March 28, 2024, 08:04:36 AM

Author Topic: Marvin Phillip Thread  (Read 29721 times)

Offline jusbless

Marvin Phillip Thread
« on: July 20, 2006, 08:23:56 PM »
Forgive and Forget . I watched games in the PFL this season and he is the best keeper in the league . I gope he does not get black listed for past indecisions. TTFF does seem to discard players for instance Micheal Codrington after he got dispelled from the under 17 team he never even made it for trials for any otther national squads. It is time to put aside petty differnces and do what is best for Trinidad football.

« Last Edit: December 13, 2013, 05:28:26 PM by Flex »

Re: Marvin Phillips
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2006, 08:29:34 PM »
I think Carington is the player's name

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2006, 08:35:54 PM »
Forgive and Forget . I watched games in the PFL this season and he is the best keeper in the league . I gope he does not get black listed for past indecisions. TTFF does seem to discard players for instance Micheal Codrington after he got dispelled from the under 17 team he never even made it for trials for any otther national squads. It is time to put aside petty differnces and do what is best for Trinidad football.

Marvin Phillips had a great game against North East Stars. If he continues to have a good season I think he should get called up for the national squad.

« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2006, 08:44:19 PM »
this man is a boss, him and jan michael williams, he was also mentioned in the list i said of players that should have been on reserve..

« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2006, 08:47:24 PM »
Jan is more talented the Marvin... Marvin is a good guy with a rocky attitude... you seldomly see keepers givin so much trouble however if he gets another chance im sure he will impress.

For me the future keeper should be Jan.

Offline noname

« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2006, 10:34:49 PM »
Jan is more talented the Marvin... Marvin is a good guy with a rocky attitude... you seldomly see keepers givin so much trouble however if he gets another chance im sure he will impress.

Lemme give meh two cents...Marvin Phillip is a BOSS keeper..better than Jan in my opinion but yuh see bad mind...is a helluva a ting...In addition to training football, this youth needs to get his head in order cause I telling you from first hand experience, he not ready mentally at this point. Bad man attitude and football doh mix...

Offline Swima

« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2006, 06:33:45 AM »
The two sides of his character were depicted in the game this past week. He shows up late for the game, gets subbed in after 30 minutes and then pulls off save after save. In the dying minutes he makes two saves on the same play, the second more amazing than the first which was already of high quality.

Something must be done to inspire youths with this level of talent to be disciplined. Positive reinforcement, psych sessions on goal setting, as well as understanding that there are consequences for indiscretions are among a number of techniques that can be used at youth level, as well as the PFL level. Athletes need to be well-rounded throughout their careers. There must be a wholistic approach.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2006, 07:00:33 AM »
The two sides of his character were depicted in the game this past week. He shows up late for the game, gets subbed in after 30 minutes and then pulls off save after save. In the dying minutes he makes two saves on the same play, the second more amazing than the first which was already of high quality.

Something must be done to inspire youths with this level of talent to be disciplined. Positive reinforcement, psych sessions on goal setting, as well as understanding that there are consequences for indiscretions are among a number of techniques that can be used at youth level, as well as the PFL level. Athletes need to be well-rounded throughout their careers. There must be a wholistic approach.

lincoln phillips needs tuh sit down with marvin phillips and talk 2 him and tell him, son you have a bright future ahead of u if u start to cool yourself and become disciplined :beermug:

« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2006, 07:46:39 AM »
Horse I was in his secondary school when he first came out and he was star back then, but he has had a bad attitude since then.
He is by far the most talented keeper I have seen on the local youth circuit but he needs to settle down

« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2006, 09:02:03 AM »
That boy get spoiled and mollycoddled in high school.  They does build you up to be such a great thing when yuh playing Intercol.  Sometimes, if yuh ain't check yuhself, it hard to keep grounded.  That is over and he needs to grow up.  If I were the coach he was not even changing into uniform, much less playing.  The coach set a bad precedent by letting him play.  It also tells you his faith in the backup. ;)

« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2006, 09:17:00 AM »
What high school is responsible for that?

« Reply #11 on: July 21, 2006, 01:38:01 PM »

Lemme give meh two cents...Marvin Phillip is a BOSS keeper..better than Jan in my opinion but yuh see bad mind...is a helluva a ting...In addition to training football, this youth needs to get his head in order cause I telling you from first hand experience, he not ready mentally at this point. Bad man attitude and football doh mix...

nah dred... Jan is rel agile. the man could be a damn shoulin monk.

Offline Israel

« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2006, 01:57:57 PM »
Jefferz i wonder if yuh prefer Jan cuz he went St. Anthony's? but anyhow I think both are very talented. I know Jan personally and I know he is very focused and is a hard worker. I cannot say which one is better but talent could only carry you so far, determination and hard work separates the sheep from the goats.

If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

Offline noname

« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2006, 03:42:34 PM »
That boy get spoiled and mollycoddled in high school.  They does build you up to be such a great thing when yuh playing Intercol.  Sometimes, if yuh ain't check yuhself, it hard to keep grounded.  That is over and he needs to grow up.  If I were the coach he was not even changing into uniform, much less playing.  The coach set a bad precedent by letting him play.  It also tells you his faith in the backup. ;)

EXACTLY.....yuh reach late for the game....take in the games from the stands...

Marvin was always like that...long before he play intercol...but I will agree..when he played for Pres Sando, the head coach and staff treat him like a king...

When he went P'town, it got even worse.

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #14 on: July 21, 2006, 04:15:18 PM »
Jefferz i wonder if yuh prefer Jan cuz he went St. Anthony's? but anyhow I think both are very talented. I know Jan personally and I know he is very focused and is a hard worker. I cannot say which one is better but talent could only carry you so far, determination and hard work separates the sheep from the goats.

Dyez probably de case Israel...buh fuh me..ah believe in givin men (who deserve it) dey ratings...and as far as I concern...Jan eh better dan Marvin in no way..in terms ah on de field ah play..once Marvin get ah chance tuh represent he country and control he emotions...yuh go see way Jan go be!!
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #15 on: July 21, 2006, 08:07:22 PM »

Marvin was always like that...long before he play intercol...but I will agree..when he played for Pres Sando, the head coach and staff treat him like a king...

from talking to one of the coaches at Pres during that time the situation was Marvin was very difficult to deal with..they tried to work with him but it was impossible so they told him he had no place on the team so he went P Town..he was not treated like no king at Pres.

« Reply #16 on: July 21, 2006, 09:07:54 PM »

from talking to one of the coaches at Pres during that time the situation was Marvin was very difficult to deal with..they tried to work with him but it was impossible so they told him he had no place on the team so he went P Town..he was not treated like no king at Pres.
correct...marvin was in my class...he was no king...bro cuff up he tail a couple times and thing...he knew he didnt stand a chance to get back in form six..cuz he always gave problems...he is a cool fella but jus always had attitude problems....but hadda say always thought he is one of de bess keepers in trinidad...real hope he can break his way onto national side and hold down a spot

« Reply #17 on: July 21, 2006, 11:45:03 PM »

Dyez probably de case Israel...buh fuh me..ah believe in givin men (who deserve it) dey ratings...and as far as I concern...Jan eh better dan Marvin in no way..in terms ah on de field ah play..once Marvin get ah chance tuh represent he country and control he emotions...yuh go see way Jan go be!!

oh gord obviously however... on a serious note it a much surer bet... im sorry... it may be one dimentional but he is the harder worker and less of a trouble maker...

im sorry... im always gunna go with that as appose to taking a chance with a an attempted play boy.

« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2006, 06:17:21 AM »

Alright fellas.  I will come out and sya that P. towm spoiled him, cause if I didn't have self restraint, it would have been the same for me when I played there.  When yuh winning, yuh is ah king at P. Town.  But say what, other men like Noreiga and Logan, myself, Dereck Roberts and them pass through there, and managed to stay grounded, so why can't he. 

Offline ß!aCkÒuT

• Time To Play The Game
« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2006, 06:41:46 AM »
I think we are forgetting that these fellas are 21. They are both still very young. We don't know what's going happen to each players development. They are both very talented keepers in any case it is very positive for Trinidad and Tobago football. We'll see whose better in the long run and even then I think who ever the coach will be he will have a tough decision to make.
If love were a flame, it has ignited my soul...my one spark has created the magnificent fire of true passion

".The Poet."

Offline bajanscout

• bajanscout
« Reply #20 on: July 23, 2006, 05:25:39 PM »
i disagree there is a goalkeeper here in florida by the name of troy marquis he is far better than jan and marvin  his name has been buzzin around town 
bajanscout

Offline Benchwarmer

• Trini to the bone...Dutch till i die
« Reply #21 on: July 24, 2006, 01:55:31 PM »
As a keeper the problem might be that.. yuh doh see many oppotunities for yuhself..
cause i see both a them and they real good.. but Durance Williams come out only a few years before them....and then it have kevin graham too  and then Holder is what?? two years younger......

so a coach might say.... he good but, a man just as good doh have the bad attitude so we will go with Jan...

« Reply #22 on: July 25, 2006, 04:11:02 AM »
I think we are forgetting that these fellas are 21. They are both still very young. We don't know what's going happen to each players development. They are both very talented keepers in any case it is very positive for Trinidad and Tobago football. We'll see whose better in the long run and even then I think who ever the coach will be he will have a tough decision to make.
21 is no longer considered very young in football.
on raw ability phillips is d better keeper but as things stand phillip still seems to be a loose cannon. my vote will definitely go to jan.
i am still waiting on the playas from the 2001 U17 squad to stand outat  senior level.
a 2nd thing is this day and age when sport has been so commercialised and sports men idolised how much inspiration and motivation does a talented young sports man really need?

« Reply #23 on: July 25, 2006, 06:57:36 AM »
For a keeper 21 is still young. Unless you're a freak like Casillas.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2006, 07:03:51 AM by Jah Gol »

Re: Marvin Phillip
« Reply #24 on: December 12, 2013, 03:44:48 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/cVfwc2nKwoQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/cVfwc2nKwoQ</a>

« Reply #25 on: December 12, 2013, 07:51:18 PM »
Why did Phillip fall of the international radar?

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #26 on: December 13, 2013, 10:42:48 AM »
Marvin is the more consistent keeper. Jan is the more explosive one. Jan will get a save Marvin couldn't but in the same breath would botch a save Marvin would easily have.
It all depends what the coach thinks is more important...

« Reply #27 on: December 13, 2013, 11:52:51 AM »
Marvin is the more consistent keeper. Jan is the more explosive one. Jan will get a save Marvin couldn't but in the same breath would botch a save Marvin would easily have.
It all depends what the coach thinks is more important...

Having seen both of them, I don't agree. I feel Jan is more consistent and commands the box better. Marvin, is a good shot stopper and is good at penalties.

« Reply #28 on: December 13, 2013, 12:13:02 PM »
Nice video, some truly world class saves in that compilation...

Disagree with JRWriter on that analysis. In my opinion, Marvin is the best shot stopper we have and is capable of pulling off the most amazing saves. Even on some of the routine saves in the vid you can see just how good his reflexes are as he gets down very early once the shot gets off.

I think Jan Michael is better on crosses and commanding the PK area and may be a bigger presence as a keeper.

It's just good that for a long time, Trinidad and Tobago has not had a goalkeeper problem.. I feel confident with either of them in the posts.

« Reply #29 on: December 13, 2013, 12:14:24 PM »
Why did Phillip fall of the international radar?

He was injured for the first Jamaica game, so he could not be selected.