March 29, 2024, 03:00:02 AM

Author Topic: They may never....  (Read 8539 times)

Offline Pompey

Re: They may never....
« Reply #30 on: July 06, 2006, 08:15:49 AM »
45 minutes without a break is a long time for an american tv channel to go without an advert. If the TV channels don't like it, it will never take off because the commercialism isn.t there.

Every yank I know who lives over here loves football. They love the game, the atmosphere and the passion that goes with it (When was the last time a grid iron player looked like he was dead on his feet but still ran his arse off for his team., they only play 30 seconds at a time ffs), so it's not a case of the yanks not liking the game, it's more a case of the game just doesn't get the coverage it needs to make it as big as Basketball, Baseball, or that funny game where they wear helmets and shoulder pads.

« Reply #31 on: July 06, 2006, 08:27:21 AM »
Arrite Arrite.....Why we doh hush and stop fighting down people ? All the worship we claim to worship football in Trinidad we only just grace the world stage for the first time......

A stupid comical sports article and the common he say she say is not a sign of disrespect to the game. The unprofessional attitude that we've had to the sport for our entire existence is disrespectful to the game....

You want to talk about disrespect to the World's greatest game, take a look in the mirror and see the abundance of wasted talent that has emerged from our own soil, the unprofessional attitude, the  ignorance of what it takes to make it on the World Stage, and the disgraceful performances that we have tolerated and put up with for God knows how long, the idiot coaches that we have allowed to guide our team at the highest level, and the still glaring lack of infrastructure that we have in Trinidad with respect to the World's greatest game......

We say that the U.S. will never get "soccer"....we as far I'm concerned we eh get it yet either because they cuttin' our ass going and coming, and they have proven to have more of a clue of what it takes to compete at the highest level............

And doh get tie up with our "fans" either....outside of this board (and even inside of it to some extent)...plenty Trinis doh have a clue.

We could stay here and fight down people..... all we doing is just foolin' ourselves with ole talk.......

Thanks for article Ato, it was funny.

Well said kicker...but nobody want to hear that because ignorance and broad stupid generalizations about the US is the hobby of choice on this board.

Speak for yourself filho and enough with the generalizations,It's demeaning to say the least, kicker all respect still. I for one agree with the statement  our wasted talent,lack of professionalism has been disrespectful to the game in the past,but that's in the past,we're forging onwards to greater things and hopefully with gods good grace most of us will be around to see the changes for the better and not the worse............

« Reply #32 on: July 06, 2006, 08:30:47 AM »
What is most annoying about this is that these are sports writers and media reps. Americans mostly follow what the media wants them to follow and putting this info out there, although humorous at times leaves even more clueless Americans with a bitter taste about the beautiful game.

My nephew who is only 8 was born in the US and is developing into quite a little player, but when I ask him if he would play for Trinidad and Tobago he says no. He wants to play for USA (aaahhh) I have to bring him back from the DARKSIDE. The kids growing up now seem to be more interested in the game than their parents and maybe down the road or a generation from now America might finally get it.

« Reply #33 on: July 06, 2006, 08:43:16 AM »
Arrite Arrite.....Why we doh hush and stop fighting down people ? All the worship we claim to worship football in Trinidad we only just grace the world stage for the first time......

A stupid comical sports article and the common he say she say is not a sign of disrespect to the game. The unprofessional attitude that we've had to the sport for our entire existence is disrespectful to the game....

You want to talk about disrespect to the World's greatest game, take a look in the mirror and see the abundance of wasted talent that has emerged from our own soil, the unprofessional attitude, the  ignorance of what it takes to make it on the World Stage, and the disgraceful performances that we have tolerated and put up with for God knows how long, the idiot coaches that we have allowed to guide our team at the highest level, and the still glaring lack of infrastructure that we have in Trinidad with respect to the World's greatest game......

We say that the U.S. will never get "soccer"....we as far I'm concerned we eh get it yet either because they cuttin' our ass going and coming, and they have proven to have more of a clue of what it takes to compete at the highest level............

And doh get tie up with our "fans" either....outside of this board (and even inside of it to some extent)...plenty Trinis doh have a clue.

We could stay here and fight down people..... all we doing is just foolin' ourselves with ole talk.......

Thanks for article Ato, it was funny.

Well said kicker...but nobody want to hear that because ignorance and broad stupid generalizations about the US is the hobby of choice on this board.

Speak for yourself filho and enough with the generalizations,It's demeaning to say the least, kicker all respect still. I for one agree with the statement  our wasted talent,lack of professionalism has been disrespectful to the game in the past,but that's in the past,we're forging onwards to greater things and hopefully with gods good grace most of us will be around to see the changes for the better and not the worse............

Thanks Saga..that is my point exactly. I wrote a few responses on this thread and other threads trying to explain why these broad generalizations of US attitude to football make no sense. I doh think it made a note. Finally I say lemme just light a fire and post my response as an ignorant generalization of Tini attitudes to the issue to show it kinda offensive. I'm glad you find it demeaning..so do I

« Reply #34 on: July 06, 2006, 08:47:58 AM »
I think many of these guys see the writing on the walls, in a few years soccer will be a major sport here in the US given the changing demographics. They simply have this "circle the wagon" mind set(in this writer's case hidden under the guise of humor) that soccer is a foreign sport and that their homegrown ones need to be forever "protected". What could be more boring than baseball.

Times are a changing folks, wake up and smell the Colombian, Ethiopian,Brazilian, Jamaican, coffee. Soccer will soon have mass appeal, if it hasn't already, and probably take over as the major American sport.

« Reply #35 on: July 06, 2006, 08:51:35 AM »
I honestly believe it has something to do with the fact that they (USA) cannot dominate football. The USA have a mentality of domination in sport, but seldom show interest in sports that they struggle in. Just llok at the headlines and articles that were written in WC2002, when they were playing Germany to advance. Many really felt they had a good shot at it, they were on a roll and the media went nuts. Even the traditional nay sayers were writeing about how they don't watch the sport but they must admit the games have been great yada yada yada. It was basically the same with ice hockey, until the won the Gold medal, next thing you know Florida have an ice hockey team.

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #36 on: July 06, 2006, 09:29:50 AM »
Americans love winning, when the race to the moon was on between the U.S. and the Russians back in the 60's americans claimed first place, only to find out years later while watching a CBC documentary they really landed on a movie set in England where they were filming '2001 a space oddesy' an to this day the whole world believes they landed on the moon back then. In the race to get 20 million barrels of oil per day which is what america requires each morning just to get going, the president attacked Iraq after two jets flew into the WTC towers in NYC, canadians did an interview with persons who were at the scene that day and came up with the conclusion that it was an implosion that caused the towers to fall, an the question now is who pushed the button. What does this have to do with football, the US is doing a fantastic job in football so far and this is without the support of main steam america, should main stream america along with the president say we are winning the next world cup, it will happen, by any means necessary.......

« Reply #37 on: July 06, 2006, 09:42:46 AM »
Personally, my opinion is that the commercial aspect of the sport is what makes it unpopular as a mainstream sport in the US, and not so much not liking or understand the sport itself.

If you think of it, moreless the first sport american's push their children into from tender ages is 'soccer'. You always hear about the 'soccer moms' and the 'taking my kids to soccer practice'.

But the glitz and glamour and instant gratification nature of sports like basketball, hockey and american football just fit more in with the commercial culture.

In football you can't call a timeout. You can draw up a play to beat the buzzer. You can't call a trick play.

Until the media accepts it, its not going to be mainstream... And that will be never...

« Reply #38 on: July 06, 2006, 09:46:59 AM »
Americans love winning, when the race to the moon was on between the U.S. and the Russians back in the 60's americans claimed first place, only to find out years later while watching a CBC documentary they really landed on a movie set in England where they were filming '2001 a space oddesy' an to this day the whole world believes they landed on the moon back then. In the race to get 20 million barrels of oil per day which is what america requires each morning just to get going, the president attacked Iraq after two jets flew into the WTC towers in NYC, canadians did an interview with persons who were at the scene that day and came up with the conclusion that it was an implosion that caused the towers to fall, an the question now is who pushed the button. What does this have to do with football, the US is doing a fantastic job in football so far and this is without the support of main steam america, should main stream america along with the president say we are winning the next world cup, it will happen, by any means necessary.......

When we link up sunday ah go buy yuh ah beer and ah piece ah chicken for sneakin in two big conspairacy theories in ah football thread

« Reply #39 on: July 06, 2006, 10:05:35 AM »
I find Americans should stick to sports that they do well.... for example

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jTUIMEHv1x4&search=720%20dunk

« Reply #40 on: July 06, 2006, 10:14:35 AM »

When we link up sunday ah go buy yuh ah beer and ah piece ah chicken for sneakin in two big conspairacy theories in ah football thread

Hahhaah ENT! This was what a movie called Capricorn 1 was about ;D

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #41 on: July 06, 2006, 10:30:34 AM »
Dutty yuh know canadian have plaster for all kind ah yankee sore, but american minds on 'WAR cup' right now an Chavez just get 100,000 kalishnehkov rifles and Bush send down two war ship, they say the war games go start just now, ah hoping we soca warriors not in that tornament.

« Reply #42 on: July 06, 2006, 10:54:26 AM »

I thought yuh was gonna post a clip of Maurice Greene (joke  ;D....sorry it slipped)...

...that dunk was something else though....

« Reply #43 on: July 06, 2006, 11:11:55 AM »
the bottom line is that americans have no respect for de game of football.

the bottom line is generalization is not wise. many americans love, understand and follow football religiously. most do not...so what? the sport has a small loyal following....since when is it a mandate that football has to be the most popular sport in every country. dissing americans because football is not their favorite sport is illogical and smells of herd mentality. concern yourself with the level of education that the true fans in the US have and what they have to say. everyone else ain't no different from Brazilians, Argentines or Trinis that don't love football..they just doh matter in any football debate
true.....we shouldnt fight them down because they dont like it..but should w eallow dem to disrespect and belittle it because they dont fancy it. it seems if it isnt important to the usa..it shouldnt be important to any one else and they...try to make it seem less....than it is.  in the same breath though they obviously ignorant they try and fight down the sport. how childish is that.  fire for them as a commentator said ..u guys play soccer the rest of the world will play football.

Alyuh we must understand that the game of Soccer or as we say football was not that of a popular sport in the US as per say Brazil where they life and die football. So it would take time for fans or the people of the US to catch on to the game or back the sport as they do baseball or basketball. One the game get's more popular because right now it's only in the urban area's here in the US when it get down to the hood where the black folks are or minorities are and gets a hold of the game look out for the Lebron's and the Michael Jordan’s of soccer in the future! They know nothing of the game or it’s origin but has made it to the world cup a couple of time because the strong backing from the Minister of Sports or the love for sports. They produce top athletes...now add some football knowledge and some bothers from the hood… then they’ll be alright!!

« Reply #44 on: July 06, 2006, 11:14:36 AM »

I thought yuh was gonna post a clip of Maurice Greene (joke  ;D....sorry it slipped)...

...that dunk was something else though....
Yeah boy!! woi!!! dat was impressive as all hell

Ato dais college or high school hoops?

« Reply #45 on: July 06, 2006, 11:18:04 AM »
I honestly believe it has something to do with the fact that they (USA) cannot dominate football. The USA have a mentality of domination in sport, but seldom show interest in sports that they struggle in. Just llok at the headlines and articles that were written in WC2002, when they were playing Germany to advance. Many really felt they had a good shot at it, they were on a roll and the media went nuts. Even the traditional nay sayers were writeing about how they don't watch the sport but they must admit the games have been great yada yada yada. It was basically the same with ice hockey, until the won the Gold medal, next thing you know Florida have an ice hockey team.

::) They can't even dominate Baseball...ask Japan? Cannot dominate hockey...ask Canada
They cannot dominate basketball...ask Lithuania.   Football(of the American variety)...well nobody else plays it.
So what's left...Track and Field, calling Ato Boldon.  Swimming?  Howdie mate, Australia might say differently.

Too much American hype in their sports.

« Reply #46 on: July 06, 2006, 11:22:06 AM »
that dunk was dope doh ::) :o ;D :beermug:

« Reply #47 on: July 06, 2006, 12:23:59 PM »
Dutty yuh know canadian have plaster for all kind ah yankee sore, but american minds on 'WAR cup' right now an Chavez just get 100,000 kalishnehkov rifles and Bush send down two war ship, they say the war games go start just now, ah hoping we soca warriors not in that tornament.

We too close to venezuela not to get involve somehow,they go find ah way to use we..............

« Reply #48 on: July 06, 2006, 07:14:26 PM »
They are not going to dominate all of track, especially post BALCO....they will do well but Jamaica and other countries are right there...they will probably always do well in the sprints though.  They currently have the world champion at 100, 200 and 400 on the men's side and the 100, 200 world champion and 400m silver medalist on the women's side, so that gives a hint as to how well they are doing.

Yes that dunk is crazy.  It have men could do the jump but to actually spin that much and then put it in, well lets just say I sure he miss that 100 times before he perfected it...and to do it in a game....

It's from the AND1 streetball series u see on ESPN and ESPN 2 sometimes.  Set that tivo cuz is things on there u wish u could see in the NBA.

« Reply #49 on: July 06, 2006, 07:22:24 PM »
Overheard conversation on June 8th:

"Hey man are u following the world cup this year?" 

"Where is it this year? Nah not really."

"How come?"

"I dunno, ya know....are there any U.S. clubs in it this year?"  ??? ??? ???

Just give up.  I will say though, doh hate on their sports - you don't have to go there to prove your point....most people like myself who have spent a lot of time here will tell you that their "football" is extremely entertaining.  BASEBALL is a mess and boring as hell, but they could say that about cricket and they would have a point if you looked at it objectively.

Let's agree they will never "get" the beautful game, and I wish everyone would stop trying to make them.  It's ok....we have 4 billion others to watch.
man objectively..boring.....cricket's interest lies in its sophistication man.  this might be an extreme way to explain but look at the countries/ areas of the world( not withstanding the fact that they were british colonies which may be the overididng factor) that play cricket.  countires with intelligent ppl. lol and to further support my point there are many british african colonies which cricket isnt that popular. lol..not saying they not as smart as trini and india  :P. americans like things dumb down for them and they dont liek to think much. cricket invloves alot of thinking..alot.its a chess game. my pt is...cricket attracts smart and skilled ppl...i nto saying all smart ppl like cricket.. americans perfer to beef up on steriods ..look even in baseball..now i dont knwo and i not syaing they dont have it in say cricket...if they do its very limited though.  american football decent but its to start stop for a game thats supposed to me a contact sport.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #50 on: July 06, 2006, 08:33:28 PM »
Nah nah I eh know bout that....u ever see an NFL playbook....?  silly mid-on and fielding shifts ent have nuttin on that.

Offline Lightning

« Reply #51 on: July 07, 2006, 07:36:37 AM »
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

« Reply #52 on: July 07, 2006, 10:17:44 AM »
more support for your point

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/soccer/worldcup/2006-07-06-soccer-in-the-us_x.htm

whose point?

It reads like a pretty balanced article showing why some in the US love football and why it will grow and why many hate it or are not interested and why they think it will never reach a mainstream audience.

« Reply #53 on: July 07, 2006, 10:24:23 AM »

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/soccer/worldcup/2006-07-06-soccer-in-the-us_x.htm

whose point?

It reads like a pretty balanced article showing why some in the US love football and why it will grow and why many hate it or are not interested and why they think it will never reach a mainstream audience.

Hmm..I got a different read

I interpreted it as...the fever is primarily from americans who have their heritage rooted in a football crazy country
As they become more americanzed they see 'soccer' as boring (as in the exmple of the asian fellah who preferred to go to the park)

The author did say that there are two 'camps of thought'  thinking it will either explode in popularity or fizzle out

Seems to me the author is alluding to the fizzle (rejection of anything english etc)

Moreover, when the next world cup comes around, the time difference will once again affect ratings or viewership, save for the hardcore who are willing to get up early to watch

« Reply #54 on: July 07, 2006, 11:22:52 AM »

whose point?

Hmm..I got a different read

I interpreted it as...the fever is primarily from americans who have their heritage rooted in a football crazy country
As they become more americanzed they see 'soccer' as boring (as in the exmple of the asian fellah who preferred to go to the park)

The author did say that there are two 'camps of thought'  thinking it will either explode in popularity or fizzle out

Seems to me the author is alluding to the fizzle (rejection of anything english etc)

Moreover, when the next world cup comes around, the time difference will once again affect ratings or viewership, save for the hardcore who are willing to get up early to watch

I am not seeing how what you said is that different from what I said. The author's opinion aside, we are saying the same thing...two schools of thought. There are clear signs that it is growing in acceptance and viewership even if attitudes are slow to change among many