March 28, 2024, 11:59:11 PM

Author Topic: Anton Corneal pleased with Under-16s.  (Read 6071 times)

Anton Corneal pleased with Under-16s.
« on: September 05, 2006, 07:09:19 AM »
Corneal pleased with Under-16s.
By: Joel Bailey (Newsday).

Anotn Corneal, coach of the Trinidad and Tobago Under-16 football team, is pleased with the squad's third-placed finish at the recent Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Youth Cup tournament.
Not bad, was how Corneal described the team's performance. We have to put things into perspective. The first round was not a difficult round, with Aruba, Grenada and Guyana, even (though) all those teams are getting closer to us, he said.
The day and age for just beating those teams like Grenada and Guyana are coming to an end. We might have had good results against them. But the two true matches were the Haiti game and the Barbados game, he said.
Haiti defeated Trinidad and Tobago 1-0 in the second round for a spot in the final while the hosts whipped Jamaica 2-0 for the bronze medal.
I thought, against Haiti, we showed signs for long periods that we can play with these teams, Corneal said. And, of course, the Jamaica game, we, actually, were all over Jamaica.
Jamaica could have been beaten 5-0, he added. We created a lot of goal-scoring opportunities. They weren't blunders from Jamaica, it was from our play.
It means that, somewhere along the line, things are sticking with our players just at the right time, he said.
Trinidad and Tobago, Haiti and Jamaica all progressed to the 2007 CONCACAF Under-17 Final Round, which is carded for April next year.
We are six-seven months (away) from our tournament which gives us time now to prepare, Corneal said. The preparations need to start right now.
Corneal, who also serves as the assistant to Soca Warriors coach Wim Rijsbergen, is adamant that the time between the Youth Cup and the CONCACAF qualifiers must be spent implementing a proper plan.
It's quite clear that we need to do a lot of strength work, strength endurance, technical speed, he said. We have to continue speed of play which, at the higher level, is a key for success and to be able to type of experience so we can have a little bit more maturity in our play which we see in spurts but we need to see in long periods of the game. We need the exposure, we need the experience for us to help complete the package, he added.
The former national midfielder was also of the view that the team needs a few overseas tours to give the players the more exposure.
The day and age for us to say we don't need to tour or we just need to go play two matches is gone, he said. You just speak to any one of those top teams, what they do to prepare for tournaments.
They're putting in their homework, he added. If we don't put in our homework, we would be behind.
The good thing we have is that it is in front of us so we have time to plan and put our plan in place and I think that will give us the best possible chance to qualify, he said.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2006, 01:09:40 PM by Flex »

Re: Anton Corneal pleased with Under-16s.
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2006, 07:53:27 AM »
The former national midfielder was also of the view that the team needs a few overseas tours to give the players the more exposure.
“The day and age for us to say we don’t need to tour or we just need to go play two matches is gone,” he said. “You just speak to any one of those top teams, what they do to prepare for tournaments.

Well i hope this is done

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2006, 07:57:31 AM »
I wonder what decision was made with respect to the secondary school's league.

I hope those U16s dont play in the SSFL and they stay together and do their strength work

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2006, 07:59:48 AM »
I wonder what decision was made with respect to the secondary school's league.

I hope those U16s dont play in the SSFL and they stay together and do their strength work

how would a month playing for there respective schools negate any improvement gained from the just concluded tournament ?

« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2006, 08:09:10 AM »

how would a month playing for there respective schools negate any improvement gained from the just concluded tournament ?

Well for one, they have to adjust to a different style of play with their school teams, some being played in different positions and fulfilling different roles which would affert their effectiveness with the national team.

This in itself may not be bad, but many SSFL coaches are not qualified and don't know what the hell they doing a lot of the time. In SSFL, starboys get to do whatever they want, including playing when not fully fit because coaches care more about winning than the student's career or welfare. This is not across the board, but it can happen very easily.

Secondly, the season runs through September and October, and games twice a week plus training is hard on youths and can lead to burn out, especially when dealing with personal issues outside of football as well. (exams, girl stress, parents) plus national team obligations.

Now...this is all normal and many have gone through it before, but if steps are put in place for an alternative schedule that have players at optimum fitness mentally and physically, then I am all for Corneal plan. But if is just to take them away and they idle while games going on...then is nonsense.

But it is hard to implement a programme for students if u have to cater it around school training, games and academic obligations. Is the children who wil suffer in the end, which is beneficial to nobody in the end.

« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2006, 08:21:56 AM »
excellent reply spidey, yuh save meh some typing!!

« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2006, 08:23:01 AM »
Corneal pleased with Under-16s.
By: Joel Bailey (Newsday).

“I thought, against Haiti, we showed signs for long periods that we can play with these teams,” Corneal said. “And, of course, the Jamaica game, we, actually, were all over Jamaica.
“Jamaica could have been beaten 5-0,” he added. “We created a lot of goal-scoring opportunities. They weren’t blunders from Jamaica, it was from our play.
“It means that, somewhere along the line, things are sticking with our players just at the right time,” he said.

« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2006, 08:30:14 AM »

Well for one, they have to adjust to a different style of play with their school teams, some being played in different positions and fulfilling different roles which would affert their effectiveness with the national team.

This in itself may not be bad, but many SSFL coaches are not qualified and don't know what the hell they doing a lot of the time. In SSFL, starboys get to do whatever they want, including playing when not fully fit because coaches care more about winning than the student's career or welfare. This is not across the board, but it can happen very easily.

Secondly, the season runs through September and October, and games twice a week plus training is hard on youths and can lead to burn out, especially when dealing with personal issues outside of football as well. (exams, girl stress, parents) plus national team obligations.

Now...this is all normal and many have gone through it before, but if steps are put in place for an alternative schedule that have players at optimum fitness mentally and physically, then I am all for Corneal plan. But if is just to take them away and they idle while games going on...then is nonsense.

But it is hard to implement a programme for students if u have to cater it around school training, games and academic obligations. Is the children who wil suffer in the end, which is beneficial to nobody in the end.

I hear what you saying spidey ... but that is the same SSFL that produce our entire national WC team minus Birchall.

If the SSFL  so bad restructure it with proper guidelines and modes of operations so that issuses such as u mentioned above do not exist. The coaches of the school should be held accountable to someone......even better bring the entire tournament under the joint control of the TTFF and the school Asssociation where all players National or school are under some mode of monitoring.

But to say the SSFL is crap and the national players sholdn't be allowed to compete is madness. The fact that Corneal now realise that these fellas need strength training is madness. Any coach worth an iota of salt would tell you ..some level of gym work is always required for any tournament ..... the level will vary from paer to player ...but in the world today....... is a must.

« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2006, 08:44:36 AM »
but cowen,

preparing for a SSFL competition and a world cup qualifying campaign requires two different levels of fitness training!! And i am in full agreement with spidey for the U16s to be given a seperate training regime to prepare them for the qualifiers.

You said many times before that the standard of play in the SSFL has dropped considerably over the years. So i think that them playing there is too much of a step down!! 

The SSFL does not deserve all the credit that you giving them with respect to the national team.

So u are willing to say that Signal Hill produced and nutured dwight yorke into one of the leading scorers in premier league history?

Or that St. Anthony's College developed Carlos Edwards into one of the most impressive wing players at the world cup?

You cant say that!

The SSFL is a stepping stone for all of our young players, but it is not a necessary one!!

« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2006, 08:52:41 AM »
but cowen,

preparing for a SSFL competition and a world cup qualifying campaign requires two different levels of fitness training!! And i am in full agreement with spidey for the U16s to be given a seperate training regime to prepare them for the qualifiers.

You said many times before that the standard of play in the SSFL has dropped considerably over the years. So i think that them playing there is too much of a step down!! 

The SSFL does not deserve all the credit that you giving them with respect to the national team.

So u are willing to say that Signal Hill produced and nutured dwight yorke into one of the leading scorers in premier league history?

Or that St. Anthony's College developed Carlos Edwards into one of the most impressive wing players at the world cup?

You cant say that!

The SSFL is a stepping stone for all of our young players, but it is not a necessary one!!

not necessary maybe ... but tel me this ....what is the U16 team going to be doing during the period of time the SSFL will be engaged.

« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2006, 09:22:52 AM »
And that is the big question....cause knowing Trinidad football and politics, they will end up doing nuttin, resulting in men fighting for a sweat on the weekend with some side which will be worse than playing in the SSFL.

Corneal better have his plan to back up his call for this

« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2006, 10:01:00 PM »
Ah hope all this talk from Corneal is not only talk !!

« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2006, 09:27:16 PM »
What these players up to now

« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2006, 10:43:20 AM »
Ask an easier question. When Anton was on Spalk some months ago he talked about some strength training. Last I heard from them