March 28, 2024, 08:14:43 PM

Author Topic: Marquez out of T&T match  (Read 1683 times)

Offline trinimuse

Marquez out of T&T match
« on: June 07, 2005, 10:37:54 AM »
This helps T&T. 

Marquez out of T&T match, Taken from Reuters June 7th, 2005.
Mexico defender Rafael Marquez has been ruled out of Wednesday's World Cup qualifier against Trinidad and Tobago with a groin strain.

Team doctor Jose Luis Serrano said the Barcelona player would be sidelined for eight to 10 days after suffering the injury during Saturday's 2-0 win away to Guatemala.

"The idea is that he will recover in time for the Confederations Cup," Serrano told the Mexican Football Federation's official website.

Mexico, who face the Caribbean islanders in the northern city of Monterrey, lead the final stage of the CONCACAF qualifying competition with 10 points from four games.

Trinidad and Tobago, who have never qualified for a World Cup, have four points.

Lavolpe wary of T&T threat - Press Association, 6th June 2005.

Mexico coach Ricardo Lavolpe has warned his side against underestimating the threat of Trinidad & Tobago when the two nations meet in Wednesday's World Cup qualifier in Monterrey.

Mexico are firm favourites going into the clash as they are top of the CONCACAF standings with 10 points, six points clear of fourth-placed Trinidad & Tobago.

Mexico have also gone 17 successive World Cup qualifiers without defeat but Lavolpe is still remaining wary of a Trinidad & Tobago side that claimed their first win of the campaign on Saturday with a 2-0 triumph over Panama.

"It's a very important match and we will work to get the three points. In modern football there are no easy opponents, everyone is difficult, so we are going to face Trinidad and Tobago with responsibility," the Argentinian-born Lavolpe said.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2005, 10:42:54 AM by trinimuse »

Re: Marquez out of T&T match
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2005, 10:45:29 AM »
Yeah I was watchin this mexican program last night on gol tv and he was interviewed and confirmed he is out.. another interesting piece of info i picked up was that they said ticket sales in Monterrey were very slow due to a steep increase in ticket prices (sound familiar)... so there may not be a sell out crowd... They continued to harp on and ask about what the players thought about playing in Monterrey and de fans... it seems there is some serious rivalries between Monterrey and the clubs that make up most of the Mexican team.... so I was not too surprised to see Team TnT get cheered on in the airport...
long story short... there is a small chance that crowd support (12th man) will not be too intense...

Offline trinimuse

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2005, 10:53:27 AM »
I think we'll have more support than we really should.  Another interesting turn is that most of the Mexican team comes out of the Guadalahara club.  The club is asking for its players to be available for the Confederations cup which clashes with national duty.  This is causing some tension in Mexico as well. Check this link: http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/050606/7/3t4q.html

Offline trinimuse

« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2005, 11:40:50 AM »
This article says Blanco has asked to be rested.  Ah still remember he cuss some a we supporters when we play dem last in the stadium.

http://www.reuters.co.in/locales/c_newsArticle.jsp?type=sportsNews&localeKey=en_IN&storyID=8720955

« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2005, 11:52:23 AM »
IF this marquez is the sweeper from they last WC team that good for we cause tha man a wicked player for me 1 of the best i seen
no blanco also helps us out

Offline Israel

« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2005, 12:07:34 PM »
Blanco cud play round now, he have Elcockafobia........
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2005, 12:21:15 PM »
Blanco cud play round now, he have Elcockafobia........

Israel you making joke bout that.  That was a serious scene oui.  Ancil had to change he phone number and all because of death threats.

That good though.  Let them know we doh make joke in the back dey