May 19, 2013, 02:52:31 PM

Author Topic: Yorke faces club versus country dilemma.  (Read 9069 times)

Re: Yorke faces club versus country dilemma.
« Reply #30 on: September 26, 2006, 11:23:58 AM »
country not gona take care of you if you broke nah...club first....!!

« Reply #31 on: September 26, 2006, 11:26:29 AM »
Blessing in disguise. T&T needs to learn how to play without Yorke, because he won't be around for too much longer. I'm of the opinion that Yorkies should step down from int'l duties and make way for the less experienced, so I have no issue with that scene......
fuh once i agree with yuh.

didn't realize that we had disagreed in the past but cheers nevertheless :beermug:

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #32 on: September 26, 2006, 11:28:45 AM »
Keane is entitled to his opinions, but Dwight has every right to represent his country whether he is 20 or 40. These dates belong to the players and their National teams and Keane should respect that.

Dwight will be an integral part of the rebuilding process of the team for 2010. He may or may not represent us in 2010 but young players can learn a lot from him over the next lil while.

It is the same Keane who said that Dwight is one of the best in the dressing room. Only this weekend things got out of hand vs Ipswich and the team fell apart, Dwight had to show some leadership and speak up.

TnT team is in transition and his experience on and off the field is needed to make the change a smooth one. Dwight is  a valuable asset, he believes he has something to contribute. Besides that playing some competitive minutes will ensure he is match fit when he returns to Sunderland.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2006, 12:36:43 AM by takenoprisoners »

Offline tempo

« Reply #33 on: September 26, 2006, 12:36:12 PM »
Yorke would be wise to stay with his club. During the two year caretaker period preceeding the next world cup, the national program should plan for the future. Especially in this case with Yorke indicating that he will only play for another two years. Groom others for the role. What more can we ask of Yorke , especially in light of his efforts leading up to and during the World Cup? Let the man get his new situation at Sunderland sorted out rather than travel for exhibition games against Panama and Nicaragua. He has earned it!

« Reply #34 on: September 26, 2006, 02:21:10 PM »
And what if he want to come for the games,that he has been invited to,  hasn't he earned the right to make his own decisions ?

« Reply #35 on: September 26, 2006, 03:03:58 PM »
Yorke needs to retire from International football (again, and for good this time).

Now is the time for us to see what we have in the youth ranks coming up.  The results are not that important in these matches.  Let the youths play.

Offline Qmire

« Reply #36 on: September 26, 2006, 03:22:21 PM »
Whey alyah serious ,we just come back from WC ,men go be gunning fer we ,we have to represent !!!
...atleast till next year!
I hate everybody equally.

« Reply #37 on: September 26, 2006, 03:37:11 PM »
Wheyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, alright I will try to dumb down my post as it flew over people's heads!!

Aight if at 40, he is still the best MIDFIELDER/ STRIKER on Trinidad and Tobago team...........hmm I real sorry 4 we. Well the games I am speaking about is a frioendly between Nic and Panama................do we really need to drag Mr Yorke all the way to play in these games ??

Now of course Yorke should be part of the National team make up, but you don`t have to force the man to play in some inconsequential friendlies, when the man trying to cement a spot in his club team !! Tha to me is not appreciating what Yorkie has done 4 the country

Before TTFF and the coaches study to play our less experienced players that could actually learn from this experience .......they rather call Yorke ...........One set bullshit..............dread is like men not thinking FORWARD at all. Put a PFL team to play, let them get some playing time .......cause for Shell cup and them thing, that will be the players we have to use ...........so use them now, when the score don`t matter .

Offline DrHerbalist

« Reply #38 on: September 26, 2006, 04:17:36 PM »
what if he misses those friendly games,, and is benched for the Sunderland games,,,,, or only play for 10 -15 minutes

« Reply #39 on: September 26, 2006, 04:30:56 PM »
what if he misses those friendly games,, and is benched for the Sunderland games,,,,, or only play for 10 -15 minutes

He is being payed by Sunderland FC, and it is up to KEANE to pick the squad, and he did mention to Dwight that he has plans for him.......If I was Yorke I was staying wid my club and cement my place. When a real match arises with T&T I will consider it......

Okay lets play the what if ............

What if he score 2 goals and get injured during the friendlies...................WHAT IF ????

If you read my post you will see I have numerous reasons why I believe the honorable Dwight Yorke should not be dragged bac to play friendlies. Can you give me some REAL reasos we should drag him back to play..........doh say is to show the yutes and guide the yutes...........cah thas HOGWASH  :beermug:

« Reply #40 on: September 26, 2006, 04:32:23 PM »
thanks for dumbing it down for meh eh...me not so bright an experienced in the understandin or coaching at such a high level thing, but check this.....

"However, in 1990, he received a phone call from the President of Cameroon Paul Biya, who pleaded with him to come out of retirement and rejoin the national team. He agreed, and went to Italy with the Indomitable Lions for the 1990 World Cup.

Milla emerged as one of the tournament's major stars. He scored four goals in Italy, celebrating each one with a dance around the corner post that has become a popular goal celebration ever since. Two of his goals came against Romania in Cameroon's second game, and two more came in extra time against Colombia in the last 16 to carry Cameroon to the quarter-finals -- the furthest that an African team has ever advanced at the World Cup (Senegal matched this feat in 2002). In the quarter-final match against England, Milla confirmed his super-sub legend, entering in the second half with Cameroon trailing 1-0 and setting up a brilliant goal and drawing a penalty shot to give Cameroon the lead before eventually losing.

Milla returned to the 1994 FIFA World Cup at the age of 42. In the USA, Cameroon were knocked out in the group stages; however, Milla scored the consolation prize of a goal against Russia, breaking his own record as the oldest goalscorer in a World Cup tournament."

It is not a comparison of Milla and Yorke, more as an indicator of relevance.. John might be good for Milan, but boo for Crystal Palace..it depends on many varying factors, besides John's ability, skill level, fitness, coach, nutrition...etc..etc...it's all relative..

What did the above event say for the state of the World Cup players in 1990, or even 1994, or the state of the Cameroon teams.....these years, ah sad state of affairs ? I think not..maybe t was just ah few bad years..

One sentence yuh sayin "bullshit " for Yorke to come back, next

"Now of course Yorke should be part of the National team make up, but you don`t have to force the man to play in some inconsequential friendlies, when the man trying to cement a spot in his club team !! Tha to me is not appreciating what Yorkie has done 4 the country
"
How he go be part, through UK Bell ?

Now who talk bout him playing in inconsequential friendlies, we talk bout him coming back, as called...he doh have to play 180 minutes, he could choose to play all, is finding the best way for him to contribute, is not up to he alone....it's up to the coach, as a friendly he could be a player/coach...or he could just sit in England an throw back ah few with Keene, and Stern could break-it down for him when he reach back...which would be beneficial to us ?
And it have absolutely nuthen to do with 99 percent ah we.

And yes Friendly or not, the score does matter...it is a total indicator of who you will select next game, what strategy must be changed, what must be worked on, wheter the coach is capable or not...otherwise why play... for fete-match sake ?

« Reply #41 on: September 26, 2006, 04:51:43 PM »
thanks for dumbing it down for meh eh...me not so bright an experienced in the understandin or coaching at such a high level thing, but check this.....

"However, in 1990, he received a phone call from the President of Cameroon Paul Biya, who pleaded with him to come out of retirement and rejoin the national team. He agreed, and went to Italy with the Indomitable Lions for the 1990 World Cup.

Milla emerged as one of the tournament's major stars. He scored four goals in Italy, celebrating each one with a dance around the corner post that has become a popular goal celebration ever since. Two of his goals came against Romania in Cameroon's second game, and two more came in extra time against Colombia in the last 16 to carry Cameroon to the quarter-finals -- the furthest that an African team has ever advanced at the World Cup (Senegal matched this feat in 2002). In the quarter-final match against England, Milla confirmed his super-sub legend, entering in the second half with Cameroon trailing 1-0 and setting up a brilliant goal and drawing a penalty shot to give Cameroon the lead before eventually losing.

Milla returned to the 1994 FIFA World Cup at the age of 42. In the USA, Cameroon were knocked out in the group stages; however, Milla scored the consolation prize of a goal against Russia, breaking his own record as the oldest goalscorer in a World Cup tournament."

It is not a comparison of Milla and Yorke, more as an indicator of relevance.. John might be good for Milan, but boo for Crystal Palace..it depends on many varying factors, besides John's ability, skill level, fitness, coach, nutrition...etc..etc...it's all relative..

What did the above event say for the state of the World Cup players in 1990, or even 1994, or the state of the Cameroon teams.....these years, ah sad state of affairs ? I think not..maybe t was just ah few bad years..

One sentence yuh sayin "bullshit " for Yorke to come back, next

"Now of course Yorke should be part of the National team make up, but you don`t have to force the man to play in some inconsequential friendlies, when the man trying to cement a spot in his club team !! Tha to me is not appreciating what Yorkie has done 4 the country
"
How he go be part, through UK Bell ?

Now who talk bout him playing in inconsequential friendlies, we talk bout him coming back, as called...he doh have to play 180 minutes, he could choose to play all, is finding the best way for him to contribute, is not up to he alone....it's up to the coach, as a friendly he could be a player/coach...or he could just sit in England an throw back ah few with Keene, and Stern could break-it down for him when he reach back...which would be beneficial to us ?
And it have absolutely nuthen to do with 99 percent ah we.

And yes Friendly or not, the score does matter...it is a total indicator of who you will select next game, what strategy must be changed, what must be worked on, wheter the coach is capable or not...otherwise why play... for fete-match sake ?

I don't think Roger Milla's case has anything to do with this issue. Playing in the world Cup and playing two friendlies are totally different. T&T is going through a rebuilding phase right now, where we need to see who is the next generation of players to lead us in qualification for WC in 2010. In the grand scheme of things, Yorke not playing in these two friendlies is not the end of the world.

Yes, he can play a big role in grooming the new players, but there will be other international friendly dates, as well as the Gold Cup next year where he can help out in a more competitive scenario. I think his experience would be more required in a tournament setting like that. For now, giving new players the chance to show their qualities should take precendence, so IMO it is not absolutely necessary that Yorke return for these friendlies.

« Reply #42 on: September 26, 2006, 05:01:36 PM »
many good points here for and against our captain playing in our friendlies.
My personal opinion is that if the coach ( TnT coach dat is) determines that he is needed then I believe that it is his right to play and not to be intimidated by anyone including Keene who others have pointed out on occasion cared not to play for Ireland.
Dwight at one time did not also but say what...now he does and once it is fun for him and he is able, nobody should say other wise.
"Keane will believe he can have  inspirational influence on the Sunderland dressing room " Even Keene values Dwights addition to his dressing room, so therefore we as TrinBagonians should also pay him the same respect.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #43 on: September 26, 2006, 05:03:49 PM »

"

Sorry Coach...........but drawing a paralell between Roger Milla WORLD CUP and Dwight Yorke with FRIENDLIES........that equation aint equal . But hey you have your opinion and I have mine...............what a great world we live in. Where we are free to have differing opinions......... :beermug:

oAKY BEING  PART of the NATIONAL team make up ...can apply to other POSITIONS ............does not nessecarily mean he has to PLAY. He could be an assistant......shit I sorry bredren if you aint understand me !!

Eh breds I done yes...........cause not matter wah I say we not on the same page.  :beermug: Bless .
 Oh yes...in these FRIENDLIES the score does not matter ........it is more of a tool to get "GREEN"players accustom to a big stage..thas my view but then again I am not a COACH or PLAYER........I am merely an ardent FOOTBALL fan that loves my country !

« Reply #44 on: September 26, 2006, 05:20:18 PM »
yorke should stay and play club football, let de youths get a run and learn on their own until yorke can make a return for the gold cup bc right now we dont need him to play, right now we need the locals to gel and get experience for 2010...

« Reply #45 on: September 26, 2006, 06:34:12 PM »
Could someone, tell meh something...Is true ah doh write English, and ah does really make ah effort to be cohesive, and not long winded, and not overly diplomatic, yet honest and down to earth, to the point where ah might be,ammm, ammm ....is it snobbish...ah a$%hole....whatever.
buh oh gorm fellas, yuh could find anything on the net...for example
http://www.literacy.uconn.edu/compre.htm

do I have to put the words side by side to show yuh how much we agree more than disagree...oh allyuh jus playin meh..

the Milla eg. was an area where a few seem to think we disagree...it was only to demonstrate, that in such a  case Yorke age may not be a factor as a player , if he is the best person for the team in 2010, it does not have to be because things are bad, as much as an indicator of good, or long lasting he is, continuing to maintain a high ablity to play at a high level, probably due to his excellent physical conditionning...all started as a result of your Geriatric joke(now we know is ah joke).. ..that if even at that age it was still possible for Milla to contribute as a National player and enhance his team...it was not a direct comparison of Yorke to Milla, and I begged not to take it as such...so I agree Yorke is not Milla....we not even asking Yorke to play in ah next WC, but what if he could make the team..
I saying from post 1 to now, maybe (still don't know) he can be an asst. coach, even possible player/coach, and possible future coach....I can't tell yuh wha Whim want Yorke for...buh ah would want him as a player/coach, cause he still good enough to play but his real value would be in coaching, buh wha Yorke want ?
Look this takin too long, and is one ah mine here B-day, let me eat cake and fire one for things ah have control over eh...I out.....yuh don't want him playing, he should play for club, yet contribute to the National program...I hear yuh still

Offline Remie

« Reply #46 on: September 27, 2006, 03:58:31 AM »
If Yorke is playing at roughly the same level in 2010 that he is now then he will be a vital asset to a 22 man T&T squad. There is no point in writing him off now. We are not an Italy or a Brazil. We do not have the talent pool to write off players of his ability. Look at Latapy at the age of 37. He was a valuable asset to our qualifying campaign and should have been a valuable asset in the World Cup. Yorke at 38 should play a similar role, i.e, help us reach South Africa then see if his legs are still good to go.

With regard to letting our local based players get game time and exposure to the international arena, i have said it once and i will say it again- the only ways the local based will learn is if they are playing, training, eating, drinking, sleeping with the likes of Yorke (Champions League, FA Cup, Premiership winner). They should be seen as apprentices that will pick up valuable experience from guys that have been there and done it like Yorke. That is why Yorke and the foreign based have to come to some of these friendlies.

All i am saying is that if Yorke done retire now (which he will not) then it will be a big waste for T&T football.

Keep going Yorke and lead us to South Africa in 2010.

« Last Edit: September 27, 2006, 04:01:08 AM by Remie »

« Reply #47 on: September 27, 2006, 09:18:45 AM »
If Yorke is playing at roughly the same level in 2010 that he is now then he will be a vital asset to a 22 man T&T squad. There is no point in writing him off now. We are not an Italy or a Brazil. We do not have the talent pool to write off players of his ability. Look at Latapy at the age of 37. He was a valuable asset to our qualifying campaign and should have been a valuable asset in the World Cup. Yorke at 38 should play a similar role, i.e, help us reach South Africa then see if his legs are still good to go.

With regard to letting our local based players get game time and exposure to the international arena, i have said it once and i will say it again- the only ways the local based will learn is if they are playing, training, eating, drinking, sleeping with the likes of Yorke (Champions League, FA Cup, Premiership winner). They should be seen as apprentices that will pick up valuable experience from guys that have been there and done it like Yorke. That is why Yorke and the foreign based have to come to some of these friendlies.

All i am saying is that if Yorke done retire now (which he will not) then it will be a big waste for T&T football.

Keep going Yorke and lead us to South Africa in 2010.

You're basically saying that countries like us with smaller talent pools should suck all of our experienced internationals dry......

I think at the end of the day, it will come down to whether Yorke wants to play, and if the coach will pick him instead of going with youth.

Offline marcus

• BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS
« Reply #48 on: September 27, 2006, 01:51:58 PM »
We all know what Yorke can do!!!!

In playing these friendly matches, its not about the result so far away from qualifying, we should be giving the younger players a chance to gain some experience, as well as give the coaches a chance to judge them against international competition.

I don't see what purpose it will serve to have Yorke back for a couple of friendly matches...

Further down the road he could be an asset to qualifying, that is if he still has the ability and desire....

But for now give the guy a rest, let him settle down with his club!

Offline Patterson

• Travel Tobago
« Reply #49 on: September 27, 2006, 08:47:21 PM »
Well Cyd Gray was named as captain for the friendlies so i guess yorke staying put