April 25, 2024, 11:15:07 AM

Author Topic: Crawford gets $380,000 for Olympic 100 gold.  (Read 3714 times)

Crawford gets $380,000 for Olympic 100 gold.
« on: July 26, 2006, 08:10:01 AM »
Crawford gets $380,000 for Olympic 100 gold.
By: Nicholas Clarke (Guardian).

T&T track legend Hasely Crawford was honoured on Monday night, thirty years to the day of his historic triumph in the 100 metres at the 1976 Olympic Games in Montreal, and collected $380,000.

The function, at the Clico Hospitality Suite at the Queen’s Park Oval, was attended by His Excellency, President Maxwell Richards, Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs, Roger Boynes and a number of Crawford’s team-mates from the 1976 Games.

The President commended Crawford’s dedication to achieving personal excellence, as well as overcoming foreign competitors all those years ago and its continuing and positive impact on the present world of local sport.

“Hasely’s vision, discipline and commitment to excelling paid off then and remain an inspiration to those who wish to follow his lead.

“He did not allow himself to be distracted and he surprised many who would have regarded themselves as better equipped to win.”

Richards referred to the national football team, whose achievements on the World Cup stage effectively propelled T&T’s international stature and reputation into the stratosphere.

“We are still savouring the euphoria of the Soca Warriors. They were champion ambassadors indeed and helped to enhance T&T’s place on the world map, not as mere dots in the ocean, but as a great people.

“In 1976, Hasely Crawford did that too, and since then the country’s sons and daughters have taken off from where Hasely left off.”

Following Richards’ speech, a special documentary, entitled ‘Remember 1976: A Tribute to Hasely Crawford’, featuring some heartfelt and amusing interviews and a replay of the 1976 100 metres final, was shown to the crowd’s delight.

Minister Boynes then presented Crawford with the uniform that he wore on the historic day 30 years ago, which had been framed in his honour, and a cheque for $380,000, donated by local business.

Warmly acknowledging the commemoration of his achievement, Crawford identified several of his team-mates who were present at the event, citing them as an integral part of his success.

He went on to relate several personal anecdotes on his days before becoming a champion, that emphasised the impact of the special “forces” inside him that eventually led him to win an Olympic gold medal.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2006, 10:24:16 AM by Flex »

Re: Crawford gets $380,000 for Olympic 100 gold
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2006, 08:17:50 AM »
Let this thread remain here as its football related! Ent the achievements of our Soca Warriors is mentioned?!  ;)

Re: Crawford gets $380,000 for Olympic 100 gold.
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2007, 11:13:38 AM »
wait!!
maybe some one trying to tell dem SocaWarriors that they go have to hang on for 30 years to get their money  :o :o
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2007, 11:20:39 AM »
talke about patience!!  :o
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2007, 03:47:29 PM »
When you add that to the big federation park house ..it eh bad at all ..or are we forgetting that ?

« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2007, 05:31:58 PM »
National shame the man wait that long.

« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2007, 05:56:28 PM »
When you add that to the big federation park house ..it eh bad at all ..or are we forgetting that ?
yeah, dun forget dat ;)
sorry
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2007, 08:49:05 PM »
after so long boy :o geez an ages

only in sweet TnT ::)