April 17, 2024, 08:48:16 PM

Author Topic: Jack wants $40M for Soca Warriors.  (Read 6512 times)

Jack wants $40M for Soca Warriors.
« on: October 04, 2006, 06:08:52 AM »
By: Walter Alibey (Newsday).

Jack Warner, FIFA vice-president and Special Advisor to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation said yesterday he wishes for at least a $40 million allocation for football in the 2006-2007 Budget.
Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Patrick Manning is scheduled to deliver the annual financial address to the nation tomorrow at 2 pm in the House of Parliament.
Warner, who also heads the CONCACAF region and the Caribbean Football Uniob (CFU) said the $40 million represented a part of an overall development and preparation package for the coming 2010 World Cup football tournament in South Africa.
He said the plan would require $40 million each year for the next four years.
“That is just US$7 million each year for football which the United States pumps into its football programme every year,” Warner said.
In general he suggested that Government should inject more money into sports and its development.
Warner said that Government in its budgets over the years has consistently been “stingy” with the amount that has been allocated toward sports in Trinidad and Tobago.
He said the annual allocation should be increased from that given last year.
In last year’s Budget, Government had provided $100 million for the general upgrade and construction to sports facilities across the twin-island republic.
Warner said the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) has already submitted its budget to Government and hopes it will be honoured tomorrow.
Oliver Camps, president of the TTFF hopes for continued Government involvement in sports.
But he said that the budget allocation toward sports should be huge as it is through sports that the country develops.
“A sufficient amount of money must be allocated to sports since football alone will take up a sizeable amount of the national budget,” Camps said yesterday.
He pointed out that there must be proper lighted facilities throughout the country and there must be provision for the building of proper club structure.
“There are lots of clubs in Trinidad and Tobago which fall flat because there is no structure in their organisation,” he said.
Camps said the budget must make provision for the upgrading of coaches, for youth tournaments and general development afterwards.
He said that there is an abundance of talent in Trinidad and Tobago and a significant amount of money is needed to develop it.
Chairman of the T&T Pro League David John-Williams said that while government has been supporting sport, the development process could be made easier with an increased allocation tomorrow.
“We have already seen the importance of sports to the national community and if Government place more emphasis on sports it will make the process easier,” John-Williams said.
Forbes Persaud, the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board also congratulated Government for their funding of sports. He said however that because of the role that sport plays, a huge chunk of the budget should be allocated toward it.

Re: Jack wants $40M for Soca Warriors.
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2006, 06:19:36 AM »

The budget done drawn up.

2 pm.  Should be interesting.

« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2006, 07:45:18 AM »
If we use to play games like the USA and had programs like the USA then I say Warner right, but we dont. Until we start to show how the money going to be spent and really stick to a plan then we should get the help. But the TTFF wants money and have nothing to show for the future. They write programs every week and nothing is being followed up. We still waiting for Keith Look Loy program he promise to write 6 years now. De TTFF is real jokers we.

Get serious and help will arrive. Dont promise we playing this one and that one and nothing is being done. Making promise about de youth teams and nothing is being followed up....

They promise to have a double headers with the T&T/St Vincent/Panama games concerning de under 17 and under 20, whats the deal with that ? We under 20 have games this month, are they preparing, forget training, they need games and when they lose Warner go say they ungrateful.

We women team have to play in de Gold Cup in November and no preparations is being done, is a whole blasted shake up we need.

De T&T government should say, yes I will give you the 40 million, but I need certain things to be done and expect it to be done, all must be accounted for, also to clean up the TTFF staff as many members who getting paid to do nothing.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2006, 07:48:21 AM by Flex »

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2006, 10:46:49 AM »
10 fa you (TD)
10 fa you (Coach) and
20 fa de special advisor
 :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2006, 11:16:14 AM »
If we use to play games like the USA and had programs like the USA then I say Warner right, but we dont. Until we start to show how the money going to be spent and really stick to a plan then we should get the help. But the TTFF wants money and have nothing to show for the future. They write programs every week and nothing is being followed up. We still waiting for Keith Look Loy program he promise to write 6 years now. De TTFF is real jokers we.

Get serious and help will arrive. Dont promise we playing this one and that one and nothing is being done. Making promise about de youth teams and nothing is being followed up....

They promise to have a double headers with the T&T/St Vincent/Panama games concerning de under 17 and under 20, whats the deal with that ? We under 20 have games this month, are they preparing, forget training, they need games and when they lose Warner go say they ungrateful.

We women team have to play in de Gold Cup in November and no preparations is being done, is a whole blasted shake up we need.

De T&T government should say, yes I will give you the 40 million, but I need certain things to be done and expect it to be done, all must be accounted for, also to clean up the TTFF staff as many members who getting paid to do nothing.
     Sam you are a boss,this is good stuff, people will still find Government don't do enough for sport,let them go ahead and give Jack the money.

« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2006, 01:25:08 PM »

It would be very interesting if Lincoln Phillips were to be the next Minister of Sport.

He has all the qualities to work at that level.

It would be quite ironic.

« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2006, 01:42:55 PM »

It would be very interesting if Lincoln Phillips were to be the next Minister of Sport.

He has all the qualities to work at that level.

It would be quite ironic.

That would be quite an adversarial relationship that will end in a stalemate

TTFF Jack wuh de money...Lincoln go be de man authorised to sign off on de money

Lincoln done know whey jack does REALLY do wit de money, so he eh gettn nuttn till ah independent auditor rake de books

Jack go get real frustrated and either

Sue Lincoln
Bite Lincoln neck in parliament
Pay Andrew Jennings to write a book on all lincoln slackness he did do wit gyul when he was young

« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2006, 01:45:05 PM »
Bite Lincoln neck in parliament

I feel Lincoln could pick him up and pelt him back to the opposition side   ;D

« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2006, 02:40:30 PM »
There is no mention of Money for football in the budget.

« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2006, 02:42:10 PM »

Not even sport?

« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2006, 03:58:37 PM »
By: Walter Alibey (Newsday).

Jack Warner, FIFA vice-president and Special Advisor to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation said yesterday he wishes for at least a $40 million allocation for football in the 2006-2007 Budget.
Prime Minister and Minister oFf Finance Patrick Manning is scheduled to deliver the annual financial address to the nation tomorrow at 2 pm in the House of Parliament.
Warner, who also heads the CONCACAF region and the Caribbean Football Uniob (CFU) said the $40 million represented a part of an overall development and preparation package for the coming 2010 World Cup football tournament in South Africa.
He said the plan would require $40 million each year for the next four years.
“That is just US$7 million each year for football which the United States pumps into its football programme every year,” Warner said.
In general he suggested that Government should inject more money into sports and its development.
Warner said that Government in its budgets over the years has consistently been “stingy” with the amount that has been allocated toward sports in Trinidad and Tobago.
He said the annual allocation should be increased from that given last year.
In last year’s Budget, Government had provided $100 million for the general upgrade and construction to sports facilities across the twin-island republic.
Warner said the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) has already submitted its budget to Government and hopes it will be honoured tomorrow.
Oliver Camps, president of the TTFF hopes for continued Government involvement in sports.
But he said that the budget allocation toward sports should be huge as it is through sports that the country develops.
“A sufficient amount of money must be allocated to sports since football alone will take up a sizeable amount of the national budget,” Camps said yesterday.
He pointed out that there must be proper lighted facilities throughout the country and there must be provision for the building of proper club structure.
There are lots of clubs in Trinidad and Tobago which fall flat because there is no structure in their organisation,” he said.
Camps said the budget must make provision for the upgrading of coaches, for youth tournaments and general development afterwards.
He said that there is an abundance of talent in Trinidad and Tobago and a significant amount of money is needed to develop it.
Chairman of the T&T Pro League David John-Williams said that while government has been supporting sport, the development process could be made easier with an increased allocation tomorrow.
“We have already seen the importance of sports to the national community and if Government place more emphasis on sports it will make the process easier,” John-Williams said.
Forbes Persaud, the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board also congratulated Government for their funding of sports. He said however that because of the role that sport plays, a huge chunk of the budget should be allocated toward it.

Lol people from the TTFF talking bout falling flat because of a lack of structure.

They doh understand that they are not an arm of the govt. They hoping the govt honour they budget? If the government can't get invollved in the TTFF when they doing dotishness then I find they should not expect no money.

This begging for money business cyah wuk. Get a plan to sustain yourselves. I doh mind the gov't paying for coach development etc. That is a cool scene. No money should be given to the TTFF.

I would like to see come up with a plan for implementation at the Secondary School Level and the gov't help fund that. I would also like to see Lincoln have a plan for the PFL.

Let Jack and them haul they tail.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2006, 04:08:05 PM by rippin »

« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2006, 04:01:18 PM »

Not even sport?
They just spoke about the construction of facilities. None of which included the national football academy.

« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2006, 08:42:49 PM »

Well said.

and its like as soon as we get a good stable plan with decent people in place, the next week it changes. Like its commonly said in england, if you dont like the weather then wait five mins. Well if the ttff f**king up one min, then wait five mins and theyll find a way to f**k up even more. Lincoln Phillips leaving was a big sign symbolically that we cant adhere to our plans.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2006, 08:45:53 PM by supporter »

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2006, 09:40:22 AM »
I wouldn't give them another cent - they operate like a private company and insiting on 40 mil of tax payers $$$. The boldness of the fools.

« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2006, 09:46:13 AM »
As much as I love football I can't encourage that. The TTFF does not even have a facade of democracy and tranparency is but word for them. Until the chief cook and bottle washer departs and democracy is established, I cannot support 40 million red going to the TTFF.