March 28, 2024, 01:38:34 PM

Author Topic: Why is it we do better in Cricket than Football !!  (Read 14863 times)

Why is it we do better in Cricket than Football !!
« on: August 30, 2006, 07:32:09 PM »
(Especially in the Carribean)Is it because of:

1. More people play cricket in TnT than football
2. More facilities for cricket development (cricket acedemy) than football
3. Better coaches in cricket than football
4. More success in cricket in TnT so there is an inclination by more kids to play the sports hence bigger pool of players
5. More money from sponsors
6. More sponsorship from gov't for cricket than football
7. Football is an expensive sport
8. Better development in school cricket league
9. The cricket clubs are better orgaized and managed than football
10. Better management of TnT cricket than the TTFF
11. People in other Carribean countries play more football than cricket
12. Does it have anything to do with race?
« Last Edit: August 30, 2006, 07:36:11 PM by trinbago »

Re: Why is it we do better in Cricket than Football !!
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2006, 07:34:17 PM »
where yuh get these "facts" from or are u jus expressing yuh own personal opinion?
cuz i definitely hadda disagree...playing cricket is plenty more expensive than football...bats, all de pads etc reaaaaal hurts yuh wallet...where as for football all yuh really need is a decent pair of boots....

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2006, 07:38:57 PM »
Expensive?
All yuh need for cricket is a cutlass and some pitch...

;)

« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2006, 07:57:07 PM »
Do we really do better in cricket than football? How did you arrive at that conclusion?

« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2006, 07:58:50 PM »
Man yah beat me to the punch,ah wanted to post this but men might say oh we talk about this ,this is relevant !!

« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2006, 08:04:10 PM »
Some people might say we do....I am throwing these thoughts out...

but we have been consistently been winning some cricket tournaments recently....and out history in the sport in the Caribbean is pretty decent as well if not the best...is it because of the cricket academies...???

some may even give you the arguement that it  is becausee of race...its a fact more indians play cricket...are they naturally better??

food for thought !

« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2006, 08:17:39 PM »
Some people might say we do....I am throwing these thoughts out...

but we have been consistently been winning some cricket tournaments recently....and out history in the sport in the Caribbean is pretty decent as well if not the best...is it because of the cricket academies...???

I don't see how you can say that. This year we won our first regional cricket title in 21 years whilst in football we have won the regional title 8 times out of 12.

« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2006, 08:21:13 PM »
  ;D Tallman u is ah dan ,but forget trini and race the west indies been producing world beaters ,class players whats the disconnect .?
« Last Edit: August 30, 2006, 08:24:39 PM by Compre Version 2:0 »

« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2006, 08:23:01 PM »

4. More success in cricket in TnT so there is an inclination by more kids to play the sports hence bigger pool of players
12. Does it have anything to do with race? [/b]

Judging from what I see in parks, streets and playing fields, football is more popular than cricket. The media coverage is also a good indicator that football is more popular than cricket.For the cricket lovers out there please don't crucify me its just my observation.

From what I've read cricket is the most popular sport in many Caribbean countries. Barbados, Guyana and a great portion of the Leewards play more cricket than football. Football is starting to grow in St. Vincent and St. Lucia (word of mouth information).

But to focus on your question, you can't compare the performance of the national teams in 2 sports. Fewer than 15 "countries" in world play cricket seriously. That can't compare to kind of competition in football. If you use regional competition as your yardstick you would find that our football team has dominated for years. So I don't think the cricket team performs better than the football team.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2006, 08:24:43 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2006, 08:35:08 PM »

For football all u need is a piece of grass...and a ball

« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2006, 08:46:20 PM »

1. wrong
2. wrong
3.wrong
4.wrong
5.maybe
6.wrong
7.wrong
8.wrong
9.wrong
10.maybe
11.wrong

score --- 0 out ah 11..with 2 maybe
« Last Edit: August 30, 2006, 08:48:17 PM by berris »

« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2006, 08:47:44 PM »

For football all u need is a piece of grass...and a ball

...Yuh eh even need de grass jes de ball  ;D

« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2006, 08:48:04 PM »
  ;D Tallman u is ah dan ,but forget trini and race the west indies been producing world beaters ,class players whats the disconnect .?

I limited it to T&T because it was the focus of the original question. If you expand it to the West Indies then the comparison becomes meaningless because:
1) The West Indies team is a combination of players from the different islands whereas in football the islands compete individually. It's not like you would see T&T playing Australia in a Test match.
2) As a team, the West Indies have been more or less sucking salt for the past 10+ years
3) In cricket there are only 10 full members of the ICC whereas in football there are 207 members of FIFA. As an individual, it's easier to stand out in "world" cricket because the pool is smaller.

« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2006, 08:55:14 PM »
ah think trinbago trying tuh say that a large majority of trinis of east indian decent play more cricket than football, which is comprised of half the population, this could be true,i had a post about this and it turned into a something else, too much people on this board too uncivilized and lack intelligence tuh understand these concepts.

« Reply #14 on: August 30, 2006, 08:55:36 PM »
OK.. good points I"ll come back with some questions  :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: August 30, 2006, 08:56:30 PM »
YEAH TALLMAN I WAS JUST GOING TO MENTION WHAT U DID in your point 3. i also need to add a bit more to it.
has our cricket team ever placed against england? no. our cricket team competes with other caribbean nations and rarely ever plays a serious games against international oppostion . so the comparison is an unfair 1 to make

« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2006, 09:00:47 PM »

You sure about this?  ;)

« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2006, 09:27:48 PM »
Do we really do better in cricket than football? How did you arrive at that conclusion?

For real ..........how u arrive at the conclusion?

« Reply #18 on: August 30, 2006, 10:00:19 PM »
Ok maybe ah should just make meh own post  :rotfl: ,hard luck trinbago but they go drag me down too

« Reply #19 on: August 30, 2006, 10:26:47 PM »
Well there are a couple reasons I asked this question and I did it in 2 parts:

1. I asked.... the question.....hoping to stir some comments about the topic
2. I put forward some claims that I have heard people made. these are NOT my claims, again to generate talking points for everyone to chime in on the topic.

More importantly, I brought it up because World Cup done, U16 tourney done for now, friendlies get cancelled ....and the best topic of the day was Skeene givin the shittyist interview  ::) I see on this board.....so with little else going on why not try to stir some thought..

Come on now...when is the last time we get Tallman so riled up he felt he had to respond 3-times... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #20 on: August 31, 2006, 12:44:11 AM »
where yuh get these "facts" from or are u jus expressing yuh own personal opinion?
cuz i definitely hadda disagree...playing cricket is plenty more expensive than football...bats, all de pads etc reaaaaal hurts yuh wallet...where as for football all yuh really need is a decent pair of boots....

I think he was just asking a question. not stating it as facts

« Reply #21 on: August 31, 2006, 03:20:22 AM »
We do not do better in cricket than football.

Firstly it is difficult to compare anything other than regional competition because TnT does not play cricket against countries outside the region. You can't look at players on the West Indies and extrapolate the international impact of our players because it is a mixed team. Add to the fact that there are maybe 20 countries that play cricket seriously whereas in football there ate 200 plus.

As far as regional competition goes however....

Teams like Barbados and Guyana will beat us regularly in cricket and not have a chance in football. I will take that as an indication that we do not do better in cricket.

« Reply #22 on: August 31, 2006, 05:38:10 AM »
ah think trinbago trying tuh say that a large majority of trinis of east indian decent play more cricket than football, which is comprised of half the population, this could be true,i had a post about this and it turned into a something else, too much people on this board too uncivilized and lack intelligence tuh understand these concepts.

TI boy sometimes I jus sit an wonder ?

« Reply #23 on: August 31, 2006, 07:33:31 AM »
I think the concept exists that we are better in Cricket than in ftbl,becz
our cricketers are given a chance to play against the best in the world and even if the team flops, there are individusal performances that stand out.

Only inthe last 15 years have our ftblers been given a chance to flex themselves in the foreign leagues - regularly. In addition you will note that when given the chance to face some upper echelon teams, such as Sweden and England, although not winning, we galvanised respect with certain individuals enhancing their stati, eg. Sancho and Edwards.

And in the old days TT and the other islands did play agains the visiting Test teams and sometimes we did quite well. I remember performances vs. England, 1981 and Aus. 1984, however in the mid 80s the WI stopped these games. Pity, becz TT had a wicked ass team from late 80s to the mid 90s.

Peace,
« Last Edit: August 31, 2006, 09:17:43 AM by vb »

« Reply #24 on: August 31, 2006, 12:34:36 PM »
Well there are a couple reasons I asked this question and I did it in 2 parts:

1. I asked.... the question.....hoping to stir some comments about the topic
2. I put forward some claims that I have heard people made. these are NOT my claims, again to generate talking points for everyone to chime in on the topic.

More importantly, I brought it up because World Cup done, U16 tourney done for now, friendlies get cancelled ....and the best topic of the day was Skeene givin the shittyist interview  ::) I see on this board.....so with little else going on why not try to stir some thought..

Come on now...when is the last time we get Tallman so riled up he felt he had to respond 3-times... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

stewps... riiiight.

Atleast it was nice to see Tallman flex his knowledge on de board.

:clown: oh gord i couldnt help it.

but getting back on track... really these are some lofty comments to through out.. and TI... stewps...

too uncivilized and lack intelligence tuh understand these concepts.

but i find that strange considerin you could say plenty vulgar ting too... and I think we can all grasp the same concepts you can... despite the fact you seem to believe you are an enlightened messiah of football philosophy we understand just as much as you do... we simply avoid these sketchy racial talks...everyone has an equal chance.

jefferz...What standard you 1 or 2??....or yuh still in ABC ketch ah crab!! :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #25 on: August 31, 2006, 02:42:49 PM »
Hey jeff doh study it Breathe ,touch your toe and let it go  :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 31, 2006, 02:46:07 PM by Compre Version 2:0 »

T&T Cricket is Miles Ahead of T&T Football Currently
« Reply #26 on: January 24, 2011, 12:10:57 PM »
Sadly to say, our cricket progression on the world stage is making leaps and bounds.

While our football is at one of the lowest stages ever in our history.

For example, T&T has the #1 20/20 cricketer in the world in Kieron Pollard.

While we boast talents like Darren Bravo, Llendl Simmons, Adrian Barath and still Dwayne Bravo. Who are young talents who are and will be amongst the top in the world and caribbean.

The TTCB despite its setbacks have the coaching & management team that have the team well oiled and are going once again to world club championship of cricket this year.

Yet our football and our national team for football cannot get off the ground and dominate the region like the  TT National cricket team. Despite football being better supported and funded.

The question remains, how long will the gap remain and yes we know what the shortfalls of the TTFF are, we cannot help but compare the 2 main sports in our nation and player development and talent.

I think the government needs to start backing T&T cricket and realize that our cricket is promoting our nation around the world and leaving a great impression, compared to our football currently.

I hope to see a positive change when our new coach steps in and our team is turned around for Brazil 2014.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2011, 12:12:50 PM by Controversial »

Re: T&T Cricket is Miles Ahead of T&T Football Currently
« Reply #27 on: January 24, 2011, 12:33:50 PM »
How so?  Can T&T compete with any otehr top National team in the world? 

Can we beat any top team in the longer version of the game?

One swallow does NOT a summer make 

[ps:   look it up.]

« Reply #28 on: January 24, 2011, 01:06:01 PM »
How so?  Can T&T compete with any otehr top National team in the world? 

Can we beat any top team in the longer version of the game?

One swallow does NOT a summer make 

[ps:   look it up.]

we lost by 1-2 runs last time TT played england, if we were to play now against them with a full team, TT would win in a 20/20 and challenge in a 50 over easily.

test matches we haven't been proven yet but we have the talent.

TT can beat teams like ireland, new zeland, bangladesh, i would even dare to say pakistan and even if we faced west indies  8) not to mention in limited overs we could challenge any team in the world

« Reply #29 on: January 24, 2011, 01:14:56 PM »
less countries is play cricket than football so is not really a one for one comparison...even when you talking bout the west indies side.

if only 20 lil entities playing yuh sport, yuh have a chance to be a big boy.

next ting u know we beat the Brazil cricket side.