April 23, 2024, 01:29:35 PM

Author Topic: QRC pull off a shocker, El Do upsets San Juan.  (Read 4198 times)

QRC pull off a shocker, El Do upsets San Juan.
« on: September 28, 2006, 03:19:10 AM »
QRC pull off a shocker, beat Fatima 2-0.
By: Kwame Williams (Guardian).

QRC got its first win of the season yesterday, when it achieved a shock 2-0 win over defending Intercol champion Fatima at Fatima ground, Mucurapo. Franz Husbands and Thion James were on target for the team from St Clair.
QRC, the bottom placed team in the zone, went into the match with just one point from its previous five matches. This came against Malick, who they held 1-1.
Fatima, on the other hand, are in second place after racking up three straight wins. The boys in blue and gold must have been confident of bagging another three points yesterday, but this was not the case.
The “Royalians” handed their host, who were hot the heels of leader Mucurapo, its second defeat of the season.
In Maraval, goals from Kevon Piper and Nicholas Valentine saw Mucurapo beating Trinity 2-0. Valentine gave “Compre” a 1-0 lead at the half, with Piper finishing off the opposition in second half with his strike.

RESULTS

Malick 1 (Anthony Applewhite 70th) vs St Mary’s 1.

Trinity 0 vs Mucurapo 2 (Nicholas Valentine, Kevon Piper).

Fatima 0 vs QRC 2 (Franz Husbands, Thion James).

North Zone

Teams P W D L GF GA Pts
[/b]

Mucurapo 6 5 1 0 7 1 16
Fatima 5 3 0 2 10 7 9
St Anthony’s 6 2 2 2 5 5 8
Malick 6 2 2 2 6 7 8
Trinity 6 2 1 3 6 11 7
St Mary’s 5 1 1 3 5 7 4
QRC 6 1 1 4 7 10 4
El Do upsets San Juan.
By: Rachael Thompson-King (Guardian).

El Dorado Senior Comprehensive’s Jamal Gay scored the lone goal for his team to upset second placed San Juan Secondary comprehensive in East Zone action of the British Gas Secondary Schools Football League.
Host San Juan was expected to give a better performance but missed some easy chances at the goal. The match seemed heading for draw after a goalless score at the half.
However, ten minutes before the end, Gay scored the lone item in the 80th minute and his seventh of the season to earn his team full points.
In Toco, Toco Composite came into the match in fifth place, and also recorded full points behind a 2-1 victory over fourth-places Hillview College. Toco was the aggressor and was ahead 1-0 at the halfway margin. The goal was scored from a cross from captain Shivaughn Charles on the left side to Kirby Phillip, who netted in the 30th minute.
Jevon Simon answered back for the Hillview team, scoring a bullet in the 63rd minute.
The winning goal was set up by Michael Gardner, who crossed the ball from the right side. Steven Bobb was on the recieving end of that pass and headed the ball over the goalkeeper.

Results

El Dorado 1 (Jamal Gay 80th) vs San Juan 0.

Malabar 3 vs Arima 3

Toco 2 (Kirby Phillip 30th, Steven Bobb 82nd) vs Hillview 1 (Jevon Simon 63rd).

Standing

Teams P W D L GF GA Pts

St Augustine 6 5 1 0 35 3 16
El Dorado 6 4 1 1 17 5 13
San Juan 6 4 0 2 13 5 12
Toco 6 3 0 3 14 10 9
Hillview 6 2 2 2 18 6 8
Malabar 6 0 1 5 4 34 1
Arima 5 0 1 5 4 37 1
Rain affects leaders in South Zone.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Heavy rain yesterday forced the abandonment of the BGTT Secondary Schools Football League’s double header at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella. Only one of the scheduled three matches was played—Vessigny and Moruga clashed at the Mahaica, Oval in Point Fortin. The match ended 0-0. Leaders Naparima College was schedule to meet Presentation College and Princes Town was to face off with St Benedict’s College. Both matches will be replayed later in the season.

South Zone Standings

Team P W D L GF GA Pts

Naparima 5 5 0 0 8 3 15
Princes Town 5 3 1 1 9 4 10
Presentation 5 3 1 1 10 7 10
Moruga 6 1 3 2 6 3 6
St Benedict’s 5 2 0 3 4 9 6
Vessigny 6 1 1 4 5 8 4
Fyzabad 6 0 2 4 3 5 2
« Last Edit: September 28, 2006, 04:28:48 AM by Flex »

Re: QRC pull off a shocker, El Do upsets San Juan.
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2006, 06:26:55 AM »
DAMN IT!!!!!
over confident bunch of .....
run laps!!!!

Offline royalian

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2006, 06:52:14 AM »
Royalian and proud of it!! Gotta believe!

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2006, 06:53:38 AM »
Wake up call for Fatima.  I hope we learn from this.

« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2006, 07:52:07 AM »
Steupss.......

2 from the cellar dwellers and at HOME to boot...steupppsssss''

It seems Compre has the title now. Even if we beat them they still have to lose twice and Fatima win all the rest of games.

It not impossible but I just cyar see certain teams beating Compre.

« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2006, 08:28:29 AM »
Steupss.......

It seems Compre has the title now. Even if we beat them they still have to lose twice and Fatima win all the rest of games.

Nah man

We are 7 points behind Mucurapo with a game in hand (against CIC)...If When we beat CIC, we'll only be 4 points behind. If When we beat Compre in the second round we'll only need a one point slip up on their part...Plenty if's  ;D and it will be tough, but we doh need them to lose twice.....

Offline Swima

« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2006, 08:32:50 AM »
Steupss.......

Touch... yuh send storm to cancel d game between d Fatmen and d Saints. We going to fix allyuh when yuh come dong Serpentine Road.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2006, 08:40:17 AM »

Touch... yuh send storm to cancel d game between d Fatmen and d Saints. We going to fix allyuh when yuh come dong Serpentine Road.

yeah right ok........ :-\  ???

Offline Swima

« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2006, 08:42:47 AM »

yeah right ok........ :-\  ???

You stay outta dis!  ;D
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2006, 08:48:04 AM »
sooooooooooooo weee tellllll dem we are malickkkkk

mighty mighty malickkkkkkkkk

eh doh count we out yet we hav sumtin for compre cuz we run all over dem is lucky goal dem a score on we never again will we be denied

« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2006, 09:21:33 AM »
We draw a match. They eh say who score for CIC though... next match is Trinity on Saturday up at Moka. I'll try to go watch that one.

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2006, 10:06:28 AM »
Aye like franz husbands back in d mix lololol