April 19, 2024, 12:00:32 PM

Author Topic: SSFL keep national stars for now.  (Read 3069 times)

SSFL keep national stars for now.
« on: September 07, 2006, 09:55:04 PM »
SSFL keep national stars for now.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

The Trinidad and Tobago 2006 Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) season kicked off yesterday evening at full strength as the proposed withdrawal of national youth players failed to materialise. National youth coach Anton Corneal suggested he might forbid his under-16 players from participating in this year's SSFL so as they "can have proper preparation (for next April's CONCACAF qualifying series) without being hindered".
National head coach Wim Rijsbergen supported Corneal's position, although SSFL general secretary Azaad Khan objected and warned that principals vowed not to allow interference in school activities.
However, Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) president Oliver Camps revealed that his organisation had taken no official stance on the situation and the national players were free to represent their respective schools.
The present calm might be tested, though, at a proposed meeting between the SSFL, T&TFF and national coaches at an undetermined date.
"No decision was ever taken not to let (the national under-16 players) play," Camps told the Express. "So there is no problem where that is concerned. We have appointed a committee to sit soon with the SSFL, the (national) coaches and TTFF representatives to look into the matter."
The national coaches are yet to directly communicate with the SSFL. Rijsbergen is out of the country, at present, and unavailable for comment, but Corneal attempted to defuse the situation by pointing out that he had not officially requested a player ban. The Fatima alumni said he would accept the decision of the T&TFF-appointed committee.
"We will see from there," said Corneal. "There is a committee in place and we will accept whatever they come up with. "The national under-16 team finished third at the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Youth Tournament behind Haiti and tournament winners and guests, Mexico. It is the first time that T&T progressed to the CONCACAF stage in this age group in seven years.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2006, 03:03:54 AM by Flex »

Re: SSFL keep national stars for now
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2006, 10:15:39 PM »
Is it just me or does anyone else think that the whole thing was blown out of proportion by the media ???

Re: SSFL keep national stars for now
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2006, 10:20:52 PM »
Is it just me or does anyone else think that the whole thing was blown out of proportion by the media ???

Maybe, but from watching the national team over the last few weeks I can say we have a good group, but it very clear that more work needs to be done to be competitive in the final round of qualifying next year.

I just hope that if they end up playing this full season of SSFL and Intercol that they get taken care of after and be properly prepared for the final round of qualifying next year.

In Anton we trust  ???

Re: SSFL keep national stars for now.
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2006, 09:52:58 AM »
Anton Corneal wants to ban players from de SSFL for what ? I mean, is not like we playing any warm up games or training on a regular basis. We go wait till 2 weeks before de tournament to start preparing like we always do with every team. De women team does get a raw deal and them does represent we very well and still improving once we get a more organise and technical coach.

Anton may have a good point, but he must first have a program in place then things will open up. And ah next thing to, one hand washes de other, he have to stop de big bad wolfe behaviour, wha he expect, for de SSFL to put they tail between they leg when he and Jack talk...  :devil:
« Last Edit: September 08, 2006, 09:58:52 AM by Flex »