April 18, 2024, 01:10:45 PM

Author Topic: Warner snubs Warriors.  (Read 13746 times)

Warner snubs Warriors.
« on: October 09, 2006, 08:55:20 PM »
Warner snubs Warriors: T&TFF withhold match fees.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

The crumbling relationship between the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) and the "Soca Warriors" seemed to deteriorate further yesterday when FIFA vice-president and T&TFF special adviser Jack Warner refused to speak to the national players.
Warner, who returned to Trinidad on Sunday evening, has not met the squad or the Germany 2006 World Cup players and, according to one Warrior, said that he has no intention of doing so.
"Warner said (via a telephone call with captain Dwight Yorke) that he was not going to see us and we could meet (general secretary Richard) Groden instead," said one player, who preferred to remain anonymous. "But we don't want to see Groden. It is Jack we made the deal with, so it is he we want to meet."
Last Friday, the World Cup players announced their intention to retire from national duty from Thursday because of an alleged breach of contract by the T&TFF.
Their frustration increased on Sunday when the T&TFF failed to pay their match fees for the weekend friendly against St Vincent at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
The Warriors won 5-0 thanks to a Stern John double and a goal apiece from Chris Birchall, Kerry Baptiste and Yorke.
The player claimed the squad was already upset that the T&TFF cut match fees by approximately 75 per cent without consulting the Players' Association. The players were told about the new fee-US$250-just before the squad met in camp at the Crowne Plaza hotel. They are also entitled to a US$1,000 win bonus.
Normally, the T&TFF pays match fees as soon as the squad returns to the team hotel or, at the latest, on the following morning. But, up to last night, the players were still empty handed.
T&TFF press officer Shaun Fuentes confirmed last night that match fees had not been paid.
"The players are real frustrated," said the anonymous Warrior. "It is not a happy camp. They (the T&TFF) are asking us to be professional but they are not being professional."
Warner has not made a public statement about the rift and continued to hold his tongue yesterday despite being a key figure in the standoff.
The FIFA vice-president agreed to give the Warriors half of the revenue accrued by the T&TFF in the 2006 World Cup campaign last November before the final Play Off qualifiers against Bahrain.
The national footballers went on to earn an unprecedented World Cup place with a 2-1 goal aggregate win over the Asian outfit. In the process, Trinidad and Tobago became the smallest country ever to qualify for a senior FIFA World Cup.
Last week, though, the T&TFF declared the players were due just $141,102 or $5,644.08 per squad member.
Groden, and not Warner, broke the news to the Warriors. The players cried foul play and, three days later, announced their intention to retire from international football.
"As it stands, we made a decision to hand in our resignation and that is what we are going to do (after Wednesday's game)," said the player.
Yorke, who scored a curling free kick on Saturday, might have already played his last game for Trinidad and Tobago. The Sunderland player left Piarco International Airport yesterday evening to rejoin his England Championship Division employers.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2006, 03:09:32 PM by Flex »

Re: Warner snubs Warriors
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2006, 08:57:28 PM »
looooorse it jus gets worse and worse....i really pray this ting go be sorted out sooner rather than later yes...it downright embarassing for we country

« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2006, 09:01:39 PM »
Excellent penetrating article by Liburd again. Warrior journalist probably risking his life too. Jack is a very sick man who seems to be mentally unstable

Offline Patterson

« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2006, 09:05:22 PM »
A match fee of US$250 that has to be a joke ??? ???

« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2006, 09:06:30 PM »
How the hell they go cut the match fees by 75%.....that is madness

« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2006, 09:07:57 PM »
where is Jennings and the international press when you really need their help?
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2006, 09:12:21 PM »
Our TTFF has no shame.

« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2006, 09:25:04 PM »
Things getting very crucial now. I strongly recommend all guest visitors to the website, to gather the courage, register right now (it just takes seconds), give youself a nice sobriquet and start putting pen to paper. Your views matter. It looks difficult from the outside but it's no sweat.

« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2006, 09:33:57 PM »
Half of the WC revenue well how much was the actual WC revenue ?... jack warner part with millions of $$$ that would be the day .... Lasana already screw up Warner's  plans with his "ticket or leave it campaign" . Well this latest incident could bring about the change that we all want

« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2006, 09:36:14 PM »
Disgusting, distasteful, depressing, degrading, downright shameful.

« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2006, 09:40:04 PM »
Jackula has to be cornered until he collapses from dodging, running, paranoia, hiding and looking over his shoulder. He is not used to a concentrated blitz of investigatipon. Fellas doh give up. He showing signs of cracking already.

« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2006, 09:40:29 PM »
Well this latest incident could bring about the change that we all want
this would be GREAT

Jackula has to be cornered until he collapses from dodging, running, paranoia, hiding and looking over his shoulder. He is not used to a concentrated blitz of investigatipon. Fellas doh give up. He showing signs of cracking already.
anybody have Andrew Jennings email?  ;)

here is a link to some articles by Andrew Jennings
http://www.playthegame.org/search.aspx?word=andrew%20jennings
« Last Edit: October 09, 2006, 10:20:33 PM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #12 on: October 09, 2006, 09:45:24 PM »
Excellent idea Howler. Lasana Liburd is a source plus the book "Foul" by Jennings should have an email link. Liburd's email was given earlier. Jennings would be delighted to hound Jack down for free with new ammunition.

« Reply #13 on: October 09, 2006, 09:58:03 PM »
Jack cyar make dem kinda promises and not kee them.  I doubt the players go lie just so.  $250 as an appearance fee.  That is ludicrous.

« Reply #14 on: October 09, 2006, 09:59:14 PM »

basically yuh describing ah manicou....so once dah torchlight in Austin eyes all fall dong.

Re: Warner snubs Warriors.
« Reply #15 on: October 10, 2006, 04:06:32 AM »
The player claimed the squad was already upset that the T&TFF cut match fees by approximately 75 per cent without consulting the Players' Association. The players were told about the new fee-US$250-just before the squad met in camp at the Crowne Plaza hotel. They are also entitled to a US$1,000 win bonus.
Normally, the T&TFF pays match fees as soon as the squad returns to the team hotel or, at the latest, on the following morning. But, up to last night, the players were still empty handed.
T&TFF press officer Shaun Fuentes confirmed last night that match fees had not been paid.
"The players are real frustrated," said the anonymous Warrior. "It is not a happy camp. They (the T&TFF) are asking us to be professional but they are not being professional."

It seems that there's a ploy by the TTFF to break the spirit of our players by drastically & unethically cutting their match fees as punishment for them demanding that they the TTFF (or to be more accurate JW) do the honorable thing!

I believe the TTFF is trying to frustrate the players so that they don't play to their full potential against Panama.
A possible bad performance againt Panama will give the TTFF an excuse to say that the players who have threatened to retire are disloyal and unprofessional and not as good as they make themselves out to be and can be easily replaced by loyal local players who are too broke or scared to stand-up to them (the TTFF)!

And someone once tried to convince me that slavery was over?!

Well not as far as the TTFF is concerned!

Hence they don't like men like Nakhid who speak out against the bobol and chased him away but we need men like him to come back and take over the running of the TTFF!

Despite all the off field frustrations our current band of Soca Warriors with World Cup experience under their belt still need to go out there and put on a great performance against Panama to back up their argument that they are valuable to our efforts to qualify again in 2010.

This is crunch time and will be a defining moment for the future of our football! Hopefully we can clean-up the runnings of the TTFF for once and for all and get things on track for 2010 qualification!

All Soca Warrior supporters need to stand up and be counted right now!

We should all be behind our players 100%!!

If yuh agree with me then raise yuh hand!  :afro:
« Last Edit: October 10, 2006, 05:22:02 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #16 on: October 10, 2006, 05:08:58 AM »
Jack Warner is ah even bigger arse dan ah thought......he and de TTFF want to spite de players simply because dey asking questions about something that is obviously not right somewhere with the figures given....

Oh Lord put ah hand!!!.....ah hope de boys doh break and continue to stand up to Jack and he puppets....

Man ah damn vex!!! >:( >:( >:(

« Reply #17 on: October 10, 2006, 05:32:09 AM »
Half of the WC revenue well how much was the actual WC revenue ?... jack warner part with millions of $$$ that would be the day .... Lasana already screw up Warner's  plans with his "ticket or leave it campaign" . Well this latest incident could bring about the change that we all want

hush yuh arse.   Hush yuh stink arse...ent yuh was saying dat Lasana hounding Jack fuh no good reason....now?  ent jes de odder day yuh was real defending Warner, you and a host of odder shit hounds who does post shit all de time?

steups...or steeps....or whatever sound allyuh lips does make when allyuh KISSING WARNER arse!

Me eh calling no more names, allyuh is big hard bach bullers and allyuh know allyuh name.

Is jes ah business, is jes de man making some change, ah glad is ah trini and some some white man..etc.

Win is ah  white man and he go rape allyuh too!  Maybe not as it pertains to the players on the playing field, but as it pertains to football administration and how he deals with football minds in T&T!

He is another one with he fast ass mouth bad mouthing de very same players he supposed to be coaching and developing.

Ent de TTFF make Nig bold state,ents that he take over all aspects of de football team except for goal keeper training.

Allyuh still with allyuh f**king colonial mentality yes.

STeUPS!
« Last Edit: October 10, 2006, 05:33:49 AM by truetrini »

« Reply #18 on: October 10, 2006, 05:39:29 AM »
Warner is a liar and thief. He cannot be trusted and must not be allowed to jeporpise our WC2010 campaign.

« Reply #19 on: October 10, 2006, 08:26:39 AM »

hush yuh arse.   Hush yuh stink arse...ent yuh was saying dat Lasana hounding Jack fuh no good reason....now?  ent jes de odder day yuh was real defending Warner, you and a host of odder shit hounds who does post shit all de time?

steups...or steeps....or whatever sound allyuh lips does make when allyuh KISSING WARNER arse!

Me eh calling no more names, allyuh is big hard bach bullers and allyuh know allyuh name.

Is jes ah business, is jes de man making some change, ah glad is ah trini and some some white man..etc.

Win is ah  white man and he go rape allyuh too!  Maybe not as it pertains to the players on the playing field, but as it pertains to football administration and how he deals with football minds in T&T!

He is another one with he fast ass mouth bad mouthing de very same players he supposed to be coaching and developing.

Ent de TTFF make Nig bold state,ents that he take over all aspects of de football team except for goal keeper training.

STeUPS!

Wim already say how he will develop players so that talk done.... .... so how is that wim fault yuh blaming wim fuh that they give him d wuk ........... And i done with you on this warner talk ...

« Reply #20 on: October 10, 2006, 08:31:29 AM »
yuh done with me on de warner talk becasue yuh know yuh was wrong, be ah man and admit it.  lol

As for Wim, I know he get ah wuk, he need to do it and shut tuh f**k up with de bad mouting ah de players and people who bury dey navel string in T&T like Lincoln Phillips.

« Reply #21 on: October 10, 2006, 08:51:25 AM »

STeUPS!
       Aye Breds i'm with you on this all the way,i can't believe what i'm reading from some of these guys,the same people that bash Jennings,Lasana and Nakhid,sometimes i think if we don't know what's going on lets don't just jump to conclusions.What i like about these guys they are just letting us know what's going on behind the scenes,what's affecting our Football.
        People pursue,say and do things for different reasons,some might be personal but if we look carefully when statements are being made by certain people, you must give some thought to it,some of us think with our hearts and not the mind and it's getting us no where,we just have to call a spade a spade but when anyone does that in/about TT Football they are usually vindicated.
         I see someone ask where is Jennings when we need him,since when we need Jennings don't forget he came and our FIFA representative kicked him out,even Lasana was almost baned from the WC,nobody wrote any letter in support of any of them.Someone ask if we get rid of the present administration who we going to put,here are some names to consider,Sammy Llewelyn,Gally Cummings,David Nakhid,Jan Steadman,Lincoln Phillips,Pro League Exe Com.,Lasana should take the place of Shawn Fuentes.    

« Reply #22 on: October 10, 2006, 09:13:42 AM »
Hey Coop's. I like your comments. What I'm interested in is how is the change of personnel in the TTFF to be implemented?  How daunting a task is it still, if they realize that a whole new movement is ready to back them. Are they willing or are we just romanticizing their names? The Lasana to replace Shaun is interesting. Shaun Fuentes has been a loyal soldier and collaborator with the information aspect of the football campaign. He has been trying to avoid the politics but has no choice but to kiss Jack's behind as that's the hand that feeds him. He is one who might have to receive some collateral damage. Poor fellah, but that's life.

« Reply #23 on: October 10, 2006, 09:20:37 AM »
Correction to yah post coop

I see someone ask where is Jennings when we need him,since when we need Jennings don't forget he came and our FIFA representative kicked him out,even Lasana was almost baned from the WC,nobody wrote any letter in support of any of them.Someone ask if we get rid of the present administration who we going to put,here are some names to consider,Sammy Llewelyn,Gally Cummings,David Nakhid,Jan Steadman,Lincoln Phillips,Pro League Exe Com.,Lasana should take the place of Shawn Fuentes.    

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #24 on: October 10, 2006, 09:32:47 AM »
It seems Jack faith and trust all along was in the dollars. I seems he is saying: "I got what I want from T&T in the World Cup. Now to hell with the bunch of you."
What's the motto on the US dollar again?  :devil: 
jjbrown

« Reply #25 on: October 10, 2006, 09:35:02 AM »
It seems Jack faith and trust all along was in the dollars. I seems he is saying: "I got what I want from T&T in the World Cup. Now to hell with the bunch of you."
What's the motto on the US dollar again?  :devil: 

I think it says

"In god we trust, in Jamaica we buss"

« Reply #26 on: October 10, 2006, 10:42:21 AM »

STeUPS!
       Aye Breds i'm with you on this all the way,i can't believe what i'm reading from some of these guys,the same people that bash Jennings,Lasana and Nakhid,sometimes i think if we don't know what's going on lets don't just jump to conclusions.What i like about these guys they are just letting us know what's going on behind the scenes,what's affecting our Football.
        People pursue,say and do things for different reasons,some might be personal but if we look carefully when statements are being made by certain people, you must give some thought to it,some of us think with our hearts and not the mind and it's getting us no where,we just have to call a spade a spade but when anyone does that in/about TT Football they are usually vindicated.

If you put lasana in shaun position don't expect him to act any differently. You really think that if Sammy Llewellyn David and Jan doing nonsense Lasana would call them out when is them paying his salary? Shaun does his job very well; his role has never been to get involved in the politics. If you want to get rid of him for "collaborating with the evil regime" you might as well fire all the referees and the current players that didn't protest as well... ::)

Don't turn the "revolution" into a "witch hunt"...

As for Gally Cummings, with all due respect to him and to you, that man need a serious purge to get rid of all that bitterness before he accept any position of authority in TNT football...

« Reply #27 on: October 10, 2006, 11:23:36 AM »
Jack and dem could spoil vomit. You take big man fro England and pay them $250 US. They cyah even carry back they mother or gyul back with them with that money. It plain sickening.

« Reply #28 on: October 10, 2006, 11:40:58 AM »
Good post again Midknight. Your points sink in good dey

« Reply #29 on: October 10, 2006, 12:03:11 PM »
Midnight is just that i like to hear both sides of a storey and with Shaun you only get one.

I already said don't be mad at Gally for the way he feels about T&T Football,the guy is just paranoid,is like a Boxer who have been taking blows for years and never win a championship,he still feels he deserves or Football owes him something,tell me a job outside of Football that he has ever done.

When ever situations like these arise i does only hope at the end of the day it's for the betterment of our Football.