April 29, 2024, 05:36:56 AM

Author Topic: We are playing Nicaragua on Oct. 7th, not El Salvador!  (Read 4911 times)

We are playing Nicaragua on Oct. 7th, not El Salvador!
« on: September 21, 2006, 05:35:40 PM »
Soca Warriors in live action at home.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Local fans will finally get a chance to see their “Soca Warriors” in action in the flesh since their appearance at the 2006 World Cup as the national team play hosts to two friendly internationals against Nicaragua and Panama at the Hasely Crawford Stadium next month.
This was confirmed by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation as it held its first planning committee meeting for the events on Thursday. Both games will be played at the Hasely Crawford Stadium with Nicaragua playing on the 7th and Panama on the 11th.
Originally there had been intentions of matches either against El Salvador or Canada but the Central American duo were the confirmed oppositions and will provide head coach Wim Rijsbergen with an ideal chance to work on building his team towards the 2007 Gold Cup and 2010 World Cup qualifiers.
Rijsbergen has already indicated that his team for the two friendlies will comprise a balance of the overseas pros as well as locally-based professionals. Both games will also be the last set for the senior team on home soil for 2006.
“This is all part of building the team for the future competitions,” Rijsbergen told TTFF Media this week. “We have seen what it is to play against the bigger teams and we have to develop the local players. But part of that process involves using the knowledge and the experience of the players we have in the foreign leagues with the players we will select from the local League. We will use these two games to work towards that because we have the Gold Cup next year and all this is part of getting the right team for the next World Cup,” Rijsbergen added.
Meantime, one player who will miss out of the two games is midfielder Silvio Spann. The former Perugia player is currently in England under rehab as he attempts to get back to full fitness following the hamstring injury which forced him out of the Germany World Cup.
Spann had been in training with Cardiff City but is not officially attached to a club due to not being one hundred percent fit. However, being a free agent, he does not have to wait until the new transfer window opens in January to sign a new deal.
“At the moment I’m focusing really hard on getting back fully fit,” Spann told TTFF Media, “I have been working out in England and trying to ensure that everything is fine with the injury. It’s not as bad as before but I’m still not back to full strength so I’m making sure that everything is done before I play again. There were a couple teams showing interest but obviously the injury held things back. I am aiming to negotiate something that will keep me as a player here,” he added.
In related news, one player Rijsbergen is sure to have his eyes on is Scottish based striker Jason Scotland who led First Division side St Johnstone to a convincing 3-0 win over Premier League team Dundee United on Tuesday. Scotland netted the first goal against his ex-team in the CIS Insurance Cup fixture.
Manager Owen Coyle later praised him and strike partner Steve Milne saying “We have a very good partnership up front and they showed their class. I was thrilled with the performance. We showed energy and enthusiasm right from the first minute and carried that throughout the game. When Jason scored, it put us on the front foot.” Scotland is currently the club’s topscorer with eight goals. He has three in the League behind leading marksman Colin McMenamin (six).
« Last Edit: September 21, 2006, 07:45:10 PM by Flex »

Re: We are playing Nicaragua on Oct. 7th, not El Salvador!
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2006, 05:38:59 PM »
Oh my this it getting more & more silly all the time, TNT are gonna end up playing America Samoa by next week.

« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2006, 05:41:59 PM »
A wise man once said, "De TTFF does play more games dan de players."

Steups!

« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2006, 05:43:01 PM »

Steups!

totally agree with that yes....steeupse...why we one day jus cant make proper announcements..instead the ttff always saying things and cant back it up

« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2006, 05:45:39 PM »
Are we playing musical football chairs or something?  ???..ah even notice the strength of we opponent is kinda dwindling...

« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2006, 05:50:40 PM »

Steups!

fire i agree wit yuh bredda, but maybe JW know something we dont know  ??? like who we will be playing in future tournaments, maybe it is also to groom the locals for the future, play lesser opponents to get them into stride and not lose footing in the fifa rankings ??? juss maybe, or juss its the ttff up to the same ting again...

« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2006, 05:53:52 PM »
quick allyuh gimme nicragua fifa rankin!!!!

hope fully the rankin in alphabeticla order and n higher than t

me and morvant go still be most present though no scene

« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2006, 05:55:13 PM »
way boy...  first canada..den el salvador.. now we playing the chewing gum country.....    at least we playing... buh i really wudnt be surprised if we end up playing fllikin tobago on the 7th lol

« Reply #8 on: September 21, 2006, 06:04:47 PM »
way boy...  first canada..den el salvador.. now we playing the chewing gum country.....    at least we playing... buh i really wudnt be surprised if we end up playing fllikin tobago on the 7th lol

« Reply #9 on: September 21, 2006, 06:26:54 PM »
Are we playing musical football chairs or something?  ???..ah even notice the strength of we opponent is kinda dwindling...

I find so too

anyway, different team same cutarse we sharing

« Reply #10 on: September 21, 2006, 06:37:55 PM »

I find so too

anyway, different team same cutarse we sharing

i juss want to see de fellahs play breds, right now i real thirst for some national football, epl and dem other leagues not doin it for me, only pro league have my interest right now...

« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2006, 06:47:00 PM »
stewps...

what a setta shit...

are West Indies scheduling to play Ireland and Afhganistan after the World Cup?

« Reply #12 on: September 21, 2006, 06:48:40 PM »
stewps...

what a setta shit...

are West Indies scheduling to play Ireland and Afhganistan after the World Cup?

believe it or not jefferz, ireland have beaten us b4 in cricket  :o check the records, its surprising, but panama have improved over the years and will be a good test, last time we met we only beat dem
1-0

« Reply #13 on: September 21, 2006, 06:55:25 PM »
whim eh need to bring back the pros to play  Nicaragua they cyar even beat st vincent

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #14 on: September 21, 2006, 07:14:47 PM »
If we lose to Nicaragua that will be real shameful :rotfl:

Offline DrHerbalist

« Reply #15 on: September 21, 2006, 08:16:24 PM »
i think the person or persons who  is arranging these games ,,, should be whip

« Reply #16 on: September 21, 2006, 08:42:31 PM »
whim eh need to bring back the pros to play  Nicaragua they cyar even beat st vincent

*sigh* That should tell you a lot about our local professional league.

« Reply #17 on: September 21, 2006, 08:53:31 PM »
well we need to build up on our youth squad right fellas? bring on a u-10 team nah man  ;D

« Reply #18 on: September 21, 2006, 08:58:03 PM »
Soca Warriors in live action at home.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Meantime, one player who will miss out of the two games is midfielder Silvio Spann. The former Perugia player is currently in England under rehab as he attempts to get back to full fitness following the hamstring injury which forced him out of the Germany World Cup.
Spann had been in training with Cardiff City but is not officially attached to a club due to not being one hundred percent fit. However, being a free agent, he does not have to wait until the new transfer window opens in January to sign a new deal.
“At the moment I’m focusing really hard on getting back fully fit,” Spann told TTFF Media, “I have been working out in England and trying to ensure that everything is fine with the injury. It’s not as bad as before but I’m still not back to full strength so I’m making sure that everything is done before I play again. There were a couple teams showing interest but obviously the injury held things back. I am aiming to negotiate something that will keep me as a player here,” he added.

is this the same Cardiff at the top of the Championship division?
not a bad team to be connected to right now, even if just for training.

Standings  
Team                     P W D L Pts
1. Cardiff                 8 5 2 1 17
2. Birmingham City    8 5 2 1 17
3. Burnley                8 4 2 2 14
4. Southampton       8 3 4 1 13
5. Preston               8 3 4 1 13
6. Coventry             8 4 1 3 13
7. Crystal Palace       8 4 1 3 13

I really hope Spann come back soon and stronger, and hungrier than before.

« Reply #19 on: September 21, 2006, 11:13:47 PM »
The opponents sounding kinda weak, but ah think after the Japan game Whim realized that our locals are some way from being competitive internationally, so he trying to ease dem into intrnational football. also, ah really think they trying to manage the Fifa rankings and not fall too far below.  This is a rebuilding stage, whether we want to use that term or not.  Hopefully, we'll build up again to some of the opponents we played leading up and during Germany.  One thing for sure:  we need two Ws here.

« Reply #20 on: September 22, 2006, 06:07:15 AM »
Wouldn't Guatemala, Venezueala, Jamaica, Guyana or even we under 20 team be a better team to play instead of Nicaragua. Or are we looking for a confidence boast.

Fireband, you could not have said it better. "A wise man once said, "De TTFF does play more games dan de players."

« Reply #21 on: September 22, 2006, 07:07:06 AM »
nicas is baseball peeps.

i run into a couple of decent nica players in miami though.

nevertheless, playing them is probably equivalent to another game against the spice boys. i say put the B team on for that game.

« Reply #22 on: September 22, 2006, 08:43:36 AM »
So much for our world cup status!!

steups!!

Anyways, i hope we put a good  team out and play some good football.

I wonder what the prices of these "games" will be

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #23 on: September 22, 2006, 11:07:28 AM »
Ranked

165  Nicaragua 70  -3      0
165  Vanuatu 70  -3      0

157  Grenada 94  2      21

138  Bahamas 134  55      127

129  St. Vincent and the Grenadines 161  2      6

So we couldn't get any of those three teams to play
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

Offline Israel

« Reply #24 on: September 22, 2006, 11:23:40 AM »
whim eh need to bring back the pros to play Nicaragua they cyar even beat st vincent

not trying to attack u eh triniman but I dislike it when people say "bring back the pros to play" as if the local guys are not pros. Foriegn pros and local pros cud be used to distinguish the two groups but these fellas training hard as foreign teams and playing in a league that sends players to a lot of int'l clubs, so let us show our local players a lil more respect nah. Tanx
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #25 on: September 22, 2006, 12:58:54 PM »
i just just nicaragua results over the past 5 years. they is a real shit side.

Nicaragua (NCA)   1:0 (0:0)    Belize (BLZ)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2005 Central Prel. Comp.    GUATEMALA-CITY GUATEMALA - 23.02.2005    

Guatemala (GUA)   4:0 (2:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2005 Central Prel. Comp.    GUATEMALA-CITY GUATEMALA - 21.02.2005    

Honduras (HON)   5:1 (2:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2005 Central Prel. Comp.    GUATEMALA-CITY GUATEMALA - 19.02.2005    

St. Vincent and the Grenadines (VIN)   4:1 (2:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
FIFA WC 2006 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF Zone    KINGSTOWN ST. VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES - 20.06.2004    

Nicaragua (NCA)   2:2 (1:2)    St. Vincent and the Grenadines (VIN)      
FIFA WC 2006 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF Zone    DIRIAMBA NICARAGUA - 13.06.2004    

Costa Rica (CRC)   5:1 (3:1)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2004    SAN CARLOS COSTA RICA - 04.06.2004    

Nicaragua (NCA)   2:0 (1:0)    Bermuda (BER)      
Friendly 2004    ESTELI NICARAGUA - 02.05.2004    

Nicaragua (NCA)   2:0 (2:0)    Bermuda (BER)      
Friendly 2004    DIRIAMBA NICARAGUA - 30.04.2004    

Bermuda (BER)   2:1 (0:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2004    HAMILTON BERMUDA - 02.04.2004    

Bermuda (BER)   3:0 (1:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2004    HAMILTON BERMUDA - 31.03.2004    

Nicaragua (NCA)   1:1 (0:0)    Haiti (HAI)      
Friendly 2004    ESTELI NICARAGUA - 29.02.2004    

Haiti (HAI)   1:1 (0:1)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2004    WEST PALM BEACH USA - 31.01.2004    

Panama (PAN)   0:1 (0:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2003 Central Prel. Comp.    PANAMA CITY PANAMA - 21.02.2003    

Guatemala (GUA)   5:0 (2:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2003 Central Prel. Comp.    PANAMA CITY PANAMA - 18.02.2003    

Costa Rica (CRC)   1:0 (0:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2003 Central Prel. Comp.    COLON PANAMA - 15.02.2003    

El Salvador (SLV)   3:0 (2:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2003 Central Prel. Comp.    PANAMA CITY PANAMA - 13.02.2003    

Nicaragua (NCA)   0:2 (0:2)    Honduras (HON)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2003 Central Prel. Comp.    PANAMA CITY PANAMA - 11.02.2003    

Cayman Islands (CAY)   0:1 (0:1)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2002    GRAND CAYMAN CAYMAN ISLANDS - 17.11.2002    

Panama (PAN)   6:0 (3:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
UNCAF Nations Cup 2001    TEGUCIGALPA HONDURAS - 27.05.2001    

Honduras (HON)   10:2 (4:1)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
UNCAF Nations Cup 2001    TEGUCIGALPA HONDURAS - 25.05.2001    

El Salvador (SLV)   3:0 (3:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
UNCAF Nations Cup 2001    TEGUCIGALPA HONDURAS - 23.05.2001    

Belize (BLZ)   2:1    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2001    BELIZE CITY BELIZE - 26.04.2001    

Belize (BLZ)   2:0    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2001    BELIZE CITY BELIZE - 24.04.2001    

Panama (PAN)   4:0 (0:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF    PANAMA CITY PANAMA - 21.05.2000    

Nicaragua (NCA)   0:1 (0:0)    Honduras (HON)      
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF    DIRIAMBA NICARAGUA - 16.04.2000    

Nicaragua (NCA)   0:2 (0:1)    Panama (PAN)      
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF    DIRIAMBA NICARAGUA - 19.03.2000    

Cuba (CUB)   4:0    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2000    HAVANA CUBA - 09.03.2000    

Honduras (HON)   3:0 (2:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF    SAN PEDRO SULA HONDURAS - 04.03.2000

« Reply #26 on: September 22, 2006, 01:09:20 PM »
They will give us a good run.  Why?  because they wild, and running hard and tackling whole day.

Imagine 11 Birchall's on the field fighting the game and that is wild man Nicaragua.

« Reply #27 on: September 22, 2006, 01:17:35 PM »
i just just nicaragua results over the past 5 years. they is a real shit side.

Nicaragua (NCA)   1:0 (0:0)    Belize (BLZ)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2005 Central Prel. Comp.    GUATEMALA-CITY GUATEMALA - 23.02.2005    

Guatemala (GUA)   4:0 (2:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2005 Central Prel. Comp.    GUATEMALA-CITY GUATEMALA - 21.02.2005    

Honduras (HON)   5:1 (2:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2005 Central Prel. Comp.    GUATEMALA-CITY GUATEMALA - 19.02.2005    

St. Vincent and the Grenadines (VIN)   4:1 (2:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
FIFA WC 2006 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF Zone    KINGSTOWN ST. VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES - 20.06.2004    

Nicaragua (NCA)   2:2 (1:2)    St. Vincent and the Grenadines (VIN)      
FIFA WC 2006 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF Zone    DIRIAMBA NICARAGUA - 13.06.2004    

Costa Rica (CRC)   5:1 (3:1)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2004    SAN CARLOS COSTA RICA - 04.06.2004    

Nicaragua (NCA)   2:0 (1:0)    Bermuda (BER)      
Friendly 2004    ESTELI NICARAGUA - 02.05.2004    

Nicaragua (NCA)   2:0 (2:0)    Bermuda (BER)      
Friendly 2004    DIRIAMBA NICARAGUA - 30.04.2004    

Bermuda (BER)   2:1 (0:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2004    HAMILTON BERMUDA - 02.04.2004    

Bermuda (BER)   3:0 (1:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2004    HAMILTON BERMUDA - 31.03.2004    

Nicaragua (NCA)   1:1 (0:0)    Haiti (HAI)      
Friendly 2004    ESTELI NICARAGUA - 29.02.2004    

Haiti (HAI)   1:1 (0:1)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2004    WEST PALM BEACH USA - 31.01.2004    

Panama (PAN)   0:1 (0:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2003 Central Prel. Comp.    PANAMA CITY PANAMA - 21.02.2003    

Guatemala (GUA)   5:0 (2:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2003 Central Prel. Comp.    PANAMA CITY PANAMA - 18.02.2003    

Costa Rica (CRC)   1:0 (0:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2003 Central Prel. Comp.    COLON PANAMA - 15.02.2003    

El Salvador (SLV)   3:0 (2:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2003 Central Prel. Comp.    PANAMA CITY PANAMA - 13.02.2003    

Nicaragua (NCA)   0:2 (0:2)    Honduras (HON)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2003 Central Prel. Comp.    PANAMA CITY PANAMA - 11.02.2003    

Cayman Islands (CAY)   0:1 (0:1)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2002    GRAND CAYMAN CAYMAN ISLANDS - 17.11.2002    

Panama (PAN)   6:0 (3:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
UNCAF Nations Cup 2001    TEGUCIGALPA HONDURAS - 27.05.2001    

Honduras (HON)   10:2 (4:1)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
UNCAF Nations Cup 2001    TEGUCIGALPA HONDURAS - 25.05.2001    

El Salvador (SLV)   3:0 (3:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
UNCAF Nations Cup 2001    TEGUCIGALPA HONDURAS - 23.05.2001    

Belize (BLZ)   2:1    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2001    BELIZE CITY BELIZE - 26.04.2001    

Belize (BLZ)   2:0    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2001    BELIZE CITY BELIZE - 24.04.2001    

Panama (PAN)   4:0 (0:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF    PANAMA CITY PANAMA - 21.05.2000    

Nicaragua (NCA)   0:1 (0:0)    Honduras (HON)      
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF    DIRIAMBA NICARAGUA - 16.04.2000    

Nicaragua (NCA)   0:2 (0:1)    Panama (PAN)      
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF    DIRIAMBA NICARAGUA - 19.03.2000    

Cuba (CUB)   4:0    Nicaragua (NCA)      
Friendly 2000    HAVANA CUBA - 09.03.2000    

Honduras (HON)   3:0 (2:0)    Nicaragua (NCA)      
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF    SAN PEDRO SULA HONDURAS - 04.03.2000

They haven't played any real big sides at all, this century anyway. Well the Warriors just need to set their sights on making it a Germany v San Marino type scoreline.

Offline Lionpaw

• Highest Grade.
  • Smoke Weeeeed, under the Jamaican Sky Light.
« Reply #28 on: September 22, 2006, 05:24:18 PM »
Lol at Trinidad vs. Nicaragua!! Big WC up side ago play who? Nicaragua???!?!?!? Ahahahahahaaaa! No matter how bad things are for our JA football right now, it would be an insult to play Nicaragua.

Good luck to the soca warriors on their quest to conquer Nicaragua. Hope unnuh win. It would be a big embarassment if u dont. Nuttin less than a victory expected.
Smoke and Fly

« Reply #29 on: September 22, 2006, 06:03:24 PM »
Lol at Trinidad vs. Nicaragua!! Big WC up side ago play who? Nicaragua???!?!?!? Ahahahahahaaaa! No matter how bad things are for our JA football right now, it would be an insult to play Nicaragua.

Good luck to the soca warriors on their quest to conquer Nicaragua. Hope unnuh win. It would be a big embarassment if u dont. Nuttin less than a victory expected.

i ah wait till TnT plays JA ....   god i cant wait!.....

untill then all JA posters go on allyuh feking meh kent forum