game including the goals etc.. Gally & Steve one of them it was passed on to by my good source as he said he never wants to see it again in his lifetime.  Gally showed it 25 yrs ago on National TV and vowed never to show it again.
Coops much respect to you as always, your views are from the players prespective and while good there are gaps on what was going on behind the scene which I can help fill..however Nigel(you know who u r) you may contact me to ask the questions and get the accurate answers especially on the Classic team.I will not post anything more just give the answers and you may elaborate.

Respect.

« Reply #44 on: August 28, 2007, 09:26:28 AM »
Gentlemen, I have a good and reliable source on this matter as well and I must say it is very hard and sometimes too emotional for it to even be discussed...but, there are only two people with the footage of the game including the goals etc.. Gally & Steve one of them it was passed on to by my good source as he said he never wants to see it again in his lifetime.  Gally showed it 25 yrs ago on National TV and vowed never to show it again.
Coops much respect to you as always, your views are from the players perspective and while good there are gaps on what was going on behind the scene which I can help fill..however Nigel(you know who u r) you may contact me to ask the questions and get the accurate answers especially on the Classic team.I will not post anything more just give the answers and you may elaborate.

Respect.

To ALL the members of that Classic team.... :applause: :applause:
and to Archie (my little boy days hero)......a personal Thanks ,man
« Last Edit: August 28, 2007, 07:46:11 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline kentsoulman

« Reply #45 on: August 28, 2007, 05:27:09 PM »
Coops much respect to you as always, your views are from the players prespective and while good there are gaps on what was going on behind the scene which I can help fill..however Nigel(you know who u r) you may contact me to ask the questions and get the accurate answers especially on the Classic team.I will not post anything more just give the answers and you may elaborate.

Respect.

Matador, is there any way you can get the clips converted so they can be downloaded. Thoses of us that had no clue of this incident would want to see for themselves.

I didn't know of this until today as I wasn't visiting this site until after the World Cup and never saw this post. I have never heard of 5 goals being disallowed for one team in a first class match, particularly a World Cup qualifier. I remember Haiti in the 74 finals, as I had to paint my subbuteo players brown to play the world cup edition, as you could only get white players then!

I cannot believe all this has been going on for more than 30 years. Players blacklisted, threatening to strike, inferior accomodation and food, suspected corruption in the administration. Nothings changed. Remmember the Warriors were charged their own travel, food and accomodation for Germany while all the TTFF people got theirs free.

Any current player who knows of this and doesn't join FPATT is a bloody idiot! Even those players who played in the Gold Cup rather than support the blacklisted players were rewarded by being made to wait before they got  paid, and even then, they had to return their kit bags.

As far as I can see, any player who trusts TTFF gets sh*t on in the end. Why don't they just stand together and break the hold these people have on T&T football?

« Reply #46 on: August 28, 2007, 07:41:46 PM »
Old TTT should have that flim(as we Trini does say). But if anybody knows someone who has the flim, they  should ask them to show the TT public. They always shoe classic basketball, baseball, Amer. football up here. Why can't we show it, if someone has the FLIM. By the way I saw it on TTT in 73. Raffie and Gally were on that night. That was hurtful.

« Reply #47 on: August 28, 2007, 08:08:52 PM »
:'( :'( Burn down the TTFF devils covernent is pure evil is go down they  ,PPL say we TT fans are naive ,but from what ah read in the article ,T&T mitha done some damage back then !! some major upsets too  :'( :'( .Jack and he demons is ah pack of c**ts !!!!!!!!
« Last Edit: August 28, 2007, 08:12:34 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #48 on: November 26, 2007, 05:35:08 AM »
Bump
TriniScout,
I invite you to read this thread from the start
Thank you

Offline Coach

« Reply #49 on: November 26, 2007, 09:20:18 AM »
I would love to see that entire game, but I can remember 1 of the goal from highlights in TV back then.

We had a long throw specialist, I think it was Winston Phillips, this was a set play, he would take throw in's from the corner flag area, into to the 6 yards box, all jump to head the ball the ball came of a player head and into the net the lines called it offside, tell me since when you can be off from a throw in. So if you want to see the film just picture this image.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2007, 09:24:12 AM by Coach »

Offline bajanscout

• bajanscout
« Reply #50 on: November 26, 2007, 09:49:29 AM »
And bahrain ha one like we on with haiti how trinidad rob we d goal where jack was bouncing d ball and we kickit away from him in the goal but jack warner tell d referee no goal else he would never referee again in he life :rotfl:
bajanscout

« Reply #51 on: November 26, 2007, 10:02:50 AM »
have you bothered to read the rules of football ?

Offline Trevor

« Reply #52 on: November 26, 2007, 11:32:11 AM »
From my recall, it is a very accurate account of what transpired.  However, I thought the match against Haiti was the last game.  I really enjoy Lasana Liburd’s writings.     

After each match, my football friends and I would start calling each other to find out the score.  If we did not get the result, we had to wait the next day around 12:35 pm for Raffie to give it.  Initially, not even TTT had a copy of the film.  Someone called Raffie and told him that his brother had seen the game live on TV in Miami.  I remember Raffie asking over the radio if the person can contact his brother in Miami with the hopes of getting a copy of the film.  What a different world it is from then to today!  The goal from Winston Phillips’ long throw was the one that remains vivid with me. 

A group of us went to see the team arrive at Piarco.  Many people were at Piarco that night, but there was delay after delay for the flight’s arrival.  To kill time, we went by a bar near the airport.  I remember the song “Daniel” by Elton John being played on the jukebox at the bar.  Every time I hear “Daniel” I think of that moment.  The team did not come in that night.  They arrived sometime the next day.   

This seems like yesterday!     

Trevor Leiba

Offline Oz

« Reply #53 on: November 26, 2007, 12:28:37 PM »
I would love to see that film also.  A Haitian breds who plays on my O-40 team insists that the disallowed goals were Tom Phillips long throws that went DIRECTLY into the goal.  Trinis on the team had to ask him if he crazy.  I asked him if that is the Haitian view on the crime committed that night.  He said "I was in the stadium. It was what happened".  Of course even after all these years he did not know about the referee being banned for life by FIFA.  I guess every eye witness to a crime sees it differently.

By the way, he knows the names of the players from that team, and said that Steve David, Warren Archibald, and Gally Cummings in particular had hero status in Haiti back in those days.  He said those guys could walk in any restaurant or go anywhere and get anything for free.  Especially after the cut arse we put on Mexico.

« Reply #54 on: November 26, 2007, 04:37:40 PM »
I saw both games on TTT. The goal were legit to me. Winston use the ball from corner flag to the first post. The ball never went in directly. I think Steve flick a backheader for the first one. The others hit players and went in the goal. The goals were legit.

Offline bajanscout

• bajanscout
« Reply #55 on: November 26, 2007, 04:53:18 PM »
Tell yuh bredda in miami to go by mikey dread on 163rd st by d mall he hav dem tapes
bajanscout

Offline Trevor

« Reply #56 on: November 26, 2007, 05:18:42 PM »
Deeks,

I believe you are right.  I was picturing one of the goals to have taken place in that manner.  Winston threw the ball and the keeper came over Steve.  Steve ducked down and the ball came off his head.  I remember there was some debate in Trinidad for the change of call being due to – the ball did not touch anyone, or Steve fouled the keeper, or it was just blatant thief.  Ah go with the latter.     

The amazing thing about this is that the two teams were back at the half line for the kick off when the linesman came running to the referee.  After their talk, the referee changed the call.  I believe this scenario of the teams returning to the half line for the kick off occurred more than once.  I think the linesman was Canadian.   

Coop’s, yuh can’t get in touch with one of the guys?  Many of them are in New York.

Trevor Leiba

« Reply #57 on: November 26, 2007, 09:55:30 PM »
I would love to see that film also.  A Haitian breds who plays on my O-40 team insists that the disallowed goals were Tom Phillips long throws that went DIRECTLY into the goal.  Trinis on the team had to ask him if he crazy.  I asked him if that is the Haitian view on the crime committed that night.  He said "I was in the stadium. It was what happened".  Of course even after all these years he did not know about the referee being banned for life by FIFA.  I guess every eye witness to a crime sees it differently.

By the way, he knows the names of the players from that team, and said that Steve David, Warren Archibald, and Gally Cummings in particular had hero status in Haiti back in those days.  He said those guys could walk in any restaurant or go anywhere and get anything for free.  Especially after the cut arse we put on Mexico.
Pretty much...a classic case of the 'Rashomon effect'.

« Reply #58 on: June 16, 2010, 07:00:25 AM »
Best piece of article I have ever read on T&T football.

Imagine this team in the 1974 world cup.

« Reply #59 on: June 16, 2010, 07:33:04 AM »
hatians help put jack at the top of fifa when he was first startin out.