April 19, 2024, 12:41:11 PM

Author Topic: Caribbean/BWIA Airlines Thread.  (Read 139802 times)

Re: ITS OFFICIAL: CA to become JA Exclusive National Carrier
« Reply #180 on: February 12, 2010, 01:57:09 PM »

Tourists look for the best prices when going on vacation first, frequent flier miles after and then whatever else is left.  Bottom line is Dominican Republic is number one tourist destination in the Caribbeana nd they DO NOT HAVE a national airline!

There no good reason for the state to be in this business.

« Reply #181 on: February 12, 2010, 02:31:38 PM »

Tourists look for the best prices when going on vacation first, frequent flier miles after and then whatever else is left.  Bottom line is Dominican Republic is number one tourist destination in the Caribbeana nd they DO NOT HAVE a national airline!

There no good reason for the state to be in this business.

My point exactly, however they had one, just too many crashes, drugs etc.  Not to mention it lost money..lol

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
Hard work is the key to success

« Reply #183 on: February 12, 2010, 06:45:03 PM »
From the beginning I have been a bit uncomfortable that any news we get on this thing has come from the JA press or gov't officials first...... ??? :-\

« Reply #184 on: February 12, 2010, 08:02:19 PM »
Nthing is official as yet...it is just a non-binding letter of intent..emphasis on non-binding.  we have until 31st March.

« Reply #185 on: February 12, 2010, 08:04:22 PM »
Nthing is official as yet...it is just a non-binding letter of intent..emphasis on non-binding.  we have until 31st March.

oh ok so maybe our leaders can say atleast two words PUBLICLY TO THE T&T MEDIA about this topic by then..we may have to wait until March 30th..

Re: Jamaica PM flies in for Air Jamaica /CAL talks
« Reply #186 on: February 14, 2010, 07:34:36 AM »
CAL-AirJamaica deal on hold.
By Vernon Khelawan (Newsday).

In the last few weeks there have been several assurances, both in Kingston and Port-of-Spain, that the debt-ridden, state-owned Air Jamaica would be either merged or sold to Trinidad and Tobago’s Caribbean Airlines. Now there is word that nothing would be made public until April 01 2010.

As a matter of fact there are reports that the Bruce Golding administration last week signed a non-binding letter of intent with Caribbean Airlines. Finance Minister Audley Shaw, while admitting negotiations were still going on, he would have nothing to say about the deal until he delivers his 2010/2011 Budget Speech now scheduled for April 01.

Hinting that his government was not about to look at any other proposals, the finance minister said the focus of his government right now was to negotiate with Trinidad and Tobago, notwithstanding that there was a proposal from the Jamaica Airline Pilots Association (JALPA) as well as another from an unnamed overseas investor.

He said the only way the Jamaican government would consider talking to JALPA was if talks with TT broke down.

Shaw said the pilots association had been sending correspondence to both himself and the prime minister, but he said their letter of interest had come too late in the day and as such could not be allowed to supersede the procurement process which had been clearly established.At one time the International Monetary Fund (IMF) which last Thursday approved a 27-month standby facility of (US)$1.27 billion to assist in the country’s economic reforms, was insistent that the Air Jamaica issue had to be settled before the facility would be considered.

That is no longer the case since (US)$640 million of that money has now become available to Jamaica although there has been no conclusive arrangement regarding the sale or merger of Air Jamaica.

Shaw disclosed that under the agreement being negotiated Caribbean Airlines would have an equity stake in Air Jamaica, but would not contribute any cash.

Air Jamaica last year lost (US)$90 million and is currently carrying a debt of (US)$900 million. The airline would need (US)$300 million to take care of severance benefits for about 900 staff, who will be laid off and aircraft that would be taken out of service.

Meanwhile it was revealed last week that Caribbean Airlines had made a (TT)$34 million profit in 2009, following losses totalling (TT)$117 million in 2007. This was disclosed when the Consolidated Financial Statements were laid in the Upper House last week Tuesday.

Ex-BWIA executives quarrel
By Vernon Khelawan (Newsday).

A WAR of words has erupted between a former vice-president of BWIA and a former Board member of the same airline.

Peter Hill, who served as a management executive for Customer Service and Operations, has challenged some of the statements made by William Lucie Smith in a recent newspaper column.

He stated that Lucie Smith, who was part of the BWIA Board when it was closed down, attempted to defend several things:

1) the government’s use of the Treasury to the tune of $2 billion to close BWIA;

2) the decision to sell (undersell?) the grandfather route rights on London and cause Trinbagonians and other Caribbean people to suffer as second class citizens to get back and forth to Europe and beyond;

3) the government’s fuel “hedge” which any third party professional investment analyst would admit is nothing more than a “Government subsidy”, since there is no financial consideration paid for the fuel hedge (which is what BWIA purchased and paid for in the open market for its fuel hedges when it was making profits in 1998-2001);

4) the on time performance of Caribbean Airlines; and

5) the supposed financial success of CAL.

Hill explained that the Trinidad and Tobago government spent (TT)$2 billion “to close one airline (BWIA) and then opened another (CAL) giving it (TT)$735 million in cash, provided a subsidy for any fuel costs in excess of (US)$50, railroaded the employees into “imposed” contracts, with the brilliant result that it is still losing money.”

Hill, who now lives in Ontario, Canada, forecast that the “supposed financial success of CAL, which when the audited accounts come out (if they ever do), will likely reveal the numbers to be net losses.”

However, according to the Consolidated Financial Statements (2009) laid in the Senate last week, Caribbean Airlines last year recorded a profit of (TT)$34 million a major change from its recorded loss in 2007 of $117 million. The profit thus reduced CAL’s accumulated deficit from $117 million in 2007 to $83 million.

On the other hand Hill pointed out that BWIA West Indies Airways produced three consecutive years of profit from 1998 through 2000 amounting to (TT)$88 million, even after absorbing interest costs of some (TT)$75.3 million on debt which was inherited from the previous Acker and Filiatreault management teams’ failures.

“In fact,” Hill continued, “until the 9/11 tragedy in 2001, which decimated the airline industry, BWIA had already racked up a (US)$9 million profit and was enroute to a fourth consecutive year of profit. The Iraq war and SARS which came soon after 9/11 were further financial blows which could have flattened any airline.”

He reminded Lucie-Smith that BWIA’s 1998 profit performance was the first in 62 years and added that in 2000 BWIA was financially damaged to the tune of (US)$5 million when the government gave Air Caribbean permission to fly to Miami with a proliferation of charter flights.

In that same year, according to Hill, BWIA trashed Air Jamaica’s open competition on the Port-of-Spain-Kingston route and despite these challenges was able to still make a profit without a single cent from the government.

Making a comparison, the former executive said if BWIA had a fuel subsidy to cover prices over (US)$50; cash in the bank of (US)$115 million instead of inherited debt of more than (US)$40 million and “imposed” labour contracts rather than contracts negotiated in good faith, “think of where BWEE could have been today.”

Making reference to the two A340 aircraft which operated the London route and which was claimed not to be financially viable, Hill explained that those aircraft were acquired to operate not only London, but New York and Toronto as well. However, they were compelled to be used only on the London service when the TT government lost its Category One status and Bwee was banned from flying this new aircraft type to the US or though its airspace.

He described the sale of the slots at Heathrow and both Airbus aircraft as “short-sighted” since TT has regained its Category One status and now there is no wide-body aircraft to service the US and Canadian routes.

While Hill commends CAL’s on time performance, he said most airlines can be on time if they are prepared to lose money to do so. “Flying from point A to point B, padding buffer minutes to the historical flight operating times, scheduling a long enough turnaround time at point B and returning directly to point A should always produce a great on time performance, but you can’t make money that way,” said Hill.

He stated that in a small market like the Caribbean there is need for a larger network of intermediate island stops and connecting flights to have enough passengers to generate the revenues required to make money and you must have high utilisation of the expensive aircraft. “The risk, he added, “is that delay of one flight could cause another delay and so on, which invariably will happen.”

« Reply #187 on: February 14, 2010, 04:13:32 PM »
Cast your vote in de Jakan papers over Air J vs Caribbean Airlines
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Air-J-protest-Sat-Feb-13-2010_7414198#poll

« Reply #188 on: February 14, 2010, 08:38:24 PM »
Dreamer,
               why should we vote on a JA survey. It will be misleading  Leh we hear the full details from the TT govt., then we should post our likes or dislikes on a different post.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2010, 08:47:31 PM by Deeks »

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 11:32:20 AM by jahkingdom »

« Reply #190 on: February 17, 2010, 12:06:46 AM »
If i was the TNT govt i would stay far away from dat deal!!! reason being, jet blue is ah very efficient airline and it would be extremely difficult to compete against them.

they have ah new fleet, their fares are extremely competitive and difficult to match! they have video capability in every single seat, it's like watching your own cable tv on ah plane, they are also one of the few airlines that have free meals on international flights. and i will go further to say, the day jet blue start flying to TNT caribbean airlines would be finished!!!

if i was manning, i would consult wid ah very good eccomonist on this move. jamaicans are a very disgruntled sort of ppl, and i seriously doubt they would fly CAL especially seeing the way their national carrier was taken over by ah bunch of trinis.

even this negative view was taken by the stinkin gleanor who always have less than complimentary things to say about TNT and it's industries in JA(remember that man head chick who wrote that moronic article " boombastic trini's" ).

i could see the jamaican media gassing up the JA public against supporting caribbean air. the only way i could possibly see this working out is if air jamaica retains it's name and caribbean air executives are left too addministrate and run the airlines behind closed doors.

« Reply #191 on: February 19, 2010, 10:29:49 AM »
Caribbean Airlines to be Jamaica's exclusive national carrier

Friday, February 19, 2010

THE Jamaican Government has agreed to ensure that Trinidadian company Caribbean Airlines (CA) is designated the exclusive national carrier of Jamaica under the air services agreements between itself and other territories.

This was stated in the non-binding letter of intent signed on January 22 by the Jamaican Government, Air Jamaica Ltd, Air Jamaica Holdings Ltd and Caribbean Airlines.

Caribbean Airlines will commence its Jamaican operations on or before July 1 upon the cessation of operations of Air Jamaica.

Under this agreement, the parties are committed to making best efforts to sign legally binding agreements by March 31.

In this regard, the GOJ and Air Jamaica will take all necessary steps to effect the cessation of operations of Air Jamaica on or before July 1, and as soon thereafter close Air Jamaica.

Caribbean Airlines will commence its Jamaican operations on or before July 1 upon the cessation of operations of Air Jamaica.

Effective as of the consummation of the closing, the Jamaican government has agreed that 'Caribbean Airlines shall be the exclusive national carrier of Jamaica and, in this regard, will not request designation of national carrier status for any other air carrier for as long as the Jamaican operations maintain a minimum level of service and meet certain other criteria, which in each case will be set forth in the definitive agreements'.

Prior to the cessation of operations, Air Jamaica will 'implement revenue management and communication measures as determined by Caribbean Airlines and reasonably acceptable to the Government of Jamaica in order to actively manage market share, enhance passenger loyalty to the national carrier, and help preserve the competitiveness of the launch of the Jamaican operations (of Caribbean Airlines)'.

For some time now Air Jamaica has flown to five destinations on 13 routes. The destinations being the United States, Canada, Cuba, The Bahamas and Curacao. Last year, the airline carried 1.1 million passengers on these routes. Those routes have now been reduced.

In Appendix I, attached to the letter of intent, Caribbean Airlines stated it would start up its Jamaican operations by adding a network of routes to its international network.

Caribbean Airlines will also operate a Kingston-Port of Spain-Georgetown (Guyana) route, one flight/seven days per week, but this route will not form part of the Jamaican operations.

In addition, Caribbean Airlines has indicated that possible intra-island flights between Kingston and Montego Bay are 'to be considered'.

For the initial Jamaican operations, it is estimated that the routes will be operated with 'five to seven aircraft with an estimated number of cockpit and crew, respectively, of 70 to 90 and 140 to 160'.

Caribbean Airlines will honour airline tickets bought on Air Jamaica on routes which will comprise the Jamaican operation and have not yet flown at the time of the closing of Air Jamaica. On or before the closing, 'the Government of Jamaica will pay to Caribbean Airlines an amount equal to 93 per cent of the passenger fare value of the Air Jamaica ticket fares.'

Offline nunu

« Reply #192 on: February 25, 2010, 03:48:54 PM »
listen up you , the jamaican people do not want Air Caribbean to take Air J
they are angry as you .

« Reply #193 on: February 25, 2010, 04:36:26 PM »
they are angry as you .
This isn't news.

« Reply #194 on: February 25, 2010, 04:37:07 PM »
they are angry as you .
When big educated ppl meet tuh discuss business, they don't take petty squables into consideration, they look @ projections and feasible income. when i look @ this move, it's not about TNT vs JA, i see it as ah bad move economically for who ever assumes responsibility of this airline.

air jamaica will not survive, whether the govt of TNT bail them out or abandon the deal. JA needs this bail out more than TNT needs the routes, BC the airline is in ah tail spin with debts up the wazoo and losing credability! there is simply no other way, state ownership of these kind of industries seldom workout and normally lead to this end.

as for the jamaican ppl, they have no say in the matter! this is purely business and nothing personal.

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #195 on: February 25, 2010, 06:42:38 PM »
they are angry as you .
When big educated ppl meet tuh discuss business, they don't take petty squables into consideration, they look @ projections and feasible income. when i look @ this move, it's not about TNT vs JA, i see it as ah bad move economically for who ever assumes responsibility of this airline.

air jamaica will not survive, whether the govt of TNT bail them out or abandon the deal. JA needs this bail out more than TNT needs the routes, BC the airline is in ah tail spin with debts up the wazoo and losing credability! there is simply no other way, state ownership of these kind of industries seldom workout and normally lead to this end.

as for the jamaican ppl, they have no say in the matter! this is purely business and nothing personal.

T&T will not be taking over Air Jamaica. Air Jamaica will be closed, Caribbean Air line will fly on its routs. and who say Jamaica people have no say?, who do you think take the airline mostly the business people with private jets?, or the Jamaica diaspora witch is the largest travelers in the English Caribbean?.

« Reply #196 on: February 25, 2010, 08:01:02 PM »
they are angry as you .

T&T will not be taking over Air Jamaica. Air Jamaica will be closed, Caribbean Air line will fly on its routs. and who say Jamaica people have no say?, who do you think take the airline mostly the business people with private jets?, or the Jamaica diaspora witch is the largest travelers in the English Caribbean?.

bredder, yuh must learn tuh read before jumpin the gun eh. i did state that "JA needs this bail out more than TNT(CAL) needs it's ROUTES". contrary to what you think, i'm fully aware of the deal @ hand, and i still maintain that jamaicans have no say in the matter, the govt will do what's best for the airline regardless of what the ppl say.

as for the business @ hand, i couldn't care less if jamaicans accept or refuse tuh fly CAL just BC it belongs tuh TNT, BC @ the end of the day i eh getting ah single penny from it and neither are you! so who the fack cares!!!

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #197 on: February 25, 2010, 08:23:02 PM »
they are angry as you .

bredder, yuh must learn tuh read before jumpin the gun eh. i did state that "JA needs this bail out more than TNT(CAL) needs it's ROUTES". contrary to what you think, i'm fully aware of the deal @ hand, and i still maintain that jamaicans have no say in the matter, the govt will do what's best for the airline regardless of what the ppl say.

as for the business @ hand, i couldn't care less if jamaicans accept or refuse tuh fly CAL just BC it belongs tuh TNT, BC @ the end of the day i eh getting ah single penny from it and neither are you! so who the fack cares!!!

i do don't bombora****skl***t care neither, but explain to me the bail out, will T&T pay the dept?, NO.

« Reply #198 on: February 25, 2010, 09:13:04 PM »
they are angry as you .

i do don't bombora****skl***t care neither, but explain to me the bail out, will T&T pay the dept?, NO.
Breds , i have no stake in the deal whether on the TNT or JA end, so why should i care. i livin in foreign and katching meh nenen as it is tuh get by, so if JA get their debt paid off or they get shanked on the deal, who CARES !

and if you don't care like you said you don't , then why bother ask " will TNT pay the debt"? i promise you wont see ah cent of it anyway, so why bother.

« Reply #200 on: March 04, 2010, 11:27:42 AM »

« Reply #201 on: March 04, 2010, 12:03:31 PM »
CAL should stay far away from this deal. The Jamaican people don't want us. So why bother trying to help.

« Reply #202 on: March 04, 2010, 01:44:00 PM »
If CAL profits from the deal then it's a good deal. Everything else is sentimentalism and secondary.
Jamaica doesn't have a shortage of airlines willing to fly.

Airlines flying from United States to Jamaica:

Delta
Continental Airlines
United
American Airlines
jetBlue
Sun Country Airlines
US Airways
Air Jamaica
airTran Airways
Spirit Airlines

Other airlines flying to Jamaica:

Air Canada
Skyservice
flythomascook.com charter flights
Copa
Air Berlin
Livingston
Cayman Airways
Virgin Atlantic
Cubana
WestJet
Caribbean Airlines
ArkeFly
British Airways
JetairFly
TUIfly

« Reply #203 on: March 04, 2010, 03:16:33 PM »
If CAL profits from the deal then it's a good deal. Everything else is sentimentalism and secondary.
Jamaica doesn't have a shortage of airlines willing to fly.

Airlines flying from United States to Jamaica:

Delta
Continental Airlines
United
American Airlines
jetBlue
Sun Country Airlines
US Airways
Air Jamaica
airTran Airways
Spirit Airlines

Other airlines flying to Jamaica:

Air Canada
Skyservice
flythomascook.com charter flights
Copa
Air Berlin
Livingston
Cayman Airways
Virgin Atlantic
Cubana
WestJet
Caribbean Airlines
ArkeFly
British Airways
JetairFly
TUIfly

That's my point. Most said that they would rather fly with another airline rather the fly with CAL. So why bother? We will just loose in the end.

« Reply #204 on: March 04, 2010, 03:33:02 PM »
CAL should stay far away from this deal. The Jamaican people don't want us. So why bother trying to help.
And therein lies the problem! i hope they are not depending on the jamaican public tuh patronize this airline , BC by the looks of it, they wont be supportive of this venture.

i read the unsavory comments below the article , and to my suprise, most of them were so superficial without any knowledge of fiscal responsibility, that it was just mind boggling. airlines normally flop that are state owned, while the most successful airline are private enterprises.

and yet again , the national squabling was @ the forefront, i always knew over the yrs that most jamaicans are totally jealous of trinidad's success, and reading this article only solidify this notion. imagine, they would rather fly an american carrier than support another caribbean nation, how scary.

if i was CAL, i would back off this deal, and let the airline fall into bankruptcy. we definitely don't need this problem.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2010, 06:34:32 PM by just cool »

« Reply #205 on: March 04, 2010, 04:13:15 PM »
After looking at how some of the other entities are run locally by the gov't, I say backoff that deal. This administraation needs to run our house properly before going to clean someone else's. I ain't bothering with the JA responses. Let Air Jamaica go chapter 11.

« Reply #206 on: March 04, 2010, 05:08:12 PM »
After looking at how some of the other entities are run locally by the gov't, I say backoff that deal. This administraation needs to run our house properly before going to clean someone else's. I ain't bothering with the JA responses. Let Air Jamaica go chapter 11.
I think ah big part of the disgruntled responses was due to the fact that the pilots and staff together with prominent jamaican businessmen wanted tuh purchase the airline but the govt declined tuh sell them.

now this makes me wonder,could it be possible that the JA govt knew for a fact that the airline would crumble no matter who took it over, and they were saving their ppl from the financial back lash.

maybe it was said " let the trinis go down wid the airline and save uno money for ah better business venture". wont put it pass them, we all know they could be that facked up.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2010, 05:25:25 PM by just cool »

« Reply #207 on: March 04, 2010, 05:51:06 PM »
And therein lies the problem! i hope they are not depending on the jamaican public tuh patronize this airline , BC by the looks of it, they wont be supportive of this venture.

i read the unsavory comments below the article , and to my suprise, most of them were so superficial without any knowledge of fiscal responsibility, that it was just mind boggling. airlines normally flop that are state owned, most successful airline are private enterprises.

and yet again , the national squabling was @ the forefront, i always knew over the yrs that most jamaican are totally jealous of trinidad's success, but reading this article only solidify this notion. imagine, they would rather fly an american carrier than support another caribbean nation, how scary.

if i was CAL, i would back off this deal, and let the airline fall into bankruptcy. we definitely don't need this problem.

Good post. I agree 100%.

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #208 on: March 04, 2010, 08:43:10 PM »

i read the unsavory comments below the article , and to my suprise, most of them were so superficial without any knowledge of fiscal responsibility, that it was just mind boggling. airlines normally flop that are state owned, while the most successful airline are private enterprises.

and yet again , the national squabling was @ the forefront, i always knew over the yrs that most jamaicans are totally jealous of trinidad's success, and reading this article only solidify this notion. imagine, they would rather fly an american carrier than support another caribbean nation, how scary.

stop get carried away. no one in Jamaica jealous of any thing that Trinidad have, Trinidad name would not be mention if Trinidad were not trying to buy something in Jamaica. in a Jamaican community either in Jamaica, England, Canada or U.S.A you don't hear people talk about Trinidad unless it is something like this. Jamaica has allot of companies both private and public. the problem is the government run the country in dept.

« Reply #209 on: March 05, 2010, 12:48:41 AM »

stop get carried away. no one in Jamaica jealous of any thing that Trinidad have, Trinidad name would not be mention if Trinidad were not trying to buy something in Jamaica. in a Jamaican community either in Jamaica, England, Canada or U.S.A you don't hear people talk about Trinidad unless it is something like this. Jamaica has allot of companies both private and public. the problem is the government run the country in dept.

boss, its not dept, its debt. its gettin on my nerves lol

Imbert: CAL to take over Air Jamaica’s profitable routes
http://guardian.co.tt/business/business/2010/03/05/imbert-cal-take-over-air-jamaica-s-profitable-routes

There will be no merger or acquisition of Air Jamaica by Caribbean Airlines Ltd (CAL), says Works Minister Colm Imbert.

The financially-strapped Air Jamaica will be shut down and CAL will take over its profitable routes to ensure Jamaica maintains its tourism lifeline with its major markets in North America and Europe, Imbert said. Speaking at the yesterday’s weekly post-Cabinet meeting at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s, Imbert said Government will not take over any of Air Jamaica’s debts and that CAL will not acquire or merge with Air Jamaica. Quoting from a memo written by Bruce Nobles, president and chief executive officer of Air Jamaica, which stated that Air Jamaica will be closing down on April 12, Imbert said all of its employees will be made redundant on that day. He said CAL has been contracted to take up the slack to service Air Jamaica’s routes.

“The tourism industry is the lifeblood of the Jamaican economy, so even though they may be having problems with their airline, they still need to have access to these markets. “We have been involved in the process as they are unwilling to relinquish this control to airlines outside of the region as they may not have the kind of commitment to regional development and the growth of the tourism sector that Caribbean Airlines will have. Profitable routes. “We will be focusing on the profitable routes because our stipulation is that there should be a business emphasis on the deal, so the unprofitable routes will be dropped as neither the Jamaican or T&T Government is able to put more money into airlift. “We are now negotiating the acquisition of the route rights from Air Jamaica. These routes have value and it would cost a lot in marketing, business development, time and other issues if we were to develop them ourselves.

“In addition, the government of Jamaica also has a vision about what they want to achieve and where the emphasis will be placed with the new arrangement. Imbert said acquiring these routes, infrastructure and codes can save T&T a lot of time and money and ensure many jobs at Air Jamaica are saved because CAL will need the support on the ground. From April 12, Air Jamaica will cease to exist and Caribbean Airlines will take over these routes and will provide the airlift that they need to keep their economy going. “It will be a blow to close Air Jamaica down and not replace the airlift and ensure continuity and air transport for their tourism industry. “We are also aware that Air Jamaica has industrial relations issues pertaining to the closing of the airline and the Jamaican government is working on those issues and, hopefully, they will be resolved by the closure date as well,” Imbert said.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2010, 12:51:14 AM by Ryan »