May 24, 2013, 02:58:10 AM

Author Topic: Losing your accent  (Read 13566 times)

Offline rastafari

Re: Your Trinidadian Accent
« Reply #150 on: August 19, 2008, 06:58:25 AM »
The same Trinidadian accent sounds like jamaican to a lot of people.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

« Reply #151 on: August 19, 2008, 07:40:57 AM »
talk talk talk talk talk talk

HUH!

t     a     l     KKKK                         t   a    l    KKKKK                                ttt    aaaa   llll     kkkkkk

u cud just talk with no accent if it have such a thing....

sinned  (one hard clout)........they will want to learn so phase out the freshwater and start learning the no accent.  In reality it go still have a twang on it but focussing on clarity and real important...reading their faces so u cud repeat or rephrase before they ask u to.  After a while u go figure out what they get and they too will learn what u saying once u paying attention.  U doh need to talk too slow either...that annoying.  Besides...what u go do for the irish...the british...the canadians....it have too much accents out there and i go be shocked if i hear dem irish switching....dat like blasphemy for the ones i know.

And u hadda use it to your advantage....when giving presentations people go be paying extra attention and if u can get the understanding across u good to go...once u eh presenting shyte   :rotfl:

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #152 on: August 19, 2008, 09:36:58 AM »

Yuh see?  is not only Trinis does do de code-switching an ting.

http://www.thestar.com/article/480965
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #153 on: August 19, 2008, 01:39:13 PM »

Well look at dat..Hinglish, Chinglish, Spanglish

we could name we own Trinicanuck or Ameratrini
Little known Fact:: Oh gaardoo ah reach 9200 posts
Ah movin like mih pardner west coast

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #154 on: August 19, 2008, 01:49:29 PM »

Well look at dat..Hinglish, Chinglish, Spanglish

we could name we own Trinicanuck or Ameratrini

I was tinkin maybe "Tringlish"?
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #155 on: August 19, 2008, 01:57:50 PM »
could work

but dais what we does talk home...well except if yuh from paramin side  :devil:

Look ah Trini makin some commentaries on a major yankee news network...he didnt feel the need to fresh water or code switch and the interviewer understood him just fine

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GtH4GGbMfvE
« Last Edit: August 20, 2008, 09:54:42 AM by Dutty »

« Reply #156 on: August 20, 2008, 01:12:25 PM »
You know who is the biggest code switcher...

Shaggy

That soldier does talk Jakan, Yankee and Cockney British depending who he conversing with.

Mr.Lover Lover yes...

Den that soldier on Tempo who own the network. I forget he name.

But I pull up Jahbami in Panorama this year self for that...I tell him that Jakan/Yankee accent he promoting, is TT you from, talk like one of we.

I still have issues with Bunji, KMC, Three Suns, Phrophet Benjamin, Marlon Asher, all dem local reggae artistes...them fellas in interview on tv and ting talking "Jamaican"

I ent know, I does just watch code switchers ahow...same way I does watch ManU supporters.

I find a accent is a thing that identifies you with a country...it is a thing you own.... I find when people using other people accent, it is akin to trying to be a national of somewhere else. For me it is a lack of identity.

Question...do Yankees/Foreigners try to imitate our accent?....even the ones who name expat and who living down here.

We have Bajan and Grenadian on out TV stations reading news in they same accent and ent changing nuttin for we.

All the foreigners I encountered from Calder Hart to the Tourists who serving drinks in bar doh try to imitate a Trini accent...why don't they code switch....Is it a Colonial thing and our accent to them "inferior"...or they jest cyar get it?

« Last Edit: August 20, 2008, 01:20:22 PM by Touches »

« Reply #157 on: August 20, 2008, 02:00:40 PM »
I remember it had some Yankee woman did write for de Express (me eh know if she still dey). She name Debbie something, I think. Her accent had a whole lot of Trini in it. I does see Americans all over de place with altered accents. Madonna accent have British in it. Brad Friedel accent have British in it, etc.

« Reply #158 on: August 20, 2008, 04:01:59 PM »
think yuh talking bout debbie jacob...someone correct me if i am wrong..I think she is an english teacher and writes for the guardian
London living...

« Reply #159 on: August 20, 2008, 05:16:15 PM »
think yuh talking bout debbie jacob...someone correct me if i am wrong..I think she is an english teacher and writes for the guardian

Yeah same woman

My experience is the longer dem foreigner live in Trini donkey years de more dey does adapt dey accent....I use to go to st. anthonys wit ah fellah who mudder was from switzerland...you should hear she trini hybrid..Lawd  :D

« Reply #160 on: August 20, 2008, 08:36:58 PM »

Shaggy

That soldier does talk Jakan, Yankee and Cockney British depending who he conversing with.

Mr.Lover Lover yes...

But I pull up Jahbami in Panorama this year self for that...I tell him that Jakan/Yankee accent he promoting, is TT you from, talk like one of we.

I still have issues with Bunji, KMC, Three Suns, Phrophet Benjamin, Marlon Asher, all dem local reggae artistes...them fellas in interview on tv and ting talking "Jamaican"

I ent know, I does just watch code switchers ahow...same way I does watch ManU supporters.

I find a accent is a thing that identifies you with a country...it is a thing you own.... I find when people using other people accent, it is akin to trying to be a national of somewhere else. For me it is a lack of identity.

Question...do Yankees/Foreigners try to imitate our accent?....even the ones who name expat and who living down here.

We have Bajan and Grenadian on out TV stations reading news in they same accent and ent changing nuttin for we.

All the foreigners I encountered from Calder Hart to the Tourists who serving drinks in bar doh try to imitate a Trini accent...why don't they code switch....Is it a Colonial thing and our accent to them "inferior"...or they jest cyar get it?

Have to disagree with yuh Touches.

The accents of foreigners in Trini do change. It is all about how long they there and who they interacting with. the changes might be subtle to you because it is still not an authentic or full Trini accent but another American will notice it.

Just as you would notice a Trini who has been abroad for a while but to a foreigner, that Trini (code-switcher) and you would sound the same.

As I say earlier there are people who actively pursue, and ape a foreign accent because "foreign thing better" and it makes them feel better. These are the people who will fight hard to let you know that they from foreign when they come home, whether it is by sporting brands, converting the price of everything aloud and talking loud loud with a foreign accent. But you can't lump everybody who twang change as lacking identity.

« Reply #161 on: August 20, 2008, 09:36:48 PM »

Shaggy

Mr.Lover Lover yes...

Spurious.

« Reply #162 on: August 26, 2008, 01:01:29 PM »

?

It's really not that big of a deal. 

It's like the color of your skin or your hair or eyes... Ain't nothing wrong with being proud of it, but it's really a superficial pride because you didn't choose it, or work hard to achieve it...and a sense of national identity goes waaaay beyond an accent.

• Goldove Entertainment
« Reply #163 on: August 18, 2011, 05:11:21 PM »
This one for the foreign based.

I know many of us here live in different parts of the world.

What do people think of your accent in your neck of the wood based on your personal expereinces, both in your corporate and social lives?

Is it a unique asset which brings intrigue and admiration?  Do you speak it proudly and use it to your advantage?

Is it frowned upon and cause you to be grouped into a negative West Indian stereotype? Do you mask it with a freshwater substitute dialect?

interested to hear your thoughts.

women love it  8)
Down with "The HERD" aka "The Sorority Row"

« Reply #164 on: August 19, 2011, 01:17:48 PM »
After 42 years in England people say to me "i can detect an accent but cant figure what it is",I say Trinidad and they in turn say "nah it dont sounds like Trini".I think its because I have quite a low tone like kicker,or most of my friends from youth were other WestIndians countries mainly Jamaicans.

Offline Ryan

« Reply #165 on: August 19, 2011, 02:35:55 PM »
After 42 years in England people say to me "i can detect an accent but cant figure what it is",I say Trinidad and they in turn say "nah it dont sounds like Trini".I think its because I have quite a low tone like kicker,or most of my friends from youth were other WestIndians countries mainly Jamaicans.

I here 10 years and does get a similar thing...funnily enough people always think my accent is from wherever they are from, doh matter whether its Wales or Middlesborough or Yorkshire....normally somewhere northern though, no idea why.

« Reply #166 on: August 20, 2011, 06:18:04 AM »

I here 10 years and does get a similar thing...funnily enough people always think my accent is from wherever they are from, doh matter whether its Wales or Middlesborough or Yorkshire....normally somewhere northern though, no idea why.
I was on a course about 20 years ago and a Welsh gyul thought ah was from Wales so ah know what yuh saying,I think I can speak how I want to speak,I cant say I have a Trini accent but its more a Caribbean accent the English one comes from the years I have lived here.

« Reply #167 on: August 20, 2011, 11:18:04 AM »
I've heard that most of the Brits who occupied Trinidad in the slavery/colonial days were actually not from England but from Wales...or accent (minus the dialect/slang) has been said to have a strong Welsh influence...

I heard Catherine Zeta Jones speak her local Welsh dialect on a talk show once and I could detect the similarities for sure...
« Last Edit: August 20, 2011, 11:21:34 AM by kicker »

• Monkey know which tree to climb! :-)
« Reply #168 on: August 22, 2011, 10:49:02 PM »
I've heard that most of the Brits who occupied Trinidad in the slavery/colonial days were actually not from England but from Wales...or accent (minus the dialect/slang) has been said to have a strong Welsh influence...

I heard Catherine Zeta Jones speak her local Welsh dialect on a talk show once and I could detect the similarities for sure...

That is true our accent is very close to the Welsh & for the very reason you pointed out, ie. mainly the Welsh as opposed to the English occuping Trinidad in slavery/colonial days!

« Reply #169 on: August 22, 2011, 10:57:44 PM »
I agree with Touches!

Re: how come it so easy to lose a trini accent?
« Reply #170 on: April 09, 2012, 05:28:17 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Wd70qEUCGc0" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Wd70qEUCGc0</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/-7--7g-ucZE" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/-7--7g-ucZE</a>

« Reply #171 on: April 09, 2012, 05:52:18 PM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/-7--7g-ucZE" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/-7--7g-ucZE</a>

That eh no "Trini trying to sound American" accent. That is ah Convent accent right dey.  :devil:

Bun it down and start all over!

« Reply #172 on: April 09, 2012, 07:53:29 PM »
d funny part of dat whole video is  he was/is  dat FAKE TRINI as well...and what about he REFINED attire and look...he definately aint dress like ah everyday TRINI..... ;D

« Reply #173 on: April 09, 2012, 10:10:03 PM »

That eh no "Trini trying to sound American" accent. That is ah Convent accent right dey.  :devil:

aye is cahnvent

« Reply #174 on: April 10, 2012, 03:55:31 AM »
Fer shure!!!!.......oh lawd Gabby you will forever be the poster girl for "fake Trini"     :rotfl:
"Buy a little rag and put it in yuh pocket,
Buy a little flag,
That's de way dey do it,
Find yuh self ah band and
Find ah good position,
When de music blast,
You'll find how to play mas!!!!...."

« Reply #175 on: April 10, 2012, 06:51:29 AM »
What wrong wid allyuh?? stueps! allyuh trying to tell ppl how to live their lives? if ah man come from trini yesterday and he wants to lose his accent, then who's fackin business is that??

i personally does only kick the trini lingo with ppl in my comfort zone, but once i leave the parameters of my apartment and i'm not hanging out with trinis that i know and is comfortable with, then i'm ah fackin well spoken american, fack dat trini accent until i get back home.

a lot of yuhs don't realize that yuh does get judge by the way yuh speak, especially amongst white folks here in foreign, and if yuh speak like yuh don't know the language, then yuh get treated like ah dunce, and trust meh, when yuh speak with ah think colloquial accent, those ppl will get the impression that yuh don't know the english language too well.

IMO, sticking with that thick trini accent through thick and thin is backward thinking, especially if yuh livin in a foreign land for decades and interacting with the natives of the land.

another thing allyuh don't get iz that the language that we speak is ah slave language! and yes it iz a language, it's called patios / broken english, so it's almost like a dialect!

the fackin slaves were uneducated and uncouth, and they were not allowed to speak in the same manner as their masters. same with ah ghetto yankee accent, anytime yuh come off speaking like that, when yuh in the mix with ppl who run the route, yuh does come off as real dunce and a backward buffoon.

now if allyuh speak in ah manner like the half chinese girl who won project runway, then fine, bc she had a good handle on the english language, but if yuh want tuh come off like sprangalang, speakin that donkey slave language with that thick betham estate accent, then be my guest!

not fackin me doh, i'll be speaking like the president.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2012, 06:59:51 AM by just cool »

« Reply #176 on: April 10, 2012, 07:09:48 AM »
d funny part of dat whole video is  he was/is  dat FAKE TRINI as well...and what about he REFINED attire and look...he definately aint dress like ah everyday TRINI..... ;D
So what yuh want him to wear in the ded of winter, ah three quarter pants and ah banlon vest.  trinis like him i tend to stay away from.

these are the kinda trinis who like tuh put flags on their rare view mirrors or don the red white and black custom license plates. they make it to every boat ride, and knows everyone's business, and often bring petty strife to yuh door step, especially if yuh have a trini woman that they know and want.

now if that's the price yuh have to pay for being a "good ole" trini, then they could keep it! i like being ah private fresh water yankee anyway.    thank you.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2012, 07:14:49 AM by just cool »

« Reply #177 on: April 10, 2012, 07:41:22 AM »
steups apart from makin sure u enunciate your Rs, speak slower and avoid mispronunciations, americans understand u just fine........have spoken to 'nough CSRs and tech support people in the last couple years to realize dat Trini does jus play d ass
heeeerrree's johnny!

« Reply #178 on: April 10, 2012, 08:35:35 AM »
steups apart from makin sure u enunciate your Rs, speak slower and avoid mispronunciations, americans understand u just fine........have spoken to 'nough CSRs and tech support people in the last couple years to realize dat Trini does jus play d ass
Breds, i find trinis does tote to much feelings fuh small ting oui, the ppl who want tuh talk yankee whether they are in foreign for a week or 70 yrs, it's still their prerogative.

IMO, that's like telling ah trini he cyar like ackee and salt fish just bc we doh eat it in trinidad, and i did have trinis who ask me why i was eating that. mind you, those are the same trinis who will go into a japanese restaurant tuh eat sushi, not that anything wrong with eating sushi, but they always finding fault with the way other ppl live while they themselves are guilty of other things.

IMO it's small mindedness when anyone could find enough time to focus on the way other ppl chose to conduct their lives, especially when the lives of others don't directly collide with theirs. as the saying goes "small mind discuss people".  truer words have never been spoken.   :)

« Reply #179 on: April 10, 2012, 10:23:57 AM »
Ah bet when a non-Trini living in Trini start to pick up the Trini accent all o' allyuh who complaining about "code switchers" does find it real cute though...

So iz not the principle (i.e. losing an accent) we concerned with - we just like how Trinis talk - plain and simple.