April 23, 2024, 04:31:01 PM

Author Topic: Millionaire Warriors.  (Read 16346 times)

Millionaire Warriors.
« on: June 25, 2006, 05:25:51 AM »
Millionaire Warriors.
By: Gizelle Morris (Guardian).

After months of secrecy, Prime Minister Patrick Manning unveiled a multi-million-dollar reward package, yesterday, for T&T’s Soca Warriors. The package included $1.2 million gift and a diplomatic passport for captain Dwight Yorke, $1 million each for the 24 players and the nation’s second highest award for the team.
Addressing the crowd at the Government’s welcome home tribute to T&T’s national football team at Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port-of-Spain, Manning said the team deserved a just, fair and reasonable reward for their achievements.
While the crowd shouted its approval, Manning unwrapped a package totalling $ 31 million, the long-promised reward for the team’s qualification for the World Cup Finals in Germany.
It was last month, after private talks with Manning at Whitehall, that Yorke had said Manning promised to reward generously the players and members of the technical staff after the World Cup.
In addition to their cash bonuses, Manning said the Central Bank Governor was asked to arrange workshops on money management for the footballers.
“Save, Warriors, save. Save like Shaka Hislop, put your bounty to good use. You must save for a rainy day, now that you are prosperous and strong,” Manning advised the players.
Manning thanked the footballers for bringing the people of T&T together in unity and scoring “five goals” for T&T.
The goals Manning referred to, however, were off rather than on the football field.
He said the Soca Warriors made T&T known throughout “every nook and cranny” in the world, and kept the flag flying high in the global arena.
The second goal Manning identified was the Warriors’ “inspirational performance” and show of discipline on the football field.
He also thanked the team for helping place T&T’s culture on the world stage and opening the door to further economic growth.
As a result of the headway made in Germany, said Manning, trade missions are planned for Europe, Asia and the Far East with the first delegation to Europe leaving at the end of July.
Manning also said Yorke, who was called out of retirement to captain the team, was a positive leader and indefatigable, articulate helmsman who deserved to be recognised and rewarded for his outstanding leadership.
“As soon as he is available he will join Brian Lara as a sports ambassador for T&T in the international community.”
But while Manning heaped praise on the team for most of his address, Fifa vice president Jack Warner—the man some credit with getting the Soca Warriors to Germany—was mentioned only in passing near the end of the Prime Minister’s speech.
“Finally!” one woman commented as Manning mentioned Warner’s name.
“I would like to thank Mr Austin Jack Warner most sincerely for contributing to the success of the Warriors and the development of football.
“If it was not for his effort, we might not have made it to Germany.”
As the crowd cheered, Manning invited Warner, Beenhakker and Yorke to be a part of discussions to determine the role of Government in getting T&T to the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.
“We must not only go to South Africa, but qualify for the second round and must be favourites to win in the next World Cup...
“Government will ensure we do everything possible to build on the achievement.”
The Prime Minister also announced a package for the growth of sport in T&T.
This included making the Ato Boldon Stadium home of the national football team and using the Manny Ramjohn stadium in Couva for the development of track and field athletes.
Yorke, who also addressed the fans, thanked Warner and the public for their support.
“It is important to see all of you come out in your numbers to support what we tried to achieve.
“I know some had doubts about the Soca Warriors, but we wanted to prove to the world we belonged on the world stage.”
Later, those members of the team present were awarded the Chaconia Gold Medal by acting President Dr Linda Baboolal, in a special investiture ceremony.
When the team arrived in the Stadium at just after 5 pm to deafening cheers, there were more empty seats than people in the venue, with only the covered stands boasting a crowd.
As the evening wore on, however, people flooded the venue.
As the team members took their seats in a special VIP area, eager fans, mainly scantily-clad women, rushed towards the team and almost succeeded in mobbing the smiling players.
Soldiers and police, armed with large sub-machine guns, had to form a human chain to hold back the mass of bodies.
Among the dignitaries attending the event were former presidents Ellis Clarke and ANR Robinson, who wore a Soca Warriors football jersey, and several members of Manning’s Cabinet.

Included in the generous bounty announced by Prime Minister:

* The nation’s second highest award, the Chaconia Gold Medal, for the 24 footballers who represented T&T in Germany.

* $250,000 each for the 16 members of the national squad who were not selected for the matches, ($200,000 in units from the Unit Trust Corporation, $50,000 in cash)

* $250,000 cash for each of three assistants to Dutch coach Leo Beenhakker.

* $1 million for each of the 24 players who travelled to Germany. ($750,000 in UTC units and $250,000 cash).

* $1 million cash and the Chaconia Gold Medal for Beenhakker.

* $1.2 million for team captain Dwight Yorke ($1 million units, $250, 000 cash), along with the title of His Excellency as a Sports Ambassador of T&T.

* The Other 16 - Daurance Williams, Gary Glasgow, Derek King, Nigel Pierre, Anton Pierre, Brent Rahim, Leslie Fitzpatrick, Marlon Rojas, Anthony Rougier, Nigel Henry, Glenton Wolfe, Angus Eve, Hector Sam and Scott Sealy.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2006, 06:45:23 PM by Flex »

Offline mr.talented

Re: The million dollar Warriors.
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2006, 05:58:49 AM »
this need to go  in the other thread...heheh

"you could change your religion,your sex and everything else but not your football club"

Offline jose

Re: The million dollar Warriors.
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2006, 06:32:04 AM »
i hope them fellas use that money wisely,wonder what gansta will do with his

Re: Millionaire Warriors.
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2006, 07:45:00 AM »
For men to say that this reward was not enough in a separate thread is absurd.  Me personally, that is a great package for Professional footballers.  Why do we continue to think that the government has to provide everything for its citizens or sportsmen, is the country Socialist or Communist?? 

The team did us proud and they have been rewarded by the government.  If additional rewards are to follow, it should come from the private sector including all of us fans.  But having heard the grumblings on this site about higher ticket prices.........

WE are not a one sport country.  We may be rich in some things but we are still developing.  Rather than make issues with Professional ballers getting $1 Million, maybe we should be arguing about better health care, better roads, better security in the country and greater transparency of public officials.

Blessings.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2006, 08:02:21 AM by Lower St. John »

« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2006, 07:50:59 AM »
What is Units ? is this good as cash ?

Will the team be allowed to use the Ato Boldon stadium free now and why that stadium which hold 10,000 compare to the Hasley Crawford at 25,000, makes no sense. De Ato Boldon stadium real nice and it off de highway for easy access, but it smaller than de HC Stadium. It good for training though as players based in south will have easy access and not like before when only North men coulda walk to practice and south, east and west sucking egg travelling miles for practice, now is even turf.

Lets hope Manning serious about 2010, time will tell.. I also hope he revamp the TTFF, we need to organise better, because if I know some people in the TTFF they will wait 2 weeks before we next world cup qualifiers to start training, they will also wait long to come with with plans to make money, when they could do that now so in 2 years they will have a good bit.

What about giving the team their own football buss to get to training and thing. A buss like they had in Germany.

Did Lincoln Phillips and Bertille St Clair get anything. What about men who was part of 2006 like Errol McFarlane (2- 2006 world cup goals), Andre Boucaud, Hector Sam, Rougier, Eve (1- 2006 world cup goal), Fitzpatrick, Rojas, Sealy... etc etc, did they get anything. I think Jack Warner did pay them off allready, but I eh to sure.. ?
« Last Edit: June 25, 2006, 08:07:33 AM by Flex »

MickeyRat

« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2006, 08:37:01 AM »
Congrats to the Soca Warriors.  Well done.  You guys deserve everything you got yesterday.

« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2006, 09:55:06 AM »
I would have liked them to throw in a Football Academy.... something to get the youths to get excited about and to take them from the streets :chilling:

« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2006, 10:01:44 AM »

technically this better than cash cuase they could be earnign bout 10% annually on the principal..but it depends on what scheme they get units from and the performance of the stock market.
it had a thread in the general discussing section the other day with them fellas talking bout investing in Unit Trust if you want a better explanation.
i hope them fellas..the local ones especially.. get some good financial advice so as not to squander the money on liming and buying shit.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2006, 11:18:32 AM by Feliziano »

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2006, 10:49:33 AM »
Manning move smart with teh units because he know is only a setta of limers on the side who will just spend that money wildly so he invest it for them wisely and they will end up making about 2 mil or more in the next 3 years once things on the market run good and once they don't just go by UTC Monday morning and ask for a big cheque.
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2006, 12:07:30 PM »
Patrick yuh make ah big move deh meh brother.Performance beat old talk.

« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2006, 12:48:09 PM »
Great  reward to well deserving athletes.  The idea of a Unit Trust is appropriate because that will ensure that the members have something later and don't waste the gif.  But an improtant question:  Was Bertlle St Calire rewarded as was other footballers who contributed? However you feel about him, he should not be omitted.  He gave his best.  The fact that he did not do better with the team is no fault of his effort.

« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2006, 03:45:07 PM »
Great  reward to well deserving athletes.  The idea of a Unit Trust is appropriate because that will ensure that the members have something later and don't waste the gif.  But an improtant question:  Was Bertlle St Calire rewarded as was other footballers who contributed? However you feel about him, he should not be omitted.  He gave his best.  The fact that he did not do better with the team is no fault of his effort.

Store Boy, Sam as well, Bertille and other members of teh team that participated in earlier rounds have ALREADY been compensated.  Remember that upon qualification the pot was shared amongst players by number of games played etc and Bertille also got a piece as he was coach up to a point.

This compensation is for the Soca Warriors World Cup 24 + Technical Staff.  That is it.

Well done PNM.  Well done Warriors.    :applause:

« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2006, 07:03:24 PM »
I felt soory for Spann
he was looking sad..when de PM buss de $1 Million for the 16 who represented our country in Germany

Offline ZionYouth

« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2006, 07:08:05 PM »

technically this better than cash cuase they could be earnign bout 10% annually on the principal..but it depends on what scheme they get units from and the performance of the stock market.
it had a thread in the general discussing section the other day with them fellas talking bout investing in Unit Trust if you want a better explanation.
i hope them fellas..the local ones especially.. get some good financial advice so as not to squander the money on liming and buying shit.

I doh like de  sound of dat... ::)

« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2006, 08:27:45 PM »

MARVIN Andrews kicks a football to a youngster to symbolise the passing of the baton to a future generation.

JUST COOL: Defender Brent Sancho relaxes at Crowne Plaza and gives a thumbs up to the crowd.

DANCING IN THE STREETS: Revellers in red carnival costumes dance in the streets as part of the Warriors motorcade to the Hasley Crawford Stadium.

SEA OF RED: Hundreds of fans line Ariapita Avenue to show their support for the Soca Warriors and their achievements at the 2006 World Cup.

REACHING OUT: Stern John reaches to shake the hand of one of the hundreds of fans who turned out to show their support to the Warriors.

WELCOME HOME: Officials of bmobile were at Piarco International Airport on Thursday night to greet the Soca Warriors on their return to TT. From left to right are Lisa Agard VP Legal, Regulatory and Carrier Services, TSTT; Russell Latapy, Wayne Manderville Corporate Enterprise Team Leader, Captain Dwight Yorke and Joel Edwards VP Finance, TSTT.

Offline GyurlTrini

• My Myspace Profile
« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2006, 09:44:43 PM »

Will the team be allowed to use the Ato Boldon stadium free now and why that stadium which hold 10,000 compare to the Hasley Crawford at 25,000, makes no sense. De Ato Boldon stadium real nice and it off de highway for easy access, but it smaller than de HC Stadium. It good for training though as players based in south will have easy access and not like before when only North men coulda walk to practice and south, east and west sucking egg travelling miles for practice, now is even turf.

Lets hope Manning serious about 2010, time will tell.. I also hope he revamp the TTFF, we need to organise better, because if I know some people in the TTFF they will wait 2 weeks before we next world cup qualifiers to start training, they will also wait long to come with with plans to make money, when they could do that now so in 2 years they will have a good bit.

What about giving the team their own football buss to get to training and thing. A buss like they had in Germany.

Did Lincoln Phillips and Bertille St Clair get anything. What about men who was part of 2006 like Errol McFarlane (2- 2006 world cup goals), Andre Boucaud, Hector Sam, Rougier, Eve (1- 2006 world cup goal), Fitzpatrick, Rojas, Sealy... etc etc, did they get anything. I think Jack Warner did pay them off allready, but I eh to sure.. ?

Well, in answer 2 ur 1st question, units is like stock on d stock exchange. Basically iz shares in d Unit Trust Corporation / dat d Unit Trust Corporation handles 4 it's members.

2ndly, I imagine that the stadium was designated for that type of training. Like for example, the Hasely Crawford stadium is currently being redone for sprinters & they wouldn't be able to have that sort of training held there. Right now, because they were doing over the track at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, when we were there for the ceremony, both the track & the football field were in a mess & I personally don't know whether or not they plan to keep the football field there or just maybe keep a field there for other sports but not football, but I know that the main training center was going to be at the Ato Boldon stadium.
Luv Kat

Offline Birchalls_no1fan

« Reply #16 on: June 26, 2006, 12:15:16 PM »
CAN SUMONE PLEASE TELL ME WHAT THE MONEY THEY HAVE RECIEVED IS IN ENGLISH MONEY THANK YOU
THERES ONLY ONE CHRIS BIRCHALL

Offline UK_Soca_warrior

« Reply #17 on: June 26, 2006, 12:16:00 PM »
CAN SUMONE PLEASE TELL ME WHAT THE MONEY THEY HAVE RECIEVED IS IN ENGLISH MONEY THANK YOU

approx £100-110,000

Offline Birchalls_no1fan

« Reply #18 on: June 26, 2006, 12:19:05 PM »
AND WHAT ARE THE UTC UNITS  THEY RECIEVED  $750,000 WORTH

« Reply #19 on: June 26, 2006, 12:23:15 PM »
AND WHAT ARE THE UTC UNITS  THEY RECIEVED  $750,000 WORTH

Has Chris put out a restraining order on you yet?

Offline Birchalls_no1fan

« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2006, 12:25:06 PM »
no why ???  us vale fans just taking interest

« Reply #21 on: June 26, 2006, 12:36:29 PM »
*looking around for the rest of the port vale fans interested in his prize money*

Oh ok.....just asking

By any chance, have you ever boiled a rabbit in a pot before?

Offline Birchalls_no1fan

« Reply #22 on: June 26, 2006, 12:39:50 PM »
we just interested and proud of our player thats all

and no i havent im no bunny boiler

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #23 on: June 26, 2006, 12:42:31 PM »
this is the company thru which the money will be invested...

http://www.ttutc.com/default.html

this is without doubt the smartest thing the government could have done...........
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

Offline Birchalls_no1fan

« Reply #24 on: June 26, 2006, 12:44:29 PM »
we arent after his money

if one team deseves a bonus and reward its Trinidad and Tobago

Offline joadav

• Tortola BVI here I come!
« Reply #25 on: June 26, 2006, 01:23:48 PM »
I am very happy for the players and the Units were an excellent idea... My question is why were the technical staff not honoured..(the coach and the three assistant coaches were given gifts) but the Manager, the physio, the doctor, chef etc. were not even mentioned in passing, I hope the Government will rectify this in the near future.  This was my only disappointment and the fact that the audience had to acknowledge Spann.
*ht007

« Reply #26 on: June 26, 2006, 01:33:41 PM »
Can someone tell me what is ah Chaconia Gold Medal?? Ah happy for them fellas. if it was me ah will of gave them much more than that... because the country will reap much more in the future from what they've done on the worlds stage. What they get is better than nothing... look at your boy Spann!  Nathing!
The ball is like a magnet if you continue to knock itit will attract, and then you can attack.  Get it?

Offline ANC2

« Reply #27 on: June 26, 2006, 01:38:14 PM »
that is TT dollars or US

« Reply #28 on: June 26, 2006, 01:41:43 PM »
Boy is TT! ;D
The ball is like a magnet if you continue to knock itit will attract, and then you can attack.  Get it?

Offline ANC2

« Reply #29 on: June 26, 2006, 01:46:51 PM »
I askin because when Jack was asking he was asking for 30 + million US dollars for preparation